All things are possible

Posted on July 18, 2015 by

devotory

1. 18 07 15 14:52

All things are possible | Politics Scotland | ...

118 to “All things are possible”

1. Gillian_Ruglonian

Another cracker!

2. Scott Borthwick

It’s too late for the BBC. It’s reputation is sullied beyond salvation in Scotland. By all means push for devolved broadcasting, but it’s surely time to put the propaganda wing of the UK Government out to pasture.

You’ve captured the personalities and the attitudes very well though, Chris. I wonder if they’ll be able to laugh off the revelations of military intervention in Syria?

3. McDuff

Excellent, spot on.
    As a propaganda machine for the Unionists the BBC will never be devolved.

4. McDuff

Excellent, spot on.

5. Ken500

The disgusting, murdering, lying Tory/Unionists Hypocrites. Evil to the core. May they rot in hell.

6. call me dave

Aye it’s a hoot…BBC Scotland broacasting devolved!

Surely some mistake because Mullins is proud of the BBC referendum coverage in Scotland.

https://archive.is/3kNcB

7. Schiehallion! Schiehallion!

As with Tim Farron’s thoroughly researched statement yesterday in support of Alistair Carmichael, surely all decent people would like to give BBC Scotland a second chance.

8. desimond

I think Boris was in that same position when Gideon booted his chances of being next Tory Leader squarely in the nuts with that Budget speech

9. caz-m

Excellent Chris.

No matter what the SNP ask to be devolved, this sketch sums up the reaction they will get.

First they ignore you,
    THEN THEY LAUGH AT YOU,
    Then they fight you,
    Then you win.

Scotland should at least have it’s own balanced news channel by now. We have had a devolved Government since 1999.

Instead, we continue to be fed our news through the eyes of the English Establishment.

10. Ghillie

Aye well, he who laughs last, laughs longest.

Is Boris about to be sick? Doesn’t look well at all.

11. Ken500

Greedy troughers. Major called them ‘bastards’. He lied. ‘Greedy Bastards’ Troughing and wasting public money. Trident/illegal war, banking fraud and tax evasion. The Tory bankers.

12. Sassenach

Hopefully this great cartoon can be distributed far and wide by internet and even posters. I, then, think many more folk will see through the BBC SLab set-up.

Like the MSM do, keep ‘blanketing’ our views by whatever means, it really is the only way try and balance the establishment project.

13. gerry parker

Great Cartoon as always Chris.

I was recently invited to sign a 38 Degrees petition to save “our” BBC.

I e mailled a nice reply listing all the reasons I wouldn’t be signing and cited G A Ponsonby’s book “London Calling” and Prof Robertson’s study.
    Plus Jimmy Saville, BBC executives payoff, the pathetic “Reporting Scotland”, their NHS bashing.

you may wish to (politely) do the same.

emailtheteam@38degrees.org.uk

14. snode1965

BBC news today, main news story, the Queen throwing Nazi salutes back in the thirties with mummy n uncle Eddie!!
    Apparently it’s front page in The Sun today. But of course all that’s concerning the beeb is how this story got out n how dare they print it!
    And they call us Nazis in their media!! CIF is gonna be a lots of fun today. 😉

15. michael diamond

Nawbags dont want devolved broadcasting, they are happy with east enders, corrie, the x factor snd bgt. Aye! An educated enlightened lot right enough.

16. JLT

Excellent cartoon, Chris …and I have no doubt such a scenario has already happened on more than one occasion. I think we can all agree on that!

The more they keep denying Scotland both extra powers and a voice, then the more people in Scotland who voted ‘No’ begin to understand that all those theories that the ‘Yes’ campaign talked about, might in fact be (….whisper it) …possibly true!

I can’t see Scotland getting independence without the Tories brandishing a set of ironfist policies, and a swagger of arrogance and deviousness to uphold them. It’s what our 56 MP’s in Westminster need; a real hardcore enemy who cares nothing for Scotland but only to suppress them in everyway possible.

If the Tories were even just half-decent in their morals and ethics, then the Union would honestly prevail. However, instead, the Tories play the part of the villain absolutely perfectly. It ‘s coming. For it will only take one moment of real arrogance that will finally push most Scots into the thought that independence is the only way to escape the Machiavellian politics of Westminster.

17. Les wilson

They will never devolve the BBC nor any other media source.
    One of their main( or thee main!) weapons for propaganda that fights to keep their precious elitism in place, and control over
    our country.

Remember who runs this “Union”!

18. caz-m

I see that the Establishment has been caught out showing their true allegiance to Germany.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q5oPc7JqW3g

After all, they have more German blood in them than English.

How do you purr in German?

And if digging the dirt on the Royals is your thing, then have a look at this,

http://www.davidicke.com/headlines/tag/british-royal-family/

19. Barontorc

We now have ‘written in stone’ the BBC’s own figure of 42% of people in Scotland being dissatisfied with it, which is some figure considering it will have been mangled by the same people who’re set to bring Scotland down at every opportunity.

The other day on Call Kay(e) her substitute guy was asking/begging for callers to get in touch as to their view of the BBC.

Lo and behold, apart from one OTT anti-voice, anyone would be excused thinking the callers were taken from the Radio Times circulation list.

I’m getting mega-sick of all of this.

20. Croompenstein

Topper Chris, ‘All the criminals in their suits and their ties’

21. Col

Do people in Scotland even know how little of the licence fee is spent here? Point out how crap Scottish TV is and most people will agree. Our arts and culture have suffered long enough not to mention the joke that is their political coverage.
    We need to go at this from all angles if we’re to get anywhere.
    Individual cities in the US have more control over local news and current affairs than Scotland does as a COUNTRY. We need to sort this for more reasons than poor coverage of politics. The BBC in Scotland has not changed as Scotland has since devolution.
    It’s a dire situation and if we don’t get as many people on board as we can to push for change we are really missing an opportunity.

22. Geoff Huijer

Aye that sums it up perfectly.

23. Stoker

Another good one Chris, can’t wait for this book of yours, Thanks.

24. call me dave

Bourne and Murray (who they?…dunno) wax lyrical with Ms Maxwell on Radio Scotland GMS about the future of the licence fee and a state broadcaster.

They express concerns that there is a Downing Street ‘dinner party’ review going on in London.

There is little evidence, they say, that ordinary folk want to see the BBC slimmed down and the big concern is lack of the public consultation in the green paper.

Also there is a Memorandum of understanding in Scotland re BBC: The SG is also being excluded from the review they suggest.

http://news.scotland.gov.uk/News/Scottish-role-in-future-of-BBC-1a3c.aspx

The devolution of the BBC to the ‘Midlands’ is ongoing but Scotland must not be left behind. Mr Bourne, I think, says he wants the licence scrapped. 🙂

25. Helena Brown

As usual this morning came in on part of the Radio 4 coverage of discussions in the Lords, yesterday? This was discussing devolution to Scotland and EVEL. As is usual with me only half hearing, but one thing struck me listening to one statement from a Labour Lord? was how and why do the Labour Party bother using Scotland in their title here. They do not believe we should be a country, they want to subsume themselves in the English State, oooh sorry the British State, they are even worried that the English might waken up to the con that is Britain and want their own Party.
    Like the cartoon Chris, only pity you are still having to lampoon these awful people.

26. caz-m

How to cancel you TV Licence.

http://www.tvlicensing.co.uk/check-if-you-need-one/topics/cancellations-and-refunds-top7

To cancel the TV License, please use our telephone number: 0300 790 6144

Remember to get your refund AND to tell them that you are “Removing Their Right of Access”.

You wont hear from them again. They are not allowed near your property.

It’s easier than you think.

27. Roland Smith

I am surprised (not) that the BBC has not reported in bug headlines the decision of all of the SNP MPs to give their pay rise to charity. Not reported in most of the MSM.

28. gerry parker

@ Scottie Dog.

I’d also recommend G A Ponsonby’s book “London Calling” too.

If anyone can’t afford to buy it, ask for it through your local library, publisher NNS Media Ltd.

29. paulTgeist

That toon is that close to reality it failed to make me laugh.
    Unlike the bonus toon from midweek with Hamish protecting foxy.
    You’ve managed to capture quite a powerful message there Chris.
    Perfect for a poster campaign. Well done! Independence anyone?

30. Grouse Beater

Worth reposting in light of the topic; a brief history of BBC Scotland’s antipathy toward the SNP and Scots culture.

https://grousebeater.wordpress.com/2014/12/02/the-basterdisation-of-the-bbc/

31. Gary45%

Trying to teach the unionist parties on “why they don’t get it”,
    Is like leading a horse to water and watching it dehydrate.

32. HandandShrimp

I think Jackie Bird managed to ensure that there would be no support for the BBC from the Yes side the other night. So desperate are they attack the SNP they scarcely seem to care any more.

33. Stoker

Chris, the only thing missing from that cartoon is gopher mundell.
    Would have looked better with the speech bubble coming from him,
    even just his head down in that left-hand corner.

34. john king

Nice one Chris

o/t
    I watched a documentary this morning which highlighted the deeply shameful treatment of young men brought to the UK from Afghanistan as children orphaned by the fighting there,

These kids were brought to to the UK as 13 and 14 year olds and fostered with caring people in England who brought the kids up as one of their own,

the programme highlighted the plight of several young men who having come here as children and now have been completely assimilated into UK society with a life, job, family who care about them, to be told your going back to Afghanistan.

Lets be clear about what and who these young men are, they are completely without family in Afghanistan and they are being sent back without any support, (one youngster was living under a bridge with over a hundred other drug addicts totally dependent on cocaine) he had a life and job in Manchester (and as far as Im aware never touched drugs in England) didn’t ask to come to the UK but was cruelly sent back to a life which going by his circumstances will be a short one.

They are all targets for the Taliban (and no doubt daesh) as they have all been westernised but the UK border agency could not care less!

There are times when its hard took at your own reflection without blushing to the very depths of your soul,

I am truly ashamed of this political construct (I can no longer call it my country)
    Im sure those who chose to vote no will see that story as a positive case for remaining in the union, if you do SHAME ON YOU!

35. ronnie anderson

@ caz-m 27non payment letters & counting & no court date on the horizon ffsaky ( sombody hiz tae get Prof John Robertsons Bias Reports into court)ha ha.

I live in hope.

Des I will be back early doors on the 1st Aug (rally from Kelvin to Gla Green PeteTC/ BrianDTT) if I can make it I will be at the Green,Im of on Hols today , but will have a keek in everyday.

keep the party clean I might have sombodys looking over my shoulder at the swimming pool lol.

36. ronnie anderson

@ Chris Cairns and they,ll be crying soon too Chris I cant wait on you doing that cartoon,keep em coming.

37. caz-m

Chris, before we know it, you will be drawing pictures of Lizzie with a wee Hitler moustache.

38. Fred

@ caz-m, thanks for the Court Circular, 🙂

Why the Duke of Windsor should have been shot at the end of the war! “Hidden Agenda” by Martin Allen.

39. caz-m

I don’t know how they do it, but BBC Scotland reporters are that well trained in being bias, they can run a two hour show on political events in Scotland over the last week and not mention the SNP, Westminster, Foxes or even EVEL.

Absolutely amazing, I’m sure the producers just couldn’t fit it into an already very busy schedule.

We understand.

Thank fox I don’t pay you bastards a penny.

40. Brian Powell

Apparently Brown is about to come back and save us fromEVEL.

41. Stoker

@ john king (9.54am).
    Aye, John, and these very same b@st@rds had the sheer temerity to perpetuate the myth, pre referendum, that an independent Scotland would deport all “foreigners” living here. Utter feckin scumbags!

Meanwhile…
    https://archive.is/aT34G

42. caz-m

Ronnie Anderson and your 27 BBC letters, LOL. 9.59am

You have done your bit for the cause, you deserve a wee break. Be good!

See you when you get back.

I bet you will not be able to resist coming on here every day when you are away.

43. Joemcg

You can imagine how our unionist chums would jump all over those royal pics with total glee if it was on our side but all we are getting is “it’s taken out of context, how dare they publish yada yada!” Think we should do what they do and make hay on the purring queen!

44. Simoh

@scottiedog 9.23am
    Many thanks for that link.
    That article is an excellent place to send anyone who is in any doubt about very current BBC bias.
    As the man says, you really couldn’t make it up.

45. caz-m

Indy vibes are starting to fill the air again.

Bring it on Nicola!

46. Edward

Just seen the headline article on the Mail online
    “The Sun has sunk to a new low’: British public reacts with fury after tabloid publishes 80-year-old pictures of the seven-year-old Queen and the Queen Mother being taught a Nazi salute”

Says the paper that supported fascism and Hitler around the same period the pictures were taken

Who says the Mail doesn’t do irony! 😀

47. Connor McEwen

The Beeb still try to stifle Tory propaganda though.

Have a shufty at; http://captiongenerator.com/47779/Democracy-stifled-by-Tory-press-and-PR

48. chris kilby

He who laughs last…

49. ronnie anderson

Royal Salute.

Most people are proud of their heritage (royals no different)P Harry dressed up in Nazi uniform for his birthday party ( it was a mistake). Roll out the (master of the royal stool)(arse wiper)Dicki Arbiter to placate the masses lol.

50. cearc

paulTgeist is right. It would be a great poster campaign. With a series of ‘and then they asked for..’ slogans, welfare, corp tax etc.

51. HandandShrimp

Edward

I am not sure that the Mail does do irony…they are brilliant at barefaced hypocrisy and double standards though 🙂

52. heedtracker

A toast! To the red tories and Gordon and Alistair especially, we couldn’t have done it with you all. Knighthoods all round.

53. Edward

HandandShrimp
    Thanks, meant hypocrisy, brain not fully loaded with caffeine yet 😉

54. Desimond

@Les wilson

You dont need a KBG when you have the BBC – Ken Loach

55. ScottieDog

@gerry Parker
    Thanks been meaning to buy the ponsonby book. Read the first two chapters on his website and thought they were excellent.

Can also recommend Ronnie Morrison’s book ‘Moving On’ which proposes monetary independence for Scotland. Worth a look at his website..

http://www.scottishmonetaryreform.org.uk

56. Pam McMahon

The Queen supports the SNP? We’re all Nazis too, remember.

57. john king

There was a complaint on the telly that the Sun was attacking the queen for an innocent act as a 6 year old child, but they ignore one little point, HER MOTHER WAS GIVING THE NAZI SALUTE AS WELL, obviously in an attempt to distract from that.

58. michael diamond

Wonder what the ‘loyalists’ think of their queen giving a nazi salute?……oh wait a minute!

59. Ken500

Gordon Brown should be in jail, not swanning around the world leading a millionaire lifestyle. Gordon Brown caused death, poverty and deprivation worldwide.

The apologist Police Unions, lying and blaming cuts for Police incompetence. The waste of public money which could be better spent, Helicopters £10,000 an hour, £5Million show trial, putting people in cells for minor misdemeanour, especially at weekends, (charges dropped total waste of public money), patrolling Orange Marches in Glasgow every second week, destroying the local economy, running about with guns and Unionist politicians not being charged with criminality. Appointed by Labour/Unionists.

60. Dan Huil

Who’s purrin’ noo?

61. Ken500

The Queen Mother got rid of the Uncle to get the daughter on the Thone. So much for ‘family’ loyalty. Backstabbing troughers, can’t get enough. 1930 the Great Depression. 1933 The Gereral Strike.

Illegal Murdoch hates the Royals. The non impartial illegal ‘Royals hate the Press. Rats in a sack. Al disobeying the Law.

62. HandandShrimp

Wonder what the ‘loyalists’ think of their queen giving a nazi salute?……oh wait a minute!

That made me smile 🙂

63. Croompenstein

Got my court proceedings letter from tv licensing, they have been told online and when they left my missus in tears that I no longer wish to be subjected to ‘This is London calling, London calling’ Haw Haw fuckers like the Big Burd anymore.

They can also stick the iplayer up their arse..

64. Tackety Beets

110% everything I have seen since the 60’s
    They are a shower o $hitbag$ !

Aye Stoker , I thought the same . The Tory Ffffffundily Mundelly ssssshould have been splootering and stuttering in there too.

John King @ 9.54

Hi John ,

Can you impart more info on Doc you watched ?
    Channel / Title etc
    I’d like to see it for myself , sounds Effin $h£t for these poor souls .

Maybe the next bullet for SNP to fire in WM ?

65. Jack Murphy

Even BBC Scotland can’t get it right on-line.
    ‘The Papers’. TODAY:-
    “The Scottish Sun carries a 1933 picture of the Queen being shown how to do a Nazi salute by her father, Edward VIII.”
    WRONG—-anyone with a basic knowledge of school history knows who is the Queen’s father.
    Unless the BBC in Scotland knows something we don’t.

66. Scot Finlayson

The English football team at a friendly in May 1938 against Nazi Germany in Berlin gave the Nazi salute during the pre match national anthems.

This was barely a month after Nazi Germany had annexed Austria (The Anschluss).

England won 6-3, with Stanley Mathews scoring.

67. Snode1965

@scottieDog 9.23
    Great link to Newsnet report on BBC Scotland bias, cheers.
    Another great toon Chris, although it saddens me that there are two “Scotsmen” laughing their heads off.

68. Luigi

I have yet to hear a reasonable argument why the BBC should not be devolved (apart from the idiotic “Because it’s the British Broadcasting Corportion!”).

So come on then,

Why should BBC Scotland not be devolved?

I’m waiting…….

69. frogesque

Not quite so OT as all things are possible.

As well as a repetitive shoulder injury, Judoka Renicks has cited a funding problem as part of her plan to retire from judo and not compete at the Olympics in Rio.

Grappling with the future: today’s National, p 28/9.

It would take some 40k to fund both sisters effort, 20k for just Kimberly.

Both sisters did us proud in Glasgow 2014 and it would be a sin if money were the only obstacle in furthering their careers.

Simple question, crowdfunder anyone?

70. G H Graham

Now, I skip past those comments here which include references to programs someone watched on the BBC.

I stopped watching the BBC’s propaganda or indeed any live TV a long time ago & thus, don’t fund it. I still receive threatening letters from TV Licensing which are written in an attempt to intimidate me with a fine of up to £1,000 or a visit by an investigative team or whatever bullshit tactic they dream up.

But none of it works. They all end up in the log fire. So I don’t read people’s comments which include complaints about the BBC while those very same people continue to pay for it.

It’s like someone returning to the same restaurant over & over again, even though the food & service is terrible.

Writing letters of complaints is a waste of time because the BBC’s primary role is to maintain political support within the London Establishment so that it can cling to a wholly outdated & inappropriate finance model. While of course, paying its own grandees bloated salaries & juicy expense accounts.

I calculate that it takes about 6,900 TV License payers making the full £145 annual payment just to pay for the cheery but artificial savant, Gary Lineker.

But if anyone can demonstrate a change of policy or programming content because they sent a few choice words to a staff intern, I’ll be the first to reconsider my relationship with the BBC.

71. ArtyHetty

OMG Chris, were you in the room at the time? Maybe a fly on the wall?

Brilliant image, you have them off to a T.

72. John H.

ronnie anderson @ caz-m.

After withdrawing from the BBC licence system last year because of the extreme BBC bias in the referendum, I had a Capita rep. knock on my door in January. I didn’t argue with him or give him any information.

I simply denied him entry to my premises, and informed him that I had told the BBC that I was denying them and their agents right of access. His response was that the right to deny access only applied in England.

Nevertheless he left, and I haven’t heard anything from the BBC or Capita since. Maybe I have just been lucky, but I suspect that the BBC and the tories have some nasty surprise up their sleeve, and are simply biding their time.

Then again, I was always the suspicious one. 🙂

73. heedtracker

Oh how we laughed. Or another day in teamGB

https://archive.is/HFN1Z

“The Westminster establishment remains confounded by the new SNP members. Lobby journalists are perplexed that some of them are turning down or ignoring lunch invitations that would be snapped up by MPs from other parties”

How frightfully perplexing. Who wouldn’t want to sit and watch the crew that painted swastikas on Nic Sturgeon, waffle and scoff over free Palace of Westminster grub.

Especially racist phoneys that gave us
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/02/salmondbell.jpg

74. BBC Scotlandshire

But.. but.. we’re already devolved…

75. Fred

And here was me thought that “Royal Salute” came bottled in a wee velvet bag. Chivas are missing a promo’ trick here! 🙂

76. ArtyHetty

Would they be drinking HoC plonk by any chance?

We have all had posts from fb friends in England asking us to sign a petition to ‘save the bbc!’

They just do not get it at all, tried asking them why and explaining why we would not give beeb a penny or spit on them if they were on fire, no reply and don’t expect any.

Do people in England still believe that the beeb is a law abiding, upright standing organisation as opposed to the reality of state controlled propoganda and lies that it is. Looks like it.

77. Iain More

Devolving it will not make the slightest bit of difference to its non stop outpourings of Brit Nat propaganda. I also object in principle to paying a TV Tax to subsidise that anti Scottish propaganda.

I suggest to those who think that devolving it will make any difference to its content that they remove their heads from the sand. That is being polite about it.

78. ArtyHetty

Croompenstein

What are they taking you to court? You can’t go to jail for debt in Scotland, just for non payment of fines far as I am aware.

Just cut your aerial, take a photo and send it to them. We have no working aerial, they just contacted us again to ask if we were watching, had great delight in penning a letter telling them why we would never give them a penny again, it wasn’t rude, just truthful.????

Good luck btw.

79. ArtyHetty

How very odd, the ??? at the end of my kast comment just appeared instead of my ???? happy face emoticon. Hm.

80. Ken500

Guardian journalists and the rest of the London Luvies will not pay £10 a week to stop people starving. Greedy hypocrites.

81. msean

Great cartoon,probably something near to reality. Luckily,as the uk participation in the bombing of Syria since september news shows,Mr Cameron decided that NO doesn’t mean NO since september.

I guess that the other news today will see an end to britnats comparing anyone to a certain former regime.

82. Jack Murphy

Rev re my post at 11:56am.
    Seems the BBC in Scotland reads Wings over Scotland.
    They’ve changed the Queen’s parentage:-
    “The Scottish Sun carries a 1933 picture of the Queen being shown how to do a Nazi salute by her uncle, Edward VIII.”
    From father to uncle! 🙂
    CORRECT.

83. ben madigan

here’s some more info about the BBC licence tax and tory plans for a broadcasting tax, with references to Jim Sillars, Wings and the yes campaign!! Enjoy

https://eurofree3.wordpress.com/2015/03/21/bye-bye-auntie-beeb/

84. heedtracker

Guardian journalists and the rest of the London Luvies will not pay £10 a week to stop people starving. Greedy hypocrites.

“You see Mhairi, its us, the media that really runs this place, we’re not gods my dear, we’re more powerful. We can make or break you, we can make you the most dangerous woman in teamGB before you can order your deep fried bapgpipes wi chips, we can do a Salmond so hard on you, within 24 hours you’ll be begging us to stop. Its how it works Mhairi. Is it M hairy, or Mary, mwahaha, try the foie gras, waiter deep fry my guests foie gras, she’s from somewhere called Paisley, with an extra deep fried mars bar too, note to self, use that deep fry my Scotcho guest’s foie gras in my Times diary, have you met lovely old Nick Robinson yet, Nick old boy, meet M hairi, Nick’s a frightful oik, really taught you rebellious sweaties a thing or three about the power of the BBC though, never mind dear, all’s fair in teamGB, burp.”

85. John king

Tackety beets @11.51
    It was hard talk on bbc1 l @ 05.00 this morning
    I think it was a case of the bbc getting their retaliation in first.

86. K1

ArtyHetty, I have that ‘????’ if I post an emoticon using my kindle…but not other devices?

Brilliant as usual Chris, you really capture their utter f***in’ arrogance very well. 🙂

87. Alistair

O/T Carmichael

Political rehabilitation
    From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
    Political rehabilitation is the process by which a member of a political organization or government who has fallen into disgrace, is restored to public life. It is usually applied to leaders or other prominent individuals who regain their prominence after a period in which they have no influence or standing. Historically, the concept is usually associated with Communist states and parties where, as a result of shifting political lines often as part of a power struggle, leading members of the Communist Party find themselves on the losing side of a political conflict and out of favour (often to the point of being denounced or even imprisoned) as a result.

These individuals may be rehabilitated either as a result of capitulating to the dominant political line and renouncing their former beliefs or allegiances to disgraced leaders, or they may be rehabilitated as a result of a change in the political leadership of the party, either a change in personnel or a change in political line, so that the views or associations which caused the individual, or group of individuals, to fall into disgrace are viewed more sympathetically.

Dear Mr Farron I see none of the above from Mr Carmichael to warrant your support.
    He seems to be increasing his profile and influence while flaunting the disgust at his actions.

There are none are so blind as those who cannot see.

88. John king

BBC and Tories
    No honour among thieves.

89. Alan Mackintosh

Croomp, the court letter is just another of their series of letters that they send. I’ve had loads of them. They just go back to the beginning after a while and you get the “opened an investigation” one, then “officers scheduled to visit” one and so on. They cant go to court unless you invite them in to your house, (they have no right of access) and you have the TV on and watching live programmes as they are broadcast.

90. John king

K1
    I get the same thing using an iPad.
    And i have fill in my name and email every time i post, its a pain in the….

91. ArtyHetty

K1@ 1.26

Thanks K1, it’s an ipad, usually ok. A “locked down device” according to my son, he hates them!

92. ArtyHetty

J King
    I have that problem too, filling in email etc, not a problem with netbook, must wean myself off ipad…

93. Tackety Beets

Thanks John , I sniff it oot .

????????

94. breeks

They wouldn’t even give us Scottish 6 news, what price a devolved BBC?
    I for one, don’t want the BBC in any shape or form, but a properly devolved digital channel is surely a more realistic objective.
    The BBC is the living embodiment of our subjugation. Get rid of it, lock stock and rancid barrel.

95. mr thms

This is from the 4th February 2015, but it is still valid.

It could be used in response to the BBC in Scotland’s weekly NHS Scotland ‘bad’ reports?

http://www.snp.org/media-centre/news/2015/feb/confidence-scots-nhs-higher-anywhere-uk

“The YouGov poll shows that net confidence in Scotland’s NHS stands at +55 per cent – compared to +43 per cent in England and only +10 per cent in Wales, where Labour is in administration.

These figures come on the back of similar ratings included in the British Social Attitudes Survey which found that 75 per cent of people in Scotland are satisfied with the NHS – in comparison to 65 per cent in England and only 51 per cent in Wales.

Previous polling has shown that the SNP is the party which is most trusted with Scotland’s NHS – and today the Scottish Government’s budget has increased NHS funding, which now stands at more than £12bn for the first time ever.”

96. John king

What breeks said goes for me too.

97. Tackety Beets

@ A Hetty and K1
    I thought I’d try one too ” Thumbs Up” came as ??????

I pad 3 .

Now We know .

98. heedtracker

“The SNP are doing the worst and darkest things that people suspect Nationalist to be in favour of”

That’s the latest LibDem leader and born again Christian and new hammer of the Scots Faron. Should be a lot more fun from this bundle of UKOK delight. He’s very forgiving though for a born again Christian Britnat, just ask the historic liar that is Alistair Carmichael.

“Why the bloody hell did you not use a phone box Mike?”

Faron on homosexuality last night C4 news was very funny too. Its nice to see England produce a never ending supply of bossy rule Britannia ego maniacs to reign over them, and make Brenda purr too. Sieg heil.

Faron’s biggest BBC cheerleader is David Steele. Come on that really is funny.

99. heedtracker

More Faron Scots hammering-

“Nobody who voted SNP wants to think they are an arrogant, authoritarian Big Brother entity. It is not something that right-thinking Scottish or British people of any kind would want to have thought of them. But that is who they are.”

So there you go you, “arrogant, authoritarian Big Brother entity” people what vote SNP.

Great movie title “Arrogant, authoritarian Big Brother entity me.”

Cybernats/minions?

100. Cactus

Crackin’ cairnstoon, says everything. You could even blank the speech balloon and apply the following:

“And then they asked for..

1) .. the Scottish Parliament to be made permanent!”
    2) .. full fiscal autonomy!”
    3) …!”

Would make a good/disturbing ‘flick-book’, you get the picture 🙂

Do we (Scotland) have control of road-signage yet, or did that get voted down too like everything else?

ps 7 days to go.

101. Proud Cybernat

Wer jetzt schnurrt?

102. Croompenstein

@ArtyHetty – As Alan said it is just the bog standard threatening letter I got but this one was the first court one I have received. It bangs on about being prepared for the investigation to lead to court and what to expect in court blah blah, as I said they can fuck off with their state propaganda pish.. 🙂

103. heedtracker

Great sequel movie title “Arrogant, authoritarian Big Brother foul mouthed slut entity me. 2″

104. Rob James

I’m in agreement with Breeks and John King. A devolved BBC? Staffed with the same Unionists? It’s not going to change anything. We need an independent television producer. Perhaps the proposed film studios in Dundee could open the door to that option.

We need an appropriate group of people to finance the operation, ensuring impartiality from the outset. A greater emphasis on local advertisers, local news, Scottish sport and culture etc. More importantly, it will provide a counter balance to the present bullshit that we are constantly fed.

Great cartoon Chris. The caricatures are spot on, especially IDS, who always reminds me of Laurence Olivier in the film Marathon Man, portraying the Nazi war criminal Christian Zell. How appropriate in relation to todays front page in the Sun.

105. HandandShrimp

I saw that Farron chap on QT or something a while back. He doesn’t like us does he?

106. Stephen McKenzie

Croompenstein

I know we are not supposed to post urls on this web site but I will see of the Rev lets this go.. If you go to bbctvlicence dot com, you will see the sequences of letters that are usually sent out.

If its a “what to expect in court” one, I would think you can ignore it – unless of course it has indeed come from a court! Otherwise its the BBC / Capita trying to put the frighteners on you.

107. Ken500

The Scottish Gov must be able to find enterprise money to help fund an independent Radio or TV channel.

108. Ken500

Lord Steal make his a Castle. Life long trougher.

109. GallusEffie

Alan Mackintosh @2:08

or anyone…

As a hypothetical question, what if your TV is positioned so that “someone” could see in your window, see that you were watching TV as live and took a photo of it? ( without them being allowed into your house and sans licence )

What are the ramifications of that? Privacy, legality, etc…

Curious minds want to know…

110. MrObycyek

Alistair Carmichael does not deserve a second chance. He did something wrong and then lied about it. That is not the conduct of a decent man. It is also worth remembering that during that tv interview the honorable member (as if!) of Orkney and Shetland actually mentioned how the public record would show he only found out about the story when a journalist contacted him. He Tried to cover his big butt from the off. It would be like a man being told by the police that his wife had just been murdered and telling them instantly he had an alibi for said murder. Farron if he was any kind of leader would condemn Carmichael’s actions. If this was a member of the SNP who had done this we would never hear the end of it from Farron, other politicians and pundits and the sycophantic media. That is what could be termed a witch hunt.

The whole leaked memo incident just begs the question of what else Carmichael got upto while he was in office, especially during the referendum? As part of the coalition he would probably have been able to get away with things as the machinery of the government would have protected him. The leaked memo incident happened just before the election and after the coalition had basically ceased functioning mean the safety net was gone and he was caught out. Alistair Carmichael does not strike me as a stupid man, smug and deceitful yes but not stupid. He must have thought it would be covered up and his involvement would not be revealed. Sorry big boy but you have to go.

I think it would only be fair if someone conducts a mandatory poll of all the people in Orkney and Shetland to see if they think he should stand down.

111. bjsalba

I don’t have a TV and don’t watch it on my computer.

I just calculated that it is 20 months since I tuned into BBC Radio Scotland. You can count the Iplayer items I have listened to on the fingers of one hand.

I still listen to Radio 4 a little bit but less and less these days. I hear that Nick Robinson is to replace James Naughtie on the Today program, so I don’t see much future there.

112. Robert Peffers

Well done Chris, well up to the very high standard you have set yourself.

It reminds ne of the bad old days in the late 1940s/early 1950s. When there was a lunatic fringe we had trouble getting rid of Seed of The Gael were the least of the worries. When the Establishment put ERII on the Post boxes the LF blew them up and some were plotting to blow up the cross border power grid connections. When, in 1952/3 the Establishment finally got round to allowing the uncultured Sweaties to view TV.

Television was first broadcast from the Kirk o Shots Transmitter. The first actual programme was made before the actual official opening and the quality was very dreadful. The broadcast the funeral of King George VI on 15 February 1952.

Four weeks later BBC Scotland aired, “Television Comes To Scotland”, from Edinburgh’s large music studio to the whole of the UK.

The show featured a prayer of dedication, a vote of thanks from the Lord Provost of Edinburgh, followed by ten minutes of Scottish country dancing.

This did NOT go very too well in London and the BBC Controller commented, “The speeches were dreadful. This sort of television dullness is most depressing”.

No wonder the lunatic fringe were plotting to blow up the Kirk o Shots transmitter aerial. Maybe they had a point.

113. Reviresco

Watching EBC wriggle and squirm trying to justify the Saxe-Coburg-Gothas’ salutes (on catch up, of course) has been cringingly hilarious.

114. G H Graham

Regarding the Nazi salutes by various member of the Royal family in the 1930s, could it be that they were just testing a period, underarm deodorant?

115. Rock

Pravda GB is Scotland’s enemy number one.

We can only have freedom and a democratic and fair society over its dead body.

116. Fred

I think the Balmoral camera-man was just asking, “Wo ist lieben Candy-Rock?”

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.