And then my heart went boom

Posted on September 13, 2014 by

The picture the BBC chose to illustrate events in Glasgow’s Buchanan Street today:

bs2

What was actually happening:

photo

Make up your own mind.

4 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

1. 15 09 14 08:23

Scottish Independence Referendum 18th September. - Page 8

2. 17 09 14 11:20

And then my heart went boom | Pakalert Press

3. 25 09 14 09:56

Uncle Twm Award goes to…BBC Wales’ political editor – Daily Wales

4. 23 08 23 07:38

Damned if they don’t but if they do ……. – YOURS FOR SCOTLAND

286 to “And then my heart went boom”

1. manandboy

BBC – enemy of the Scottish Nation.

2. heedtracker

Has anything like the BBC ever made such a fool of itself and all to shut down Scottish democracy. They’re finished now.

3. Capella

Nothing on the Orange march though. They have standards to maintain!

4. Votadini Jeannie

Amazing number of people who’ve said they’ve cancelled their TV licences this week. These pictures are just a fraction of the reason why.

5. Tamson

The epithet “Orwellian” is too often misused, but for the BBC over the past week it is entirely apt.

6. Stephen Armstrong

Let us pull the plug on the Biased Broadcasting Corporation! VOTE YES!

7. Macbeda

We can but hope that the Westminster yes group think photo 1 is true.

“Nil satis nisi optimum

8. Seasick Dave

Just imagine; no more Jackie Bird wrapped in Bacofoil at Hogmanay bringing in the bells.

Yay!

9. Al

I was there. It was an absolutely amazing feeling! Wee Blue Books flying off the stalls too – because people were asking for them – we didn’t need to explain what they were.

10. heedtracker

Nothing on this either. Vote NO get nothing.

http://newsnetscotland.com/index.php/referendum/9736-we-will-block-more-powers-warns-tory-mp

Chope was discussing more powers on BBC Radio 4 when he was asked if he accepted that Westminster had now lost the power to veto further devolution as outlined by Gordon Brown this week. The MP replied: “No, I don’t accept anything has been lost. If there is a No vote then it will be the status quo”

11. Caroline Corfield

orange order march article is on the NI pages of the BBC website, not on the Edinburgh, Fife and East Scotland pages

12. gerry

If this referendum has achieved anything it is to have opened the eyes of many voters to how the establishment reports news that is not in their interest.
    Fox looks like a chihuahua beside this.
    It’s not called ‘State Television for nothing

13. G H Graham

Apart from cancelling the TV tax which I did some time ago because I no longer watch LIVE propaganda, the best way to get rid of the BBC is to vote YES & then lobby for a new Scottish State Broadcaster.

And if it means booting out all the gauleiters at the BBC, like Jackie Bird, Sally Magnusson, Glenn Campbell, James Cook & their Unionist cronies, then so be it.

14. JPJ2

BBC 24 at 11pm tonight. Pictures give the clear impression that it was overwhelmingly No that was out on the streets today.

The desperate and disgusting absence of democracy continues. They clearly intend to go down fighting-no lie will go untold.

15. Gary M

The picture of reality does something silly inside me. I feel like a teenage girl. So proud to be Scottish. Saw Inverness streets packed out all singing Caledonia too! Keep up the good work Rev. You’re a true friend to Scotland.

16. Fairynuff1979

Obviously Rutherglen Main Street looks exactly like Buchanan Street! Muppets!

17. Findlay Farquaharson

Love the welsh, they are supporting us.

18. Ben

I was down in Glasgow today and the bottom picture represents what I saw today

19. Paul

I wish I could tell them where to stick their tv tax more than once. The BBC has form though. Once when I was taking part in industrial action the BBC reporter was chatting away to us and looked like he was going to give us a fair hearing when a couple in suits came up to the reporter pulled him aside and when he came back he told us that was his BBC bosses and that he could no longer talk to us as he was to put a negative slant on our dispute.
    Who also remembers that when the BBC were showing us Colonel Gaddafi’s compound after the Americans had got rid of him they claimed it was the libyan army when in fact it was pictures of the Indian army they showed. I have known for some time that the BBC couldn’t be trusted.

20. aldo_macb

Hundreds in Inverness today too. A flash mob sing song and 9 Yes stalls on the High St. Amazing atmosphere.

21. Harry McAye

Did I hear correctly, did Tim Reid just say on the BBC that David Cameron offered Devo Max last week?

22. Alasdair Allan

Apparently reporting that Yes have 25 supporters for every 1 No voter is not “impartial”. BBC don’t know what impartial is.

23. heedtracker

http://www.theguardian.com/politics/2014/sep/13/alex-salmond-solitary-man-vision Feel the fear. But Scotland belongs to England. How dare they etc

24. Edward robinson

I went myself to see the Buchanan Street turnout. At least 1000 and a great atmosphere. Could have done with a couple of speakers to give it all some extra focus.

25. joe kane

Here is a video of Motherwell today, denounced by MP Jim Murphy for its organised and determined mobs of horrible locals.

Freedom – Indy Girls – Motherwell
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=18JyMe-yhpc

26. Stone_Truth

Wonder why they only show Yes voters in groups of 20 or less eh. Handy camera work to give the impression on the BT side their thronged when we all know their just following the camera around hahahahahahah.
    The best was watching them chant “Scotland Says No” on the steps to cover the Imperial March ahahahahha 😀

27. Jimbo

Aye, I saw that and thought ‘What a lot of underhand fekkers we have at the BBC’.

There’s a demo there tomorrow at Pacific Quay. Meet at 12.30 pm George Square – march to Pacific Quay – Bring your flags and YES banners. We can get our message and pics out by filling the social media.

Also: Today’s Inverness, Perth and Glasgow Buchanan Street crowd singalongs can be reprised in Aberdeen tomorrow (Sunday).

Retweeted Scott Minto (@Sneekyboy):

Sneekyboy

Just a reminder. FLASH MOB Sunday 11:45 for 12 noon; Castlegate; Aberdeen – Show up to support YES #IndyRef #Yes

28. Tackety Beets

Inverness was bouncing , videos going wild on FB . Yes Pubs packed . A Gran day oot . The +ve message is doing well . This week we got the kitchen sink on the back o the heed , it kinda bounced off . Get ready to duck down , then walk tall . I was in full ” banter ” with a female shop assistant this week , suddenly she pulled out a badge from her pocket it read ” I only kiss the boys who vote YES ” warms your heart . I had an e-mail from a Borders staunch NO I have been friendly with ” changed my vote ” . I have yearned for iScotland since the 60’s . Please keep up the good work ,we are nearly there . Thank you very much.

29. fred blogger

it’s amazing how 15 people can spread out to look like 1000’s.

30. G. Campbell

BBC News: Scotland + Independence = HITLER!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=av512z9ySow

31. joe kane

Our Scottish Indian summer isn’t doing the nawbaggers any favours. Even God can’t stand their negative campaign.

32. The Man in the Jar

Right thats it! Pacific Quay tomorrow 2pm. Lets show them what a crowd looks like.

33. heedtracker

http://www.theguardian.com/politics/2014/sep/13/alistair-darling-claims-victory-in-sight If he has won, its a victory for fear and lies and BBC propaganda and then we’ll have to stand and watch as Westminster votes No to any of whatever it is frauds like Darling are trying to get away with. As Darling’s fellow Tory Bettertogether backbench colleague says on R4

“Challenged by the presenter that it would not be no change, Chope replied: “It will be, because we can’t change the constitution without the approval of the United Kingdom Parliament and that seems to have been lost in this debate.”

34. SquareHaggis

Last night at the Proms was a right olde knees up.

35. donald anderson

Pinocchio on a String.

Wee Dougie Alexander says Greggs will close.
    If you don’t believe him just watch his nose.
    As Labour numpties get thicker and thicker.
    Wee Dougie’s Nose just get bigger and thicker.

36. Mishka

The back of my head is in the second picture apparently hahahaha

37. James123

The BBC also described the OO march as a “pro-Union rally from people around the UK”!

38. macart763m

We’re going to have new Scotland on Friday. 🙂

39. Vince

At first I thought this all was like a movie where the good guy can’t prove his innocence because he has been set up by the town’s sheriffs office but like all good movies it looks as if it’s going to have a happy ending where the bad guys get run out of town ( BBC, Jim Murphy and all) stripped to their long johns.

40. Alibi

I was speaking to a friend today, a BBC journalist. He said to me that he always defended the BBC but that he wouldn’t even try to defend Nick Robinson’s distortion of reality. That photo is in the same league.

41. JWil

I’m thoroughly disappointed. The guy that was wheeled out from Deutsche Bank to tell us all the bad news wasn’t even a German. He was obviously from a privileged background with a very upper crust English accent. Just the kind of guy who would be a definite NO! The question is. Who was winding him up?

42. Big Jock

I think we now have denial from no and BBC.In other words create an illusion that everything is fine. Then hide under the covers and imagine its all a bad dream. Then hopefully BBC Scotland can go back to reporting about porridge competitions and English botanists having orgasms over a bit of moss on the Cairngorms.

43. Shan Ashton

Well done you all! The Welsh are indeed supporting you and the BBC’s behaviour is just appalling. Keep it up the Yes people!!!

44. Croompenstein

I wish the old Windsor Davies lookalike for Yes would just turn up at PQ tomorrow and shout Shhuutttuuuppppp!!

45. BuckieBraes

@G. Campbell
    That clot of a reporter (can’t remember his name) was beside himself with amazement that the Yes vote is holding up (well I never!), before signing off with the well-worn lie that Alex Salmond is the ‘leader of the Yes campaign’.

The BBC’s tendentious reporting is bad enough, but what gets me even more is the way it can’t get the most basic of facts right.

46. Jim

JPJ2 says:
    BBC 24 at 11pm tonight. Pictures give the clear impression that it was overwhelmingly No that was out on the streets today.
    The desperate and disgusting absence of democracy continues. They clearly intend to go down fighting-no lie will go untold.
    _______
    They can lie all they want but it will make no difference to the masses of YES voters that were out in force. They can paint a lie but the truth will overcome.

47. A.N.Surgent

Un-fkn-believable. The truth will out

48. shug

The cry tomorrow must be

“WE DONT BELIEVE YOU ANY MORE!”

49. Jim

uckieBraes says:
    The BBC’s tendentious reporting is bad enough, but what gets me even more is the way it can’t get the most basic of facts right.
    ___
    They can get them right, they just choose to go with the lie.

50. Grouse Beater

Kerrist! And to think I once worked in that sinking ship.

51. fred blogger

heedtracker
    darling claims victories in sight, he can just see it before it disappears over the brow of the hill.:-)

52. The Man in the Jar

We had two stands on the go today. One in Uddingston and one in Bothwell. The Bothwell one was very busy due to the “Bothwell Scarecrow Festival” going on. Thanks to Ronnie and the Wings crew for the help.

For the first time ever No had a stall in Uddingston manned by some bussed in politics students and one perhaps two locals. For some reason they set up their stall a few feet from our Yes stall?

I couldnae resist it I started shouting “People of Uddingston bow down to your imperial masters” Thankfully my Yes buddies supplied me with backing vocals for the “Dum dum dum, dum de dum dum de dum.” bit. Some of the Naws looked well pissed of the others obviously hadn’t heard of the video.

Later in the day the same Naws turned up in Bothwell near packing up time. Once again I couldnae help it. “People of Bothwell bow down to your imperial masters” I shouted and once again the chorus “Dum dum dum, dum de dum dum de dum” went up.

One of the Naws turned round and asked if that was the only tune that we knew. “Naw I replied we have this as well” and so we gave them a chorus of “Cheerio cheerio cheerio, cheerio cheerio cheerio”

Thanks to the Bothwell and Uddingston Yes campaign chorus for all their help. And thanks again to the Wings crew for their help and I hope that they enjoyed a busy and fruitful afternoon.

53. Jim

Alibi says:
    I was speaking to a friend today, a BBC journalist. He said to me that he always defended the BBC but that he wouldn’t even try to defend Nick Robinson’s distortion of reality. That photo is in the same league.
    ___
    If you can stomach to watch the Ed Miliband video you will see when they pan out there are very few people with no thanks placards. Look at the pictures published in the MSM and you would think he was absolutely mobbed.

54. Janine Calikes

That’s us! To be fair, it’s not even an accurate depiction of how busy Rutherglen was never mind Buchanan St and George Square!

55. Big Jock

Sillars was right these people like the BBC will face judgement on the 19th. They will be rooted out for their lies and anti Scottish agenda. To hold your own nation back by lying is the ultimate betrayal. Salmond is gunning for them. I still say he has something in the bag for the final few days.

56. Chitterinlicht

Thing is it’s all out in open now. At least 2 million Scots don’t believe what they publish, at least at face value, anymore which basically destroys their credibility.

Much of the credit for this mass awakening has to go to this website and Wee Blue Book. Thank you to all who made/make it happen.

57. Dr JM Mackintosh

It is PQ for me tomorrow.
    The BBC are a disgrace but hopefully there will be other broadcasters from around the world to film the demo. The BBC will not cover it at all.

58. Marie clark

Then my heart went boom as well Stu. All the pictures and the videos from round the country does this auld heart the world of good. When we won the vote in 1997, I always felt that it wis comin yet fur a that. But I never thought that it would be in my lifetime, and here we are just days away from writing our ain history. It’s getting awfi exciting noo.

Had a visitor this evening, just a few weeks ago he told us he was a no, so hubby and I sent him off to look at wings and other sites and check out what was really going on. Tonight he told us he had already voted and he and his partner had voted yes.

Tinfoil hats on for incoming garbage for the next few days, god it gets wearying. Anyway folks, night night fae an auld yin, at least I’m away tae ma bed way a happy heart and a smile on my face.

Thanks guys.

59. Gallowglass

I shudder to think what the next week is going to look like.

If they can create a false narrative of momentum back to no, and hide a river of people through a city what else can they achieve.

I don’t think we’ll get the Sun’s noose out again, but then I wouldn’t it put it past any of them.

Unless there is a yes vote, sadly, there is nothing we will do to stop this. Any cries over the actions of the BBC will be laid at the bitterness of the losers, and noise of a triumphant win over the SNP Salmond and the separatists will be too loud for too long.

60. Croompenstein

shug – The cry tomorrow must be

“WE DONT BELIEVE YOU ANY MORE!”

How about…

We shall overcome, we shall overcome,
    We shall overcome someday;
    Oh, deep in my heart, I do believe,
    We shall overcome someday.

The Lord will see us through, The Lord will see us through,
    The Lord will see us through someday;
    We shall overcome someday.

We’re on to victory, We’re on to victory,
    We’re on to victory someday;
    We’re on to victory someday.

We’ll walk hand in hand, we’ll walk hand in hand,
    We’ll walk hand in hand someday;
    We’ll walk hand in hand someday.

We are not afraid, we are not afraid,
    We are not afraid today;
    We are not afraid today.

The truth shall make us free, the truth shall make us free,
    The truth shall make us free someday;
    The truth shall make us free someday.

We shall live in peace, we shall live in peace,
    We shall live in peace someday;
    We shall live in peace someday.

61. Golfnut

Lets not forget STV. They are no better than the bitter broadcasting co.

62. G H Graham

To be fair to the cronies at BBC Scotland, they are probably going to get the boot if Scotland votes for independence.

London won’t want to pay for their plush offices & bloated expense claims except for say a single “Scottish” correspondent who can give London the occasional “insight”.

And Scotland’s people will be delighted to have them all booted out & replaced with a team of people who have their own country’s interests at heart while of course demonstrating a healthy but balanced critique of current affairs.

The propaganda being produced & broadcast by the BBC is on an industrial scale like we have not seen since the 1st Gulf War scandal. Truly eye opening.

63. bugsbunny

There’s a rumour from the BBC that David Haines, the Scottish Aid Worker has been beheaded. The UK Government will make capital even out of this, if true. Two faced bastards. Lower than crocodile piss.

Stephen.

64. Lanarkist

Pictures and video from around the Country attest to the Festival of Independence that happened on the streets of Scotland today!
    Show people not on line the pictures and videos, take them round to a Grannies and Grandpas, Mums and Dads!
    Post them on a Facebook and everywhere else!
    The joy is obvious!
    The media will have a lot of explaining to do on the 19th when the rest of the UK awake to news they are barely aware of, that Scotland is Independent.
    How did they miss this, why weren’t they told the truth and why weren’t the ramifications explained to them instead of the subsidy junkie myth.
    Keep positively celebrating until at least the 18th and then really go for it!
    Loved hearing that the crowd in Glasgow sang to a group of BT canvassers ‘ we’ll still love you if you vote No’.

65. Big Jock

On a more optimistic note. I went to watch the bridge 50th fireworks at Queensferry tonight. It reminded me of the kind of display you would see when a nation is declaring independence. I hope when the new bridge is finished in 2016 we have another display for the new nation. Punters in crowd were heard to say where is the yes firework. Some young boys were singing Darling looks like a badger. It made my day!

66. fred blogger

this could be described as satire, if i was in a generous mood, which i am. 🙂
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bewOumPliLk

67. Black Douglas

What we must remember is they are not only broadcasting to Scotland.

The bias is full on for a rUK audience also, which for them will continue after the 18th.

This is all about damage limitation for the establishment down south, nasty Jocks and all that blame everything on that dictator Salmond so they can rally round after a Yes win and distract from an inneffectual ruling elite.

It was a big boy did it and ran away!

68. Archie [not Erchie]

Just had a chat with Scots in NZ – yeah yeah time difference, and even they are appalled at the Nick Robinson debacle. My friends in Wallonie [Belgium] keep changing their FB profile pages to Saltires. FlashMob Aberdeen tomorrow promises to be something else.

69. Grouse Beater

Almost as bad as a No win by a small margin, is a Yes win by a small margin.

Interpreted by the enemies of democracy as too slim to be meaningful the British Establishment will marshall its troops to frustrate and deflect negotiations for sovereignty. Some will simply say no again.

70. Training Day

Stop paying the licence fee.

Oh, and vote Yes to get rid of this repellent organisation for good.

71. Chitterinlicht

The fear works on the elderly. I saw a twitter picture of BT leaflet with huge increase in energy costs if YES. Something like £800 extra a year! Disgrace. Irony that it was in £’s lost on them.

Most important thing is to negate the fear with reality checks and talk to people.

There is, conservatively, £1 trillion at stake. Gone to war for less. Going to get very nasty unfortunately. Quite sad.

Imagine we had leaders who wanted to do the best for all their citizens and agreed to CU rather than commit economic violence on all? Yes would walk it.

Being independent is normal.
    I like normal
    dinnae be feart

72. Grouse Beater

Darling claims a guaranteed No win.

Or put another way, the ("Quizmaster" - Ed)s have it.

73. Auld Rock

Here is the target folks for the early hours of Friday morning, when the ‘YES’ vote reaches:- 2,142,661+1 then the ‘YES’ has won.

Even if ‘no’ get:- 2,142,661 votes they LOOSE. Now they can’t complain because it is there very own beloved ‘first past the post system’, so if it is good enough (OK we know it’s not)to be elected to the ‘house of scum’ on the banks of the Thames.

Just hearing that it looks like Scottish aid worker David Haines has been murdered. Is this another reason that we are better together?

Auld Rock

74. Doug D

I was there. The BBC turned up late. I thought they’d use the footage when people had been moved off the steps to show only a large crowd instead of the enormous crowd further down the street, or the crowd that had been there an hour and a half earlier. I couldn’t believe it when I checked online and saw what they had used. To anyone who defended the BBC and argued their bias was accidental, they can’t stay that now. This will create new yes voters.

75. Fireproofjim

It seems to be true that David Haines has been murdered by Isis savages.
    Please don’ t jump to any hasty reactions which can be misinterpreted as blaming the UK government. There is only one source of this brutality – Isis.
    Remember he has a family.

76. Guttersnipe

@Tamson

Wasn’t George an empolyee?

I voted Yes.

77. Ann

The BEEB and everyone else can show any pictures or clips they like, but the postings from people who attended these events yesterday are all over the Internet on Social Media.

Who needs TV when the truth is available from alternative sources.

78. a2

Sigh.. BBC R4 Headline 2 secs ago

“Thousands of supporters of the union took to the streets in Edinburgh whilst the yes campaign began delivering Leaflets”

Condescending buggers

79. David Thomson

On bus from Dundee to Glasgow, passed a sign in Perth, opposite oakbank place which simply read, “weebluebook.com”

80. a2

“Who needs TV when the truth is available from alternative sources”

People who don’t have access to or don’t use Alternate sources.

81. Grouse Beater

Fireproof Jim: Please don’t jump to any hasty reactions which can be misinterpreted as blaming the UK government.

Try the United States of Amnesia.

There’s something objectionable about the way you jump into these events that I can’t quite put my finger on – probably your assumption that we are all infantile pupils and teacher has arrived to quell rowdiness before it starts.

82. heedtracker

@ fred blogger, but if they do pull it off at 51%, these promised new powers, or whatever they do decide to “give” will then get voted out by Westminster.

NO win and its pretty much game over as there can’t be another referendum again without a Westminster vote for another Edinburgh agreement and that’s not going to happen again in our lifetime.

As that Tory MP says “Westminster can’t change the constitution without the approval of the United Kingdom Parliament and that seems to have been lost in this debate.”

And this fact of UKOK power and glory, has been lost in this debate by the most corrupt public broadcaster in the western world. Its what the BBC is really for but even so, we’re witnessing very dark days for democracy in Scotland.

83. boris

David Folkerts-Landau, Chief Economist of Deutsche Bank, who has claimed that Scotland would have a “Great Depression” if independent, has a second home he bought for US $11.6 million dollars. His first home is in London – where he would have been well-placed to notice that Deutsche Bank was at the very heart of the LIBOR interest rate fixing scandal. Naturally neither Folkerts-Landau (he and his wife are friends of the Cameron’s) nor any other senior banker was jailed for that long term criminal illegality.

Full article makes worrying reading. But it is better to know than not

http://www.craigmurray.org.uk/archives/2014/09/neo-cons-of-the-world-unite-you-have-nothing-to-lose-except-your-slaves-mansions-and-huge-pots-of-money/

84. Joe

Big Jock says:

13 September, 2014 at 11:40 pm

Sillars was right these people like the BBC will face judgement on the 19th. They will be rooted out for their lies and anti Scottish agenda. To hold your own nation back by lying is the ultimate betrayal. Salmond is gunning for them. I still say he has something in the bag for the final few days.

Been thinking that , he looks like he has a royal flush and all the other players are going all in with their chips, something still to be revealed methinks.

85. JordanYES

Whens the gatherings in edinburgh startin? (Orange ones not counted) seems to be bleak the now, kets fill out the parliament or St Abdrews Sq!!!

86. Squaresausage

O/T Reports here on Australian ABC News 24 that Scottish aid worker has been beheaded by ISIS.

87. Grouse Beater

Heedtracker: A No win pretty well means another … Referendum won’t secure another Edinburgh Agreement … in our lifetime.

I can guarantee a backbencher or two will propose a Bill extirpating any Referendum on Independence for 50 years.

88. Cath

” Pictures give the clear impression that it was overwhelmingly No that was out on the streets today.”

I don’t get why they’d do this. It makes no sense.

I was in Edinburgh this morning watching the paramilitary style OO march and their beer-bellied, loutish followers. It was a horrible atmosphere, oppressive and intimidating.

Came back through to Glasgow and it was Yes party city! Buchanan Street was just amazing with Yes gear everywhere. But then there were also local stalls and street parties everywhere in the city as well. Ours was getting loads of attention and beeps from passing cars.

Anyone in either city (or in Inverness or anywhere else0 watching the news who witnessed the reality will know they’re being lied to, or information is being withheld. In particular, Better Together supporters must realise it’s all bollocks. They’re surely just confirming to more and more people that they’re not reporting reality?

89. Big Jock

It occurs to me that the reason Westminster can’t win this debate. Is down to the fact that they think everyone has a price and money byes everything. So they continue with the money,money ,money agenda. Thinking Scots will decide based on their bank balance. But most yes people are voting yes to change the nation not to make themselves richer. Cameron and Darling are so obsessed with money and personal wealth. That they just can’t read the people in Scotland. So they will continue with the money,money agenda as it’s all they have.But fear can only be a weapon if the receiver is scared of your weapon. Scotland is no longer scared we have confidence and will fulfill our destiny on Friday.

90. Drunken Hobo

I’ve just stopped visiting the BBC website altogether now. I won’t learn anything from it and it’ll just make me annoyed.

The bias is now worse than when they were pushing for a war on Syria. I didn’t think that was possible.

91. fred blogger

heedtracker
    we are not going to lose the referendum.
    but, WM is stuffed, what ever happens, people in r.uk are very pissed off with WM, we’ve changed everything.

92. Gfaetheblock

G H Graham:

I call goodwins on your after 13 posts. Poor show

93. Squaresausage

Australian Channel 7 News also reporting ‘Thousands in pro-Union rally.’ No mention whatsoever that it was organized by the Orange Order.

94. Jimbo

@ Bugsbunny

“There’s a rumour from the BBC that David Haines, the Scottish Aid Worker has been beheaded. The UK Government will make capital even out of this, if true. Two faced bastards. Lower than crocodile piss.”

It’s now being widely reported that David Haines has been murdered. Our thoughts have to be with this poor victim’s family.

I don’t see how Westminster government can make anti Scottish capital out of it. To turn this poor man’s murder into a referendum issue would be low even by Westminster standards.

95. geeo

@fireproofjim.

Well said.

96. Squaresausage

Australian Channel 7 News also reporting ‘Thousands in pro-Union rally.’ No mention whatsoever that it was organized by the Orange Order. Piece mentioned that Scotland was “likely” to vote No. Think the Australian public might be in for a rude shock on the evening of September 19th. (We will get the final result here at around 5-6pm Australian Eastern Time)

97. David Lowrie

When William Hague was standing in for Cameron at PM question time he was asked by a Tory MP what did the trio in Scotland think they were doing offering extra devo powers.
    Hague was very clear in his reply that what was on offer was similar to what one would see in a proposed election manifesto. Not I repeat not government policy and any such increases would require to be debated and voted upon by the whole parliamentary assemble.
    Look it up by checking Hansard for last weeks questions.

98. h_johnny

People who said the British state would announce some terror alert or something of that ilk were correct.

This might be controversial but does anyone actually believe this whole ISIS nonsense? I don’t. One of them at least has been proven to be trained by the CIA.

Brutal terrorists that murder someone but are nice enough to edit videos not to show anything.

99. Squaresausage

If the UK government does try to make capital out of this poor man’s appalling death, then I am pretty sure it will cause massive outrage. Even they couldn’t be that stupid. Or could they? Woe betide them if they do because it will backfire in spectacular fashion. Condolences to Mr Haines’s grieving family.

100. MickyD

Notice that they also used that shot because above the punters was the shop front for Mega Amusements whilst the clip they showed for Murphy Reid was The Co Operative …subtle ….

101. David Renwick Grant

There was a BBC report of the OO march – but you had to go to their Northern Ireland news page to find it!

102. Tabbycat

I am appalled about David Haines… I hope this isn’t true. I cannot wait until we are away from Westminster and everything they drag us, the real rUK, into.

103. Big Jock

I still have concerns about vote rigging. I just worry we will win but it will be denied to us by cheating!

104. Grouse Beater

Square Sausage: If the British government tries to mqake capital about this poor man’s death …

Do you mean, in the manner of a year’s gluttony glorifying millions killed in the First World War?

105. Iain Gray's Subway Lament

Thoughts obviously go out to David Haines family and friends.

106. Tabbycat

I. Am verrry suspicious of the whole Isis thing… It’s all just a little too convenient…

107. Iain Gray's Subway Lament

As for ISIS, never let terrorists terrorise you as that is self-evidently exactly what they want. Always be fully informed on who it is we are dealing with.

http://pando.com/2014/06/16/the-war-nerd-heres-everything-you-need-to-know-about-too-extreme-for-al-qaeda-i-s-i-s/

108. ewen

I turned on the tv at 17:45 and saw the bt mass campaigning report on BBC1. As soon as Ruthie came on, I switched to vintage tv to try and calm down.
    The been is bad for my health and the dog doesn’t like me shouting at the tv.

109. The Man in the Jar

Here is a cracking wee video by Louise Rutherford. Lifted from Wee Ginger Dug. Please watch and share.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WHd4ZZNchXg

110. Lesley-Anne

Auld Rock says:

Here is the target folks for the early hours of Friday morning, when the ‘YES’ vote reaches:- 2,142,661+1 then the ‘YES’ has won.

That’s interesting Auld Rock I had worked out the winning line as 1754130 as laid out below. Out of curiosity how did you get to your 2,142,661+1 figure? Just for my own interest you understand as obviously I’ve gone wrong in my calculations somewhere. 😉

Total number of eligible voters 4385323

80% of eligible voters 3508258

50% of the 80% eligible voters 1754129

50% +1 of the 80% eligible voters 1754130

111. Bob Malcolm

I did say some months ago that one of the biggest tragedies in all of this was the loss of reputation of the BBC for impartiality and the quality of its journalism. We can all see now that when push comes to shove, the BBC is an organ of the state in the same way as state television in Iran or Russia. In the future when the BBC reports on foreign policy, we will all say, so that’s what NO 10 wants us to think. It is terrible that the BBB was used in this way but I don’t see a way back, its reputation has been destroyed.

112. Peter G

I seem to remember the tirade of hate from our pet unionists when somebody used pictures of the hearses in Wooton Basset.

Now the same union scum are using the dead who fought for the survival of civilisation against the Nazis.

They are beneath the lowest of the low. A special place in hell below Judas awaits them.

Also unemployment as they get the Liverpool vs The Sun treatment.

113. Big Jock

I hope everyone on here uses their own pen to mark the paper. its important to remember the electoral commission agreed pen was fine. Pity we can’t get everyone using a pen!

114. James Caithness

Grouse Beater says:
    14 September, 2014 at 12:11 am
    Heedtracker: A No win pretty well means another … Referendum won’t secure another Edinburgh Agreement … in our lifetime.

I can guarantee a backbencher or two will propose a Bill extirpating any Referendum on Independence for 50 years.

Big Jock says:
    14 September, 2014 at 12:28 am
    I still have concerns about vote rigging. I just worry we will win but it will be denied to us by cheating!

============================

Grouse and Big Jock – when things like that happens and the mood of the people is not listened to, that is the breeding ground for terrorism.

115. Castle Rock

I really don’t know how to describe this.

I think we all feel horror over the brutal murder of David Haines and our hearts go out to his family but Jackie Baillie has retweeted a mad tweet from a nutter saying that now is not the time to vote No.

My thoughts are for him and his family but they are trying to use it for political capital for us to vote No.

You just don’t do it, its unimaginable what that man went through and those bastards are using him as a political tool. I’m sorry but they really are fucking scum

116. Kevin

I think there trying to fool people no are winning so rhey can fix the vote,black ops do excist

117. heedtracker

@ fred blogger, If Darling is right, his fellow back bencher, this Tory http://www.parliament.uk/biographies/commons/mr-christopher-chope/242 says devo is not going to happen.

And in same Graun/Observer’s Darling will win blast, future PM Milliband is also lying very hard at Scotland and Wales, although Wales has a very loyal teamGB Labour team in power now.

“Writing in the Observer, Labour leader Ed Miliband promises that his party would lead a constitutional revolution “from Cornwall to Cumbria”, including reform of the House of Lords. The Labour leader says that devolution plans spelt out last week were “just the start of the change we need in where power lies”.

Miliband adds: “Scotland has led the way but devolution is not a project just for Scotland. Further devolution is coming to Wales. And Scotland’s example will lead the way in changing the way we are governed in England too.”

Why is a dude like Miliband boosting Scots devo when he knows his own parliament will say no to all of it?

118. Flooplepoop

@Castle Rock
    Baillie retweeted this
    https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Bxcu-odCYAApklk.jpg:large

119. ben madigan

on the basis that every little helps
    eurofree3.wordpress.com/2014/09/13/saturday-in-scotland/

120. Dormant

Here’s a nice piece from The Observer: Scottish independence: why I have finally decided to vote a proud yes by Kevin McKenna.

121. Croompenstein

@Flooplepooop

Holy F, Baillie is a dougnhut sooking bastard, there will be no place for this woman(if indeed she is a woman) in a free Scotland

122. Big Jock

Heres a question about the no MSPs. Do they have a conscience or a soul. I am beginning to think they don’t have a Super ego. Instead they have just an ID irrational desire to win. When someone has no super ego they are said to be morally unstable and will commit any act to satisfy the ID. This is definitely a case where winning is everything and morals are not important.

123. a2

Is there a demo at PQ tomorrow or not? this is the only place I have seen mention of it.

124. Big Jock

Kevin that’s my concern. Create a bogus lead in the polls and if you rig the result. You can turn round and say the result was expected. To be honest its my one great concern. I hope and pray Salmond etc have really done their homework on this. Let’s face it. It would be hard to imagine Salmond hasn’t thought about this given the British state detest him.

125. fred blogger

heedtracker
    “Why is a dude like Miliband boosting Scots devo when he knows his own parliament will say no to all of it?”
    to get @ or give impression, isolated voters might swing the vote, if there are any that is!
    to cause concern among committed yes voters, that there will be unreachable isolated voters out there.
    to create unknowns, uncertainty, that’s why.

126. JordanYES

@ grouse beater heed tracker

A no win pretty much means another referendum wont happen fir another 50 years…

If in the case of a no win ill be on the first bus up to Holyrood to protest on the grounds of a breach of Purdah… The BT camp and WM moved the goal posts after postal votes had already been cas, i,e changin their policies denying those who had already voted no the opportunity to vote YES in disagreement with, in other words “the terms of service” … http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Purdah_(pre-election_period)

127. Stevie boy

a2

Yeah definately a demo tomorrow at PQ.

I was in Glasgow today at the ‘massive’ meeting outside the Concert Hall and I lost count if the amount of people that were talking and asking about it.

I’ve heard that there will be a huge turnout tomorrow mate.

Some people meeting at George Square at 12:30pm and others meeting at the Concert Hall steps at 1pm.. then all heading up!

128. Forbes

I too was in Buchanan St Glasgow today and it was one of the best days of my life! Great atmosphere, just like during the Commonwealth games, 70% of people wore support for the YES Campaign, I no longer watch the Fascist shite the BBC call news,
    but I did go for a drink in my local where it appeared on screen without sound. Again I must applaud their extreme levels of fantasy propaganda, as you could see that they had manged to produce film footage from another world to the one I, and several thousand other Scots were actually living in today.
    If Hitler had employed reporters of this caliber, he would have ended his days as a Corporal,

129. Stevie boy

Big Jock

Yeah that’s exactly what I’ve been thinking too.. a lead in the polls and then it looks like sour grapes if we lose cos the polls ‘were correct’.

Either that or they are still trying to suppress the Yes momentum by looking like we have peaked and are on the slide, while the BBC con the viewers into thinking there is no support (photos from today) and also just as the bookies have us going out again in the betting.

Stupid people might buy all this but I honestly think the vast majority of people are clued up to this crap now. I haven’t seen one Yes poster being removed from anyone’s window and in fact there seems to be more going up everyday.

130. Tom Foyle

E-mailed the beeb to complain. No response. Phoned to complain – which took some doing, I can tell youse! But they’ve all gone home until monday. I’ll be here, though. I’m NOT letting these fuckers get away with this. They keep trying to palm me off with that 03700 number, which is a pure waste of time. The options don’t include, “I want to speak to the biased bastard in charge of programming.” But I’ll get them, sooner or later. Just got a letter today from licensing threatening a doorstep visit. I can’t wait. But I assume, once they see the massive “YES” posters all over my windies, they’ll not even chap the door. There’s a word the kids use these days to describe that sort of folk, the ones who try to terrorise the elderly and disabled, it’s something about cats – I’ve got 5, by the by – oh, yes! Pussies!
    Don’t understand that, though, MY cats LIKE fighting. Ah, well, canna keep up with the bairns these days…

131. Ally

That picture of the YES campaigners was at Rutherglen Main Street! – NOT Buchanan Street!
    https://www.google.co.uk/maps/@55.8283754,-4.2130578,3a,32.8y,158.08h,86.91t/data=!3m4!1e1!3m2!1s2PwfUeMI1ROKyPVrignbzw!2e0
    (Strictly speaking,)= in fact, it is a FACT – Rutherglen is not even IN Glasgow, but, in South Lanarkshire! (Governed by Hamilton HQ)

Apologies if this has been posted before – but, it’s late & I have a referendum to go win!!

132. Stevie boy

.. only 4 more days of biased garbage to brush off, then we will win and sit back and laugh at all the muppets as they squirm and change their views on what they ‘meant’.. although we will all have the truth!!

Judgement Day(s) becon… 🙂

133. James Caithness

Castle Rock says:
    14 September, 2014 at 12:36 am
    I really don’t know how to describe this.

I think we all feel horror over the brutal murder of David Haines and our hearts go out to his family but Jackie Baillie has retweeted a mad tweet from a nutter saying that now is not the time to vote No.

My thoughts are for him and his family but they are trying to use it for political capital for us to vote No.

You just don’t do it, its unimaginable what that man went through and those bastards are using him as a political tool. I’m sorry but they really are fucking scum

============================

Someone should tell that fat twat Jackie Baillie that the crap in the middle east is due to her party’s( the Labour party) who invaded two countries, the first so Haliburton oil could run an oil pipeline through Afghanistan and the second an illegal war based on a lie.

134. Brian Mchugh

Buchannan Street today… for avoidance of doubt like. 🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=youtu.be&v=U-5hW4fDhTM&app=desktop

135. purplebadger

“Westminster can’t change the constitution without the approval of the United Kingdom Parliament and that seems to have been lost in this debate.”

More I read that, more it seems to refer to some future Scottish Independence Act.

136. Ian Brotherhood

@Tom Foyle –

Ha!

More power…

137. Patrician

I was at 2 events today, Airdrie Yes and Bothwell Scarecrow festival, what a brilliant day. To borrow a phrase “We arra peeple” and today proved it.

138. Kevin evans

Thanks to the bbc and sky it’s paranoia central – so am hoping this is where this thought came from but I don’t put it past Westminster to declare war on Isis as a last gasp rally for unity.

139. ben madigan

sorry – link not posted right last time – just a little something showing MSM bias http://eurofree3.wordpress.com/2014/09/13/saturday-in-scotland/

140. Ian Brotherhood

Spot check here –

Who’s out and about tomorrow?

Anyone planning to be in Kilmarnock or Ayr tomorrow afternoon?

I’ve a load of stuff here, and I can’t see any way of shifting it…have polling duties etc over Tue/Wed, and then the Count itself.

Anyone in Ayrshire fancy meeting to help get rid of these final boxes of stuff?

Don’t want to have to bin anything next Friday…

141. Stevie boy

Brian McHugh

Good post mate.. now that’s what u call a gathering!!

I was there on the steps for most of the day.. what an atmosphere, everyone was so friendly and good natured. Even tolerated some No nuggets!!

142. heedtracker

http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2014/sep/13/observer-view-scottish-referendum-union

So massive constitutional change suddenly pops up within a week of polling day and straight after a good YES poll too.

Crash Gordon “last week promised Scotland “nothing less than a modern form of home rule” if the vote is no, it signalled that the constitutional make-up of these islands is about to change irrevocably.”

Its a funny way to run a union, let alone a country. Surely they don’t wait and see how the polls go do they and are we really that gullible Scotland?

143. Joe Kinnear

Are the BBC now the most corrupt part of the Establishment – lie after lie, propaganda reported as fact, manipulative editing etc.? The people of Scotland are having a lesson in Chomsky’s ‘propaganda’ model of MSM media.

144. Morag

Stuart, if this is a narrow Yes win, I honestly believe you will have swung it, effectively single-handed.

Every one of us here has been involved in Yes Scotland and doing our best and trailing round urban and rural doors with their anodyne literature, wondering if this really was the way to win the vote.

We’ve had these conversations with the waverers, and we’ve struggled to hold in our heads the facts and the figures and the references to refute the lies of the No camp. We got those facts and figures and references on Wings, mainly, and it was to Wings we directed them for more information.

But hyperspace isn’t enough for a lot of people, not even in 2014. They need tangible print. Finally, just at the right moment, we were given the WBB.

300,000 WBBs in a warehouse would have been bugger-all use of course, and they could never have been distributed without the Yes Scotland activists who had the maps and the delivery runs and the canvassing returns and the street stalls. So it was a concerted effort.

Wings piggy-backed on the official Yes campaign, of course, but it also strengthened it by providing a space for its members to chill out and argue and get to know each other and organise weird pub get-togethers.

So it all came together and the WBB was there and just in time perhaps to make that crucial 2% to 3% difference that will see us win. Not bad for a personal blog by a bloke without a vote.

145. Barbara Hind

What mechanisms are in place to ensure vote counting is impartial and accurate? Similarly, how can we be sure that the actual votes are not tampered with? Is there some sort of reliable auditing process? I do not trust the Westminster lot at all. They have exposed themselves as liars by their shameless false propaganda and I do not put any dirty tricks past them.

146. heedtracker

Not bad for a personal blog by a bloke without a vote. If we win, come back to Scotland and stand for Holyrood Reverend. You may well have a future in the political life of the new nation state of Scotland!

147. K1

If people can’t sleep…here’s Brian Cox at the Marryat Hall, talking at length about his journey…his story and Scotland’s journey…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?list=PLC6TdgUFSoBubTPAfyRdfnqfghmdIX2HT&v=t-tQ1nWxiPI#t=414

148. William

I was at Buchanan Street today with my daughter and was moved by people like myself an ordinary Scottish person of the YES variety and how they conducted themselves. However when I returned it appeared on the BBC website that I was mistaken and I actually was at a bring and buy sale. Later on today I will be taking part in the march to BBC headquarters ,not because I am following the crowd but for the simple reason that I will not be lied to or cheated anymore. No more lies ,no more watering it down. Not when the cameras are pointing to the carpark of the BBC HQ and its full of one thing. TRUE SCOTTISH PEOPLE

149. dadsarmy

Kevin McKenna effectively came out for YES 18 months or more ago. He’d been hit in his personal beliefs by the catholic church form letter opposing gay marriage, celtic something or other, and then Johann Lamont’s end universal benefits and her other big faux pas that time. He posted a few articles querying his own past beliefs and bit by bit turned to YES.

It would have surprised me if Gardham had turned to YES only because I think the Herald wants to remain neutral. He’s had some very interesting opinion pieces under agenda the last few months. If he stated AFTER a YES vote on Thursday that he had supported Indy for some time I’d believe him and support his claim. But I’m not sure.

Mmm, that’s it!

150. Footsoldier

The BBC are now totally reactive, they only publish when the internet overwhelms.

Today in Buchanan Street is typical. The current BBC pictures bear no resemblance to the reality of the situation and everyone online can see that, yet they persist.

151. lee

Just think if Scotland go independent then they will have to pay for their own prescriptions, BBC channels will stop being aired there, the Scotland pages on the BBC website will be taken down and the BBC won’t report the weather for Scotland.

152. Ian Brotherhood

@Morag –

Wise words indeed – that man deserves more than a coconut.

Threads too big to keep up with for me, so I may have missed your recent input, but good to encounter you.

Hope all’s well, and that you’re not burning the proverbial ‘both-ends’.

We’re nearly there pal…

153. h_johnny

@Squaresausage says:
    14 September, 2014 at 12:24 am
    If the UK government does try to make capital out of this poor man’s appalling death, then I am pretty sure it will cause massive outrage. Even they couldn’t be that stupid. Or could they? Woe betide them if they do because it will backfire in spectacular fashion. Condolences to Mr Haines’s grieving family.

————————————–

The Scotsman and Sunday Post had been trying to link Scottish independence to Mr Haines all week, they were not the only ones.

If Cameron even tries to mention the word unity etc talking about the UK in relation to Mr Haines then he has no shame whatsoever.

154. call me dave

The banks are moving their HQ daan South!
    Don’t worry and here’s the reason.

http://bellacaledonia.org.uk/2014/09/13/the-purging-of-scottish-madness/

155. dadsarmy

BBC does have a picture of the probably thousands at Buchanan tweeted in by someone. You have to go to “Refendum live – as it happened” and click “more posts” at the bottom.

Sneakily hidden away where nobody bothers to go.

156. KM

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-29190306 can someone shed some light on what the moderated comments were about? The BBC are truly getting more ridiculous by the day. A true propaganda machine who dabbles in protecting pedophiles and light entertainment on the side.

157. dadsarmy

BBC – “Referendum live – as it happened” page, click “more posts” at the bottom. The thousands of peeeps picture sneaked hidden away where few would see it.

158. Kevin Evans

Agreed about the Scotsman and independent reporting the Isis link with the referendum … the papers have blood on there hands.

159. dadsarmy

@call me dave
    Nameplates only, not HQ. If I had a peeny for every time I’ve had to correct the Herald on that I’d have 20p.

The HQ can have and often does, a totally different address to the registerd office which is where the nameplate is kept.

160. Nick Parker-Stevens

My wife was driving to her mum’s yesterday (we live in Edinburgh) and she had a minibus of OO folk beeping at her and shouting abuse because she has a Yes in the rear window of the car. Not only did it freak her right out, the kids were in the car.

So, are there any plans to redress the balance here in Edinburgh? It’d be nice to have a positive and optimistic rally here to offset that negativity.

161. thoughtsofascot

Do you hear the people sing, singing the song of angry men!

This is amazing.

162. Dorothy Bruce

For those still online who fancy a bit of late night entertainment – http://www.tatler.com/news/articles/september-2014/the-future-of-scotland

163. Kevin Evans

Had a chat tonight with a postal no voter. His vote is in so I wanted to hear the psychology of a no voter since there was no point in trying to talk him around.

Well here is his list of statements he made – he claimed there was 120,000 orange men marching today.
    He’ll be alright his mortgage is paid off and all his kids have went to uni.
    He’s a farmer and he’ll lose money.

Nice to see the no voter worries about nothing but themselves.

Vote yes and let’s always carry a positive message and include all walks of life and all people – no one gets left behind and scotland will be the greatest country ever and our example will be admired from all our nations.

164. Kevin Evans

Had a chat tonight with a postal no voter. His vote is in so I wanted to hear the psychology of a no voter since there was no point in trying to talk him around.

Well here is his list of statements he made – he claimed there was 120,000 orange men marching today.
    He’ll be alright his mortgage is paid off and all his kids have went to uni.
    He’s a farmer and he’ll lose money.

Nice to see the no voter worries about nothing but themselves.

Vote yes and let’s always carry a positive message and include all walks of life and all people – no one gets left behind and scotland will be the greatest country ever and our example will be admired from all our nations.

165. Squaresausage

I’m fully expecting the UK to raise its security alert to “critical” (red) on Thursday in an attempt to scare more voters into voting No (Scotland too wee and too useless to defend itself against imminent terrorist attacks etc etc). Mark my words. You read it here first.

166. Kevin Evans

Betting websites now give odds of 3/2 on a better together meltdown on live TV.

Latest odds are – David Cameron emotional breakdown, 1/4.
    Flipper locked into a loop of stuttering for 10 minutes, 3/2
    Jim murphy to do a forest gump and just keep doing his tour even after a yes vote 1/2.

Bet now.

167. Kevin Evans

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-politics-18958032

This explains a C.O.B.R.A meeting.

168. john greer

this is a hard time coming … we hve no friends … but rational people of Scotland know .. we will never need the help of the beeb … we will show them up to be the cowardly quivering wretchet lie tellers that their shareholders I mean English government expect them to be … lets be bigger than them and offe every Scottish reporter a chance to enjoy why they chose to be a journalist

169. Stuart McColl

I currently live in Portugal and due to a shift in the satelite – you can’t get BBC or BBC News here – beleive me… YOU DON’T MISS IT!! They’ve proved themselves to be a ("Tractor" - Ed)ous enemy to the Scottish people and their freedom for reasons known only to themselves

170. bookie from hell

lets just watch MSM how this plays out

massive tragic young aid worker

it should be above politics

171. iheartScotland

@Kevin Evans,
    LOL…love it, but I think the odds aren’t short enough.It’s a shoo in. I can see Jim Murphy (by himself) talking shite on an irn bru crate well into 2016….

172. Mike

I honestly believe that there is a concerted effort by the No campaign via the media to lower our voting expectations as well as that of the rest of the world as a forefront to an all out attempt to rig the polling result.
    I truly believe and pictures like the one above only highlight this belief that the Yes support is way out in front.
    If nobody tampers with the vote I would fully expect to see a Yes % in the 70s.
    The spin and manipulation of the polling has been as much of a disgrace as the spin and manipulation of media reporting.
    A concerted effort by a rotten corrupt British state to hold on to the very last vestiges of its declined and withered Empire.
    I have seen zero evidence of any sizable support for a No vote anywhere in Scotland with the obvious exception of the Orange Lodge but knowing they are a very specific organised fringe group of extremists I hardly think they count as evidence of a grass roots support for anything other than self serving delusion of past glories.
    The fact that the No campaign have to spin a story in order to explain the absence of support is very telling. We are supposed to believe that there is a massive majority of support for the union in hiding. A massive majority of support afraid to show itself from fear of a vocal minority
    Given the No campaigns track record on bare faced lying it doesn’t take a rocket scientist to see the writing on the wall.

173. iheartScotland

@Mike says,
    Remember that the rest of the world is watching.Any slightest smell of corruption will make the referendum null and void.An immediate declaration of UDI would be supported by most democratic countries.

174. KaMate

The other day when everyone was banging on about brass plates I decided to have a look at the number of banks here in NZ. (Turns out there are 24)

http://www.rbnz.govt.nz/regulation_and_supervision/banks/register/

Any names jump out from that list Deutsche Bank ??. Perhaps they should tell the boss ?

A country of 5 million without the vast quantities of natural resources we have, no access to a common market, no reputation in world banking etc. etc.

175. KaMate

Oh, and literally at the bloody end of the earth !!!

176. Stone_Truth

Fucks sake guys, have you all forgotten about the royal baby already?!?!?!? 😀

177. Mealer

Great scenes.By the way,if you are disappointed that Asda are having meetings in Downing Street and are ,along with the Orange Order,supporting No,you should go to customer services at Asda and tell them.But keep it civil.It wasn’t the staff who made the decision to side with London against Scotland.

178. mr thms

A great video taken from the steps of the Glasgow Royal Concert Hall looking down Buchanan Street

https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=280588935464190

179. Roll_On_2014

Tabbycat: 12:29 am

I. Am verrry suspicious of the whole Isis thing… It’s all just a little too convenient…

The Power of Nightmares

By the way Al-Qaeda was created by the USA

180. Mealer

I had a phone call last night from an elderly lady who I gave a copy of WBB to.She went to the trouble of looking up my number in the phone book so she could tell me she dad read it and is going to vote Yes.And so is her husband.And if Asda put up their prices she’ll just go somewhere else.Even little old ladies can stand up to bullies with a bit of help from their friends.

181. iheartScotland

KaMate
    Kia Ora Bro,
    Thanks for the input, it makes a mockery of the idea that Scotland can’t be successful,we have resources and a human capital that is industrious and innovative. We are also so much closer to our trading partners. Thanks. Gotta love Kiwis

182. KaMate

Kia Ora !

Scotland’s plates wouldn’t be made of brass – they would be solid gold !

183. Marker Post

George Robertson in the Herald: “Yes campaign has been massively overspending. For example, in their marquee, they had even hired pipers”. i bet the Electoral Commission is onto that in a flash.

184. john king

GH Graham says
    “And if it means booting out all the gauleiters at the BBC, like Jackie Bird, Sally Magnusson, Glenn Campbell, James Cook & their Unionist cronies, then so be it.”

Sorry GH that would be a PREREQUISITE!

Just watched a progamme on BBC call mibbes aye mibbes naw
    and one couple where the young woman in the took the trouble to go out and find out the facts and she was immediately persuaded to vote yes, her husband on the other hand saw no reason to enlighten himself told her he would divorce her if she voted yes, UK in microcosm,

STAY STUPID, VOTE NO!

David Thmpson says
    “On bus from Dundee to Glasgow, passed a sign in Perth, opposite oakbank place which simply read, “weebluebook.com””

Saw it,

its at the wee roundabout next to Tesco’s brilliant.

Tabbycat says
    “I. Am verrry suspicious of the whole Isis thing… It’s all just a little too convenient…”

Dont pull on that string Tabbycat, theres no milage in it,
    I dont think even the UK government could manipulate world events to suit their domestic political agenda, ISIS do exist and they are killing people.

Whether trained by the CIA or not, lets not forget, Al Qaeda were trained by the CIA!

Tom Foyle says
    “But I assume, once they see the massive “YES” posters all over my windies, they’ll not even chap the door. ”

Correct, thats exactly what the cowards did when they came to our door, the door was definitely not chapped, or we would have heard it but the wife saw the letter lying on the doormat around 5.00 oclock and we had only just come in half an hour before and it wasnt there, so the person saw the (several) yes posters on the windows and thought better of it and beat a retreat.

Ben Madigan @1.21
    A complaint from all of us should be sent to Electoral Comission at what was a clear breach of EC rules that is not permissable to have uniformed people showing support for a campaign.

Morag says
    “Not bad for a personal blog by a bloke without a vote.”

Aye, no bad! 🙂

Getting ready to leave for the muster point in Stirling for the freedom rally culmiating at PQ at 14.00, mind and put name badges on for the people who haven’t met eaach other yet, see you there guys. 🙂

185. Sunshine

Wouldn’t it be great if Yes supporters could somehow have a 24hr presence in George Square Glasgow up until the night of the result. People could drop in after work or on days off to swell the numbers and it could gradually build until the square was constantly full of Independence supporters.
    After the inevitable win, we could rename it Independence Square. Plus think of the joy our Glasgow Labour councillors would have looking out at the wonderful, happy, Yes supporters all this week.
    Just a thought.

186. john king

email of complaint sent to the Electoral Commission,

“I think it safe to say this complaint will not be the only one you will receive due to the Orange Order
    marching in full regalia in Edinburgh in clear breach of EC rules I trust the EC will be taking immediate and stringent action regarding this flagrant breach?”
    john king

187. alexicon

Was at the Falkirk YES stall yesterday, it was extremely busy all day long.
    There’s certainly a good buzz in the air at the moment and many locals who, some I thought would’ve have been no voters, were wearing YES badges wristbands etc.
    It certainly filled me with confidence and I’m sure we are on our way to making history.
    In contrast the no stall was visibly empty and that was even with Michael Connarty present. Please don’t laugh too much.
    See the photos of yesterdays events on their facebook page and please give them a thumbs up for all the hard work the Falkirk YES team are doing.

https://www.facebook.com/YesFalkirk

188. Robert Louis

The electoral commission is a joke. The people who run it are a joke. It has and WILL do nothing about anything.

The electoral commission is the chocolate teapot of democracy. Puppets of Westminster. A waste of feaking space.

I fully expect lots of ‘reports’ from them AFTER the vote, in order to carry on the pretence of authority.

The whole lot of them, every last one should be sacked.

189. Robert Louis

Looking like being a great day in the meadows in Edinburgh today. 🙂

Wear your badges, and get out there. We are on the cusp of something wonderful. I feel it in the air.

190. macart763m

@RL

Something wonderful has already happened.

Something spectacular is about to. 🙂

191. Grouse Beater

On Thursday we have the chance of ridding ourselves of the corrupt political system that is Westminster and its agenda.

We have a chance to build our own democracy as we would wish to live it.

Vote Yes
    Tell everybody you know to vote YES

192. Muscleguy

@Lesley-Anne

And to put that 1754130 into perspective. 1.74million people voted Yes to devolution in 1992. We don’t need many more to get over the line. If it can be done once . . .

193. whiplash

@Muscleguy

Technically it’s been done twice if you count 1979 actual result.

194. Malky

We walked the length of Sauchiehall Street. At one point, for a very brief second, I actually felt sorry for the no people trying to cajole passers-by.

195. JWil

Can’t say I have noticed any response from the electoral commission to events, which is surprising.

They are keeping their heads down and hoping for the best that they won’t be criticised.

196. Holiday Pay Claims

@JWil

I have. I emailed the EC to complain about Westminster promising new powers after the postal votes had been sent and they replied saying that it is not their job to police things like that and also that Westminster is not covered by the purdah rules.

They also sent me a link to a PDF on their website which they had cobbled together but I cant find the document on the site now

197. JWil

From an earlier post, “It would have surprised me if Gardham had turned to YES only because I think the Herald wants to remain neutral.”

Gardham has form. He wrote for the Daily Record before he went to the Herald. He was a politics reporter alongside Torquil Chrichton who is a confirmed SNP hater (and a poseur). Chrichton wrote some very nasty things about Alex Salmond and the SNP in his own blog. Gardham’s own articles were anti-independence.

198. Grouse Beater

In a few minutes *expat Andrew Marr will enlighten Scotland in his usual leaden way as to why we are bigots and misled by our representatives.

* Expat: If Scotland is to be termed a ‘foreign state’ then anybody living beyond its borders is, ipso facto, an expat.

199. Clootie

@Grouse Beater says:
    14 September, 2014 at 8:50 am

“Expat” wasn’t the first word that came to mind!

200. JWil

Marr appeared in a documentary about art recently. I found it amusing the way he was modifying his speech to separate himself from the ordinary. e.g. his pronunciation of the word ‘about’ was to say ‘abite.’

201. Sunshine

Just read online (Telegraph)Jeremy Paxman not too happy about the rest of the UK not having a vote in the referendum or himself particularly, cos he’s a quarter Scottish you know – he told us all – then adds it has nothing to do with race, yep ok then. Then mentions various foreign names, refers to Scots as “Hamish” and thinks that in the event of a yes vote a proper border should be put up. Barbed wire, Alsatians etc. etc.
    Thinks if we vote Yes it will show how much we hate the English. Tosser!
    Why are our love bombers now missing out the love?
    Onwards to Yes.

202. punklin

No problem with those planning to go to BBC protest, but I’ve changed my feeling about all this and won’t be joining you.

Losing minorities protest; winning majorities campaign, celebrate and then take control.

203. WantonWampum.

“Having Razed the Welfare State and Social Services to the ground, the Scottish Labour Party (SLAB scabs)expect to march into the Rubble and claim the keys to a bereft kingdom”.
    After the Indy Ref.?

Having abused and traduced at least half the population of Scotland, we are being asked by the SAME SLAB scabs who bankrupted the country and whose treachery took us into illegal war – now supply their new DODGY DOSSIER on NHS – to extend their self-serving careers – versus any semblance of simple sense in Scotland.

Ludicrously, we witness Krash`s english boot-boy Charlie Whelan accusing his neighbours in Inverness and Badenoch of Nazi-ism – from a constituency owned by FibDem Treasury Minister – Danny Alexander.? D`oh.? FFS.

Scotland deserves, after 307 years of serial deceit and humiliation, a more eloquent and relevent governance for the people,by the people of this bonny wee country.

FOODBANKS FLOURISHING OR FREEDOM.?
    A simple choice for social justice.

“YES” will ensure proper political representation for Scots.

The GHOULS like Skeletor and Krash and Curran – consigned to the Compost.

I`m voting for that – and so much more.

204. Tamson

I guess we’re not going to see any Labour MSPs/MPs coming out for Yes, then – I would consider Sunday the last viable day to do it (maximising publicity, not looking too obviously like a complete chancer, etc).

Any of them switching between now and Thursday won’t have much of an effect.

205. Hagar the Horrible

Wings Over Scotland, you are great and have a large following so can you organise a campaign to encourage people who believe in an unbiased media to boycott the BBC and cancel their TV licence please?

206. Inky pic

The scary thing for me is – now I can see first hand the bias on how the BBC is reporting the referendum. Now I’m wondering about world affairs. How do we know what’s true anymore?

207. WantonWampum.

How stupid do you need to be – to boast that you are a Tory Voter in Scotland.?

In 2010 Scots Tories Voted to be EXCLUDED from the House of Commons when they supported BamCam`s “Boundary Change Legislation” – that, as an added bonus provides 20 x new tory seats in England.

Scotland CEDED to Mibbeland and Lamontable – by Scottish Tory Voters who voted to be EXCLUDED from the Commons where Scotland`s Purse is Choked.?

AND – it gets even more stupid.

BamCam has “PLEDGED TO ENACT” this idiotic legislation – AFTER – Scots tories vote “NO”.?

Zero Freedom.
    Zero representation at WM.

Moribund Myopic Muppets – Mega-Mad.

208. Mealer

John Beattie,BBC
    Why is BBC Scotland not reporting the Orange Order parade in Edinburgh? Are you comfortable with the way BBC is handling the referendum?I don’t think you are.

209. Grouse Beater

Salmond interviewed by Marr, BBC TV now.

210. Big Jock

Very quiet on Blair McDougals twitter the last few days.LOL. I pop in now and again to check he is still breathing concerned for the wee soul. Anyway call me cynical. But if you scroll down his linked No twitter buddies are all there. Strangely Prof Curtice is quite high up the list. But he’s a neutral sophologist with a big brain right?

211. Brian Fleming

Many people still seem to be labouring under the misapprehension that Deutsche Bank is German. It ain’t. It’s just another run-of-the-mill City of London casino banking operation.

212. Big Jock

Yes I hear Salmond but Lamont and Carmichael and Darling should have no place in team Scotland.They did everything they could to destroy us and defame people like us they can go and do one at the Job Centre.

213. Grouse Beater

Big Jock: I hear Salmond but Lamont and Carmichael and Darling should have no place in team Scotland.

In terms of convincing disappointed, depressed No voters it’s a master stroke.

In terms of collating collective intellectual ability it’s a dumb idea.

214. geeo

http://news.stv.tv/scotland-decides/news/291942-john-mcglnn-who-donated-to-tories-announces-hes-backing-yes-vote/
    Better than an MP defection to Yes imo.

Any MP’s coming over to Yes just looks cynical now.

215. Ian Brotherhood

@Big Jock –

Hear hear.

Carmichael, McDougall, Lamont, Darling, Baillie et al could still have a useful place in the new Scotland. They can form the first Nocturnal Pooper-Scooper team, scouring public parks for dog-eggs by torchlight. (For a new, improved minimum wage of £9.85 per hour, naturally…)

216. Susana

The BBC did the same with the coverage of the Catalan pro-referendum demonstration in Barcelona on 11 September. They showed carefully selected photos with the caption “thousands of people demonstrated in Barcelona…” Or “many people turned up but many didn’t”, when there were an estimated 2 million people in attendance plus many others supporting remotely via social media. Shouldn’t the BBC report facts in an unbiased, uncensored way? Spanish national TV was also criticised of “visual censorship” for not showing any of the aerial shots of the demonstration, which showed its real scale and size.

217. E.P. Lowe

Is there a higher resolution picture of the march available? The one on this post is ridiculously low.

218. Ian Brotherhood

Radio Scotland’s ‘Crossfire’ currently treating the nation to Johann Lamont’s reminiscences about baby lambs and home-baking.

Awww!!

219. Ian Brotherhood

PS Or is it ‘Crosstalk’ or ‘Crossed Wires’? Or is it just ‘Shite’?

220. Edward

According to Alistair Darling the United Kingdom was not imposed upon Scotland

So the people of Scotland agreed then in 1707 and all talk of rioting by the people is a myth?

Wait till I adjust the buttons up the back of my head

221. Edward

I think there was also a hint from Darling that if the Scottish people vote Yes, he will not accept it

222. Joe Swan

Big Jock

The bookies will make a book balance. They do not ‘know’ who will win.

They used to change a’ book’ by wiping it out on a chalk board, right in front of your eyes.

Unfortunately when Mr Ladbroke put up his latest ‘offers’ on his chalkboard he seems to have forgotten to put the + sign after any percentages for Yes bets, e.g. Over 55% which was available until last week.

That means I am looking at a different book, which subtly doesn’t include that ‘big outsider’ of over 55%. Why not? Surely it is not beyond the realms of possibility/probability given the momentum of Yes in the polls.

Or are you telling punters ‘No more bets please. We have taken enough of your money and feel sorry for you now’ (Read – unless there are substantial bets going on No we will be over-exposed on that particular book)

I’m sure it’s just an oversight and we will hear that more huge bets have gone on No from Dan Sath and that Mr Ladbroke will re-instate the over 55% option, any minute now, just you wait, here it comes…

223. Edward

Mr angry apparently doesn’t like being shouted at

Awwwe and I thought he was a politician, bless

Apparently Darling prefers Scots to go meekly into the night and accept what ever happens to them – he really is an idiot

224. Loquendo Laxe

I am English (sorry!). For heavens sake my Bonnie Scots … VOTE YES!!

Not only do you deserve independence, but by breaking the Union, what’s left of the English will then be ‘free’ to deal more robustly with the evil, slime-pit scourge of London.

And same goes for you my Welsh cousins! Let’s break up this financial scam machine and then follow the Icelandic example: put the Banker CEOs in jail, then write off the fraudulent debt imposed upon us all!

225. Grouse Beater

The Last Andrew Mar Show of any note…

Marr asked aging Al Pacino if he is in any way queasy watching the violence in his old films such as ‘Scarface’ now that Pacino has kids.

Well, I suppose that wipes out Shakespeare’s tragedies and all the great Elizabethan revenge playwrights such as Webster.

Salmond
    Marr interviews Salmond, doing his very best to push Salmond into a corner promising no more Referenda in his lifetime – which might well be all-too-short. Marr seems to be saying we are all bored to tears with articulating our ideals and political hopes.

Salmond states historical precedence and says yes, (again) that is his personal view, no referendum on independence while he is First Minsiter, meaning the Scottish Government might well think otherwise in time to come. Salmond’s demeanour is cool, calm, and definitely collected. He knows his facts.

His interview finishes with Salmond remarking upon the latest Isis beheading.

There is a fine statesman-like quality about Salmond in these hectic days compared to most of his over-wrought opponents and in particular his adversary, Darling.

Darling
    Marr now asking Darling his view of Scotland as he would wish it to be.

Darling confirms all political parties have a timetable … but sidesteps any mention of actual new powers for Scotland. He keeps mentioning pensions – which are safe – in order to fool viewers into thinking the opposite is the case.

A ranting Darling – who stated yesterday ‘the No campaign will win – castigates Salmond for his certainty Salmond will be in a position to negotiate anything come Friday.

Darling still repeating the same boring, tired protests – absolutely no development of a sinle negative since he began his task of presenting himself to the English public as savour of the British Establishment.

“Scotland is going to win” says Darling.

Irony is wasted on him. He is still sloganising.

Now taking the opportunity to defame the Referendum debate – which Salmond together with even the most ardent Unionist political observers call a truly great energising spectacle.

He resorts to personal hurt, how he was “shouted down.” Now doing his best to tarnish the Yes campaign as bad asses; rambling on about how good Scotland could be if only it wasn’t for those supporting better democracy.

Thankfully, with a nod of condolence to murdered Haines Isis victim, Darling is mercifully put out of his misery as Marr brings his interview to an end.

Salmond & Darling

Alas, that gives Marr the excuse to return to Salmond and Darling, sitting side-by-side in the studio, about the ‘dark, brutal’ side of the campaign. Hoo haar.

Today’s hidden theme is obviously ‘violence in art and public life. Is Salmond to blame?’

Aye, and as an employee of the BBC, Andrew, you were instrumental in fostering that myth through the campaign, and in the comments you made in your fleeting celebrity visit to the Edinburgh International Festival of Arts promoting your old book.

The Wind Up

Marr winds up not only himself, but also the programme looking forward to the content of next Sunday’s show.

Well, Andrew, when Scotland regains its sovereignty you might find we won’t be able to see your programme if your Unionist lackey’s were talking truth.

Grouse Beater

226. yerkitbreeks

Everyone has to realise that the BBC is a prism – light goes in but which reflections come out are governed by the internal mechanisms.

As with some above I’ve been the victim of an interview ( on research work in 1973 ! ) and despite a half hour session the 30 seconds broadcast simply reflected the message the editor wanted to give. This happens daily for example on the Radio Scotland phone-ins.

Thank heavens for the social media / internet.

227. Solitaire

Nice take on the referendum from an American point of view
    Rachel Maddow Show – Friday 12th
    – Segment: “Best new thing in the World”

http://on.msnbc.com/1nRUmcS

Yeh the 100% turnout she quotes is a bit iffy! but it’s not that far off (think it’s 94% of people in Scotland have registered?!)

228. John Willow

Where even is that? Seriously, where in central Glasgow near buchanan street is there a co-operative and an….enhancer?

229. Indy_Scot

I cannot believe the length that the media, specifically the BBC will go to, to hide the true support for the YES campaign.

230. ann

A2@12.03.

I am aware of that, but some of those that do not have these sources know people who do and people who were there will be speaking about it.

Maybe not directly, but even in the passing gives a view of what is happening on the streets.

231. JWil

In the Marr interviews this morning Alex Salmond came over
    as honest and direct with no hesitation about his answers.

Darling was nervous and evasive as usual.

Alistair Darling seems to have an answer for everything.

The offers for additional powers from the three parties are very close he said. No they are not.

They were in the planning for some time and not just dangled like a carrot on Scots at the last minute. You can believe that if you like.

He won’t answer questions directly and obfuscates.

He takes every opportunity to attack the SNP, but can’t come up with straightforward answers about what happens if there is a no vote.

232. Eoghan

We should one and all stop paying our BBC license.

233. Grouse Beater

Has he ever considered he ‘might be wrong?”

234. JWil

I laugh when Curtis’s first (and numerous) statements on the polls always includes, “in truth….”. He should know better than anyone that there is no truth in polls.

Mathematically they may be coherent, but that is about as far as it goes. They are mere speculation.

235. James123

Brian Cox being really nice on Sky News while Michelle Mone is being a total bitch “where do you pay your taxes?” she asked him. She also said “whatever the result we just have to get on with”, that’s she he keeps saying she’ll leave and take her business and jobs with her.

236. JWil

Grouse Beater says:

14 September, 2014 at 10:43 am

Has he ever considered he ‘might be wrong?”

That was my point.

237. Matt

How does anyone know which way the 1000 or so people in the picture will vote, there are a few yes flags, probably someone got them to pose for the photo to give the impression that the yes vote was overwhelming, propaganda photo, don’t expect this to be published as it doesn’t support the yes vote.

238. donald anderson

The thought of these money scumbags on Team Scotland. who made a career of it whilst the poor got poorer in Scotland; England, North of Ireland and Wales fairly gives one the boak. They are pensioned and profited for life. They should be made to wear Orange shellsuits and forced to do community service at the point of a pitchfork. Most have never done an honest day’s work in their life.

239. Brian Fleming

That picture down Buchanan Street is just stunning. The trouble is it will not be seen by people not online. F*** the BBC. And what about STV? Were they covering this? Or are they just as bad. Wish I was in Scotland.

240. donald anderson

Brian Fleming

Tommy Sheridan just bombasted the EBC the Brillo Pad interview and is about to demolish Galloway.

241. flying wild haggis

i’m new to your site, but i love it. true colours get shown here and it’s amazing! my mother was a NO voter, but i got her to read the wee blue book, and have shown her your articles on here. She is now a very proud YES voter. I also wanted to ask if the NO campaigners have ran out of strategies, as i was approached yesterday by a woman at my home, who held up a NO thanks poster and said “Can i interest you in ……” and didn’t finish her sentence. i quickly shook my head and told her i wasn’t interested. She walked away, and about half an hour later, i went out my front door to find the NO thanks poster stuffed through my letterbox!! Is this what they are reduced to? Forcing their very hard pieces of toilet paper through doors? i found it extremely funny and gave it to my dog to chew on. Anyway, thanks Rev, and keep up the hard work guys. The end is near, and a new beginning beckons. I have never been prouder to be Scottish, and glad that this is happening in my lifetime.

242. ann

My thoughts and sympathy for David Haines family.

A question has to be asked. Why are IS started executing Western hostages now?

243. rodc

Its there on the BBC home page.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-29189847

244. James Caithness

ann says:
    14 September, 2014 at 12:18 pm
    My thoughts and sympathy for David Haines family.

A question has to be asked. Why are IS started executing Western hostages now?

=================

Ann it is entirely possible that the poor man was murdered a time ago, and its just being released now.

245. Donald MacKenzie

It’s very worrying. 5 days to go and we still don’t have any answers. So, when will Brown, Darling et al tell us what exactly all the new powers will be? And, by the way, have the told the Home Counties Tory MPs to just shoo them through when it gets into Westminster? Promises of Power – watch it wither on the vine.

246. Giovanni Masucci

I would normally say the mass coverage of no being in the lead was a bad thing… However it is just galvanising more people to ensure they vote Yes, whilst making the opposite true for no voters because they feel it’s a done deal. Keep it up BBC, maybe you can push every last voter to come and vote in our favour:)

247. Footsoldier

Almost a news blackout on Farage and OO.

248. Juan P

BBC cutting feed because of a Yes voter in shot:

http://www.maxkeiser.com/2014/09/bbc-cutting-feed-because-of-yes-voter/

They know they are on the way out in Scotland if it’s a No vote.

249. Bruce

I made this story into a demote if anyone fancies sharing on social media.

(Although ‘demote’ doesn’t quite work as I actually find it inspiring!)

http://www.blackworx.co.uk/picdump/bbc_buchanan_st.jpg

250. jim hogg

We are the BBC, a weel regarded company
    We’re known across the globe for oor impartiality
    For we’ve got ears and eyes ye ken, weel tuned to tell what’s true
    An’ on Buchanan street there was nae trace of yes or blue

An’ you might hae some pictures o’ the overflowing street
    An’ maybe friends o’ yours will swear, they were there, in the heat
    Waving flags and singing sangs, but we’ve been telt tae say
    Buchanan street was empty, ‘twas jist anither seterday

Yon flags you didnae see, and a’ yon folks who wer’nae there
    You must have been imagining, for they were a’ elsewhere
    Yer Scottish Spring, yer Scottish dreams, we cannae let them be
    But a’ the same we’re grateful for yer tv licence fee

251. KingCres

I am very surprised that only now people are becoming aware that the media only show us what they want. What a shocker!

252. call me dave

Queenie as she leaves church.

“I hope people will think very carefully about it”

sky news.

253. Kate

Go Scotland! From an American that wishes you well in your fight for your freedom for which americans do not in reality even have.

254. Stormchase King

It’s the Coop Main Street RUTHERGLEN
    Last time I looked,that is in South Lanarkshire.

Look at Google maps – https://www.google.com/maps/@55.8283733,-4.2132155,3a,15y,138.43h,89.18t/data=!3m4!1e1!3m2!1sAwcH9wwdzdMhxbVlMpM74w!2e0

255. Angie

My fear is that they will rig the vote in favour of BT and use bbc footage as evidence that yes campaign wasn’t as popular ….. Perhaps that’s why the polls are quite close that media releases so we won’t get suspicious if BT edge it……. Just a thought what with all the lies photo shop and creative editing and governments phone a friend tactics

256. Georgey

LOL Enjoy the SBC folks. Non stop Beechgrove Gardens in Gaelic.

257. JWil

John Reid, evasive and sounding has though he did not believe his own arguments on the Sunday Politics. He just kept talking and talking to avoid more questions from Gordon Brewer and there was a certain matter that should have been kept out of politics, but he didn’t.

258. donald anderson

Then there is always the fear that Cameron will start a war as a diversion. Been done many times to cover crises at home.

259. Tom Foyle

Holiday Pay Claims:

I got the self-same response, which not only completely failed to address my query/complaint, but illustrated the fact that the EC is a paper tiger – and a toothless one at that! It appears that it actually has no function at all, and therefore should simply be discarded. It’s a waste of money at the very least.
    There seems to be one important factor that such organisations, and the MSM – particularly the BBC -, are overlooking. Regardless of thursday’s outcome, the SNP and Alec Salmond, bless his little steel forefinger, will STILL BE RUNNING SCOTLAND. I doubt that these various collections of wastrels and manipulators will be shown much mercy. Or any, hopefully. Along with those bribed business chiefs who claim rising prices after independence, and the minor and insignificant “famous” persons – hereinafter to be regarded as “infamous!” – and all the other doomsayers, muck spreaders and downright liars, I sincerely pray that Mr. Salmond and the SNP exact proper and preferably judicial retribution where any cases of wrong-doing and/or misrepresentation are concerned. Naturally, this will be claimed by the soon-to-be-in-receivership BBC as “sour grapes,” but I’m quite sure that Alec and co., along with most of Scotland’s population, will reply with something like, “Whatever. Now get to F**K!…Ya bams!” Even if Scotland fails to secure independence, at least the BBC can be held to account for its gross bias, distortions and lies, expelled from Scottish transmission rights, and maybe even forced LEGALLY to reimburse the licence-payers for failing to adhere to its own guidelines on impartiality. But, with the backing of wasteminster, that may prove difficult. Perhaps it will have to be dealt with on an individual basis. If so, and if everyone joins in, the BBC could be dismantled in less than a year. We can but hope…

260. ann

What happened earlier on today? I tried to post something and it just never happened.

Anyway, Jim, That may well have been the case, but hopefully not, as it is hard enough for Davids family as they were trying to contact IS to get them to release him.

Muslim and Christian have been fighting for centuries and I don’t ever see it abating, but I feel that the Wests recent interventions in Afghanistan, Iran, Iraq and Syria with the ending up of power vacuums within have created IS and they make the Taliban and Alquida look tame in comparision.

261. dadsarmy

@JWil
    On the other hand, Kevin McKenna is executive editor of the Daily Mail in Scotland.

I’ve noticed a change in Gardham’s writings over the last 21 months.

262. Mike Stasse

Good luck Scotland! IF the banks move out of your nation state, consider it a blessing!

One middle finger raised towards London….. all the way from Australia!!

263. Gary

They are rewriting our past and present and trying to write our future. The sickening part is that they force us to pay for the pleasure.

264. donald anderson

10oc news now admitting to a 1000 protestors.

265. donald anderson

Rupert Murdoch would be well advised to make a quick private settlement with Tommy Sheridan and come for Indy before it is too late.

The social media revolution has finally taken over the media barons. Ironic, since it was invented by the CIA military who never expected.

No Quarter to the crude BBC War on Scotland!

266. Haggis Hunter

BBC are our jailers to the ‘union’

267. robert aird

everywhere i go i see a huge amount of yes stickers badges flags etc glasgow yesterday had everything stickers on faces lots of flags to many yes badges to count and i only saw 4 no badges on the bus from johnstone to glasgow i counted 68 yes signs in windows and 16 no so why is yes constantly behind in polls will someone please please explaine this to me or am i just being paranoid again

268. Hevvabeccywoss

Hi, I was actually in Rutherglen (one of the ladies in the picture happens to be my Mum lol)that day and while that picture clearly doesn’t come close to Buchanan Street it actually doesn’t come close to how many people were in Rutherglen either. The plan was 1 street stall. We ended up with two so we could cover both sides of the street. There was a Samba band (they also turned up at the BBC protest the next day and I have to say they are amazing), Blair Jenkins turned up and the Spirit of Independence van was there. The whole day took my breath away. The BBC were filming the band, they even filmed me filling balloons with helium stating they wanted to capture all aspects of the day. I asked ‘are you waiting for the balloon to pop? I expect he was: Headline ‘yes campaign has blown up in their face as the polls show a massive lead for no’ followed by some other irrelevant poll figure which doesn’t represent what is really happening. There was also no mention of the Better Together stall which had a whole 7 people in attendance. They didn’t stay long. There was no point. We Yes folk were smiling, engaging with people and just generally outshining them in supreme fashion. We have got this folks. Bring on the parties next weekend 😀

269. havekipawilltravel

I conducted a (very very) small poll yesterday among 30 Scottish friends and family – in two ways, one public, one anonymous.
    Result of the public vote – 60% yes.
    Result of the anon vote – 75% no.
    Same people, different vote.
    Go figure.
    I’m wondering whether the ‘Secret Spiral’ or Thatcher Effect might be in play……..

270. Name Required

Asda runs the UK so do wot you’re told!!! Tsk! Tsk! 😉

271. corneilius

The BBC have ALWAYS been a propaganda arm of the British State, wearing a carefully woven suit of middle class ‘informative programming’ …. and the joke is they have made the English, Scottish and Welsh poor pay for the privilege.

How they used to laugh in those cosy Chelsea and Mayfair clubs!

Not any more. Go Scotland!

England needs to be isolated from all previous imposed ‘associations’…. the rest of us need to stand up for our natural autonomy, and with that our natural humanity, our heart and empathy. We would not have allowed our local Governments pursue war in the manner the English have.

272. Ferg

I was talking to some people last night who are cynical about the independence movement – understandably so because they get all of their information from the mainstream media which is distorting and downplaying the grassroots activity for Yes. You’ve seen the reports – a shouty Jim Murphy being egged by the sinister, “deeply unpleasant” (Farage) extremists; brave George Galloway being thrust forward by Better Together to try and withstand the bullying onslaught of the reckless minority who want to rip the lovely United Kingdom in two; patriotic Daibhidh Camshron (leader of the Effing Tories) having a Damascus Road moment when he realisies he can no longer leave the task of saving Great Britain (and his job) to the Scots voices of charismatic duo Johann and Alastair, but must rush Northwards like Longshanks to crush the rebellious Scots for Queen, Country and the international bond market. To those relying on the BBC and corporate news media, it looks like a reckless, dark, destructive and foolhardy rush into the abyss of isolation, poverty and dictatorship! Why would anyone want that? The “Flash Mob on Buchanan Street” video gives a flavour of what’s REALLY happening on the streets of Glasgow, Fort William and Perth. “We still love you, even if you’re ‘No!'” No violence, no intimidation, no eggs, no riots – just ordinary people thrilled and inspired by this chance to vote Yes and be a nation again. Something is happening on the streets which feels inspiring and authentic. Do you hear the people sing? Singing the song of hopeful men? It is the music of the people who will not be fooled again! When the beating of your heart echoes the beating of the drums there is a land about to start when this Thursday comes.

273. John Lewis

let me try this again. Orwellian, indeed, and of a piece with PM Cameron’s bullying tone yesterday. “Oceania has always been a friend to Scotland,” maybe? The sun sets on all empires in time, and we must find new forms of association more answerable to the needs of free, independent, and equal peoples.

274. Chucky

Vote YES and Scotland can get rid of 2 rotten birds with one stone: Zionist bankers in London and Muslims in Londonistan.

275. Joan Edington

I can’t watch them any more so I don’t know if they showed the No crowd in Trafalgar Square. I expect so, though.

276. INDEPENDENT

Am I right in saying if the x goes outside the box, your paper is classed as a spoiled paper.
    Vaguely remember reading this year’s ago.
    Maybe Stu could confirm as I would hate for precious Yes votes to be lost, a lot of the ads I have seen show a big X overlapping the lines of the box.
    I would not like to give these dodgy B’s any reason to swick the result.

277. chris

Dirty rogue gits!

278. Stewart

Funny that. The polar opposite of pictures of Better Together or Labour ‘rallies’. They really have no shame.

279. John J.

The fckn Establishment is still worried.

280. Alan

BBC underfunds BBC Scotland to the tune of about 200 million quid a year. Scotland leaves, the BBC suddenly ends up with a hole in their budget – because there’s no way Scotland is going to pay much more than Ireland does for the UK’s exported programming – a shade over £20m – vs £300m(minus about £100m for BBC Scotland’s budget) from Scotland under the current arrangements!

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.