A failure of principle

Posted on August 09, 2015 by

There’s a comment piece by Scottish Tory leader Ruth Davidson in today’s Sunday Times, comprising 846 words which could be condensed into two: “SNP BAD”.

As such it could have been easily turned into a speech by any Scottish Labour leader of the last five years with nothing more than a quick search-and-replace of the words “Conservative” and “Labour”. It puts forward nothing remotely resembling a policy, just paragraphs of boilerplate waffle and a call for a debate.

ruthdavidsonplatform

Davidson professes to offer “a practical and pro-UK alternative to the SNP”, a programme which she boils down to two key components. It seems to have entirely escaped her notice that they contradict each other on the most fundamental level.

The opener is this:

“First, we will challenge the SNP on its push towards separation.”

Um, right. A bold, practical initiative to do what the Tories have been doing for as long as the SNP has existed. We look forward to details of how you’ll also continue to eat food and breathe air.

“Second, we will seek to offer a clear vision of how a different and better way is possible […] It is time that we had a debate in Scotland about how we take responsibility — not blame others — for our own problems.”

Aha. So the Conservatives are going to make Scotland take responsibility for its own problems by… tirelessly opposing the SNP’s attempts to make Scotland responsible for every last one of its own problems.

Political commentators – when they’re not going on and on about what a brilliant leader Davidson is, despite her presiding over the Scottish Conservatives’ lowest vote share in Scotland for nearly a century – sometimes ponder why the opposition in Scotland is in such a shambolic condition that the SNP’s ratings keep improving after more than eight years in power, defying all conventional gravity.

The conclusion they usually reach is that the SNP are strategic geniuses the likes of which have never been seen on Earth. But that’s plainly not true – the Nats have made plenty of cock-ups, because they’re human. They’re disciplined and competent and focused, not infallible.

The problem for all three Unionist parties, in different ways, is that their opposition to independence for Scotland is politically irrational. The Tories are the party of small government, self-sufficiency and individualism. Ideologically they should be 100% behind a small country wanting to stand on its own two feet and run its own affairs.

Labour, meanwhile, insists that it stands for internationalism and solidarity, but Ed Miliband said he’d put border guards at Carlisle and Berwick if Scotland voted Yes and the party’s most infamous piece of election merchandise this year was a “Controls On Immigration” mug. International socialist brotherhood stops, it seems, at the Dover end of the Channel Tunnel, and borders are fine for every country except Scotland.

And the Liberal Democrats’ commitment to democracy is somewhat selective too. Having recently lost a referendum on electoral reform by a humiliating margin, the party retains the goal as a “key policy priority”, yet regularly rages at the SNP for not abandoning its own core purpose because it lost a vote on it much more narrowly.

(In this week’s Press & Journal, the party’s disgraced sole Scottish MP and former Scottish Secretary, Alistair Carmichael, spoke angrily of his “exasperation” that the SNP haven’t given up on winning independence democratically. Yet ask any Lib Dem if they’d eschew another referendum on electoral reform should it ever somehow be in their power to bring it about and see what answer you get.)

The Unionist parties are tied in knots because they’re opposing their own principles. Ruth Davidson lacks the guile to disguise the fact, and has therefore just honked an embarrassing glob of stupid all over the Sunday Times, but she’s in no way unique in failing to grasp the problem.

2 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

1. 09 08 15 11:44

A failure of principle | Speymouth

2. 10 08 15 16:04

A failure of principle | Politics Scotland | S...

80 to “A failure of principle”

1. Scots Renewables

Great article Stu

2. Ken500

Why doesn’t she just go and get a job, instead of boring folk to death.

On a Saturday staff in chain restaurant’s earn £100 in tips, more than their pay.

3. Brian Powell

Of all the Unonist arguments the most stupid is the ‘Scotland must be made to be responsible, but only enough to make it realise it is not a real country and needs punished to make it realise that’.

The second most stupid is the, ‘Nats’ and SNP are scrounging subsidy junkies, where it is the ‘55% Unionists’ in Scotland who are constantly saying we can’t go because we need the subsides!

In a way there is a dark humour hearing that.

4. yerkitbreeks

@ Ken500 Maybe, back to the BBC ??

5. Edward

I certainly hope that Ms Davidson ends up not being elected next year after deciding to put herself up for election in Edinburgh

As we see from the Times article and Stuart’s assessment she doesn’t actually offer anything worthwhile, in fact its as if she is just repeating instruction from London…oh wait..;)

6. steveasaneilean

Spot on Stu – we all want Scotland to grow up and be responsible for itself and the only logical way to ensure that is independence.

That Ruth cannot see that, let alone bring herself to acknowledge that, is simply astonishing if oh so predictable.

The strange thing is that I think the Tories might actually do better in an independent Scotland that they will ever do whilst we remain part of the Union – and I can assure you it pains me to say that!

7. Graeme Borthwick

Davidson, as with other senior Unionists such as the Editors of ‘Scottish’ newspapers, is looking forward to a nice future in London when the Unionist bubble finally bursts.

8. gordoz

Heard all the cheerleading of Ms Davidson being such a great leader by MSM and still not convinced in the slightest.

‘TV savvy’ with stations which support your cause, and glib soundbites fitting the SNP BAD mantra’ are no way a roadmap towards solutions / answers / alternatives but more like painting yourself into a corner repetitively on several issues which the compliant media routinely avoid.

Very clear flag here REV of what must be ahead for the YES movement.

Constant championing of less than adequate performers with multi-platforms and opportunities to display regular verbosity on any issue of the day.

Anything to keep the UKOK numpties to the fore and on public display.
    know
    Scottish Trad media – Utter disgrace.
    Not representative of the people – thats why they are so visibly
    failing on all fronts.

Scotland a people forging the way ahead – despite their home media.
    Shameful; just shameful

9. desimond

Its Father Teds “Down with this sort of thing” gone mad.

Empty vacous statements from hollow House of Lords wannabees. When the SNP speak (even when making mistakes) people can believe they are speaking to and from the people..the rest are purely party for party focused and no one cares anymore

10. HandandShrimp

Ruth is a Tory and would privatise the very air we breathe if she could. I wouldn’t put her in charge of a menage.

She appears relatively OK in Holyrood in opposition because the competition, Lamont/Dugdale and Rennie were/are so absolutely shockingly bad.

11. Edward

Apologies for going off topic this early, but need mention the following:

No doubt many would have noticed the continual ‘monstering’ of Jeremy Corbyn in the media (shades of what our wonderful media did in run up to last years referendum and continually do against the SNP)

The current line from the broadcast media is that Jeremy Corbyn wants to bring back Labour to its core socialist values and nationalise the railways. The utterance by the media of ‘nationalise the railways’ always seems to me with a tone of distain as if its something the people would dislike.

Just to remind one an all the other countries have ‘nationalised’ railways or as I prefer to say ‘state owned’
    Deutsche Bahn – German Railways, probably the worlds most successful businesses which, apart from running a railway and providing passenger and rail freight services, owns the likes of Arriva, DHL and DB Schenker Rail (the people that run the British Royal Train) – not bad for a state owned company!

SNCF the French national rail company is another example of a state owned railway

12. rongorongo

I think there is actually a race on between Labour and Conservative supporters in Scotland to see who will be the first to form a party supporting independence. Once upon a time we might have guessed that Labour would be the most likely candidate to do this (what with the other party being called “Conservative and Unionist” and all). Now, as Ron McLaren’s Wings article, and this one, hint – there is probably more scope and mileage in forming such a party to the right of the SNP. Such a party would have political logic in place to raise some support right now – and it would become the de-facto party of the right following Scottish independence.

13. Soda

The three opposition parties in Scotland are mere extentions of Westminster and therein lies the dichotomy. This explains why they make no real sense. They need to be independent Scottish parties that are not dictated to by their masters down south but this depends on a willingness to stop being the gimps of the English political elites.

Has anyone any real info on how the ordinary party members and supporters feel about their parties up here becoming fully independent, tho still affiliated, entities?

14. desimond

@edward

Sadly Ruth is guaranteed a List seat as Party Leader…note the political savvy Gordon Mathieson abandoning the sinking GCC ship and going for Deputy Leader for Labour branch office as a Deputy is also guaranteed a list place given votes polled

15. Tinto Chiel

A very concise summary of the contorted and irrational positions the Unionists assume in their efforts to oppose our independence, Rev.

I’ve never understood why so many non-Tories got metaphorical Des O’Connors for Ruthie during the last two campaigns. Her bullying behaviour with Murphy and Wee Willie Winkie against NS in the debate where Gordon Brewer went missing (JM:”Are you still here?”) was indicative of her nasty nature and opportunism. I expect her to do a Teddy Taylor and get a safe English seat in due course, although it should be interesting to see how she gets on if she stands for an Edinburgh constituency next year, as has been hinted. 190000 No Voters there may give her more fertile ground. She may need to borrow Mr Murray’s Union Jack weskit, though.

I expect many more tanks to be straddled in her campaign to get noticed by Call-Me-Dave.

Sigh.

16. louis.b.argyll

Yep, Ruth is the least worse of a bad lot.
    Spouting such drivel and knowing it will be positively spun by onside media friends..WILL BE FOUND OUT FOR WHAT IT IS.

They cheat democracy.

17. Yew Choob

We lent Jock Scot to the Wingers for a social and didn’t see him for a week. Now that he is back, we can now offend the Trolls who try to shit -stir on this site..

No apologies offered

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y7QFXFTQZhw

18. Macart

I wonder if they’ve realised yet,that they are all in effect the same party?

Bland, interchangeable and predictable, with only one single identifiable ideology to speak of.

Me, myself and I.

19. velofello

I confess, I find wee Ruthie is brilliant, in the vein that I view Walt Disney cartoons as brilliant.

Sitting astride the gun barrel on a tank with her desert rat necktie and big boots; fixing Murphy’s tie for him on TV; interrupting and sniggering like an unruly teenager during the TV “debate,” in unison with Murphy and the Liberal whatshisname against Nicola Sturgeon.

She’ll soon be gone,first eastwards, then southwards.

20. R-type Grunt

Brilliant Stu. That’s it in a nutshell.

21. Ian Brotherhood

@Yew Choob –

22. Clootie

In summary they have great policies and we are too stupid to see it.
    OR we are in a cult and have lost free will.

…yawn

23. Geoff Huijer

Yes, Scotland should take responsibility not blame others say the Unionists whilst campaigning against anything that looks like giving Scotland even a modicum of responsibility.

Still, at least we’re not like those nasty Singaporean separatists who are celebrating 50 years of independence today; highest GDP per capita and all that nonsense. How very dare they!

24. HandandShrimp

Yew Choob

Sat on the fence a bit with that one didn’t you?

25. Al Dossary

@ Soda says, 11:03 am

“The three opposition parties in Scotland are mere extentions of Westminster and therein lies the dichotomy.”

Soda, you just brought a huge smile to my face. The very fact that those 3 parties have been reduced to also tans is something that I could never have believed before these past 12 months.

Something tells me these 3 parties will try everything in their power to prevent 16 and 17 year old voting in the next Holyrood elections.

26. fillofficer

its just great innit. scotlands party leaders & wannabees all suffering from foot-in-mooth..should be humanely disposed of. god, please help us, pretty please

27. Auldmack

To Stu a great summary of the party and that young lady’s problems, the very fact that she has decided to abandon Glasgow and shift her allegiance to Edinburgh in order to attempt to retain a seat in Holyrood really does say it all.
    To Brian Powell, nice one, succinctly put with that summary as well, could it be better put “fools and bairns should never see things half done”, pick your own category everyone.

28. Richardinho

This article shares a lot of the views that I’ve been banging on about recently. As I mentioned yesterday the problem with the Scottish Conservatives is that certain core values which a conservative party are supposed to support, they don’t. The obvious example is the concept of being self-reliant. In fact all the unionist parties now routinely use the argument that an independent Scotland is economically non-viable. Interestingly this is actually a new thing: Some readers may recall David McLetchie the former Tory leader agreeing that from an economic perspective Scotland could indeed be independent. (Was trying to find the exact quote but was unable to). It’s a weird argument when you think about it that it’s impossible to be self-reliant-and of course when you examine its based on things like the current price of oil and the currency issue. There is of course a fallacy in this argument: Because something is a problem does not mean it is insurmountable. Because something is difficult does not make it impossible. Quite simply the ‘Scotland has to be dependent’ is made by politicians because they are lazy.

29. msean

Yes,Tories want us all to take responsibility for ourselves,then panic when we actually try to do just that.

Those broad shoulders aren’t as broad it seems they were a year ago :).

30. Alex Waugh

Yew Choob
    So good I watched it twice. 🙂 🙂

31. gus1940

Campaigners for Independence never mention the fact that none of the 3 London based Unionist parties actually believes in Scottish Devolution.

Whatever devolution that has been granted has been dragged out of WM solely as a means to try to arrest the rise of The SNP.

The 1979 Devolution Bill and subsequent Referendum carefully nobbled by the disgraceful 40% Rule only came about due to the election of 11 SNP MPs in 1974.

The creation of Holyrood and its very limited devolution of powers subsequent to Blair’s 1997 win came about due to pressure from The SNP and the much played down pressure from The EU. WM kept very quiet re said EU pressure and although I have always tried to keep abreast of political matters I never heard of said pressure until after Holyrood had benn established – it is still something that the media has kept very quiet about – preferring it to have been a great gesture of unselfish generosity by Blair.

In fact I wondered at the time why WM had rushed through devolution in such haste – in spite of it having been in their 1997 manifesto and having a massive majority. They could have delayed its implementation for years or even kicked it into the long grass.

The Calman Proposals subsequently much watered down by WM were purely a reaction to the election of the first SNP Government in 2007 and we still await their full implementation.

After the SNP triumph in the 2011 Holyrood Elections the WM parties went into full panic mode and the love bombing and dirty tricks assault was launched in the lead-up to 18/9 ably assisted by The BBC and the rest of the MSM eventually giving rise to the infamous VOW followed by the Smith Commision and its recommendations which predictably have yet again been watered down leading to the disgraceful recent behaviour by our ‘wonderful’ new caring Tory Govt.

It all just demonstrates that whatever all 3 WM parties say about believing in Devolution none of them believes in it and are only prepared to give as little as possible that they consider will keep The SNP at bay.

They have tried it too often and the Scottish Electorate will not fall for their lies and hypocrisy again.

We must hammer away at the fact that these lying WM hypocrites do not believe in Devolution whatever they say.

Whatever we get from them is only given under duress.

32. dakk

Unionism,liars and hypocrites are the words which spring to mind reading this article.

A bit of honesty from them would be refreshing.

33. Capella

“First, we will challenge the SNP on its push towards separation.”
    There’s that word SEPARATION again.

I see the SNP as more like a national liberation movement. So I had a look in Wikipedia to see of there were interesting parallels. But the phrase “list of national liberation movements” redirects to “list of active separatist movements” because the word “liberation” expresses a Point of View.

Can we reclaim the word SEPARATION? Unionists obviously believe it sounds more evil than INDEPENDENCE. It is like DIVORCE.

Life of Brian sums it up
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gb_qHP7VaZE

34. Jack Murphy

OT. Approximately 50 folk awaiting ‘elevation’ to the House of Lords this week.
    “Mr Cameron, whose party does not hold a majority in the Lords ,is expected to announce more than 50 new peers this week,with about 40 of them Conservatives”.
    Anyone with a modicum of self-respect would be wise to decline this shoe-in into the undemocratic Upper Chamber,the House of Sewel. 🙁

https://archive.is/OENo6

35. Jock Scot

@Ian Brotherhood and HandandShrimp

Nice knowing you (LOL) and thanks to the Wingers who have been so supportive over the years.

36. gus1940

Edward

Re state owned railways add Nethrlands and Belgian State Railways not forgetting Amtrak in the home of untrammelled free enterprise.

37. Dan Huil

Unionist politicians can dress it up as much as they want, the bottom line stays the same: unionists will always put Westminster’s wants above Scotland’s needs.

38. Lollysmum

Good piece Stu.

What I find refreshing about SNP as a political party is that they aren’t afraid to say they got it wrong i.e.women’s prison. Now where have you ever heard that before?

Only time Labour said it was after being kicked out of office.

Tories-can’t recall them ever saying it.
    Libs-only when coalition was coming up to May election.

Ruthie knows she has a tough job this time around-her tweet about burly men at Annan polling place & the tank photos(emulating Thatcher photos) still arouse ire.

She may be entitled to a seat as party leader but she’d never win a WM parliamentary seat because she is so transparently not up to it. Telling folks to f*** off on twitter really doesn’t attract people to vote for you 🙂

39. arthur thomson

A really useful and simple analysis.

Will they come out and fight for their union? No chance, they are well aware that their position is utterly unjustifiable. They will continue to hide behind the power of the Westminster establishment exercised through their corrupt media.

There is still much serious work to be done clearing out the British Labour party and then the way will be clear to call out the Scottish Tories for what they are – the ‘if you can’t beat them join them’ brigade and their Greater Englander chums.

O/T Corbyn is quoted in Friday’s National as saying: “Unlike government at Scottish and UK level, as Labour leader, I’ll take defence diversification seriously”. So am I seeing the beginnings of a plan to sucker Scotland? Unless he has been misquoted of course but we need to beware.

40. Grouse Beater

Yesterday a Tory who votes Yes.
    Today a Tory who votes No.

Have they met to discuss the discrepancy?
    I guess that’s called balance and free will.

Or maybe it’s free Willy. Or Jimmy.

41. heedtracker

UKOK establishment’s stuffed shirt, meets “power to the people.”

This is what’s happening in front of them, power to the people of Scotland and all they can do is talk bullshit.

I listened to some wealthy toryboys in Aberdeen this week rage at Press and Journal says SNP hiking and fixing latest higher results but went and checked and it’s a 5.5% increase. A fix?

Lying hypocrisy rancid The Guradian style put their silly UKOK boot in with-

“Record Highers pass rate triggers concerns about Scottish qualification SNP government defends new-look exams after results lead to claims they have been made easier, with the exception of maths”

So there Scotland, be quiet, vote NO, for ever.

42. Capella

O/T sort of
    Jeremy Corbyn talk on Socialism at Oxford in 2013. 11 mins

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pZvAvNJL-gE

43. CameronB Brodie

Dichotomy – there’s that binary thought process again. Funny, I was thinking of this exact word, just the other day. Strange but true.

O.K., I’ll ‘fess up. It was stupid and short-sighted of me to refer to Better Together as a nihilist, terrorist, occult cult. I now feel responsible for providing aid and assistance to the unconscionable and unimaginative unionist parties.

My bad. 😉

44. Dr Jim

Make no mistake about Ruthless Davidson

She’d have you in a work camp before you could say vote

45. Helena Brown

Well just like the other Tory before this one I managed only the first paragraph, more like nothing to see here folks.
    May I commend the words written by Ken500 and Brian Powell and I would sincerely hope that Ruth is no more after net years elections.

46. Dr Jim

Jeremy Corbyn

We’ll all be equal if I’m in charge

Hmm

47. Joemcg

50 people awaiting elevation to HOL this week-got me thinking, £300 per day for signing a book then fucking off but people are being sanctioned every day for fuck all reason for £70 quid per WEEK! Fair society this rancid union.

48. heedtracker

Or maybe it’s free Willy. Or Jimmy.

GB, Jeremy Paxman did a broadsheet thing lately on his lunch interview with Mhairi Black. Usual overblown London ligger, chatterati grot but Paxo says Black isn’t like the old SLab Westminster crew, boozy, freebar fly lobby fodder, or as they’re known, “low flying jimmies.” Oh how we laughed and that is how their Scotland region was controlled and owned for decades.

Why would a toryboy/girl like Ruth Davidson fight for this Westminster and this is why UKOK democracy is on its way out of Scotland.

They’re all fighting hard to actually stay in control of the Scots though.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-33837376

49. Blair paterson

How any sane person would ever vote for the 3 unionist parties again in any election is beyond believe they are all proven liars and they will keep on lieing they insult our intelligence time after time as reguards Ruth davidsons comments about Scotland not being able to support it selfe is that why her party and labour hid the Macrone report for so long until they were forced to disclose it by the bad party S.n.p.?

50. CameronB Brodie

Geoff Huijer
    Sorry, but I’m not sure if Singapore would be a role model I would chose – ‘capitalism with Asian characteristics’. The strength of their economy has come at too high a cost, IMO.

http://www.rdm.co.za/politics/2015/03/26/behind-singapore-s-growth-story-lies-a-human-rights-tragedy

http://www.equaltimes.org/will-singapore-continue-to-put

51. Les Wilson

Well, Davidson and her like only have smoke, mirrors and soundbites, backed up by a bigoted media.

They have nothing else to combat the reasons for Independence, hence the usual mantra of SNP bad. However, they seem to forget, we have heard all this before.

The more we hear it, the less we listen. There is no case against Scottish Independence, just the manufactured lies and deceit approved by Westminster and the right wing interests of the Elites.

Truth is the UK is an economic basket case, they are addicted to Scottish assets to keep it afloat. This to the prejudiced of Scots. It is high time we, the people of Scotland secured our own assets and our own aspirations, to serve our own people. Charity begins at home.

We need to shield ourselves, our families, as best we can, from a UK meltdown. Indy will not be immediately trouble free, we will have our problems, but we have no choice left.

We can be generous, and magnanimous, we can help others.
    However we need to sort our own problems first. That must be our agenda, however we achieve it.

52. Dr Jim

Couldn’t resist this

“Kevin (cannae make my mind up) McKenna” has decided Labour Mibbees shouldnae back Independence But Mibbees shouldnae oppose it either

In other words Ya mealy mouthed Twit “Abstain”

It’s like being on the planet Effin.. Zaarg

53. Ken500

According to Bateman ‘ONS?’ Scotland has one of the best education systems in the world.

Anedotal – One young Doctor works long hours. (Works extra hours from choice) goes 4 holidays a year and has 10 short breaks. LibDems should get out more.

Doctors should receive training in drink /drug abuse.

Education system has changed (higher passes) An increase in apprenticeships. 100,000? More pupils leave at 16 to take up apprenticeships. 10% + (inclusion) pupils have additional needs. Teachers should receive 10% training on additional needs. It would help teachers and pupils.

54. Grouse Beater

Ruth Davidson has absolutely nothing to contribute to the well-being or development of Scotland.

Moreover, she was ‘elected’ by a technical aspect of our odd voting system, not by garnering most votes.

On that basis alone she demands to be ignored even by Tory supporters.

55. call me dave

You have distilled the essence of tory Ruthie in the article. She’s in Edinburgh because she’s bombing in Glasgow.

Pity she’ll continue to tank on in Holyrood though! 🙁

The other party has the same problem with Matheson seeking a new life by jumping ship er…walking the plank I should say.

https://archive.is/jR399

56. Alex Beveridge

Les Wilson. Very well said.

57. Jim

You should have a look at Tory star candidate Alexander Burnett’s twitter feed.

All he has to say is SNP Bad. He retweets stuff with #SNPscum or #SNPNazis; then he wants to represent me in parliament (and will probably get in on the Tory NE list).

58. Lenny Hartley

Yew Choob

Brilliant , been in doldrums today after learning that Scotland had lost one of its rising stars at the Ulster Grand Prix yesterday, (motorcycle road racing) and your video put a smile back on my face.
    RIP Andy Lawson.

59. FiferJP

Well, if you cover her speech for the Adam Smith Institute later this month I’m pretty sure you’ll be able to copy and paste this article. I’m guessing the Times article will be pretty much what she says out loud, but she’s going to need plenty of knock knock and I say jokes to fill up the time.

60. Michael McCabe

Yew Choob 11:09am Spot On.

61. Yew Choob

@Alex Waugh
    thanks Alex, much appreciated

@Lenny Hartley
    Sad news indeed

62. Yew Choob

@Michael McCabe
    Thanks.

63. Lochside

Wee Tank Commander is like Jimmy Krankie on steroids. Nothing but a msm puppet…a mouth on a stick.

What happened to the police investigation regarding her comments about postal votes being ‘viewed’ on Ref night?

What possible qualifications has this woman got to lecture anybody on our nation’s political future, based on 1800 votes?

She is a BBC ex-employee, who if she had joined the SNP would have been closed out from any media coverage like Liz Quigley was when she married John Swinney and Louise Fletcher(?) another exBeeb reporter with the Scottish Greens has been.

As this article clearly highlights all these ‘organisations’ and their ‘leaders’ are malfunctioning inherent contradictions. And as Karl Marx (Groucho would have done just as well) observed, these types of contradictions eventually cannot be mediated and although, he wasn’t referring specifically to the branch office ragbags in question, but Capitalism…it’s a nice analysis to apply to these opportunistic political and economic approaches that are doomed to self destruct.

64. David Agnew

Ruth packed her bags and fled Glasgow for Lothian. Polling suggests her party will be beaten rather badly there. So she runs off to somewhere safe. But lets be honest – if the party loses another 1% it will be enough to ensure that her position will be untenable.

Rennie and the lib dems are staring oblivion in the face.

Scottish labour hope to be politely applauded off the pitch.

Did anyone imagine such a complete and total collapse of UK party politics in Scotland? And this was with the complete support of the UK and Scottish MSM. Much good it has done them.

In opposition to the SNP – Stu has it right – they are caught in a bind where they are opposing their own values. Unless they can fundamentally change direction and policy – they can’t even be effective opposition, let alone Scottish Government in waiting.

65. ahundredthidiot

Master stroke

Used Rods article to flush out trolls, right wing wannabees, GCHQ bottom-feeders and then stuffed them with this piece.

Reminds me of the disinformation to get Chavez’ plane forced landing to show how pathetic Europe was when King USA barks – and of course how thick the Americans were for falling for it.

Well done Rev

66. Effijy

Ms Davidson sat on the Gun Nozzle of a Tank to try and show she was a force to be reckoned with.

Maybe if she tried sitting inside the Barrel, it might have a better outcome? lol

She can always return to panto with Ian if she still has her Wee Jimmy Krankie school uniform.

Fandabbiedozzy!

Well she started it!

67. Vambomarbeleye

She will have to go south to get a tank barrel between her legs. There are no Scottish tank regiments left. In fact there are only three challenger 2 regiments in the whole of the Army.

68. ben madigan

loved the new yew choob vid and song – what a political comment! reblogged it here https://eurofree3.wordpress.com/2015/08/09/scottish-nationalists-now/

and it’s been re-blogged on.
    Spreading the message where I can, working on the principle that every little helps!

69. Yew Choob

@ben madigan
    Thanks Ben..much appreciated,

70. Ken MacColl

Read the article by Davidson in the Sunday Times today – no harm in living dangerously – and came to similar conclusion. How can anyone write so much yet say so little?
    Tactically, I suspect that she runs as great a risk of rejection in Edinburgh as she does in Glasgow. What then? Is this the opportunity for Jackson Carlaw?

71. Rock

“Ruth Davidson lacks the guile to disguise the fact, and has therefore just honked an embarrassing glob of stupid all over the Sunday Times”

She has to write in a way that can be easily understood by the well educated readers of The Times.

72. Rock

Ruth Davidson is the most disgusting and nastiest politician in Scotland in my view.

73. boris

Finger firmly on the pulse as always Stu. Excellent analysis of the political ping pong so loved by the three opposition parties in Scotland.

74. Terry

Brilliant.

75. Big Jock

The way the press fawn over Ruth.You would think she had actually achieved something. All this good person in the wrong party crap….well feckin leave hen that’s what good people do with the Tories.

76. Sandy Henderson

National??? & International news from the BBC 10 PM 07/08/2015.

Main item: Result of a bat & ball game with extended comment & live broadcast. Of interest to <0.1% in Scotland???
    BBC my great aunt Fanny. EBC!!!
    Time for all self-respecting Scots to do what the Australians did. Told them to stuff their licence fee.

77. brian

Why the Sunday Times? Is it because they know their readers just don’t get what’s going on in Scotland?
    Or is it simply that the Sunday Times still doesn’t get it and is taken in by Davidson’s juvenile rhetoric.

78. Ken500

The Burnett’s own half of Aberdeenshire. Cousin of the Queen. Multimillionaires.

Nae chance

79. Peter McCulloch

The reality is the unionists cannot provided a coherent case for the continuation of union, because there is none.

This is why they are reduced to meaningless and contradictory sound bites about how we in Scotland should take responsibility — not blame others — for our own problems.

While at the same being told how we are better together as part of the union pooling and sharing of resources.

So if we are better together why according to the unionists is Scotland such an economic basket case that it can’t afford to regain its status as an independent Nation?

80. Phil Robertson

heedtracker says:
    They’re all fighting hard to actually stay in control of the Scots though.
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-33837376

On dangerous ground here, heedtracker. One of the unwritten rules on this site is that we do not discuss the performance of the Scottish Government. The fact that some sizable towns in Scotland now have no GPs is much less important than fanciful discussions of a Scottish UDI.

And don’t mention knowledge of Police Scotland spying on journalists …

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.