A great fire in our hearts

Posted on June 08, 2014 by

The latest leaked poster from our spy in the No camp. “They’re pretty sure this one’s legally bulletproof, was all it said on the note in the envelope.

legogh

What would life be if we had no courage to attempt anything?”
– Vincent Van Gogh (1853-1890)

1. 08 06 14 15:17

A great fire in our hearts | Scottish Independence News

188 to “A great fire in our hearts”

1. msean

Is this one a novelty poster? Surely?

2. auslander

Can’t be far from issuing direct threats to people : “Vote yes and we’ll kill you!”.

3. mary docherty

Genius!!Ah want one. Love the wee Lego heid!!

4. Laura Vivanco

I’m not sure your quote from van Gogh’s much of an encouragement to vote “Yes,” though, given that having the “courage to attempt” cutting off one’s own ear doesn’t seem entirely advantageous. You might even concede that, when it comes to our heads and our ears, we’re better together.

5. DocFin

Damn, does this mean I’ll have to buy contact lenses?

6. Ben

I can see another desist order from Lego coming as it’s still in the likeness of their figures

7. Inbhir Anainn

Reminds me of gallus George.

8. Iain

@Laura Vivanco

If the price for being able to paint like Vincent was that at some unspecified future point I ‘might’ cut my ear off, I’d take the risk.

9. Grouse Beater

Scottish politicians at Westminster are terrified of losing their entire careers… it’s a life and death issue for them. After a Yes vote, what next?

Who in hell will offer them a safe English seat?

Death comes in many forms.

10. Bill Dunblane

Now I understand
    What you tried to say to me
    And how you suffered for your sanity
    And how you tried to set them free

They would not listen, they did not know how
    Perhaps they’ll listen now

11. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Is this one a novelty poster? Surely?”

All of our “leaked posters” are spoofs, man. We don’t really have a spy inside the No campaign. OR DO WE?

12. Laura Vivanco

@Iain

But have either side given us a guarantee we’ll all be able to paint like van Gogh? If not, how can we be expected to make a decision? Oh, and when they do, I’m expecting it to be supported by expert opinion (probably taken out of context or misquoted).

13. John Gibson

Is this a spoof, or are they (quite cleverly) making a humerous virtue of their negativity? Can’t make my mind up.

14. Bill Dunblane

*Whatever you do, don’t mention the missing ear*

“I see you’ve stopped wearing glasses then.”

15. Helena Brown

A splendid interpretation but lacks skill in figure drawing. I DO see a Lego ish likeness. Ho hum, another row in the offing.

16. Andy-B

Dare I say van Gogh, died in suspicious circumstances,no gun was ever found, it reminds me of Willie MacRae’s suspicious death, though his gun was found,as for Better Together’s leaflets, after reading some of the claims in them, Edvard Munch’s Scream seems more appropriate.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Scream

17. Archie [not Erchie]

More like Grandpa Woodentop to me. Goodbye children, everywhere or was that something else?

18. pictishbeastie

@ Laura Vivanco

Do you always take everything so seriously?

19. Grouse Beater

How about one of Bacon’s multitude interpretations of the “Screaming Pope?”- “They sell like hot potatoes, so why change the subject matter, deary?”

Or Edward Munch “The Scream?”

Raeburn’s “The Reverend Walker” – reimagined as Darling skating on thin ice.

Or Delcroix’s magnificent “Liberty Leading the People.”

There’s a whole gallery of famous images we can exploit for some rich fun.

20. Murray McCallum

I’ve had it up to ear with Better Together!

21. TJenny

Murray McCallum – ‘ear, ‘ear. 🙂

22. msean

News outlets trying to say it is so to make it so,doesn’t work anymore. We all remember 2010 election,looks like same tactics again.

23. Jamie Arriere

Ah no, if my ear falls aff, everything will be an inaudible mumble.

Och well, it’s not the worst body part that could fall aff. Count our blessings.

24. Weedeochandorris

If the hair and beard had been the right colour, it’s a dead ringer for you Rev. 🙂

25. msean

Oops,looks like I fell for this one lol.

26. Charles Kearney

Is this a Portrait of one of Labour’s Big Beasts? Certainy looks Wooden enough to be either Broon or Reid cut from a lump of cheap Pine!

27. Bill Dunblane

Looks mair like George Galloway wi’ his hat cut aff! 😉

28. goldenayr

Laura Vivanco(or is it “Laura,Viv an’ co?)

Re your glyph

You’ve got the BT employee motto wrong.

It’s..

“For Love ‘of’ Money”.

29. Cyberniall

Lego Hamish meets Alistair Darling.

http://tinyurl.com/nhsvgzd

30. The Rough Bounds

Vote No and it means your balls have already dropped off.

31. joe kane

A superb classic masterpiece by Mincent Van Guff of the British School of Surrealist Unrealism.

32. Cyberniall

Should it not be Vincent Le Gogh?

33. ronald alexander mcdonald

It’s a spook. The next one might be so outrageous and say vote NO and we’ll invade Iraq!

34. Laura Vivanco

@pictishbeastie

My first comment was intended particularly seriously and my second was ironic.

@goldenayr

Oh dear. Cue refs to “English gold has been our bane.” Unfortunately I made it in a different context and although it’s not so good in this one I don’t seem to be able to pick and choose when it appears.

35. joe kane

I hear Hollywood are already making a disaster movie blockbuster sequel based on a probable YES vote – Independence Day II: Jockmageddon.

36. Marcia

‘Ear ‘Ear.

What the pensioners read in the Sunday Post today;

https://archive.today/qIBIF

37. goldenayr

Laura,Viv an’ co

As I thought.

Only a BT employee would think that’s what my name means.

I suggest you brush up your Scots,or Anglish.

38. thomas

@ Joe kane

Mincent van guff ? ha ha ha ha

I once went out wae a lassie that had eczema.

She had crackin tits.

39. Nana Smith

@Marcia

Well that is quite worrying for old folks.I know a lot of people who buy the post and no doubt some will be swayed.

40. Laura Vivanco

@goldenayr

I wasn’t referring to your name. You pointed out that:

You’ve got the BT employee motto wrong.

It’s..

“For Love ‘of’ Money”.

Hence the “English gold” comment: nothing to do with your name.

41. Marcia

Nana

It may sway more to Yes as the article tried to say that Scotland would be okay Independent.

42. Lesley-Anne

Sorry for going O/T here but in case some folks haven’t yet seen this.

http://tinyurl.com/lvm2fad

Speaking at a seminar at the Queen Mary University of London, Sir Nicholas Macpherson conceded that the Treasury had “misbriefed” on a key statistic when it said it would cost £2.7bn to create new departments in an independent Scotland.

Oh dear, oh dear, oh dear. Alistair Darling’s man in Havana, sorry the Treasury, admits that they *ahem* “misbriefed” i.e. LIED about the cost to set up various government departments in an independent Scotland.

43. goldenayr

L,V an co

Really?

You can’t choose what represents you?

A common problem with Westminster.

44. Thepnr

@Nana Smith

I actually thought the Sunday Post article was a bit of a gift for the Yes side.

Sir Nicholas was addressing a seminar at the Queen Mary University of London. He said: “If there’s a Yes vote, Scotland will still be a prosperous economy.”

and also

On the vexed issue of EU membership, he added: “I’m certain if Scotland became independent that it would get in the European Union…

Both these statements from “The economist, who co-ordinated 19 civil service papers on the case for the Union”

His main beef seems to be all about his opposition to a currency union, we have options here of course so what’s not to like when one of their own flatly contradicts BT on entry into the EU and all the guff from the IFS and OBR.

I hope this is more widely reported during the week.

45. Nana Smith

@Marcia

I hope so. This week I found out my interventions had worked with a number of people some of whom were in the no camp but on hearing just a few key arguments and showing the evidence they are now persuading others.

Unfortunately some don’t have access to the internet so a push from the yes campaign is needed soon.

46. Laura Vivanco

@goldenayr

Re Westminster, I dislike the way first-past-the post often forces people into tactical voting and I’d rather there was a fully independent Scottish parliament.

Re the image, I did choose it and I could replace it completely but I can’t get Google or Disqus to change it to something else when I visit particular sites.

47. Schiehallion! Schiehallion!

@ Laura Vivanco

When it comes to our heads and ears, it’s as well to use them for thinking, and for listening – and for those purposes indeed, as you say, ears and heads are certainly better together. As regards Better Together, there’s very little worth listening to amongst the stuff they produce, as anyone will know who uses their head.

You don’t have to cut off your ear to prove your courage.

Though it might be entirely advantageous to do so, say if it’s been seized by a giant shark.

48. Nana Smith

@Thepnr

Yes its great for us who are already in the Yes camp.

His push re a currency union is of course trying to get Alex to blink.

49. Brotyboy

@ Laura Vivanco

I see no ref. to anyone’s name in your post.

50. goldenayr

L,V

Fair doos.

Please consult a surgeon before operating as this may nullify your insurance.

51. Colin Mccartney

O/T – how Slab shadow sports minister thinks we should support our nation at the Commonwealth Games
    “With the Commonwealth Games just a few weeks away, and the eyes of the world on Glasgow, let’s hope Alex Salmond sees sense and leaves his Saltire at home.”

52. TheItalianJob

@Marcia

Welcome article in the SP with the following caveat also by Sir Nic.

“But he also warned a currency union between an independent Scotland and the former UK would carry serious economic consequences.”

Trying to balance Yes vs No but more plusses for Yes in the article in my opinion.

53. goldenayr

Colin McCartney

That’s a belter.

Breaking News

Lab idiot displays stupidity even Jo La can’t sink to.

54. ronnie anderson

Naw me no liky ah’ll stick wie the Buckie an keep ma ears,

that Absinthe makes you do stupid things,is that them

showing us a bit of culture cause we dont hiv any o owr ain.

55. IcySpark

What would an ‘anonymous’ ginger, wearing a tartan tammy say regarding the BBC?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lltAkmud21I

56. Famous15

The Labour Shadow Sports Minister thinks we should support Team GB in the Commonwealth Games.Duh.

57. msean

Does the Shadow sports minister know that the Commonwealth Games do not have A team gb?

58. Thomas William Dunlop

Lets (all) go together

59. Murray McCallum

Interesting blog in tweet from Prof dunleavy at LSE

“Scotland’s support for EU membership could be a defining factor in the campaign for Scottish independence”

http://blogs.lse.ac.uk/politicsandpolicy/archives/42582

It [rise of UKIP] feeds from the growing assertiveness of a type of English nationalism best represented in contemporary times by Margaret Thatcher”.

60. Thepnr

I can just imagine the depression in the No camp this weekend. They had been fairly quiet all week eagerly awaiting the bombshell about to explode on Yes when Obama gave us his tuppance worth.

Wall to wall media coverage with the BBC leading the rout, unfortunately the BIG explosion was just a damp squib and had less effect than a wet fart in blowing apart the support for Independence.

They must be really really concerned now, what’s their next big plan, what ammunition have they still got in reserve?

Their war chest must be almost empty, they’ve already used Obama and the Queen, half of Europe’s politicians and as many scare stories that they, their academics and economists could muster. Still their lead is being eroded as I said there must be a lot of depression in the NO camp tonight.

61. Thepnr

@Murray McCallum

That was a very good read. Ta.

62. heedtracker

https://archive.today/Etflk from ukok French impressionism to the surrealism of teamGB that says Scottish nationalism is v v bad but British nationalism is a thing of timeless beauty.

Come on Englandshire and just aswell Andy Murray cant vote so far, one Scotland flag in a two week Wimbledon ocean of union jacks and he didn’t like it. Poor wee britnats.

63. caz-m

Ronnie Anderson

A just read about your hairy string exploits at Strathy park. (LOL)

Huv you got it patented. Or are ye too tied up in knots with Wings at the moment.

64. Luigi

They certainly do not want to Lego of Scotland.

65. Paula Rose

Considering the high proportion of Daily Mail and Express readers that go to Wimbledon – I think it would be very unwise for Andy Murray to support a Yes vote at the present time.

66. caz-m

Famous15
    “The Labour Shadow Sports Minister thinks we should support Team GB in the Commonwealth Games”.Duh

Does that also apply to the Scottish Football Team. Do we all turn up at Hampden with Union Jacks now and sing “God Save The Queen”.

Or do you have other plans for our football team, like doing away with the home nations and just have one team representing the whole of the UK.

Then it really would be Team UK.

These bastards really do hate the sight of the Saltire.

Did Wee Union Jack McConnell not say something similar a few months ago.

67. caz-m

Did Andy Murray say that he doesn’t like the sight of the Saltire at Wimbers’.

68. ronnie anderson

@ Caz-m naw we were in a rite Pickle at the start, then in Knots of laughter,canny get the quality of Gezebos,but sheer
    Quality of fellow Wingers.

69. HandandShrimp

Did Andy Murray say that he doesn’t like the sight of the Saltire at Wimbers’.

Probably not but the press will write whatever they like. He has had years of brickbats hate messages and misreporting.

70. Laura Vivanco

@caz-m

This is what it said in The Guardian:

Murray said in an interview with the Sunday Times Style magazine that he met the first minister when Ireturned home to Scotland after the US Open in 2012.

“He seemed perfectly nice to me but I didn’t like it when he [Salmond] got the Scottish flag up at Wimbledon.”

The Olympic gold medallist added: “I started competing for Great Britain when I was 11. I’m 27 now and I’ve been competing for Great Britain for 16 years.”

http://www.theguardian.com/sport/2014/jun/08/andy-murray-i-did-not-like-alex-salmond-scottish-flag-waving-wimbledon

71. Thepnr

He was quoted in Sunday Times magazine as saying “didn’t like it” in reference to Alex Salmond waving the Saltire behind David Cameron.

Haven’t read the actual quote just other papers interpretation of it, another non story made out to be something important and to be honest, who cares.

72. Arabs for Independence

Hey Van Gogh – would you like a pint?

Na – I’ve got one ‘ere

73. Paula Rose

I think it’s time we told the rUK they can’t use the Union Jack or the word ‘British’ after we’re independant ; – )

74. heedtracker

Murray quoted by Severin Carrell so it must be true “He seemed perfectly nice to me but I didn’t like it when he [Salmond] got the Scottish flag up at Wimbledon.

I thought it was brilliant and the way the idiot BT BBC camera whipped away from Salmond waving my country’s flag made it even more memorable/surreal.

Also first nasty CiF in Severin’s joyous reportage backing up oor Andy in there sez well done Andy and he’s voting No too. Said CiFer’s profile, he’s from the Cotswolds. So I wont be supporting Andy Murray any more.

Come on Juan Martín del Potro!

75. James123

@Murray McCallum

I’ve had it up to ear with Better Together!

LOL!!

76. hetty

Vincent V Gogh painted with passion, from the heart, he was however, just a very good painter! He was very poor, just like many artists today, unless they sell their soul, and do what the establishment wants…my artist friends and I see a turn toward the old days, only rich folk affording to study and/or make a career from their (art) work. We need to up the status of our lesser well known but very talented artists in Scotland, before they too leave us for good. My point? artists (not your sunday painters types sorry) are still very poor and low status, well, until they kick the bucket usually.

I was at the meadows fest in Edinburgh today, one quite busy YES stall.
    A few feet away a bt stall and next to that a ‘Scottish labour’ anti Independence stall, we saw quite a few folk wearing their stickers, say naw or something. What really annoyed me was the woman standing just by the YES stall trying to infect a couple with her lies who were not from the uk trying to put the fear of god into them. Underhand or what. We wore our YES badges as we always do. Still waiting for a thumbs up one day, Edinburgh is not going to win it for YES, I hope the Glasgow mindset is more enlightened, I suspect that will be the case.

77. Grouse Beater

TV script editor (English-born) at social gathering.
    She has no idea who I am thus I ask prying questions.

She: I started on (mentions soap) as a trainee.
    Me: And what now?
    She: I look after about two dozen writers.
    Me: A lot of responsibility. How many get produced?
    She: (Shuffles feet) With luck, only one.
    Me: Only one? Why is that?
    She: Because only one person in London handles them.
    Me: There’s lots of good Scots writers out there.
    Me: So, it’s really a PR exercise?
    She: (Nods) I feel embarrassed.
    Me: And will you be voting yes?
    She: You’re damn right I will.

78. ronnie anderson

Oh D [ear] y me when will we be Free or settle fur a life in

the Garrett.

79. caz-m

Ronnie Anderson

Do you know of any Pipers that would turn up at Pacific Quay for us on the 29th June?

Or better still Ronnie, a full Pipe Band. lol.

It would go down a treat and give the punters an extra lift.

We also need a “Name” to make an appearance to increase the interest in it.

80. Thepnr

@Grouse Beater

Very good, seems a sensible lass. You should put a word in for her 🙂

I was talking to a colleague today, known him for years but this was the first time I broached the subject of the referendum.

“So what’s your thought’s your view on the referendum”

“I know yours” he says and smiles. “Aye but what about you”.
    “Well their much the same as yours but I don’t think I’ll vote because I’m a foreigner”

“What your not a foreigner, I’ve known you for more than 25 years and I don’t think you’ll be leaving anytime soon”

“Well still a bit uncomfortable as I’m not Scottish”

I said, “Listen, there are around 400,000 English born people living in Scotland. Many will vote Yes but I suspect the majority will vote No. I have no problem with that but if you feel like me we could use every vote we can get”

I left it at that but am hopeful he will come over to the right side.

81. Grouse Beater

Do you know of any Pipers?

We need the one called Pied, to lead the Nos and the No Sures to the polling booth marked “Yes.”

82. ronnie anderson

@ caz-m its a long while since ah hud a chanter in ma mooth

ah forget the scales, wud a good Ranter dey.

83. Peter

Interesting that so many of the Scotland hating racists commenting on the flag story are all sticking to the same script. you’d almost think they were organised by somebody.

They don’t hate the flag it’s just that Salmond broke the rules, oversized flag etc etc. Curiously the rules don’t forbid the flying of any sized flag after a match has finished. I’m sure I saw that reported when the manufactured outrage first broke but as ever the truth never matters with the brit-nazis.

84. Grouse Beater

I am hopeful he will come over to the right side.

Every vote counts, even those of modest voters!

85. Peter

PS. Does anybody really imagine Andy Murray pulling on an England top and competing for them? See his reaction when American moron of a tennis reporter called him English.

86. rab_the_doubter

Peter,
    The final word in your post – not necessary – leave that P**h to the other team.

87. Marcia

I just think that A M didn’t like the stushie about the flag waving that was in the newspapers the next day. The press have been trying to trip him up about the referendum for quite a while now. If he gives the press anything they will twist to their agenda.

88. Shadow

I clicked on the first link above the image, (the “UK split to set back cure for cancer” one) and I was was sure it was a spoof; also, Harry Enfield’s left himself go, hasn’t he?

89. muttley79

The quote from the wretched Patricia Ferguson is not surprising in the least to those who have marvelled at her cringing Jockney routine in the recent past. Patricia Ferguson is the personification of the Scottish cringe.

90. mr thms

Did everyone notice the Spanish and Serbian flags being waved by supporters of Nadal and Djokovic at Roland Garros today?

It wouldn’t surprise me if all flags are banned for the Commonwealth Games to ensure the Saltire is not used by fans

The BBC has reported Seb Coe as saying they were ‘a very British event’.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/commonwealth-games/27746794

He is right of course..

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Commonwealth_of_Nations

“The Commonwealth of Nations, commonly known as the Commonwealth (formerly the British Commonwealth), is an intergovernmental organisation of 53 member states that were mostly territories of the former British Empire. The Commonwealth operates by intergovernmental consensus of the member states, organised through the Commonwealth Secretariat, and non-governmental organisations, organised through the Commonwealth Foundation.

The Commonwealth dates back to the mid 20th century with the decolonization of the British Empire through increased self-governance of its territories. It was formally constituted by the London Declaration in 1949, which established the member states as “free and equal”. The symbol of this free association is Queen Elizabeth II who is the Head of the Commonwealth. The Queen is also the monarch of 16 members of the Commonwealth, known as Commonwealth realms. The other members of the Commonwealth have different persons as head of state: 32 members are republics and five members are monarchies.”

As part of the UK, Scotland is not ‘free and equal’.
    We can change this state of affairs by voting Yes!

91. haud on the noo

I read the Murray interview. If its reported as true then he’s a daft boy as he vowed to keep out of politics, though it does seem to be legit. Trying to get wimbers on his side perhaps ? I thought he’d have more sense than that.

92. Ian Brotherhood

Where is all the coverage of John Reid’s words of wisdom? We need to know for the same reason that pedestrians need to know the whereabouts of dog turds.

93. turnip_ghost

@hetty

I was at Corstorphine fair and there was a BT stand and a SLab stand and combined they were still quitter than the Yes stand was when I saw them

94. Giving Goose

Re Andy Murray. He now lives in England and he has a career and a sporting calling. In the heated atmosphere of the Referendum it must be extremely difficult for a Scottish sportsman.

Remember that Andy has a responsibility that few of us appreciate. Many young people look up to him and sport is a great way of bridging all sorts of divisions. Keep politics out of his game. When the dust is settled I’m sure Andy will be forthcoming with his inner feelings on the subject.

It’s very easy for us, armchair commentators, to jump up and down at this. But remember, all this is diversionary tactics to get us unfocussed. It’s not important what Andy Murray thinks or says. Personally, if he can motivate young people across the British Isles to take up sport, then I’m very grateful.

The real bug bear for the critics is Mr Salmond, the ultimate London Establishment bogey man. More power to his Saltire, I say!

95. TheItalianJob

Gordon Brown on Sky News saying Salmond waving the Saltire at Wimbledon last year made Scotland look small in the eyes of the world.

Full interview with Eamon Homles tommorrow.

96. Ian Brotherhood

How will the organisers be able to keep Yes merchandise out of the Commonwealth Games? Will badges be confiscated?

Methinks they’ll need staff on full-time just to remove stickers.

97. bunter

Aye the walking cringe reckons waving Scotlands flag made Scotland look small. A truly orrible creature is the maniacal Broon.

98. Sinky

So Gordon Brown was happy to wrap himself in the Union Jack when making his infamous “British jobs for British workers” speech and had no condemnation for David Cameron when he waved the Union Jack at the Olympics. What a bunch of hypocrites in the NO Scotland campaign.

99. ronnie anderson

@ IAN bROTHERHOOD, thats why I asked for a crowdfunding for

Saltire to give out to people at every venue, even if its

only at the opening ceromony, & there,s still time to do it.

100. Rock

The worst cringe of all is ordinary people looking up to ‘celebrities’.

‘Celebrities’ don’t give a damn about us – they are only interested in their own careers and pockets.

Andy Murray will think about what is best for himself – not what is best for us ordinary people, that is the vast majority of the population.

Ordinary Scots have for long voted socialist because they believe in the well being of society as a whole.

Let us vote Yes for the same reason.

101. wildgypsyrover

Apparently the top of your head might also cave in with a yes vote….

102. Susan

Could anyone tell me how to get hold of some Aye Right leaflets?

103. Kestral

o/t

If anyone needs yes window stickers they are here

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=181426950189&ssPageName=STRK:MESE:IT

much rather they were on cars or windows than sitting in a box

PS totally shocked how many have been ordered even although I only put them up a few days ago and never got round to posting a link to them anywhere

yet people are finding the listing and buying them,

this is non profit and any extra monies go back to funding which ever group hasn’t reached their spend limit, just want to get these on cars where they get SEEN 🙂

104. Sinky

O /T From Sunday times:

The Wait Time Alliance (WTA), a group which includes the Canadian Medical Association, asks people to “imagine a land” where more than 98% of inpatient procedures and day-surgery cases are treated within 12 weeks and where “up-to-date” statistics and reports on wait times and health system performance indicators are publicly available. It adds: “This land already exists — Scotland.”

105. haud on the noo

Brown really is one despicable twisted lying git. There are not words for him safe to print here.

106. Paula Rose

( Susan got to the last few comments here http://wingsoverscotland.com/off-topic/ )

107. Thepnr

@rock

I hear what you saying, but the worst cringe of all is odrinary working people looking down on those well off for whatever reason and it does happen.

Once upon a time our newspapers actually contained real news and none of this celebrity crap, however it seemed for a short while that this rubbish was what people wanted to read.

TV was dumbed down in exactly the same fashion. The result?

Newspaper sales plummeting, more people on the internet of a night than watching TV. They are dead men walking and of their own hand.

As for Andy Murray, he personally is only doing what he wants to do most, play tennis. Of course he could refuse all interviews and that might be the wisest course until after the referendum. If he wins Wimbledon though, that could prove impossible.

Politics is a funny old game init!

108. Edward

Just watched a clip of Gordon Brown’s interview on the Sky News web page.

Frankly the guy is a complete embarrassment making out that First Minister Salmond waving the Scottish flag, made Scotland look small.

I ask you, how else is someone supposed to celebrate?

I’ve seen in past Olympics, prime ministers and princes wave their national flag in jubilation and happiness.

I want Scotland to slap Brown in the face by voting overwhelmingly for YES in September

109. donald anderson

Whit will Prince Cherlie of the big ears huv tae say?

110. Grouse Beater

Hapless Gordon tells Sky he was embarrassed when Salmond unfurled the Saltire at Wimbledon.

What is truly embarrassing is a disasterous, failed politician, one chronically unable to relate to anybody let alone his own homeland, telling the world he was embarrassed a Scot raised his country’s flag in celebration of a great win.

111. Edward

Just to add, regarding Brown and the supposed comment from Andy Murray.

There seems to be some kind of attack going on against Alex Salmond and the waving of the Saltire at Wimbledon

A bit of a coincidence that the media are reporting two separate interviews that feature the same incident, with Andy Murray, allegedly, not ‘liking it’ and Brown stating that it made Scotland look small.

Remember the event took place last year in July!

112. Thepnr

Yes but it all starts again in two weeks time. Be prepared for it to be played on the BBC right at the start of the tournament when they talk about last years winner Andy Murray and continually show the First Minister waving the Saltire then slagging it off.

This is just the build up to the main event!

113. Grouse Beater

Remember the event took place last year in July!

Neither item is news, certainly not mainstream top of the hour. More like a brief discussion on radio somewhere late evening.

We’re watching black propaganda co-ordinated by our wonderful broadcasting companies.

114. caz-m

So, if all these Scottish Labour MSPs, MPs and Lords who frequent Parkhead, refuse to recognise the Saltire and would never be seen dead holding the Union Jack, then what flag do they call their national flag.

What flag would they say they are proud to hold and call their own.

Genuine question.

115. Robert Louis

Hard to believe people are still getting obsessed with the waving of Scotland’s flag at Wimbledon. All these so called Scots who are ashamed of their own country’s flag. Cringe, cringe, cringety cringe. Talk about colonial brainwashing!

Anyway, heard from friends who were at Meadows festival in Edinburgh today, they said some people had no (‘naw’) badges on, and about the same amount had YES badges on. Overall they said most (99%) had none. Given the demographic of the meadows while most of the students are away, including Morningside, bruntsfield, the Grange (all a bit posh) and so on, I reckon 50/50 is pretty good – although it doesn’t really mean much.

116. Grouse Beater

Murray has already been given his first lesson in humility.

How can we forget he was not given a knighthood?

117. Nana Smith

Look out take cover here comes Gordy Broon

Sing along to the tune of Botany bay

Come close and I’ll tell you a story
    Of death destruction and doom
    All of these things have been forecast
    By a man known as ex gordy broon

This is the same man who once told us
    That he was a chap we could trust
    Well that was an error we should’ nt forget
    As he let the banks all go bust

Last time he came north was to frighten
    To cause some dismay fear and tension
    Gathered all the old folks under one roof
    To tell them they’d not get their pension

Of course needless to say some were not taken in
    By a man who made many a blunder
    These people remembered it was gordy broon
    Who blasted their pensions assunder

So don’t be persauded to vote no
    As the charlatans can’t be believed
    Behind in the wings are the puppet masters
    Cameron Darling and heidthebaw reid

118. donald anderson

Ask Iain Davidson and Brian Donoghue Labour Rangers supporters which flags they don’t object to and why they immediately drape winning athletes with a Butcher’s Apron??

119. Robert Louis

I wouldn’t worry about Andy Murray. He’s made it clear he doesn’t want to get involved. Hos comments have probably been taken out of context in some way, and even if that isn’t the case, it really doesn’t matter. This obsession with the Saltire by unionists is just silly.

Here’s the point all these silly Scottish unionists miss; you will not find a single Englishman who would disown the cross of St.George, in the same ridiculous way these Scottish unionists like to disown the Scotland flag. Can unionists not understand that?

The English don’t slag off their own flag, but unionist Scots somehow think they need to slag off theirs (the saltire) in order to show some kind of misguided devotion to Britain. It really is pretty bizarre.

120. Croompenstein

Hold the front page..First Minister of Scotland waves country’s flag when Scottish athlete wins tennis tournament..

121. Tam Jardine

I think the really bitter pill for the media and better together to swallow is how little importance the Scottish population places on these celebrities, sportsmen and women, actors and foreign politicians and their opinions/instructions.

Mr Obama gives muted support to the union for his own ends and all us on the Yes side are meant to lose our mojo and capitulate. I love Andy Murray but my reaction if he came out against indy would be great – he lives in England so I’ll pay him no heed as he is irrelevant.

Having said that, I do enjoy reading the list from National Collective of the hordes from our creative industries who have declared for Yes, most with a vote, some without. I like their reasons.

http://nationalcollective.com/2014/01/26/100-artists-and-creatives-who-support-scottish-independence/

The list contains some big names and sone who will struggle by under financial constraints like the rest of us.

It has impressed me no end how so many people from all backgrounds, from business, the arts, sport, even the odd journalist have shown solidarity with the people of Scotland and walk this long road to Independence by our side.

The people will decide and everyone registered to vote is equal in the eyes of the ballot box. No one else exists to him.

Barack has not even made a dent. Who else you got?

122. Papadox

Go to USA and tell the president he shouldn’t be proud of old faithful. YOU WOULD GET LYNCHED.

There is something serious amiss with our supposed politicians who gloat at running down their own country, flag and people. These are TRAITORS of the highest order, and they are proud of it.

MONEY IS THEIR GOD, THEY ARE A DISGRACE,

123. caz-m

And don’t you think David Cameron will have the English flag out when Engerland are playing in the World Cup.

Wouldnea surprise me if Scottish Labour are all sitting with their wee St Georges flags during the World Cup.

124. Edward

Prince Harry in England shirt holding English flag
    http://i.telegraph.co.uk/multimedia/archive/01404/harry_1404407c.jpg

Prince Harry in England top cheering on England
    http://cdn.bleacherreport.net/images_root/slides/photos/002/039/219/PrinceHarryArsenal_display_image.jpg?1332065001

David Cameron with ‘England united, the world invited’ top
    http://i.telegraph.co.uk/multimedia/archive/01760/david-cameron_1760267b.jpg

Gordon Brown supporting England
    http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2010/11/13/article-1329349-04FD27EE000005DC-875_634x316.jpg

Boris Johnson waving English flag
    http://steveunclesenglishdemocrats.files.wordpress.com/2012/09/boris-johnson-agrees-with-the-english-democrats-not-the-scottish-conservatives.jpg

But as soon as a Jock has the cheek to wave the Scottish flag in jubilation at Wimbeldon, that’s not on

125. caz-m

John Reid, Baron Reid of Cardowan.

Does anyone have a link to when and where he will be appearing. I have to ask him a question to his face.

“Lord Reid, after we vote YES to become an Independent Nation once again, will you then simply be known as wee John Reid from Bellshill?”

“Is that why you and your partners in crime are so concerned about the ending of this rotten Union?”

“You know you will loss everything and you are only worried of the loss that will affect you”.

126. Mary Bruce

Thanks for the photo links, Edward, I have tweeted them, they deserve to be seen by a wider audience.

127. caz-m

FFS. Just saw Brown slaughter the Saltire on Sky News. That guy is an utter arse. Many thousands will flock to YES once it sinks in what that eejit just said.

How can you be ashamed of your national flag?

So is it Union Jacks or nothing, Gordon?

Sky News/BBC are going to kick the shit out of us tomorrow on the 100 days mark. Be prepared for wall to wall bullshit.

Private polling must be showing a large number of male, Scottish Labour voters are ready to vote YES.

128. Tam Jardine

Hatred and disrespect of the Saltire I put in the same category as all the other representations of Scotland that are hated and disrespected.

Our national anthem, our first minister, our national instrument, Braveheart, haggis, even the deep fried Mars bar. They all get the same treatment – it is their indirect way of attacking the Scottish nation.

Was there ever a national leader in history so slated for waving his own country’s flag at such an occasion?

In Norway vast numbers of houses have their national flag on display. If you chapped on these doors and questioned whether the household were rabid, narrow nationalists they would be quite surprised I think.

This situation we are in where waving the Saltire is somehow controversial demands to be resolved as it is patently ridiculous. The only acceptable resolution is the dissolution of this Union and the normalisation of Scotland. For God’s sake poor auld Scotia has suffered enough insults.

129. Krackerman

Oh FFS Andy has shown long ago that he only respects one colour… not red, white or blue but green! The colour of money..

He’s a coward imho – pissing on his birth nation for more sponsorship and adoration from a people that would lynch him if he dared say he was Scottish first.

Forget him – he means nothing and is nothing – or do we now adore people not for what they can contribute to the world… but because they can hit a rubber ball really fast down a court… grow the fk up…

130. CameronB Brodie

Edward
    Are you not aware of just how special Wimbeldon is?

131. Tam Jardine

Krackerman

Andy Murray is a great Scottish sportsman. I wouldn’t let some remarks taken out of context by a media desperate to find some angle to turn him against Yes bother you.

The next headline they want is ‘cybernats turn on Murray’.

Curing cancer he is not – neither am I. He is one of my heroes but so go easy!

132. CameronB Brodie

Krackerman
    What would you say your greatest achievement is?

133. Edward

Yeah CameronB Brodie Wimbeldon IS speshul
    the bastion of the establishment, the All England tennis club, strawberries and champagne and not for the likes of the jock upstarts

134. CameronB Brodie

Edward
    I am glad you appreciate this reality. 😉

135. Edward

Tam Jardine
    That is something I noticed to on a visit to friends in Norway. Every single house had either the Norwegian flag or a Norwegian pennant flag. There were more of the Pennants, something I really liked and would like to see that in Scotland. With the Pennant you don’t need a full flag pole

136. TheItalianJob

I lived in Norway for most of the early 80’s and most Norwegian homes had the Norwegian flag displayed in some form.

For the past year in the road my parents live in the back garden of a house has been displaying a Saltire and Lion Rapent flag for all the passing cars to see.

137. Murraymint

For those who haven’t seen this yet: the origin of BT’s “Obama Nope” poster.
    Wonder how SLab supporters feel about using the Tea Party for inspiration?

http://teapartyorg.ning.com/photo/obama-nope-1

138. TheItalianJob

@Tam Jardine

I agree with you ref Andy Murray. I too like you like him and support his achievements. He needs to be careful with the press after his previous stance on supporting anyone but England which he was lambasted for.

Let’s wish him well in his defence of his Wimbledon title.

139. Thepnr

@Krackerman

Your aving a larf mate aint yeh!

140. Rock

Thepnr,

“I hear what you saying, but the worst cringe of all is odrinary working people looking down on those well off for whatever reason and it does happen.”

I wouldn’t agree with you on that.

Some ordinary working people may not like those who are well off, but no one looks down on them.

It is ordinary working people who are always looked down upon everywhere.

141. Thepnr

@Rock

Sorry I meant less well off and you don’t get a chance to correct that. The whole paragraph reads different when you insert the word less.

What I meant is that quite often we can be our own worse enemies. You may look at those closest to you as being the reason for your misery when all along it is because you have been duped by millionaires who don’t give a shit.

Why would they?

142. Training Day

Krackerman is entitled to his opinion.

And I agree with him.

Murray is a corporate entity, not a voter in the referendum.

143. Tam Jardine

The Italian Job

Agreed. There, Iain Gray is an example of what a joke taken far too seriously for political ends looks like.

The anyone but England thing is a tricky one.

Logic dictates that every Yes should be craving an England victory at the world cup, but John Motson’s ilk just won’t make that possible.

It is the sporting equivalent of the referendum coverage – unashamedly, unequivocally and unbelievably biased.

Another great reason to vote Yes: we get our new SBC non-partisan coverage of England games at WC and Euros. I can just enjoy the spectacle as a neutral football fan. I think Jim Delahunt could do a job there.

144. Tam Jardine

Training Day

Krackerman is entitled to his opinion as are you. I was trying to point out that Cybernat backlash against Murray headlines are playing into BT hands and will do us no good at all.

If by corporate entity you mean he makes a shed load of money playing great tennis and punting his image to advertisers I suppose he is. But man, he is the reason I picked that racquet back up and got back on the court… He made me believe again!

I do agree he is completely irrelevant (and has made himself more so if possible by taking no side). So I suppose we agree excepting that I love him and you don’t.

145. Adrian B

With regards to Andy murray – is anyone actually certain about his own words, rather than the spin put on the story?

https://twitter.com/TheOfficialMack/status/475780996479344640/photo/1

146. Training Day

@Tam

We’re agreed Tam, but if we had a cybernat backlash against Murray or not it would still be spun against us. BT will have their feast in the MSM regardless of what we do.

In that context, Murray needs to wisen up. He once wore Saltire sweatbands – now he finds it difficult.

147. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“a Saltire and Lion Rapent flag”

That is an EXTREMELY unfortunate typo. I hope.

148. Onwards

I think Andy Murray would be wise to clarify what he actually meant.

Otherwise he is never going to hear the end of it.. the same as the ABE comments.

It’s one thing to dislike a bit of commotion about a politician waving a flag, but it’s another to look like you are embarrassed by the flag of your own country.

That’s the message that many Scottish kids who look up to him will be getting.. reinforced by the press.
    Scotland is shit.

149. molly

Andy Murray has neatly sidestepped any question about the Referendum up until now, why (with 100 days to go ) would he suddenly come out with this?

Its strange with an ‘exclusive’ like this, you’d think the Times would have picked up a hint about his new coach but no the most important thing seems to have been surprise surprise Alicsammin.

The Times are at it.

150. Ken500

Andy Murray will have been misquoted. The words will have been taken out of context

Unionists reporters are at it again. These low life cretins should leave him alone.

Andy is proudl of being Scottish, and proud of Dunblane and Stirling. The reason he doesn’t live there is because he is travelling the world as his sport requires. A world class sportsman.

Just another load of nonsense, from the White, male middle class, wealthy Press. No wonder no one reads them anymore.

151. Ken500

Put down the sound while watching him play or any other game/sport. The commentary is usually awful. Just like the Unionist Press.

Some folk have watched him with their wee saltire.

Witness the English football fans covered in red and white. No big time story about that.

It is the continents that boo, because he rivals their players. Continentals are loud and brash. when watching sport.

152. Ken500

Anyone who had visited NI, especially on the 12th of July will not be a great fan of flag waving. At a sporting occasion there is nothing wrong with an occasionally flutter.

153. Ken500

Can’t stand Gordon Brown. Andy Murray is a great sportsman.

154. Ken500

The Olympics were constantly referred to as the London Games. Boris Johnson stood in front of a banner declaring, ‘the London Game’s. All tax payers in the UK paid for them. Scottish taxpayers have paid for the Commonwealth Games. (£1/2 Billion). Can’t wait.It will be great.

The Crown, Cameron etc have all made biased comments on Sport.

155. Ken500

Andy Murray did not want a knighthood.

156. WantonWampum.

Just a sticker at the games – a Saltire with the number 54.

The average male lifespan in Glasgow East constituency of midget curran,MP..

What they really needed was a vellodrome when they are too stupid to vote for a longer life or anything sensible.

157. Arabs for Independence

Today, 9 June, is a ‘flag day’ here in Norway ( Whit/Pentecost day. Full flags will fly from thousands of buildings and houses today.

Flags are raised at 8 am and lowered by 21:00.

The Norwegians are a very proud people and have enormous respect for their flag and traditions.

158. Ken500

Brown ashamed/embarrassed about a flag. Brown has got a lot more to be ashamed/embarrassed about. Two illegal wars, bankrupting Britain and the world. Not one apology about that. Tax evading multi-millionaires have no shame. Shameful.

159. James Sneddon

I went to the Meadows Festival in Edinburgh on Saturday with a dutch friend who was over for a visit. The first thing he noticed was how negative the Labour stall looked . A big yellow NO on a background of red. The second thing he noticed was the amount of folk with YES badges and T shirts. The only folk wearing ‘NO’ badges were the folk at the BT and Labour stalls. NO one amongst the crowd seemed to be wearing outward signs of support for the union. What was noticeable was that even the BT stall was getting more traffic(what there was of it) than the Labour stall. My friend’s impression was that on a sunny day at an event for the community there was only two places that were being negative. They certainly couldn’t compete with the dog display 🙂

160. Grouse Beater

Hapless Gordon is resorting to exggerations and downright lies to bolster his case for the union. He cannot be that dumb that he thinks people won’t perceive what he’s doing, so why do it? There is a strong element of self-delusion in his reappearance on the political stage. He seems to believe people hold him in high regard.

161. Another Union Dividend

According Herald Alistair Darling to announce “pact” with the three main NO Scotland London Parties to announce more powers for the Scottish Parliament.

Full control of oil revenues? “Inaudible mumble”

100% tax raising powers? “Inaudible mumble”

Barnet formula funding? “Inaudible mumble”

Scottish Broadcasting? “Inaudible mumble”

Crown Estates? “Inaudible mumble”

Representation when negotiating in Europe or HM Treasury

“Inaudible mumble”.

Meanwhile Herald fails to report that latest polls show that a majority of voters born in Scotland will vote “YES” but that means more work is required re voters born outside Scotland as well as with woman.

162. Grouse Beater

Alastair Darling, the Inaudible Mumble.

163. Jim Thomson

@Grouse Beater – did you notice his eyebrows are starting to grey as well? Must be the stress of all that lying.

164. heedtracker

When I leave Scotland then come back and see that beautiful blue of the Scotland flag, I get goose bumps.

All the best Andy Murray but you’re no longer Scotland’s greatest ever athlete.

165. Jim Thomson

There was an interview on BBC GMS at around 0740 in which the investment analyst being interviewed was asked if he saw an impact of the indyref process on Scottish inward investment from overseas sources. He simply said that he couldn’t. The disappointment in the voice of the interviewer was palpable. He obviously had a few ancillary questions which now had to be junked 🙂

I’ll post the iPlayer link along with the associated interview segment time when it’s available.

#HappyHundredDays

166. bigGpolmont

At least he can only ear half the lies from Better together

167. Dan Huil

Remember: Gordon Brown is North British; he is not Scottish.
    Brown,Darling,Alexander,Lamont etc are the personification of Scottish, sorry, North British, Cringe. Disgusting little people.

168. CameronB Brodie

I’m still waiting for the press to descend on Alastair Dalring’s rather pertinent comment in his GQ interview. Failure to do so will indicate the press also believe that independence supporters are ethnically driven Scottish supremacists.

Alistair Darling: There are constraints on you as chancellor and as an MP. You have to be careful because you’re holding public office. I choose my words carefully. One wrong word can have a disastrous effect.

http://www.gq-magazine.co.uk/comment/articles/2011-05/27/gq-comment-piers-morgan-alastair-darling/viewall

169. Jim Thomson

Interview on BBC GMS by David Henderson with Donald McRae, chief economist at Bank of Scotland is avaialable http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b045c36z at 1:40:25

The question causing the “um” is at 1:43:20.

And I thought DH was a Yes too. Ahh well.

170. Jim Thomson

far too many “a”s in available – sorry 🙁

171. Jim Thomson

Morning Call on GMS pandering to more numpties.

“What currency will we have?” Jeez, geezabrek.

172. Jim Thomson

I must get more sleep …

Morning call on BBC Scotland NOT GMS – second apology in 5 mins. I can see this is going to be a great day .

173. CameronB Brodie

I’m afraid I laughed in a No supporter’s face the other night. Not very polite, but when you hear Scotland being compared to Albania, by someone who likes to think they are switched on (for a Tory). 🙂

174. heedtracker

http://www.theguardian.com/world/2014/jun/08/jean-marie-le-pen-bruel-racism
    Le Pen’s under pressure for much the same behaviour as Alistair Darling, back bench MP and BetterTogether leader who described YES voters in Scotland as “blood and soil” nazis last week.

So where is the formal complaints and UKOK press out cry?

175. heedtracker

BBC Vote no Scotland man “have you seen any investment etc NOT going ahead because of the referendum then?” RBS man “eh ooh er um No.” Vote No BBC man ” eh ooh ah er”

176. Jim Thomson

Cameron, at least (based on the statistically accurate letter count of the country names) they were 37.5% correct. Still makes them 62.5% wrong. You were well within your “laugh in their face” rights in that case 🙂

177. Jim Thomson

@heedtracker – not RBS man, he was B of S. Not sure RBS bloke, or bloke-ess, would have answered in same vein.

178. heedtracker

@ Jim Thomson, got it. It’s just so weird listening to the BBC man talking down Scotland, creeping about trying to put the boot in, then they trouserr out TV licence money, Fair enough it’s been going on for decades but I’ll never get used to BBC cringers and boot boys attacking Scotland like this.

179. Macandroid

@Robert Louis

Meadows Festival – Only saw one Naw badge away from the BT stall lots more Yes ones about. A few stall owners said they were Yes when they saw our badges.

As I passed the BT stall a woman offered me their leaflet saying did I want to know “the facts”? I said she must have the wrong leaflet. Mrs Mac thought that was too smartalecky!

Probably right – I should have asked her what they were and demolished them. Her first lie was that their leaflet included facts.

180. Blair paterson

Please stop referring to Alastair darling as Scottish he is English and that is a fact he will always put England’s interests first so you should not be surprised by his not wanting the truth to come out Like all the rest of the b.t.lot they are terrified of the truth it is like holding a crucifix up to a vampire sheer terror vote yes

181. Morag

Please stop making it about ethnicity. It doesn’t matter whether he’s Scottish, English or Venezuelan. He’s still a pillock.

182. donald anderson

True. He’s a North British P*ll*ck.

183. gerry parker

@donald anderson .
    What would the Prince think?

Well, he’s only a Duke up here, so I wouldn’t bother ma erse whut he thunk.

184. Rock

Thepnr,

“You may look at those closest to you as being the reason for your misery when all along it is because you have been duped by millionaires who don’t give a shit.”

That is how the corrupt Westminster led system has been fine-tuned to work.

Make the plebs blame other plebs for the atrocities of the ruling and upper classes.

But I don’t think that can be called ‘cringe’.

185. donald anderson

Looks merr like Spongeboab Skwerrpants.

186. donald anderson

Looks merr like Spongeboab Skwerrpants.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.