A slow politics day

Posted on February 01, 2015 by

Blah blah Jim Murphy blah blah idiot something.

tennis

The way this match is going, we’ll see you sometime in April.

1. 01 02 15 12:42

A slow politics day - Speymouth

64 to “A slow politics day”

1. Capella

Who won?

2. Dorothy Devine

Can’t watch – my nerves can’t take it.
    Somebody let me know how our boy is doing and how his fiancée is swearing!

3. Grouse Beater

It’s an epic battle between two great athletes! 🙂

4. heedtracker

Young Scottish YES voter thrills planet earth!

Meanwhile, back in teamGB land Scottish region https://archive.today/eVFuu

Did we really lose to these hootsman tory boy/idiots?

5. G H Graham

Oscillating between “Scottish” when a point down & “British” when a point up, must be nauseating for the man.

6. Doug

Heedtracker

Couldn’t even get the name/picture right. Rest is pish too.

7. donald anderson

Butcher’s Apron time if he wins.

8. Grouse Beater

I think some spectators tried to raise a banner swiftly removed by ‘security’ guards.

9. Mealer

Tatties ower the side.

10. Grouse Beater

Looks likely to be Djocovic again … sigh.

11. thomas

@heedtracker

cant stop laughing that is unbelievable.

12. bawjaws

how on earth did they manage to confuse Danny and Douglas Alexanders
    in that article

the subs editors must be away watching the tennis

13. Arabs for Independence

Not looking good for Andy Murray. He has played brilliantly but hats off to Djokovic

14. Cuilean

GO FOR IT ANDY!

15. Grouse Beater

Djocovic again. Poo.
    Murray needs to ditch his old energy sapping habit of over-long externalised anger and disappointment.

16. Grouse Beater

Tatties ower the side.

Nice one. Still chuckling. 🙂

17. handclapping

Is this a good time to invade?

18. Grouse Beater

Amazing!!

Murray announced by judge as ‘Andy Murray – a great Scot.’

19. Joemcg

OT see wee dougie rat face wants to keep trident forever housed a few miles from our largest city. Nice one ya English toadie.

20. heedtracker

“Andy Murray, A GREAT SCOT!” Thanks Australia.

21. Tackety Beets

Dam it , that’s twa days in a row sports ain’t been guid t ma !

Ach well it wis a break fae politics for a filey !

Roll on GE 2015

Ah FFS …… Nae Politics Sunday !
    Screen gone a Green an Blue !

Jeeezo

22. Jim McIntosh

Total respect for Murray and Djocovic – that 2nd set was phenomenal, best tennis I’ve seen in a long time.

Good tweet from Robbie Savage, along the lines of “when you see these guys playing tennis you have to wonder about football players complaining of being tired”.

Ah well at least a Djoc won it.

23. Andy smith

Joemcg
    Over at caltonjock there are plans afoot to move trident to Milford haven in the event of SNP sweeping the election up here.
    So from one set of Celtic cannon fodder to another.

24. ronnie anderson

Noo hears me thinking Sally Whitaker wiz a racehorse trainer & horse racing comentator,times must be hard fur her when she hiz tae write fur the Scotsman, stick tae the daytime job sally, am kin ah git ah bucket fu o horsemixture fur ma roses.

Keep them keen, but keep them green.

25. bookie from hell

Better Together

ROBBIE WILLIAMS, David and Victoria Beckham, Steven Gerrard and a host of other top entertainers, sports stars and tycoons secured the rights to save a total of £26m in tax breaks by investing in films, The Sunday Times can reveal.

Many could now face hefty repayment tax bills if HMRC wins its battle to prove that the scheme was tax avoidance. The venture, which is at the centre of a legal battle between the tax authorities and Ingenious, an investment firm, allowed investors the right to tax breaks that were designed to encourage investment in Britain’s film industry.

Documents seen by The Sunday Times reveal the 140 names of those who invested and how much they were entitled to save. They show that Williams, who is worth £120m according to last year’s Sunday Times Rich List, could have secured £2m in tax breaks. Other investors included the Beckhams, who could have saved a combined total of £1m, and Gerrard, the former England football captain, who could have saved £386,585.

Anthony McPartlin and Declan Donnelly, the television presenters better known as Ant and Dec, together could have saved £200,000 using the scheme. Fellow presenters Davina McCall and Jeremy Paxman were entitled to save £150,000 and £50,000 respectively. HMRC is in a court battle against a number of film partnerships, including Inside Track Productions, operated by Ingenious. The case began in November and is due to resume later this month.

26. HandandShrimp

Nice to see Andy back, fit and playing great tennis. He lost his way somewhere when he was winning in the third and didn’t get his mojo back on line but that was a match he was in serious contention for. The first two sets took something like 2 and half hours. 5 set matches are played in less time than that one was.

I am sure the consolation prize of A$1,500,000 (about £800,000) will make for a great wedding for him and Kim. Loved her T shirt 🙂

27. Lesley-Anne

Apologies for going O/T so early but just seen this on twitter.

Calling all ‘cybernts’…”@johnmcternann: Only 1hr til my live Twitter chat #askmct from 1pm #scottishlabour #SNPout

Wonder if McTernan will turn this into one of his usual anti SNP, I hate SNP, SNP bad I hate cybernats thingys. 😉

28. Robert Peffers

@Doug says: 1 February, 2015 at 12:03 pm:

“Couldn’t even get the name/picture right. Rest is pish too.

It’s a Kack Handed attempt at humour – the picture is from Australia and we all know, don’t we, the Aussies are all upside down and we are all the right way up.

29. Robert Peffers

@bawjaws says: 1 February, 2015 at 12:12 pm:

“how on earth did they manage to confuse Danny and Douglas Alexanders in that article.

Ah! Bawjaws, don’t you know we Scots all look the same to the English?

30. G H Graham

A Jock beaten by a Djoc.

31. Lesley-Anne

Sorry for going O/T again but just had a wee peek at who is on Thursday’s Question Time. The full list isn’t up but they have listed Tristram Hunt, Janet Street-Porter and George Galloway.

Not much to say about this except for one itsy bitsy teeny weeny item. The programme is apparnetly coming from Finchley which just so happens to be one of the largest Jewish areas in London and they have Gorgeous George on who is not best known for his love of Israel and all things Jewish.

32. Doug

@robert Peffers.

I understand the Aussie inversion thing! Was more in reference to Danny A’s sudden/spectacular defection from the coalition.

33. Robert Peffers

That Tennis match is the finest Tennis I have watched in my entire life and I’m not even too disappointed that Andy didn’t quite make it this time. The next few months should see him win a few more slams. Now I suppose I’ll watch what is probably the most meaningless football match I’ve watched since the 1950s when I used to watch Edinburgh City play Leith Athletic in minor Scottish leagues.

That was before I was old enough to earn and watch the Famous Five one week at Easter Road and the Terrible Trio the next week at Tynecastle.

34. Flower of Scotland

Great tennis by both guys!

O/t Listened to Gordon Brewer,s Politics Programme for 5mins. He allowed Stephen Maxwell maybe two words into a question on fracking before he interrupted and sneered at him. Never really allowed him to speak. Asked Murdo Fraser same question and let him have his say! He was as bad on Friday on the Big Debate on radio scotland. He is disgrace, accusing Stephen Maxwell of politicking! I ask whose doing the politicking but the BBBC! It’s obviously SNP bad everyone else good now!

35. HandandShrimp

Lesley Anne

I think QT is pretty poor compared to what it used to be. Galloway in Finchley is just trolling.

36. Tîm Criced i Gymru

Brit media had two headings ready to print:
    1. Brit wins Australian Open
    2. Scot loses Australian Open….

nyff said!

37. Lesley-Anne

I whole heartedly agree with you there HaS. When I saw that gorgeous George was to be in Finchley then only one thing sprung to mind … BBC trying to sensationalise a programme that is no more than a “aren’t we great at doing debates” front. For the most part the programme is a joke but it is also, I think, an abstract eye into the political thinking of the BBC.

38. galamcennalath

Confusing Danny and Alexander. It’s on a newspaper website. You wouldn’t expect them to know much about politics. Clearly, they don’t seem to follow it.

39. Robert Peffers

@:Doug says: 1 February, 2015 at 1:54 pm:

I understand the Aussie inversion thing!

I gathered that, Doug, and intended to make a further post but I’m using a Media Centre Laptop with a big touchpad in front of the keyboard but I’m using a mouse. So I compose and type the follow up post then drag the heel of my hand across the touchpad and see the post disappear into the ether. So the air turned a wee bitty blue and I went off to make coffee.

40. Albaman

Sunday Politics,
    When is someone going to tell that “Rottweiler” of an presenter, (G Brewer) to shut up, he not only dominates the show,when he should not do so, as a result therefor spoils it completely,
    How on earth Stewart Maxwell contained his cool, I’ll never know.
    B.B.C. At its uncontrolled best eh?, And it is frustrating, and makes one really angry that there is no control over them, so they know that they can get away with it every time!!.

41. Balaaargh

OT, a certain part of the crowd are singing “Rule Britannia” at Hampden.

Deep breath…

42. ronnie anderson

@ Balaaargh Ah like the line britons never never shall be SLAVES .I take it the majority of the attende’s are Scots OH the irony ha ha .

43. Lesley-Anne

Balaaargh says:

OT, a certain part of the crowd are singing “Rule Britannia” at Hampden.

Deep breath…

So glad to hear theat Murph the Smurph, Mcternan, Broon the Loon and Darling the Marlin made it to the game today after all. I was a wee bit worried that they weren’t going to make it! 😀

44. Lollysmum

O/T but important for all Dundee dwellers

News from Electoral Reform Scotland today says that only 50% of Dundee electorate has been matched & transferred across to new electoral registration system.

Voters need to check that they are eligible to vote in May

You can register online but you will need your National Insurance number.

45. Dr Jim

Well there we have it’ wer’e not in Scotland anymore Dorothy
    Follow the Red White and Blue road to the Emerald City
    The Republic of Ireland versus Britgland
    I don’t know why they call it the Glasgow derby, neither support represents where they say they come from
    I wonder if Murphy got a drink, handed out free Daily Records and made them all honorary members of the Labour Party

46. Thepnr

@Lollysmum

Shocking! It’s important not just for Dundee but the whole of Scotland. Do you have a link please?

47. crazycat

@ Lollysmum

Thanks for highlighting that (I don’t live in Dundee though).

I’m confused about this; I was sure that assurances were given that no-one currently on the roll (ie all those who voted in the referendum, plus some) would be removed before the Westminster election, but next year’s Holyrood election might be affected.

Electoral Registration Offices do seem to be checking though. So does what you report mean that they have only got through 50% of their checks in Dundee, or that 50% of people currently on the roll have contradictory records?

Some months ago when I hadn’t heard from my local ERO, and had no response to an e-mail, I did register on-line. Then I got a letter to say I’d been transferred automatically, followed a few weeks later by one thanking me for registering on-line – a phone call established that I was then on the roll twice! So they have some technical hitches; it’s obviously correct that if someone registers at a new address but doesn’t provide their old one, the ERO can’t remove their previous entry (they will be able to once NI numbers are linked), but I did think they would notice my double entry and at least query it.

48. James Caithness

@lollysmum, I was under the impression that everyone is still registered to vote in this election in May. The NEW register takes place for the Holyrood election next year.

49. thomaspotter2014

From Sunday Herald=
    “MURPHY PREDICTS A LATE LABOUR SURGE
    Voters will’switch late and switch big’ to Labour at the GE,enabling the party to hold all 40 of it’s Scottish seats,Jim Murphy predicted yesterday.
    Despite a series of polls putting the SNP well ahead,the Scottish Labour leader insisted people were listening to his party once more,would consider its ideas,and ultimately vote for it”
    This is what I think is Murphy’s inside knowledge that the election results ,especially the massive postal vote can be got at and manipulated by Deep State and Scottish Labour collaborators
    SNP should be making sure that the results are correct and true.
    It’s not like we just recently got fcuked on a dodgy referendum result or nothing.
    Is it????

50. Peekay

@Crazycat

I’m under the impression that 1st time voters at the referendum will need to register again to vote at GE15. Probably why NS is having a push at getting folk registered. I suspect a lot of potential SNP voters were 1st timers at the referendum either through age or prior political disinterest

51. Lollysmum

@ crazycat
    Only 50% of voters have been checked & transferred to new system. This is one time when no one can afford to lose their vote by not checking

52. liz

@Lollysmum I’m getting really frustrated Scotland’s match is the worst in the UK.

This needs some serious campaigning to get sorted.

53. ronnie anderson

DimJim,s like ah 40 watt bulb he,s nae switch but has wan o they puul thingies he,s ah WubbleU.

54. crazycat

Thanks for all the comments about voter registration – it looks as if the problem might be a combination of slow progress by the EROs and lack of information for the public.

We need to keep up the pressure; my local group has put up Facebook posts and has a regular stall. We ought to extend that, though.

55. Thepnr

@Lollysmum

I’m very worried about this. I looked at the map linked and whilst a large part of England is Green(OK) very little of Scotland is.

The Scottish Government needs to send a letter to every household in Scotland telling them whether they are registered or not.

FFS I don’t even know now if I am!

56. crazycat

I forgot to add – I’m just reading Andy Wightman’s The Poor Had No Lawyers, and have discovered that in 1837 Parliament established a Select Committee on Fictitious Votes in Scotland.

Perhaps we should press for it to be reconvened.

57. Martin

What in politics could compare with a poor Celtic against “Rangers” today? Our media is obsessed with these “events” to distract us from reality. Sadly the absence of Rangers 1872 has meant many Celtic fans, like me, saw yesterday’s game as the superior contest and won’t be distracted from the national issues that hugely override football. Murphy, in summary, is fooked

58. Dorothy Devine

Och! Just watched the news – poor Andy he’ll have to put up with the tosser of a BBBC interviewer asking him how he feels!

59. gerry parker

@thomaspotter2014.

As you put your marked ballot in the box, say to the polling clerk ” I wonder how they’ll be fiddling the result this time”.

I know that’s what I’ll be saying.

60. Bob Sinclair

This whole re – registration thing has got me a wee bit worried. Does anyone know the cut – off date for registering?
    When out leafleting etc ‘have you checked that you are registered to vote? will be the first question I ask people.

61. boris

Andy Murray is a fantastic tennis player and ambassador for Scotland.

If he has a weakness it is his first serve which is well below average for a top ten player. This places reliance on his second service which is weaker than most of the ladies.

His brother changed his throw recently and reports are that the accuracy of his first serve has improved markedly.

Andy should do the same. Pistol Pete Sampras would be able to sort his serve out

62. Will Podmore

“The way this match is going, we’ll see you sometime in April.” Wrong again, unfortunately.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.