Always crashing the same car

Posted on January 22, 2015 by

The media is aflame today with the claim that Jim Murphy has finally ended weeks of speculation about whether he’ll stand again for his current Westminster seat of East Renfrewshire in the general election. Numerous sources including STV, the BBC, the Scotsman and Murphy’s local press have all announced unequivocally that the MP has confirmed his candidacy.

murphystand

The only slight hitch is that he’s done absolutely no such thing.

The BBC piece doesn’t bother to produce any sort of evidence to back up the claim at all, and there’s nothing on either Murphy’s Twitter feed or his website, but the other sources carry the same quote from a “Labour spokesman”:

“Jim Murphy is currently the MP for East Renfrewshire and the candidate. If that changes his constituents will be the first to be told.”

Readers whose native language is English will almost certainly recognise that those words bear no resemblance whatsoever to the statements made in the headlines. Since his election as “leader” Murphy’s position has consistently been that he’d tell his constituents first, and what we can glean from that quote is that he quite plainly hasn’t done that, or the quote would be in a different tense.

All it does is repeat what we already knew: Murphy is CURRENTLY the candidate, because he was reselected unanimously in November 2013, over a year before he succeeded Johann Lamont as Scottish chief.

murphyselect

If he decides not to stand, that will indeed change, he’ll tell his constituents, and we’d imagine that within minutes either one of them will tell the papers or Murphy’s press office will release an official statement to that effect. It did NOT happen today, so instead we’ll be headdesking in despair yet again as the Scottish press continues to demonstrate its remarkable inability to understand words or check its facts.

Seriously, folks, if this is what we’ve got for professional journalism, God help us all.

2 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

1. 22 01 15 13:37

Always crashing the same car | Politics Scotlan...

2. 22 01 15 14:44

Always crashing the same car - Speymouth

219 to “Always crashing the same car”

1. Craig P

Any plodding fool can be literal and evidence based. It takes talent to connect the dots with unfounded assumptions and show that 2 + 2 does, in fact, make 5 🙂

2. Sandra

Not just in Scotland. Every time I see Nick Robinson I wonder what happened to journalism.

3. Macart

QED would have been a good heading too. 🙂

4. Alex Smith

This is what happens when they deviate from their chosen path of just copying and pasting Slab press releases as “Political News”.

They make sh.t up instead, and call it news.

5. Chic

“he’ll tell his constituents, and we’d imagine that within minutes either one of them will tell the paper or Murphy’s press office will release an official statement”

mibbe both his constituents will tell the paper!

6. Big Jock

Alex – But BBC are Murphy’s press office, they are just doing what they are paid to do! LOL

7. gillie

It’s all gone Page 3 today.

8. Marcia

It might have a negative effect on Labour’s poll ratings.

9. Martin McDonald

Desperate to put another Jim Murphy story in the media (expenses, support for war, support for austerity not suitable) they’ve had to simply make something up.

I wonder if McTernan is instructing the press that Murphy must be featured every single day?

If so, keep it up John! His appearance on the Daily Politics and his awkward interactions with Pete Wishart made him look like a complete idiot.

10. Dave Beveridge

Maybe they saw it was a full 5 minutes since they last gave us a Jim Murphy story so they thought we might be suffering from withdrawal symptoms?

11. Gary

So, ‘Labour Spokesman’ was asked and gave a non answer? The BBC reports what it wants to report, its never troubled with such tawdry things as facts. Of course this is yet another example of Murphyism where he can deny the facts later because there aren’t any.

12. Grizzle McPuss

For all the Murphy promotion being delivered by the Scottish media, most notably by the BBC; it doesn’t seem to be doing the job.

The poll’s are hardly flickering in any way positively for the Murphy factor.

So, to read about the poor journalism at work, I can only think that there is a drowning man, clutching at straws syndrome taking root.

I refuse to believe that journalism has always been this poor. So what went wrong?

13. Big Jock

Guys it’s all part of the plan. Get Murphy’s creepy face on BBC Scotland everyday. Regardless of whether he is playing dominos or running around Stirling with a saltire and a Jimmy hat. They are commisioned to get him into the daily news. So if they run out of stories they just make one up to get his picure in!

14. Ross Lowe

I think Scottish/British journalism has become like lemmings. If one media outlet makes sh.t up and another reads it, they take it as gospel that the sh.t is real. It seems that picture editor at ‘The Sun’ is making up heaadlines now!
    It seems ‘The National’ is now the last bastion of truthful journalism!

15. dennis mclaughlin

“The Song Remains the Same”, here in East Renfrewshire we are all agog :).

16. Big Jock

Let them carry on though, look at the polls! It’s like in the film It’s A Wonderful Life:” Every time Murphy’s picture appears, an SNP candidate gets a pair of wings”.

17. desimond

Scottish Labour took another massive swipe at the Scottish Government today, when it was revealed that on the 21st of January 2015, no Jim Murphy story or picture appeared anywhere in the Scottish Media.

“Once again Sturgeon and the nationalists have failed to meet our targets” cited an emotional Kezia Dugdale to a passing chip poke on the steps of Holyrood.

On behalf of the embarrased media, the BBC at Pacific Quay have apologised and as a peace offering to Labours 6 followers have offered to submit double the alreadyrecord number of FOI Health Service(Scotland wing) requests into the SNP Govt.

18. farrochie

Jim Murphy explains his position here. He’ll be happy to come on to the BBC “once I’ve got an announcement to make”.

On 14th January, at 10:22 in this link.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-30810362

“Alex Salmond… led the SNP from the House of Commons so, but I’m not going to take a leaf out his book”

19. ScottieDog

Got to remember that BBC scotland IS labour’s spokesperson and press dept.

20. jimnarlene

To all members of the press:
    Could we possibly, for a change, have some actual, fact based, nonpartisan, true investigative journalism. It’s just, what I thought was, part and parcel of the job, If you’re not up to the task, step aside and let someone who is able, do it.

21. Monty Faulkman

Perhaps this is ever so slightly off topic but I never pointed it out yesterday, and feel I have to now because it’s a good example of our impartial BBC coming out with something only fleetingly resembling the truth.

In the story about SNP votes on the English NHS you’ll find this…

“In September last year, the electorate in Scotland voted against independence.

Immediately after the poll Prime Minister David Cameron promised more powers to Scotland and appointed Lord Smith to work out the detail.”

Should that not read “some of the electorate”? Are we to believe that it was all of us?

And should “immediately after the poll” not read “immediately before.”

Am I being pedantic? Is this just incredibly sloppy? It just seems like those two sentences slipped in there are re-writing history just a little bit.

http://www.bbc.com/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-30917414

22. Snode1965

Aye another non newsworthy story about Smurphy….but it keeps him front and centre. What really amuses me about the amount of exposure he gets, is that Jim is just another no-mark shadow back bencher! People who are tempted to vote Labour will get Miliband not dim Jim. The SNP should ignore Smurphy and concentrate on Ed who’s not only their leader but has an even lower public opinion rating.

23. heedtracker

Murphy on BBC R4 lunchtime news explaining THE VOW home rule has now been delivered so now Scotland must for Slab to keep to the blue tories out. Mundell was on too but the BBC man was far more interested in the Slab reality coming and would Murphy do a deal with SNP, Murphy charged off with waffle about he’s football fan and when he goes to a game he doesn’t plan to lose and you get the bull going on for what seems like hours.

If they can pull off this whole Home Rule for Slab/BBC Scotland fraud, they need to work harder. Just Murphy and Mundell, no SNP interviewed by BBC news, shock.

24. Lesley-Anne

I posted this on a previous thread late last night so some peeps may not have seen it. I think this wee video outlines exactly the goings on at Labour (North Britain branch) H.Q. including its dealings with the *ahem* media. 😉

It is with thanks to YES Giffnock who despite the high levels of threat to their own personal safety and with great secrecy managed to secrete this video out. 😛

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1XpnjgVD1w8&feature=youtu.be

25. X_Sticks

“quote from a “Labour spokesman””

John Boothman or Ken McQuarrie perhaps?

26. desimond

I was sure Scotland used to be an Independent Country!!

Mr Murphy said the UK government publication was “modern Home Rule delivered,” adding: “It’s the vow that everyone spoke about being achieved.

“This is an important day for Scotland. We have more power than ever before in our great country – but I want to go further.”

27. Big Jock

Newsflash from SLAB branch office:

“As a result of the projected Scottish Westminster results. It is with great regret that the planned charity 5 aside match bewtween SNP mp’s and SLAB mp’s has been cancelled”.

28. fred blogger

it seems that the bbc cannot give him enough publicity!

29. liz

Murphy will he wont he who cares & I live in East Ren.

We Yes supporters will be working our butts off trying to get out any unionist candidate.

O/T but Lab have had to cancel their Annual Burns supper due to lack of interest – bless.

https://archive.today/vrNmF

30. A.N.Surgent

Lesley-Anne

Ha-Ha, thats well done. 🙂

31. Big Jock

I really want to see that fat, incompetant, brainless oaf Carmichael lose his seat! No greater pleasure than Karma.

32. Patrick Roden

Have to say I’m genuinely shocked at the frivolity of the Rev and commenters today!!!

Don’t you bloody lot know that there’s Russian flippin submarines sailing up the Clyde???

Not only that, there’s ‘Tankers over the top of Scotland’!!!

Tankers are not bombers, they are used to re-fuel fighter jets!

People we are under attack from Russian military submarines and jets, DONT YOU CARE?????

33. Big Jock

Russian subs in the Clyde! Help ma boab. Right women and children to the nearest safe place where no-one will find you.

https://www.google.co.uk/maps/place/Scottish+Labour+Party/@55.865458,-4.269443,17z/data=!3m1!4b1!4m2!3m1!1s0x488844276a5e21c5:0x6cffa4e68ee3bdf4

34. fred blogger

liz
    among other things, imo, others recognize slabs rank hypocrisy of celebrating burns who was passionately for indyscot.

35. jackie g

Big Jock says:

22 January, 2015 at 1:43 pm

It’s like in the film It’s A Wonderful Life:” Every time Murphy’s picture appears, an SNP candidate gets a pair of wings”

desimond says:

“Once again Sturgeon and the nationalists have failed to meet our targets” cited an emotional Kezia Dugdale to a passing chip poke on the steps of Holyrood.

”as a peace offering to Labours 6 followers have offered to submit double the already record number of FOI Health Service(Scotland wing) requests into the SNP Govt.

Thanks for the above guys,

Desmond i nearly spat my tea out at the chip poke on the steps of holyrood jibe priceless!

Keep up the good work..

36. Dr Ew

BREAKING NEWS…

Jim Murphy is to show his tits on Page 3 of ‘The Sun’.
    (The tits in question being John McTernan and Blair MacDougall)

37. Doug McG

Has Mr Murky declared if it his intention to stand for Westminster again ? Will he consider it to be his “patriotic duty” to do so , those expenses will not spend themselves. We can absolutely gauge his commitment to Scotland by whether he wants to be a backbench MP at Westminster AND the First Minister of Scotland . Patriotism that begins at Calais.

38. Giving Goose

Re Murphy’s appearance on Radio 4;
    He doesn’t convince.
    He has adopted a style that comes over as plainly patronising.
    That slow, measured, slightly softened accent.
    You can sense the artificial content to his delivery.
    There must be a Blairite School of Vocalisations.
    I can see him walking about a room balancing books on his head while reciting endlessly, “How, Now, Brown, Cow”!

39. One_Scot

Labour unionists and Jim Murphy must now be thinking, yeah we managed to cheat a referendum win, but at what cost.

40. Gordon Innes (Gin)

Dr Ew

you are so BAD …. but we do like You 🙂

41. jackie g

liz says:@2.04pm

Aye nae wonder the burns supper was cancelled Liz, it was being hosted by Shiela Gilmour.

An odius woman who i had the misfortune to meet a few years ago during the campaign regarding the housing stock transfer (or as we called it privatising council housing in Edin) of which she was the chief instigator we challenged her on this fact and got the usual Labour nonsense.

She was incensed when we won and it did not go ahead.

Unfortunatly, she is now the MP for Edinburgh East! hopefully not for much longer..

42. Ian Brotherhood

What we really need to see is a snap of the Morph with a puppy wearing one of those scarves that is half-Rangers, half-Celtic.

It’ll turn out that he awoke in the middle of the night for no obvious reason, with a strange compulsion to track down the source of ghostly whining in his heid, so he ran, full-tilt, from London to Glasgow Green, and found the creature just barely bobbing above the choppy water along at Pacific Quay. He dived in and saved the wee mite.

Three cheers for The Morph!

43. Les Wilson

Noticed today on the Politics program, Andrew Neil was his belligerent self when ” interviewing Pete Wishart.
    Also just how comfortable is in BBC interviews, regardless of who that is, it is like an old pals act.

He also got a plug for his upcoming interview with Neil again on Sunday.

Well, he knows well he will not be pushed, he can relax with the Biased BBC,hence he feels he can just joke away when being interviewed as they are on his side.They are too hard to bear.

44. Les Wilson

oops
    Last post should have read “Also just how MURPHY comfortable is in BBC interviews”

45. Lesley-Anne

I would love to take the credit for that wee video ANS but unfortunately I can’t I found on a tweet from YES Giffnock last night. All the same I do love it. 😛 I think that one video is the most played video from the movie The Bunker, think it was called that or something like it.

Don’t go and do a Corporal Jones on us now Patrick. I mean I know our latest new best buddy, Brian Donohoe, *ahem* informed “the house” that the Russians were sailing their submarines up and down the Clyde as well as sailing their oil tankers around the top of Scotland but you can rest assured that the Labour party (North Britain branch) have everything under control and they are maintaining 24 hour surveillance on the Clyde. At the first signs of a non Russian submarine appearing in the Clyde or a non Russian oil tanker sailing round the top of Scotland we will informed … apparently!

You do not need to worry yourself about the manpower required to assist in tying up the Russian submarines either I believe Mr Donohoe has that particular job well and truly tied up. 😀

I have it on good authority, Shhh!, that a certain individual who shall remain nameless for now has also sewn up all rights to ensuring that all fish supper and Irn Bru orders are delivered in a timely fashion to the Russian submarines as soon as possible after tying up. Now remember … shhh! 😀

46. ronnie anderson

@ Liz ? did they get their booking deposit back lol, they better get used to loseing deposits.

47. mj

It doen’t matter what it is as long as JM is featured every day in the msm. Fine by me, creapy Jim’s a right turn off.

48. Patrick Roden

@ Lesley Anne,

Thanks for your reassurances Lesley Anne, I had just ran out of Valium and couldna find my old granddads 1st world war gas mask, so your help has been comforting and timely! 🙂

49. tartanarse

Sandra at 1.20

Every time I see Nick Robinson(not often as I don’t do state telly) I wonder where Dangermouse has gone.

50. Patrick Roden

I love the way Labour was touting tickets for it’s failed Edinburgh Burns Night.

“Tickets are £30 and selling fast” haha,

If they lie and manipulate their own activists, what chance have the voters got of ever being told the truth?

51. muttley79

Lord (Leon) Brittan has died of cancer according to the Guardian.

52. A.N.Surgent

Lesley-Anne

Think the film was Downfall(not sure) well done Giffnock.

Funny how all this Russian sub stuff surfaces(eh) when trident is so much in the news.

53. Lesley-Anne

Patrick Roden says:

@ Lesley Anne,

Thanks for your reassurances Lesley Anne, I had just ran out of Valium and couldna find my old granddads 1st world war gas mask, so your help has been comforting and timely! 🙂

Hat has been well and truly doffed sir! 😉

I may only be the village idiot around these parts but at least it can not be said that I am not also a kind hearted and caring village idiot! 😀

54. bookie from hell

Michael White

guardian-today

Nick Robinson, a man against whose “bias” an angry Yes camp crowd demonstrated outside the BBC’s Glasgow headquarters last September. My Scots friends tell me Robinson’s BBC colleagues up there sound thoroughly intimidated by Holyrood(bfh–is his colleage first name alan)

Jim Murphy, its energetic new leader at Holyrood.(bfh-eh hes a Westminster MP)

55. heedtracker

@ Patrick Roden, Not only that, there’s ‘Tankers over the top of Scotland’!!!

I think he said/meant Flankers, which are Russian bombers or were. Anyway The Honorable MP Donohoe Central Ayrshire, probably watched Hunt for Red October one too many times. Its a great film based on no reality whatsoever, but IT LOOKS REAL.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AWPBr4L1eyE

You can just see Gourock outdoor pool behind Sir Sean there.

56. ronnie anderson

@ Patrick Roden
    @ Big Jock.

I have noted this submarine activity in the Clyde re ( Donahoe,s sightings.

All Wingers / Yes groups attending the next BBC DEMO please avail yourselves of Binoculars/Telescopes ( nautical if possible ) We can acheive two things at once ( Many eyes more focus ).

& for the Children I recommend Kaleidoscope’s, they wont see submarines but the designs & colours are nice. There again the Russians might wear their awaydaytripper colours & appear in their Yellow Submarine would,nt that be nice says Mrs Broon & Family.

57. Capella

Funny but informative comment on BBC news from “Professor John Robertson, Primary 7 Supply Teacher, 21st January 2015” over on Newsnet.
    http://newsnet.scot/2015/01/broadcast-news-view-armchair-part-3/

58. Futureproof

Vote Jim Murphy, get a by-election in 2016.

Of course, since he’s currently a Westminister MP, and seeking re-election to Westminister, maybe he could start answering questions about Trident, since the adminsitration of it is part of his job.

59. Lesley-Anne

A.N.Surgent says:

Lesley-Anne

Think the film was Downfall(not sure) well done Giffnock.

Funny how all this Russian sub stuff surfaces(eh) when trident is so much in the news.

My apologies ANS you are indeed correct I believe the film was called Downfall. I’m betting the makers of that film never thought in their wildest dreams that their movie would get so much *ahem* coverage. 😛

As far as the idea about the Russian subs surfacing during Trident being in the news … where do you think they are going to put the missiles ANS … the Astute class submarines? Haven’t you heard these subs have a propensity to run aground! 😀

60. Cuilean

On the plus side, Stu, in the pics featured, Mr Murphy has lost his ‘halo’ (a photo effect courtesy of MSM).

61. ronnie anderson

Murphy on Daily Politics today is Brillo Heid Neil a serious political presenter allowing that Waffle from Murphy & he,ll do the same on Sunday, ? is Annabells opened afterwards for Lunch n Swally.

62. Luigi

If leader of SLAB Jim Murphy fails to become FM in 2016, will he do the honourable thing and resign immediately?

63. heedtracker

@ Capella, nice and he’s not wrong either

“So Reporting Scotland, that’s three bad reports in a row. I want you to watch STV and try to work up to their standard. Think about it. First stop parroting what the Labour Party says. They’re upset and emotional and not a reliable source. Talking of sources, stop saying “some people” or “opponents” and try to remember who said it. Thirdly, start identifying with the majority of your viewers on middle and lower incomes who can’t afford houses even if they only cost £300 000.”

Its much the same on BBC radio in England but today Murphy got R4 lunchtime news irn bru style open mike crate on his The Vow Home Rule Delivered but the creepy Murphy honey tones slipped when BBC man asked him a question he didn’t like, so Jim asked himself another instead, then BBC man got angry and so did Jim and then nothing came of it. “Can you NOT come on my show and ask yourself questions Mr Murphy…”

64. Luigi

Dr Ew says:

22 January, 2015 at 2:26 pm

BREAKING NEWS…

Jim Murphy is to show his tits on Page 3 of ‘The Sun’.
    (The tits in question being John McTernan and Blair MacDougall)

Now that WOULD be offensive!

65. Jim McIntosh

“Tankers over the top of Scotland”

As someone picked up on an earlier post Donohoe looked/sounded a bit worse for wear, perhaps the speakers in the chamber at the HoC picked that up wrong.

Wasn’t that the same day Balls and Murphy flew up to Aberdeen?

66. Big Jock

MacDougall top off …good god man av’e no hd ma tea yet!

67. Big Jock

Has someone informed social services that Donohoe is on the loose. Reminds me of a film mind you:

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/thumb/9/98/Conspiracy_theory_poster.jpg/220px-Conspiracy_theory_poster.jpg

68. Capella

@ liz 2.04
    Well spotted! How embarrassing for the Edinburgh East Labour Party that they can’t even get people to turn up for a Burns Night fund raiser with Kezia Dugdale on the bill too!
    Shame.
    Perhaps Burns is now a bit too radical for the brothers?

69. galamcennalath

That’s two stories today which expose what passes in the 21stC for journalism! The recurring theme is that all journalists seem to do is regurgitate stories from elsewhere WITHOUT ever checking original sources to find out there is any truth whatsoever.

As we all see, day after day, the whole MSM and broadcast media report the same news stories. And, likely as not, the veracity can be distinctly dubious!

This matters politically because a little bit of bias here and there gets quickly magnified.

70. Lesley-Anne

Oops!

After my last post I realised I had suggested putting the missiles into the wrong submarine, bit like the wrong fuel in your car but hey that’s another story. 😉

I do realise that Astute submarines don’t do Trident stuff that is left to Vanguard and her mates but somehow I don’t think my wee Astute “in house (sub)” joke would have worked as well with Vanguard instead of Astute. 😀

71. jackie g

AAAgh..

Just spotted photo of David Cameron standing on a podium somewhere in Edinburgh which says at the front..

OUR UNITED FUTURE!

FFS am getting really sick of their blatent posturing and patronizing tone they are taking the piss..

On another note social media is going nuts telling Nicola Sturgeon that she lost the Referendum and she should work within her remit! now where have we heard that tosh before…oh yes just about every fecking week since September.

72. Lesley-Anne

Big Jock says:

MacDougall top off …good god man av’e no hd ma tea yet!

In my case BJ it is a case of “good gawd I’ve no had the rest o ma life yet!” 😀

73. Big Jock

I wonder if they will send a bus load of London Labour MP’s up, to sort out the natives. Don’t strike until you can see the whites of their eyes! Will be the cry! Yes the very thin red line!LOL

74. A.N.Surgent

Lesley-Anne

Don`t you know that they put the missiles in the back of lorries and drive them all over the West of Scotland so the public can enjoy even more the benefits of having a nuclear arsenal at their doorstep. 🙁

75. fred blogger

Lesley-Anne
    not coal again! 🙂
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sRr0HNsCa6k

76. Big Jock

jackie g says :”Just spotted photo of David Cameron standing on a podium somewhere in Edinburgh which says at the front..

OUR UNITED FUTURE!

Particularly distasteful if you are a Dundee fan!

77. galamcennalath

Luigi says:
    “If leader of SLAB Jim Murphy fails to become FM in 2016, will he do the honourable thing and resign immediately?”

I have my doubts on whether he’ll survive as branch leader beyond May!

78. Big Jock

Luigi I think they will follow Tesco’s lead, and close underperforming branches!

79. Faltdubh

Certainly an interesting time for Murphy. I’d be amazed if he stands for WM. Considering he’s a Jock patriot these days and wants to be First Minister.

Sorry O/T but met an interesting chap today who puts talk of a “Unionist Alliance” firmly on the back burner.

He’s a proper, hardcore, nailed on, Tory, yes he’s even Scottish too. Maybe not as rare a find as we seen in some of Wings’ poll results last week, but he’s certainly an ‘outed’ one.

Anyways, he mentioned that he is going to vote SNP rather than Tory in his area (they have no chance – 4th or a long way off in 3rd) so that it can hopefully oust Labour.

So for as much as there is talk of this Lib Dem alliance in Gordon etc, seems there’s just as many possibly Tories who are willing to hold their nose and vote SNP in the hope that SNP romp home in Scotland, and their beloved Tories win in England.

80. starlaw

Russian subs in the Clyde. Where’s the point of having a deterrent when it only seems to attract what its supposed to deter.

81. jackie g

Big Jock says:

Aye Jock,

Would loved for him to have delivered his speech in Dundee(a YES city) and let the locals loose on him! i would pay money to see that OUCH..

82. SqueuedPerspextive

By the time the new ‘powers’are passed by WM they will be so watered down they will no doubt be delivering ‘Homeopathy Rule’

83. Big Jock

Starlaw – I think witnessing Donohue or ho or however he spells his name. Was like watching a quacking duck on an acid trip. The guy really needs to call social service or his wife or family need to.

84. merida

Just another example of media bias. For someone who has no position to do anything in Scotland Jim Murphy doesn’t half get a lot of publicity.

85. Cyborgnat

I take the headlines as a heavy hint to Mr Murphy that his jaiket is on a shoogly peg in East Renfrew and that he’d better get his act together and find a numpty list candidate to step down so that he gets into The Scottish Parliament.

86. Big Jock

Murphy might have to put a C.V together and get an actual job earning real money! I am sure Glasgow Council will accomodate him!

87. Lesley-Anne

Damn!

I knew I’d forgotten something thanks for that wee reminder ANS. 😛

How can any of us be so ungrateful as we appear to be when our Lord’s and Overmasters ensure that we all get as much *ahem* exposure to these loverly safe and never to be used nuclear whatsits as possible. Come to think about it wasn’t the Erskine bridge just simply creaking under all the weight of the millions of Glaswegians standing there waiting for a glimpse, just a glimpse mind you, of the latest “this is what your bairns are going hungry for” nuclear road trip. Oh no silly me it wasn’t that at all it was creaking cause they moved these *ahem* toys over the bridge in high winds when no other high sided vehicle crossed the bridge. DUH, silly me!

Aye Fred, I’m sorry to report it’s all back to the coal mines for us all. Mind you we’d best be quick about it before Cameron and co. hear about all that loverly black stuff still lying underground. I wonder what the world coal price is these days … has it passed the oil price of £50 yet I wonder? 😉

88. Big Jock

Apparently everything has now been devolved to Holyrood from here on in. The only downside is we need a note from our mammies first, and then it needs to get authorised by the head master in London. Who said The Vow was a lie!

89. boris

Chilcott Inquiry Delays – The Cover Up – The Machiavellian Influence Of Sir Jeremy Heywood

His role in the Referendum campaign was pivotal in ensuring a victory for, “The Establishment” which he and those reporting to him abandoned the “Civil Service Code” in pursuit of their own agenda.

TONY BLAIR Prime Minister 1997-2007

The charge: Wildly exaggerated evidence that Saddam posed a deadly threat to Britain, while suppressing advice that war might be illegal. Duped the Cabinet, Parliament and public into backing an invasion he had already agreed privately with George Bush, having assured the president in 2002 that, if Saddam was to be toppled militarily, Britain would ‘be there’.

Where now? Has amassed vast personal wealth – estimated at between £20million and £100million – through speeches and the consultancy firm Tony Blair Associates, whose clients include some of the world’s most notorious despots.

http://caltonjock.com/2015/01/22/chilcott-inquiry-delays-the-cover-up-the-machiavellian-influence-of-sir-jeremy-heywood/

90. john king

Murphys announced on Twitter he’s standing for Westminster.

COWARD

91. Bob Mack

@ Leslie Anne
    Would love to see that video on snp facebook site Give everyone a lft after this mornings facade.Brilliant.

92. Big Jock

I wonder why Cameron wouldn’t be pushing to get it published. Surely proving Blair was a liar would undermine the Labour party. Or are they working together to delay the report for other reasons!

93. liz

@Dr Ew – have to wash by brain out!

Re the Burns supper, I have never heard of Ms Gilmour but she sounds like typical slab.
    What I liked was the comments didn’t miss and hit the wall either.

Kev McKenna has a great article in the National – got the last one BTW.

Remember he is a previous Lab supporter – talking about a Sorting Hat in Oxbridge somewhere, names put in a hat and out come Cons or Lab politicos with roles to play to save the ‘state’.

He also mentions black ops being used against the miners with infiltration right to the top of the NUM.

94. woosie

Pete the Camera;

Aye, Murphy bears all the hallmarks of the school bully; picking on SNP MP’s now, before the reinforcements arrive in droves. The safety in numbers syndrome is displayed in his joining the labour party ( when they had numbers ). I wonder how many diehards will stick around when the results come in for the GE?
    I’ll ask Andrew Marr for his official forecast on the result; if the Greens are the third biggest party in UK, the new PM must be Al Murray!

95. john king

Ignore me, the wife was just repeating the same tweet as the one on here.

96. Jim McIntosh

O/T – See on twitter BBC & ITV are offering to have a 7 leader debate.

“Radio Times has learned BBC and ITV will offer to hold identical debates featuring seven political parties under the revised plans, which were being put to politicians this afternoon”.

97. Andy-B

The war on yes voters certainly isn’t over, the press and media are still lying to us.

It will never be over, until we gain independence.

98. Big Jock

Liz you are correct. It would be extremely naive if any of us didn’t think we were being monitored right now. There is someone watching this site as they did in the referendum .There is probably a working troll or fifth columnist in action, on here everyday. I suspect we caught a few of them last year, as some were extremely amateur, or extremely ignorant about the level of intelligence on the yes side. It’s a funny way to make a living and I feel sorry for these naive fools. We can’t stop them just carry on fighting for our democracy despite them.

99. Cag-does-thinking

I have noticed in the BBC recently a tendency to get the Labour and Tory Scottish spokespersons to comment on “serious” things like the NHS or UK wide policy and not have a spokesperson from the SNP except for direct Holyrood matters. Subtle discrimination SNP only to do with local matters big grown ups to talk about big grown up stuff. We need to monitor this in the next few months as it’s undoubtedly related to the Elect Labour agenda that the Scottish media are slavishly following.

100. Joemcg

Saw a few comments today on the Scotsman threads (yes I know glutton for punishment!) stating home rule was never on the table! Why have the no voters turned in to the stevie wonders of the political world?

101. Big Jock

Joemcg – There was never even a table!

102. Lesley-Anne

Big Jock says:

Murphy might have to put a C.V together and get an actual job earning real money! I am sure Glasgow Council will accommodate him!

Before he does that BJ he has a university degree to finish does he not? I mean he had only *ahem* completed 9 years of his study course, full length unknown but consider it LONG folks, so surely to get his, and OUR full money’s worth he MUST return to university and finish his course! Only after he has completed this course can he properly update his C.V. and send it in to his bested mate Mr. Matheson at G.C.C. 😀

103. Macandroid

@ ronnie anderson and BBC demo

Furry Russian hats and greatcoats might go down well!

104. Lesley-Anne

Jim McIntosh says:

O/T – See on twitter BBC & ITV are offering to have a 7 leader debate.

“Radio Times has learned BBC and ITV will offer to hold identical debates featuring seven political parties under the revised plans, which were being put to politicians this afternoon”.

You will notice Jim that it is only SEVEN leaders cause Cameron STILL will not be present cause the Greens, sorry Greens 🙁 , have not been invited. The FULL list of invities is, apparently:

Conservatives
    Labour
    Lib Dems
    UKIP
    Independent (Eric Joyce)
    S.N.P.
    S.D.L.P.
    Monster Raving Loony Party (the REAL one!)

105. McBoxHeid

I think I understand what the EBC journos and Mrs Murphy’s little boy are all about.
    None of them have any sort of integrity, none of them answer any questions and the all have the same agenda, waffle daft shite without saying anything for as long as the programme lasts. It wouldn’t do to have someone with real integrity, real policies and a real possibility of being elected in May actually saying something that people want to listen to or might be persuaded by. Bloody hell if that happened, we might get a party with politicians that actually want do something for the people instead of the establishment. Its time to wake up and smell the coffee, the politics and people in post indy Scotland want change. The old establishment order is about to be swept away. Time to start doing your job and start interviewing people that will still have a political future after the May election. Whats that line they use in the media? Oh yes, drop the dead donkey.

106. Robert Louis

It is interesting, is it not, that when you visit the renfrewshire branch Labour party website, there is nothing in their ‘news’ section on or about Jim Murphy.

You would think given his media profile, near permanent presence on the BBC, and supposed importance, that there would be story after story, all about Labour’s Scottish branch leader, Jim.

http://renfrewshirelabour.org.uk/index.htm

107. ronnie anderson

@ Macandroid I,ll try the Barra’s everything fae a needle tae a anchor. Donahoe’s gitting baith.

108. Lanarkist

Do all the media offices have a Lead Lemming who disseminates what the Chief Lemming dictates that the day’s message should be?

Can we identify and track and influence the Chief Lemming?

Would it be better just to know about the Lemming network and let them head off the cliff anyway?

109. john king

preface to STV news that SNP “CLAIM” Smith commission recommendations have been watered down,
    CLAIM?
    Are they incapable of reading?
    surely if they read the Smith commissions report then read what Cameron proposes it would be apparent to them if there was any veracity to the SNP claim or otherwise,

There is no need to suggest the SNP are claiming anything, the recomendations have either been watered down or they has not,
    WHICH IS IT STV?
    DO WHAT YOUR PAID FOR!

110. Graeme Doig

Ben Thomson fairly unambiguous regarding the draft proposals from our imperial masters on Newsdrive a wee while ago:

‘ The chairman of the Campaign for Scottish Home Rule said the draft proposals were “certainly not modern home rule nor an enduring settlement, as is its title”.

Ben Thomson told Newsdrive: “This is a delivery of the Smith Commission.
    “Smith called for public submissions, and he had got nearly 18,000 of them. The vast majority of them called for tax and welfare to be fully devolved.
    “The tax proposals don’t go as far as the Liberal Democrats’ ones. And the welfare ones don’t go as far as the Conservatives’ or Labour’s proposals before the referendum.”

111. Graeme Doig

Ben Thomson was actually given a good outing on RS. Very impressive deconstruction of the Westminster con.

112. ronnie anderson

Ah dont know why BBC licence fees officer’s keep up their correspondence course wie me fur, ah never answer their letters ha ha, am on my 18th as of today.Send a bloody SUMMONS for Court,are you free John Robertson fur a day oot wie me/ or ah week or two.

113. Lochside

The point is not that Murphy did not actually announce anything today….but the fact that ALL THE MEDIA announced the non-fact SIMULTANEOUSLY!!

Collusion has been a feature of the State media since the 2011 election. The Brit State will do everything in its power to wipe out Scottish Self Determination.

Hence today: The Smith Commission conclusions released, what do we get? Murphy’s phizog everywhere, with the real poll news from last night, that he is as popular as Ebola in Scotland. But you won’t see that in our everloving media!

Thankfully NS and the SG are starting to show some kind of fight-back. But with Chilcot shelved and Leon Brittain very conveniently shuffling off this mortal coil just as the Westminster Paedophilia investigation has been thwarted (again!)….they and we have got a hell of a fight on our hands in dealing with the campaign of disinformation flooding our way.

114. ronnie anderson

@ Liz Big Jock There is probably a working troll or fifth columnist in action, on here everyday.

Am a fumff columist diz that count.

ok ok ah,ll go back tae the Mushroom shed.

115. fred blogger

jam tomorrow?
    not even seen the flour for the bread yet!

116. Fiona

@Lochside

Indeed.

Coverage of the Smith proposals today on R4 contained not one fact. All we got was Carmichael “the SNP should stop complaining” and Murphy with the same message. The assertion that this was “home rule” for Scotland repeated uncritically, and some discussion of EVEl.

This is not news by any definition. It is, at best, opinion; at worst propaganda.

117. cynicalHighlander

#MythCommission

http://www.stuc.org.uk/news/1129/stuc-on-new-scottish-parliament-powers-bill

Call Kaye could be interesting in the morn I might even listen in.

118. M4rkyboy

@JoeMcG
    It’s the Hokey-Cokey,the Nawb’s will shamelessly turn on a penny if it’s expedient to preserving the British State.

119. Lollysmum

Article from Independent re SNP, Greens & Plaid inclusion in debates
    https://archive.today/aLAIH

Comment on same article:
    ‘They should just have Cameron and Farage debating together so that they can tear bits out of each other. The decent parties can have a separate debate!’ 🙂 🙂

120. Cadogan Enright

@Fiona PHONE IN AND COMPLAIN

regarding makey-upey so-called news about the candidate for East Renfrewshire

Did any of these press reports link the possibility he would lose his seat if he stood in that constituency to their pretended uncertainty about his candidacy?

This would be the only reasonable cause of such coverage

121. Lesley-Anne

Sorry for going O/T but I’ve just seen this over on Muguin’s ( bless his little webbed feet! 😉 )

JimnArlene posted this link.

http://www.newscientist.com/article/mg22530053.800-shocking-state-of-worlds-riskiest-nuclear-waste-site.html#.VME7z6dFAsI

Now being one of the *cough* many border guards patrolling this border of ours I am sure that had there been any problem, big or small, with stuff like nuclear waste we would all have heard about it during the referendum. So in the open course of being fair to all sides in the referendum hands up everyone who heard anyone fro Better Together go on about this and how this is why we are better together.

Right come on now get those hands up and keep ’em up till I say put them down … that’s right … I think I need a wee bit o help here folks … I can NOT see any hands up!

Surely the Better Together mob would not have been so blatant as to NOT mention this wee *ahem* difficulty … would they? 😛

122. Famous15

Well that’s a relief. Asda have rewarded Jim Murphy with a job stacking vans in reward for saving the Empire. (Ref BBC Reporting Scotland)

123. Jimbo

If there isn’t a genuine story about Murphy, they’ll invent one. I think the media in Scotland are making sure that everyone knows who Murphy is.

During their tenure as “leader” of the London Labour Party members in Scotland, hardly any of the Scottish electorate knew who Iain Gray and Jahann Lamont were. Scotland’s Labour friendly media are ensuring the same doesn’t happen with Murphy.

124. a2

“Labour spokesman” : That’ll be whoever is writing the article.

125. G4jeepers

Morphie (in undercover boss mode) seen sporting a green fleece on lunchtime “news” whilst humbly working a foodbank!

Probably with a view to shutting it down.

126. Paula Rose

ronnie anderson 3:06 – genius!

Everyone bring your binoculars to Pacific Quay and scan the Clyde for subs.

127. starlaw

Wasn’t sure if Murphy was loading a van or feeding the press photographers or both ?

128. Bob Mack

It is interesting to visit the Labour party Facebook account.They are being hammered not only by S.N.P. supporters but by their own former voters.Quite enlightening. Murphy himself is being roundly ridiculed on a regular basis.for his previous “life”,as a Blairite.Interesting to say the least.

129. Dr Jim

I see A Carmichael just wishes the SNP would stop asking pertinent questions again, it’s just so disruptive to the whole procedure of getting on with the business of conning the public
    And in a way he’s probably right the SNP needs now to move on to asking permissions of the Big Parliament as to what they want to do with these new hugely devolved powers that they’ve been given, which are more and bigger than anybody else in the world who is Scotland or any other place that is like it
    And when the UK says Veto they don’t mean Veto they mean consultation coz that’s completely different, so that’s cleared up then, now ask us anytime day or night if you want something and we’ll consult… Hmm Hmm Hmm… NO… but don’t complain now you signed up to it
    If lies were ammunition, Scotland would have been passed enough to win world war three
    Step aside while i load my mouth

130. Lesley-Anne

G4jeepers says:

Morphie (in undercover boss mode) seen sporting a green fleece on lunchtime “news” whilst humbly working a foodbank!

Probably with a view to shutting it down.

That’s the way to do it!

Good old Murph the Smurph. Everyone else has been to food banks, condemned their need to exist and NOW when the dust has settled the Smurph makes an appearance. Oh look folks Murph the Smurph has found a food bank we must support everything he utters!

Take me to your leader … take me to your leader … I have been re-programmed … I have been re-programmed … take me to your leader … 😛

Paula Rose says:

ronnie anderson 3:06 – genius!

Everyone bring your binoculars to Pacific Quay and scan the Clyde for subs.

Of course the best place to do any observations from would of course be the TOP of Pacific Quay. I wonder if there will be any subversives working inside P.Q. who can *ahem* absent-mindedly leave a door or two open that will allow all submarine observers up onto the roof! 😀

131. Dr Jim

While “helping out” at a food bank today Dim Murphy was heard to say (on the telly) “We need more places like this throughout Scotland” If you didn’t hear it, i swear to god he said it
    They just open their mouths and out it comes

132. HandandShrimp

O/T I thought Kevin’s article in the National today was very good. It managed to be both funny and a little chilling at the same time.

133. Jane Paterson

If I want to know what is really happening I look at Wings.
    If I want to know the spin and lies for the day, I put the telly on.
    SIMPLE

134. thomaspotter2014

The only thing that’s missing from Slim(Y)Jim Murky’s nickname of ‘CreepyJimMurphy’ is ‘Weirdo’- as in
    ‘CreepyWeirdoJimMurphy’.
    There…..sorted.
    Knew there was something missing!
    He is a gift that keeps giving to the Yessers.
    The media saturation of this vile specimen is putting the guid folk off their cereal BIGSTYLE.LOL

135. Jimbo

@ Lanarkist

“Do all the media offices have a Lead Lemming who disseminates what the Chief Lemming dictates that the day’s message should be?”

Nah, they all just sit there wetting themselves with excitement waiting for the chance to be first into print with latest London Labour Party press release.

136. muttley79

Reaction to today via a SNP press release, minus the first paragraph and the quote from the SNP, because the post would be too long (it is long enough as it is!):

The STUC has warned that the draft clauses “will not match the intentions of the Smith Commission proposals” and stated that “it is unacceptable that the Scottish Parliament should require Westminster approval to create new benefit entitlements in Scotland.” The trade union organisation added that “given that the STUC was underwhelmed by totality of the Smith Commission proposals, this further watering down of the promise that was made to voters in Scotland is unacceptable”.

The STUC also demanded that the Scottish Labour Party “looks very carefully at these clauses and takes a clear view on whether they meet its aspirations and the spirit of the Smith Commission proposals” – a call which was immediately snubbed by Jim Murphy who lined up with the Tory Government to support them in full in an interview on the Daily Politics.

Meanwhile the Campaign for Scottish Home Rule warned that the command paper will not deliver home rule, stating “the real missed opportunity in this Command Paper is that it does not deliver a sustainable proposal based on a set of principles that gives Scottish Parliament control over domestic policy; in other words, it does not deliver Scottish Home Rule.”

The Poverty Alliance’s Director Peter Kelly described the draft clauses as “very disappointing”, highlighting that any changes to Housing Benefit would need to be agreed by the Scottish Secretary, arguing that “by giving the Secretary of State a veto, the Scottish Government is essentially being stripped of any real powers over this.”

The SCVO expressed its frustration, stating that “the piecemeal proposals put forward by the Smith Commission were never going to translate into coherent legislation, so we’re not surprised by today’s disappointing and incoherent offerings which simply will not create an enduring settlement or the fundamental change and greater social justice that so many people in Scotland want”.

Citizens Advice Scotland made clear that it was “deeply disappointed that the paper states that the migration from Disability Living Allowance (DLA) to Personal Independent Payments (PIP) will continue under current timescales and process.” The organisation also stated that “the Smith Commission led us to believe the Scottish Government could craft its own welfare system, outside of Universal Credit, taking into account the needs of Scotland. It seems now that offer has been withdrawn.”

137. BrianW

So, if a Jim Murphy fails to announce he’s not standing as a candidate in a forest and there is no one there to hear it…

does that mean it is only BBC & STV that hear it..

*confused*

138. galamcennalath

There is widespread media bias. Fact. I’m not arguing against that.

But, I do think there are other things going on which compound and exaggerate it.

Firstly, as discussed here, no one in the media these days seems to actually validate stories! They just run with what everyone else is saying.

Secondly, it’s becoming blatantly obvious that people are being employed as journalists who appear to know nothing about the topics they report on! They are lazy, or thick, or both.

Two prime examples at the BBC being London based Nick Robinson and Glasgow based Kaye Adams. Their lack of knowledge of current Scottish politics is truly staggering. Both biased to their Union cause, yes, but on top of this they seem to have virtually no grasp of what is actually going on around them. Unbelievable, if you didn’t witness it almost daily.

139. Lesley-Anne

I think this, just seen on Twitter, sort of explains Murph the Smurph completely in my view, I can’t put my finger on why but it just does somehow. 😛

https://twitter.com/ronwindward/status/558349484993048577/photo/1

140. john king

Jane Paterson says
    If I want to know what is really happening I look at Wings.
    If I want to know the spin and lies for the day, I put the telly on.
    SIMPLE”

That’ll do get that on every bus stop!

141. Lesley-Anne

Oh look folks it’s that Kay “I’ll stop talking now because there is a helicopter taking off and they can be noisy” Burley *ahem* interviewing Nicola Sturgeon. 😉

http://news.sky.com/video/1413005/scotland-plans-a-watering-down

142. G. Campbell

BBC NO NEWS UPDATE

“Jim Murphy was apparently re-selected as Labour’s general election candidate in East Renfrewshire last year. That was before he was elected leader of the Scottish Labour Party with a commitment to stand for Holyrood in 2016, if not before. What’s happened today is that, in response to media enquiries, Labour has confirmed that Mr Murphy remains a Westminster candidate. It is not clear whether or not that position will change before the general election on May 7th.”

http://www.newssniffer.co.uk/articles/899159/diff/1/2

143. ronnie anderson

@ Paula Rose 7.08. you talkin tae me ur ya ( genius) ur you oan that peenyoanwar again, pit the cork back in the bottle yer drunk lol.

144. Cherry

@Dr Jim. I can confirm he said it…I couldn’t believe I’d heard it either. The man is a prize buffoon!!

145. Dan Huil

Murphy, McTernan, Dalgety: How in God’s name could any sane person trust these people with their vote?!

146. Paula Rose

Up periscopes!

147. bookie from hell

Do you think REV is writing about #smithcommision?

148. Lesley-Anne

bookie from hell says:

Do you think REV is writing about #smithcommision?

Maybe he is doing some research on Russian submarines to provide to oor wee Brian and his mates … just so that they actually know what:

a) a submarine looks like

b) a Russian submarine looks like

c) a British submarine looks like

d) a map showing where the nearest chippies are in each port likely to accommodate any visiting submarine

e) a price list of fish suppers at each *ahem* port

f) a description with accompanying photo of a Russian sailor’s uniform

g) a description with accompanying photo of a British sailor’s uniform

h) a list of shops selling good quality sea faring binoculars

Of course other nations and other submarines are available but Stu will be concentrating on these two to start with. I am certain Mr. Donohoe will be most receptive to all the information our Stu can supply him with. 😀

149. ronnie anderson

Even Susan Bs pissed aff.

ahv closed ma eyes tae devalution aah aah
    an shut ma ears tae smiffs commission aah aah
    av pulled the curtains oan the draft proposals aah aah
    ma dreams no coming true aah aah.

150. Lesley-Anne

Heads up folks it is Thursday all day today and you all know what that means … yup it’s time for Question Time! 😛

Tonight for your absolute joy and utter amazement we have on stage in Eastleigh:

Ester McVey

Diane Abbott

Paul Nuttall

Tim Farron

Amol Rajan

Who says the BBC does NOT deliver *ahem* quality programming … oh that’s right … WE DO! 😀

151. Thepnr

@Dr Jim

Foodbanks.

Dim Murphy was heard to say (on the telly) “We need more places like this throughout Scotland”

Yes, he certainly did utter those words. What a halfwit. We don’t need more Jim we want them all closed! Clown.

What now for Labour in Scotland with a fool like him as leader?

152. steveasaneilean

@muttley79 – thanks for posting this. The views of these organisations should be on the front page of every newspaper tomorrow but they won’t be. More to the point they should be in the mind of anyone thinking New (i. e. Not) Labour are looking after Scotland’s interests

153. Effijy

Big Jock

It’s like in the film It’s A Wonderful Life:
    “Every time Dud Smurphy sings, the BBC tells us lies!

154. Graeme Doig

The only time i’ll believe a word he says or have any respect for the man is when he finally admits he has no integrity and has been playing political games his whole life.

btw can’t think of any context in which any politician should utter the phrase “We need more places like this throughout Scotland” (in relation to foodbanks) but are we gonna give him the benefit of the doubt pending an appropriate explanation or shall we just make sure everyone hears about the latest ‘when photo opportunities go wrong’ for f**kwit Murphy.

The man is a fool!

155. Paula Rose

@ Leslie-Anne and others –

No spoilers re Question Time

Some of us won’t see it for another 2 hours at least, nae license.

156. Big Jock

This is the pathetic level of Scottish journalism. While interviewing Cameron about the Smith proposals and the Vow. The journalist asks Cameron:” Do you think the Smith offer is a watered down version of the vow”. Well answers on a postcard but how do you think Cameron answered that? …You guessed no. Why would he say yes when presented with a closed question. What the journalist should have said was. In the vow you promised Devo Max and the general understanding is control of everything apart from foreign affairs and defence. How can you call it Home Rule or Devo Max when you still control the majority of vat,benefits,oil tax revenues,immigration,tax,import and export duty. How is that Deco Max or the Vow? The question leaves him with an explanation to find. Their question leaves him to simply say no. Pathetic!

157. Christian Wright

gillie wrote: It’s all gone Page 3 today.

Sums it up perfectly in six words. Inspired, gillie.

158. Christian Wright

Not clear to me how Murphy could change his mind now. The media take on it is that the statement is unequivocal. Doesn’t really matter that it is not. McLuhan was right (who knew!).

Were Murphy later to reverse this “decision” why, he would be seen as duplicitous and unprincipled! [snicker]

159. ronnie anderson

@ Christian Wright And in farmers weekly its udders delightful wie sprinkles.

160. Jimbo

When writing about the Labour Party or Labour politicians always remember to refer to it/them as London Labour – George Foulkes gets annoyed by it.

https://archive.today/3hlVw

161. Fred

The rogues & scoundrels in Pacific Quay must be spittin feathers, selling their souls & their country has all been for nothing and the gravy train shoogles unrelentingly, brakeless, for the buffers.

162. No no no...Yes

Lesley-Anne 8:05pm

Great link to Nicola on Sky. She really is soaring above the others in Scottish Politics. A respected leader who inspires a nation, with her passion and vision for the future of ALL of Scotland’s people.

163. Effijy

What are you lot like getting on poor Dud Smurphy’s back
    for saying that we should have more Food Banks across the country!

He has to be fair told the truth on one occasion, he stated that
    if his Labour party get elected, they will enforce a further more
    sever series of austerity cuts.

If 1 in 3 of Glasgow’s children are already being fed through Food Banks, he is obviously aiming for at least 2 in 3 becoming reliant.

What idiots let themselves be linked to a sniveling creep like Smurph? Hope they searched his pockets on the way out.
    No doubt off to a slap up lunch at the Tax Payer’s expense.

164. Natasha

@Ronnie Anderson 3.06pm
    Can we bring skeletopes? (five-year-old-speak for telescopes).

165. A.N.Surgent

So morph is against free tuition fees, free prescriptions and free school meals but all for more foodbanks on our streets. Morphs vision of a future Scotland is a nightmare.

166. Ian Brotherhood

This is an hour-long video of John McTernan delivering his final speech as one of the ‘Adelaide Thinkers in Residence’, and it’s worth dipping into if for no other reason than to hear how reasonable, compassionate and charming the man can be.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8P6HwP_0CAs

Aye, it’s the same guy who said this:

‘You don’t actually win in politics without breaking legs.’

@6.00 mins, here –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MQhvo914HCk

The point?

Know thine enemy, an’ aw that jazz…John McTernan can ‘do’ sincerity, and do it well (and we all know who else was very good at that, right? Clue – he was on the front page of today’s National and his first name’s Tony.)

167. James Dow A voice from the diaspora

Please spare me, I am sick of Scot’s whinging about their so called Scottish media, for God’s sake there is no Scottish media, there is only vested interest English owned and published media which is distributed in Scotland.

168. muttley79

It seems Jimmy Hood used parliamentary privilege to more than cast aspersions at the late Lord Brittan. Strangely the Telegraph article only seems to refer to him as Mr Hood, but he talks about the miners as well, so I assume it is the SLAB MP (I should say that that is a reference to the Miners strike)….Says is the article that it was last October. Do the media not report it when an MP uses parliamentary privilege?

http://www.msn.com/en-gb/news/uknews/how-leon-brittans-final-years-were-tarnished-by-lost-paedophile-dossier/ar-AA8tyWO?ocid=iehp

169. ronnie anderson

@ Natasha jist go tae pund shop an get the bairn a keleliscops I,ll gie you the pund back,if the submarine shows up he can get alena Paula Roses Opera glesses,nae common muck fur that lady such as binoculars.

170. Thepnr

@James Dow A voice from the diaspora

Calm down, calm down. You are wrong on two counts:

1. There is of course a “Scottish media” it’s that which is available, either in print or on television/radio. The fact that it is English/foreign/government controlled is neither here nor there. It IS the Scottish media.

2. Who was whinging?

171. tartanarse

Creepy Jim, resplendent in green foodbank fleece on todays anouncement decrees that he would go further.

The story stopped there. I am a little confused.

Better Together Dave and his chums have stated that they have just delivered home rule. I heard the ginger rodent utter the words this very morn with my own ears.

How does one “go further” than devo max? That is what we got isn’t it?

If not, is Jim admitting that we were done? Thats a disgrace. That puir mannie went around two thousand toons shouting at the wind to secure the status quo then the big boys go and promise devo max but renege.

Creepy on radio, even creepier on the telly. He needs a newspaper column so we can’t see or hear him.

172. Famous15

Any law student care to apply Hohfeldian Analysis to the document produced by the UK Government on “more powers”?????????

173. Big Jock

Agh no wonder I was confused. It was modern Home Rule the 55 voted for not Home Rule. I presume it’s a bit like Labour and New Labour. They drop all the important bits and give us the scraps. Surely us modernisers can understand and appreciate that the unionists were just helping us out by modernising home rule. We can all relax now that our masters have explained what home rule is.

174. cynicalHighlander

It’s unionist mince delivered full of gristle containing no meat.

175. Lesley-Anne

Looks like the King of Saudi has died and Prince Salman ibn Abdel -Aziz apparently takes his place as the new king of Saudi.

Stand by for days of we love Saudi from dawn to dusk on BBC and media … human rights? … what human rights oh by the way have some more arms deals cause you are our bestest friend, right?

176. Big Jock

Bavaria has more power than Scotland at present as does Texas a state. They cannot be abolished we can. How can we be the most powerful devolved parliament on the planet. Holyrood is nothing at present as it is not sovereign. Time to take our parliament back in 2015. The end of the UK is coming its a dead union that never served anyone’s purpose but England’s.

177. Training Day

Oh the casual racism of Question Time: we can’t have our ‘Dundee cake’ and eat it.

And apparently the No vote was ‘unanimous’ according to Esther Mcvey.

As Heedtracker would say ‘Thanks again, No voters’.

178. Flower of Scotland

O/t

Absolutely disgusted by the BBC,s Question Time tonight. I had stopped watching BBC news in any form and any BBC political programmes. David Dimbleby chaired and encouraged anti Scottish rhetoric tonight. I am disgusted with the lies these English parties are feeding to English people.

It’s definitely time to leave this English run Union!

179. Tîm Criced i Gymru

Well done BBC Question Time tonight… apart from the fair-minded Diane Abbott, the whole thing just managed to put a few extra 1,000 votes our (SNP’s) way in May – that reverse psychology has just back-fired magnificently again – keep it up, the Nasty Nationalist Beeb!

180. Famous15

The Deputy leader of UKIP said on Question Time the Scots TAKE Take take take take. The Lib Dem said the SNP like UKIP are isolationist etc etc

Huge respect to Diane Abbot who said she was impressed by the YES message of hope.

181. Wp

Nutter on question time ( or is it nuttal) just added another 10,000 to our independence campaign.

182. Inbhir Anainn

Would like to think that the Rev. Stu would do an in depth article on tonight’s BBC Question Time as per usual on such shows there was no SNP Government member on the panel to answer questions raised by the guest members of public and the other panel members were given a poetic licence to get away with murder.

183. HandandShrimp

Watched QT, Paul Nuttall was a superb recruiting sergeant for the SNP, feminism and just about any cause he railed against.

His anti-Scottish rant was magnificent. Dianne Abbott was actually quite measured. Fallon for the Liberals wasn’t far behind Nuttall…loves Scotland…..pity it is full of Scottish people.

184. bookie from hell

#bbcqt

That’s Dundee SNP majority sorted

185. terry

Agreed – I was almost rubbing my hands in glee. Excellent recuriting platform for the SNP and pro indy parties! Talk about shooting themselves in the foot. What they forget is that No voters couldnt escape all of the arguments up here and will now see through their guff – just like us yessers did, well , here’s hoping.

What happened to the love bombing? Anyone had their hug from Eddy Izzard yet?

186. Tam Jardine

Flower of Scotland

Agreed. Crushing ignorance on QT. I found myself feeling sorry for the audience – they have been well and truly taken in and swallowed whole by the machine down south.

I wish David Bowie had caught it, especially the UKIP guy with his little rant. ‘Scotland, stay with us’ has turned into ‘Scotland fuck off’.

Nicola has the English press and Westminster parties foaming at the mouth and she’s been in the job for 2 months! It’s just a shame that the English public (from what I saw in the audience) are woefully under equipped to hold their politicians to account and decipher the truth from the fog of the media.

187. Rock

“Seriously, folks, if this is what we’ve got for professional journalism, God help us all.”

Did we ever have anything better?

188. Clootie

Question Time – now that was interesting!
    Does anyone still think we will get extra powers?

I think Fallon was actually worse than Nuttal as he tried to push a variation of the BT “Nazi” theme without using the word.

I seen a YES campaign for a fairer society – the UK (English) media have obviously done a very effective job in building the hate agenda against the “greedy Scots”

189. cirsium

“We need more places like this throughout Scotland” Jim Murphy on food banks.

That statement deserves a place alongside such gems as

“To start talking about Scotland being under the cosh and undervalued by others may just stir up beliefs that Scotland should somehow be better. That’s what I think is dangerous.” Willie Rennie September 2013

“where’s the money going to come from to set up an Oil Fund?” Iain Gray November 2013

‘I’m sure the British people will elect a Labour party led by David Cameron” Anas Sarwar 9 June 2014

“I have reservations, I want to ensure that Scotland is not better off”. Sarah Boyack on devolving income tax, 24 November 2014

190. Lesley-Anne

The result for yesterday’s council by – election in Kirkcaldy East council ward is here. 😉

Candidate Name Party No. of votes
    Peter Adams UKIP 117
    Edgar Cook Scottish Conservative and Unionist 223
    Liz Easton Scottish Labour Party 1088
    Ronald Hunter Independent 19
    Callum Leslie Scottish Liberal Democrats 40
    Alastair Macintyre Independent 12
    Marie Penman Scottish National Party (SNP) 1460
    Claire Reid Scottish Green Party 126

191. Lochside

As predictable as ever, Dimblebore raised the Scottish ‘Question’ as the last one on ‘Question Time’. What we had to endure, as ever, was anti-Scottish abuse from the usual suspects: Paul Nutjob from Ukip; Esther McSpew from the Tories and some Cumbrian prat from the Lame Dumbs.

The audience response was muted, but job done…Dimblebore strikes again on behalf of the Empire allowing one factual inaccuracy unchallenged after another….Apparently the ‘SNP lost the Election’ according to one worried punter.

As I said earlier, collusion and concerted action is ongoing in the BRITISH media…..Anyone notice the’Daily Record’ nestling not unobtrusively in Caroline Flint’s lap directly behind Milliband during the Chilcot ‘debate’?

Talk about ‘product placement’.

Talking about the Commons, Remember the ‘Rembrancer’?….Who? well he’s the guy who sits directly behind the Speaker in the Chamber of flatulence. He’s also unelected, unidentified, (last one was called Paul Double) but represents the real power in Parliament: The City of London. With a 6 million pound budget and an influence beyond anything acceptable in a so-called democracy.

Yet how many people have even heard of this shadowy figure?
    Chilcot kicked into touch; slease bag Brittain conveniently croaks just as Parly Paedo scandal lumbers into long grass; and while up here the Manchurian candidate, Smugurphy with the same rating, after four months, of his failed predecessor, the blessed Joanne lamentable, is still splurged across our media, portrayed as a latter day Mother Theresa lurking around Foodbanks.
    Geez peace!

192. Hoss Mackintosh

Meanwhile back at the ranch…

I have been out all day but looked at the BBC website on the Murphy thing and it has completely changed.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-glasgow-west-30934929

Can someone please archive it for me as it is a cracker.

Have a look at this BBC website link. it is completely ridiculous. I have never seen such a non story and they are now admitting it. Obviously, they have been reading Wings.

I am looking forward to daily reports from the BBC that Murphy still “remains a Westminster candidate”.

Fuckwits.

193. Lesley-Anne

Here are the actual figures and percentages of tonight’s Fife council bye – election, a seat slap bang in the middle of a certain Gordon Brown’s Westminster constituency. 😛

SNP – 47.3% (+15.9)
    LAB – 35.3% (-11.8)
    CON – 7.2% (-2.3)
    GRN – 4.1% (+4.1)
    UKIP – 3.8% (+3.8)

194. Hoss Mackintosh

Kirkcaldy election – great result in Gordon Brown’ back yard.
    Roll on May 15 GE.

SNP Steamroller is coming…

195. Legerwood

@lochside.

As soon as the question was asked I changed channels then changed back for this week. Caroline Lucas had an extended stint on the programme – in the first item and stayed put for the general round-up of the week. She and the Green Party of England and Wales certainly seem to be getting lots of exposure on the BBC and elsewhere but she did not distinguish herself in the first item which was about the Sun and Page 3. The wee lassie from Ireland had the better part of the argument.

But two interesting points from the second item – the general round up of the week:
    I) Caroline Lucas was asked if she would represent the Greens in the debates. Her reply was that it had not yet been decided and Patrick Harvey as the leader of the Scottish Greens might have to be included in discussion about who represents the Greens because he leads the Scottish Green Party. Apart from the fact that she did not mention the Northern Irish Green Party I did not think the invitation to the ‘Greens’ included all 3 Green Parties.
    2) The inclusion of the SNP was discussed and Mr Neil commented that their inclusion was questionable because they did not field candidates across the UK!! But neither does the Green Party of England and Wales. So who exactly do they mean when they talk about the Greens because I get the impression broadcasters etc seem to think the term means the Green Party of E&W and do not realise there are other Green Parties in other parts of the UK who may cooperate with one another but are distinct parties

196. Fat boab

@Lesley-Anne says at 12:37 am:
    (tonight’s Fife council bye – election,)
    LA
    That is a superb result and strikes me as even more amazing given the circumstances.
    Correct me if I’m wrong – and apologies if I’m not up to speed – but is it true that the seat was retained by the SNP with a massive increase in majority DESPITE the fact that the previous incumbent had been found to be spending most of his time away from his constituency, yodelling and milking goats in the Austrian Alps or some such?

(I ask you sir, does the alpine air really smell so much sweeter than that of Kirkcaldy? I very much doubt it, so shame on you!)

197. Lollysmum

There you go Hoss-as requested

https://archive.today/xLpzL

198. handclapping

@Village Idiot
    Slap bang on the edge! It has Glenrothes on two sides and the sea on another.

What is even more fun is that they wheeled out Dr Brown at least 3 times and their vote still fell.
    The Kirkcaldy and Cowdenbeath Westminster should be very interesting as the SNP haven’t wheeled out their secret weapon yet … wait for it … our own John King. Unless they vote SNP they’ll get John round telling them jokes! 😀

199. HandandShrimp

Well the Fife results confirms that polls are not far wrong. My goodness the Liberals are toast.

200. handclapping

@fat boab
    That’s one interpretation but Labour queered their pitch on that by promptly giving up on holding any surgeries once they knew he was never back here long enough to hold his

201. Lesley-Anne

Aye you are right Fat Boab, I read a tweet that said it was a HOLD for the S.N.P. and it looks very much like it was with an increase in the vote. 😛

Thanks for the geographical update Handclapping. 😉

WOW! they rolled out the Brown machine, the man who single-handedly saved the world, and yet he could not stop the S.N.P. winning. … Oops!

I hear our John is rehearsing his repertoire as we speak just in case the constituency dares continuing to vote Labour! 😀

202. manandboy

Jim Murphy in Scotland is Ed Milliband’s project.

But if Ed is serious about keeping his Scottish MP’s,
    why would Ed choose a half-wit like Murphy as Branch manager.
    Except he did appoint John McTernan as his minder.

McTernan is not stupid – he is not a politician –
    he is ‘a writer, a thinker and a strategist –
    and the most arrogant man he knows’ – John’s own words.
    So what is he trying to achieve with Murphy with such a poor campaign?

We might, rightly, think that Murphy is a mess.
    But he is McTernans’ mess – which means he’s a mess for a reason.
    Or, McTernan has lost the plot.
    Or, Milliband is a hard man and is merely using the Scottish Branch office
    as a means to dispose of Murphy,
    ‘cos he’s a Blairite and incompatible with Ed.

But if Murphy’s campaign is a mess for a reason,
    then there must be something else to come,
    otherwise their campaign is going to fail big time.
    They know what the polls are saying,
    so you’d think they would change tack
    and do something different. But no.

There must surely be more to it than what we’ve seen so far.

Or, has been said before, maybe it is all just deliberate;
    and consistent with McTernan’s new Moscow-based strategy of confusion Politics
    whereby the voters are left saying ‘ oh dear, oh dear, oh dear’,
    not knowing what to think.

This is precisely the object of Confusion Politics –
    to control the thinking of the masses
    through a campaign of trivia,
    making it very difficult for them to think clearly about anything.

Remember, Westminster is still playing referendum politics in GE15
    for the obvious reason that the Union is still at risk –
    and everyone in England knows it, media included.

We must keep our eye on the ball.

Every day the question must be asked ‘ what is the enemy doing with the ball?’

Actually, the answer is nothing! ‘Cos Nicola has the ball at her feet and she’s running rings round them.

I’ll settle for that right now. Long may it continue.

203. handclapping

Does the Kirkcaldy East result mean Jim was a liar when he said he was going to stop Labour losing or is it too early to tell?

204. Lesley-Anne

handclapping says:

Does the Kirkcaldy East result mean Jim was a liar when he said he was going to stop Labour losing or is it too early to tell?

You damned well handclapping that Murph the Smurph was a liar the nano-second the words left his quivering lips! 😀

205. Lesley-Anne

News just in!

Picture has been released by a person or persons unknown of what the submarines look like that Mr. Brian Donohoe has been sighting in the Clyde.

you are warned to be on the look out for any such vessel surfacing at beach near you in the future. It is unknown, at this time, if the crew of these submarines are friendly or intent on invading this peaceful nation. Everyone finding themselves confronted by the crew of one of these submarines should:

a) stop drinking

b) stop taking any hallucinating drugs

c) seek the safety of a small room, preferably darkened

d) if all else fails contact Mr. Brian Donohoe for mutual support.

https://twitter.com/mikebell48/status/558182563920240640/photo/1

206. Tamson

That Kirkcaldy East by-election result is a good one. The voting system, STV, is normally useless for by-elections due to the multi-member wards, but this ward was split 2 Labour, 2 SNP. So Labour obviously though this one was there for the taking.

Despite the SNP predecessor resigning in scandal and Labour throwing everything they had at the ward, the SNP vote looks to have gone up from 2012.

207. Thomas Widmann

No matter whether Jim Murphy ends up standing or not, for the time being we have to assume he will, so we need to do all we can to kick him out. For that purpose East Renfrewshire SNP has created a crowd-funding page on Indiegogo: http://www.indiegogo.com/projects/help-kirsten-kick-jim-murphy-out/

208. Robert Peffers

As far as the MSM & Unionist Establishment goes the old saying, “No News is good news”, applies and the proposals are a work of pure fiction. The Establishment document is no more than a draft proposal to be debated by the Establishment. It may then gain amendments from all parties and then must get through the Lords where further amendments may, (and probably will), be added. The proposals have also been deferred from debate until AFTER the General Election is fought, won, or lost. We cannot thus know who will be in power when the bill comes before the house.

The reality is that NO government can legally be held to anything done by previous governments, (even things already passed as laws). The express function of parliaments is to make, change or strike out legislation. Parliaments are in fact legislations.

The United Kingdom Parliament is composed of 533 Members from England, (who each wear two hats because the, (nominally), United Kingdom parliament is actually the de facto Parliament of the country of England). Those 533 English members sit in parliament along with 59 Scots, 40 Welsh and 18 N.I. members, and these latter, (117 members), are mainly Unionists party members.

There isn’t a hope in hell that Establishment set-up is ever going to pass the draft proposals in the paper David Cameron has just presented to the Scottish Government. I wonder how he could manage to get through that presentation and maintain a straight face.

So that Establishment set-up gives 533 on one side and 59+40+18=117 on the other. This gives a clear English majority of 533-117=416, (even without the Scots, Welsh & N.I. unionists, the English have a 416 overall majority in that de facto Parliament of England). There isn’t a hope in Hell the draft proposals will ever pass an Establishment vote.

And then there are the Lords … … …

209. Robert Peffers

@Ross Lowe says: 22 January, 2015 at 1:41 pm:

“I think Scottish/British journalism has become like lemmings. If one media outlet makes sh.t up and another reads it, they take it as gospel that the sh.t is real. …”

Wise-up, Ross. The real set-up is that all the media is connected to the same News Agencies, (such as Reuters) Here’s the UK Reuters website –
    http://uk.reuters.com/

The news comes to the media outlets from the same sources and lazy journalism sees them cut & past news agency stories without doing anything more than putting their own spin upon the News Agency story. In fact the News Agency stories tend to be fairly politically neutral so the news outlets are where the spin comes from and they get that spin from the political party they favour.

You should try it for yourself.

There is nothing to stop the public from ignoring the MSM and broadcasters for news and reading the News Agency stories for themselves.

210. Robert Peffers

@jimnarlene says: 22 January, 2015 at 1:45 pm:

“… If you’re not up to the task, step aside and let someone who is able, do it.”

Someone else does do it, jimnarlene. You can read the News Agencies for yourself. This is where the media gets its news from before they spin the stories. I posted a link to Reuters up-thread but there are plenty more to choose from. In fact you can subscribe to a news agency. The main one for the UK is Reuters.

211. Robert Peffers

@Big Jock says:22 January, 2015 at 1:58 pm:

“As a result of the projected Scottish Westminster results. It is with great regret that the planned charity 5 aside match bewtween SNP mp’s and SLAB mp’s has been cancelled”.

Sawricht! Big Jock, the fixture is to be replaced with a 15 per side rugby match with the N.I contingent. Mind you the annual darts match with the Scottish Tory has gone for good.

212. Robert Peffers

@fred blogger says: 22 January, 2015 at 2:00 pm:

“it seems that the bbc cannot give him enough publicity!”

Well, Fred, that’s just as well from the Unionists POV as the result of the BBC’s publicity has seen Murphy and Labour’s approval rate slide way down the scale.

213. Robert Peffers

@Patrick Roden says:22 January, 2015 at 2:08 pm:

“Not only that, there’s ‘Tankers over the top of Scotland’!!!

I’d like to see that – tankers over Ben Nevis.

Where does that numptie making the strange claim think, “The top of Scotland”, is?

Far as I know water seeks its own level and the water off Berwick, in the Solway Firth and the Pentland Firth are, (wave peaks excepted), at exactly the same standard, “Sea Level”.

Does the daft numptie imagine you have to drive uphill all the way from Land’s End to the Shetland Isles. BTW: I was looking at, “Trip Advisor”, yesterday and noted they had an item on, “The real Northernmost part of Britain”, maintaining that it was not John o Groats but Dunnet Head. Seems no one has informed them that The British Isles, Britain and Scotland extend to not only Orkney and Shetland, (includes Fair Isle too). “Out Stack”, in The Shetland Isles is Britain’s most northerly bit of land.

https://www.google.com/maps/place/Out+Stack/data=!4m2!3m1!1s0x489fa37f9a83a62d:0x6a6f981018de6da5?sa=X&ei=SEzCVJDRGJLjasLxgJgC&ved=0CB4Q8gEwAA

214. Robert Peffers

@ronnie anderson says: 22 January, 2015 at 2:38 pm:

” … they better get used to loseing deposits.”

Today’s news in Fife is that Marie Penman has just held the vacant seat on Fife council. Right in Broon’s back yard. Not only that but the vacancy was due to the former SNP guy leaving under a cloud and had been third behind the two Labour candidates in the last council elections.

Marie Penman – SNP 1460 47.3%
    Liz Easton – Scottish Labour 1088 35.3%
    Edgar Cook – Conservative 223 7.2%
    Claire Reid – Greens 126 4.1%
    Peter Adams – UKIP 117 3.8%
    Callum Leslie – LibDems 40 1.3%
    Ronald Hunter – Independent 19 0.6%
    Alastair Macintyre – Independent 12 0.4%

215. dennis mclaughlin

Thanks for the reminder Thomas 🙂

just sent them a wee donation.

http://www.indiegogo.com/projects/help-kirsten-kick-jim-murphy-out/

216. Murto

Slugger O Toole, a Belfast based site, ran a General Election forecast, giving SNP 52 seats, and UKIP 38.. Some comments derided the UKIP prediction.

217. Campbell Robertson

Let’s suppose Jim stands for Westminster and looses his seat. Then he stands for Holyrood, doesn’t win outright and gets in as a list MSP. Would he have the gall and arrogance to then remain as leader of the labour party in Scotland. The man is a career politician and nothing more.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.