Alerting the others

Posted on June 09, 2014 by

Our ever-attentive readers will already have noticed that since the weekend there’s been a new link on the centre column, called “CAMPAIGN MATERIALS”. Over the next 100 days it’s going to be key to getting our message out to the people of Scotland, and it’s your chance to take it directly to your own neighbourhood.

flyer1

Because even with quarter of a million readers, it’s no good just sitting here preaching to the already-converted. We need to go on the road.

Above is our first flyer – ideal for handing out in the streets, popping under windscreen wipers and all manner of other distribution methods (obey the law, of course). There’ll be lots more, covering the debate from all sorts of angles. It’s also available as a postcard for those annoying brush-backed letterboxes that anyone who’s ever gone leafleting for any purpose at all hates so passionately.

If you go to the campaign-materials page you can order as many copies of it as you need – along with Hamish posters, “ALERT READER” badges and everything else we’ll be producing in future – and get it sent directly to you, which makes a lot more sense than us stacking our garage full of boxes and having to ship them out ourselves.

If you’re happy to pay for stuff that’s great, as it’ll make our resources stretch further and help ensure we stay below Electoral Commission spending limits, but if you don’t have the money to spare and you’re actively campaigning in your area, just drop us a line via our Contact form and we’ll get them sent to you.

(All we ask is that you don’t go ordering boxes and boxes if you’re not absolutely sure you can use them, or we’ll be skint by July. If on the other hand you think you can distribute very large numbers, ie more than a couple of thousand, let us know.)

You can also print your own from the image above, and there’s even a mono version here if you’re worried about bankrupting yourself with ink costs. The high-resolution separate images for front and back are here and here.

We have readers in every last corner of the country. Not a single city, town or village in Scotland is out of our reach. There’s no excuse for anyone being able to say they weren’t informed come September 18th. Let’s get out there and give them some truth.

346 to “Alerting the others”

1. bunter

Been delivering stuff for the local YES team, so no problem for me to add Wings to my delivery!

2. Taranaich

Beautiful, Rev. Love the added gold.

3. Scots Renewables

Great poster, but I am not going to be able to print many before my laser printer runs out of toner.

Perhaps a version with less colour could also be created ?

4. bunter

Just spent a few bob. That’s me skint lol

5. Jim Thomson

Dammit Rev, I’m going to have to order double the amount of Cyan and Magenta toner now.

This independence thingy better be worth it!

Nice work btw 🙂

6. Rev. Stuart Campbell

Here’s a mono version for people printing their own:

http://wingsoverscotland.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/06/flyer1mono.jpg

7. Jim Thomson

Stu,

You’re a gent [doffs imaginary cap]

8. desimond

If its key, shouldnt it be at the top of the centre column?

9. ronnie anderson

Rev, can we no have a flyer attacking the bais media,we intend attending the BBC demo on the 29th June.

10. Jim Thomson

With the mono version, would you mind if I play around a bit with the font colour where you have them grey instead of that nice gold (well spotted Taranaich)?

All to be done tastefully in Photoshop 😉

11. jon esquierdo

You are correct rev I am on the road every day I paid for seven thousand official yes fliers out of my own pocket and have been distributing them and canvassing at the same time.
    What I have noticed is their are a lot of people in poor areas voting yes and the opposite in the affluent areas.

It is hard work but we can only give our all

12. msean

I see we are getting the full attention on the news channels today,sure to be some comedy gold and mispronounced place names etc.

13. Juteman

I don’t like that poster at all. Most folk just read headlines. Do we really want to do the No camps job for them?

14. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“With the mono version, would you mind if I play around a bit with the font colour where you have them grey instead of that nice gold (well spotted Taranaich)?”

As long as you don’t change the actual words, do whatever the heck you like 😀

15. David S

Is there any merit in co-ordinating who is covering what areas? Or is that an over complication?

16. TYRAN

Rev, I see no web address on that sheet. Is that the idea?

17. Blair paterson

Sorry to go o.t. But I was wondering if Gordon brown interest in cancer funding in Scotland has any thing to do with dalgetty bay Vote yes

18. Gordon E

Great poster but as most people will read the big writing and ignore the rest I would like to see “A vote for no is not a vote for no change” or something shorter and. We need to be more hard hitting.
    This is the argument that I use all the time now and it has had the best results by far, it gets the point across and opens the debate for more questions.
    These posters will be in many windows and shops and could change many minds.
    It needs to be right.

19. We Are All Bourgeois Now

Think I shall get some and go leafleting! I’ve never done anything like this before (apart from a lone protest at that horrible circus who abused the elephant, when it came to my home town a few years ago!).

I’m a bit wary though, probably because I’ve had the misfortune to suffer from some anti-social neighbours, so don’t like going up to people’s doors, plus my experience of the circus protest wasn’t exactly positive! I don’t want to offend people or piss them off by stuffing unwanted leaflets through their door (I know I get pissed off with the amount of leaflets & flyers I get). However, like the circus protest, this is important to me, and I think it warrants the risk of offending or pissing people off if it also enlightens some!

Shouldn’t we be a bit co-ordinated though – what if we are all delivering to the same streets?!

Also, sorry I missed YITP – I forgot it was on, was thinking it was next weekend! Looks like I missed a good one!

20. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Great poster but as most people will read the big writing and ignore the rest I would like to see “A vote for no is not a vote for no change” or something shorter and.”

Design your own flipping flyer, then 😀

21. Murray McCallum

I think the poster is perfect. It challenges a key misconception among many no voters, i.e. that voting No means zero change.

Obviously there are many No voters that will still vote this way despite the guarantee of increased austerity and Scotland having a worse financial future. These idiots are well represented by that Labour MP who set out their beliefs in the HoC.

The flyer is surely targeted to the thinking No voters.

22. Ken500

Sky BBC going over the top

First time Scotland has ever feature. Must be an important vote coming up.

Vote YES

Get out and do everything you can. Like Obama says, YES we can.

23. Ken500

Gordon Brown is only interested in Gordon Brown

24. Mary Bruce

“That’s the No future.” Nice phrase. Lots of mileage. Yes future versus No future.

25. Geoff Huijer

‘Design your own flipping flier then :D’

I did laugh out loud at that!

26. Doug Daniel

I do like “That’s the No future”. That’ll resonate with any Sex Pistols fans!

27. Murray McCallum

#LabourNo The austerity No future.

What on earth are they thinking?

28. msean

Do these companies with warnings and the could/might/possibly/almost certainly mibbee will statements see anything positive at all in independence? Anything at all?

29. Robert Louis

Just my tuppence worth, I think the flyer is very negative.

In any case, if making colour flyers, it is best to have a mainly neutral background, as that proves less of a drain for home printing. You can retain colour text/logos, just lose the toner-sapping deep blue background.

30. SquareHaggis

What Juteman says
    The main statement would be a free gift to BT

31. Mosstrooper

Agree with Juteman and Gordon E the instant message is support for NO Few people read beyond the first paragraph you have told us many times. Seems you have not taken your own advice sorry Rev this ones a NO NO.

32. Jim Thomson

@We Are All Bourgeois Now 10:47

Find a local Yes group – Facebook is always a great starting point – and team up with them for canvassing.

You’ll find that most people are wary about leafletting and canvassing in the immediate home area, so don’t fret about that.

If you can’t find a local Yes group, I know that Labour for Indy and the Radical Independence Campaign (RIC) are always keen to have on-street support. There will be other groups too, but all keen to encourage doorstep activity.

Keep smiling:-)

33. Les Wilson

Sky News, trying to look impartial but every new section has a negative spin like the guy from “Weir”, oh it is a worry that we do not know what currency we will have. EH?

Just prior to that the clown said, ” we work across the globe”, so many currencies then, what is the problem.
    We will use the pound, whether we are in a CU or not.

We also have old Brown how he felt insulted by Alex Salmond displaying the Saltire at the Murray win at Wimbledon, seen it about 5 times in the last hour or so.

Hardly unbiased commentary, just a bit slicker than the BBC kind.

34. Chic McGregor

One for Kirrie AYE TV.

35. Grouse Beater

Saying No means Westminster can do as it pleases.

I’ll certainly use those quotations in my writing and mano e’ mano discussions.

36. Murray McCallum

The headline on the flyer is a quote.

To get the *thinking* No voters to challenge part of their beliefs you have to invite them in.

37. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Just my tuppence worth, I think the flyer is very negative.”

Yes, of course it is. It’s making a negative argument. Other ones will make positive arguments. We need both.

38. Meindevon

I read the left side of the poster and my first thought was why are we telling them everything is fine? But maybe it will grab the no voters attention and incline them to read it and if they do then it might just make them think again.

39. velofello

@ Jim Thomson ( whitno?) – hold off ’till the Anchorage meeting this Wednesday?

40. Donald

NO url – we want them coming to Wings, don’t we?

41. Donald

As in – there is no url linking to Wings,obviously sending them to the No site would be kinda left field.

42. Les Wilson

Rev, I too tend to think the NO in the leaflet is a gift to the BT mob, they will simply take the second page off and proclaim ” Even Wings over Scotland say NO!”

They will definitely play it against us, we need to lead with a positive message and end in one too.
    Sorry, normally I agree with you, but I think this is a dangerous opportunity for them to belittle WINGS, and all us by connection.

43. Jim Thomson

@velofello (bike with wean?) ok – no problem with that, just fiddling with electric ink at the moment 😉

44. David Halliday

David S says:
    Is there any merit in co-ordinating who is covering what areas? Or is that an over complication?

I’d wondered about that and if I was being over-optimistic about the numbers who’ll take up the offer. But it would be pretty awful if we ended up delivering multiple copies to the same households, wouldn’t it?

I’ll be delivering at least a few hundred in the Southside and Newington, Edinburgh ward.

45. Ken500

Scotland has the worst of both world’s at present.

Taxation without representation. No free and balanced Press.

Vote YES

46. Ken500

Get in touch with the YES campaign about delivery

47. Murray McCallum

I really think the flyer is targeted at *thinking* No voters.

By definition this class of citizen would not be taken in by claims that WOS agrees with the No campaign.

The idiots, of course, would fall for such a claim. They are beyond help.

48. Marcia

My tuppence worth.

I would change the text on the left to read,

‘If you are voting No because you don’t want change, think again.

o/t at 11.30 live – a Female Cabinet meeting to a female audience;

http://www.scotreferendum.com/2014/06/all-female-cabinet-on-100-days-to-go/

49. Dcanmore

Excellent flyer Rev. The Metro this morning (London edition) has also painted some grim realities of Britain today.

‘Hopes fading for millions of children in poverty trap’
    Lifting millions of children out of poverty by 2020 by relying on on more parents finding work will be an impossible task, a report by the Social Mobility and Child Poverty Commission predicts.

http://metro.co.uk/2014/06/08/hopes-fading-for-millions-of-children-in-poverty-trap-4754524/

‘Food banks hand out 20m meals in ‘breadline Britain’
    Some 20 million free meals were handed out to people trapped in poverty last year, Oxfam is reporting.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2652367/Ministers-reject-food-banks-20million-meals-figure-Charities-row-Government-emerges-half-meals-handed-good-causes-lunch-clubs.html

50. Donald

On distribution, in a perfect world we’d co-ordinate it but let’s be realistic that could be tough. It’s better that people get it twice than not at all. If you know another Winger local to you, divvy it up, if not just get out and do it. And as others have said, easy enough to do alongside Yes leaflets if you’re already delivering them.

51. Juteman

My first thought on seeing this page was, ‘this should be fun, the Rev is going to rip the pish out of a BT poster’.

52. Seasick Dave

Voting No doesn’t mean voting for no change though.

It means voting for changes that we ain’t going to like, imposed by Westminster.

Don’t give the idea that things will remain the same.

53. The Man in the Jar

I just came across a good quote from Adlai Stevenson it seems appropriate for our circumstances.

I offered my opponents a deal:
    “if they stop telling lies about me,
    I will stop telling the truth about them”.

54. Luigi

The leaflet is great, highlighting the negatives allows the official YES team to remain on positive ground (important). Somebody’s got to say it!

However, I’m not sure about leaving out the WoS web address.

It’s either careless, or sheer genius.

55. bookie from hell

REV

any chance finding full script of what andy Murray said about AS flying saltire Wimbledon

NO campaign putting a negative back handed cross the court spin on it

ie THE SCOTSMAN

http://www.scotsman.com/news/politics/top-stories/andy-murray-didn-t-like-salmond-s-saltire-waving-1-3437151

56. Jim Thomson

@Marcia 11:17

Not much good without the audio 🙁

57. msean

Re the news channels,always bear in mind how they reported the 2010 general election.All broadcasting is run from Londo.Do you think the uk would give total control of broadcasting in Scotland to the Scots? Not on yer nelly.

“Not all snp voters want independence”, they forgot to add in that not all Labour voters want the union.Balance please.

58. X_Sticks

Sorry O/T
    Has anyone seen what is happening on the Yes Auchterarder facebook page?

A sign of things to come from better together?

I have also heard of some Yes people attacked in Tayport, but need to confirm that report and won’t be able to do that until I get back home next week.

Limited broadband wbere I am so hard to keep up!

59. bunter

Sturgeon on BBC and the headline at the bottom said she was speaking at NO event, unbelievable.

60. Chic McGregor

I know it is negative and I know that has been frowned on up till now. But –

It isn’t possible to describe what is going to change with a No vote without it being negative and, it is only possible to avoid informing people of what a No vote will mean by a derogation of democratic duty. By any measure of democratic principle, not letting the voters know what the consequences of a No vote are would be wrong.

In terms of that which affects most Scots, most of the time in the real world (the real, real world, not Lamont’s flip flop fantasy land) there will be much more change with a No vote than a Yes vote.

The Status Quo is NOT on offer. As I think I said elsewhere recently, when unionists talk about preserving the Status Quo, what they really mean is preserving the Status Quid Pro Quo.

61. heedtracker

Great flyer. It works because it’s not annoying or hysterical, like me really, so I printed off a lot and will leave around the place.

62. Grouse Beater

The barage balloon called David Torrance argues we can have “too much of the positive argument,” quoting another fool who promotes the ludicrous lie that Yes supporters talk only of the sunny side of autonomy.

Published in the Herald this promotes waffle to the level of official indocrination based on soap suds.

What he struggles to ask in his contrived way is to choose a “realistic” path, meaning one tempered by neo-liberal policies and an awareness that the world is a hellish place ful of jeopardy and safety in numbers is what matters – therefore vote No.

63. debbiethebruce

I actually like the fact there is a NO answer on the front,as any undecided or NO voters will carry on reading the back.Thats the idea isant it?

Well done stu,I help YES musselburgh so will be ordering a few to hand out and post.

64. Chic McGregor

@Marcia
    “I would change the text on the left to read,

‘If you are voting No because you don’t want change, think again.”

I think that is better, posted similar myself in the past.

65. Brotyboy

@ Grouse Beater

David Torrance is to intellectual thought what the froth on a cappuccino is to coffee; takes a third of the space but contributes fuck all.

66. Luigi

Officially, the SG and YES remains positive, as they should.

However, that leaves WoS and other irregular cybernat forces to do and say what they feel is most effective in winning a YES vote.

Could be a nice arrangement.

Let’s show Cameron and Osborne how to do the Good Cop Bad Cop routine properly!

67. Luigi

David Torrance is to intellectual thought what the froth on a cappuccino is to coffee; takes a third of the space but contributes fuck all.

Indeed, rather sickly and full of air. Never delivers what it promises.

68. msean

Maybe we should stay out of NATO then,and then see what happens. A tragedy say Mr Fox for jobs in Govan lol,doesn’t he know the Govan yard is aready a goner!

69. ronnie anderson

Any Wingers intending to distrabute leaflets ect,do what we

did re the Wings Stall,meet up in your area (cafe)have a talk as to what you’s want to do,Exchange contact details (phone Email ) you,s should know fellow Wingers from their posts on site,there after hold meeting in your houses,as I did,my house has a open door policy for Airdrie & Shotts Yes group Tea/Coffee/Toilet when their delivering newspapers.

Cmon people adapt,& organize, we’re no stupid,every local authority has street plans that will help you;s map out the areas you;s want to target.

70. bunter

Sturgeon speech was top drawer. Glad I missed flippers though, just caught the end but he looks angry and stressed, surrounded by grumpy faces.

Smiley face, positive message versus grumpy angry face, negative message.

Easy to see whos gonna win this!

71. John McGuire

Rev, I might take the artwork and have these printed locally in Ayr.. No issues with that? Just keeping our cash local..
    Also, as somebody said this leaflet is for the thinkers and it’s wordy.. Maybe something simpler for the Daily Record readers?

72. ronnie anderson

As to my last post 11.52 contact the Yes Group in your area

& work alongside them,next issue of Yes magazine is end of

June put Wings material inside magazine less effort get the job done faster.

73. Murray McCallum

‘If you are voting No because you don’t want change, think again.”

If you change the “No” to “Yes” and drop the “don’t” would a Yes voter read the rest?

The flyer uses a quote from a No voter that does not challenge a core belief (or misconception as we see it). It invites a person in to consider this position. It is a non-confrontational approach.

The independent factual quotes do, however, challenge the belief.

74. McDuff

juteman.

I`m inclined to agree with you, most people will not read the whole flyer and simply see the “I`m voting NO“

75. James123

Any company can be used to order from Rev?

76. mogabee

I still have YES papers to deliver. So I’m gonna put one inside each paper.

Printed off the mono and really like how simple the message looks.

Thanks Stu.

77. Jim Thomson

Totally O/T

This quote is from a BBC item on HMG publishing a list of employers who paid less than the minimum wage:

“HMRC said this week that more than £4.6m had been paid out to 22,000 people, including staff at a Premier League club, who had been paid less than the minimum wage.

The football club, which HMRC did not name, made staff pay for their uniforms and also made deductions for travelling time, had to pay arrears of more than £27,500 to 3,000 workers.

Now, 3 THOUSAND employees at a SINGLE club eh, BBC having a right laugh there.

National broadcaster at their most accurate, I think. Not.

Article is here http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-27751722

78. galamcennalath

No criticisms. I think it’s perfect for a specific type of No supporter. As a postcard it will be great to hand over when they give the common response …

“If it ain’t broke, don’t sort it”
    “I like things as they are”
    “We don’t need all that change”
    etc whatever.

It’s a big section of NOs. They need told that their status quo is history. It’s not Yes for change, and No for leave things as they are. It’s two paths each representing change.

When someone expresses these views, the card mirrors that standpoint on one side, then demolishes it on the other!

79. Muscleguy

Sadly my ancient inkjet can’t print to the edge of the page and I don’t have a paper guillotine. I’ve had a look and it will require trimming which for 100 or so is not practical. I could just about make them double sided but the jpg does not open as two pages, just a single image and that would not fix the trimming problem.

Any chance of separate files for the two sides?

80. Geoff Huijer

O/T But RAGING at Eamon Holmes’ tame ‘interview’ with Gordon Brown on Sky.

Alex Salmond interview cut off midstream and cut to speech by Alistair Darling.

Blood BOILING!

81. galamcennalath

OT this is potentially very scary!
    http://bellacaledonia.org.uk/2014/06/09/51st-state/
    Quoting Craig Murray…
    “If the United States truly believes it has a “deep interest” in “making sure” that Scotland does not become independent …. we can expect hidden interference at Ukrainian levels.”

82. TheItalianJob

All I can say, if the vote goes against us (which I hoping it won’t) it won’t be for the lack of effort of the “Yes grass roots” campaigners.

It will all be down to apathy by your average voter.

83. Cath

If people want to coordinate delivery, best thing is to get in touch with your local (or nearest) local yes group, who will likely already be co-ordinating delivery of papers, flyers, local events etc.

For example I know our local group has quite a few local meetings coming up, so we’re out delivering leaflets promoting them to the appropriate areas. If you can combine with them you could help deliver that kind of material as well along with the leaflets.

I do have some concerns that some people might getting masses of Yes stuff through the door because local people are taking it on themselves to deliver stuff. While others (tenements especially) might get none, because they’re much harder to leaflet.

84. Lockie

Bitter together are now, no thanks hahahahahahahaha

Better Together = No Thanks

If there were such a thing as a draw in this referendum, I’d put money on the bitter together lot playing for a draw.

85. TheItalianJob

@galamcennalath

Yes read that a few days ago. To be expected ref UK-US relationship especially UN security council seats and UK support to US.

86. msean

Has Mr Darling had a makeover?

87. TheItalianJob

Good first flyer. Looking forwrd to the rest.

Stu, liked your article in the FT. Good advert for Wings. Why is it the other MSM newspapers don’t publish your thought? Hm don’t answer we know why.

88. roberto

Trying to find web.site giving dates of referendum meetings and locations.Can anyone help out?

89. Luigi

If there were such a thing as a draw in this referendum, I’d put money on the bitter together lot playing for a draw.

I think they are already desperately hanging on for penalties after extra time. If they scare enough people, they might just make the shoot-out.

90. Marcia

100 days to go and the start of a number of voodoo newspaper polls. One in the Record;

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/politics/independence-poll-100-days-go-3664811

91. Marcia

Roberto

You might find something here:

http://yesscotland.nationbuilder.com/events

92. Ron Burgundy

Great idea Stuart. Just a thought, the evidence given in the flyer is, I imagine, designed to prick the conscience of the typical I’m all right Jack NO voter.

The trouble is few of them, especially their well off elderly core vote, give a stuff about the poor or disadvantaged. The points are heartfelt and well made but need to unsettle the NO voter more directly or personally.

Maybe something on the time bomb of British debt – anything to get under the skin of their selfish assumptions.

93. Chic McGregor

@Theitalianjob
    “All I can say, if the vote goes against us (which I hoping it won’t) it won’t be for the lack of effort of the “Yes grass roots” campaigners.

It will all be down to apathy by your average voter.”

Don’t blame the duped, blame the dupers.

94. bookie from hell

Gordon Brown

AS showing satire at wimbledom made Scotland look small

SKY interview

https://vine.co/v/MD0ZmU9ZnjQ

95. TheItalianJob

@roberto

Try these links

scotreferendum.com/events/

yesscotland.nationbuilder.com/join_an_event?email_address=&address_change%5Bsubmitted_address%5D=&address_change%5Bdistance%5D=100&commit=Search

96. Marcia

Ron Burgundy

I would inform the well off ones that there is a possibility that the next Westminster government will scrap their Winter Fuel Allowance and with the proposed scrapping of the free bus concessions in England this could be extended to Scotland. Vote Yes will ensure they will still get them.

When I mention that the bus pass might be scrapped the pensioners really start to listen.

97. TheItalianJob

@Chic McGregor

So true. Point taken.

98. Chic McGregor

Don’t be fooled by Osborne’s faux recovery. It is a temporary illusion contrived by a property bubble which is only making things worse in the end.

Britain has the largest total debt in Europe, second in the World, and a close second, only to the United States.

99. Short changed

Can you do a flyer specifically targeting debt, the UK pay £1B a week on interest now, it puts perspective on why the cuts are coming. No example of a country turning the situation around without massive cuts to public sector wages, the certainty of the scrapping of the Barnet formula and the loss of free education…

100. msean

Well said in Oban,Sky news there.

101. onzebill

GMS this morning, 100 days headline to start the programme was a tape of AD saying the YES campaign had ran out of ideas and ran out of time, no reciprocal mention of anything that YES had said about the time still to go before the vote.

102. James123

The Rev said in the FT he wants England to win the World Cup because “It will never be off the telly and I think people [in Scotland] will be very, very sick of it, very fast.”

Judging by England’s 0-0 draw against the mighty 10 man Honduras that’s highly unlikely, but nevertheless as the FT said your logic is impeccable, so cmon Engerland!

103. desimond

re Design your own….

NOBAMA
    ———————–

“When I was a Unionist I spoke as a Unionist
    I understood as a Unionist, I thought as a Unionist;
    but when I became a free Scot, I put away Unionist things
    ( background images of war)
    ———————–

………….See Scotland and Die………….
    Calton Male Life expectancy 54 thanks to the Union
    ———————–

104. heedtracker

@ Marcia, 91% YES in that Daily Record poll. It will be fun watching that one jump around.

105. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“The Rev said in the FT he wants England to win the World Cup”

I actually didn’t say that I wanted them to, I just said it’d be good news for Yes if they did…

106. Conan_the_Librarian

Fold the flyer over a ruler to easily push it through brush backed letter boxes.

107. Chic McGregor

Marcia
    “When I mention that the bus pass might be scrapped the pensioners really start to listen.”

There is a long list of changes affecting many people in their everyday lives which will happen if we vote No.

Free prescriptions, privatisation of NHS, Free tuition fees, Free bus passes and many more.

Also there is every indication that a Tory government in 2015 will leave the European Court of Human Rights and the European Court of Justice and even the EU itself.

Then there will be nothing to stop them doing whatever they like. Deportation, internment, slave labour, more WMDs, renditions,ID cards, media censorship, deprivation of legal access rights, ignoring arrestees representation rights, arming the police and so on.

108. Paul

Daily Retard poll now showing 92% yes!

109. desimond

Is there such a thing as Fact overload?
    Do we give to much respect to the dream of people crying out for all the facts when theyve all been there for so long…are they really that keen on devouring facts?

At some point, will YES campaign appeal to the gut factor

………SCOTS………..
    KNOW YOUR PLACE

Should get the intended message across.

110. heedtracker

SCOTS! KNOW YOUR LIMITS. See Bliar McFastpiearm trying to provoke trouble again http://newsnetscotland.com/index.php/referendum/9302-yes-win-will-leave-a-deeply-divided-scotland-claims-better-together-chief

111. James123

@Marcia
    100 days to go and the start of a number of voodoo newspaper polls. One in the Record;

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/politics/independence-poll-100-days-go-3664811

Even with links to two ridiculous articles of pro-Union nonsense directly beneath the poll it is currently at 92% Yes.

112. Sinky

Still the BBC refer to the Pro UK organisation Better Together but never to “the Pro Scotland side” YES Scotland

113. Grouse Beater

See Bliar McFastpiearm

You mean Fats MacDee.

The South City Mob grousebeater.wordpress

114. Paula Rose

It’s a big yes from me – this flyer/postcard is exactly what I need for Brechin.

115. heedtracker

Maybe that’s Daily Record all new cunning plan, hold snazzy poll, hit suckers tuning in with with union saver Crichton/Torquil and his amazing, Vote Yes to kill socialism. Is there any vote no or else schtick our BetterTogether press and BBC liggers haven’t tried on? I say Torquiil, you proud Scot buts are doing Bally good work saving us down here in the south east, honours in the post everyone.

116. Grouse Beater

From Gavin Esler, first rank BBC Television journalist:

All these figures, from both sides, must be incomprehensible to most people, they are to me…”

Or put another way:

Not only are the masses truly dumb, but I am an overpaid thicko of a journalist unable to do his job and present the facts.

117. Sinky

Just heard John Beattie on Radio with discussion between Trish Hatmann for No and George Kerevan for Yes and guess what the No got first and last say on the matter.

118. bjsalba

Rev says:
    It’s also available as a postcard for those annoying brush-backed letterboxes that anyone who’s ever gone leafleting for any purpose at all hates so passionately.

Even more passionately do I hate the brush-backed letterboxes at ankle height.
    I have a whole street of them in my delivery patch – oh my aching back!

119. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“The trouble is few of them, especially their well off elderly core vote, give a stuff about the poor or disadvantaged. The points are heartfelt and well made but need to unsettle the NO voter more directly or personally.”

I tried to cover as many groups as I had quotes for – soldiers, nurses, teachers, the working poor, anyone getting any sort of benefits, the disabled and children. An awful lot of people either are one of those or know someone who is.

120. Indy_Scot

Can you imagine the celebrations on the 19th of September by no voters if the referendum is a ‘no’ –

Come on, yes, get it right up yi, now we can carry on getting shafted by Tory and Labour governments cutting billions from Scotland welfare system for the benefit of London. It’s gonna be great, well maybe not great, but not too bad, okay it will be shit, but hey what can I do, hmm, maybe I should have voted Yes.

121. TJenny

O/T – watching Daily Politics discussing that Ed Miliband is not perceived by voters as a future PM, and Anus Sarwar, speaking to Jo Coburn, says ‘I’m sure the British people will elect a Labour party led by David Cameron’! JoCo went into fits of sniggers as he quickly corrected himself, with no sign of embarrassment, to say led by Ed Miliband. Freudian slip – or mere truth? 🙂

122. Harry

Sky News rolling graphic on recent polls, conveniently omitting the Sunday Times 40-47% poll and the Panelbase 40-44% poll.

123. Murray McCallum

Grouse Beater quotes Gavin Esler:
    “All these figures, from both sides, must be incomprehensible to most people, they are to me…”

That, for me, is among the most insidious type of comment from a news reporter. It is all about shutting down debate and any chance of someone providing detail.

Gavin Esler is not there to comment on the news but to present it. I guess it’s all part of the news presenter personality ego trip which can attract higher salary awards.

124. Cath

” ‘I’m sure the British people will elect a Labour party led by David Cameron’!”

Coming so soon on the heels of Ruth Davidson confusing Orborne and Brown these are really very telling slips.

125. galamcennalath

I think the next 100 days show a lot of potential for Yes..

a) Commonwealth Games with Scotland rather than any Team GB featured

b) Draft discussion constitution highlights the pathetic nature of London rule.

c) More BT negativity, more voters skunnered and bullied into becoming Yes.

d) More grassroots conversation, more conversion. BT just can’t compete on this.

e) The trend of DKs converting at 70% to Yes continues

f) Women, in the final analysis, do vote similarly to men. That gap closes.

Quod erat faciendum

126. TJenny

Cath – as there is no difference between Lab + Tory policies and even the clone like cut of their jibs, it would appear that even to their own they are morphing into each other Ed Cameron or Dave Miliband – Oh, wait, what, I’m confused.

127. Pin

O/T but I couldn’t help see this on the BBC. Foreign direct investment at its highest in 16 years.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-business-27747527

What happened to all this stuff about investors being put off by independence?

128. MajorBloodnok

@Conan_the _Librarian

Hello Conan. Not seen you around for a while (though I’m a bit of a slacker myself these days). Welcome back!

129. MajorBloodnok

“‘I’m sure the British people will elect a Labour party led by David Cameron’!”

I was saying, half in jest, on Saturday at the Meadows Festival YES stall that there might even be a Labour/Conservative coalition after the next UKGE, to divide the spoils and keep UKIP out. And now, lookee here, we have some evidence that I am not the only one thinking that…

130. Harry

A guy on twitter called Tam Paine is saying he’s gone from Yes to No and mentions a supposed £8.64billion black hole the SNP are keeping quiet about. Anybody got any idea where he’s getting that from? Would love to put him right.

131. bookie from hell

the most @rselicking article of a politician Gordon Brown EVER

http://www.independent.co.uk/voices/comment/gordon-browns-moral-courage-9506720.html

132. heedtracker

If it is a no win, I am not paying for student fees, bus passes and all the things that voting YES for Scotland means.

The idea that on the 19th Sept, no voters said come on Westminster, take Scotland’s oil and taxes for your endless giant garbage transport spends in London, UKOK Faslane nukes/Trident2, the UKIP freak show, BBC grot, royals worship/House of Lords, slaughtering people in the Middle East AND then saying I vote NO but I want free uni and college and I want free home help and a new M8 and my bus pass is absolutely insane, or voting no really.

133. handclapping

My generation, pre-war + wartime babies, don’t do the internet so a good grit to their oyster is the castaway remark that it is amazing how the rise of the BBC is mirrored by the decline of the church.

134. hetty

Excellent, I need some of the leaflets to put through doors, I reckon most in my area are no voters, many very comfortable and very well off.

One of the things that some people, (the undecided mostly leaning toward no ones) find interesting is when I mention the barnett formula going, four billion pounds of cuts to Scotland, just for starters, privatising the Scottish NHS, the likelihood of powers being revoked from Holyrood to westminster etc. Many people are not bothered about the poor being made more destitute by westminster austerity, but they do believe that their pensions are secure as well as their bus passes if they vote no.

At the CND stall yesterday, the person handing out the leaflets said that many he talks to actually think that Scotland can be rid of nuclear weapons if it is a no vote, not sure which planet they are on, but the self delusion is quite scary.

135. bunter

@ Harry

Might be our share of the UK’s £1.5tn black hole, does he prefer that?

All country’s are currently running a deficit, bar one, Norway I think.

There are figures regards Scotlands current defecit out there, this years was a little worse than last year due to the billions being invested in the Oil industry, and the tax being offset against that. We will reap the reward on that soon.

Apart from the last year, our defecit, due to the UK borrowing on our behalf, has been in better shape for a very long time.

136. Chic McGregor

Admittedly from a far distant Angus viewpoint, it does look like there is some broad based movement to seriously move the UK to the far right – the nasty right.

I mean Cameron himself isn’t all that scary, in fact, I suspect he is just about as normal as a product of the elite factory can be. He has some principle and a touch of humanity and humour.

But look at the candidates being groomed to take over from Cameron.

Osborne, May and Boris.

How often has May escaped what should have been resigning matters? That can only happen, I suspect, if there is a serious level of support somewhere underlying her position.

Look at this week when attacks on the education secretary by her department were leaked to the press, resulting, bizarrely, in Gove having to apologise.

One of several tests folk often apply in their mind’s eye to assess politicos (‘Which one would I rather leave my kids with?’ probably being the best known one) is the ‘How well do they fit in a black SS uniform?’

When I do that one for May and Osborne, they could both easily be cast members from ‘Allo Allo’. Doesn’t really work with Cameron (or Gove for that matter).

OK, doesn’t really work for outside candidate Boris either, but I can see him in a Mussolini outfit.

137. HandandShrimp

Harry

I think a lot of polls have shown that there is little movement from Yes to No and that once people shift to Yes they tend to not go back. I think your Tom Paine might be a concern troll keen to sow seeds of doubt rather than a genuine voter (I doubt he is really called Tom Paine either).

138. TJenny

O/T – for anyone not reading the Rev’s twitter feed and thinking of ordering flyers, he has tweeted thus:

Readers! If you want me to send campaign material, maybe best mention (a) what you want, (b) how many, (c) your ADDRESS. *bangs head*

139. ronnie anderson

Rev, Aaron McClean over on Yes Scotland site accusing you of laughing at 9/11 & hopeing that someone got cancer, I set the record stait my eldest Son sufferd from Melenoma.

140. galamcennalath

To quote from the Daily Records ….

“With 100 days left before Scotland goes to the polls in the independence referendum how are you going to vote – Yes for independence or No for the status quo?”

Wrong! Not staus quo!

141. desimond

@heedtracker

Just imagine the word spoke by a post NO Vote generation…“But Dad/Mum, you used to claim you proudly voted NO, You voted for THIS!” ( as they park the wheelchair while handing the keys to the former family house over to a bored Estate Agent to help pay old-age care costs.

142. desimond

Potential Scottish Poster

THINK NOT DRINK

143. muttley79

Is there anybody on the Southside of Edinburgh who is involved in the Yes campaign? I need to get involved, but am a lazy git.

144. Jim Thomson

Sorry folks – O/T twice in one thread

Anyone have a clue why the Euro is dropping against GBP?

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business/market_data/currency/11/13/intraday.stm

Had a look through some economics news but nothing other than the new low interest rate from the ECB, but that was middle of last week. Scratching head and wondering how long to delay before getting holiday euros.

145. Sinky

muttly79

Please contact Edinburgh South YES campaign via facebook /yesedinsouth and also twitter @yes_edin_south.

Or phone 0131 447 9931

146. IcySpark

Slightly o/t

Here’s a great video to share with your friends and family that are undecided or no.

The journey of a young lass from No to Yes.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mePMpFLWwRY

147. Bugger (the Panda)

muttley 79

The CEB is talking about lowering the bank rate in Euroland to stimulate growth, even a negative interest rate with a tax against banks who borrow from the CEB and then, rather than loan out, they redeposit on overnight rates greater than the borrowing rate( I kid you not)!

In the UK and the USA a lot of that money went into the BRICS and pending a jump up in the UK interest rate jumped back into the UK, probably back into the overnight deposit market as well.

So the money markets are betting on a lowered Euro rate and selling the Euro ahead, I think.

148. heedtracker

Hi desimond, just sitting here listening to vote no tory boys but what is very very mad coming out of dudes like Bliar MacSaladodger is how Holyrood has morphed from BetterTogether’s huge waste of money and time pretendy parliament to a most beautiful, powerful and wonderful executive with all the powers that Scotland will ever need, leaving Westminster to deal with other stuff that don’t really concerning you wise and clever Scottish types.

John Reid tried on that pile of UKOK pants yesterday while Sir Gordon Brewer fluffed him on Sunday morn, then his lordship smirked at camera 2. Yuck.

149. MochaChoca

“Scratching head and wondering how long to delay before getting holiday euros.”

Capitalist speculator !!

Just kidding, the graph is remarkably similar to the oil price chart toady though:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business/market_data/commodities/143908/intraday.stm

150. heedtracker

Hi Grousebeater, I really like your blog but you’re doing fatsB a service. He just ain’t that interesting.

151. Bugger (the Panda)

bunter

I think Scotland actually is not running a deficit when all the hidden thefts from the Scottish tax are factored in.

I will not list them but they probably would easily swallow up any apparent deficit, excluding the oil revenues.

Scotland should be in surplus, even now.

152. Bugger (the Panda)

Conan the etc

Sorry I missed you last week but my liver is not!

Next time.

153. seanair

Grouse Beater/Murray McCallum
    Trying to avoid today’s lies on SKY and BBC, but accidentally saw Essler speaking from Dundee, and then introducing Andrew Picken from the Sunday Post. No wonder the SP seems to have gone to the far right when they recruit people from the Daily Mail. Don’t know what he said because I switched off, but I’m sure Essler would have someone from the Yes campaign to balance things up, wouldn’t he?

154. Bugger (the Panda)

Pin

See my post below yours re Euro and muuttley 79

Repatriation of B of E cheap money parked outside UK?

155. muttley79

@Sinky

Cheers. Do you have an e-mail address for Yes south Edinburgh?

156. Bugger (the Panda)

@ heedtracker

Could you possibly a No 50.1% win based on MSM lies would be like?

I am frightened to consider such a result.

157. frances

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-27729709

Why does this BBC page have an entry at the bottom for “What the No Parties are offering” but nothing about “YES”?

158. James Forrest

Hi guys … wee push for our latest article on Comment Isn’t Free … a lot of you will have noticed that your social media pages are filling up with stuff from Britain First.

The more people know who this scum are, and what they represent, the better.

http://www.commentisntfree.com/spreading-the-hate/

159. seanair

Guido Fawkes having a laugh at Gordon Brown on his blog at http://www.order-order.com. Some of the comments quite funny too.
    Forgot, he’s “respected” in Scotland.

160. fergie35

I remember during the last general election, a poster appeared from the Tory candidate saying;
    Scots are not capable to run their own country, I am —– —–, British conservative.
    It also had a wee union flag. I remember being outside the town hall and there was up roar, if the Tory had been there he would have been lynched.

161. Luigi

I think a lot of polls have shown that there is little movement from Yes to No and that once people shift to Yes they tend to not go back.

I call it the Referendum Ratchet

This is what scares BT and the MSM more than anything else. Hence the ever increasing panic we are now witnessing over in Fear Street. The best they can hope for is to hold the line, and even that is becoming more difficult with each passing day. Can they hold out for another 100 days, with the focus now on them and people starting to ask awkward questions?

They say they can, but the body language and ridiculous comments and accusations indicates something very different.

162. JLT

It’s good Rev.

Just one thing. You may need to say who Ed Balls is, or even who Osborne is! Seriously …the amount of people who don’t know who these folk are. There are still a lot of folk out there who ask who these folk are!

But overall …it’s good!

163. Chris Cairns

Rev,

What can you do to guard against our friends in the No camp putting in requests (perhaps several from different sources) for loads of these fliers only to bin them on receipt?
    Paranoid?
    I heard that!

164. Peter Macbeastie

@ James Forrest; I point out the nature of those scum to anyone on Facebook who posts their images where I can see them with an explanation of why they put images of the ‘like if’ type out.

Better Together are running scared. The extra powers mantra is reaching fever pitch, pushed at every opportunity, and Alasdair Darling sounds like a man trying to convince himself every time he utters their usual soundbite… I would repeat it here but I’ve heard it so often it’s become white noise and I can’t remember it.

The whole problem with ‘extra powers’ is no one, not even the couple of no’s I’ve spoken to, believe a word of it. One of them because he’s old enough to remember when they tried that trick in 1979, and the other because he’s pretty much as cynical as I am. I have hopes for this pair; they both know Westminster are lying but for some reason I can’t quite fathom they’re not quite at the vote yes stage.

165. JLT

I would also state that Osborne is only a third of the way through his cuts. Explain what could happen (I know you mentioned Benefits), but might this not also include Food and Petrol price increases (I assume petrol could go up. Is there any reason for the UK Government not to increase it. After all …it’s not like we can all nip over the border to France to stock up on fuel. We’re trapped on our own wee island!)

Once folk realise the shitstorm that is coming in the event of a ‘No’ vote will seriously alarm them. Benefits may not scare people. Food and petrol will. We really depend on those!

166. Jim Thomson

BtP and Mocha Choca – re Euro v GBP

Aye, I wish I had enough to be a capitalist speculator 🙁

I know the ECB are now making depositors PAY for leaving money with the overnight. There was a “not Peston” person chatting about it at the weekend. he was curious to see how it panned out. I’m sure the city spivs will figure a money making angle out of it.

So, sitting on hands and (very thin) wallet for the moment and watching carefully.

167. Peter Macbeastie

Chris Cairns; valid point, because that’s the kind of tactic we’ve used on Better Together.

Still, they made the mistake of not being helpful enough to post the fliers on their website for people to print and distribute themselves. This is a rather smarter approach; even if they do waste Wings time they can’t stop the process.

168. Luigi

What can you do to guard against our friends in the No camp putting in requests (perhaps several from different sources) for loads of these fliers only to bin them on receipt?

Just what I was thinking. The things folk get up to! WoS does have our email addresses though, so perhaps it is a straightforward enough procedure to recognise and filter out ringers.

169. Brotyboy

@ Jim Thomson

These 2 articles may help.

http://www.forexcrunch.com/eurusd-forecast-june-9-13/

http://www.forexcrunch.com/category/majors/

And this too. Note the ‘Positions/Live Accounts’ near the bottom, left hand side. Most retail traders are wrong, so the 58% of traders who are currently long on the EUR/USD is a fairly clear sign that the Euro will fall against the Dollar. Similarly, 41% long the GBP/USD suggests the Pound will strengthen, so the cross pair GBP/EUR should fall.

http://www.forexfactory.com/

170. heedtracker

http://www.theguardian.com/politics/2010/feb/24/gordon-brown-rant-tony-Blair cometh the hour, cometh the nutcase to save teamGB.

171. David

FFS Sky News has had the saviour of the world and the banks on in a wall to wall manner today, they are in Scotland for the 100 days to go before we vote YES Celebration 🙂

AS and NS were on too NS did a great job and was talking too much sense for EH 🙂

Some guy talked about Obama and mentioned the fact that he was set up by call me Dave.

But never mentioned the Biased British Corporations involvement in asking the question

Quite a biased view by SKY but 1000 times better that the BBC , they appear to trying hard to present both sides but sadly not in an equal manner from where I am sitting.

Skeletor was on as well talking his usual $hite

news.sky.com/story/1278735/scottish-independence-a-leap-into-the-unknown

172. Sinky

Muttley 79

Yes Edinburgh South

173. Sinky

Yes Edinburgh South yesedinsouth@gmail.com

174. Grouse Beater

Seanair said: I’m sure Esler would have someone from the Yes campaign to balance things up, wouldn’t he?

Judging by his fanfare welcome for Vote No Borders Esler seems unable to discern truth from fiction.

Obama admits he was “encouraged” by the British government to enter the independence fray. A BBC journalist gave him his cue. Therefore, it is safe to assume said journalist is a paid staffer of our dear old secret service, he also coached into doing his duty … or his pet hamster gets it in the head. (I made up that last bit.)

175. Indy_Scot

Can you imagine the feeling of voting ‘no’ and then regretting it for the rest of your life.

176. Proud Cybernat

Great flyer, Rev and I shall be printing it off and punting it like mad. Thanks.

I think the above flyer will resonate with most reasonable, undecided people and perhaps even persuade some of the NOs to re-evaluate things. But what about the ‘I’m all right Jacks”? What about the ones who “have done very well out of the Union, thank you very much”? In short–what do we say to the selfish gits out there who don’t think beyond their front door? How do we press their buttons? How do we make them think? Surely it has to be an economic flyer since these types only think about their own pocket.

Thoughts anyone?

177. Jim Thomson

@BrotyBoy 3:44

Thanks for those links.

interesting that they don’t carry a similar analysis page for GBP/EUR or vice versa.

I think what it implies is that if Carney makes positive noises about the GBP on Thursday, Sterling will gain even more against USD & EUR.

ECB was trying to weaken the EUR anyway and those pesky Germans managed to have a strong economy, thereby upsetting the dastardly plan.

The best laid plans etc.

178. Ken MacColl

Rather jaundiced observation of SKY broadcasting from Oban today. More balanced than BBC but still far from even handed. Contacted their hotel base but got no response. Oban’s busy YES shop in centre of town failed to attract their attention but they did, strangely, manage to find and interview the prospective Labour Westminster candidate for Argyll & Bute for 2015 although she was introduced as “a Labour activist.”
    Sky coverage heavily larded with ponderous contributions from a Kirkcaldy MP who implies that he has financial expertise presently lacking in the Scottish Government. If this is true I suggest that Westminster uses this knowledge to tackle our National Debt situation. Labour peer (sic) , Lord Reid of Cardowan, also heavily publicised and promoted.
    Ochone, ochone! SKY’s presenter appears to be struggling to find NO supporters

179. Dcanmore

O/T … RIP Rik Mayall, funny bloke!

180. Peter

Gordon Brown is a moronic thug who bullied his way to the top. And how can a man who was happy to spread the smear about Ivan Cameron be tolerated as anything other than scum?

181. Jim Marshall

Ken MacColl

Ochone, ochone! SKY’s presenter appears to be struggling to find NO supporters

I was up in that area ( Seil ) on Friday and saw a number of vehicles adorned with YES or SNP stickers. Very heartening to see in a rural area.

182. Brotyboy

@ Jim Thomson

The GBP/EUR is fairly small beer in Forex terms.

183. Papadox

NO THANKS: I’M AN INDEPENDENT PROUD SCOT.

184. Brotyboy

Great to see you now have an Embra address, Rev. 😉

185. Proud Cybernat

NO THANKS? YES PLEASE!

186. Papadox

NO THANKS: THE GRAND CHILDREN CAN LOOK OUT FOR THEMSELVES! WHAT ABOUT MY PENSION

your loving nana & papa AYE BETTER THE GITHER.

187. CameronB Brodie

Apparently John Sessions has an opinion (in the Scotsman).

He added: “People died for centuries to get these countries together and this guy turns up.”

Sessions said he is a supporter of Ukip and wants to see the European and Scottish parliaments abolished.

188. CameronB Brodie

He doesn’t have a vote though.

189. Flower of Scotland

O/t

Seemingly ANDY MURRAY said ” I didn’t like the negative reaction to Salmonds saltire”
    NOT ” I didn’t like Salmonds saltire ” Big difference!!

I like the poster Rev. Another one for my window. With YES and YOU YES YET and hopefully a YES saltire in the garden, people will know it’s NOT better together! I’m not sure my Cons./ Lib Dem village will like it though!! Who cares.

190. Ken Johnston

Right Guys,

Completely O/T, sorry Rev, or Very Rev. Was having a conversation with an English guy who lives here, and has for a number of years. Self-employed in the computing sector, and registered as a business.

Tells me he has now reregistered the company name over the border, because, his accountant says, come March 2016, he can continue paying his company tax to Westminster. I said that’s possibly true, but a hae ma doubts, but you will still need to pay your personal tax here. No, he will pay that to Westminster as well, the accountant says, and nothing here. You might say, he’s not yet a New Scot.

I said, well, I really don’t think that’s on, reciprocal tax arrangements in other countries etc, but I don’t want to fall out about it. Had a look in the White Paper, could not see anything.

Any thoughts, people.

Re the Re’s leaflet, I did one along the same lines a month ago, only I was a bit blunter. Said we would get a good kicking for being uppity. Plus the stuff we know about.

191. Conan_the_Librarian

@ Major Blodnok

Fighting the good fight on the Telegraph and the Gruaniad.

I like an argument, you very rarely get one on here…

192. bookie from hell

gord on his own—dial 999

don’t think hes contacted BT for his recent comments today

saltire –small
    Cameron—poor campaign
    salmond/Cameron—debate

193. Bugger (the Panda)

Conan

Yeran Edinburgh nomark and all The Daily Mail columnists and readers agree.

That enough?

194. heraldnomore

Ken, residence will determine the tax status. Company may be south but if he lives here….

He can’t just change the registered office from one country to another. If it’s registered with Companies House in Edinburgh it must have a Registered Office in Scotland, and that applies both ways, no north to south migrations either.

So he might have to wind up or strike off the Scottish company, and incorporate a new one south of the border.

Or he could be talking mince.

195. Conan_the_Librarian

@ Bugger.

Ye’ll hae tae dae better than that ya wee radge weegie.

196. a supporter

Don’t like your flyer. I believe it is giving free advertising to the NO camp. Many people will only read the LHS BIG PRINT stuff and think it is from the NO campaign. The YES material should be first to the eye.

197. Jim Thomson

Not sure if this has been posted already, but here’s an archived link to the Rev’s FT article last Friday

https://archive.today/B3kS2#

198. Brian Powell

I just had a look at the Sunday Times magazine Style because it had an interview with Andy Murray in it.

After all the stuff about what he said, in it is there is this:

“He’s cagier on another autumn event: Scotland’s referendum. One assumes he is a haggis-munching, Braveheart-worshipping Independence maniac, thanks to that crack about the World Cup, but could he be just the opposite. Have you met Alex Salmond, I ask. “Yes.” And? “Erm, he seemed perfectly nice to me, but I didn’t like it when he got the Scottish flag up at Wimbledon”. Salmond memorably played schoolboy tactics in the Royal Box at last years final, producing a giant Saltire. “I started competing for Great Britain when I was 11. A lot of people forget that”. Who would you play for if there was a split? “I don’t even know”, he says, looking genuinely concerned.

199. gordoz

O/T Did anyone bump into the British Together Big Push in Glasgow today ??

Am I right in thinking that the ‘notional’ asserted additional powers ‘spouted’ by the NO campaign; (still as yet with no agreement between the LAB/CON/LIB coalition) would have to go before the Westminster H o Commons and the Lords for approval ?

200. Alex Kashko

I agree that I so not like the left hand page. Perhaps it should say something like

“Vote NO and things will change.
    Vote YES and things will change
    Vote YES and control the change”

201. Harry

Re Thoughts on what to put on flyers. I’ve been collating a lot of facts and figures from various sources, including Wings, for a while now. A couple that jump out are:

Scotland has generated £222,000,000,000 more in tax over the last 30 years than the UK average. https://fullfact.org/factchecks/will_an_independent_scotland_be_better_off-28889

Business for Scotland’s article on how Westminster diddles Scotland out of £127 per SECOND due to the UK’s rising debts that we have played no part in running up. http://www.businessforscotland.co.uk/westminster-tricks-scotland-out-of-127-00-per-second/

202. ronnie anderson

Now caw me cylindrical but what happened to the BSkyB sell

off,we know what the Troughfers get,whats in it for

Rupert Murdoch ?.

203. CameronB Brodie

gordoz
    I think that about sums it up. It’s jam tomorrow but only if everyone in Westminster agrees. Fat chance.

204. ronnie anderson

Alik Sammin the ever quality statesman

205. Papadox

EBC 24 ESLER

Friends, countrymen the BAWS ON THE SLATES, JOLA is on the attack, JOLA,s lair has been fun oot . She has been hiding under John Boothmans desk at PQ. Evidently She has been getting coached in public speaking, while chewing a brick.

IT DIDNAE WORK. Right jojo back under the desk.

206. msean

Same language as vnobs,”no thanks”. Meanwhile,Mr Salmond speaks well of the English,gets right into the subject unlike Mr Cameron. Fighting your corner.

207. Vestas

http://www.theguardian.com/media/greenslade/2014/jun/09/johnstonpress-mediabusiness

Shurely shome coincidence? 😉

For those not quite getting it – the share price seems to have risen until just before the 16 week period.

Couldn’t be right could it 😛

208. gordoz

@CameronB Brodie

Cheers – thats what I thought.

Undecided; no change coming and def’ not ime soon.

What little is to be promised will be watered down anyway.

Does anyone like anything diluted ??

Vote YES for a concentrated Scotland ! 🙂

209. Jim Thomson

O/T (kinda)

Just found another reason to NOT buy a “smart” TV

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-27761756

Seems they can be hijacked by broadcast signals to deliver messages targeted at specific viewers. The article talks about hijacking, but would any of us put it past the state (in its widest context) not to have a go?

210. YESGUY

Sorry if this is already out there but the Daily Record have a wee poll asking folks how they intend to vote and it’s an absolute walk over for the YES voters.

It’s a wee pick me up for when the negativity gets to you

anyway see for yourselves

211. gregor

I am a bit worried by the poster as the first thing it says is “I am voting no” it is that line that hits you and it makes the first impression ie. get your message in the biggest format you can. I can see where you are going in trying to get “No” readers to read it, but I am worried that no readers will read it. I think a very large “?” mark after the “change” would make a better statement and produce a better result. Sorry just my thought as a retired t shirt printer.
    Yes we can Gregor

212. Jim Thomson

@Vestas 5:42

“Alongside his financial strategy, Highfield has been pressing ahead enthusiastically with a transition from print to digital, including the use of user generated copy.”

Really though, allowing randoms to submit copy? How legally stuffed could an editor be if there’s a few rogue items?

213. Cactus

For those about to wear their Alert Reader badges in public, I look forward to bumping into some of you on the streets.. I may even greet you with a public handshake, cheers us!

X SCOTLAND X

214. ronnie anderson

@Conan_the_ librarian, nice to see you back on site, to see

you nice.

215. CameronB Brodie

50% of the available space is projecting the Better Together message. You are also relying on the reader turning the leaflet over, in order to read the Yes message.

216. CameronB Brodie

OK, they could pick the leaflet up with the Yes message facing up, but you get the picture.

217. SheepOnFire

100 days to get rid of BBC Scotland. Vote YES.
    You know its right

218. Edward

Ken Johnston
    I think the English guy should find another ‘accountant’

Any revenues raised in Scotland will be subject to Scottish taxes. He can register a company in England , but the English tax man will only be interested in tax being paid on revenues raised in England.

In addition, having a company registered in England will incur costs for the admin charges that Companies house charge. Likewise a Scottish companies house will charge the same. So in effect he is doubling his costs.

If he is registered for VAT and accounts for VAT, the same story, in that he will be liable for VAT in Scotland, based on revenues in Scotland.

Which is why the likes of Tesco, Marks & Spencer, B&Q, Homebase, Asda etc who currently have accounting offices in England will open up offices in Scotland to manage VAT payments and processes to a Scottish VAT office

219. SheepOnFire

100 days to get rid of nuclear weapons, forever.
    Vote YES.

220. Marcia

Ken Johnston

Any income arising to his company in Scotland will be subject to tax in Scotland. He would have to move out of Scotland as his company will be registered in Scotland. Same for personal tax, income arising here is subject to the local tax authorities. The situation in Ireland with the UK bit of Ireland is fairly simple.

http://www.hmrc.gov.uk/manuals/eimanual/EIM43005.htm

221. gerry parker

@Edward.

Neatly filleted then.

Hell scud it in tae them.

222. SheepOnFire

100days to get rid of illegal wars.
    Vote YES.

223. SheepOnFire

100days to be the best small country in the WORLD.
    Vote YES.

224. SheepOnFire

100days for All Scots to control their Future.
    Vote YES.

225. heedtracker

Just watched STV news Ponsonby etc who are so modest about all the work him and all his colleagues in the Scots media have done to try and annihilate Scottish democracy for so long. They didn’t even get a mention.

226. JLT

Rev,

I think CameronB Brodie may have a point. I can see what he is saying. You might want a big ‘STOP – WARNING’ right below the statement, thus catching people’s eyes.

227. JLT

Flower of Scotland says:
    Seemingly ANDY MURRAY said ” I didn’t like the negative reaction to Salmonds saltire”

FoS …did he actually say that? Is there a link, because I can find nothing to corroborate this. If it’s true, it’s serious ammunition to use on Facebook.

228. Archie [not Erchie]

WTF – I like Smooth Radio on Freeview and then I heard the comment “You never see Alex Salmond and Nicola Sturgeon in the same place, are they swapping wigs”. Immediate tweet done as this is well out of line and a denigration of an elected Minister.

229. heedtracker

Giant blast of this in today’s Press and journal today, without the “negative reaction” bit.

Usual massive far right P&J vote no pressure though and full page bettertogether ad with three huge ticks in the no box so next UKOK step, make the ref no box x mark more than familiar to Press and journal readers.

230. Cactus

100 days to go, liking it SheepOnFire, keep em coming.. 🙂

In the remaining 99 days, we (Scotland’s children) should be seen and heard in public. It’s time for the next lift in Scotland’s campaign.. and it’s up to all of us to be visible, so wear your tartans outside, put on your country’s football top, dawn Caledonia’s rugby jersey, wear a thistle, sing, dance and maybe give a little whistle, be who you already are, be Scottish.

231. rab_the_doubter

Bizarre choice of colour for the BBC background for the referendum reporting, exactly the same shade of purple as the new BT logo. (Must have had a lot left over from promoting UKIP so hard).

232. SheepOnFire

Rev. Stew I’m desperate for 100 WingsOverScotland.com car/window stickers.

ps. same same NewsNetScotland.com car/window stickers.

pps. please get em on sale, fast

233. DocFin

Another Gordon Broon rant and Darling rebrands BT as No Thanks, now BT think more powers is a good thing (just nothing in writing yet). Listen – the sound of wheels coming off.

234. Proud Cybernat

Snapshot of Daily Record Poll as of 18:50 today:

http://www.scottcreighton.co.uk/indyref/images/DR-Poll-100days-snap.jpg

235. Dcanmore

London Evening Standard tonight has Alastair Darling as guest High Heid Yin commentator. A page of the usual guff teamGB, Jubylimpics, great Scots made London, family of nations, Salmond’s separation means barriers and division oh and ‘Londoners should be heard in the indpendence debate.’

Basically Darling looking for friends.

236. Dan Huil

The Press and Journal is a reactionary publication which specializes in scare stories aimed at pensioners.
    Thankfully the young people I know don’t read the rag but many elderly might believe its scaremongering. I hope the Yes team will put minds at rest concerning the state pension in an independent Scotland.

237. Conan_the_Librarian

Cheers Ronnie. The price was right.

238. Conan_the_Librarian

Cheers Ronnie. The price was right.

239. Conan_the_Librarian

WTF?

240. Conan_the_Librarian

WTF?

241. heedtracker

All teamGB media’s reactionary. One of the greatest tests of their power has been thrashing away at Scottish democracy for ages. They’re just such modest people they dont like to mention their own power and genius.

Like STV at teatime with Ruth Davidson getting asked what the no vote means for devo and she flapped her wee arms and clucked away like a turkey because Ruthie knows the Scots media/BBC has her back.

242. Conan_the_Librarian

Mouse problems I think, sorry folks.

243. gerry parker

@DocFin,
    “No thanks”

– and that’s exactly what you’ll get if you vote No.

244. MajorBloodnok

Is there an echo in here or is it just about me me me?

245. Andy smith

Did anyone see the guy on the street laying into darling on stv news,his face was a picture,but cameraman quickly panned away from him,was probably running in opposite direction by then.wee guy didn’t mince his words mind you !

246. galamcennalath

People’s ignorance never fails to amaze me. I have it on good account that many people blame the SNP for the Edinburgh Trams fiasco! And, this is one factor why they are voting NO. They couldn’t have got it more wrong and need telling at every opportunity.

247. Conan_the_Librarian

It’s always about you, Major…

Using keyboard only

only

248. Bugger (the Panda)

Conan

You should feed the wee beastie some cheese occasionally?

249. K1

I think what the flyer/postcard does is draw the person in, espcially the No person. People like to have their prejudices confirmed. They will immediately turn over the leaflet/card and the contradiction confounds their expectation. It’s actually very nuanced…and therefore subliminally powerful.

The words that they see and the comprhension goes ‘in’ whether they like it or not. It’s a prejudice bypass operation. My you’re a skillfull surgeon Stu.

250. ronnie anderson

Bbc One Show 1966 Alert its to early ya muppets.

251. Conan_the_Librarian

@ Bugger

Parmigiano?

Parmigiano?

252. Conan_the_Librarian

@ Bugger

Parmigiano?

Parmigiano?

253. Donald

That Daily Record poll has some story about Darling going to ‘Stornoway in Shetland’. Forward to all in Shetland and Lewis and show how little these nuggets in the ‘Scottish’ press know or care about their own country. Hope he does try to find Stornoway in Shetland – it’ll take him long enough.

254. Conan_the_Librarian

Effing joke ruining mouse.

255. stevie...Edinburgh

“I think CameronB Brodie may have a point. I can see what he is saying. You might want a big ‘STOP – WARNING’ right below the statement, thus catching people’s eyes.”

I’m sorry, but I totally disagree there guys. The very thing that has been turning people off the No campaign has been their ‘WARNING, WARNING!’ negative nonsense. If Yes supporters start doing the same thing, it’s an absolute gift for the No camp.

Today has been the perfect example, with the grey men in suits of the No camp under the militaristic banners of ‘Strong, Robust, United’ vs the National Collective’s ‘We’re having a Yestival!’ sums up the two campaigns. We have to push the POSITIVE message.

256. Bugger (the Panda)

Conan

Parmigiano Glasgow?

257. K1

By the ‘No’ person, I mean the ‘default’ No. The hardened ‘mind made up’, well you could put them in a time machine, set the date 10 years from now after we vote Yes and with their own eyes they could see the positive effects and changes. Bring them back…and they would still vote No. We have to focus on the soft No’s…this focuses their minds on some of the issues.

258. ronnie anderson

@conan _ the_librian, slow doon get yer eye in.

259. kininvie

These leaflets are ideal for Yes stalls and for personal conversations when you actually run across people using the ‘I like things as they are’ arguments. In which case, you can hand over the leaflet with a bit of explanation.

Less sure about random leaflet drops, because although the Rev’s done his utmost to make people turn over, and the irony is clear to all of us convinced yessers, I agree that a casual glance will make No voters feel all warm and fuzzy. As we know from the number of people (even on this enlightened site) who mistake the spoof BT posters for the real thing, you can never overestimate people’s capacity to fail to spot irony…

But it’s a great weapon for the personal conversations, and I shall carry a bunch with me.

260. msean

Tariq Ali talking common sense on bbc news 24 re Scotland. News presenter focuses on word ‘probably’ a lot.

261. Andy

Hi there,

I can see the sentiment behind the flyer. You’re trying to change peoples minds and rightfully so.

However, people’s natural default mode is to fear change. Ask any workplace when something new comes in and it’s also why there’s so much work needed to change the status quo.

When people see the big writing on the front saying “I’m voting No because I don’t want anything to change” you’ve hit the nail on the head and it’ll just re-affirm their point of view and they won’t bother with the back of it.

You might find that the layout and the wording could be counter productive. It will look like a Better Together leaflet.

262. Conan_the_Librarian

Hoi, Ronnie, I’m Sagittarian!

263. Paula Rose

Aye right – that’s me in and divested of the high heels, now folk I hope you’ve all been out campaigning – I’m hoping to read a handful of comments only.

264. Blair paterson

I have just heard pro., curtice on radio 5 saying all the polls put yes well behind but he never mentioned or was asked about the poll that Cameron refused to disclose the result of I wonder how far behind the no votes were there I will predict right now that the people of Scotland will vote yes by about 75 per cent and bet that’s what Cameron’s poll showed and why he will not reveal the results of it ,do not be taken in by their false polls they are only fooling themselves not any one with any intelligence. Vote yes

265. TJenny

Here’s a heartening wee tweet from Kenny macAskil, MSP:

‘Results from Gracemount HS mock referendum. Pre debate yes 28 no 45 dk 27. Post debate Yes 56 No 44. 100 days to go and momentum with Yes.’

and another tweeted by Micahael Gray (in Glasgow):

‘Pre-debate No was leading at @stmungosacademy. Final result: 59% Yes, 23% No, 18% undecided.’

266. K1

I think the rev credits ordinary people with a general lack of stupidity…unlike the No side who think we’re all a bunch of muppets…smirk.

People know a contradiction when they see/hear it. The title of this post is Alerting the Others…many of us, were the ‘others’ until our eyes and ears opened up. Usually when we saw/heard contradictions, we became more attentive to what was going on.

This leaflet is just a quick method of alert. If just one person in the street where each of us lives is jolted into finding out more information from this flyer…the numbers start to jump for Yes, now think of all the streets, thems a lot of people. 🙂

267. Stoops

The Press & Journal also ran a poll today which they closed very early. Last I heard Yes was at 92%!!!

268. Kestral

Stu
    first off, thank you, been dying for you to let us get your message out

Can I just say

I can have the exact same stuff printed for £64.00

Leaflets – 5000 £64.00
    Thickest Paper: Silk
    105 x 148mm
    170gsm silk art paper
    Full process colour both sides
    Service: Economy: 7 working days

I will pay for them myself and then I can allow everyone access through ebay as I am currently doing with Yes stickers

I could bring in a rush order if that helps 3 working days

You can go try your options here and make sure you feel it’s the same quality

https://www.flyerzone.co.uk/

The site you are working with wants to charge £298.00

I have an online business and a royal mail postal discount

I send loads of parcels every day anyways, I have garage space since I am already storing yes papers

Can I suggest we try to save some money for everyone involved – more money saved more we can buy week after week

269. heedtracker

YES Daily Record still at 91%. Crichton Torquil will be very puzzled before he flips it on its head for bettertogether.

270. Archie [not Erchie]

@ K1 – Totally agree.

271. john king

@conan
    Kininvie says
    “you can never overestimate people’s capacity to fail to spot irony…”

@Kininvie
    Know what you mean,
    Derek Bateman’s still not talking to me after (ahem) a little misunderstanding over his first post, but lets not talk about it. 🙁

272. galamcennalath

The Daily Record and P&J polls at 90% Yes.

What this highlights is that Yes folks are online and engaged in the debate/campaign while No folks are, well, somewhere else.

273. Kestral

Archie

great – thanks

It means that 100 of them would cost £1.28 + postage (need to get weight of 100 but probs about £1.00

Compared to £27.50

No brainer – just want Stu to be happy with the quality

lots and lots of cheaper printers out there, happy to use which ever one people want me too or even to go get it done by local Scottish business, its all about buying in bulk that’s where you save money

274. Findlay Farquaharson

“What this highlights is that Yes folks are online and engaged in the debate/campaign while No folks are, well, somewhere else

or, the poll companies are british establishment tools and are dirty lying bstards.

275. Jock Scot

@Rev Stu
    Would it be ok if, where appropriate, Yew Choob used images of your campaign materials in any future videos?
    Thought I’d show some manners and ask first, this time.

276. Paula Rose

@ Findlay – where the No and undecided are is where we need to be.

277. Sinky

I look forward to Sarah Smith asking Alistair Darling at 10.30 this evening about his outrageous neo nazi smear on the SNP and press New Statesman to release their tape of the “inaudible mumble” but I won’t hold my breathe.

278. IcySpark

slightly off topic. Not sure if previously posted.

Episode 2 of Steven Paton’s indyref weekly review is up and gives a shout out to WoS.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uY4SRySEjKw

279. Thepnr

Lets not make the same mistake the BT crowd take and take Scottish people for fools, mugs or morons. The people who even bother to read political leaflets will read it all.

It is fine as it is in my opinion, I hope to see more more dealing with other issues. Positive as well as negative.

100 days folk, starts to get you thinking. Until today you may never have got off your backside or away from the keyboard. Now is the time to show what your made of, you do realise that you are in the forefront of the Yes campaign?

You owe it to yourself and every other Scot no matter how ignorant to do a bit more, lets get the message to the people. If all you do is talk to your neighbours and colleagues that will be enough. But please do something.

Don’t sit and wait for time to run out. We need to act NOW.

280. Thepnr

Thepnr review before you post, jees.

281. Grouse Beater

Stevie said: The very thing that has been turning people off the No campaign has been their ‘WARNING, WARNING!’

Why I Am Voting Yes – grousebeater.wordpress

282. Ken Johnston

Thanks, heraldnomore , Edward and
    Marcia re the taxation thing at 5.00.

Just what I thought and told him. As I said, did’nt want to make wavws, not that I think it would matter, he’s a definate naw. Thanks again.

283. James123

BBC presenter on their news channel just claimed that all the Unionist parties were offering Devo Max, unbelievable.

284. Nana Smith

@Grouse Beater

‘Scotland’s Referendum offers the individual a wonderful, exciting prize’

Loved it accentuates the positive!

285. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Would it be ok if, where appropriate, Yew Choob used images of your campaign materials in any future videos?
    Thought I’d show some manners and ask first, this time.”

Help yourself 🙂

286. kendomacaroonbar

@Kestral

Hi, Can you print on Vinyl ?

287. Grouse Beater

Nana Smith said: Loved it accentuates the positive!

Goodness me, you’ve read it already?
    The ink is barely dry on the screen!
    But thank you just the same.

288. Nana Smith

Grouse Beater

Read soon as I saw the link.

289. Doug Mack

Perhaps as an alternative poster:
    “Bob the Builder, the Union – can we fix it?”
    “No, it’s f****d!”

290. Banock1314

Someone please tell me that secretly we are winning.
    That the polls are all wrong
    I honestly can’t believe that we will vote “no”
    It’s a sad day if this is correct

291. Graeme Doig

Thepnr

Agree with your sentiments there bud.

Spent a bit of time thinking about the psychology of the leaflet (at the same time as putting the kids to bed – clever me) and i think you’ve got it right Stu.

Think we have to start hammering home the negatives of status quo. We’re only getting ‘promised’ (aye right) more ‘powers’ (meaningless without the rest) because we’re throwing a tantrum and threatening to leave home. No is a vote for continuing to beg for handouts and getting told what we’re allowed to have.

Come on Scotland grow up.

YES

292. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“I can have the exact same stuff printed for £64.00”

Absolutely feel free. I went with QuickBadge because they made the page which lets people get stuff easily with the minimum of dicking around and means I don’t have to spend all day organising mailouts.

I’m actually using somewhere else for big orders (5000+) because they’re much cheaper than QB, but it’s a total pain in the hole to use – no PayPal, doesn’t save credit card info, upload images separately every time you order, etc etc – and it’s not worth it for small orders where it only saves a few quid.

If you or anyone else can make things easy for people and save money at the same time, go crazy. The full-resolution files are here:

http://wingsoverscotland.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/06/a5flyer1front.gif
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/06/a5flyer1back.gif

293. James123

Sky News presenter just claimed that if Scotland votes for independence the transition period would be “chaotic”. No evidence provided whatsoever, just his opinion, really got to stop watching TV.

294. Jim Thomson

My tuppence worth on leafleting.

I can see some mileage in presenting the Nos and the Yesses (these words both look wrong, however…) with a timeline of the BT group’s stance on the whole issue. From “Yer getting nothing because yer a bunch of troublemakers” throught to current “Hey folks, you know what, we’ll bend over backwards and make you the best ever Jam Tomorrow”, along with some rationale about WHY they’re effectively lying their way towards 18th Sept.

It could take the form of a numbered/dated series A5 fliers or just as a multi-page pamphlet.

Maybe I’m just too tired and havering, but hey, havering can be sooo creative at times

295. Jim Thomson

O/T (fourth time on this thread – abject apologies to all)

BBC2 Scotland has the turn-coat Oliver doing his version of Bannockburn and on BBC2. EverywhereElse “A Very BRITISH Airline”

Must be getting hyper-sensitive in me old age.

296. TJenny

Re the IndyRef Weekly Review #2: posted her by Icyspark, can someone please tweet the Rev that if he clicks on ‘show more’ under the video, all the links are visible. Ta.

297. Graeme Doig

ps

Don’t believe the polls. i’m pretty sure they reckon there is mileage in making themselves look ahead and these b*****ds will do any thing to con the people of Scotland.

298. TJenny

Re last post, he’s already twigged. 🙂

299. gordoz

@Graeme Doig

Long overdue – leave the positive message to the organised YES campaign.

But ground troops have to tell it like it is during conversations and get the undecided thinking (and the weak No’s – / there are some)

300. Iain Gray's Subway Lament

Excellent material that will come in very handy.
    If I might proffer a suggestion for a possible future theme?

One of the most devastating arguments for Independence I have seen in action can be summed up on one word. Iraq. I have personally experienced apparently firm No supporters pause and seriously reflect when the prospect is raised of yet another obscenity like Iraq being delivered once again from Westminster.

It is quite simply one of the most effective campaigning points to use on the ground, particularly when it is pointed out that it will be young scots dying on the frontline yet again if Westminster business as usual is allowed to continue.

It will also be a useful counter to the Britnat jingoism we can fully expect to be deployed when the WWI ‘celebrations’ start to dominate the media.

301. Kestral

thanks stu

I will get these over to the printer and get them up on ebay

eh also another little point, most people get rather miffed if 3-5 of the same flyer get put through there door

Do you think we should maybe ensure we all don’t live right next to each other, there are an awful lot of us

Eh a link to a page were we can put our street and postcode or even a list of the streets we will be doing and no other comments – then we can all ensure we don’t over post by searching for the street names?

Crownhall Place g32
    Crownhall rd g32
    Shettleston rd G32
    etc etc

then no one double posts 🙂

it is quite important it does really hack people off

302. Thepnr

Got a reply from the organisers of Arbroath Seafest festival for the weekend of 9/10th August. Looks like they are happy to have a Wings stall there so will go ahead and book it tomorrow.

So far 2 volunteers to help out, more welcome. If you live in the area stick your interest down in Off Topic and I will take it from there. Cheers.

303. Clootie

@kendomacaroonbar
    8:38pm

Print on vinyl!

Who are you trying to win over with that?
    I hope you have the figure for it!

304. Colin Dunn

>> I’m actually using somewhere else for big orders (5000+) because they’re much cheaper

You could try saxoprint.co.uk. I’ve been using them for bulk printing of my indyposterboy.info material, and they have online ordering, paypal payment, are very cheap, and you can split orders into as many as 10 separate delivery addresses. The actual printing is done in Germany, but then we’re all Europeans 🙂

305. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“It will look like a Better Together leaflet.”

I bloody well hope so, it’s using their font on the front.

306. gerry parker

@Clootie,
    for some reason printing on lycra crossed my mind there.

307. Paula Rose

Ooh – on lycra and vinyl!

308. kendomacaroonbar

@Clootie

Ya dumpling; it’s no fur me…

it’s (cough) for a friend of mine 🙂

309. manandboy

http://www.scotsman.com/news/stephen-noon-yes-campaign-playing-the-long-game-1-3281617

Stephen Noon is the Chief Srrategist for the Yes Campaign.

In a piece entitled ‘Playing the Long game’,

Stephen lays out the strategic timetable till the 18th.

I was reassured by this bit:-

“Voters across Scotland are not seeking some eureka moment that cascades from the political bubble (whether Holyrood or Westminster). Instead, what will happen, and is happening, is a series of changing attitudes as people weigh up not only the consequences of a Yes but also the costs of a No.

The whole piece is well worth reading

310. TheItalianJob

@manandboy

Thanks for the Scotsman article. Good read.

I’ve been watching Sky’s referendum news this morning before work and all evening after work. Some goood discussions but have started muting the repetative interviews with Broon and Darling as it’s the usual guff from the two of the old wearie twosome, who can’t stand each other.

100 days or so to go to the vote and my nerves are giving me jip, as the reality kicks in. No worries. Calming down with a nice 12 year old Aberlour.

311. Robert Kerr

Totally O/T, Sorry Rev,

“Hundred day countdown” is mentioned in RTs ticker tape display. Watching SophieCo

312. rab_the_doubter

Once more, my head is banging against the wall. Undecided voter says she’s worried about the NHS – for gods sake if anyone knows her please explain it to her. Likewise the undecided student just about to graduate, someone ask her how much her Uni fees were.

The sad thing is that both these people seem to be intelligent so why won’t they look for the facts? Are they so conditioned by the media that they don’t believe there are other sources of information.

313. kendomacaroonbar

O/T Bizarre interview with John McKay and the FM.

McKay broadcasting in daylight outside Holyrood and the FM with a nightime TV backdrop in Aberdeen. brain hurtz…

314. K1

Stephen Noon archived copy.

https://archive.today/HL93R

315. Grouse Beater

Rab said: Are they so conditioned by the media that they don’t believe there are other sources of information.

Take Hapless Gordon – (anybody, please take him!)- the other day he states to SKY front man “Oil will only pay for a third of pensions.”

Interviewer lethally uneducated in Scotland’s democratic deficit did not challenge him.

Continuation of state pensions is assured.

Does anybody think ex-pat Cockneys stuffing their gobs with warm beer and fish ‘n chips in Marbella, snapping their fingers for “Juan” to bring another beer, will sit tight and say nothing if refused their monthly pension because “they live in a foreign country”?

316. T222Deracha

O/T….but does anyone remember “Broken Britain”, the Tories mantra for the last GE. Things are so much better now….;-)

317. rab_the_doubter

Sarah Smith had the ball, 10 yards out, open goal, defence in disarray and what did she do, she did’nt even shoot wide. She tapped it back to the keeper. FFS, she had a DUTY to grill Darling on the mumblegate affair but – nothing.

318. Paula Rose

But… some magnificent blinking.

319. Kestral

ok

I have ordered 5000 as a starter order and will put up ebay listing tomorrow when I get confirmation that printing has started and also some idea from the printer on weight

but right now it’s bed time for moi

320. TheItalianJob

@Grouse Beater

Yes I heard that ref Broon’s pension claim. Total nonsense as we all know.

The amount of oil revenues projected going forward at the current and forecasted oil price will cover a lot more than pensions. And Broon know this. As you say “pensions are assured” as per the parlimentary review statement by the pensions rep to Ian Davidson MP a few weeks back.

Does Broon take us for idiots.

321. Grouse Beater

Well, good friends, do you feel enlightened or flat bored by watching Scotland 2014?

What in it was innovative, illuminating, and enthralling?

Did it fill you with visionary zeal?

322. Free at 63!

@ Grousebeater.
    Not at all – much better reading the Wee Ginger Dug.

323. Mark Coburn

One small point which may have been mentioned before: those quotation need accurate dates put on them.

324. Sinky

Why was Darling allowed to get away with his lie on TV to-night that Scotland has spent more than we earned for the last 22 years. Think it was on STV but can’t be certain as I was channel hoping.

325. Grouse Beater

Free at 63 said: much better reading the Wee Ginger Dug.

Ha, ha! Very good.

Hair MacLary from Donaldson’s dairy.

326. Tam Jardine

Rev Stu

Great leaflets. Just what we need. It will be a real eye opener for complacents. Great for me in my middle class enclave to wake up those still asleep.

Leaving out explicit references to Wings is genius I think. It says “we are talking directly to you”, not “join us”, “buy something” or what have you. It asks 2 things: to think about the consequences of a No, and to vote Yes. Simple.

I would love to think we would have issues with people getting more than 1 but am not overly concerned. I could call myself Tam Jardine EH6 4 or whatever but prob not worth over-organising for the not-bad problem of overcoverage.

Kestral
    Good work- will take you up on that if I can find them on ebay.

O/T Loved the line by Peter Ross on Scotland 2014 re a Salmond V Cameron showdown as opposed to Salmond v Darling:

“You want to see Ali v Forman. You don’t wan’t to see Ali versus some club boxer”. Brilliant.

327. Grouse Beater

Salmond V Cameron showdown as opposed to Salmond v Darling

Cameron has answers to policy challenges. Darling is not in government. He has no answers, only opinion.

328. geeo

@paula rose at 10.54

That was unbelievable!
    I was so engrossed by the rapid eye movement, I thought I was dreaming…
    Ahl get ma coat!!!

329. Lewy Tee Bee

@Rev Stu or anyone else that knows, what is the font that Bettertogether use?

330. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“@Rev Stu or anyone else that knows, what is the font that Bettertogether use?”

Stag.

331. SquareHaggis

@sinky says; “channel hoping”

Now that’s irony. 🙂

332. manandboy

Alistair Darling on BBC Scotland 2014.

Tonight, I was reminded of AD’s appearances on TV & the statements he made about Northern Rock in 2008 , all of which turned out to be fantasy presented as the reassuring truth. Like,
    “In agreeing to that support, the Government had three objectives.
    First, financial stability. In the then prevailing conditions, there was a serious risk that other parts of the banking system in Britain could have been destabilised.
    It was right and necessary for the Government to intervene because of the need to preserve financial stability in the system. That support was successful and prevented further contagion.
    Secondly, the Government was also determined to safeguard depositors’ money and we took action to put in place guarantee arrangements which have been successful in doing so.
    None of the guarantees have been called and therefore there has been no cost to the taxpayer.
    That brings me to my third objective of protecting the interests of the taxpayer.” Telegraph 17 Feb 2008

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/uknews/1578940/Alistair-Darlings-Northern-Rock-statement-text.html

He’s past his shelf-life.

333. manandboy

A-a-and,

The part of his interview with Sarah Smith where he claimed, not once but twice, personal and individual responsibility for some big idea in the BT campaign.
    Sounded like he was trying to make the case for keeping his job. Not very likely with Brown and Cameron keeping an eye on him.
    Perhaps it was no coincidence that Darling was in Shetland.

334. Lewy Tee Bee

Thank you Rev 🙂

335. Schrodingers Cat

o/t
    sorry to bother you but does anyone have a link to the group that were making the YES scotland flags?
    i contributed to it but now i have lost their link

336. Morag Graham Kerr

I’ve been thinking about this leaflet in the light of some of the criticisms above. I think it’s fiendishly clever.

Imagine you’re a No voter, or No-leaning. You see the front and you think it’s from the No campaign. You do one of two things.

1. You accept the front as confirmation of your existing thoughts. You chuck it away. What has changed? Nothing. No good has come of it but no harm done.

2. You think this is a message from the side you’re inclined to support. You turn over to read more, expecting a Vote No message. You read the back. Now you may throw it aside in anger at having been duped, but you may just take the message on board.

We all tend to read the material from our own side and may toss material from the other side (unless we’re into fisking it). This is a clear hook to get No voters to read it.

Similar from the Yes voter’s perspective. Either they toss it crossly as BT propaganda, so no harm done, or they read the back and have a smile to themselves.

Putting it more succinctly, the front isn’t going to change anyone’s mind. Nobody is going to decide to vote No simply from seeing the front. If that’s all they see, nothing changes and no harm has been done.

It’s a ploy to get No-leaning voters to read the back. I think it’s smart. Thank you My Mutterings, I’ll have 1000.

337. Graeme Kerr

@marcia
    the all female cabinet event was great viewing. brilliant advert for collaboration and vision.

338. My Mutterings

@Morag

You can place the leaflet order here: http://my.mutterings.co.uk/shop/product/wings-over-scotland-a5-leaflet
    or contact me via the contact form on my site if you have any questions http://my.mutterings.co.uk

339. chipmonkey

I like the flyer wording. I was thinking about that kind of wording to stimulate some thought. It’s motivational technique…not using a direction (or order – like ‘think again’). No voters can feel bullied too! The status quo is not an option and that is a big point to get across, but it’s more powerful to have people’s thought process come up with the doubt. How many of you actually read BT leaflets? (Drat. My post sat unposted so late now)

340. Viking Girl

Rev,
    You forgot these ones:-
    ‘I don’t know anything about politics. I just vote what my man votes.
    I’m voting ‘No’ because my friends told me Salmond can’t run the country.
    I like what we’ve got, and I want to keep it.
    We’re fine the way we are.
    I’ll have to discuss it with my Dad and brothers.
    I don’t want my country to look like Norway, Sweden or Denmark. I want it to look like Britain.’

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.