A soul controlled by geography

Posted on July 05, 2014 by

In today’s Scottish Sun:

miliforeign

There’s nothing worse for a parent than your children seeing people as foreigners. We’re sure that Ed’s Belgian father and Polish mother would agree.

Marion Miliband (née Kozak) was a Polish Jew who survived the Holocaust, which according to the Labour leader’s fellow registered No campaigner Alistair McConnachie never happened. She was also an Eastern European immigrant, who almost certainly wouldn’t have been allowed into Britain if Miliband’s other No-camp allies UKIP had any say in it.

You’d think that if there was anyone in Labour who would be embarrassed to join in the gruesome, pejorative language about “foreigners” that has so hideously disfigured Labour’s anti-independence campaign, it’d be Ed Miliband. But every time it seems like the “internationalist” party can’t sink any lower, the dog-whistle sounds again.

“To me, it seems a dreadful indignity to have a soul controlled by geography.”
George Santayana, 1863-1952

1. 05 07 14 21:24

A soul controlled by geography | Scottish Independence News

97 to “A soul controlled by geography”

1. Bugger (the Panda)

LCD

The S E of England.

Ed is lower than a snakes belly.

2. TYRAN

So I should vote no because… of his two sons?

Well that’s convinced me. No it is then.

3. Croompenstein

My English relations will never be foreign to me Ed, and I won’t listen to anyone who would shaft his own brother for political gain.

4. DougtheDug

So Ed’s anti-independence argument is as follows:

Scots, give up self-determination because I’ve drilled my kids into thinking anyone who’s not under London rule is a dirty foreigner and they’ll be upset if you become dirty foreigners too.

5. Wings Dispatch

Oh dear God, THINK OF THE CHILDREN!!!

Aye, we are: specifically, the one in four children born into poverty under Westminster troughers watch.

6. heedtracker

Its incredible to think that this whole ukok Westminster farce could be gone from Scotland for good in only a few weeks time.

7. eezy

Desperation….Reeks….

8. Andy smith

“I want them to be able to come here as I enjoy coming here in the future” ed, the time traveller,must enjoy coming here in future to a newly independent country.

9. TYRAN

Man is wrong. There is no family connection to England here. Also this article I posted before on here from Dec 2010 regarding flow of telephone data.

“Scotland could secede from the rest of Britain without causing much inconvenience…

– it analysed billions of phone calls within Britain…

– Scotland is very separated from the rest of Great Britain.

http://www.economist.com/node/17680973
    http://phys.org/news/2010-12-redrawing-great-britain-based-human.html

10. G H Graham

Did you see all those foreigners participating in the Tour de France today, being cheered on by thousands of British, Europeans, Americans, Australians etc, across the hills & dales of Yorkshire?

Shocking!

11. themadmurph

In a world of over 7bn people, it’s nice to know that another 5.3m foreigners will not overwhelm their sensitivities!

12. eddiefaeglesga

I am pissed off with all this media crap,do they think we are too stupid to know what they are trying to do. thick ass…..

13. joe kane

I don’t think the British Labour Party hierarchy know what they are actually saying any more in public, or even care. It’s headline-grabbing pronouncements are about the short-term effects on people of sound-bites nothing more.

Labour expresses constant concerns about the effects of the coalition government’s programme of austerity yet brags that not only does it support government retrenchment and spending cuts but it will go even further if it gets elected.

It’s collapsing under the weight of its own back-stabbing hypocrisy and betrayal of working class values and interests. No wonder Labour for Independence is so well supported and is such a breath of fresh air.

14. Lesley-Anne

Oh dearie me, RED Ed doesn’t want his sons to meet, greet and mingle with *ahem* foreigners then does he? 😉

I think I have a wee bit of advice for him AND his sons. Under NO circumstances whatsoever should you go any where near Heathrow airport, Gatwick airport, London City Airport, London Stansted airport, London Luton airport, London St. Pancreas International railway terminus, Plymouth, Portsmouth, Folkstone or Dover Ferry terminals. If you do go to any of these places make sure there is plenty of empty space between you and everyone else, I’d suggest 100 yards at least, otherwise you could come into contact with a dastardly Johnny foreigner. 😛

15. Murray McCallum

Well it’s a tough choice in deciding whether your country should have the government it votes for or keeping Ed Miliband’s anti-foreigner kids happy.

This whole foreigner angle is really so patronisingly shallow and ignorant. It’s actually insulting they think peopole will fall for it.

16. fluffnik

Do Ed’s kids see their grandparents as foreign?

He should let us know.

17. CameronB Brodie

Another British Labour tool that see’s his own interests above Scotland’s self-determination. Charming.

@Ed Miliband
    You are not merely foreign to me already, you are totally alien and come across as a bit of a spoiled brat. Now unless you have a vote……

18. HandandShrimp

The foreign thing is just weird. One minute they are calling us small minded xenophobes and the next they warn us that we will become foreigners.

19. Big Jock

I am a foreigner.Milliband is British and I am Scottish get over it Ed you don’t own me pal!

20. horacesaysyes

The thing that bugs me most (although I should really know better) is that they are allowed to get away with this rubbish without a single member of the press asking the simple question – “What exactly is wrong with being foreign?”.

21. Bugger (the Panda)

It is the two face approach to UK politics, because they have to do so.

The Janus effect, in fact the Hugh Janus Effect for Milliband.

22. Dcanmore

Ed will jump onto any bandwagon. Just after licking Murdoch’s arse promoting The Sun (again), now it’s those Johnny Foreigners: ‘You don’t want to be a foreigner Scotch people, we won’t like you anymore.’

He’s not only lost at sea with the voters, he’s lost within his own party, another Nick Clegg in the making.

Now where’s that saintly ‘internationalism’ Labour keeps banging on about?

23. Iain Gray's Subway Lament

Hey, if Ed Mliiband is proud of spreading pejorative hate speech about foreigners to his own children then let him get on with it. There are few things more likely to get the backs up of the scottish public than this feeble joke of a labour leader referring to all us scots as foreigners in his ludicrous patronising way.

The only surprise is that he isn’t standing beside a grinning Nigel Farage and shouting “British Jobs for British workers” while he rants about foreigners.

This is the “one nation” Ed Miliband seems most proud of.

http://news.bbcimg.co.uk/media/images/75506000/jpg/_75506566_022667108-1.jpg

24. bookie from hell

French foreign legion

France
    French Foreign Legion – Recruits from throughout the world.

Ireland
    Irish Defense Forces – Nationals of the European Economic Area member states of the European Union along with Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway.

United Kingdom

British Armed Forces – As of 11 July 2013, a new legislative act had passed declaring a ban on all Commonwealth applicants, with the exception of Cyprus and Malta. The Gurkhas of Nepal and citizens from Ireland are also accepted. It is therefore a requirement for all applicants to have resided for 5 years in the UK, excluding said countries.[9]

25. alexicon

I have 2 brothers settled in England with their families. I don’t consider them foreign, but I do consider them staying in a foreign land.

O/T.

Sad news I’m afraid. We have to keep putting up with the hootsman.

http://www.falkirkherald.co.uk/news/business/business-news/falkirk-herald-owner-jp-completes-refinancing-deal-1-3465665

26. Paula Rose

I love visiting countries where they have a different culture and ways of doing things, a different cuisine and ways of producing delicacies – It’s why I often holiday in England.

27. Bugger (the Panda)

“Foreigners” is one of these visceral “fear” words used by all the nastiest regimes since time immemorial.

Foreign means strange, not normal, not like us, inferior and thus leads to stigmatisation.

In the case of the Nazi’s it was the targeting of the “untermensch” which ultimately led to concentration camps and gas chambers.

It was not only the Jews who were herded into that groups and cattle wagons, christian dissidents, gypsies, freemasons, slavs and anybody really who did not fit into the National Socialist ideal of political, racial or genetic normality. Anybody who presented a denial, in any way, of their political philosophy.

You would think that of all people Ed should have the self awareness to understand just how dangerous this crap is.

Short term thinking, short term intellect and short term morals, no vision, no leadership, just dangerous soundbites.

I smell McTernan.

Vote Yes.

28. Bugger (the Panda)

alexicon

Just delays the inevitable until after the post Referendum Yes negotiations.

29. Gordy

The level of deceit that the Westminster government is commuted to is disgusting and I’m ashamed that this country is becoming so xenophobic and the leader of labour a party that is supposed to represent the working class is pandering to the far right and it’s leader is teaching his children that to be foreign is to be a lesser person Scotland must say yes to save us from the corruption and xenophobia of this government and free us to be the socially just country we want to be.

30. Clootie

It’s just too late a warning. I have family in Canada, Ireland and Australia and they are… foreigners!

Family lost to that damned £10 assisted passage scheme others who did not travel to land of hope and glory bu remained “abroad” and therefore foreign by being born in Ireland.

However given Ed’s background and that his favourite NO supporter is from the Yemen. This terrible concept of foreign appears rather strange. Nicole Kidman is not Australian. Keanu Reeves is not American.

Eddie Izzard – Yemen
    Bradley Wiggins – Belgium
    Richard E Grant – Swaziland
    Emma Watson – Paris, France
    Isla Fisher – Middle East
    Prince Philip – Greece
    JRR Tolkein – South Africa
    George Orwell – India
    Joanna Lumley – Kasmir
    Rudyard Kipling – India
    Prince Albert – Germany
    Nigel Hawthorn – SA
    Freddie Mercury – Zanzibar
    Cliff Richard – India

Those born in Britain
    Keifer Sutherland – London, England
    Kim Cattral – Widnes, England

Other examples
    Gene Simmons – Haifa, Israel
    Natalia Portman – Jerusalem, Israel
    Nicole Kidman, Hawaii
    Keanu Reeves – Beirut, Lebanon

Who cares? Apart from Project Fear

31. Robert Peffers

During one period in my working life I was spending lots ot time in London. I got good living expenses but decided to stay in a good, but much cheaper hotel, and thus take my recently married second wife with me.

I knew London quite well but my wife wanted to see London and you don’t see London from a tube train. So we walked, bussed or cabbed. On the very first weekend I was showing her around the areas around Buck House, Parliament and Westminster.

My wife was amazed because I could direct Londoners and foreign tourists to places around that area. What’s more there are areas of London where you will meet Londoners, born and bred, who cannot speak English. Yet this numptie thinks we Scots will instantly become even more foreign to him and his kind than we already are just by declaring ourselves independent of fools like him.

32. Drew Macleod

Just when we thought No/Labour couldn’t get anymore idiotic or insane!! Watch this space!

33. Jim

@fluffnik
    Damn fine question. I have as I am sure many have, relatives in other countries.
    My nephew was born in Germany, still my nephew, not classed as foreign, still family.
    A cousin born in New Zealand, still my cousin, still my family. I have an Aunty albeit through marriage, born in Poland, still my Aunty, not a foreigner.
    Be ashamed Mr Miliband, very ashamed. Your own Mother survived the Holocaust, her apparent crime was being perceived as different, foreign, to Nazi ideals, not part of “The Master Race”, and if it wasn’t for the poles/foreigners she wouldn’t have lived to give birth to you.
    You wish to build walls instead of bridges, promote xenophobia where none existed before even among your own sons. Be ashamed Mr Miliband, very ashamed.

34. Jim

Interesting Wiki entry about his mother:

“Kozak has been described in London’s The Jewish Chronicle as a long-standing human rights campaigner and an early activist for the Campaign for Nuclear Disarmament (in parallel with being described as keeping “a low profile” and being “a very private woman”).[5][6] Kozak is also described as being “a long-standing supporter of left-wing pro-Palestinian organisations” and is a signatory of the founding statements of both Jews for Justice for Palestinians (founded 2002) and a supporter of Independent Jewish Voices (launched 2007).[5]”

You, Mr Milibrand, fell far from that particular tree and kept on rolling.

35. Bugger (the Panda)

Who advises him to spout this keich?

Is he channeling Gengis Kahn”?

36. Robert Peffers

@Clootie says: 5 July, 2014 at 8:17 pm

“It’s just too late a warning. I have family in Canada, Ireland and Australia and they are… foreigners!”

Ach! Clootie, ye forgot a VIP.

Prince Philip, (born Prince Philip of Greece and Denmark). He is the husband of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II. He is a member of the House of Schleswig-Holstein-Sonderburg-Glücksburg, (that doesn’t sound afu Engish, Scottish, Welsh or Irish tae me).

The prince was born in Greece into the Greek and Danish royal families. However, his family was exiled from Greece when he was a baby. Just another foreign refugee who made Britain his home. After being educated in France, England, Germany, and Scotland, he joined the Royal Navy in 1939, then age of 18.

37. Jim

Gene Simmons – Haifa, Israel
    His tongue was born in Palestine. lol

38. Jim

Ian Duncan Smith’s maternal great-grandmother was a Japanese woman living in the then Peking, Ellen Oshey, who married Pamela’s grandfather, merchant seaman Captain Samuel Lewis Shaw, from Ireland.

Source, Wikipedia

39. Jim

Keep them coming guys and put this xenophobic crap to bed.
    Post it anywhere you can, facebook, twitter.
    Are your son’s Grandparents foreigners Mr Miliband?

©fluffnik

40. Wee folding bike

@Robert Peffers

Strange isn’t it?

I walked or cycled round London for three years and can get about west and Central London quite happily without an AtoZ (worked in Kensington, stayed in Kilburn). I liked the way there were different districts and you could get things from all over the world. Many of the locals seemed to have no idea what was in between subway stations.

41. Jim

Freedom Come All Ye 2014

42. Robert Peffers

Laughably I know areas of England that if you live outwith that particular county you are very much a foreigner.

43. James Sneddon

It’s not just people in other countries that are ‘furrin’ to labour it’s the working class, poor and vulnerable as well.

44. Jim

@James Sneddon

Not the real Labour party though, just these New Labour conservatives in sheeps clothing.

45. west_lothian_questioner

My question for ed is.. wtf is wrong with foreign/ers?

46. Jim

Make up call Ms Lamont, “Can ye see ma teeth”?
    “Nah, yur fine Ms Lamont”.

47. Bugger (the Panda)

I used to live in Freuchie and some 6 months into my implantation, the local shopkeeper died so, I went the funeral.

There was no incumbent Minister so they brought a retired one in from about 10 miles away.

The shopkeeper was from the same village as the minister whilst his wife was from a long Freuchie line.

Old John was 70+ years when he had died and had lived in Fruechie for about 50 years.

The Minister’s opening remarks went roughly as follows;

“although not a local man”

Foreign is relative.

48. Jim

@west_lothian_questioner
    Well, according to his logic his Mum will have to go home.

49. Ian Brotherhood

Some older WOS readers will associate the title ‘Love Thy Neighbour’ with an embarrassing 1970’s ‘British’ television sit-com.

Many people have never heard of that tripe, will never have to see it beamed into their homes, and will associate the title with this guy:

Yabby You, ‘Love Thy Neighbour’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J1blo_I18sE

50. Jim

@Ian Brotherhood
    Tripe, I don’t know, the racist was always the one to be made to look foolish. The same with til’ death do us part, they never got the upper hand.

51. Scots Renewables

Warning from Quebec. via Jacques Lapointe and Martin Dubois

What to expect from Better Together (who are consulting with Canada’s Unionist party).

A rally was organised to take place in Montreal, Quebec 3 days before the referendum by sponsors from Canada, Canadian phone companies allowed residential customers to make free 5 minutes long distance phone calls to call relatives and friends in Quebec, to vote No and to come to the rally.where the great and the good from Canada came and spoke. Free buses were laid on carrying between 60,000 and 100,000 people from outside Quebec in Canada. On the day of the rally planes carrying vote no signs streaming from them flew above the massive rally . Many Canadian politicians from outside Quebec including prime Minister Jean Chrétien, Progressive Conservative Party leader Jean Charest and Quebec Liberal Party leader Daniel Johnson spoke to the crowd for the occasion.

The social, psychological and economic impact of the rally is generally viewed as the deciding factor for the “No” campaign. The Yes vote who were in the lead lost by 1% of the votes

Take it seriously before its too late! There is nothing they will not do to keep Scotland in the UK.Hope our story help you to prevent a case of history repeating itself .

Quebec was effectively promised greater devolution (DevoMax) and more powers and then they didn’t get it, they’ve been marginalised ever since and derided for not taking the chance when they had it. To paraphrase one Québécois friend, don’t enter the future as a spectator, it’s a bad deal.

Lux Anderson

52. Les Wilson

Oh well, It was only the other day there was an outcry from BT about children being used in politics, from who – Labour and BT.

However, here we have the head of the whole Labour party doing just that, with the addition of foreigners thrown in for good measure. I guess that must be the green light that well, anything goes.

How desperate is this, they are seriously scared and not at all confident of a NO vote despite having most of the big hitters on their side, the Media, the press, and all of the Union bodies of Government.
    Yet, scared they sure are.

They will be a lot more scared by referendum day.

53. Jim

“Letter-writer Jackson Doughart doesn’t know what he’s talking about. The “Silent Majority of” Quebecers are true blue Canadians like myself. Canadians, generally, are not “risk takers” and Quebecers are no different. The foolishness you are hearing daily is the “Noisy Minority.” There will never be a country called Quebec.”

This was written in 2013, now I know where Cameron steals his material.

54. Seonaidh Ceanneidigh

I sent Ed a tweet asking what his problem with foreigners is. I doubt his Twitter-team will grace us with a reply.

55. Jim

Mr Cameron’s speech was billed as an appeal to the ‘silent majority’ – a term popularised by disgraced US president Richard Nixon. urged voters to “say No to the noisy Nationalists”.

Damn, where have I seen that before?

56. ronnie anderson

@ Ian Brotherhood Ah dont know whit you mean by ( older WOS readers) is that the over 55s cheap rail travel wans you mean,its the Highlights in the Hair dear boy ( poundshops wee spray,walla cheaprail travel,an its only a wee white lie lol.A see you held the fort,& entertained everyone.

57. Jim

Although there are comparisons tactically Scotland is no Quebec though, that was a French colony, never a country in it’s own right.
    This is Scotland, which is a country in it’s own right, shackled to a union 300 years ago by the parcel of rogues and we have a chance to put that right come September.

58. Dcanmore

I live near Brixton and go through it everyday to work, this summer because of the World Cup, I’ve seen more Portuguese and Brazilian fags in the area (among the usual Jamaican ones) than English flags. I wonder if Mr Milliband would want to crack down on these naked displays of foreign nationalism under his One Nation policy.

59. Jim

Nice typo, Brazilian Fags, lol.

60. Bugger (the Panda)

Brazilian fags, how exotic.

61. Bugger (the Panda)

Dcanmore

????

62. Bugger (the Panda)

Dcanmore

63. Jim

“among the usual Jamaican ones”, lmao

64. Paula Rose

Brazilian fags? Very suckable? Just asking.

65. Jim

Do they taste of lilt?

66. caz-m

Is this a racist attack by Irish foriegners on the Orange Halls, Castle St in Paisley today.

FTQ and IRA painted on the walls with an Irish Tricolour tied to the front door.

http://i60.tinypic.com/2wp2zar.jpg

67. Croompenstein

Jeezo Brazilians on the streets of London.. running the risk of being shot to death by our wonderful British security

68. Croompenstein

@caz-m – George Galloway put it there..

69. BuckieBraes

The trouble with Love Thy Neighbour was the fact the script was littered with stereotypical references and terms that today would today be highly offensive, but even then were borderline.

If the aim was to show a narrow, bigoted man being made to look foolish, then the theme was handled much more subtly and cleverly in Rising Damp.

Of course, now we have the No campaign doing a sterling job achieving this in respect of its own big names.

70. Kev

Hang on wasn’t it Ed’s fellow Labour colleague Kathy Wiles as well as other No campaigners who got into a hissy fit last week when accusing the Yes side (falsely) of politicising children? The hypocrisy is truly staggering.

71. caz-m

Croompenstein

You can’t even go out for a walk on a Saturday afternoon now without your front door getting covered in paint by foreigners.

Paisley is Councillor Terry Kelly’s patch.

I wonder if he will mention this on his blog.

72. TD

What’s wrong with being foreign? Most people on the planet are foreign to me and I am foreign to them. So what? I have friends and relatives in many countries and they are foreign. I don’t think any less of them for that and I am sure they don’t think less of me.

This is the biggest non-issue of the campaign. It only becomes significant if you regard foreigners as in some way inferior. So the logic would go something like “Scottish people are now foreign, so we think less of them, can’t trust them, don’t like them etc.” That is akin to racism, but it is actually called xenophobia. It is just as unsavoury as racism, sexism, homophobia or any other prejudice based on a single characteristic.

Shame on you, Ed Milliband.

73. caz-m

Ronnie Anderson

I hope you enjoyed your wee get together last night in Embra. I would loved to have been there. I am away working Ronnie.

74. Giving Goose

Those with power wish to perpetuate it.
    And it pays well, if you are a member of the Scottish branch of Labour. Murphy, Alexander, Davidson and that Tory with the eyebrows will be egging Ed on.

75. Dcanmore

shit!! sorry about the typo folks. Obviously I meant flags.

*grrr no-edit-function*

76. dennis mclaughlin

British Labour at it’s xenophobic best…..trying to out- furriner UKIP 🙁

77. Lesley-Anne

I can only assume that Ed Milliband will be blaming this on those nasty Johnny foreigners then. They must have stolen all the files ready to be used at some future date then.

http://tinyurl.com/o4zosc4

78. Dcanmore

Jean Charles de Menezes was shot dead at Stockwell tube station which is only a mile away from Brixton High Street. Stockwell has the biggest Portuguese speaking community in the UK. Of course being a poor area full of foreigners Ed would never go there for a photo-shoot, won’t be long before the social cleansing policies kick in (goodbye Elephant and Castle it was nice knowing you) to make way for ‘affordable homes’, £300,000 for a two-bed shoebox, that’s who Ed likes to mix with, not working class but the ‘squeezed’ middle.

79. Tam Jardine

Ed Miliband asks “Why would we break apart?” Where has he been the last couple of years? Has he not been following the referendum?

I have, and aside from the reasons I have come up with myself and heard over the years, in this campaign I have come across thousands and thousands, many from this site but from other websites, from articles in the paper, from Yes supporters on the television and from my many conversations with friends, colleagues and strangers.

Surely he has come across a few? I suggest he tries the reference section on Wings ‘New Readers Start Here’ which will give him access to articles on the key arguments. Tut tut man, do keep up.

80. Croompenstein

Lesley was giving it a bit on Bella about how FM has to now come out with a game changer a la King’s ‘have a dream’ speech. I think she is right but she forgets that Alex is the FM of Scotland not a Westminster MP who can forget his parliamentary and constituency duties at the drop of a hat.

I feel that Alex will come out with some game changer when he feels the time is right but this sort of pish from Ed and de facto Westminster can only strentghten his hand

81. Mosstrooper

My eldest daughter, her hubby and the two weans are now Aus. citizens. Not only are they foreign they are upside down.

Oh the horror, the shame.

82. ronnie anderson

@Caz_m yes great nite caz pity you & IanB could’nt make it,getting geared up for the 27Th ( material wise )so see you there,ah hoope your being nice tae they geordies.

83. Lesley-Anne

I’m going to guess that this was a result of all these *ahem* foreigners getting into the House of Lords then eh Ed? Oh wait a minute these are LABOUR Lord’s you know Ed they are Lords from YOUR own party!

http://tinyurl.com/n9o6rpx

84. superjaxx

@Robert Peffer

I was a student in Oxford and had a lovely friend from Sussex. I remember she said her mother couldn’t possibly consider living in the dreaded ‘North’ (by which she was referring to Oxford!!)

85. Luigi

Who would you trust more?

A foreigner or a brother like Ed Miliband?

86. caz-m

Ronnie Anderson

Don’t worry Ronnie, PQ3 at the Quay 27th July 2014, here I come.

Thinking of getting PQ1, PQ2 and PQ3 badges made. Will need to ask about.

87. thegooseking

It’s not a difficult distinction for us to make. Because we’re Scottish, we’ll use Gaelic. Our foreign relatives are our duthchas – the people of our heritage. Scotland is our dualchas – the land of our heritage.

It’s hard to call Scots blood-and-soil nationalists when our own language – the very encoding of our culture – distinguishes between Blut and Böden so cleanly in essentially the antithesis of Hitler’s identification of the two.

What Miliband is worried about here is typical of Westminster’s failure to grok Scotland’s jive at all. And that, I think, is the best reason for independence: Not because Westminster doesn’t share our values, but because it doesn’t even understand them.

88. Tacos del Manicos

“Not because Westminster doesn’t share our values, but because it doesn’t even understand them”
    Great statement, Gooseking. Milliband is on a different planet, not a different country. His mindset is in meltdown.

89. Chic McGregor

Meanwhile, I’m sure we all wish Ed every success in his mission to convince the rest of the world that he is actually of this planet.

90. Croompenstein

@Chic- It’s like the Roman Empire with them, they stab their sisters and brothers in the back and close ranks when the systematic abuse of children is investigated.

91. Chic McGregor

@Croompenstein

Yep, the first three letters of ‘Democracy’ should be replaced with ‘Hyp’ in a UK context.

92. Roll_On_2014

I wonder if Ed thinks of his brother Dave as a foreigner… he lives in the USA. If he does, I presume if Dave had moved to the Republic of Ireland he would be British.

I have only two words for you Ed… Hypocritical Wainker.

93. Marian

Judging by his comments the Labour Leader Ed Miliband is another of those Westminster xenophobic politicians who don’t like “foreigners”.

However the strange is though is that although the present crop of Westminster politicians want to tar people from independent Scotland as “foreigners” it was all very different when Westminster’s Ireland Act of 1949 explicitly stated in Section 2 that “The Republic of Ireland not a foreign country”; viz:-

“It is hereby declared that, notwithstanding that the Republic of Ireland is not part of His Majesty’s dominions, the Republic of Ireland is not a foreign country for the purposes of any law in force in any part of the United Kingdom or in any colony, protectorate or United Kingdom trust territory, whether by virtue of a rule of law or of an Act of Parliament or any other enactment or instrument whatsoever, whether passed or made before or after the passing of this Act, and references in any Act of Parliament, other enactment or instrument whatsoever, whether passed or made before or after the passing of this Act, to foreigners, aliens, foreign countries, and foreign or foreign-built ships or aircraft shall be construed accordingly.”

It appears therefore that a special “punishment” is being reserved for the people of Scotland by Westminster because YES are using democratic means instead of using bombs and bullets to gain independence.

By the way this whole issue shows just how far up to their necks the BBC and newsprint media are conspiring with Westminster to propagate lies – a few minutes research would have come up with this information which any proper journalist could have used to demolish Miliband’s lies.

94. Tom Foyle

Hmmm. Just out of interest, the Isle of Man, (doing very well, thank you very much), is in the position that hopefully Scotland will soon find itself in, well sort of, anyway…Are the Manx people regarded as foreigners by Milliband and co.? Just wondering…

95. Bob Malcolm

I can’t wait to escape from these idiots in London. I am sure that the people of Scotland and rUK will enjoy friendly and benefical relationships, I am also sure that there will be a great deal of cooperation on aspects such as security and a great deal of cross border discussion on many other issues. I looks like we will be in the EU and rUK will be out, that can only help inward investments into this country. I look forward to living in a fairer society with a puplic owned and run NHS and State Education system. The whole thing is not about foreigners, the government in London does not represent the wishes and aspirations of the Scottish people and politically we need go in a different direction. It is likely that a Scottsih Labour party would return to pre Blair policies and the consevatives wpild move back their Whole Nation position of the 1950s. Would London continue on its present disaterous road (privatise everything in site, hammer the people on wellfare and waste billions on foreign adventures, make the rich richer and the poor poorer)? Who knows, who cares.

96. Muscleguy

@Dcanmore

Here in the Ferry there’s a Brazillian flag in the back yard of a house. It can clearly be seen from the A92. Surely something should be done?

I was on the other side of the road when I spotted it, otherwise I would have marched over there and if anyone was about shouted ‘C’mon Brasil!’. That would show them.

97. biggpolmont

Message to Ed. Please educate your kids better. Are they at a the local grammar school, the secondary modern or are they perhaps home tutored. Get them out of that school or they will never amount to anything. So young to be so blinkered to the truth. What a shame, get them a decent education and stop trying to exploit their ignorance. You know something Ed?. I have two sons. They have their own opinions that they have fashioned through education and research. They are both working every spare hour they can to help our country to come to the same conclusion..That the only way that Scotland will thrive will be if we vote YES.
    I dont really care what your kids think. They & you are an utter irrelevance to me. I do care about my sons and their partners and any future grandchildren. This referendum is not about England ,the feelings of its inhabitants or how they choose to view their neighbours Its not even about the piss poor education of its children. its about Scotland, its people and how we want to be governed.
    I have not and never will exploit my sons for a photo op and I am so proud that my sons have grown up with enquiring minds that will help lead us away from benefits, food banks and injustice.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.