An apology to Anas Sarwar

Posted on September 13, 2013 by

NOTICE: It has come to our attention that an article on Wings Over Scotland last week contained a factual error. In the post “One man and his props”, we alleged that in addition to a fake government paper brandished by the deputy leader of the Labour Party in Scotland during a televised debate, a “real” one had also been produced.

sarwarfake

We have subsequently discovered that in fact, both papers were entirely fake. We apologise unreservedly to Anas Sarwar for the implication that he was telling the truth. We ought to have known better.

64 to “An apology to Anas Sarwar”

1. david

scottish dentistry lost out badly when anus decided he would like to follow his dad to the trough

2. Murray McCallum

Do New Labour have a compulsory dodgy dossier training camp for their MPs?

3. seoc

Well, well. well. Who’d o’ thunked it? Labour? Scottish Labour telling lies?
     With never a real journalist at hand to notice.

4. handclapping

You really have to wonder why Wings took on Campbell. Making things up is not a good practice for a so called journalist let alone one dubbed political editor.

It is a shame that Scottish political reporting is now practically at the same level as that afforded to the hapless English readers of the Daily Telegraph.

5. Gillie

Scottish Labour: A nest of liars concocting a conspiracy of lies.

6. Rev. Stuart Campbell

You really have to wonder why Wings took on Campbell.”

Huh?

7. joe kane

Scotland has something like 40% of Western Europe’s biggest untapped onshore source of wind energy. We’re due to become self-sufficient in wind produced guff well before 18 September 2013. The combined potential of Anas, Johann and Jackie alone is enough to generate BBC Scotland headlines for at least a day or two and power STV through some late night viewing black-spots.

8. themadmurph

@rev
    –Huh?
    I think the implication is you are employed as political editor by a company/publication called Wings…

9. Morag

Huh?

Oh frabjous day, handclapping!  You got him!

10. Marcia

He was a bit slow there. 🙂

11. Buster Bloggs

Could you imagine if Nicola Sturgeon had produced a couple of fake papers like that, she would have been slaughtered in the press, I didn’t know until this year how dishonest and spineless most of the journalists in this country are, they are a total disgrace to their profession,  then of course you have politicians like Sarwar, not interested in what’s best for Scotland only himself and the Labour party, next year can’t come quick enough……
    Remember we only have to convince one person each and it’s in the bag 🙂

12. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“He was a bit slow there. :)”

Doh! Perils of adminning comments on the comment-admin page rather than in the actual threads is that sometimes you don’t notice what posts they’re attached to.

*redface*

13. Tom Donald

Brevity is indeed the soul of wit. Good work Mr Wings.

14. Desimond

Labour are obviously too busy ‘preparing for Government’ to actually raise actual bills. Someone pass them a bookie line and a wee Argos pen and they’ll knock something up before the weekend.

The stories over the last 2 days have just summed up why we really need to ensure a YES vote. Get rid of these pretend politicians and lets get the Parliament our country deserves and needs.

15. HandandShrimp

What do call it when a lying politician waves fake documents and talks incessantly over the other speaker so no one can actually hear any answers to key questions?

A draw

Apparently

16. Doug Daniel

I think we should set up an inquiry into how Wings came to mislead the public in this shocking and unforgivable way.

17. handclapping

@the Rev
    Seriously I think you do a grand job, its no wonder you need emergency kittens from time to time.

18. handclapping

@doug
    What without a debate on the need for one first? How can you set up an inquiry without knowing what its conclusions will be?

19. Roddy Macdonald

What! You mean the Hereditary MP for Govan had 2 fake documents AND he didn’t have the power to promote the SNP deputy leader to HM Queen Nicola I and invite her to give Royal Assent to his non-existent fake “Bill” live on telly?
    Transphobic, homophobic, misogynistic, fuctifinophobic, apparently hasn’t aged a day since he was 16 and now cannae count fakes?  One wonders why we bother to read this blog at all.

20. Jeannie

Should we send this article to Bernard Son?  I’m sure he’ll be grateful.

21. Seasick Dave

Scottish journalists; what are they like, eh?

22. Geoff Huijer

Sarwar and most of his cohorts at the ‘Scottish’ Labour Party
    are an absolute disgrace, as are the ‘Scottish’ media.

They have nothing to offer but drivel in their self-interest
    promotions.

Don’t think its necessary, however, to refer to him as ‘Anus’
    as one comment has. Let’s leave the petty name-calling to
    the Brit-Nats who have nothing else in their arsenal.

23. The Man in the Jar

Quite appropriate fake papers from a fake (Scottish Labour) party!
    Is Sarwar himself fake? 
    Well he isnae f*kin real!

24. Jeannie

@Geoff Huijer

Don’t think its necessary, however, to refer to him as ‘Anus’
    as one comment has. Let’s leave the petty name-calling to
    the Brit-Nats who have nothing else in their arsenal.

LOL

25. Silverytay

Rev , Sorry to hear that there is a problem with my monthly donation , I don’t know what the problem is as my YES donation has went through fine .
    I will try and get it fixed before they try to send it to you again on the 18th .
    Cheers , Silverytay .

26. Gillie

A Fake Anas????

No it couldn’t be.

http://www.ghanaherald.com/fake-anas-arrested/

27. pa_broon74

On the other hand, if politicians were allowed to bring props to represent debating points, just imagine the hilarity.

Lamont could have waved a toy train or some monopoly money around to represent the ACTUAL trains that would have run on the GARL and the ACTUAL money used by SPTA to buy the land.

The possibilities are endless, Sarwar may have started a trend.

28. Stuart Farquharson

As a former member of the NUJ I am absolutely disgusted and ashamed of the vast majority of journalistic output in our country

29. creag an tuirc

Does this mean the debate was still a draw? 🙂

30. Shirley

You couldn’t make this up…..on second thoughts. ..they did! 

31. Atypical_Scot

Talking of mistakes, Scottish Labour have a hard neck putting Sarwar, a Westminster MP second in command. Don’t you think someone sitting in Holyrood would have a better grasp of Scottish politics? Sums them up really.

32. Jeannie

Atypical_scot
    Don’t you think someone sitting in Holyrood would have a better grasp of Scottish politics? Sums them up really.

I’m sure someone sitting in Holyrood would, but I doubt their father would give the party as much money.

33. Norman McQuade

That right index finger of his gets a lot of exercise.

34. Rigg Robertson

When it comes to odious and obnoxious I thought Bill Walker had left everything in the Labour Stable far behind. Anas Sarwar is trying hard to prove me wrong!

35. Clarinda

Please tell me Mr Sarwar hasn’t ‘sexed up’ props – the rugby world must be told.

36. creigs1707repeal

Sorry O/T: Blatant Herald Censorship relating to Gardham’s coverage of GARL-Gate:

http://www.scottcreighton.co.uk/indyref/images/Herald-Censor/Slide1.JPG
    http://www.scottcreighton.co.uk/indyref/images/Herald-Censor/Slide2.JPG

Shocking.

YES Scotland.

37. Linda's Back

Good expose on Labour’s non existent Bedroom Tax Bill on here

http://calumcashley.blogspot.co.uk/2013/09/labours-lies-and-liars-without-shame.html

38. john king

“He was a bit slow there.  ”
    Oh I feel so much better now, I felt rather sheepish at falling for Derek Batemans wind up , sorry rev but that just made my day 🙂

39. Angus McPhee

Just like to point out that any fresh install of Microsoft word does like to suggest that I really should be  spelling my name as ‘anus’ so it’s nothing to be ashamed of.

I agree you shouldn’t do it tho.

40. Morag

Microsoft Word is the spawn of satan and its spellchecker should be taken out and shot.

41. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Good expose on Labour’s non existent Bedroom Tax Bill on here”

Um, yes. That’s the page linked to in the post…

42. john king

“That right index finger of his gets a lot of exercise.”
    If he waved that bloody index finger at me I would shove it right up his Anus,
    along with his wee cheap biro and that fake paper, 

43. john king

doug daniel says
    “I think we should set up an inquiry into how Wings came to mislead the public in this shocking and unforgivable way.”
    Am gaun hame until the windups stop, cos ah cannie tell the difference 
    an a get gey flustered hic 🙁

44. Gillie

It all makes STV’s Scotland Tonight look pretty stupid. They fell for all this guff by Anas.

45. MajorBloodnok

So there is no Bedroom Tax Bill being proposed by Labour – it is just a pathetic stunt to fool their supporters and the public (and not a very cunning one at that).

46. ianbrotherhood

Oh Major, with this cunning stunt patter you are drawing us into James Naughty territory:

47. Desimond

Dont know about you but im not holding out much hope for the next “The Thick of It” movie if these are the fake documents its gonna cover this time round!

48. kininvie

OT/ (as ever)

Do Scots collectively suffer from Borderline Personality Disorder? And is the Independence dream part of it? Do you recognise yourself, and others,  here?

http://www.theguardian.com/books/2013/sep/11/scottish-literature-over-the-borderline

49. Stuart Black

Picked up from the Rev’s Twitter feed, excellent article by Joyce MacMillan here, http://archive.is/mkD3O
     I especially (as an ex-member) like this paragraph:

As for the Labour Party – well, when its obituary comes to be written, perhaps 20 years from now, I would guess that its craven failure since the 1970s to defend the popular movement that gave it birth, to draw on its strength, and to reflect its priorities, will play a large part in the story of its demise.

Cracking stuff Joyce.

50. Stuart Black

What has changed, though, in the last generation, is Labour’s implicit acceptance of the same overwhelmingly negative view. Despite Ed Miliband’s fragile attempt to strike a more bullish pro-union note with the TUC on Tuesday – instantly undermined by his ill-thought-out and panicky proposals for “reform” of Labour’s union links – it is now almost a quarter of a century since any Labour leader moved onto the front foot to defend trade unionism as a vital feature of any free society, and to express pride in the trade union sponsorship without which the Labour Party itself would not exist, and would have no political purpose.

This, just this…

51. Dorothy Devine

Kininvie, the article involves Carol Craig married to Alf Young ,I believe.
    Hardly likely under those circumstance that a cheery Scot ,happy in his or her skin would be mentioned.
    I dislike pseudo psychology.

52. Bugger (the Panda)

So, the heriditary MP (and future Governor of the Punjab?) has two faked documents as props in a TV “interview.”
    Has anyone checked his Passport?

53. call me dave

HI Gordon out in Kirkcaldy today warning the pensioners that they should vote NO.
    YES have this out to give the other options, how many though will go home tonight and get surfing to seek out what the alternative is.
    Not many I fear. Oops!
    Not many I’m afraid. Oops!
    Not many!
    http://www.yesscotland.net/ensuring_our_older_people_get_a_fair_share_with_a_yes_vote

54. Juteman

“Has anyone checked his Passport?”
    Which one?

55. Andy-B

A chip of the old block just like JL, Anas, can spin them, is their anybody at SLAB who speaks the truth these days.

56. Juteman

The Sarwars count their passports like their votes, Forty three per household.

57. kininvie

OT/ (again)

Just in case anyone’s not seen it, the lonely UKOK lady has now been revealed by the BBC as an inflatable:

http://www.bbc.scotlandshire.co.uk/index.php/city-news/524-yes-scotland-thinks-outside-the-box.html

58. CameronB

Kind of led us up the garden path with that one. I suppose that is what we get for being influenced by a ‘foreign’ journalist.

P.S. Quack, Quack

59. We all saw it they must know we saw it .I know they think us all daft but this is an idiot too far,anus or anal to his pals,is such a rude ill-mannered yob somebody in the Labour camp must rein him in he will make sure nobody will discuss anything on TV.and I’m just hoping for the Lamentable Lamont Labours loser to come on and debate with anyone.

60. rgweir.

I may be clutching at straws here but has he not broken some rule when he holds up a document with the Scottish Government logo on it and declaring it to be a copy of a bill?

61. gordoz

Anas  Sarwar is an unconscionable, unscrupulous and vindictive charlatan operator as a politician,  a classic SNP (Scotland really) hater of the most concentrated kind.  With all these things in mind, what really is so different about him compared to the likes of Lamont, Curran, Davidson and the rest ? …… nothing  these are all ‘modern high office’ Scottish Labour traits (the fast track to Westminster  crew).
    I say keep all the above in the spotlight, they are the  YES campaigns biggest assets.

62. Brian milligan

There is no real one . I saw somewhere that the bill does not exist. nor is pending in Holyrood document list. Talk about magicians.

63. Bob Howie

Anas by name, anus by nature

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.