A Christmas bonus

Posted on December 18, 2014 by

Hang on a minute. We just got yet another begging email from Labour.

labourbeg

Those vacancies sound familiar. The amount, not so much. £87,500?

Because alert readers will remember that yesterday we drew your attention to some vacancies the party was advertising, and super-alert readers will recall that they included the 10 assistant organiser posts mentioned here. And we also worked out how much they were going to be paid – £76,830.

assistants

So who’s trousering the other £10,670?

3 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

1. 18 12 14 23:01

A Christmas bonus | FreeScotland

2. 19 12 14 00:40

A Christmas bonus - Speymouth

3. 27 12 14 16:01

Under false pretences | FreeScotland

81 to “A Christmas bonus”

1. K1

That’ll be for Jim Murphy’s packet of Empire biscuits 🙂

2. Croompenstein

Is that you they’ve sent the letter to Stu? Wings could crowdfund that in a day 🙂

3. Alan Ritchie

Employers NI and pension contributions? Well, they are probably not being given pension contributions.

4. Malcolm Osborne

They have to pay employer’s national insurance on top of the wages

5. G. P. Walrus

The £10,670 is to bribe someone else to change the lightbulb.

6. Richard McIntosh

Iain McNicol will know surely?

7. CameronB Brodie

Silly, it for a second-hand photocopier. 🙂

8. MajorBloodnok

Jim Murphy’s hair products?

9. Bob Mack

Security.Money for rent a mob loyalists. ?

10. ronnie anderson

@ Rev Stu ur you getting fitted up fur a red cloak or is this a devide an conquer move, as sombody said on the other thread adverts in the National stick up a crowdfund for a couple of grand just now.

11. John Lyons

Is this a Scottish Labour begging letter? They’re seem to be suggesting the Tories are the enemy, which makes me doubt it’s Scottish…

12. Andrew Morton

I loathe and detest thought of being fair to SLab, but if you assume that they’ll take up their posts at the beginning of January and work until the end of June, that’s £17,580 x 10 / 2 = £87,901deducting holidays and adding bonuses means it’s probably about right.

Sorry, ah’ll get ma coat.

13. K1

And by a day Croompenstein you mean a heartbeat 🙂

14. heedtracker

Bliar All About The Bass MacDougal’s tab at Greggs.

15. AnneDon

I like the email address – OneNationPolitics@Labour.org.uk?

16. tombee

Whilst Jim doesn’t have office facilities at Holyrood could it be for a wee accommodation somewhere near the government building?.
    By the way, where is Murphy staying?. Somebody needs to keep an eye on his subsistence claims. He is a pirate when it comes to expenses.

17. Ken500

Priceless wingers humour x

Thanks for the website Rev Stu.

An oasis in the storm.

18. Alex Clark

Sending out more begging letters, Very embarrassing, though I doubt this lot could ever be embarrassed by anything they do.

Why don’t the 7 (at least) millionaires in the shadow cabinet dip into their own pockets and put their money where their mouth is, in support of their own party?

Fat chance of that!

19. ronnie anderson

They should ask the Murph he,s drinking plenty Irn Bru the empty cans are worth money per ton.

20. Alex Wright

You are doing a magnificent job here Stuart. There is no hiding place for these charlatans and opportunists under your forensic eye. As the jockying and arse licking progresses, I await more revelations. Big thanks.

21. Craig P

“Send us money to stop Tories buying the election”

If I send Labour money will Tories lose the election?!

That’s not what the polls are saying.

22. Les Wilson

Stu, on the ball as usual.

23. Mealer

Here’s something to ponder.Excluding undecideds,Yougov had YES on 39,NO on 61 at the start of the year.Now it’s YES 52,NO 48.

24. Stoker

The spare £10,670 is for Skeletors new office – A Portaloo.

25. Peter Forrest

Am not entirely convinced with your maths rev. £17,580.20 equates to approximately £338.08 per week. One month after the election takes us to 7th June which is 24 weeks and 3 days away. Assuming they can fill these vacancies within the next 3 days, that equates to £8,463.92 per employee (including the allowance). So that’s £84,639.20 in total, not £76,830.

26. Auld Rock

Mealer – where did you find these YouGov figures of YES 52% and no on 48%, please?

Auld Rock

27. Robert Bryce

The other £10K will be for Alistair Darling who’ll be speaking at the new employees induction.

28. Ken500

@ ronnie anderson 18 December 2014 at 11.26 pm

Ha Ha

That’s a cracker

29. neil bruce

Stoker says “The spare £10,670 is for Skeletors new office – A Portaloo.”

It may be that the £10,670 is for Skeletors supply of toilet roll. Per month.

30. Bob Mack

@ STOKER
    Only looks like a portaloo. It is actually a quick change box wherein like Superman he can change his Conservative clothes for Socialist garb

31. Scot Finlayson

Was it just me or did anyone else find FMQs pedestrian, even anodyne ?

32. Dr Jim

Although, when you think about it, that means they don’t even have the money for the jobs they’ve advertised, if they were a football club the SFA would be imposing a fine on them for not being in a sound fiscal position to pay their employees, but i suppose the relegation part’s inevitable…Oh the joy, the joy…I am Alex Salmond…

33. ronnie anderson

Two Irn Bru grates a mike the Murph the stage is set,anybody got a auld bunnet sing Jim yer livlyhood depends on it,give a Max Bygraves song. Standing on the Corner

34. bobjay

Why can’t the blue Tories help fund the red Tories like they did for the referendum.

35. Wee Jimmy

@Dr Jim

Good point Dr Jim. I look forward to hearing the breaking news that Labour have gone into “administration”. And by that, I of course mean they are making extra money on the side doing photocopying and supplying stationery.

36. boris

December 18-2014; George Osborne gives mate 19% pay rise while Tory austerity sees struggling nurses get 1%

George Osborne has frozen the wages of six million public sector workers since the Coalition came to power, plunging many into poverty under his cruel austerity drive Yet the

heartless Chancellor recently handed one of the chief architects of the public sector pay freeze, fellow Old Etonian, friend and special adviser Rupert Harrison, a 19% inflation-

busting increase boosting the Chief of Staff’s £80,000 salary by £15,000 to £95,000. while Tory austerity sees struggling nurses get 1%.
    http://www.mirror.co.uk/news/uk-news/george-osborne-gives-mate-19-4836747

37. Lollysmum

Stu
    1)Why would Scottish Labour be writing to you in Bath asking for a contribution to campaign funds? Or did it go to your Wings address?

2)£76,830 + 11.5% for employers National Insurance contributions= £86,813

That leaves a bit left over £687 probably to go towards travel costs maybe but it’s not nearly enough to cover travel for 10 workers around Scotland @ standard HMRC rates of 45p per mile.

38. Grouse Beater

How can an employer advertise jobs if they don’t have the money to pay successful candidates?

39. donald anderson

Why don’t they p[ay themselves the minimum wage that they are so proud of. This does not take into account heir perks and gold card expenses.

40. donald anderson

Why don’t they pay themselves the minimum wage that they are so proud of. This does not take into account their perks and gold card expenses.

41. tartanarse

Are not Irn Bru crates the property of Barr? I’ve only ever spotted bottles and cans in the shops. I’ve never had the opportunity to purchase a crate.

Perhaps Jim was using stolen equipment during his wee tour, unless of course Barr lent them. If so, another boycott coming on.

42. Mealer

Auld rock,
    If you search for Yougov Scottish independence referendum on Google you’ll be able to get into the right area of the Yougov website where they have an archive of all the polling results throughout the campaign.

43. Chas

Employer’s NI is 13.8% which equates to £87,432. Call it £87,500 so the figures stack up.

44. Mealer

I suspect this thread will be a bit of an eye opener for some.

45. john king

Seems like were having a bit of a dispute between (pretendy) BBC and the real BBC in Englandsdshire about the imminent (or otherwise ) demise of the oil industry
    Kinda like this really
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UmMD4ij8GHk

46. Ken500

What this nonsense about Murphy will abolish the ‘Bedroom tax’ in Scotland. The Scottish Gov has already acted to mitigate the bedroom tax in Scotland. There isno ‘bedroom tax’ in Scotland. Is he so ignorant he doesn’t know this. Is Dugdale so ignorant she doesn’t know the SNP Scottish Gov has already forward planned to mitigate any job losses from any down turn in the Oil sector by investment in other sector, tourism, construction, renewable and a SNP MSP Richard Lochhead success effort in negotiation to bring more jobs in the Fishing Industry in Scotland.

Danny Alexander should be worried about any loss of jobs in the Oil sector in Scotland. He caused it by increasing Oil taxes on the Scottish Oil sector by 11% (£2Billion) in 2011, now up to 90%, leading to a drop in exploration and Oil tax revenues in Scotland. Down since then by approximately £4Billion a year. Danny Alexander then proceeded to laugh about his actions. Vote Danny Alexander out he is a disgrace to Scotland.

47. Bugger (the Panda)

BBC suggesting that the Tories are preparing for a hung parliament and a second GE in 2015.

So, we get two bites at the cherry.

48. Bugger (the Panda)

So , beg for money to fund 10 wee jobs for poor school leavers, sob sob, get the money, give 80% to the “Manager,” aka “The Gang Master” and lob a few Yorkie Bars to the unwashed.

Should this not be a Private Eye strip cartoon?

Trebles all round.

49. Luigi

bobjay says:
    19 December, 2014 at 1:07 am

Why can’t the blue Tories help fund the red Tories like they did for the referendum.

Because it’s a GE – winner takes all

(and it won’t be the Red Tories)

50. Croompenstein

update from iScot..

Dear Founder Members,
    Our magazines are being delivered tomorrow on pallets, and our plan is to get them posted out to you by First Class post same day. This is 1 day before the Royal Mail Christmas deadline.

We are already working on issue 2, our website has additional video content and a newly opened forum which we would love you to visit and leave a message or two. Be the first ! 🙂

Have a great holiday.
    sincere best wishes
    Yours aye
    The iScot Team xx

51. Macart

So Labour’s pockets not so deep anymore? The bottomless pit of cash and funding they enjoyed as part of BT must really nip about now when they need some cash for their own depleted coffers.

Life can be tough like that. 😀

I’m crying for them on the inside… no really.

52. Bugger (the Panda)

@ Macart

You mean the tears of sadness are running down the inside of your legs?

53. Macart

@BTP

Correct. 😀

54. Anon

Hi Stu.

Sorry to be a pedant but the ‘missing’ costs will be easily attributable by, as others have pointed, other staffing costs. This, however, raises an important point.

We work on the basis at my office that any role effectively needs to have the salary doubled to allow us to factor in effective costs to the organisation. So, regardless of salary, someone would have an assumed pension and NI contribution cost of an additional 13-15% on average (some higher given employer contribution rates) but then you’ve got to factor in property costs, which covers things like the building the person works in, rent, energy (which is usually hugely expensive in a workplace), computers, right down to chairs and telephones. Then there’s office overheads, so all the paper, travel expenses, IT support and a myriad of other things. All of that taken together will easily add up to very near double the original salary.

That’s where it gets interesting based on your earlier post. If the Scottish Labour party’s finances are as tight as you’ve suggested, there is absolutely no way that these salaries and additional office costs will be within the scope of their bank accounts based on the roles advertised. Which suggests to me that they will be entirely dependent on London Labour to bail them out.

No wonder Scottish Labour are so keen on pooling and sharing.

55. No no no...Yes

The assistant jobs are being advertised at a pro-rata rate so the amount being trousered is much more than £10670

56. No no no...Yes

Just realised after posting that my maths didn’t add up, oops.

Watched Scotland Tonight and Kevin Mckenna revealed that months ago a Labour MSP told him that there was a plot to get rid of Johann by Murphy’s lot and suggested his 100 town tour was publicity to get him a ‘soft landing.’ Murphy, not to be trusted, eh?!

57. Alan of Neilston

The B.B.C. asked me yesterday to take part in an online survey via my email address. I was glad to oblige. The usual screen prompts trying to ask about their sevice and how to “improve it”. I got to the 4th page and was thrown out with the screen telling me they have had too many of my type of respondents and not wanting me to complete the Survey. Anyone else had the priviledge?

58. Papadox

IMO you will find the ESTABLISHMENT won’t allow red tollies (Scottish branch) to go belly up, because they are needed to allow the ESTABLISHMENT to play one off against the other. The old game of divide and conquer. That stitches up the law and financial side for the MONEYMEN (ie the establishment)

Millbank will instruct unions to split their donations, one to MILLBANK and one to “scotch” branch.

If needed I’m sure there will be a few blue cheques from Mickey mouse, desperate Dan etc.

Domocracy saved… GOD SAVE BETTY!

59. Jim Mitchell

No no no…Yes, I’m still waiting for an accurate list of those 100 towns, does anybody have one?

60. MochaChoca

8′ x 20′ Reconditioned Portakabin : £9202.00

delivery & offloading, Royal Mile, Edinburgh : £648.00

Supply and fit illuminated ‘Murph’ signage : £820.00

————————
    Total : £10,670.00

61. Martin Wood

@ MochaChoca

brilliant

62. heedtracker

Willie Hague currently chuntering on about how devo has to be faiir for England on BBC R4. BBC dude says 19th Sept he was so relieved They saved the Union and it’s a victory won by the people of Scotland and binds the Union ever tighter and it’s 15 minutes of waffle now. Easy money for these guys.

63. SqueuedPerspextive

Did you include for employeer’s NI in your calculations?

64. Grouse Beater

Alan Neilston: The B.B.C. to take part in an online survey via my email address. I got to the 4th page and was thrown out – the screen telling me they had too many of my type of respondent

As HRH would say, think about you decision carefully – if the BBC accepts the opinion of every Yes voter who attempts the questions the survey would come out saying BBC Scotland is irrelevant to the nation, instead of BBC Scotland should be praised for saving the Union. Sheesh!

Give you enough rope and you’ll be advocating Scotland establish some sort of culturally significant public broadcaster of its own that truly serves the people!

Get a grip!

You’re letting reality get in the way of propaganda.

65. Grouse Beater

The festive season is upon us filled with good will to all men – women can take their chances – so it’s time to relax life’s perpetual battle against the forces of Westminster darkness and await the findings and arrests of the paedo sex ring and murder scandal under investigation by the Met.

“Victims allegations against prominent politicians and establishment figures are credible and true.” Met official.

Give a sleazy Westminster politician enough rope and he will…

… tie you up!

66. proudscot

Maybe the extra £10k is for a new hairdo and trouser suit for Deppity Dugdale. She could also do with a new scriptwriter, as her current one obviously doesn’t know the regulation of the oil & gas industry is reserved to Westminster and thus is outwith any control of the Scottish Government.

67. Free Scotland

Could the extra money be to cover the cost of one-off life insurance policies for the ten brave souls who will have to face baying mobs of anti-labour protesters at every street corner and will have their lives put in severe danger by egg-throwing MI5 agents posing as cybernats?

68. Free Scotland

Or has the extra cash been earmarked for the repair of Ian Murray’s vandalised office premises?

69. Derick fae Yell

Yougov for the Times
    Fieldwork 27-30 October
    Page 4
    Should Scotland be an independent country
    Yes 52% No 48%
    2% voted Yes would now vote No
    8% voted No would now vote Yes (sigh)

https://d25d2506sfb94s.cloudfront.net/cumulus_uploads/document/fyv6pya3md/Times-results-141030-scotland-FULL.pdf

70. jackie g

Grouse Beater says:

Give a sleazy Westminster politician enough rope and he will…

… tie you up!

brilliant..Merry Xmas ho ho ho

71. X_Sticks

The extra money is for a new gold plated tuba for the saviour of the union Bliar MacDougall.

His old one was worn out from all the hot air expended during the referendum campaign. The bile is very corrosive.

72. Dr Ew

Let’s not see conspiracies where there are none. As someone who has spent two of the past five days interviewing, the additional £10,670 will be towards employer contributions. Those quibbling with the maths of that don’t necessarily know the precise arrangements the Red Tories offer their serfs.

And as regards advertising jobs when the funds are not in place, that only becomes an issue if wages don’t get paid – and these posts will be underwritten by London Labour. The appeal is only to help with the veneer of autonomy.

Finally – and O/T – would anyone care to run a book on the date a full, unredacted report from the Chilcot Inquiry is published? Maybe offer an accumulator on an inquiry into Westminster’s murderous paedophile ring actually appointing someone not connected? Wonder what the odds would be on either of those happening before May 2015?

73. ronnie anderson

@ Grouse Beater Me a Pedant (never)As HRH would say, think about you decision carefully.
    Betty is not addressed as HRH ,Its Her Royal Majesty,or Majestic Bisquit lol,ok ah know ma teas oot wie two majestic bisquits.

74. jackie g

Dr Ew says:

would anyone care to run a book on the date a full, unredacted report from the Chilcot Inquiry is published? Maybe offer an accumulator on an inquiry into Westminster’s murderous paedophile ring actually appointing someone not connected? Wonder what the odds would be on either of those happening before May 2015?

I would say the odds on that are sweet FA..

75. Brian Fleming

Stu,

Don’t tell me you’re accusing the Labour Party of being able to count?

76. Grouse Beater

Ronnie: Betty is not …

True – but in site shorthand ‘HRH’ more recognisable sarcastic acronym than ‘YRH.

A close relative attended dinner with Her Majesty, (sorry, no names) and, while awaiting that person’s return, penned a spoof report of the munch-eon. I added a scene in which the Royal Corgies – addressed as, ‘YRH’ Your Royal Hound – appeared in force and leapt on the table to be fed scraps.

I learn that that is precisely what happened.

77. Grouse Beater

Addendum: than ‘YRH,’ or ‘YM,’ or ‘HYQ,’ Hi, Yer Queenie.

78. donald anderson

Memo from London HQ to Labour Colonial Office, North Britain.

“Punishment beatings will continue till staff morale improves”.

79. donald anderson

Reply to Grouse Beater

Or just plain Jelly Bean, with kneeler mats for Labour MPs.

80. yesindyref2

Anyway, the fact they’re touting for donations seems to show they don’t actually have the funds to pay the people they’re trying to recruit.

They should apply for funding for the programme they seem to support, Workfare.

81. donald anderson

Don’t worry, The Tame Unions will come to the rescue. Labour never has to do anything to earn their money.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.