A passing query

Posted on April 04, 2014 by

278 to “A passing query”

1. kendomacaroonbar

I can’t quite fathom why working in the Pizza business then The royal Blind Asylum then onto pensions management would make him an ideal candidate to be headhunted for an IPTV station ?

Unless the TV station was making programmes about blind retiree Italian chefs ?

2. turnip_ghost

Perhaps a simple email to him to clarify what arts festival it was would keep us all….ahem…accurate as Labour are…

3. Gordon Smith

It was not obviously a literary arts festival, judging by the grammar?

“Ultimately, the company ran out funding but”

4. Murray McCallum

Maybe he did a sponsored jog round Edinburgh when the festival was on? It fits in with the meaning of the sentence.

5. handclapping

Didn’t he say somewhere that he would be honest with his constituents?

No, no, he’s a Labour councillor. He’d never do that, silly me.

6. Jamie Arriere

“his concert with Billy Bragg, Chrissie Hynde, Steve Earle, Joan Baez. & EmmyLou Harris”

A talented boy indeed, wasted as an MP. Must keep a lookout for his new album.

7. heedtracker

This is the same dude that called the Police in Edinburgh because someone stuck a sticker on his office window. So its Ian’s CV and everyone exaggerates on their CV, although probably not quite up to “running the Edinburgh Festival for 7 years in your 20’s” scale.

8. seanair

Liar, liar, pants on fire.
    But he’s forgotten to boast of how he saved Hearts F.C. from relegation and administration, and how he tracked down the notorious OE YES gang who left his office in pieces..

9. chicmac

I do hope he is right about WOS not being controlled though and would suggest that politician’s could make a useful first baby step back to gaining the respect of the public were they to renounce this obsession they have with controlling the media and allow the rebirth of free speech.

10. onzebill

BBC have just announced Margo MacDonald has died, she will be a big miss and a helluva shame she couldn’t be around for a YES vote in September

11. Archie [not Erchie]

@ kendomacaroonbar – Now you missed out the SpiegelTent which appears to be a big favourite during summer months in Bath of all places.

Perhaps the Rev Stu and Mr Murray MP can do a live turn at the Bath BBC Radio studios? 🙂

12. annie

Having renovated 3 hospitality trade establishments in the past 8 years painting that door should be a dawdle.

13. Dcanmore

Wow, running ‘Europe’s largest arts festival’ doesn’t even warrant a mention on his rather scant Wikipedia page. Perhaps Mr Murray could clarify which arts festival he claimed to have run for seven years. Maybe a wee email to Kath Mainland to check the records for Mr Murray’s actual involvement.

14. No No No...Yes

Quick bit of research found this:

http://www.100mphevents.com/Spiegel1.html

“The Speigel Maestro” has even done a webcast of the Proclaimers….

Lyrics include “… Murray no more, Murray no more….”

15. west_lothian_questioner

Apologies for going o/t so early.. Margo McDonald just passed away. RIP Margo.

16. Flooplepoop

i noticed that the other day when looking up on Murray, he must have stepped down for his love of politics seems the only plausible explanation…..

17. chicmac

Oh what a shame, she made a wonderful contribution to the cause of independence.

18. Robert Louis

Is lying now compulsory when you join the Labour party?

19. Jimbo

Methinks Ian likes to indulge a in wee bit artistic licence.

BTW, his boss, the ex English teacher, Johann, will not be too impressed by his poor grammar.

20. Robert Louis

Oh Margo. Very, very sad news. A great lady. My heart goes out to all her family.

21. Vincent McDee

Sorry to interrupt, but Margo is dead.

22. Juteman

Seemingly, his custard pies have to be seen to be believed. Allegedly the best cook in the universe.

23. Jimbo

That’ll teach me. Above post should read: ‘in a wee bit’.

Why can’t we edit anymore?

24. Juteman

I meant heard, not seen. Obviously.

25. thoughtsofascot

I think its fair to say that he is a walter-mitty type fellow.

26. panda paws

Terrible news about Margo. Like others I wish she could have been here in September.

27. Colin

That is funny because he told the BBC that before becoming an MP:

“I was a City of Edinburgh councillor and ran two very small businesses. One was an event management business that specialised in community festival events using Spiegeltents. The other is a small bar/bistro.”

Full story here: http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/10319157

28. Jimbo

Saddened to hear about Margo MacDonald. She’s a great, great loss to Scottish politics.

She has done so much to raise the profile of the independence movement. I wish she could have lived to see Scotland become independent on 19 September.

29. CameronB

I can’t quite fathom why working in the Pizza business then The royal Blind Asylum then onto pensions management would make him an ideal candidate to be headhunted for an IPTV station ?

Might I suggest useful idiots come in all shapes and size. Some of them even have degrees. 🙂

British Labour is tearing itself apart as each claim of personal fortitude or a particular policy LIE undermines another policy LIE, or the personal historical FACTS easily discovered if you take the time to look for yourself.

Tee hee, where’s ma popcorn?

30. Jamie Arriere

Terribly sad to hear about Margo. A great lady who knew her own mind, and a politician many others should copy.

Thoughts also to Jim Sillars, their family & friends at this sad time.

31. Juteman

I’m just sad that Margo, like many others, won’t be here to witness the rebirth of Scotland.
    Thanks for the memories.

32. Peter Macbeastie

Murray is very clearly some kind of aspiring author if that level of invention is anything to go by.

Meanwhile a proper political giant has just died. A great shame Margo did not last to see the day dawn on an independent Scotland; let’s finish the job for her and all those who are no longer here. It would be suitable tribute, would it not?

33. Papadox

Sleep in peace Margo, thank you!

34. Flooplepoop

@Peter Macbeastie
    “Meanwhile a proper political giant has just died. A great shame Margo did not last to see the day dawn on an independent Scotland; let’s finish the job for her and all those who are no longer here. It would be suitable tribute, would it not?”
    i totally agree..

35. Edward

I’m slightly puzzled about the line “enrolled at Edinburgh University at the age of 16” That doesn’t seem right, maybe a typo? All my peer group gained their higher’s around age 17/18 and went on to University, aged 18. You needed higher grade certificates in order to go onto university, you didn’t do higher’s until after you did your O grade passes. O Grade exams were around age 16/17.

It seems strange to say ‘enrolled’ as if it were night school, you don’t enrol, you apply and get accepted

36. Morag

I suppose that explains Jim’s absence from the Yes meeting in Renfrew last night. How terribly terribly sad. One more long-timer who hasn’t made it to the great day.

37. G H Graham

Last time I saw this much puff was on a steak pie.

38. Morag

Edward, it was certainly possible to get to uni at 16 in my day. Bright kids who had skipped a class in primary, and then got all their highers in 5th year.

Who cares what age he was whan he enrolled, what sort of a degree did he come out with?

39. Adrian B

My thoughts go out to those that were close to Margo. We have all lost something in Scotland today – I wish that there were more like her.

40. CameronB

Edward, I wasn’t the most academic but I had JUST turned 17 when I entered uni.

41. kendomacaroonbar

I never met Margo, but always admired her common sense no nonsense attitude. Such a kind considerate beautiful lady in every sense, and I shall miss her; Scotland will miss her.

Rest in peace Margo

42. sneddon

Edward- you can enrol at Edinburgh University and do non graduating courses. Maybe he enrolled for a cookery course? So sad to hear about Margo. My thoughts go to Jim and all the family.

43. Helena Brown

Very sad that Margo did not make it through this year. My heart goes out to her husband of many years and may he continue her work for her, she would be leaving it in a safe pair of hands.

44. Arbroath 1320

Can I just add my name to the growing list who are deeply saddened by the news about Margo MacDonald. I never met her but was always highly impressed by her and her fight for Scottish independence. Our thoughts go out to Jim Sillars and his family at this very sad time.

We all have our own particular reasons for fighting for Scottish independence but can I suggest we add one more reason…let’s win independence fore Margo!

Let’s win this

45. Edward

Morag & CameronB
    Just shows how much I remember (from the late sixties/early seventies). Thanks for clarifying

Morag – perhaps a well fired degree with cheese topping 😉

46. No No No...Yes

My thoughts are with Margo’s family.

STV’s political editor Bernard Ponsonby offers a personal reflection on the life and legacy of Margo MacDonald:

http://news.stv.tv/politics/270499-bernard-ponsonby-life-and-legacy-of-one-off-margo-macdonald/

47. Bugger (the Panda)

Can anyone tell me how to get the internet streaming of the steaming WOSers in Glasgow tonight?

48. Elizabeth Sutherland

So sorry to hear about Margo, a great lady who worked hard for her family and Scotland. Rest in peace.

49. Gillie

“I am the MP for Govan” – Margo MacDonald

RIP

50. bookie from hell

margo

tragic

51. Desimond

If you keep reading, it says Ian Murray was even doing the scaffolding?

Im sure that strikes well into the hearts of his Union supporting buddies!

#Demarcation

52. Another Union Dividend

A sad blow to the YES campaign is the passing of Margo and other persuasive voices such as Stephen Maxwell who were taken in their prime.

Ian Murray is a sleekit politician just ask the local SNP MSP.

He was elevated as a last minute jonny come lately to the position of chairman of Foundation of Hearts by Lord George Foulkes who had burnt his boats after using his position in Hearts fc organisations to slag off Alex Salmond.

Foulkes was a still a Public School boy in London when Alex Salmond travelled every week on Linlithgow Hearts supporters bus to home and away games.

Foulkes used to insist on vetting fellow panellists before agreeing to appear at Hearts Shareholders meetings.

Hears supporters should be very aware of what is in store if Murray ever becomes a director of the club.

Ian Murray’s expenses
    Total Cost (2012-2013)

Constituency and Staffing Costs

Office Costs
    £26,950.04 (second highest in UK)

Staffing Expenses
    £3,607.99

Payroll
    £121,430.23

Direct Parliamentary Expenses

Accommodation
    £17,929.68

Travel and Subsistence
    £11,922.21

Total
    £181,840.15

Connected Parties in the MP’s Employment

Hannah Woolfson (long term biddy in)
    £5,000 – £9,999 Junior Secretary

No wonder he is opposed to Scottish self government

53. Flower of Scotland

I have to add my thoughts of Margo! We was such a bonnie fighter! She fought for so long for Independence, it’s such a shame she won’t see it. She was an outstanding politician! My thoughts are with her family.

All I can say about Ian Murray , is that he seems to be a bit of a weasel!

54. Lesley Chudley

So sad about Margo. She was such a well known name in our house growing up. My mum will be upset to hear this news. To come so close to the vote and the outcome….just tragic. Saw her on that programme about Glasgow theatres at new year and she looked pretty good, although I don’t know how old that was.

55. Roddy Macdonald

The quoted bloated sense of his own importance would appear to be a lift from the boig on his own website:

http://www.ianmurraymp.co.uk/biography.html

Elsewhere on the website he publishes a “contract” which states

“I employ three members of staff to assist me in responding immediately to my constituent’s letters, phone calls and emails.”

http://www.ianmurraymp.co.uk/contract.html

Needless to say, the search is on for the illiterate’s sole constituent who bombards him with so many letters, phone calls and e-mails that he needs to employ 3 staff. Incidentally including his wife, presumably on one hell of a salary since his reported ‘office’ expenses are the highest of any MP. Strange, since most of their operation must be simply forwarding queries to the appropriate MSP.

56. handclapping

Terrible news about Margo. So hard on all those whose lives she lightened.

57. Macart

Just heard about Margo. I see you guys have too.

No words.

RIP Margo.

58. Greannach

That’s terrible news about Margo. If only she could have lived till October. She’ll be sorely missed by very many people.

59. Domhnall Dods

It’s another job for Labour’s truth team 2014 surely?

60. cavalier

Given Mr Bragg’s twitter activity recently, i bet Mr Murray wants nothing more to do with him…

61. X_Sticks

Bugger (the Panda) says:

“how to get the internet streaming of the steaming WOSers in Glasgow tonight?”

You should get it here BtP ;D

http://new.livestream.com/IndependenceLive/events/2888157

I hope the steam works ok – there were some problems with the steam from Renfrew. Kevin from LiveIndy said he might try streaming on Youtube instead of IndyLive, so the link might change, but I’ll be keeping an eye out and will post any other links on the latest WoS article about 7:30.

I’ll be watching, all being well. Wish I could be there ;(

62. murren59

As ma auld mithirr used to say, Murray’s goat a face like a well skelpped errse…

63. HoraceSaysYes

Terribly sad news about Margo, and my heart goes out to Jim, her family and friends.

Lets hope the result in September can do her memory proud.

64. Mary Bruce

Oh, such sad news about Margo, what a shame she didn’t live to see her country become independent. So many generations have come and gone fighting for the cause, we just have to win this in September.

65. SquareHaggis

Och, Margo…

If you’re up there lookin doon, we’ll not forake you.

66. The Water Beastie

Gutted about Margo. I ‘kind of’ met her just after the first September rally. It was the following week, and I was doing some work at the Scottish Parliament (looking for fish in the paving stones – don’t ask…). As my colleague and I came out from the ‘behind the scenes’ area, I realised there was someone behind me at the fire door. With two walking sticks. I had just seen her brilliant speech in princes Street Gardens the preceding Saturday, and wanted to tell her how much I loved what she had said (e.g. ‘we will all have to live together afterwards, regardless of which way the vote goes’) – and completely bottled it, going into FanBoy MeltDown. Thing is, she saw the (no doubt glaikit) expression on my face as I stood at the door – and she realised I had clocked her, and this beautiful wee smile came over her face. I regretted so much that I did not say anything – even more now.

Yes. Let’s win it for Her.

67. Dave McEwan Hill

Having just found out in this month’s Scots Independent that my good friend and fellow campaigner in Hamilton in the sixties the poet George Hardie has passed away I am struck down by the death of Margo MacDonald. I signed her first SNP membership card when I was secretary of Hamilton CA SNP as she joined Blantyre Branch and was at the meeting in High Blantyre, addressed by Winnie Ewing, at which the High Blantyre Branch was formed around her formidable presence.

Every day gives us more reasons to get this thing done.

68. Stuart Black

Rest gently Margo, we won’t forget you.

Such a shame you won’t be here to enjoy the result, but thank you for all your work towards the common goal.

A wonderful, strong woman, and an inspiration, she’ll be sorely missed.

69. Cath

He managed to run out of money for an internet TV station during the dot com boom? Can’t say I’ve ever heard of it. Then he ran an events management company where he was personally involved in everything from putting up the scaffolding…

If he sent that CV to me I’d bin it.

70. Tamson

Can we have a Margo tribute post, Rev? Collection of her greatest hits or the like.

Somehow for me, putting tributes to her under a story about a wee plamph like Murray feels like an insult to her memory.

71. Cath

Can’t quite believe the news about Margo. I’ve never been really upset at losing a politician before, so this is a first. Feel totally gutted to lose her, especially right now.

72. annie

Re the Eddie Izzard show tonight, I wonder how many of the tickets will end up on the expenses of the unionist MPs, MSPs and Councillors. Margo, God rest her, must have consistently had the lowest expenses of any MSP. I remember wondering if Margo could do it on such a small amount why couldn’t they all.

73. Marcia

Very sad to read of Margo’s death. So near and yet so far for her.

I had met her many times over the decades. I remember when she came through to Dundee to take part in a phone in. The local SNP had advertised a series of phone in and hers was the most popular.

Let us win in September for all those including Margo who worked for Independence but did not see it.

74. Murraymint

Murray is rapidly becoming the “Gordon Ramsey” of Scottish politics.

RIP Margo
    Your candour shall be sorely missed.

75. Dcanmore

Gutted to hear about Margo, an absolute stalwart of the independence movement and a thoroughly good person who had that wonderful streak of honesty about her. She’ll be sorely missed. I will always remember her words at the independence rally “If a third of Scots believe in independence, then every one of us has two years to persuade another Scot, and we are home …”

I think we might just achieve that. RIP Margo.

76. Grouse Beater

How sad Margo didn’t get to see Scotland attain its goal.

77. schrodingers cat

aye, C’est la vie! but sometimes it is bloody hard and very unfair

Best wishes to jim and all her family and friends

Aye in scotlands cause and an inspiration to us all

Margo Macdonald, Rest in peace lassie

78. Dcanmore

I see the BBC and media outlets are doing their bit to get Eddie Izzard’s BT show to sell out. All that free advertising! I wonder how many freebies went to the Union Jock journalists and their partners so they can slaver-up glowing reviews positive BT coverage for the weekend editions. Slam in the lamb, British lamb! (as an old BritNat advertising campaign once said).

79. Arbroath 1320

Anyone who uses Twitter there has been a new hashtag been created that you might like to consider using. Donnie Macaulay has created the #LetsDoitForMargo hashtag which he and others plan to use until 18th September I would like to suggest that we all support this noble cause.

80. Dorothy Devine

Ach! A good lady gone and how sad she’ll not be around to see the outcome of the referendum.

81. Alba4Eva

So saddened to hear about Margo.

Hopefully a Scottish Toast to her at the Counting House tonight.

She was one of a kind.
    RIP.

82. CameronB

Arbroath 1320
    Arbroath, much as I am saddened at the news of Margo’s passing, I think we should perhaps be a little circumspect of eulogizing her.

Though a political animal I have no time for politicians or political parties. I do not think that lessens my desire for independence though.

I think we all need to be carefull in what we say, so as not to drive a wedge between prospective YES voters and Scotland’s independence, Just my opinion. 🙂

83. Maria Brown

So sad to learn of Margo’s death -she was a formidable politician and we will be the poorer for her passing. RIP Margo.

84. crisiscult

just wanted to join others in expressing condolences on Margo MacDonad’s passing and it’s particularly sad that she didn’t make it at least till September to see us vote towards making Scotland a better, more just and fair society.

On the Ian Murray point about age, is the idea of his text maybe to make us think he was a prodigy because he ‘enrolled’ so young at Uni? My birthday is in September so I was 16 when I ‘enrolled’, though 17 by the time my classes started (turned 17 during fresher’s week). I wasn’t a boy prodigy, I just went to Uni after 5th year, not 6th year. I’m only a couple of years older than Mr Murray it seems, and think it was pretty normal in those days. I wonder if he waited till he was 18 to drink alcohol in his student union. I’m not a politician so I don’t mind admitting that I didn’t.

85. CameronB

crisiscult
    Snap, my birthday being September 1st.

86. goldenayr

Just heard about Margo.
    My thoughts go Jim and her family.And to all those who counted her as a friend.She will be a formidable warrior sorely missed.

RIP We will carry the fight on.

87. Archie [not Erchie]

My wee memory of Margo – Last year at the Rally I took time out on the grass beside the steep path. Margo plus some family and event stewards headed down the path but it was far to steep and bumpy for her. She stopped, looked at me and shrugged her shoulders with a sweet smile.

I just wanted to grab her and give her a piggy back doon the path but there were already many helpers. I could only nod my head, smile back and gave her a wee clap of my hands. A bittersweet moment that resonates with me today. Rest In Peace.

88. Andy-B

MY my my a Labour MP telling lies, why are any of us surprised about that, Labour MP’s and SLAB MSP’s have been telling porkies for years. Infact I’d go as far as to say new Labour are built on lies.

89. MolliBlum

So terribly, terribly sad to hear the news of Margo MacDonald’s death.
    Wish she could have been here to see a Yes vote in September. Let’s make sure we get one for her!

As for the topic of this thread: I also noticed that claim in Ian Murray’s biography and wondered exactly the same myself: when was he ever in charge of running the Edinburgh Festival?
    I never did get around to researching it, but I suspect that anyone who can turn a solitary sticker into a case of newsworthy “vandalism” can probably turn propping up a drunk caterwauling on a street corner into running an international festival. His highlight/proudest-moment claim appears to refer to the “Concert for a Landmine Free World” which was organised by Emmy-Lou Harris, and not (as far as I can discern anyway) by anybody named Ian Murray.

90. goldenayr

Archie[not erchie]
    I’d have wanted to give her a big hug and then the piggy back.

91. Brotyboy

Margo will always be a part of Scotland’s journey towards Independence.

92. heedtracker

http://wingsoverscotland.com/the-furious-cringe/#more-38651 Margo really was a proud Scot. She’ll always be an inspiration.

93. crisiscult

CameronB says:
    4 April, 2014 at 5:36 pm

crisiscult
    Snap

Snap? Snap you drank illegally in the union bar? This page could become some kind of true crime confession and amnesty. We could invite politicians to come clean about fibs and other misdemeanors.

94. CameronB

No comment. 🙂

95. themadmurph

@Vincent McDee

I concur. Superb! It reminds me a bit of the start of The Rockford Files, for those old enough to remember! For the rest there’s google!

96. Flower of Scotland

Good video Vincent McDee !

97. Dave McEwan Hill

“Och, don’t be silly” Margo used to say to some blethering unionist half-wit and that was always just the right thing to say.

98. HandandShrimp

RIP Margo You were that rare thing, a politician with integrity and genuine warmth. A great shame that you didn’t live to see the vote you fought for all your political career.

99. William Duguid

Just to add my voice to the tributes to Margo. A sad loss, and a great pity she never saw the dream of independence realised.

RIP and condolences to her family.

100. HandandShrimp

Anybody else think Ian Murray looks like Terry Scott?

101. gerry parker

@Vincent McDee,
    The signs outside Lidl are crying out for a wee adjustment.
    The front says”Scotland we are with you”
    The rear says “Have you seen the light yet?
    I’m a bit old for shimmying up a lamppost to add a square “YES” poster to the bottom of it.
    Maybe the Turtles could help here?

102. gman

He ran a pub (southside steamie in ed) and put some marquees up.

103. Bugger (the Panda)

@HandandShrimp

Terry Scot, mmmm, off piste with Hattie Jacques perhaps?

104. Robert Peffers

Rest in peace Margo. My fondest memory of Margo was way back in the early 70s. My late wife and I had just married and our wedding reception clashed with the Local SNP branch annual dance. As all our friends and family were branch members we had a dilemma. We were involved in running the dance so decided to combine the two events. Margo was guest of honour for the Branch dance and my wife and Margo spent the evening sitting together. Sadly neither of them has survived to live in a free and independent Scotland. I picture them now sitting together blethering away as they did that night – in a free and independent heaven somewhere.

105. Bugger (the Panda)

I am a bit of a bonedry concerning sound bites for those who have died, eulogies at funerals, unless they were really close and flowers at cremations, unless they are recycled immediately (no cards please) to old folks homes, hospices and good looking nurses flats.

For Margo, my position is very simple.

She was a Proud Scot with no buts.

I hope some others emerge to pick up her standard, of assisted suicide and other really radical ideas. That is what we will miss most of her; otherwise lost but worthwhile causes, like independence.

106. Dave McEwan Hill

HandandShrimp at 6.18

He does indeed. And I’ve just realised who Johann Lamont reminds me of. It’s Dave Willis. Anybody got a photo?

107. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Donnie Macaulay has created the #LetsDoitForMargo hashtag”

Och, what good does the “Lets” serve there? It’s grammatically painful and it makes it four characters longer for no purpose.

108. Frances

Here’s Ian’s pre-May 2010 election blurb –

http://www.scotlandvotes.com/westminster/constituency-profiles/edinburgh-south

109. Al

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9gtOJrTa8bU#t=63 Whoever made this is a genius. #pray4ian #stickergate

110. Calgacus MacAndrews

The gathering has started at the Counting House.
    We’re all getting “stickered” …

111. Bugger (the Panda)

When does the video go live?

112. HandandShrimp

I should have made the necessary travel arrangements and left the car at home. The Counting House seems like a good idea. I shall endeavour to see if I can attend the next one.

113. Jim

Ian Murray’s Walter Mittyness is now out of control

114. Croompenstein

@Hand and Shrimp – Terry ‘Proud’ Scott

115. X_Sticks

@Bugger (the Panda)

Now

http://tinyurl.com/ohuxs5k

116. Paula Rose

I really think it’s time we left that Ian Murray to stew in his own mess of lies and self-aggrandisement – we have bigger fish to fry.

117. muttley79

RIP Margo MacDonald. Great campaigner for independence and numerous other causes.

118. HandandShrimp

There are seats and everything in the Counting House…definitely regretting not making it there now 🙁

119. MolliBlum

Wonder what Emmy-Lou Harris, the initiator of “Concerts for a Landmine Free World” would make of Ian Murray’s boast on BBC:
    “An event I established and ran raised more than £100,000 for a Landmine Free World in 2004”

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/10319157

120. X_Sticks

@HandandShrimp

I take it you are there H&S

121. HandandShrimp

X Sticks

Alas No I just looked at the live feed and was enticed by the space and relaxed drinking. Not a fan of noisy over crowded pubs. The drinking looks very civilised in the Counting House.

122. finnz

“Ran out of money”
    Perfect credentials for a future ‘Labour’ politician. Obviously had what it takes. I’m surprised he wasn’t Chancellor…

123. the Penman

Rev: #LetsdoitforMargo may be grammatically clunky (lack of punctuation in hashtags is a big bugbear of mine), but it also makes it sound like an invitation, instead of a command (#DoitforMargo). For such a welcoming lady…well, this time I’ll let it slide.

124. caz-m

Counting House.

Got you guys on live stream. Have a good one.

You will need to tell us who you are talking to.

125. X_Sticks

Who’s that at the Counting House with their I-pad

126. Morag

Bit of a female-free zone, isn’t it? I should have gone, for balance.

127. X_Sticks

Morag says:

“I should have gone, for balance.”

They’d have needed more men for equilibrium then!

128. Albert Herring

“Och, what good does the “Lets” serve there? It’s grammatically painful and it makes it four characters longer for no purpose.”

You could lose the “doit” as well.

129. Paula Rose

Suppose there’s only a few of us left here tonight… where’s the wee winky smiley thing?

130. SquareHaggis

Hey folks, I’m in m local Tesco switching all the browsers on and setting their home pages to Wings.

131. StevieMcB

Morag says:

Bit of a female-free zone, isn’t it? I should have gone, for balance.

It’s Yestosterone 🙂

132. HandandShrimp

SqaureHaggis

Simple but effective political activism

I approve 🙂

133. X_Sticks

@SquareHaggis

ROTFLMAO

134. Paula Rose

I’m off to Tesco.

135. SquareHaggis

7 done, one new user reading now, just 3 feet away and having a wee chuckle to myself 😀

136. Jinglyjangly

We have had to leave the building alarms sounding

137. Marcia

I just switched on to the Friends of WoS on the Independence Live site and then the fire alarms went off. It was not me. Honest. 🙂

138. SquareHaggis

Ha Ha, now streaming you guys @ the Counting House live to Tesco Aberdeen!

This is Fun ;-D

139. Morag

Has the Counting House been sabotaged? Fire alarm, now fire engines and everyone outside, but no sign of an actual fire. The sound has gone dead too, though I’m still getting video of George Square.

140. Calgacus Macandrews

The fire alarm went off at the Counting House.
    We are all in the street.
    I think somebody from BT who was listening self- combusted …

141. Paula Rose

And so the will of the people will be trampled upon.

142. Morag

I think it’s OK now, but very odd.

143. Stevie

He is clearly willing to exaggerate and make up stuff – Labourite British nationalists do much worse of course

144. Calgacus MacAndrews

We are missing good drinking time out here on St Vincent Street,

Must be a MI5 plot.

145. Calgacus MacAndrews

It’s OK.
    We’ve started a big alfresco YES meeting while we wait.

146. Morag

You need to get back in touch with LiveStream. He’s all alone in George Square.

147. Calgacus MacAndrews

@Xsticks

Me with an ayePad at the Counting House.

148. Findlay Farquaharson

gutted for margo macdonald.

149. Restlessnative

RIP Margo,”Better lo’ed ye canna be”.

150. Big Jock

Eddie Izzard as Frankie Boyle might say.You are entitled to give your opinion on the independence debate as I am to give my opinion on the hedron particle seperater. Get this Eddie you are not entitled to patronise Scots on their own nation.As for Mr Murray.Rather ironic that your highlight was working with Billy Bragg who is happy with Scottish Independence and would never be seen with a Union Jack sports jacket.

151. X_Sticks

Hi Calgacus!

Watching you all with Kevin’s feed

152. Alba4Eva

Sorry bout my embarrassing performance on stream earlier if you were unlucky enough to witness it.

Eddie Izzard was spotted running away right after the fire alarm… but we are all safe back in the pub now.

153. Alex Wright

One of the many qualities that Margo had, was to see through the layers of bullshit that we confront on our struggle. On the odd occasions that we spoke, (half time at Easter Road) her integrity shone through.

I’m sure she would have dealt with a charlatan like Murray with disdainful humour, which was one of the many effective tools in her armoury.

Really pissed off with this news. You will be sadly missed.

154. Paula Rose

Where’s the link to the live feed xx

155. EdinScot

Margo really did earn the right to see Scotland independent. So sad that she wont. We owe it to our country to tell the future generations of her legacy through the decades.We are where we are due in no small part to fighters like her.

Rest in peace Margo. Lets bring this thing home come september for all time.

156. Taranaich

I was out leafleting for Yes for the first time today. I didn’t manage to actually give away any leaflets – while I’m perfectly happy to converse with people, I also have a great fear of bothering people if they’re in a hurry or just not interested. I decided just to stand at the stall with the rest of the team, who had much more luck, and hold those snazzy RIC “Britain is for the rich, Scotland could be ours” leaflets. I had hoped that someone would just mosey over and ask me what this was all about, but the more seasoned leafleteers got in quick. A shame, I really wanted to chat with a lady who asked what money Scotland would have. I think I’d have a much better time canvassing.

Then I go out with the rest of the Yessers (I need to keep in touch with them in person: Wings et al is great, but it’s good to be face to face with another Yes voter/campaigner just so I’m sure I’m not insane), had a cup of tea. Get back, and find Margo has died at about the same time I was out. Margo! Figure of legend and majesty in my house, as much as Arthur MacDonald, Winnie Ewing, Wendy Wood, Jimmy Reid, and Alex Salmond – gone to join all the past fighters for an independent Scotland, so close to seeing it come to pass.

#LetsDoItForMargo seems redundant: who on earth wouldn’t do it for Margo, or Stephen Maxwell, or Ian Banks – all those who fought for this? This isn’t a sympathy vote – it’s the continuation of her life’s work. And we’ll keep going until we get there.

157. cath

Darn forgot the meet up was tonight. You guys still likely to be there for a while?

158. Calgacus Macandrews

Party in full swing.
    Night still young.

159. Diane

Square Haggis that is just the funniest thing I have read all week, no maybe ever! Actually have tears running down my face! This has cheered me up no end after today’s sad news about Margo. I think she was the inspirations for me joining the SNP in Aberdeen South way back when. I have voted SNP in every election, local, general, Scottish and European since except once, just once, I voted for Margo as an independent on the Lothian vote list which I think shows in just how high a regard I held her : ) RIP Margo, we WILL do it for you.

160. geeo

Sad news indeed about margo, however, personally I would refrain from stuff like “do it for margo” and so on.

Simply by voting YES we will do it for everyone, including those who have actively driven the cause and sadly not witness it come to pass.

A fair and democratic Scotland, BY Scots of all political persuasions, FOR all Scots of all political persuasions, now THAT is what I call a tribute.

161. CameronB

I always make sure the screen is full of separate browser windows, each with a different indyref story showing, when I leave the public library. Hadn’t though of Tesco. Nice one. 🙂

162. Paula Rose

Thanks Morag – bit oopsy but the refresh keeps it goingxx

163. Jeannie

Just finished watching the folks at the Counting House on the livefeed. Didn’t go – having toothache trouble, but it looked great fun. Just realised that from now on I’ll only be able to read their comments in their actual voices.

164. Paula Rose

Jeannie – so so true.

165. Marcia

Peter Curran has put up a video of Margo giving a speech last year.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O8p4w4yegww

166. Dorothy Devine

great to see so many and put faces to names – the fire alarm was a bit of a bugger but at least I met wee ginger dugs daddy while standing outside!

And I have a Ronnie bouquet which I’ll treasure!

167. Dorothy Devine

And the prize for best T shirt goes to John!

168. SquareHaggis

@Diane

Good auld Tesco.
    U ken whit they say “Every Little Helps” 😀

169. gerry parker

Was talking to a young lad serving in a shop today and pointed him in the direction of Wings of information.
    When I went in and out of schools on a regular basis, I used to put the Wings site into favourites on all the computers I started up. Made sure it was in recent documents too for good measure. Well done Ian Brotherhood for organising the Wings meet, and well done to Kevin for live streaming it, I wonder what time he’ll get hone tonight?

170. X_Sticks

I was feeling really downhearted tonight with the sad news of Margo’s death. Unusually quite emotional about it. She obviously got under my skin even more than I appreciated.

The online trip to the Counting House thanks to Kevin’s Independence Live broadcast was uplifting. I know that we can do this. I, and I suspect thousands more, have been galvanised by the loss of Margo MacDonald. We will do this.

Yes!

171. Marcia

STV are to show a tribute programme to Margo after the news at 10.30.

172. westie7

“Square Haggis”
    LOL I leave WoS on screens every time I’m in the Apple Store in Union Square, Aberdeen. So much fun

173. Seasick Dave

I always make sure that the offshore computers have a fair selection of independence links in the Favourites list before I leave the boat 🙂

174. Morag

Best-ever light-bulb joke, from 25 years ago.

How many SNP MPs does it take to change a light bulb?

Only one, but he has to get his wife to show him how to do it first.

175. SquareHaggis

@westie7

Tesco 24 gets a large readership in the wee sma hours.
    Just open up the browser, load Wings and walk away.
    Next punter comes along, sparks up the machine, opens up the browser and what’s the 1st thing they see?
    Bingo!
    But remember folks, don’t send any messages from said machine/s, use your mobile.

176. Calgacus MacAndrews

It’s got to the “pulling and sharing” stage at the Counting House.

Two Wingers are sharing a pint of Bitter Together.

177. Proud Cybernat

Just a thought…

With a number of WoS ppo having emailed Labour politicians (at various levels) to seek clarification of their Devo Hee-Haw proposals, I think WoS should name and shame those representatives that do not respond to their constituents legitimate questions/concerns i.e. those Labour representatives that don’t give a hee-haw about the genuine concerns of their constituents. These (mainly) Westminster troughers are answerable to us but they think otherwise. A naming and shaming campaign should give them the sharp prod that many of them need.

178. bookie from hell

well done stv–nice tribute

179. Jinglyjangly

What a brill nite at the counting house uplifting is the only way to describe the evening must be first time that the readers of an online blog have got together for a social well done to ian brotherhood for organising brilliant nite

180. gordoz

Fair play to Jack McConnell best words he ever uttered in his career tonight on STV.

Margo MacDonald absolute star and pride of Scotland
    Champion of the commom folk.

Margo Yes folk will walk the last mile on your behalf !

Jim – you did well; what a catch man. Keep going for Scotlands blonde bombshell, we all loved her !!

181. Alfresco Dent

We only just heard about Margo and we’re gutted. A real proud Scot.

182. kininvie

Phew! – home on not-quite-the-last-train to Livi. Great evening – good to meet so many Wingers. Thanks to Ian for organising this. We all signed a sympathy card to send to Jim Sillars in the name of Wings.

183. Grouse Beater

JK Rowling-Innit turned up with Darling for the Izzard two fingers to “Scotlandshire?” fund raiser at the Festival Theatre in Edinburgh.

Did anybody really expect an author facing the possibility of loot lost to millionaire tax rules, who writes about a geeky faced oik in a public school for wizards, expect her to want Scotland to make its owns rules?

A night of Izzard, wizard, and gizzard, you might say.

184. Calgacus MacAndrews

Spot the true Cybernat in this photo from the Counting House tonight:-

http://i.imgur.com/kMdJm4H.jpg

(Clue: It’s not the ‘flicking screen”.)

185. Jimbo

Quality night out- thanks for organising Ian. Does this mean I’m no longer considered a lurker?

186. caz-m

This piece of shit, Izzard, on the very day Margo MacDonald dies, is jumping all over everything she stood for.

Margo fought all her life for a Scotland free from Westminster rule.

Margo, you and your family will be in our thoughts as we march to victory on 18th Sept.

187. semus

Thank you Margo.Let us make it a landslide YES for this lady.

188. Calgacus MacAndrews

At the end of a great Wings night at the Counting house there was a final call for a volunteer to go past the Bitter Together office on their way home, and decorate it with stickers:

http://i.imgur.com/zUR9hY0.jpg

189. McNic

Big love to all you Wingers, had a truly phenomenal evening with you all. Ah don’t want t’ sound like a drunk , but” Ah pure love you guys “

190. CameronB

So the imperialists had their get together at the Edinburgh Festival Theatre. I had a stushy with the Director of Edinburgh’s bid to be European City of Culture. I had not long since carried out an initial ground survey of Craigmillar and Niddre, which was to be used by a team of international consultants who put these sorts of bids together. My specific focus was on identification of PLACE

My comment to him; one of the grossest examples of place marketing I have ever seen

His reply was some management-speak justification for not getting to the bottom of things, i.e. the need for radical change.

I left the swanky office on the Royal Mile in a bit of a huff, just having been fed a lot of guff and not having an easy night as I was presently homeless and had been so for some time. Anyway, I got to the pavement just as Her Majesty’s limo pulled by slowly. As she was looking straight at me, I naturally had to salute her.

Thepnr, you’ll need to teach me how to do it digitally. 🙂

191. CameronB

Sorry, Edinburgh Festival theatre = the grossest examples of place marketing I have ever seen

192. Truth

@Steven Seagull

Comments like that will only serve to ensure plenty less yes voters.

If you can’t say anything nice about Margo, zip it!

193. CameronB

Jimbo, come on in, the water’s lovely. 🙂

194. bookie from hell

trolls are out the scotsnman—sad

195. Dave McEwan Hill

In 1968 in my capacity as Secretary of the Hamilton SNP CA I signed the first membership card of an attractive young PE teacher (and her sister if I remember correctly) as they joined the Blantyre SNP. She died today

Stephen Seagull’s post at 12.08 is quite the most offensive thing I have seen in years. I would like to punch his face in

196. Thepnr

@steven Seagull

Here! I thought you gave up on this site, wasn’t for you?
    Had a change of mind maybe. I hope not.

197. Wp

Stephen seagull
    Bang out of order.

198. steven Seagull

Patriots never voted for the occupation forces ever…

…All the diddy labour wankdugs like Sillars seeking for a tub tae thump.

…..Fek aff ya hoorbags!..-We saw u aff right aff.

Liars, ("Tractor" - Ed),Quisling SCUM!..

199. alexicon

“JK Rowling-Innit turned up with Darling for the Izzard two fingers to “Scotlandshire?” fund raiser at the Festival Theatre in Edinburgh.”

Is it true Izzard had a OO flute band as his supporting gig? 🙂

200. Alba4Eva

Thank you everyone… been a bit of a hermit of recent, but tonight was a breath of fresh air.

Card will get to destination (everone in attendance will understand).

Thank you all and see you soon.

Bx

201. CameronB

steven Seagull
    If that’s not a candidate for Quarantine? Sorry mate, timing and fore site are critical to success, so I think some thoughts are best kept to oneself, for the time being. 😉

202. Thepnr

@steven Seagull

HoHoHo steven your wit is tremendous, please can I have some more?.

203. Adrian B

steven Seagull

Bang out of order

204. Chris Cairns

I’m pretty sure I said to a Winger or two that I was planning on making it to the Counting House tonight. Sadly … events, dear boy, events – couldnae make it.
    Looks like it was a blast, though. Hope you all have another one soon.
    Now – drink plenty of water and, as my auld mither says, get off the floor.

205. SquareHaggis

Calgacus MacAndrews @ midnight

WOW! What a brilliant buncha folk.
    Wish I could have been there.

206. Fairliered

On my way home from a great night with really really really nice fowk at the Counting House,
    Thank you Ian and everybody I met tonight.
    Our positivity will totally overwhelm the Bitters bile.
    P.S. Steven Seagull. We don’t appreciate your kind in North Ayrshire. You shit on our chips..
    Margo was an inspiration and a hero. You, and the rest of your fellow better together trolls will only ever be ("Quizmaster" - Ed)s.

207. Andrew Morton

Dang! Wish I could have been there. Terrible news about Margo.

Rev, I’m not one for having people banned, but I believe Steven seagull may be a prime candidate.

208. tartanpigsy

I’m going to ignore that subhuman above, and link to a project I’ve been involved with for a while. It’s at lift off stage. I’ve missed nearly all the Margo tributes and didn’t jump on the train into town to meet up with folk for a pint.

I did however get this fundraiser finished and ready to go.
    Please folks donate what you can, share and retweet for us.

These Yes Saltires will help us deliver the result we all want even more after the passing of the fine human being that was Margo MacDonald.

https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/10-000-flags-for-yes–11/x/2353157?show_todos=true

209. Alba4Eva

Andrew… seconded!

210. twenty14

@Ian Brotherhood – was at the Counting House tonight and was happy to find the man I thought you where you where.
    Was delighted to find the avatar I thought was tall was small, was old was young, was young was old. After the evening was underway I looked around and all I could see was people – normal, everyday people, talking about our Country and how to make it better. There was not a negative vibe in the place – even, despite out conspiracy thoughts of the pub alarm going off.
    John King owes a duty to his beautiful neglected Wife to a 4 star on the 19th, Ronnie Anderson was exactly how I imagined – an older man but with a younger apetite. jingly jangly, john, the lovely TJenny and so many more my brain would have registered if it was not for that damned Guinness.

imagine 100 years from now – ” a small band of nationalist ( cybernats ) met up in local pubs, fuelled by online blog Wings over Scotland, met up at local city pubs, they used the internet to spread information then met regularly for beer and discussions – this, and this alone was how Scotland one its Independence

211. Bill McLean

Just back from holiday to hear the news of Margo’s passing – devastating. Wish she had had the time to see her dream come true.

212. William Duguid

Brilliant night at Counting House. Great to be able to sign the sympathy card for Margo.

For those who wonder what I was havering about when I talked about going home to write about “cybernats”, this is the blog post I was on about!

http://williamduguid.blogspot.co.uk/2014/04/cybernats-ate-my-hamster.html

213. cath

Glad Facebook reminded me and I made it along for a bit tonight. Good to meet folks and see the turnout.

Our friend The creepy drink stealer and womaniser (non Wings person) was hassling girls no end at the bus stop and on the bus later btw. Candy Crush has a use 😉

214. tartanpigsy

https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/10-000-flags-for-yes–11/x/2353157?show_todos=true

Check this out guys Yes flags for all this summer. Serious area of the campaign we need to increase.

This is a cheap, effective way to keep the Yes message in the public eye throughout the summer. Read the appeal for full details.

And if someone more techy than me could lift and post the image that would be great.

215. cath

Thanks for organising Ian! And sorry I never found a change to speak to you. Kept being about to the getting waylaid or you disappeared. Then it was over too soon! Next time.

216. msean

out of order @ 12.08 am

217. CameronB

tartanpigsy
    Has anyone mocked-up one of these flags? How visible will YES be at a distance, or close up for that matter, in a blowing gale, in the rain. We are talking Scottish summer here. 🙂

218. Fairliered

Just home. Thanks to everybody I met tonight for being such good guys. We are gonna win and dedicate our freedom to Margo.

219. CameronB

OK, tonnes of Saltires would be great. 🙂

220. CameronB

steven Seagull
    Wedges are good for keeping doors open, they also help divide society. Time out please.

221. twenty14

@ stephen seagall- doh! seems appropriate at each end of your sentences

222. Flower of Scotland

Looks as if Wossers night was a good one ! It’s a long way from N.E.Fife to Glasgow for a drink, so I hope you excuse me! Went to my local for food and drink as usual on a fri, and people of all denominations talking about Margo! She was very well thought of in all political circles.

223. CameronB

Flower of Scotland
    Would you be up for a get together in Edinburgh?

224. CameronB

Or Dundee?

225. steven Seagull

The pnr…like sillars, a jumper like you,loved it up the coco fae ur brit labour masters before.

Opportunist jobby jabber!

NOT A NAT!

226. Flower of Scotland

I would certainly try CameronB! It’s a thought!

227. Clootie

Margo at the First March & Rally in Edinburgh when the polls had support at 30 percent YES.
    “We only have to convert one each over the next two years…”

Ian Murray – they never expect their claims to be tested. It never happened when the media reported the news. Internet is a real bitch is it not!

What a contrast in two politicians. One with passion and vision and the other….let me be generous and simply say …lacking ability.

228. Fairliered

Rev. Gonnae just ban this scumbag? Please? Pretty please?

229. CameronB

Flower of Scotland
    I’ve posted quite a bit in Off-topic, so why don’t you ask if anyone is interested, on that thread. It will only happen if we ORGANISE. 🙂

230. schrodingers cat fife

tartanpigsy

wee present for ya and i’ll posts links to this on every site i know

Im in North fife too, edinburgh just a wee bit too far away, meeting up might help to boost the local campaign here too? It might be an idea to post yer region with yer name, you never know, we could be living next to each other. but be careful folks, this establishment has its eye on us, no doubt about it

231. Aidan

“Seagulls will actively defecate and vomit on anyone they perceive as a threat, before resorting to dive bombing.”
    http://sciencefocus.com/qa/are-seagulls-becoming-more-aggressive

What a great night at the Counting House! Faces to names and all that. Would love to have spoken at greater length to more people but really glad to meet John King and his Neglected Wife, Ronnie in the street, Thepnr and twenty14, rab-the-doubter (hope you made it home, sir!), cath, other Robert (Kerr?), Alba4Eva, and all you many smiling, friendly Wingers.

Thanks to Ian Brotherhood for making it happen.

232. schrodingers cat fife

Ha ha ha ha
    brilliant stuff william,
    Rev, this guys got talent, you might want to have a read

lol

welcome home mr duguid

“Now we’ve let them get hold of iPhones, so they’re able to go outdoors, meet up in huge gangs and go on…. on…. sticker rampages.” The last two words came out in a scarcely audible whisper, and he needed a nice cup of camomile tea before he could continue.

“Did you read about what they did to Ian Murray’s constituency office?” he sobbed. “Ian takes great pride in its appearance, taking pains to ensure it projects just the right amount of soul-sucking negativity. And those… those vandals…. came along and allegedly stuck at least one and possibly more Yes stickers on the window, in full view of his core vote!

233. Lobeydosser

@ Cath.
    Great to meet you tonight Cath. Glad you got home safe. This is me just catching up with the comments. What a great evening. I loved meeting everyone but my special thanks go to Thepnr for encouragement, John King for laughs and Alba4 ever for enthusiasm. Special shout to Aironaught?(I know bad spelling)for coming along and of course our Ronnie for the beautiful handmade gift for the ladies. Scaredy cat and son too. Calgacus enjoyed our brief meet.

234. tartanpigsy

@CameronB 1:09am

Hence the two designs. Will have sample pics on the appeal site early next week when they’re sent through. The designers and manufacturers are confident the image is strong enough.

I kinda quite like the subtler Yes but others, Stu among them favoured the more direct black outline.

235. Quinie frae Angus

What an utterly brilliant night.

Thanks to Ian Brotherhood for organising it in the first place. He must be feeling it tonight/tomorrow because EVERYONE wanted to buy him a Guinness! Let’s hope he’s got a comfy pillow for the nicht, and some hearty broth for ra morra.

Thanks to whoever was the person who had the good idea to have a wee roll of stickers and pens so we could all write our “pseudonyms” on, for the purposes of initial introductions, which of course quickly became irrelevant as we began to quickly know each other as “real people”, heh heh!

Thanks to Alba4Eva, whose idea I think it was to go off and get cards for Margo for us all to sign, for Jim Sillars, on “Wingers’ ” behalf. A lovely idea which everyone bought into. She is such a sad loss – no need for me to add any more here to what has already been said.

Thanks to TJenny for agreeing that we should “all hing oot” tonight and indeed every other night between now and till September. Regardless of the cost of drinks or when the last trains are between Glasgow and Edinburgh. More nights out to be posted soon, folks! Cheap and/or dear; loud and clear! Aberdeen, Inverness, Perth, Dundee, everywhere!

Thanks to Cath, someone else and the other person, who rescued me from the unpleasant and sinister “interloper” at the end of the night, who was after details to which he had no business. Thankfully he left (with help from the bouncers!) with feck all.

Thanks to Ronnie A, whose lovely hand-made blue flowers for all the ladies present was an especially chivalrous and appreciated gesture. I will be keeping mine for ever!

But finally, a big THANK YOU to Rev Stuart Campbell, without whom there would be no “Wings Nicht Oot” in the first place, nor that thoroughly incisive dissection of the media guff and bunk we are having to wean our family and friends off from on a tediously daily basis. We owe him an unfathomable debt of gratitude which will only be fully realised and analysed sometime in the future, long after independence has been won.

In the meantime, what a great night of camaraderie and cheer. Fire alarm and rude bouncers and all.

Wingers United.

So there. Great British Establishment: do your worst. But you cannot put the genie back in the bottle.

And the genie was oot the nicht.

Big time!

Good night all who were there, and a special wee good nicht to those who could not be there. There will be plenty other times.

Onwards and upwards, folks.

Thanks again, Stu.

Night night.

xx

236. CameronB

Hence the two designs.
    Ah, didn’t spot that. The WEE THINGS eh? 🙂

237. CameronB

tartanpigsy
    I know design is a minefield. 🙂 Personalty I would go with a reverse-out.

238. Lobeydosser

@Alba4ever.
    You are that sweetheart.
    @Jingly Jangly. Left you out of the shout out earlier.Enjoyed every minute of our chat.
    @Quinie. It was Davy rescued ye fae the bad man. What a laugh tonight eh.Great meet should do it again soon.

239. schrodingers cat

replied to tartanpigsy saying i had donated and would help publisise the campaign

replied to william duguid saying i liked his blog, posted a paragraph from it

was it because i suggested to you that you should look at mr campbell?

im not sure what I did to upset you, why you put me on moderation…………???
    why did you delete my posts?

240. TJenny

Tried posting earlier in OT but realised I’d typed my name in wrongly – it’s a pain having to type it in every time – but we will prevail!
    Comment currently in moderation.

Anyway – what a Grand Night Out at the Counting House. To put a face to all the names and personalities I knew from WOS was fantastic.

Ian Brotherhood – so pleased to have eventually met you and a big thanks for organising the whole shebang.

Loved meeting, Kevin the Streamer, Jingly Jangly, Alba4eva, Dorothy Devine, Lobydosser, Gray, John King (are you sure that T-Shirt is for you?????), John King’s neglected wife, the enigmatic Kininvie, Scaredy Cat + Kitten, Quinie fae Angus – you deffo up for a WOS night on say, Friday 2nd or 9th May in Edinburgh – anyone else up for this????

Lots of others I didn’t get the chance to speak to (Cactus?) And last but not least, the gorgeous Ronnie Anderson and his wee blue roses and lovehearts for the ladies.

Oh and the gorgeous Adian who saw me safely home to Edinburgh on the train.

And I suppose we should thank GCC for the disco blue lights + bells. 🙂

Oh, and we all signed a sympathy card from WOS for Margo to Jim Sillars.

Can’t wait for the next WOS love-in – Stu – we missed you – next time maybe. 🙂

241. Alba4Eva

Me …hung

ugh… over. :-/

242. You and My Comb

Great night last night. It was good to put names to faces. Thanks Ian for organising it all.

I think I need to make a wee trip to Arran on the motorbike to view some real motorcycles after last night.

Thanks for the Aye Right cards to go with my ‘Wings’ cards. Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to persuade the wee guy collecting the glasses to support yes. The fire alarm was really bad timing as I was just beginning to talk him through his objections. I hope I did enough to make him less certain.

In reviewing the postings I think I’ve seen an example of ‘Seagull’ posting. Flies in, makes a loud noise, shits all over the place and flies out again. I expect we will need to endure more of the same in the coming months

243. caz-m

Izzard not going down too well in the “Scotsman” comments.

http://www.scotsman.com/news/politics/top-stories/eddie-izzard-begs-scotland-please-don-t-go-1-3365050

244. alexicon

“Izzard not going down too well in the “Scotsman” comments.”

Not to well in the daily malice comments either caz.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2597073/Scotland-dont-Comedian-Eddie-Izzard-launches-new-pro-UK-slogan-warning-independence-no-laughter-matter.html#comments

245. Elizabeth

This made me laugh in a ‘surely no’ kinda way – it’s from a review of the Eddie Izzard gig in The Big Issue:

“…But will Izzard have any affect? The most significant figure might not have been on stage but instead sitting in the audience. Accompanying Alistair Darling in the fourth row was J.K. Rowling. The benefit she could bring if she decided to become actively involved in the Better Together campaign will no doubt be speculated upon over the next few days. Who wouldn’t support a campaign that instead of being #bettertogether was #pottertogether?”

http://www.bigissue.com/reviews/live-reviews/3731/eddie-izzard-scotland-please-dont-go-review

246. scaredy cat.

Hi all

Just checking in to say thanks for a great night. It was nice to put faces to names.
    I would have loved to have spoken to more of you but I’m afraid I got cornered by our strange visitor, despite my son’s attempts to warn him off.
    Shame he was bothering others later on as well.
    Special thanks to Ian for organising it. I hope there will be many more.

247. Grouse Beater

@ Elizabeth

But will Izzard have any affect? Accompanying Alistair Darling in the fourth row was J.K. Rowling.

Izzard, the wizard and the lizard

248. dramfineday

Ah ha – I saw yer (thanks Ian) all boozing up and enjoying yourselves!

Well for those of you with fuzzy heads and generally no weel – get out and join the local YES group and do some leafleting. You know you’ll feel better after that!

I’ll be off shortly to join Edinburgh Pentlands for their super Saturday event at Wester Hailes, come and join us, you’ll feel better for it.

PS Nice to notice the mention of a card for Margo’s family. Very thoughtful. Like most, I was surprised and saddened by the news and would (through this site) send the condolences of my family to her family.

249. Seasick Dave

I’m sure that Eddie and JK were just discussing Labour’s proposed higher tax arrangements with Alistair.

250. Spout

Thanks Ian for a good evening at the Counting House.

I stayed far longer than I thought I would – very good to chat to folk, hear stories and find out what people are up to…

Heartening to know other campaigning experiences and helps spur me on to do more.

Many folk I didn’t get a chance to talk to – hopefully another time.

I’m sure I owe a couple of folk a pint 🙂

251. goldenayr

For all you out there with sair heids.The best cure for my hangovers..Lots of tomato juice,a big fry up followed by fizzy juice and three days in a dark room.

Lucky sods.

252. Celyn

I got as far as reading his biography at the link provided above, and am now feeling very confused.

The biog is obviously written by someone who thinks that Ian Murray is wonderful, and that’s fair enough, and very nice for him, but why is it so strangely written?

Doesn’t he have a friend anywhere who can perform such great feats of high magic as spelling in the normally accepted manner, using punctuation in the similarly accepted manner, and even using the apostrophe correctly?

253. The Tree of Liberty

Alex, as promised, a tenner in the Rev’s fighting fund. Regards,

254. Findlay Farquaharson

hope theres some cheery news from somewhere today.

255. gordoz

Take it that Seaguull clown was an imposter troll from de udder side ?

What a complete deranged numpty.

Rev you seen this stuff ? Hook ?

256. HandandShrimp

Gordoz

Mr Seagull was either an imposter troll (a fairly awful one if the case)or someone with rather individual views unlikely to readily find common accord with others.

257. Grouse Beater

Was “Seagull” a gate crasher?

What sort of contortions did he manage? “I’m all for independence but Scotland isn’t ready for it. Give it another 300 years”?

258. Alba4Eva

Test.

259. Alba4Eva

dramfineday, I got the card home safe and sound and it is from all the ‘Wings’ community, not just those at the Counting House last night.
    ..just about to head out and make Nukes/WMD’s a thing of the past in Scotland… my ‘Hail Alba/Irn Bru’ T-shirt on and a pocket full of ‘Aye Right’ cards.

260. Alba4Eva

I have no idea what is going on here Stu… i can post the word ‘test’, but my last post goes moderation?

261. Croompenstein

I refreshed page and I got an Error 503 service unavailable Guru Meditation?

262. Grouse Beater

Alba4Eva

It means you mis-typed your e-mail address, even by one letter or a full-stop. The computer takes a wee while to check if it really is you.

263. gordoz

HandandShrimp

Segull – Scary though either way; a damaging entity.

Influence ? I doubt it, but quite an effective distraction.

264. gordoz

HandandShrimp

Seagull – Scary though either way; a damaging entity.

Influence ? I doubt it, but quite an effective distraction.

265. Croompenstein

On Steven Seagull’s posts there are people who have extreme views, Thatcher thought Mandela was a terrorist. However I don’t think this forum was the place to air his views. Margo fought for the betterment of Scotland and her people but was crushed in 1979 by Labour’s betrayal of Scotland.

She still fought on though where many would have given up after this duplicitous betrayal. She also battled against illness but carried herself with great dignity and she will be missed by people who shared her vision for Scotland.

266. Grouse Beater

To Murray’s “seven years running Europe’s largest arts festival…”

The ambiguity looks deliberate obfuscation, otherwise state the name of the festival and the job title.

Perhaps he was running the ticket office, or bar?

267. liz

Morning all – enjoyed the counting house last night and nice to meet some fellow wingers.

I have to say I’ve never seen such a band of rampant anarchists before.

Managed to talk to a few folk outside as we were all being lined up to have our fotos took and spoke to scardey cat, wee ginger dug, Tjenny and others and was laughing at ‘You and my comb’ cornering the wee glass guy.

Thanks to ronnie for his blue flower – now sitting on the mantelpiece.

268. Cath

“Thanks to Cath, someone else and the other person, who rescued me from the unpleasant and sinister “interloper” at the end of the night, who was after details to which he had no business. ”

You should have seen him at the bus stop and bus later on! He was desperately trying to get a drunk woman to come home with him at the bus stop (amid a drunken fight between a few other women over a bag of chips). Then on the bus he was trying to “chat up” a poor Russian lass who kept saying things like “that’s none of your business…that’s totally inappropriate…” and in reply to “I’m only trying to chat to you” said, “That’s not chatting it’s interrogation.” Totally creepy weirdo.

269. Ian Sanderson

Margo will be beelin she’s missed the vote….

Higlighlights (for me anyway) of Bernard Ponsonby’s tribute to Margo are @ 2.20 with a (very) young Jack McConnell and her irrepressible grin @ 5.00…

270. schrodingers cat

i didnt no wings was carrying out a panel base poll to be released today

but a troll on the guardian appears to have known this at 2pm……

Dyewitness—– Schrodingers Cat
    05 April 2014 1:43pm
    “is that why the no vote has been in front in every single poll on the referendum question? and that includes all the panelbase polls that have been blatantly rigged by the yes camp.”
    he is dishing this poll before it is published

271. Triangular Ears

I guess I’m a bit late to this thread but it’s been a heavy weekend!

Was great to meet Calgacus, Spout, Breastplate, Ronnie, Quinie, John King and Suffering Wife, Ian Brotherhood, Albamac and many others at the Counting House.

Great night.

As for the drinks stealer, he first told me his name was Chris, then two minutes later told somebody else that he was Billy. He then told me he was Nicola Sturgeon’s wedding photographer, at which point it was confirmed that he was full of shit. Maybe he was Steven Seagull?

My friend (Stan Drews), who I actually already know in real life, had his drink stolen and then the same happened to me later. Then somebody (sorry, I didn’t catch your name), spotted him doing it. He was pouring the contents of the drinks into his glass, rather than just taking the glass, so it was clear what he was up to.

Just before he got huckled out, I took the drink off HIM while he wasn’t looking and hid it behind the ketchup bottles on a far away table. I was hoping to see what he’d do, but he was kicked out before he noticed really.

272. Davey

Did you ever get to the bottom of this one? Its still showing up on Labour websites.

273. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Did you ever get to the bottom of this one?”

He’s never answered the question, and refuses to take the claim down.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.