1. 26 08 14 21:04

A decisive choice | Scottish Independence News

263 to “A decisive choice”

1. Tony

Yeah, let’s way up the pros and cons of the most important decision in a lifetime over a cuppa….they must really think we are all brain-dead.

2. CameronB Brodie

Not had time to do her own research so she is happy to fall back on her ill-informed prejudices which have been heightened by NoBetterTogetherThanks Project Fear. How is that helping her kids?

3. Ladybird

He he! I’m loving it ????????????

4. IcySpark

#PatronisingBTLady is trending. Brilliant ๐Ÿ™‚

For a good laugh check them out

https://twitter.com/hashtag/patronisingbtlady?f=realtime&src=hash

5. Wee Jonny

I switched it aff 1 minute in.

6. donald anderson

Another ordinary undecided mum wi’ weans act.

Herr Chancellor’s glorious bio.

Alistair Darling was born in London[2] the son of a civil engineer, Thomas, and his wife, Anna MacLean. He is the great-nephew of Sir William Darling, a Conservative (Unionist) Member of Parliament for Edinburgh South (1945โ€“1957). He was educated in Kirkcaldy, and the independent Loretto School,[3] in Musselburgh, then attended the University of Aberdeen where he was awarded a Bachelor of Laws (LL.B). He became the President of Aberdeen University Students’ Representative Council.
    Before joining the Labour Party at the age of 23 in 1977, Darling was a supporter of the International Marxist Group, the British section of the Trotskyist Fourth International.[4] He became a solicitor in 1978, then changed course for the Scots bar and was admitted as an advocate in 1984. He was elected as a councillor to the Lothian Regional Council in 1982 where he supported large rates rises in defiance of Margaret Thatcher’s rate-capping laws and even threatened not to set a rate at all.[4] He served on the council until he was elected to Parliament. He was also a board member for the Lothian and Borders Police and became a governor of Napier College in 1985 for two years.

7. Dan Lee

I have thoroughly enjoyed all the memes. Poor lassie thought it was “just another acting gig”. Welcome to the debate dear, take a seat and enjoy the memes.

8. CameronB Brodie

NormalcyBiasLady ๐Ÿ™‚

Normalcy bias can cause people to drastically underestimate the effects of the disaster. Therefore, they think that everything will be all right, while information from the radio, television, or neighbors gives them reason to believe there is a risk. The normalcy bias creates a cognitive dissonance that they then must work to eliminate. Some manage to eliminate it by refusing to believe new warnings coming in and refusing to evacuate (maintaining the normalcy bias), while others eliminate the dissonance by escaping the danger. The possibility that some may refuse to evacuate causes significant problems in disaster planning.[3]

Obviously the vast bulk of indyref information broadcast or published, is suggesting there is no pending emergency. Project Fear is a potential killer.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Normalcy_bias

9. Findlay Farquaharson

Welcome to cybernat central actress lady. Its wrong to attempt to decieve your countrymen and women.

10. Disco Dave

Yes, the media department at BT Towers not had the greatest week. The BNP sympathiser last time and now this.

11. mr thms

Wonder if Paul caught his missus on tonight’s Better Together broadcast?

12. Edulis

I notice she doesn’t agree with Alistair Darling on the currency. She thinks we won’t be allowed to use the pound, whereas her boss has now admitted to the world at large “That of course we can use the pound”.

13. BuckieBraes

It works far better like this! As for the original broadcast – is that the best ‘No Better Together Thanks’ and their Tory donors’ money can do? (‘The kids are out of the way – some “me” time, but hubby’s been going on about the referendum – la-di-da, la-di-da, la-la – oh well, it’s all too much, I’m voting No.’)

All it really lacked was Harry Enfield doing a Women – Know Your Limits voiceover.

14. KenC

Love the Australian boomerang fridge magnet. Set dresser wasn’t on-message! ๐Ÿ˜€

15. Findlay Farquaharson

Well thats me convinced, nothing i react better to than being spoken to like im a fuckwit. Im voting no.

16. Scotsbob

Interestingly I can place a comment at this video but I can’t on the BT one on Youtube. Why is that?

17. boris

I just heard Alistair Darling on the radio say, “an independent Scotland would need to reduce public spending significantly to stay ahead of the market.”

Just about choked on my cocoa. This from a politician, (ex-Chancellor of the Exchequer) who sat at home watching television as the UK went to the wall at the time the financial market crashed. He said, “I didn’t know the crash was coming”.

What an admission. The sub-prime market in the USA erupted some 6 weeks before and he didn’t think to ask if any of the UK banks were exposed. The word I’m searching for I’ve found. TIT!!

Then he conveniently forgets the UK economy was about ยฃ500Billion, in the red, (before the crash). He and his mate Gordon, (apologies, ex-mate, they were not talking to each other just before the election).

Anyway Gordon tells Alistair, (just before the crash), “never mind the bloody deficit”. “Do what you’re told”. “Go to the market and borrow another ยฃ500million”, “we need to increase public spending sharpish if the Party is to win the election”. “For goodness sake Alistair think, this isn’t Edinburgh & Lothian District Council”. “Anyway’s I’m the F***** Boss”.

Alistair protest’s, “But what will we do with the borrowed money”.

Gordon, now exasperated, “are you a f***** luddite”. Increase the old age pension, give the doctors and nurse a pay rise, anything to take the heat off”.

Alistair, by now hopelessly lost. “I’m going up to Edinburgh, I’m going grey and I’ve got a headache”. “I’ll speak to my mate Fred, (who lives not that far away) and arrange to get some money on Monday”. “I’m going to watch the big match on tele so please don’t phone me at home, unless there’s a problem”.

Gordon. “Nae bother. I’m off to chequers.” “Might have a wee go at croquet”. “Prezzie seemed to like it, Bye”.

Oh. and about the matter of public spending. Alistair must have been out of the country the last 4 year’s of the Con/Dem government. And with a further 25Billion cuts to come, should Scotland vote, “no” in the referendum, (all supported by the Labour Party.) Alistair would be best advised to keep his mouth shut. But hang on let him speak since his mutterings only strengthen the case for independence.. Vote, “Yes” in the referendum. Scotland, with it’s own government can do much better.

18. CameronB Brodie

Edulis
    I thought she was talking about Alistair Darling, when she said ‘that man on the telly said we could use the pound’. ๐Ÿ™‚

19. BrianW

@ Roddy

Woman Know Your Limits.. Not seen that in years.. Classic Harry H. Had me in stitches that did.

20. Training Day

‘It’s all you have to do – oo – do the shake an’ vac and put the freshness back, do the shake an’ vac an’ tell him off the telly that a currency union is non-viable without a lender of last resort’

21. BrianW

I’ve not seen a Yes Scotland Party political Broadcast yet. Is there one?

22. Grouse Beater

I read Darling and Brown are to kiss and make up in order to present themselves as a dynamic duo against the evil of greater democracy.

The Glaswegian’s groan on seeing two Winter’s – Mike and Bernie – so-called comedians, ‘Kerrist, there’s two of them!’ perfectly sums up this new comedy team of bag men to the banksters.

23. Grouse Beater

Brian: Iโ€™ve not seen a Yes Scotland Party political Broadcast yet.

If you include only the one million signatures for Yes it’s going to be sodding difficult getting them all on camera in the few short minutes allowed for a PPB.

24. JWil

BT are still perpetuating the lie that Scotland won’t be allowed to use the pound.

A bit like FMQs when Lamont gets her first question demolished by Salmond she carries on to the next one (a variation of the first one) as if nothing had happened.

The Better Together lot obviously cannot respond quickly to changed circumstances.

25. Brian Mchugh

Brian W. Yes, the Political broadcast is all around you, in the streets… in the workplace… in the homes… at the gym… in the pub.

Have you not seen it?

26. Free Scotland

The Undecided Voter

When youโ€™re what people call an undecided voter,
    Everybody wants to kiss your baby. Kiss, kiss.
    Everybodyโ€™s knocking at your door. Kiss, kiss.

Knock, knock.
    โ€œWhoโ€™s there?โ€
    โ€œBetter.โ€
    โ€œBetter Who?โ€
    โ€œBetter Together.โ€
    โ€œNo thanks! And, anyway, Iโ€™m speaking to a pollster on the phone.โ€

Cos,
    Everybody wants to get your point of view. (โ€œOh, really?โ€)
    Everybody wants to be your mate.

โ€œHello,
    Can we count on your vote?
    Can we hear your voice?
    Can we take you to the polling station in a Rolls Royce?
    Can we hang out your washing? … Iron your pants?
    And, in return, would you consider by any chance
    Voting for team GB?โ€
    โ€œWeโ€™ll see. (Tee-hee)โ€

Cos,
    Everybody needs to get you in that booth.
    Youโ€™re not just a number, youโ€™re a swing.
    Youโ€™re not just a number, youโ€™re a headline.
    Youโ€™re not just a number, youโ€™re a history-maker.
    So, keep the beggars waiting while you make up your mind.

Cos,
    The next 307 years are up to you. (No pressure!)
    People will take notice of the things you do. (For once!)

I used to be what people call an undecided voter,
    (self-imposed torture, leaves your mind in a mess).
    Now Iโ€™ve made up my mind, and though itโ€™s still my little secret,
    Iโ€™ll give you a clue: it rhymes with …
    … … … … … … … … … โ€œGuess.โ€

27. Grouse Beater

BBC radio news bulletins this afternoon all had the same bias: Salmond was announced as the outright winner – no analysis of why, no mention of Darlings piss-poor arguments.

Mention was made, no, great emphasis was placed upon how it was a ‘shouting match,’ then wee Douglas Alexander came on to repeat some of the hogwash Darling had uttered the evening before, and he was followed by some ‘expert’ or other also denigrating the effect of the debate for Yes.

Good ol’ BBC – guaranteed to keep the propaganda machine churning out bullshit, and the masses confused.

28. BB

Only thing left to add to the misogyny would be her giggling and saying “oh you’re so smart, I’m only a woman, I don’t understand these complicated things, just babies and cleaning” to some man telling her what to vote and patting her on the head.

I AM ASTONISHED that anyone would give this advert a pass but they (BT) are online now saying how pleased they are with it and the message it gives. No regrets from them…this is the message they wanted.

Part of Vote Nob Orders plans to make women scared and too alienated to participate?

http://postimg.org/image/d0a3vacz7/

29. Tam Jardine

The lady in the PPB states ‘I will not be gambling with my children’s future’. My immediate reaction to that was ‘Aye – but you’re quite happy gambling with my children’s future’.

Aside from being, as everybody says ludicrously patronising and sexist, like something from a bygone age, the general theme is not too far off the mark. A misguided selfishness. It is something I have witnessed in almost every No voter I have talked to.

Of course everyone must make their own decision for their own reasons but not a single No voter I have spoken to has expressed any desire to vote No to make the country better – they just worry about their own circumstances.

On the Yes side, everyone I speak to wants to make the country a better place, a fairer country for everyone.

Just an observation from my own experience – the vote does seem on the surface to be a choice between the right wing impulse to look out for yourself an the deil tak the hindmost, and socialist desire to look out for the whole of society.

This is only on the surface of course – continuing to support this corrupt Westminster cabal by voting no and rubber stamping the continued plundering of Scotland’s resources and talent, and offering up our children, ourselves and our parents and all subsequent generations to their will does not strike me as self preservation.

30. The Rough Bounds

The funniest thing about this wreck is that ‘Paul’ is a name that is generally regarded as being ‘Catholic’: like Michael, Joseph, Patrick, etc.

I can just imagine the Orange Order going ape shit over this and can surmise what they’re saying to one another: ”Ah’m no gaun tae vote No noo..it’s aw fulla Cathlicks.”

Jings, but it’s laughable tae.

31. Findlay Farquaharson

orange order heads still exploding trying to come to terms with campaigning with pope francis.

32. Grouse Beater

The insulting bogus advert for NO is a good example of why you should never allow amateurs to get hold of a camera and think they are filmmakers.

Sluggish, awkward, clunky, poor timing, crap monologue, nil characterisation, irrational thought processes, no energy on screen, no drama, only an inanimate object hogging the foreground – a mug of coffee.

The standards of the mediocre being below anything worth considering, they duly employ the mediocre.

The actress is mugging to camera.

33. The Rough Bounds

Oh aye…Francis/Frank…that’s anither yin.

”Orange Order heads still exploding”

Brilliant! Thanks Findlay.

34. Dr Ew

No offence, Stu, but the original probably won more people to the Yes side!

P.S. That poor woman’s acting career is OVER!

35. fred blogger

Grouse Beater
    yes, it is patronizing stereo typed condescending nonsense.
    they really try to make out that the voter is stupid.

36. CameronB Brodie

What was that cutaway to the spoon all about? ๐Ÿ™‚

37. Bob Agassi

Must admit a fortnight ago I was voting No but having been directed to this site and after watching Darling’s shambolic performance in the debate, I will be voting yes for a better, fairer country. I live in a good country but I want to live in a great country and I can only see that through a yes vote

38. Tam Jardine

Sir Alan Sugar was one of those 200 celebs pleading with us to stay… could this have been the challenge from a new series of the Apprentice – you know the one where they put together an ad in about an hour and a half. If so, I wonder what the rejected ad was like? Somebody in a superhero outfit perhaps?

39. alexicon

Saw the tail end of this rubbish and she was wringer her hands and it reminded me of Fagan from Oliver twist.
    Why the close up of the hands?
    Was it a coded signal for were going to strangle you, or were going to crush you?

40. alexicon

That’ll be wringing.

41. Arabs for Independence

CameronB Brodie says:

What was that cutaway to the spoon all about?

Probably to stir up trouble

42. Findlay Farquaharson

The character the actress plays is typical labour supporter. It has a red rosette so i must vote for it, no thought required. I despise scot labour.

43. CameronB Brodie

Possibly a subliminal as the spoon was probably silver. ๐Ÿ™‚

44. Tam Jardine

CameronB Brodie

I think the cut away to the spoon is a film student flourish… its artistic. Bergman can rest easy in his grave.

45. CameronB Brodie

Tam Jardine
    Mmmmmm. ๐Ÿ˜‰

46. UncleBob

What a load of shite

47. Kev

Watchin the BBC debate, whos the prick in the shirt constantly heckling Swinney and other pro-Yes folk in the crowd?, he should’ve been frog-marched out a long time ago, still good to see almost all Yessers tonight are women.

48. wee folding bike

Obviously I prefer this one which has a nice bike with an epicyclic hub.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qetvDbl4Xfs&feature=youtu.be

49. liz

Just spent too long on the twitter feed #patronisingwomanBT -it’s trending UK wide and some of the comments are hilarious.

50. The Rough Bounds

I wonder how ‘Paul’ stops her from talking; I have my suspicions.

51. Thepnr

@Bob Agassi

Glad to have you onboard. Welcome to the good guys ๐Ÿ™‚

52. CameronB Brodie

Re. NormalcyBiasLady. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Decision-making, belief, and behavioral biases

Many of these biases affect belief formation, business and economic decisions, and human behavior in general. They arise as a replicable result to a specific condition: when confronted with a specific situation, the deviation from what is normally expected can be characterized by:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_cognitive_biases

53. Indy_Scot

How much did she take for doing this YES ad.

54. call me dave

A cynical targeted attempt to sway the women voter, nicely done too but no cigar!

Scottish women voters have shown us especially in the debates and discussions in the town halls and community centres I have seen on live streaming they at the forefront of the YES campaign.

It is already past it’s sell by date as AD yesterday said
    “Of course we can use the pound..” to instant applause from the audience.

Nothing to see hear move on.

55. Colin Church

@ Kev
    Agree absolutely, outrageous and still doing it. Shouty lessons from BT and the woman in red copies Darling by trying to blurt out every point all at once. This is a question time format on party political terms and constantly drifts away from the constitutional debate. It is not about individual party policy FFS. Joyce MacMillan is the only one who gets what this should be about.

56. fred blogger

what a refreshing difference.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V8Fr3OyOxOA

57. call me dave

See ‘here’ I’m going deaf! ๐Ÿ˜‰

58. Sinky

John Swinney on fire in bbc2 referendum debate

59. Brian Mchugh

Hahaha… Swinney just destroyed J-Lo as an utter liar. Brilliant. ๐Ÿ™‚

60. Grouse Beater

BBC panel debate in Edinburgh, occasional rowdy audience, Lamont challenged on why she said we won’t use the pound. Roar of condemnation from audience over Labour’s lying leaflets misleading the public.

61. Grouse Beater

Lamont is chronically incapable of allowing others to speak, and yet when she does she has absolutely nothing of any substance to say.

62. handclapping

I wonder if its not too late. First time out with the “new” leg after 3 weeks off, 5 Yes 5 no and only 1 DK, who got a WBB especially as the wife was firm No. What I used to get in the same street was 2/3 Yes 2/3 No 6 DK but then I could do the upstairs flats. I think the WBB is only just in the nick of time, probably to late for the OAP postal vote which will be starting tomorrow.

Should I continue canvassing unknowns or am I better used going back to all the (ground floor) DKs and giving them WBBs?

63. chossy

Still tidy though.

64. Scotspine

Well Done Mr Swinney, Lamont brought to task and flustered over her comments in the BT leaflet regarding the Pound.

65. mary vasey

Rubbish wumman, don’t gamble vote YES. Fae one auld wifie fa kens YESSSSSSSS

66. ronnie anderson

Maybe Mr Charles Kennedy would put the cork back on the bottle sober up & tell us who Scotland borrowed all this money from & when,on day one of Independance we would be in dept, who the Fk to.

67. alexicon

@Bob Aggasi.

Welcome Bob, don’t be too much of a stranger.

I’m sure Bob is not alone, if were undecided or even were a no voter, come in the waters fine.

68. Free Scotland

Looking at the original, she starts by saying something about it being the best time of the day – they’re all out and she’s at home on her own. Then, at about 2 mins 18 secs, after giving us a close-up of Paul’s unfinished breakfast, the amateur film-maker gives us a close-up of her watch. It’s still only ten to seven, Paul and the weans are out already, and she’s about to head off to work. What an unusual daily routine!

69. Grouse Beater

Free Scotland: What an unusual daily routine!

Chuckle. Well spotted.

I guess you know that that, in movie jargon, is called a ‘flub.’

70. tartanfever

John Swinney does ok, but he does miss some open goals.

Banks – Lamont on BoE bailing out Scottish Banks

Well are the banks Scottish ? – one now owned by Lloyds, the other by the UK government – and it was the USA that chucked in ยฃ650bn to bail out the UK banks, 10 times more than the UK. Swinney mentions none of this.

Oil, Ian Wood – Lamont going on about respected Ian Wood.

Swinney fails to mention the vastly different reports Wood has produced, most notably that he loses 8bn barrels of oil after suddenly becoming a no voter. Fails to mention the UK governments own report from the DECC that they estimate a high of 35bn barrels, way above the Scottish governments 24bn estimate and volatility – Swinney fails to mention UK tax raids on the industry which reduced tax revenues.

One really interesting point is that JoLa claimed that once we are separate countries then we will owe each other nothing. This was during a question about currency union and her claim that Westminster will refuse, which then led on to splitting the debt/assets etc. But she definitely said that ‘we will owe each other nothing’. Great, we don’t have to take the debt !

71. David

Just watched the Lamentable Lamont get put back in her box……when the presenter asked “does this not mean your whole political life was a failure” Awesome and right on the button.

We need to get that on-line right away the look on her face was priceless

72. Grouse Beater

Tartan Fever: One really interesting point is that JoLa claimed that once we are separate countries then we will owe each other nothing

She did – a classic Freudian slip. We now know what she really thinks as opposed to what she [tries] to articulate – Labour rote policy – but invariably fails to express.

73. boris

Multiculturalism – The Labour Party – Uncontrolled Immigration and Who Knew??

The huge increases in migrants over the last decade were partly due to a politically motivated attempt by ministers to radically change the country and “rub the Right’s nose in diversity”, according to Andrew Neather, a former adviser to Tony Blair, Jack Straw and David Blunkett. He said Labour’s relaxation of controls was a deliberate plan to “open up the UK to mass migration” but that ministers were nervous and reluctant to discuss such a move publicly for fear it would alienate its “core working class vote”. As a result, the public argument for immigration concentrated instead on the economic benefits and need for more migrants. Critics said the revelations showed a “conspiracy” within Government to impose mass immigration for “cynical” political reasons. Some 2.3 million migrants have been added to the population since then, according to Whitehall estimates quietly slipped out last month.

Sir Andrew Green, chairman of the Migrationwatch think tank, said: “Now at least the truth is out, and it’s dynamite. “Many have long suspected that mass immigration under Labour was not just a c**k up but also a conspiracy. They were right. “This Government has admitted three million immigrants for cynical political reasons concealed by dodgy economic camouflage.” The chairmen of the cross-party Group for Balanced Migration, MPs Frank Field and Nicholas Soames, said: “We welcome this statement by an ex-adviser, which the whole country knows to be true. “It is the first beam of truth that has officially been shone on the immigration issue in Britain.”

A Home Office spokesman said: โ€œOur new flexible points based system gives us greater control on those coming to work or study from outside Europe, ensuring that only those that Britain need can come. โ€œBritain’s borders are stronger than ever before and we are rolling out ID cards to foreign nationals, we have introduced civil penalties for those employing illegal workers and from the end of next year our electronic border system will monitor 95 per cent of journeys in and out of the UK. โ€œThe British people can be confident that immigration is under control. This a big big lie.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/u…cultural-says-former-adviser.html

74. donald anderson

Well done Boab. What will the ordinary “undecided” Labour mums say to that?

75. CameronB Brodie

The latest from Lamont

72% of pensioners are worried about how an iScotland would pay their pension. So is @JohnSwinney.

Is she so detached from reality that she is unaware of Project Fear? Or is she just untrustworthy?

76. Doug McGregor

I have just watched the debate from Leith and I would like to know why Kennedy was afforded so much uninterrupted time and Swinney was hardly allowed to even begin before being interrupted by Cook or the dick in the audience.Last word to Chas ,, cheers!

77. Papadox

Well done John Swinney you are very competent, knowledgable and a safe pair of hands. Jola, enough said, Joyce McMillan steady and even handed, Charles Kenedy say no more.

The SLAB bully boys Johan had with her were a credit to Glasgow Labour Party, I didn’t think there were that many left, then again they might have been bussed in.

Once again well done john there is not a weak link in the yes campaign.

78. tartanarse

Rough Bounds @9.18

I’m fairly sure I saw a wee bear with an orange coat on in the kiddies colouring book.

Subliminal, cynical. Comical.

79. Murray McCallum

I think the instruction “ensuring fear & uncertainty without patronising female voters” got jumbled up down the food chain at clueless together.

80. Grouse Beater

Last word to Chas [Kennedy]

He was afforded the respect of elder (hic!) statesman.

81. Onwards

Just saw the original.. wow – talk about patronising.

I suppose the whole theme of the final month from Project Fear will be targeting women with talk of risks and gambling.

Never mind that every other country in the world can run their own affairs.

We need Westminster to make the big decisions for us..

82. sausage fingered luddite

CameronB Brodie
    The spoon is significant. Don’t you realise we won’t be allowed to use the spoon in an independent Scotland?

83. Clootie

Millionaires are not making large donations to the BT campaign because the are concerned about the future of our children.

They are looking for a return on that investment. The money will be moved from Scotland to Surrey and life will be good – for them.

Tonight’s Referendum debate on BBC2 – Charles Kennedy has lost all integrity. I once held him in high regard and he tries to suggest tonight that the Tory/ LibDem alliance policies were nothing to do with him ” I hold the same values”. I’m sorry Charles you ran with them, you sat on the benches with them. I expected a bit more honesty than ” it was those other bad boys, not me”

Another LibDem peddling the myth of Federalism just over the next hill, in just a few more years.

I’m not going to comment on Johann – teacher,mum, real world housewife – other than to question the judgement of a party that thought she was the best option for leader – really?

As for the BT broadcast – great theme – “don’t try to understand all that complex political debate, you know it is all so scary and different, have a coffee and vote NO. Don’t you feel better now.”

84. tartanarse

The spoon is indeed significant.

It says no voters are dirty lazy bastards.

I wouldn’t dream of leaving the house with dirty dishes lying around.

85. CameronB Brodie

sausage fingered luddite
    Probably wouldn’t have anything to stir anyway. Too poor to buy tea.

Alternatively, it could be a subliminal suggesting Scotland is spoon-fed by the largess of Westminster. Ha.

86. Grouse Beater

Sarah Smith open her ‘show’ describing yesterday’s debate as a ‘shouting contest.’

Jolly good. Let’s reduce yesterday’s ‘critical debate’ to an argy-bargy. Then we can talk about it at basement level.

On whose judgement is she basing her opinion?

87. Nana Smith

Last time I saw Charlie Kennedy he was reeling drunk through Homebase in Inverness. Looked tonight like he’s yet to sober up.

Untrustworthy man, seems to be a trait with lib dems.

88. Cag-does-thinking

It was interesting this morning watching the early BBC news before they got their instructions on how to spin the debate. The words bad tempered didn’t crop up until about 7am and then it was wall to wall. It was bad tempered and the hand picked clips all made sure they mentioned plan B (but not of course Alistair stumbling over the pound) and they’ve all made sure to get that bit in about some bizarre story about the NHS in Sunderland which according to Alistair was a lie but I must have missed that particular gem. The overall impression, AS is a liar and AD is just a gentleman who was shouted down. You can win the debate comfortably but remember the media tell everybody else what they want them to hear. After seven this morning they had dragged Dougie Alexander out of bed and onto BBC TV to repeat ADs killer line in the first debate about capitals currency and flags for damage limitation. We are still fighting the media campaign against independence but at least those who saw the debate can make up their own mind on how it was spun thoughout today on the media. ITV network news interviewing MoD apprentices who surpisingly enough might be expected to say they are No voters but looking surprisingly undecided just to make this look like there really is an effective No campaign out there somewhere. If it wasn’t for the media they would have sunk without trace by now.

89. handclapping

Of course the spoon is significant. It shows that she is drinking that ersatz stuff that you add hot water and stir and not real coffee and thus indicating that she and her film are also not of the real world.

I’ll get my tinfoil hat …

90. Grouse Beater

Looked tonight like heโ€™s yet to sober up.

Looks as if a potential heart attack victim.

91. CameronB Brodie

Clootie says:

They are looking for a return on that investment. The money will be moved from Scotland to Surrey and life will be good โ€“ for them.

You have just described the UK housing market, in a nutshell. Houses in the stockbroker belt is now investments, rather than homes and shelters. All because land supply is restricted thtrough the Fabian dominated planning system. As a result, we all pay artificially high prices for our accommodation. This then has further knock-on effects into the wider economy.

Just vote Yes folk, please.

92. Edward

Blair McDougall (on BBC 2 Scotland2014) in denial that there are any Labour supporters who want Yes. Apparently those in last nights audience who groaned at Darling were ALL Nationalists

The guy is an utter twat

93. YESGUY

@ Bob Agassi

Your very welcome sir. Better late than never. Scotland is wide awake and restless .

94. Derek M

eh is this add for real tell me it was a parody yes ,wtf no its real are they serious hahahaha oh dear another own goal by the BTKNOBENDS roflmao.
    Nice to see John in top form on the debate even with the britnat shouty bussed in plant mob in the audience,totally destroyed that idiot of a SLAB leader ,im astonished they let her back oot the cupboard she has been in since that fateful toodloothenoo interview on the daily pissolitics.
    lol sry had a few wee drams the nicht of our own finest brew ๐Ÿ™‚

95. boris

Under the Con/Dems and/or Labour Government (if elected), people in social housing will receive a cut in housing benefit where they are deemed to have spare bedrooms. Take careful note all you council and Housing association tenants.

Ed Miliband, The Labour leader claimed financial help for disabled people hit by the so-called bedroom tax was outweighed by cuts in other benefits they receive.

David Cameron Con/Dem Prime Minister said the figures put forward by Miliband to support his claim were “completely wrong” and said the coalition government was exempting a range of vulnerable groups from paying the bedroom tax.

There is a way out of this madness vote, “Yes” in the referendum. Take Scotland back. Let us decided for ourselves what our policies are to be.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/politics/9912660/PMQs-David-Cameron-and-Ed-Miliband-clash-over-bedroom-tax.html

96. highseastim

Johann Lamont has no credibility, a memorable statement from her in the Scottish parliament on 16th January 2003

Does Tommy Sheridan agree that the troubling lesson from North Korea lies in the dangers that result when a nation has developed a nuclear capacity. The lesson that we should take from the North Korea situation is that we must act against Saddam Hussein now if he has weapons of mass destruction, as a time will come when Iraq’s having such weapons will create a danger for the entire international community!!

She should be done for war crimes alongside Douglas Alexander, Gordon Brown, Alistair Darling, Helen Liddell, Jim Murphy, John Reid, Brian Wilson, Jackie Baillie, Sarah Boyack, Murdo Fraser, Annabell Goldie, Iain Gray, Alex Johnstone, Lewis MacDonald, Mary Scanlon and from down South, Philip Hammond, George Osborne, Theresa May, Boris Johnson, Tony Blair and David Cameron.

97. Edward

Just watching Scotland2014, up pops a Business Editor, but its not Douglas Fraser. What’s happened to our pet hate Douglas?

98. Grouse Beater

The Sarah Smith show suffers from a critical loss of concentration – all items are a few minutes or less.

You can almost count the down the seconds from her opening introduction, through a few questions, until she thanks her two guests to move onto another two.

Then arrive the obligatory two pundits on the day’s press – opinionated nonentities.

Shallow as a bloody puddle.

99. tartanarse

Edward

I don’t get it myself. If we are expected to swallow the polls and the audience wasn’t hand picked, how on earth did all those yessers get in?

If 70% plus of the population is no then last nights audience doesn’t make sense.

Did the BBC fail to vet the Yessers. Were there a load of undecided that suddenly decided?

Hard to tell. All we know is that everyone, including the MSM agrees that Blinky got handed his arse.

However the MSM confirms this by trying to explain how he never got handed his arse.

Very confusing.

I blame that Alicsammin for all the confusion. I’m having a coffee and voting no. I suggest you guys all do the same.

There’s simply not enough time left to read that wee blue book.

100. sausage fingered luddite

Sarwar & Yousaf really don’t like each other, do they? Couldn’t be any further apart on Scotland Tonight.

Loved the ordinary voters giving Sarwar a kicking. Hamza asked for input and replied that he didn’t need to as the undecided voter to his left was doing a great job ๐Ÿ˜€

101. P.R.D.

BT propaganda – its all been so complicated and confusing for the Scots, switch off vote NO and get back to better together and business as usual on the 19th.

Lost the debate attack the platform and the voters.

102. Proud Cybernat

@ Bob Agassi

Nice one, Bob. Welcome aboard.

103. handclapping

@Edward
    I understand Fraser is off sick, very sick.

104. tartanarse

Slighty OT. I loved it when Alex left the lectern and moved to the front of the stage to address folk.

The first time he did it, Blinky visibly moved as if to copy.

You could tell he was thinking” Fuck, wish I’d thought of that”

Of course he couldn’t copy alex and had to remain rooted to the spot moving only his lips, eyebrows, eyelids(a lot) and his trusted pointy finger.

I’m so glad Blinky was in charge of BT. I only wish it could have been Jlo but then she has been an exceptional 2ic.

I’ll almost be sad when it’s over.

105. Kev

Yes Provan out canvassing in Ruchazie tonight, armed with WBB, Yes: 66%, No: 7%, DK: 27%. Got to wonder what the gulf will be once they’ve read it!

106. alexicon

if were undecided or even were a no voter, come in the waters fine.

My God! You’d think I was as sizzled as Charles Kennedy was tonight with my earlier effort.
    Time for bed me thinks.

107. Ellie

I’ve just had an idea for what you can do with the left over money from the fundraiser. Donate it to Paul’s Divorce Fund……….

108. Edward

handclapping
    Sorry to hear that about Douglas Fraser

109. tartanarse

Ellie says:
    26 August, 2014 at 11:08 pm
    Iโ€™ve just had an idea for what you can do with the left over money from the fundraiser. Donate it to Paulโ€™s Divorce Fundโ€ฆ

He also needs a dishwasher.

110. Grouse Beater

Bob Agassi: I live in a good country but I want to live in a great country and I can only see that through a yes vote

Throwing off over three hundred years of subservience to a distant government and culture takes valour and time because it’s well-ingrained in our psyche.

You can see it remarks and general bemusement expressed by people ‘looking for answers.’ Somehow they’ve never been educated to think for themselves.

The answers are everywhere and don’t require much looking.

But when you have been led by the hand for generations, told what to think, taught to be quiescent, to remain respectful in order to attract preferment and promotion, drummed into you that you’re in the best of all possible worlds and we better like it, it takes a courageous mind to rebel.

Well done for taking that step out of line and giving the finger to conformity.

Welcome.

111. muttley79

If Douglas Fraser is off work on sick leave, it is probably best not to bring him up on this site. It does not feel right that some people on here still have a go at him, when he has been off work for a considerable time. It does our cause no good and most importantly, it is not nice at all.

112. laukat

For those asking about Douglas Fraser he posted this on the BBC website 3 hours ago http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-28943634

It contains a note on his health issues

113. Abaron Nomore

Ooh, I just watched the original version – it’s absolutely hilarious! Surely someone must have spiked their focus groups?

“OK Blair, our focus groups tell us that 8 out of 10 women like to be patronised and don’t want to bother their fluffy little heads with boring stuff like having a say in their own future. So we’ve this great idea for an ad…”

First the great debate and now this. Now half the country is openly laughing at them and I can see it becoming socially unacceptable to admit to being a No voter. I’m not complacent, we still have a lot to do but I truly feel this is shaping up to be a landslide for Yes!

114. HandandShrimp

I would agree with that Muttley. I can’t recall the last time I saw or heard Douglas. He isn’t a participant in the debate so I think we can wish him good health and leave him out of it.

This advert on the other hand is comedy gold

I like this one

https://scontent-a-lhr.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xfp1/t1.0-9/10524660_10204858004514928_9152610585009125748_n.jpg

115. David Stevenson

Paul’s wife must have been watching that Gordon Brown on the telly as he is the only person who appears to believe that anyone has ever suggested that oil revenues can pay for “everything”…..

Looks as if that idiot line is not just Broon bullshit for his crowd-vetted “public” meetings, but a broader BT campaign strategy. Good news if so, because it is an even worse tactic than the BT vid.

116. Davy

A warm welcome to Bob Agassi, I hope you enjoy WOS and all the great characters their are on here.

If their is more people just looking on here, why not make yourself known, even just to say hello for the one time. It really cheers me up when I see a new name and gives us all a boost.

So, Hello I’m Davy.

117. Grouse Beater

While our over-payed and under-talented journalists swap slogans and gibes on what they saw as a ‘shouting match,’ in the real world the mad generals, the hawks, are ramping up fear of the Middle East and how we ‘must invest in armaments and weapons of mass destuction to fend off the threat to ….

It does not take much for the warmongers to find an excuse to bleed us of more taxes to keep them in carnage, and our youth dead.

118. HandandShrimp

I thought Better Together said businesses felt bullied and wouldn’t support them. I see Weir Pumps is at the forefront as usual so it may be nobody new. BT do like to recycle their stuff.

It will be fun going through the list of companies tomorrow.

119. Murray McCallum

Getting Gordon Brown to team up with Darling on currency is a big step by better together no thanks.

When Gordon became PM in June 2007 ยฃ1.00 was worth EUR 1.4858 but by his last day as Prime Minister in May 2010 it was only worth EUR 1.1816.

That’s a fall in the value of sterling of 20% on his watch.

I hope Gordon gets on to precious natural resources if he gets the chance. He’s a dab hand at fecking that up too.

120. X_Sticks

Charlie looked like a man who’s just been telt aboot his redundancy and realised the pension job polishing green leather with ermine has passed him by. Angry and guilty in equal measure. A man tearing himself apart. Two masters?

Swinney steady but uninspiring.

Some blond wifey grumbling.

Joyce McMillan outstanding. Providing some vision and aspiration. Don’t agree about the timescale of negotiations. It’s in no-one’s interests to create a protracted and nasty negotiations. Eighteen months to two years is my guess.

It was obviously the ‘other’ audience tonight, but bbc not under the same scrutiny as last night.

121. David Stevenson

A letter signed by 130 (probable) millionaires versus one million signatories to the Yes campaign declaration…

I’m happy enough with that…..

122. Edward

muttley79 – Totally agree with that

123. HandandShrimp

David

But as Maggie would say, these are special people, wonderful people. Not plebs like us. ๐Ÿ˜‰

124. joe kane

At least Better Together managed to find a woman this time round who wasn’t a neo-nazi sympathiser and whose idea of grassroots activism wasn’t to string up Catholics from trees.

125. CameronB Brodie

Douglas Flint

126. JWil

I get the impression that both Salmond, at FMQs, and tonight Swinney were reluctant to attack Iain Wood directly. Salmond, did it in a convoluted way by mentioning the other main forecasters of the amount of oil to be got, not by confronting the different message Wood gave in his earlier report. They must know that they may have to have Wood as an ally in a future independent Scotland.

The progress with Fergusons Shipyard is encouraging. I just hope that the new owner can demonstrate how easily and quickly it can be to get new orders, to put BT on the back foot.

127. Nico

Just been on the bbc website and noticed that the dream team are taking their first steps towards Downing Street:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-28935394
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-politics-28937415

Maybe someone with better photoshop skills than me could do something with that?

128. James Caithness

All these committed NO voters, I sincerely hope they are never selected for jury service.

129. JWil

From tonight’s performance it looks like Charles Kennedy is a spent force. Does he have anything of substance to say now? It seemed as though he couldn’t be bothered.

130. CameronB Brodie

@ Douglas Flint
    Any comment?

Yet now, exactly two decades after the Kerry/Brown report, we find another US Senate Subcommittee accusing that great British institution HSBC, the second largest banking and financial services group in the world, of a ‘pervasively polluted’ compliance culture that ignored evidence that its subsidiaries were being used to siphon millions of dollars from Mexican drug cartels.

http://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/matt-carr/bcci-to-hsbc-the-age-of-g_b_1697210.html

HSBC has been found to have handled $7bn in narco cash, “and this is the starter for 10”, Woods now says. “We’ll get the full picture over time. But what’s the sanction on these banks? What’s their risk? The cartels should renegotiate their charges with the banks. They’re being priced for a risk element that isn’t there.”

http://www.theguardian.com/world/2012/jul/21/drug-cartels-banks-hsbc-money-laundering

131. thedogphilosopher

@X_sticks re Charlie K’s pension plan, polishing green leather with ermine

Perhaps attempted arson and a two-year jail sentence might advance that idea! Those pesky wee Lordships, just can’t trust them with a box of matches!

132. CameronB Brodie

@ Johann Lamont and Alistair Darling
    I thought you might enjoy this. Any feedback?

Many will believe the NHS is safer in Labourโ€™s hands than in those of the current Tory-led coalition government; and believe that the Tories are corrupt and making personal gains from the demise of the NHS into a private national insurance contribution based provider of healthcare via private healthcare companies in this country.

However, this ignores the reality of the fact that the privatisation of the NHS was long ago โ€˜enabledโ€™ by the Blair government and ministers like Alan Milburn.

http://www.cwunorthwest.org/docs/News2012/DespiteProtestationLabourMPsProfitFromNHSPrivatisation.html

133. PeeGee

Steve Bell still auditioning for his new job at Der Sturmer. he really does love his Scotophobic images. Brain dead labour supporter and never done a funny, thought provoking or even mildly clever cartoon in his entire life.
    I’m sure his hook nosed Jews are wonderful too.

134. Chic McGregor

@Indy Scot
    “How much did she take for doing this YES ad.”

30 pieces of silver would be a good bet.

135. Capella

O/T Eleanor Bradford “Scourge of the NHS” strikes again!
    http://tinyurl.com/lfxhv6g

136. Chic McGregor

@CameronB Brodie

Yep. Which is why they needed “I’m Tory Plan B” which is an anagram of “Tony Blair PM”

137. James Caithness

I found out tonight of one way the UK Gov (security services/black art brigade) could rig the postal vote.
    Voters with addresses that are derelict buildings, spurious addresses etc.

EG. 100 High St in Mugsbourough turns out to be a a piece of waste ground. Get the jist.

I also sincerely hope that PO Boxes are not allowed as addresses.

138. Onwards

@laukat

I am sure everyone wishes Douglas Fraser a speedy recovery.

That is a pretty balanced article he posted.
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-28943634

Finishing with a very interesting point.

“For 50 years, the Secretary of State for Scotland has sat in the UK Cabinet issuing explicit or implicit threats that if Scotland doesn’t get its own way on policy or spending, there will be a price to pay in nationalist votes and the threat of independence.

If there’s a “No”, future use of that threat is going to ring rather hollow. ”

Basically, if we bottle it, then Scotland can be thrown under the bus when it comes to budget cuts and slashing the Barnett formula.

We will be paper tigers.
    Or toothless lions ๐Ÿ™‚

139. Chic McGregor

Charles Kennedy “You can’t have it both ways.” (Unless you are a LibDem).

140. X_Sticks

@thedogphilosopher

Aha, the pyromaniac of Prestonpans. Dear, dear wee Mikee, oops, sorry. Baron Watson of Invergowrie.

But don’t forget little Lord Foulkes assaulting a police officer while drunk and disorderly following a jolly with the Scotch Whisky Association.

McConnell? Ach, why bother.

You wonder how many other skeletons reside in that den of iniquity and subsidised bars.

141. Chic McGregor

While it is easier to understand the coerced disappearance of the likes of Screaming Lord Foulkes, or mad dugs of war Reid and Davidson, one noticeable absentee, I suspect not in the same ‘Down Boy!’ category is wee Wendy.

Intriguing.

142. CameronB Brodie

@ Johann Lamont and Alistair Darling
    Some bedtime reading, in case you are having trouble sleeping. ๐Ÿ˜‰

For decades, Labour have had to accept that if they self-indulgently place their own policy preferences over the centre-right instincts of Middle England, they lose elections โ€“ as simple as that.

But for the very first time, they’re gradually starting to realise that different rules apply when they’re dealing with a Scotland-only electorate, and that being too right-wing and London-centric can lose elections (and referendums) too. In a sense, that’s exactly what independence is all about.

http://www.ibtimes.co.uk/scottish-independence-darlings-thrashing-proves-folly-labours-faustian-pact-tories-1462687

143. kestral

#PatronisingBTLady:

http://trendsmap.com/topic/%23patronisingbtlady

it’s trending over the world

omg how do they manage to be so utterly incompetent

nah don’t answer that I know fine well

144. CameronB Brodie

I don’t know if this is appropriate, but has any seen a talking turd before? Torry lackey.

Gordon Brown, 100 days before Scottish independence vote
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tiz93pJspYk

145. CameronB Brodie

Left this out.

‘It doesn’t make sense to split the army, and it doesn’t make sense to have separate currencies, and it doesn’t make sense to have a sepaate funding of the health services, seperate pensions, so….’

Would untrustworthy suffice as an accurate description? Keep it clean. ๐Ÿ™‚

146. CameronB Brodie

Separate. Oops, but the man just makes me sooo angry. ๐Ÿ™‚

147. crazycat

@ James Caithness

Re PO box addresses – I tried to find this out after you commented but didn’t get anywhere. Later today, however, I have to do jury service (which you also mentioned, coincidentally), and the Sheriff court is in the same building as the Electoral Registration people. I shall try to ask them.

I believe there is an updated version of the roll due to be published anyway near the beginning of September, with a final roll a few days later. It would be possible to look at a street which has some empty buildings in it, and see if anyone has been registered there, and challenge it if they have. You’d have to be lucky, of course, since it is unlikely that the trick would be pulled for all derelict buildings. There would also have to be connivance with the postal service, so that postal votes could be picked up, or for postmen to turn a blind eye to polling cards. All that seems somewhat far-fetched (I hope).

148. donald anderson

How are the postal votes being checked and how open is the counting process?

Kennedy talked a lot but said nothing. Why have him on the programme if he is a know nothing and not representing the Lib Dems?

Where is the Tory representation these days. Why are they not on BT progs and platforms? Is it because they are too far to the left of Labour whom they rely on to keep Scotlandshire down?

I do not wish Douglas Fraser any personal harm and wish him a speedy recovery. If he is well enough to use his media platform then he is well enough to be taken to task on these issues alone.

149. john king

BBC@ 05.30
    130 companies are opposed to independence “The uncertainty would be bad for buisness and bad for Scotland” (well thats us telt then eh?
    companies are afraid mumble mumble pound, mumble mumble, fear,Scotlands relationship with EU eh? relationship with EU at least Scotland will HAVE a relationship with the EU, UK? not so much,

Exports mumble mumble, exports to where?
    is England going to stop imports from Scotland after a domocratic decision to have our own government but kept importing Argentinian produce after the invasion of the Falklands?

Or is it all Englands pals will gang up on us and tell us we cant join their gang?
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=didO-DHpnAE

How will tax work?
    coporate bodies asking how TAX WORKS!
    wow if they dont know that maybe its time we parted company?
    That was kinda like the quip from Alistiar Darling complaining (no really) that Alex Salmonds plan to reduce corporation tax will be music to Starbucks and Amazons ears,
    Ahem, just how much did they pay last year Mr Darling?
    so that’ll be a 20% rise in what they pay just now then? 20% is better than 0% you idiot,

And MOST IMPORTANTLY “what currency Scotland would use”

oh by all that is holy ,sweet Jesus make it stop
    its, its like a loud unrelenting dentists drill just whine whine whine non stop Im getting tinnitus for Christ sake.

O/T For gods sake will someone cut me in on a couple of thousand Wee Blue books Im starting to get abuse from Yes campaigners who are saying you haven’t really got any pals John have you? I’l travel, I’ll go to Bath (no I didnt say I’d HAVE a Bath I’m not going THAT far) for gods sake but will somebody help me pleeeeaaaassssee help me bwaaaaa sob.

150. donald anderson

By moving off the lectern The Tory Darling found it harder to shout Alex Salmond down and interrupt. And Glenn Campbell, who chose to stand beside his Darling colleague, instead of using the centre podium, found it harder to interrupt Alex Salmond, who turned his back to the two Bitters.

The wumman acting as an ordinary undecided mum was able to make her mind up far quicker than Chares Kennedy. If he wants to join the Yes campaign and absolve himself from the Lin Dem Tory Coalition he should have the guts to do so. Drunk or sober he would earn more respect if he stopped waffling.

151. john king

Xsticks
    “the pyromaniac of Prestonpans.”

Is that no a folk song?

noo hoo raa ra ra the pyromaniac of Prestonpans

A’ll get ma chanter ๐Ÿ™

152. Wee poor stupid Scotsman

‘Time to get back to work,’ she says. Hang on, you’re working already. You’re an actress performing an excruciatingly awful part.

153. john king

o/t I have a no voting passenger in my car and for the past three mornings people have peeped their horns at me (strangely at the same place) and she asked why people are suddenly peeping at me then she went “oh it’s the yes sticker you put on the front windscreen” I said “ayup”
    btw this one is rthe lady who’s husband put a union flag on his brown bin (titter)
    tick tock

154. James Caithness

To crazycat

According to the SNP Ciir who was chairing the meeting last night and who has been involved in scrutinising the count before and will be this time as well said, ”It is difficult with postal votes because no-one sees them them until the count begins at which point they are just tipped into the pile”.
    I took that to mean the electoral people must have opened them before, how long before I don’t know’ but the first time the scrutineers sees them is when they are emptyed into the pile. He said at that point there is no chance of checking the postal votes.
    I sincerely hope that my cynicism is unfounded. But the person, on the panel, who first mentioned the derelict building was a very high up official in the Diplomatic service in a previous life and he stood against a well known Labour person in England, that is when he checked the building (after the election was over) where a number of votes had been cast from. On the panel last night he stated he was very much against postal voting because of his experience.

155. Bugger (the Panda)

If Douglas Fraser is posting articles, he is fair game and his latest one is a shocker. BBC bias at its best.

156. Snode1965

Today’s front page story in s.daily express, “BBC bias in referendum debate.” They claim it had been fixed by the beeb for a YES victory! Ha ha ha. You could not make this shite up!

157. aitchbee

In advertising-speak there is a genre of advertising called ‘2 Cs in a K’. You know the sort of thing – two ladies discussing their washing powder choices over a cup of tea in the kitchen. In the BT ad we can see one ‘C’ – who do you suppose the other one is? ๐Ÿ˜‰

158. R-type Grunt

O/T slightly, sorry.

Does anyone here know whereabouts in Dundee the Brown/Darling love-in is taking place? I find myself at a loose-end today ๐Ÿ˜‰

159. Jax Mcdowell

I think Paul is a yes voter

160. Arabs for Independence

BBC GMS trying to compare the Labour/Tory alliance with the ‘uncomfortable’ SNP/Greens alliance.

Truly desperate stuff by the BBC

We are winning this

161. Robert Peffers

@HandandShrimp says: 26 August, 2014 at 11:33 pm:

“It will be fun going through the list of companies tomorrow.”

Aye! HandandShrimp, and the despicable BBC propagandists are spinning that for all their establishment liggers are able. Notice the wee, wee, unimportant fact that Business for Scotland’s going on 3,000 membership seems to the BEEB to be of less importance than the 300 odd self-interested propaganda merchants who seem more intent upon skunk tippit robes and a seat on red leather.

162. Robert Peffers

@Chic McGregor says: 27 August, 2014 at 12:35 am:

“Charles Kennedy โ€œYou canโ€™t have it both ways.โ€ (Unless you are a LibDem).”

Well actually, Chic, The LibDems are the best placed elected people to know the truth is that, “You CANNOT have it both ways”, as their chances of re-election have continued shrinking since they tried to have it both ways.

163. Tam Jardine

@Arabs for Independence

I heard that attempt to highlight division – as you say, desperate stuff. The strength of the Yes campaign is its unity of purpose amongst a vast range of demographics, ages, political views and party loyalty.

I hope it will be this unity of purpose that allows Scotland to move forward to becoming a normal and successful country in the future.

I have realised as an SNP member that I have much in common with SSP supporters and Green party supporters and that within the SNP itself there are diverse views on many subjects.

This is a strength – the BBC knows it is a fundamental flaw in BT so try in vain to tar Yes with the same brush.

164. Daibach

Can someone tell me where the “too poor, too weak” quote came from, a BT bloke is telling me it’s from the Yes side?

165. Juteman

@Diabach.
    It’s shorthand for all of BTs anti indy arguments. All their anti stories fall into one of those headings.

166. Sinky

Out 300,000 businesses in Scotland the NO campaign has found 133 business people who by and large also made the same complaints about Devolution. Within the EU Scottish businesses will have access to a market of 500 millions.

On 14 July Deloittes survey of business risks found that the 2015 UK Westminster election and risk of policy change scored the highest element of risk and uncertainty at 55 on a scale out of 100 while the possible referendum on the UK’s EU membership came in at 50, meanwhile the Scottish independence referendum scored lowest of all options, at just 38.

Lets take the countries in the EU that became independent in the early 1990’s (Slovenia, Slovakia, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania). Over the past 20 years, the average annual economic growth rate for these six newly independent nations has been 2.9% – that matches the UKs growth rate plus half as much again. And remember, more growth means more jobs and opportunities, higher family incomes and a better standard of living.

Meanwhile Business for Scotland has 2500 members

http://www.businessforscotland.co.uk/10-key-economic-facts-that-prove-scotland-will-be-a-wealthy-independent-nation/

167. Ken500

The 130 businesses are the badly run one’s, with massive of UK debt. In trouble in or out of the Union.

The John Menzies NO Declarstion was a red herring, being used to divert from firm’s losses at Heathrow, because of re-organisation by Heathrow authorities.

The Referendum being used by disreputable business practice, to pacify UK shareholders.

Anywhere but Heathrow.

168. gerry parker

@ Chick.
    Aye, I’ve noticed that Wee Wendy is keeping a low profile too. Must be becuse she’s just a wee shy girl – or waiting on an opportune moment to further her own career.
    Just another Labour Trougher, biding her time.

169. Simon Chadwick

James Caithness, yes he said some things that seemed over the top but to be honest on reflection it did not really seem so unlikely. The thing about the artificial pre-planned cutaways during the TV debate, eg a cut away to an applauding audience member during blinky’s turn – to subliminally reinforce his message – that seemed worryingly plausible.

170. Tackety Beets

Missed a wee bit of the Weir Group mannie , what I did hear was , his doubts . Every doubt he has ….. Bla bla bla …… could be answered by his beloved WM if only they participated in the debate or even held dicussions .He does not seam to understand this ? . FFS if that is the quality of the people at the head of these Co’s which Sinky suggests are poorly run , then I pity their prospects regardless of the result . More scaremongering thats all it is .

I have met G M-Kemp(represent BFS , very switched on guy . Jim McColl is the guy who has purchased FREGUSON ship yard this week . 11 mins in for thoughts on CU and “Jenny I’ll talk over you Marra ” about 30 mins which is on Europe
    Vat on Repair/ maint @35 mins http://www.bbc.co.uk/democracylive/scotland-26353466

171. manandboy

I need some advice please.

I’m soon to be confronted by a big name from the No campaign
    and I’m in an audience.
    What question would I ask that would cause
    him/her most difficulty ?

172. Grouse Beater

A handful of company bosses tell the masses life is better for business when real democracy is denied to the people.

The Abuse of Corporate Power – grousebeater.wordpress

173. David Stevenson

Darling quoted in today’s Metro saying the debate will be taking place in “people’s kitchens”.

These plastic political hacks are so media driven they have zero spontaneity. Do they script their entire lives, I wonder?

174. turnbull drier

Calling all Wingersโ€ฆ in Midlothian

I have received notification of my appointment as the WoS Referendum Agent for the Midlothian.

Iโ€™m am looking for volunteers to step up to the plate and help out.

There are 37 polling places in Midlothian and, ideally, Iโ€™d like to get someone to each of them. There is also the monitoring of the postal ballot returns to be considered.

You’ll find the details in Off Topic.. Or email me “turnbulldrier AT gmail DOT com”

175. galamcennalath

@James Caithness
    @crazycat

I think everyone here has concerns about manipulating postal votes. I would say it’s bound to happen, even if only in a small scale with someone using an elderly relative, or keeping someone on the register who has moved away.

BT, followers and associated agencies have played underhand so far. It’s reasonable not to trust them with anything!

There will be 3 million votes spread across a great many polling stations etc.. A 1% swing would require 30000 votes to be falsified. That would need to be spread across multiple sites or it would stand out.

Perhaps the best we can do is make it loud and clear that we are watching, best we can.

Are numbers and/or results of postal votes published separately? Stats of votes sent out by ward? By couning centre?

If there are figures available, anonamies should stand out.

Surely such analysis is standard procedure for the Electoral Commission in the search for jiggery pokery?

My concerns remain, but I can’t get my head round how anyone could make a big impact overall. Also, it is an enormous risk to take. If found out, it would definitely be the end of the Union.

176. No no no...yes

David Cameron did not watch the debate:

http://www.ibtimes.co.uk/scottish-independence-cameron-did-not-watch-televised-debate-britains-future-1462650

Good to know that he is offering Darling his support! Never mind another hopeless Prime Minister, Crash Gordon,will step in today to shore up the failing union.

Anybody know where to get the WBB in Perth?

177. Grouse Beater

Darling in todayโ€™s Metro saying the debate will be taking place in โ€œpeopleโ€™s kitchensโ€.

Aye, he means Patronising Lady’s kitchen – but only introspective monologues.

178. heedtracker

BBC all networks pumping out the 130 top CEO say no stuff but with the sneaky, not now maybe later bait and switch, “with economy growing now is not the time” but maybe later. Even BBC world hourly pumping out the not now maybe later fraud but all of which is ditched complete for BBC Scotland online reportage,

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-28944255

Certainly interesting, watching rolling hard core propaganda at work. Yesterday was the worst bias I’ve ever seen on BBC 24 TV news so why they left out the maybe later kicker at pacific quay today s quite subtle for them at least. It’s maybe simply down to mood swings of whichever propaganda team in the PQ, or maybe DG MacQuarrie too, who knows, it’s their BBC and they think they own Scotland. If we lose, they will.

179. Macart

@Grouse Beater

They’re not my company boss and even if they were I frankly couldn’t give a shit what they think. They pull their troosers on one leg at a time just like the rest of us. They have no more rights, knowledge, insight or wisdom than the next person. They do have a damn sight more self interest and personal investment in the status quo though.

If they don’t like the idea of accountable, popularly mandated government running the country then with the greatest of respect they can pack their bags and try to not let the door hit them on the arse as they leave. ๐Ÿ™‚

180. Macart

@ manandboy

Dear Sir/Madame

Name three guaranteed powers which will deliver much needed jobs… ๐Ÿ™‚

181. galamcennalath

manandboy says:
    Iโ€™m soon to be confronted by a big name from the No campaign
    and Iโ€™m in an audience.
    What question would I ask that would cause
    him/her most difficulty ?

Perhaps its best to consider what not to ask. Consider the potential for wriggle. NHS would be great but we’ve heard already where they just deny the situation in England and turn it round as Yes scaremongering.

Two things stood out for me in the last debate. Salmond’s challenges to Darling to be a democrat accepting the people’s will on CU, and the challenge to name powers.

That second one goes straight to one of BT’s big weakness, the future.

I think I would ask them to name a power (or powers) guaranteed to be coming to Scotland with a NO which would increase investment in healthcare and the NHS.

182. Nana Smith

Get this out to the youth vote.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QNvfSL8eJLQ&feature=youtu.be

183. Fairliered

Manandboy.
    In the event of a Yes vote, and your route to the House of Lords is closed off, what’s your plan B?

184. heedtracker

I have a postal vote and the only security involved is your signature. That’s it just one squiggle and you’re a voter. It’s was all set up with a wee bit of protest and worries over the fact that the electoral commission via Westminster decided that you do not need to provide them with any reason to have a postal vote.

In a UKOK first past the post system and with the House of Lords, vote numbers are virtually irrelevant to these guys. If they get one million new voters in UK general elections, it’s never going to make any difference to the outcome. Most democracies would try to change and improve, but Westminster no likee change, well the Lords is changing, it’s getting bigger and more powerful. And it’s why MP’s want to bayonet the wounded if we lose. He’s the richest man in Govan.

The boss of the electoral commission is former BBC in Scotland Director general and that’s not a coincidence either.

185. Calgacus MacAndrews

O/T – Anybody who hasn’t seen the ‘Suffering from Scottishness’ music video should have a look and enjoy:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sSS34o9WjpU&feature=youtu.be

I think we are all suffering from it so these days, and we’ll just have to vote YES on 18th September and put ourselves out of our collective misery.

๐Ÿ™‚

186. Dr JM Mackintosh

@goldenayr
    That is a bit strange. I have put and continue to put lots of complaints into the BBC about bias against the Yes campaign. I have also noted they are never formally reported anywhere. I have also tried to find out the numbers of complaints via FOIs only to be told that they cannot divulge this as it would compromise their impartiality.

How come they publish numbers of complaints for bias against the No side?

I feel another complaint may be due?!

187. Bob Sinclair

I’ve just had a friend text me and he is absolutely raging after reading the WBB. It’s all good though, what he is raging about is that none of this info has been covered by the MSM. A formerly ‘Soft YES’ who was unlikely to discuss the issues wiis now spreading the word & he has a LOT of friends & family.

188. goulashman

NO appear to be scrapping their apple barrel for the most unappetising specimens – the 120 business signatories for example, the political and social attitudes of whom it would interesting to reveal….

189. goulashman

scraping/scrapping – perhaps a Freudian slip:)

190. les Wilson

Yes, more news gleefully reported on BBCS this morning.
    Gordon Brown and Darling to join against Scottish democracy!

The BBC have very often tried to spin Brown as being well respected in Scotland, eh? this is a made up assumption for propaganda use. Brown aided by Darling, was a catastrophe of tsunami proportions. Now the BBC and MMS in general wheel them out sharing a stage.

Let us believe nothing,from these two, or ANY part of the MSM. Let us just remember the results of the last time they “teamed up”. I expect their new partnership will be spun by unchallenged MSM interviews, unchallenged speeches with selected supporters only. They are weasels.

191. Sinky

Dr JM Mackintosh

It would be a Better Together spin and publicity stunt to deflect attention from Darling’s disastrous performance.

And John Swinney ripped Johann Lamont one over her “no pound” leaflets on BBC2 referendum debate last night.

192. chalks

@manandboy

Depends who it is….

193. Brotyboy

Sinky @ 8.22am

Great post.

194. Juteman

@manandboy.
    Should all countries in the world govern themselves, or are some incapable?

195. galamcennalath

Nana Smith says:
    “Get this out to the youth vote.”

Wow, Gan yersel Russell.

196. Sinky

Like Vitol plc Weir Group do not maje the ideal poster boy for Bigots Together.

One of Scotland’s largest companies has been fined ยฃ3m for breaching UN sanctions on Iraq by doing business with Saddam Hussein’s regime.

Glasgow-based engineering firm Weir Group admitted paying kickbacks to the dictator’s government a decade ago to secure lucrative business contracts.

The High Court in Edinburgh heard this had contravened the Oil For Food programme aimed at helping Iraqis.

Judge Lord Carloway also confiscated ยฃ13.9m of illegal profits from Weir.

The court was told that Weir Group Plc admitted two charges of breaching United Nations sanctions, imposed on Iraq before the 2003 invasion.

http://www.bbc.com/news/uk-scotland-glasgow-west-11999668

197. JWil

Too poor, too weak, too stupid, to run our own affairs!

I still maintain that the name, ‘Better Together’ is actually intended to convey the meaning that Scotland is in a dependency culture and cannot exist without the beneficence of England. In other words the dependency is all in the one direction. That is what the name suggests and the idea is confirmed daily by comments from Unionist politicians suggesting that Scotland cannot exist on its own.

Yet another indicator of the complete corruption that exists south of the border with the latest disclosures on child abuse on a grand scale and the utter failure of the authorities to do anything about it.

198. Scot Finlayson

This is a good read if you have 5mins.
    This is who we are up against.
    This is why Scotland needs to vote for Independence.

http://english.pravda.ru/business/finance/30-08-2011/118902-money_enslavement-0/

199. Bugger [the Panda]

There is a massive vote rigging scandal in Tower Hamlets where on Party has be very active in postal votes.

My contact, formerly a high ranking cabinet minister at Westminster says the EC is totally useless and should be abolished. The postal voting system in use was the brainfart of Preston now Lord Preston of Fishwived.

200. heedtracker

FM Salmond actually makes the Guardian front page! Which leads to their squeezy doll. I have been buying the Graun for 30 years, now can’t bear the site of it. Worst hypocrites in teamGB ever, the stench of which will never leave them.

http://www.theguardian.com/uk

201. Jim

@fred blogger says:
    yes, it is patronizing stereo typed condescending nonsense.
    they really try to make out that the voter is stupid.
    ________

Are they really trying to win the vote of women by making them look like Stupid in a political broadcast, my God.
    I have made up my mind, I like fluffy kittens!

202. faolie

Kev: Yes Provan Yes: 66%, No: 7%, DK: 27%

Right on Kev. Was also out last night, in Leith: 13 Yes, 6 No, rest DK. From just one wee canvass run. Thing is though, they’re ALWAYS like this. I’ve never had a canvass where there was a No majority.

203. Macart

Its not a Guardian I recognise anymore heed. I stopped buying it and the Herald near on three years ago and neither will another penny from me.

204. caz-m

BBC Scotland “patsy” and serial liar, Eleanor Bradford, being rightly highlighted on Newsnet Scotland this morning, after being caught out yet again trying to run down the Scottish NHS.

http://www.newsnetscotland.com/index.php/scottish-news/9649-controversial-bbc-reporter-suggests-nhs-stats-harm-snp-referendum-campaign

205. geeo

Modern democracy in Scotland!

There will be a ban on Scottish accents next !

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/politics/patriotic-taxi-driver-banned-road-4113780

206. Tam Jardine

goldenayr

Reading that Daily Mail piece was through the looking glass stuff. Those 130 complaints that Dr Mackintosh rightly points out have been revealed despite Yes complaint numbers being unknown- for those 130 people I simply shake my head.

We’ve had years of BBC bias against firstly the SNP and then Yes. Has there been a single solitary voice from the No camp critical of the bias from the BBC and rest of MSM? After all, it undermines not just the Yes campaign but also the legitimacy of a No vote.

Complaining to the BBC of their Pro-Yes bias is simply an admission: “I’m stupid and know absolutely nothing about this matter”.

Maybe these Daily Mail types could join us on the next PQ protest!

207. caz-m

Gordon Brown and Alistair Darling are paying “YES City”, Dundee, a visit today.

I think they should be given a full on YES welcome.

208. geeo

130 rich businessmen fighting independence for grace and favour.

1 million plus signatures against grace and favour fighting for independence.

209. Ian Brotherhood

Anyone have links to most recent Murphy Roadshow footage?

And where can we expect to see him today?

210. Robert Peffers

Chic McGregor says: 27 August, 2014 at 12:35 am:

โ€Charles Kennedy โ€œYou canโ€™t have it both ways.โ€ (Unless you are a LibDem).โ€

Shouldn’t that be. โ€œYou canโ€™t have it both ways.โ€ (As the LibDem found out after coalition with Tory Westminster after coalition with Holyrood Labour).

211. Robert Peffers

Chic McGregor says: 27 August, 2014 at 12:35 am:

โ€Charles Kennedy โ€œYou canโ€™t have it both ways.โ€ (Unless you are a LibDem).โ€

Shouldn’t that be. โ€œYou canโ€™t have it both ways.โ€ (As the LibDem found out after coalition with Tory Westminster after coalition with Holyrood Labour).

212. Dan Huil

Brown and Darling’s love-in: Bitter Together trying to persuade us we’re Better Together. Hilarious.

213. Tamson

@manandboy:

I would ask them what they will do in the event of a Yes vote. Any answer which isn’t about fighting for the bes result for Scots is inadequate.

214. manandboy

chalks says:
    27 August, 2014 at 9:12 am
    @manandboy

Depends who it isโ€ฆ

Thanks for your interest Chalks.

It is for a BBC Scotland tv/radio event for 16 – 18 yr old school pupils in the Metro in Glasgow on the 11th.
    Am trying to find out who is due to speak at the event, so far without success – have phoned the BBC, they couldn’t help;
    called the school – they don’t know but they’ll get back to me asap after enquiries.

Can you believe the speakers have not been announced
    and yet the BBC are asking for questions from participants.

I hope it’s neither of the dreary duo of Darling & Brown

215. Betty Boop

The difference is how each campaign presents their case. I think the BT ad shows a lack of conviction, passion if you like, on the part of those who made it.

Apart from excellent (often funny), creative videos/film, we have a plethora of intelligent blogs, online news, analysis, etc. Has anything ever been discussed and investigated with such enthusiasm and vigour. We have thousands willingly on the streets talking to people about “who they think they are” and in which direction they wish to travel.

@ Jules, 9:34pm, 26 Aug 14

Stating the obvious, but these things need to go to undecideds/soft Nos.

I saw one Yes group saying โ€˜first 100 people to show up get a WBBโ€™. No disrespect, but handing them out indiscriminately to strong Yes or strong No voters ainโ€™t really the point.

I understand your concern about that, however, a lot depends upon what was said to recipients about the purpose of the book. I think it is a good idea for campaigners/activists to have a copy of the Wee Blue Book handy at all times. The other half used one at a meeting last night when questions were taken from the floor and, supplementary to the speakers answers, he could point the questioners to the pages which covered the subject. It will be of great benefit at street stalls and when canvassing doors.

You are right that we should make the best use we can of this incredible resource.

Encourage as many people as possible to download and print off some copies and distribute those too.

216. heedtracker

@ Macart, have you ever seen such hypocrisy anywhere before. Thing is right… if you’re a middle class professional English, Scots, Welsh, chavin awa together, it probably all does seem like what the fcuk are they doing? This strata of teamGB is pretty conservative anyway with a large C.

But take BBC R4 last night running some extremely radical open reportage into how teamGB Westminster works, with last night show really getting close to how industries like alcohol and cheap food producers get really close to Westminster MP’s, or buying them basically.

The report shows how minimum alcohol pricing is extremely successful policy, huge drop in cirrhosis of the liver etc , yet big booze co’s completely overturned the ConDems election anti cheap hooch pledge.

BUT then they got to the Holyrood SNP Scots.gov who have not been corrupted basically and the only way to block Scottish minimum booze pricing is by taking Scots.gov to court and that’s after massive vote for cheap hooch, it’s a democracy thing PR campaign too. Wonder if there’s any big alcohol producer CEO’s on that list of business No?

217. manandboy

Ps. Come to think of it,
    every single spokesperson for No is dreary
    with the sole exception of Anas Sarwar
    who has been incarcerated on the Labour Red Bus
    for weeks now.
    There should be a poll – perhaps on here –
    to canvass opinion as to the dreariest
    member of the No campaign.
    My vote would go to
    1.Johann Lamont 2.Gordon Brown 3.Alistair Darling

218. JWil

Eleanor Bradford doesn’t do much for her reputation. If she continues to be a BBC reporter on the health service, or on any other subject, does she realise that at least 50% of the population of Scotland will be looking sideways at her and asking if they can ever believe anything she says again?

To her bosses she is dispensable. They don’t care about her as long as she is able to follow their agenda and diss the SNP.

219. JWil

Darling on the back foot, still trying to save his dismal reputation. Now a tie up with his sworn enemy Gordon Brown.
    May they both sink together.

220. heedtracker

If you want to listen to actual journalists with integrity and common decency really, in action, talking to all sides of a debate then letting the listener reach their own conclusion

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b04f9rdw

The biggest eye opener is scientific dudes suddenly explaining how SNP.gov came out of nowhere and said right let’s get this minimum pricing done and the only way teamGB purveyors of shite have to stop them in Scotland is go to court and guess who pays for it all too.

221. Dorothy Devine

I have just caught up with that ghastly BT video.

Who in the name of the wee man thought that would appeal to anyone , far less women?

Patronising , ignorant piffle.

222. manandboy

Thanks Tamson – I like your suggestion and have passed it on to my son via his facebook.

223. Macart

@heed

I reckon Eric/dorice had the right idea and leave them to it. They don’t speak for us only for self interest and those with corporate vested interest. The metro right on champagne socialists who tend to inhabit those pages these day frankly wouldn’t know a socially just agenda if it jumped up and bit them on the arse. Independence is ‘right on’ for anyone but the Scots who should know when they’re on a good thing with ‘cool Brittania’.

If I hear one more condescending fucker say to me ‘Scots are too canny to vote for independence’ there’s going to be a problem going off in his face.

224. P.R.D.

Why did it take a referendum and AD’s participation to expose the bankruptcy of Scottish socialism to the Scots.

Technically Alistair Darling or Johann Lamont could become FM in an independent Scotland.

225. Ken500

Whisky companies tax evade.

226. manandboy

Technically Alistair Darling or Johann Lamont could become FM in an independent Scotland.

But only after registering their party in Scotland.

227. Muscleguy

I spent four hours or so in the centre of Dundee yesterday accosting passersby for Yes and asking if they were registered to vote. We registered 45 people just in the first 2hours.

But I had one African woman who was concerned because her husband had got his polling card but she hadn’t. She eagerly went up to the table when I told her there was still time and we could sign her up there and then.

She didn’t seem like patronising BT lady one bit. She was determined to vote and wasn’t going to be patronised out of it.

I was so apprehensive about doing this but really warmed into it and had a ball. LOTS of people thanked me for the Yes leaflets I was handing out too, genuine thanks. Even the No people were nice about it. We had one shouty guy but he left with smiles. We are going to win this.

228. heedtracker

http://wingsoverscotland.com/voices-of-the-people/#comments and Dr Porter OR Stair heed Rammy, Crash Gordon, future Lord Alistair Darling and the BBC in Scotland, is the real choice for Scotland.

229. P.R.D.

What ever the outcome Scotland needs new political blood, away with the dogmatic ideologists and the Scots self-loathers that have condemned thousands of their fellow Scots to a life of penury.

230. David Stevenson

Manandboy: Why not ask what the panel think of Gordon Brown trying to terrify people in need of transplant surgery when independence poses NO threat to the current system at all? Isn’t that the absolute worst form of scaremongering possible? Letter to Nanette Milne (Tory MSP) confirming that there is no threat to the system is downloadable om line. Wings also pursued this question with the same result.

231. liz

I used to buy the Guardian and commented under ‘clarissant’ – now I wouldn’t read the Guardian if you gave it to me free.
    That was a real eye-opener – it makes you realise how the media in this country are completely in the hands of the establishment.

The good folk of the rUK are also brainwashed by the media but the majority of then don’t realise it yet.

BTW never been a fan of Russell Bryant but very good video from him – his boredom with the oil revenues is because he didn’t get the too poor attitude that’s been coming in our direction for generations.

232. David Stevenson

PRD: Labour has had no link with socialism for some decades. Even when millions were engaged in breaking the poll tax by mass non payment, the majority of Labour parliamentarians were arguing for tactics which would have been doomed to failure. Most socialist members left long ago if they were not actively purged.

Careerist hacks and people deluding themselves that it is still the party of Bevan and Attlee (your CJSansom types) are all that remain.

233. chalks

‘Ken500 says:

27 August, 2014 at 10:17 am

Whisky companies tax evade.’

http://www.oilc.org/rmt-tax-avoidance-flyersing.pdf

??

234. chalks

Yes Scotland advert on tonight, after reporting scotland…..available on facebook and yes website from 6pm.

@Manandboy

Go for more powers, or trident or hs2….london sewer upgrade

‘Why are we paying for things that make no difference to us, such as HS2, the London Sewer Upgrade, the 26 mile tunnel underneath london, or the new train track around the suburbs of london? Why is our money going to this? What about Scotlands needs?’

235. Angela

I just found it odd that kids who are old enough to have their heads in their phones also play with toy cars and colouring books!

236. Derek Mcghee

thank you BTG that’s another thousand votes, don’t forget “Lamont’s quote” Scot’s are not genetically programed to vote,

237. donald anderson

You could ask if they will continue to badmouth and sabotage Scotland and still act as collaborators and flunkies for the London Super State Club?

Or, you could the Labourites if they can spell, never mind define Socialism.

238. Chic McGregor

Take your point Bob, but not sure if it is that different from mine.

239. Onwards

“Muscleguyย says:

27 August, 2014 at 10:32 am

I spent four hours or so in the centre of Dundee yesterday accosting passersby for Yes and asking if they were registered to vote. We registered 45 people just in the first 2hours.”

Wow. Thats both good and bad..

Its going to be essential to register people who don’t normally vote.
    These are likely the folks the polling companies miss.

240. Jim

Simon Chadwick says:
    The thing about the artificial pre-planned cutaways during the TV debate, eg a cut away to an applauding audience member during blinkyโ€™s turn โ€“ to subliminally reinforce his message โ€“ that seemed worryingly plausible.
    ____
    It was the same in the first debate where the camera kept cutting to a woman nodding in agreement when Darling was speaking and shaking her head when Salmond got his turn.
    All about reinforcing what Darling was saying and negating Salmonds arguments. The same thing happened in last nights debate in Edinburgh with one guy heckling John Swinney whenever he was answering questions.
    The guy asked his question and Swinney gave his answer so the chair should have politely told the guy to stop shouting in the background when other people got their turn.

241. goulashman

Just had a walk from the garage where my ancient car awaits its diagnosis through Inverurie and am greatly heartened by seeing so many YES stickers in windows, mostly in flats and smaller dwellings, in cars and even on a bicycle! There appears to be a groundswell for YES – among ordinary folk who are being brought into the democratic process in ever greater number. I just hope the electoral commission will not be infiltrated by Unionist/Westminster dirty trickery – paranoid I know – but the mass of propaganda and pure stench from the BBC and other MSM causes one to worry – one who, in America at the time, saw how the Bush machine managed to interfere with the electoral process.

242. les Wilson

If you vote NO without realising you have been propaganded!

You soon will realise, when all is said and done,
    THEY WILL BE LAUGHING AT YOU!
    Their job will be done and they will be soo happy sipping their champers, LAUGHING AT YOU, – THE MUG.

243. boris2

Who would wish to live in an England without an NHS providing care for all but only through access to a credit card.

http://www.mirror.co.uk/news/uk-news/fury-…-handed-3123469 nhs rip off
    http://www.mirror.co.uk/news/uk-news/child…ll-kids-3129996 nhs rip off
    http://www.mirror.co.uk/lifestyle/health/n…ombined-3099734 black hole
    http://www.mirror.co.uk/news/uk-news/torie…hs-cuts-3102993 privatisation

Scotland can avoid a future where healthcare is subject to the control of market forces. Vote, “Yes” in the referendum

244. cearc

I am no expert on TV ads, having not bothered with TV for many years, but surely kitchen ads are usually set in the sort of kitchens that they think their target audience aspire to.

Maybe ‘unpolished’ is the new aspiration.

245. X_Sticks

@goulashman

As WoS Referendum agent for Aberdeenshire I’m still looking for volunteers for Postal vote openings in Inverurie and Polling Station agents for ‘wherever’ in the Shire and the prize is a ticket to the grand count in the AECC on the 18th – interested?

More info here:

http://wingsoverscotland.com/off-topic/comment-page-9/#comment-1823596

246. goulashman

Thanks, X_Sticks. I will give this every consideration that this old guy can and will link to the info!

247. James Caithness

to Manandboy โ€“ it would help if we knew who the person was to be able to give them a good hard question

To Simon Chadwick โ€“ Its plausible ok. Remember in his previous life he would have had to have signed the Official Secrets Act to a very high level. What he told us was shocking so you can imagine what he canโ€™t tell us.

248. crazycat

@ James Caithness

Since you’re reading this thread – I called in at the Registration Office a couple of hours ago, and PO Boxes cannot be used as addresses to register, so you can stop worrying about that one, at least!

249. James Caithness

Cheers crazycat.
    Someone explained a few things for us earlier on, and what they said made sense. If we do have queeries though its good to express them and get them cleared up.

250. Just looked on the BT youtube page and the #patronisingBTlady video has been viewed over 26,000 times.

The vast majority of their videos are around 500 views.

251. Wee buts

To manandboy.
    Ask. Why should the Labour Party be trusted? Are you not all hypocrites, evading tax. Is it right you only paid ยฃ14,000 on a. Total of ยฃ33million?

Andrew pierce. Daily mail. 25th of august.

252. Iain Mac

Surprised no one has brought up the close up of the ring which appears 3 times. Trying to reinforce the fact she is married (better together)

Yet when she is speaking about Paul (“Paul says”-1:28) the focus is on her right hand therefore no ring (separation) plus she is pointing and giving out negative comments.

Just to drive home the subconscious message of better together they have a nice hand clasp and close up of the ring again.

I fear this ad is slightly smarter than most people are giving it credit for and hope to god it doesn’t work.

253. Peter Macbeastie

GAAAAH…. I heard about the Better Together video earlier so I did get the post, but I hadn’t seen it so I clicked that link… AHHH… I can’t get that patronising shite out of my head… and I’m a bloke!!!

Immensely amusing, though, though, that Better Together UK have disabled comments for the video. They wouldn’t want to see what just about everyone seeing that video has to say about it.

I’m a bloke, and I’m offended. Ladies, that video says, don’t you worry your pretty little heads about it. Stick to makeup and soap operas and leave the thinking to us.

254. Gary

It’s sad when satire and news are indistinguishable. Remember back on April Fool’s Day? The newspapers were trying to make YES look stupid by printing the most ridiculous stories about the consequences of independence. They had boobed massively. Every single one of those nonsense stories had actually been used by Better Together in their scare stories. How will ANY of these people be taken seriously ever again?

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.