A bad day’s night

Posted on December 01, 2013 by

Sorry, readers. Something horrible happened today. No cause for alarm, but you might have to be on your own tomorrow. Normal service will be resumed as soon as etc.

101 to “A bad day’s night”

1. DanTDog

sorry to hear that, Rev. Stu…hope you’re back with us soon…we need you! Let us know if we can help…

2. X_Sticks

I hope it’s nothing horrible that’s happened to you or yours Rev Stu.

I’m sure we’ll be fine, though you will be missed. You’ve been working very hard recently, I have barely been able to keep up! I’m addicted to Wings and I’m not afraid to say so.

Hope everything works out to the good.

3. Bill C

Amen to DanTDog’s comment.

4. Aidan

Some alarm experienced… but okay, if you say you’re okay. Good thoughts thrown high on your behalf.

5. caz-m

Best wishes Rev.

Right then, who’s kicking us off. The Rev as left us to look after the shop while he is away.

So be on your best behaviour.

6. kendomacaroonbar

I never knew you were a Heart of Midlothian supporter Stu 🙂

7. TJenny

Hope it’s not family or kitties/ratlets interaction related or ratlets/cables 🙁

Either way, we’ll be here when you’re OK to return.

8. Archie [not Erchie]

@ Rev – Take your time. Thinking of you and yours

9. Another Union Dividend

kendomacaroonbar says: I never knew you were a Heart of Midlothian supporter Stu
    Don’t mock the only team in top league with St Andrew’s cross as part of ther badge, albeit hijacked by Labour politicians and, subjected to a more draconian double whammy than the bankrupted Sevco by the SPL / SFA. 

10. Patrick Roden

Thinking of you Rev, take care.

11. Extreme0

Take what time you need. We are thinking of ya Rev.

12. call me dave

Rev.    Best wishes !

kendomacaroonbar     7 – 0      🙁

13. Ally

@kendomaroonbar

Ach! I was gonna come out wi that one!

14. Jack Beck

Holding you in the light, friend!

15. kendomacaroonbar

@Ally,

Ach well it was either that or projectile diarrhea and I canny spell diarrhea

16. kendomacaroonbar

@Call me Dave
    I wonder if any Taiwanese punters made oodles of money on their online betting   Some one should a_scam ? 🙂

17. braco

Hope it’s not your health Rev, and hope it’s none of the healths of the rats either. This ‘thing’ has more than enough momentum for you now to be first looking after a personal crisis, minor or major, without guilt or polite excuse notes.

Really sorry about it, take care and good luck.

18. Lobeydosser

Ach. Ye know we’ll worry about you anyway. Take care.

19. call me dave

kendomacaroonbar
    Still in shock but not about which team won.
    Anyhoo the WP is a sell out!

http://archive.is/xQNic

20. blunttrauma

Look after yourself Rev., what would we do without you.

21. Keef

During this well earned breather the Rev is forced to take, I think it is time to fix in the mind that the debate has moved on with the publishing of the WP.

All the signs of the no campaign wavering suggests that the yes vote is out in front. Now it is in no way meant to signal complacency, it is merely a sign of positive thinking. As from today i’ll be deliberately using the phrase “when Scotland votes yes” and not ” if Scotland votes yes”. 

I think we’ve all earned the right to feel positive about our desired result.

22. Ian Brotherhood

This unexpected absence raises a serious question asked previously, but never answered:

What happens if Rev can’t be here, for whatever reason? If WoS goes down, do we reconvene somewhere else? A lot of personal contacts have already been established outwith the site, but do people have a preferred venue? BellaC? NNS? Bateman?

23. john king

Ian Brotherhood says
    “What happens if Rev can’t be here, for whatever reason? If WoS goes down, do we reconvene somewhere else? A lot of personal contacts have already been established outwith the site, but do people have a preferred venue? BellaC? NNS? Bateman?”

That’s never really crossed my mind, now that you say it, it becomes obvious how much we all rely on the rev , I don’t want to think about this.

24. caz-m

@Ian Brotherhood

Morning Ian, I think that question is in the “what if Scotland doesn’t get EU membership” category.

We are all staying here to see us through to a successful YES vote.

25. john king

Keef says
    “when Scotland votes yes” and not ” if Scotland votes yes”. 

Great minds think alike, 
    since the launch of the white paper I’ve increased (subtly) my level of visibility and I’m starting to wear my yes badge every time I go out and posting more material at work, 
    I do believe there is a change in the collective mindset that independence has gone from being an abstract concept to a very real possibility. 
    Most interestingly, the no voters at my work appear more muted than before,
    the games afoot.

On a separate note I found the reaction of a lot of people at work for Alex Salmond’s initial response on camera to the Clutha bar  tragedy to be surprisingly positive,
    and that he came across as a man who’s emotions were only barely under control (didn’t see the interview myself)  but like the response to Jim Murphy’s involvement people (generally) stood above politics and appreciated the man not if  the politician, and this will go some way to head off the demonization (in some quarters)  of the First Minister (you know who you are).
    OBE  wan Kinobe 

26. Cankert Callan

Thoughts are with you Rev. Hope it works out.

27. Thomas William Dunlop

Get back soon. Hope it had not anything to do with Cats & Rats.

Meantime, everybody to the barricades of MSM to counteract the usual Unionist Bullshit incoming….

28. JLT

No probs, Stuart. You do what you have to do.
    We’ll all speak to you later.

29. caz-m

Listening to BBC Scotland GMS this morning, they thought it correct to inform us of the latest ways the UK parties want to save you money on your energy bills.

Yet no mention of the Scottish Government’s policy to cut energy bills.

Also David Cameron’s trade visit to China getting a good airing. And when Alex Salmond had a similar visit to China in November, BBC Scotland couldn’t be arsed telling us when he left, what he done when he got there or even when he arrived back.

As I have said before, the bastards at BBC Scotland don’t even bother hiding their bias anymore.

30. Quinie frae Angus

Talking of reconvening, I seem to recall talk some time ago of an Albannach meet-up in the not too distant future…would that still be a go-er?

Hope all is well for you, Rev. 

31. john king

Quinie frae Angus
    “Albannach meet-up in the not too distant future…would that still be a go-er?”
    Its JLT  who’s organizing it, I’m sure its next weekend, I cant go its my daughters birthday or I would have been there like a shot.

32. Adam Davidson

John king,
    I strongly recommend wearing your Yes badge every waking moment. It will occasionally lead to someone asking you about it. This is a golden opportunity to ask any doubters what concerns them most and point them to Wings, Business For Scotland or NNS depending on their concern. It is important to ask not launch into a long rant (as I used to do). I also recommend wearing it upside down! Strange I know, but it increases the likelihood of interaction because many people cannot resist turning it the right way up and then a door to discussion is opened. 

33. Quinie frae Angus

Cool, thank you, John K. See you next time!

34. seoc

Nice wee piece in the Granaud this morning.
    http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2013/dec/01/scotland-vote-yes-scottish-independence
    Perhaps not all that far-fetched and with a clear view of today’s England.

35. Roger Terrett

@ keef
    I’ve been doing similar, for years before a SNP govt or a referendum was on the horizon, viz “when we’re independent from London …”.

36. Derick fae Yell

Alarmed.  Come back refreshed.
    Hope you’ve only been driving to Scotland to find Euan McColm and give his backside a good kicking.  Feel a Father Jack moment coming on now

37. Macart

Hope its no too serious Rev.

38. Silverytay

Rev ,   Hope everything,s ok ,you take care and look after yourself .
    With people like Scott Minto and the other regular posters on here the site will muddle along without you for a few days .

In fact it might be a good idea if a lot of people take the opportunity between now and the New Year to chill out and refresh their batteries .
    There is a 9 month long slog and battle ahead of us if we are to cross the finishing line on the 18/09/14 .

39. Barontorc

An interesting poser – what if the Rev falls under the hypothetical bus and is out of action for some time? Methinks he needs a capable deputee to keep the show on the road and even, given the stratospheric growth in daily hits, taking on a staffer would seem a sensible direction of travel. Funding for which could be through advertising revenue or we set up a more consistent revenue stream. I’m thinking on the Scottish Review operation as a model.

Reality looms large when things go topsy-turvy.

40. Caroline Corfield

Take care, hope its not too serious. Wings is a big part of my daily online routine, I’d be happy to donate so it kept going in the event of something taking the dear Rev out of action. 

41. desimond

Hoping that this merely means Rev has received his disappointing XBox One and Playstation 4 consoles and been asked to lock the door and get a review done for a magazine. 

42. David Smith

Rev. Hoping like everybody else that things get back to normal from your point of view ASAP.
    Hope it’s not family or pet-related. All the best.

43. HandandShrimp

All the best Stu

I think we can look after ourselves for a bit. We can use the current topic (this one) to discuss matters arising until we have specific WoS topics to address. Those of a bitter inclination will no doubt ensure their cycle of scare rannygazoo continues. The lights were on in Blytheswood Square this morning – a rare thing if truth be told – so no doubt someting is cooking in the big feartie pot.  

44. themadmurph

Best wishes Stu, and hoping for a speedy return.

45. Soloman

Hope the Rev hasn’t been captured by Better Together! Hypnosis could be underway………..

46. Toshtastic

You go out for a few beers and wake up next to Katie Hopkins? Need to spend the rest of the day in a bath full of bleach? 🙂

Only joking – hope all is ok, and look forward to you being back

47. ronnie anderson

Anus on call Kaye , He was in the house on Thurs night ,flickin through the TV channel, when he got text messages ,The FUcker canny even get the day rite

48. ronnie anderson

sos folks in relation to the Clutha, anger takes over on that cunt Anus,

49. Boorach

Hope all turns out for the good Rev.

o/t but anyone with 15 minutes to spare should search for ‘profile Nicola Sturgeon’ on the radio section of iplayer. A very even handed profile of the lassie and some complimentary remarks from Michael Moore.

Enjoy 🙂

50. ronnie anderson

REV,sos to hear your away, I hope its not to serious and that your back with us soonest, all the best

51. Andrew Morton

Did anyone see David Dimbleby sailing up the Clyde on BBC last might? He couldn’t stop rabbiting on about the Treaty of Union and how great it was for Scotland.

52. The Man in the Jar

@Andrew Morton
    Re Dimbleby no I am glad that I missed that. I did catch most of a brand new (I think) party political broadcast by SNP / Yes, very good indeed obviously timed for release after the white paper, all very reassuring stuff!

Somewhat bizarrely it was on channel 4 immediately before a “Time Team special on the battle of Hastings?

PS best wishes to the Rev .I hope his troubles get sorted

53. Holebender

I’m travelling all day anyway, so no bother!

54. Liz Quinn

Hope things get better asap Rev.

re: wearing badges. I am finding that people are becoming more open to asking about YES. Some even ask for a badge for themselves so I keep a supply handy.

55. Tattie-Bogle

Hi folks I don’t know if this is a joke or what but FFS never have iread anything like it
    Be prepared and don’t have any projectile near by you have been warned
    http://harddawn.com/why-america-must-say-no-to-scotlands-independence-from-great-britain/

56. Morag

It’s a spoof, Tattie-Bogle.  It’s hilarious!

57. Horacesaysyes

All the best with whatever it is, Rev.

58. Morag

I’m a bit rattled by Stu’s choice of language.  “Something horrible happened.”

Best wishes, and I sincerely hope it’s the sort of horrible that is fixable.

59. AllyPally

A good site that doesn’t get mentioned enough: http://sign4scotland.blogspot.co.uk
    I’m not deaf, nor do I know sign language. This site is still one of my regulars for intelligent discussion on Indy matters.

Enjoy.

Best wishes Stu.

60. The Man in the Jar

I frequently bump into a very pro union lady while out walking my dog (she has a black lab) This lady is married to a former Daily Record columnist who still writes now and again. The conversation started with her having a gentle poke at Alex Salmond and the white paper. I retorted about the standard of journalism regarding the referendum. Anyway we walked the dogs for a while with me quoting lots of facts and figures (thanks to this site) and saying how the press distort the facts to suit their agenda. As we parted company I managed to give her an “Aye Right” card which she happily accepted and will pass on to her (old school journalism) husband. Interestingly She had initially refused a card. In no way is this a conversion but every little helps. 

61. Xander

Johnston Press in talks to sell off Irish newspapers for reported £10m despite having paid approx £115m in 2005.
    http://www.theguardian.com/media/greenslade/2013/dec/02/johnston-press-mediabusiness

62. Tattie-Bogle

@morag
    It looked like a Better Together press release 😉

63. cearc

I think a staffer would be a great idea. It must be nearly time to top up the dram and chips fund for Stu anyway, so if we could double it this time around it could be done.  Apart from ensuring continuity and enabling Stu to have the odd day off (he may need that concept explained to him), a staffer could perhaps sort the archive to make key stuff easier to find for people new to the site.  Just using search is OK for us who have read all the stuff before to pick out what we want but I reckon it would be a bit daunting for newcomers.

64. cearc

Oh, and best wishes to Stu.

65. Archie [not Erchie]

@ Morag – Yes you are right its totally hilarious and screwball. Love some of the comments by irate Scots folks who have been taken in.

So in true Scottish Christmas spirit I am singing ‘Oh a spoonful of herion makes the Laphroiag go down, the Laphroiag go down….in the most delightful way’ 🙂

66. liz

Agree with everyone re hope everything is ok.
    You can tell how much we rely on you and this site by the responses.

67. FreddieThreepwood

@Tattie-bogle
    Thanks for the link. Best laugh in ages. The line between the far right mentality in the US and glue-sniffing lunacy is a thin one so it is hard to tell whether the writer is being serious. But given the rest of the Bible-thumping, conspiracy chasing, homophobic tosh on the site it probably isn’t meant as a joke. 
    Right, I’m off to drink whiskey (sic), bare my flabby body and burn a car.

68. Vronsky

I share the general concern for the Rev.  Some of what he writes is comment, but an awful lot of it is well-researched journalism, so rare in the world today that it would be painful to lose it.  I think we should put him up for the Paul Foot award.  Writing for the web qualifies.

69. Conan_the_Librarian

Not often I comment on here (preaching to the converted). but I hope everything is well Stu. (Guid yin Kendo btw).
    Re the Albannach, it’s my local and I haven’t been invited? *sniff*

70. Rev. Stuart Campbell

Thanks for your concern, folks. Nobody’s died and to the best of my knowledge I’m in good health, as are the rats. I’ll get a post or two of some sort up today, though they’ll probably be ultra-short in the vein of the fuel poverty one. Things will be inescapably grim at this end for a while, but it’s something that nothing can be done about, so proper posts will be back sooner rather than later.

71. AllyPally

JLT: Albanach meet-up? Date/time?

72. mogabee

Vronsky
    I can’t think of a worthier journalist at the moment.(that hasn’t already received the Paul Foot award)

73. Caroline

@Ronnie Anderson – why are you littering this forum with a f-and c-worded rant which would be more at home on twitter maybe? If the purpose of WoS is to attract potential yes voters to a serious discussion I wish you wouldn’t let the side down.

74. ronnie anderson

Caroline, did I say the word Anger, I direct people here to W O S all the time, I take exception to people who dont know /or who havent read my previous posts ,that I am letting the side down

75. kendomacaroonbar

My money is on Pubonic Plaque… ( his Ratlets have wee peggie issues   10/1 )

76. Caroline

That’s my point, Robbie – i’m new here and haven’t read your previous posts, so what can I do but judge your input by the comments in this thread?

77. Taranaich

@What happens if Rev can’t be here, for whatever reason?

I’ve occasionally thought that myself. There are definitely some fantastic regular contributors like Scott, Doug, Cath, Morag and Julie, and I’ve seen many comments that could be posts in themselves. While the Rev is irreplaceable, I’d love to think that the work he’s brought to the site would continue to grow in his absence.

78. Andrew Morton

@Caroline

You may not be aware that Ronnie has a brain condition and is waiting for an op, so he deserves some leeway. However, I agree that we should try to moderate our language on here for the reasons you suggest as well as for reasons of simple politeness.

I have a distant cousin who is often on Facebook pushing Better Together propaganda. I mentioned recently to her that I often look at Wings Over Scotland and she said that she was shocked that I was going on a racist site. Needless to say I put her right but it shows you that Better Together are looking for any excuse to blacken the Rev.’s. name.

79. kininvie

To cheer everone up – a nice wee piece of realism from Prof James Mitchell:

http://www.referendum.ed.ac.uk/after-a-yes-vote/?utm_source=rss&utm_medium=rss&utm_campaign=after-a-yes-vote

80. Boorach

@Caroline

May I suggest that jumping in with both feet and criticising another poster’s language is not the way to influence anyone on here… and, you were correct the first time, his name is Ronnie not Robbie.

In time you will realise that we are, in the most part, accepting of each other’s shortcomings and work round them.

Ronnie, in particular, is to be admired for the amount of work he puts into the cause. One of his posts at the weekend detailed just some of the things he had done last week and it was by no means a short list.

Add to that the fact that he is suffering quite a serious condition and you will understand why he is both admired and respected around here.

81. ronnie anderson

Andrew Morton , My opologies to anyone offended by my rants, in no way do I wish to harm the REV S reputation, nor the good people on this site, heids not engaged sometimes Sos folks

82. AllyPally

My money’s on either a family crisis or an exploding toilet.

83. ronnie anderson

Hendry Mc Leish, on Yes site, could some of our teckys here put the story up, I think he,s clearing the way to get back into Scottish politics, I see no intent on his part to jump ship from the unionist position such as Gray/Motson,he,s playing keepy uppy wi nay baw.

84. Conan_the_Librarian

Kendo, Ally, we shouldn’t laugh at other peoples misfortunes.

Unless they are funny.

Ronnie, you can keep calling Anas a sphincter as far as I’m concerned 🙂

85. Dorothy Devine

“he,s playing keepy uppy wi nay baw.”
    Love it ! I may pinch it!

86. Dorothy Devine

Tattie Bogle – keep getting page cannot be displayed message about the spoof thingy.

Rev , whatever it is ,like all the others  I send  good vibes.

87. ronnie anderson

Dorithy Devine,nay theivin affy friends, you can borrow it, nay charge Im no Worga,Am wonnky noo n again lol

88. TJenny

I remember suggestng a WoS meet up a month or so back, Morag needed it to be after 12 Oct. Well we’re past that now, so is it the Albanach and what date/time shall we meet?  Is this weekend a possibility?

Looking forward to it already. 🙂

89. ronnie anderson

Conan ,Ah hope the next time ah see Anus, ah hiv a sherp pincil on me, Ill gie him a Spinkter aw rite , an you stop confusing me wie your fancy words ( sphincter ) four letter Anus is easyer fur me tae spell lol

90. Caroline

Sorry I got your name wrong Ronnie, you can call me Catherine, lots of people do. Just want to say to you folks on here that I was attracted to WoS by Cindie Reiker’s excellent article ‘The Long Journey to Yes’ a couple of weeks ago. I haven’t been a dead-cert for a yes vote until quite recently and can now see that many of you have been in it from way back and know each other personally. Judging by the huge increase in Google stats lately I doubt I’m the only newbie on this site, so my earlier remarks were an attempt to say that surely the yes campaign needs every vote, new or old – even people like me who aren’t used to the ‘banter’.

91. ronnie anderson

Your welcome Catherine, theres many dialects tae cope wie on here ,much banter fae awe ower Scotland,you bjust have tae get stuck in ,devolopment of a thick skin sometimes helps, but thats what we here are best at helping each other with information from the Edumacated to the Numptys like me , wan big happy family,doon in the gutties,canny afford the bus fare,och you ll find us awe own here

92. MajorBloodnok

93. Scott Minto (Aka Sneekyboy)

@Caroline

“Just want to say to you folks on here that I was attracted to WoS by Cindie Reiker’s excellent article ‘The Long Journey to Yes’ a couple of weeks ago.”

Welcome aboard.

There are many good articles going back several years.

The best place to start is the most read articles or tag cloud (Perspectives being the tag for the personal journey articles like the one you were first attracted by).

We hope you enjoy WoS and continue to post and interact with those here.

94. Caroline

Thanks 🙂

95. K Mackay

Best wishes Rev, if it’s anything you need help with you know you’ve got an army in waiting here on WOS.

96. Conan_the_Librarian

Ronnie, here wiz me tryin tae be polite.
    As the Bard nearly said:
    An Erse by any other name would still smell o shite.

97. Marcia

I hope all turns out well for you Stu very soon.

98. TJenny

Conan – as there are now other articles up for the reading/discussing, re a WoS meet-up at the Albanach sometime soon, have you had any responses on other threads?

We should discuss on Quarantine – but how will folk know to go there?

99. Conan_the_Librarian

@TJenny
    What about Burn’s night?

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.