Wings assemble

Posted on September 18, 2013 by

So it’s getting close to that time. How do we feel about gathering the team here?

assemble

You should be able to find us, as WE HAZ FLAG.

flag1

We have no idea how many of the 800+ people from our “roll-call” post will want to actually march as part of the Wings contingent (hoping it’s not going to be just me), but there’s probably enough room there to get a fair number together if it’s a lot. And remember, only the first 100 get the shiny enamel badges 😀

wingspin2a

Notional centrepoint will be the gold postbox on Blair Street:

postbox

That way folk can get a wee seat on the steps of the kirk while we wait. I’ll be aiming to be there from somewhere around 10.40am.

282 to “Wings assemble”

1. Ally

Is that St Giles Cathedral?

2. theeforsakenone

I so wanted to be there but sadly I can’t make it. 🙁

3. Calgacus

C u soon Rev.Stu! Postcode please? 

4. Pilar

I’m looking forward to meeting you on saturday! Scotland here we go! 😀

5. Rev. Stuart Campbell

No, it’s the Tron Church, EH1 1QW.

http://goo.gl/maps/Os18W

6. Albert Herring

Is that St Giles Cathedral?

I think it’s the Tron Kirk

7. DMyers

I think that’s Hunter Square, behind the Tron.  St. Giles is a hundred metres up the hill.

8. pa_broon74

Tron church, where the winos hang out. 😉

Not sure if it’ll be Wings, Yes East Lothian or the LBGT crowd… I’ll flip a coin on the day, don’t want to be a norman or anything…

9. Calgacus

Cheers Rev.Stu . Looking forward to the big day! 

10. Marion Munro

Hope my bus gets there early then! 

11. benarmine

mibbes aye, mibbes naw, but we definitely hope to see you all during the march. It’s going to be a great day.

12. Ally

Is that Gold postbox not a testimony to the unionist Chris Hoy?

Oh the irony!!!!

13. `

I will be there and happy to join the crowd.

14. desimond

There shouldnt be any concerns about how many of the 800 turning up, should be how many additional will turn up alongside the folk from the site! There’ll be a +1 with me at least

15. Votadini Jeannie

Thanks for that Rev. I want to march with Wings but some of the children’s pals are marching with Yes East Lothian. There may be fisticuffs when we alight the train…

16. Robert Kerr

Train arrives Waverley at 11.18. Need to climb steps past “Halfway House” and “Jinglin Geordies”. What about “Albanach”?
    I need guidance and the Force is with us.
    Been on Islay for the Jazz Festival so a bit out of touch.
    Hail Alba.

17. Rev. Stuart Campbell

I want to march with Wings but some of the children’s pals are marching with Yes East Lothian. There may be fisticuffs when we alight the train…”

Remember: FREE BADGES 😀

18. Doug Daniel

I think we should all turn up in black uniforms, just for the LOLs.

19. Rev. Stuart Campbell

I think we should all turn up in black uniforms, just for the LOLs.”

Most awesome* idea ever.

*worst

😀

20. SeorasOg

Despite the offer of the shiny shiny for early doors, will have to be there in spirit – living in the Hebrides has a significant effect on demo attendance :-/

Only a year to go – YES !

21. Melissa Murray

I’ll see if I can organise to herd your part of the march. Keep you in line. 😉

22. Weedeochandorris

Looks like the weather might behave too?

23. The Man in the Jar

Great! I am getting the train to Waverley so just along North Bridge St. and across the High St. I should be there by 10;30 (Got to get a badge!)

24. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Great! I am getting the train to Waverley so just along North Bridge St. and across the High St. I should be there by 10;30 (Got to get a badge!)”

Quicker yet, straight out of the station side entrance and up Cockburn St.

25. Doug Daniel

Okay folks, so the plan is to wear black shirts, to show that we’re the black sheep of the Yes family.

Then, it would probably look good if he had a sort of salute to all the passers by, so I’m thinking that we could signify that Scotland is going onwards and upwards by holding our arms out and up, at a 45 degree angle, say.

Then, in order to make sure people know where we’re going, we should probably shout something like “SEEK HILL, SEEK HILL”.

I reckon this will ensure we get lots of positive coverage of the event.

26. ianbrotherhood

Spare a thought for wee Norman – he’s done this same stretch 184 times since the weekend.

27. MajorBloodnok

The bonus of course is that this is directly across from the Albanach.

I’ll be there (with, I think, another six) and I may well have my own flag….

28. Emma

I’ll be there with my husband Colin and we will be proud to walk with the Wings gang. Just trying to work out our bus and train connections now…

29. The Man in the Jar

Just to add. I am catching the 9;47 from Aberdour (I know!) Anyone else? 

30. call me dave

As a newbie! I will decline the rush for a badge, not deserving yet!
    Here’s a bit of fun, for us who will be disappointed in the badge queue!
    See you all there and hope we all have a nice day.

31. Training Day

Will be in and around the vicinity from about 10.10am..

32. desimond

Doug Daniel…such pretty pictures. suddenly Im remebering Cartmans “Lets organise a March” response to watching The Passion of the Christ!

33. pmcrek

Doug

lulz, how about storm trooper costumes and a stereo playing the imperial march?

34. FreddieThreepwood

Just heard a friend saying his 70-odd-year-old mother-in-law who is far from in the best of health has travelled down from Inverness on her own to go to the march – even if she has to do it in a zimmer frame.
    My, those teuchters can teach us a thing or two about commitment!

(PS – I’ll be there with at least three others. Tried to get a Hamish t-shirt organised but ran out of time. I’ll just introduce masel’).

35. Doug Daniel

pmcrek – hmmm, with Stu dressed as Darth Vader? That could work.

36. Ally

Training Day says:
    18 September, 2013 at 12:10 pm

Will be in and around the vicinity from about 10.10am

Alky bassa!!!!    🙂

37. kininvie

….and my wife takes this week to go to hospital 🙁

It’s a close call between being at her bedside and joining the Wings contingent. But self-preservation leaves only one choice….

With you all in spirit.

38. Training Day

@Ally

Jeez, that is without doubt the worst case of pot and kettle I’ve ever heard! 🙂

39. sneddon

Doug Daniel – *cough, splutter* 😀  You go first.

40. handclapping

For those with problems probably the best way is to take the lift up from Waverley to the top of the shopping mall and then turn right past the Balmoral and up the North Bridge to the Tron. Cockburn Street is guy steep and Fleshmarket Close is a killer.

41. Eric McLean

If there are enough of a crowd, we could all shield someone while they painted the postbox another colour! 🙂  
    Yellow?
    Green?
    Wings Blue?
    Or simply Tartan.  🙂 

Just kidding of course.

42. Fay-Yes

Think I’m going to miss it now as my 2yr old is getting his tonsils out tomorrow -gutted! Hopefully he’ll bounce back very quickly so I can leave him on Saturday but need to see how he manages the pain 🙁 If I do make it along it’ll be without the boy and his daddy so will seek out the Wings crowd for company. Do we have any midwives amongst us in case I pop up Calton Hill?

43. Votadini Jeannie

Hmm, black costumes , Nazi salutes and the Imperial march? That would definitely tempt the children!

Think we’ll be too late for the badges, Rev. The East Lothian Yes Express won’t arrive till nearly 11.00. 

N.B. I have hidden the vuvuzelas

44. kendomacaroonbar

…but…but…but… there’s so many unanswered questions !!
    How do we know what the *real* Stu looks like ?  Is there a special handshake or codeword for fellow wingslanders ?

How’s about…

Me : You Marchin ?
    You : You askin ?
    Me : Ah’m askin
    You : I’m marchin

Never failed me in the past 🙂

45. Lanarkist

Great area for gathering, used to gather there when Trad Hogmanay met at the Tron. Used to live above City Cafe on Blair Street some years ago. Can recommend said establishment foe excellent coffee, drinks both strong and soft and great grub. Also very nice staff and eclectic international artistic crowd only 30 seconds down Blair St. On right half way down. Might arrive slightly late. Will take time moving through the massive assembled throng. See you on Saturday.
    Lanarkist.

46. Gordon Bain

I bought Pantone 300 kagoules for the family and it’s NOT going to rain? Typical!

47. scottish_skier

I was going to suggest here:

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3339/3432398847_1b1a69e16d.jpg

But I think the readership has grown to much.

Maybe a nice venue for the next Scottish Lib Dem conference?

48. Jimbo

Back of Tron Church – we’ll be there about 10.50 ish.

49. martyn

looking forward to it, 

see you all there

50. Eric

I just received a load of leaflets from BT.  
    It cost them £4.40 to send them out to me.  I ordered online on the BT sitet, to see what they were sending.
    They must be well funded or have a surplus of leaflets if they can send them out so freely.     

51. fordie

Count me in. Though my bus leaves Falkirk at 10 so doubt I’ll get a badge!

52. HandandShrimp

Is that where the Yellow Carvel used to be?

53. squarego

Will see yous all there!

54. MajorBloodnok

@Lanarkist

Ah yes, I remember those Hogmanays.  Fireworks fired from milkbottles?  Nae bother!  Free beer showers?  All part of the service!  Catching strange oral infections from complete strangers?  Merely an occupational hazard!

I used to live on the Lawnmarket (by Deacon Brodie’s) and the City Cafe was where we went every Saturday for breakfast, so I know the area well.  See you all at the Tron.

55. Peter A Bell

At the last count I was marching with six different groups. Woe is me! I just can’t say NO!

56. Balefire

“Wings Assemble” Brill!! I feel like a superhero… 😆

57. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Count me in. Though my bus leaves Falkirk at 10 so doubt I’ll get a badge!”

Och, I’ll be surprised if we really get more than 100. Folk will all have their own local groups and stuff they’ll probably stick with. Would be nice to see as many as possible, though, since obviously I don’t get to meet people face to face very often.

58. Lanarkist

H&S, yes, square outside main door of old YC. Hunter Square.
    Lanarkist.

59. Lanarkist

Major, great to hear it. Our paths may well have crossed at some point in the past. C.C.used to be my de-facto office, phone box (before mobiles), papers, coffee and grub all thrown in together with some amazing sounds and great friends.
    Hogmanay tonsillitis, coughs, colds and booze showers. Great days!
    Lanarkist.

60. Si A

I know you’re a cat person, but my mate and his wife are bringing their wee Westie who’s been out helping flyering – reckon he could get a badge too?

61. Ally

REV
    Will you not be better going “icognito” ??

Just watch out for the snipers on the rooftops!!   🙂

62. MajorBloodnok

If the Rev’s not sporting a mohican how can we be sure it’s him?

63. AlexMci

Will be there with all the family. driving to Airdrie from Hamilton . Train from airdrie at 9.15 gets me into Waverley just before 10. See you all there.

64. Eric

@RevStu  Och, I’ll be surprised if we really get more than 100.
    I think you are going to get a surprise then.  
    Many, like me, will pass by to say hello before joining friends.  

65. Inbhir Anainn

Hopefully will enjoy seeing you all on Saturday 😆

66. Eric

Here’s a question.  How many are wearing Kilts?

67. Paul Kirkwood

Ok I’ll be there with at least 8 others . We will get to you about 11.15 am. I will have a Kirkwoods For Independence /We are National Collective home made photo banner of my family , but we will be happy to walk with you!

68. BuckieBraes

For folks who are talking about train times – be aware there is major engineering work on in the Stirling area on Saturday and all train services from Gleneagles, Dunblane, Bridge of Allan, Stirling, Larbert and Camelon will be replaced by buses for all or part of the journey.

Services in Fife and from Dundee and Aberdeen are running to a normal frequency, but with some re-timings to make room for the diverted Aberdeen-Glasgow trains through Fife.

Inverness services via Perth are OK, but some of the local trains between Perth and Edinburgh are replaced by buses between Perth and Markinch.

69. Stuart Black

The very best of wishes to all the Wings contingent that make it there, I’ve just started a new job in Norway, so that’s my badge oot the windae, 🙁

Have a great day! 😀

70. Balefire

Ally says:
    18 September, 2013 at 12:58 pm

REV
    Will you not be better going “icognito” ??

Just watch out for the snipers on the rooftops!!  

There is no room for snipers on the rooftops….that big red circle is in the way. 😆

71. Bugger [the Panda]

Flying in tomorrow and will take the train through from Glasgow arriving @ 11:21. Booked the ticket on Train line way back before timetable le sorted out too difficult to change now. 
    Will be in Albanach at about 11:30 and peckin

72. wullie

Dont forget to take lots of photographs please.

73. Robyn - Quine fae Torry

The plan is to drive to Inverkeithing and get the train from there. It’s usually quite easy to get parked and have done this before.  Looking forward to a great day.  Got my flag and my saltire cowboy hat at the ready. 

74. Albalha

@Robyn
    What no saltire contact lenses?

75. Gaavster

They say that the sun shines on the righteous…

http://www.yr.no/place/United_Kingdom/Scotland/Edinburgh/long.html

For those that don’t know, this is the best site for weather forecasting out there IMO…

State owned and very Norwegian…. #justsayin 😉

Looking forward to meeting you all under the wings banner on Saturday… 

76. john king

Remember: FREE BADGES
    aw I’ll need to get the shuttle up with the wife because she cannie mak the climb a’ll miss getting a blue peter badge 🙁

77. Keith Brodie

@ Doug Daniel

I know your suggestion was made in jest, however, back in the 80’s the Dundee University Federation of Conservative Students did turn up at the ill-fated (and last ever) FCS conference at Loughborough University wearing black shirts and dark sunglasses – just for a laugh. These people are now in the age group that will be running the Conservative party – scary thought.

@ pmcrek

Do you mean like this?

78. The Tree of Liberty

Rev, after the march, keep the badges going………at a cost of course.

79. Martin Cunningham

Wullie, I’ll have the camera mate, so there’ll be plenty photies.
    I should be there bright and early so looking forward to meeting everyone.

80. Morag

Postcode, shmostcode.  It’s NT 259 736.

I’ll see youse there.

81. Robyn - Quine fae Torry

@ Albalha

No contacts.  Decided against them after going to Scotland’s Bothy up here in Aberdeen.  Got my hat instead and flag, so all good to go for Saturday.

PS: thanks to Archie, Not Erchie, for the tip about Scotland’s Bothy.  A wee gem of a shop. 

82. Archie [not Erchie]

@ Albalha – Saltire contact lenses? Did ya see the price o them? £15 per eye! I got a pair of blue/white tassles instead. 🙂

83. The Dog

Can’t access Yes Scotland site (“domain does not exist”)
    Anyone else getting this message on this, the one year to go date?

84. The Man in the Jar

Rev I thought that you might make a dramatic entrance. Abseiling from a helicopter into the waiting crowd or similar. 😉

85. muttley79

I am probably going with another group.  I am not 100% sure at the moment.  I know where you are meeting so I will see.

86. Tony Little

Wish I could be there, but I can’t afford the trip over this time (from Macedonia).  Will be thinking about you all and having a wee dram on Saturday.

Hail Alba

87. Albalha

@archie (not erchie) and @robyn
    Tassles and cowboy hat sound much better anyway than contacts!

88. K Mackay

Aw, I never get places on time for the free stuff (no excuses, I live in Edinburgh). Fingers crossed tho. Lookin forward to meeting all the wingsers 🙂

89. velofello

I’ll march with Wings.

90. willie

Anybody traveling up by train from Irvine and needing a bit of company??

91. MajorBloodnok

@Archie [not Erchie]
    And where are you putting these, er, tassles?

@The Man in the Jar
    Forget abseiling – a stage dive off the roof of the Tron would get their attention.

92. david

not sure the black uniforms is good idea. should make it brown, who could critisise that

93. sneddon

It’s a handy location for the public loos as well(it matters to me :D).  I’ve got a feeling the whole of the high street will be just one big heaving mass of people and those of us at the Tron won’t have that far to walk to Calton Hill.

94. Votadini Jeannie

Can’t access Yes Scotland site (“domain does not exist”)
    Anyone else getting this message on this, the one year to go date?

Aye, it’s been like that all morning on Firefox. Google Chrome gets further into the site but every page is “not found”. Black Ops have begun in earnest!  

95. Nation Libre

See you all there, off to get my flight!  Weather forecast is pretty good, no chance of rain and 16°.  That’ll do for me!
    http://uk.weather.com/weather/weekend-UKXX0052:1:UK

96. beachthistle

I’ll try to be there quarter to-ish. Depends if my teenage daughter comes with me or not. She’s a  Yes (she did a great job of English class discursive essay homework about it), but she’s 3 months too young to vote, so want her to at least feel part of this important, history-making process by coming on Saturday. If she comes, that usually means I’ll be later than planned though, especially on a weekend morning!

97. Nation Libre

You’ll know me, I’ll have a Saltire flag!

98. Memphisto

or to think more positively, maybe the site is overloaded with people visiting the site.  That often happens when the server cant handle the traffic.

Aye, it’s been like that all morning on Firefox. Google Chrome gets further into the site but every page is “not found”. Black Ops have begun in earnest!  

99. david

has anyone mentioned the lady on the radio this morning who said she worked for the no campaign but has changed to yes. she also said the no campaign told her to feed the fear factor ? no-one on the debate took her comment further, i think they should have. was bbc right enough

100. TJenny

For those not getting access to YES Scotland website, it’s been working OK all morning for me, using Firefox at below.
    http://yesscotland.us4.list-manage2.com/track/click?u=3d8f589fda4fb7526a70254d4&id=3f06750265&e=a096baa783 – sorry but the insert link isn’t working for me on comment, just highlight and open in new tab.
    I and some friends will be marching with the Wizard of WoS;-)

101. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“I am probably going with another group.”

YOU’RE DEAD TO ME.

102. Albalha

@david
    Where was she on?

103. Bill C

Travelling from Aberdeenshire so 10.40 is a wee bit early, aim to be in that area around 11.15, will catch up somewhere and will be marching with Wings.

104. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Rev I thought that you might make a dramatic entrance. Abseiling from a helicopter into the waiting crowd or similar. “

*CANCELS PREVIOUS PLANS*

105. call me dave

http://www.yesscotland.net/
    Still OK for me.
    Someone posted earlier that the site has a new look (but was off for a wee while last night)
    I regularly clear cache and delete history etc etc .
    Clear out cache on computer !    This may help but others on the site might advise.

http://pcsupport.about.com/od/browsers/f/clear-cache.htm

106. david

kaye adams show, was unbelievable, she just moved on to someone else, i thought it was an amazing statement

107. handclapping

*CANCELS PREVIOUS PLANS*
    Huh, another Olympic wannabe.

108. Edward

Some common sense tips
    Wear comfortable walking shoes (for some it may be the most that you normally walk)
    Wear comfortable clothing
    Take a small bottle of water
    for those of a certain age – ensure you have taken any prescribed medications; take fruit, such as banana’s to keep the blood sugar level steady
    Ensure any mobile devices, such as phones and camera’s are fully charged. As it would be good to see lots of pics for those that cant be there

Finally have a bloody good day!

109. Gillie

Does anybody know anything about this poll?

http://www.originalfm.com/posts/results-the-original-106-independence-poll

It has YES on 56.3% and NO on 43.7%.

110. david

maybe a pampers would save alot of bother

111. david

terrific poll if real

112. Dramfineday

Help ma boab! Looking forward to meeting you all. Bringing self plus three.

113. Gordon Bain

I’ve been playing GTA V a lot since yesterday. I like to think of it as practise.

114. Archie [not Erchie]

@ Major – Haha you fell into my cunningly prepared trap. I am having problems with my counter clockwise rotation as viewed many years ago at the Burke & Hare.

115. handclapping

Aberdeen is a definite Yes. I’m sure the SNP put out something after the Donside election that in their canvassing of about 30,000 people Yes had come top by a clear margin.

116. Archie [not Erchie]

@ Gillie – Yes its one of the local Aberdeen Radio stations and I voted online earlier this morning. Good result eh?

117. sneddon

Bill C  We’ll be easy to find we’re the ruggedly handsome/stunningly beautiful ones
    or we’re that group of shuffling, uncoordinated, out of breath, singing out of tune and out of time mass of what passes for humanity (according to BT)

118. rabb

I’ll be there Rev with A N Other and a big loin rampant flag!

I’m positively moist at the thought of a free badge 🙂

119. Robyn - Quine fae Torry

O/T but the local radio held a poll on the referendum.  See link for results.  From the comments on their FB you wouldn’t have thought the result would what it is.  There was no option for undecided. Just straight Yes/No. 

http://www.originalfm.com/posts/results-the-original-106-independence-poll

120. rabb

My last post should have read “lion rampant”. I am indeed excited about the march but my loin will most definitely not be rampant on the day 🙂

121. Stuart Black

Yes, marching threough the streets with a Loin Rampant may have attracted some unwanted attention… 😉

122. Mad Jock McMad

O/T but the Guardian is claiming Darling will save the Union, single handedly ….

123. scotrock

Hope to see you guys on Saturday. Not sure what time I’ll get there. Travelling with the coach from Gourock.

124. Murray McCallum

Mad Jock McMad
    Yes indeed! Wonder if Alistair Darling’s agent wrote that eh?
    http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2013/sep/17/in-praise-of-alistair-darling

125. Morag

O/T but the Guardian is claiming Darling will save the Union, single handedly ….

Somebody is ‘avin’ a larf, surely!

126. scottish_skier

You’ll know me, I’ll have a Saltire flag!

Damn. We’re going to clash.

Watch out for a French tricolour – Mrs SS and I will be in Auld Alliance get-up.

I know it’s a bit late for ordering, but it would be nice if any ‘new’ Scots maybe brought along their flag too like Mrs SS. Would make for good photo opportunities…

127. Murray McCallum

Looking at the text feed from the debate in the Scottish Parliament.
    “1456: She [Johann Lamont] says she is a socialist not a nationalist.”

I’m no expert, but she is a strange kind of socialist and what is she doing in New Labour?

128. sneddon

Murray – ‘what is she doing in New Labour?’  making a bollocks of it apparently.

129. nelliejean

I should be there about ten to eleven-ish. I’ll be the one bent double and peching after being forced to sprint up Fleshmarket Close by my partner.

130. Bobby Mckail

I was expecting shiny beads as well. You must be one of those rich socialists being able to afford Silver wings badges.  🙂 Me+missus will be there, going to park the car down at the commonwealth pool somewhere and walk up to the Tron.

131. jim mitchell

Murray McCallum, I agree and surely only in Scotland would the ‘national’ TV network pull away from this debate to listen to the rumblings of Nick Clegg!
    BTw I wonder who wrote JL’s speech for her?

132. call me dave

http://www.bbc.co.uk/democracylive/scotland/
    Debate heating up look / listen while you google / work.

133. big_al

@Murray McC
    I think we need a vent your spleen topic.
    Was watching it on bbc2 and it’s made me rather angry. Who tf is the old guy behind lamont that looks like a muppet character, who keeps pointing and banging the bleedin’ desk? Some chunt cut his effin hand off ffs.

/end

134. Albalha

@SS
    It’ll also be interesting to see how many other independence movements turn up, already there’s the Venetians for Independence and a Flemish group, I imagine Catalunya, maybe the Basques will have a presence too
    Talking of the Basques a journalist from there did a very good interview this morning on GMS talking about how much they are monitoring what’s happening in Scotland.

135. Ken Johnston

O/T Rev.
    I was at our branch meeting, SNP, Mon. night. One of our councillors was handind out information sheets, on the banks, bedroom tax, Yarrows or BAE now, etc.
    Anyway one of them was on the GARL stuchie, and I thought I recognized the the wording. It was your piece on it, Rev, word for word, which I confess I also lifted for an A5 flyer, but I added a forepiece. I’m assuming it was the Yes people, but there was no attribution on the sheets. 
    See yous all Saturday, I’ll be the wee auld guy, help ma boab, there’s lot’s of us.

136. Emma

So the BBC have had enough of covering the debate live on tv (instead we now have a choice of three BBC channels to watch Clegg’s conference speech). But not before Curtice got to do a nice wee summary of Lamont’s speech… Well done. We did get a promise he’ll be back later though. Can’t wait.

137. call me dave

Mr Findlay? for Labour has admitted poverty / foodbanks and unemployment (actually laying out the case for change) what a plonker.

Is this the best Labours 2nd speaker can do.

I hope folk are watching this.

138. big_al

and Jim, well reminded.

We cut to clegg, giggling and smirking…..we got into government (sort of) na, na, na, na, na.

Jesuswept

139. Alastair

O/T I know Stu, but have you noticed how the BBC Politics Scotland show which was showing the important debate on Indy in the Scottish Parliament live, then switched to Nick Cleggs speech at the Liberal Conference which the Beeb was helpfully also showing on the News Channel and BBC Parliament! All at the same time!

140. macdoc

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-24142502
    Something very sinister is going on at schools if this is the result. Young people seem to be the most resistant to independence out of all age demographics. Iv’e tried to debate young people on twitter to no avail. Its a national disgrace how poorly informed our youngsters are on Scottish politics. 

141. Morag

I met four lovely Flemish guys in the spring – the Flanders Recorder Quartet came for a weekend to run workshops and give concerts in Edinburgh.  They’d never been in Scotland before and it was about the first nice day we’d had that spring (25th May, that’d be about right….).  They loved it.

During one workshop, where I was singing, one of them commented that we were getting a particular tricky interval right, and said something about this must be because we were the country of “Greensleeves”.  There was an absolute chorus of people pointing out vehemently that no we bloody well weren’t.

Two of them are coming back next month for a repeat performance.  I must find out where they stand on the whole Flanders thing.

142. call me dave

http://www.bbc.co.uk/democracylive/scotland/
    No interruptions no bias just the debate.

143. big_al

@macdoc

See http://wingsoverscotland.com/the-hope-of-the-future/ as to probably why

144. Cruachan

What time should we assemble Dear Leader?

145. Bryan

Im stewarding so ill look out for you 🙂

146. chalks

@macdoc

A lot can happen in a year ; )
    They’ve just switched onto the debate.

147. Training Day

@macdoc

No surprise, Labour’s apparatchiks in the classroom have a malign influence.  The BBC also trailed this with disproportionate significance this morning which presaged a clear No vote. 

148. Albalha

@Morag
    On a work trip a few weeks ago I picked up a couple of hitch hikers who were from Flanders, just North of Fort William. They’d just completed the East Highland Way, they’d done the West Highland Way last year.
    As it was they stayed with me in Glasgow for a couple of nights as one of them wasn’t too well. They were very interested in the concept of civic nationalism not really how they describe what’s happening where they are.
    They’d both been educated in alternative schools, free for them, and I have to say they were certainly free in their thinking.

149. Elizabeth

Re A Darling – I see he’s just been interviewed on the top of Calton Hill :))

150. malcolm

Count me in – I coming up from London.  Simply can’t miss it!

151. Albalha

What is Tavish Scott for, really, ‘we’re walking into a dark room if we vote YES’.

152. Quinie frae Angus

I have several different bunches of pals going, but such is my high regard for what Rev Stu and his site have done over the past couple of years, I want to march alongside my fellow Wingers. I will persuade at leat two of my pals’ groups to do the same, as they too are avid WoS readers.

As an aside, is anyone from here planning to go along to this “pre-Rally” do hosted by Hardeep Kohli on the Friday night? I fancy going to that (if I can get off work early enough) but don’t know anyone else who is going! 

153. Arbroath 1320

BuckieBraes says

For folks who are talking about train times – be aware there is major engineering work on in the Stirling area on Saturday and all train services from Gleneagles, Dunblane, Bridge of Allan, Stirling, Larbert and Camelon will be replaced by buses for all or part of the journey.

Thanks Network Rail……..for NOTHING!
    I was planning to travel from Aloa with my partner, her eldest daughter and grandson. Now we are travelling to Falkirk Grahamston to catch the train into Edinburgh. We are scheduled to arrive in Edinburgh around 10 o’clock. 

handclapping says:

For those with problems probably the best way is to take the lift up from Waverley to the top of the shopping mall and then turn right past the Balmoral and up the North Bridge to the Tron. Cockburn Street is guy steep and Fleshmarket Close is a killer.

Thanks for that advice HC that was the route I was thinking of, I’m sure my partner will be most appreciative. I don’t think she’d fancy pushing my wheelchair up Cockburn street. :D:
    With the way the weather is shaping up it looks like we will be arriving wearing our white YES T-Shirts, sorry Doug the only black piece of clothing we will be wearing is our black cowboy hats. :P:

O/T just getting myself geared up now for the photo call at the Bruce Monument in Dumfries tonight. Unfortunately this means we will have to buy the local newspaper next week, something we have not done for quite a considerable time.

Just listening to Tavish Scott in Holyrood. JEEZ what a pile of garbage he is blurting out! Does he actually listen to what he is saying? 😆

154. HandandShrimp

I see the Beeb has an open story on the independence debate but it is well infested by the sPeAK yoUr BrAnes mob.  

155. Caroline Corfield

oo, shiny badge… I could get up from Newcastle a bit earlier than planned for that. Thinking of parking and riding as previously suggested, will have one daughter in tow, and very happy to march alongside fellow Wingers.

156. david

tavish scott seemed like a terrified little boy, had me cringin. 

157. Albalha

Re the march I hope to be there, and, will of course tag along with the WoS posse. I have a Trade Fair stand to set up in the morning at the SECC, so we’ll see how quickly I can get it together. 

158. Turnip_ghost

ERMAGAWD!!! SHINEH BAJ! 

if I don’t get one I may go all Grand Theft Auto!

159. ianbrotherhood

In response to overwhelming demand, here’s rare footage of Norman at the top of Calton Hill – and it turns out he did it in a muzzle! That’s devotion fur ye!

160. Albalha

Oh ffs the shiny new Tory boy kicks off quoting Ronnie Reagan. Next up it’s Vive La France, tres bien indeed.

161. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Travelling from Aberdeenshire so 10.40 is a wee bit early, aim to be in that area around 11.15, will catch up somewhere”

Actual march doesn’t start until 12.00, so you should have plenty time.

162. Brian Ritchie

Aberdeen is a definite Yes. I’m sure the SNP put out something after the Donside election that in their canvassing of about 30,000 people Yes had come top by a clear margin.
    As I remember it  was 34% Y – 29% N – 37% DK

163. Albalha

Allez Christian, you tell them it’s NOT about ethnicity.

164. chalks

Albalha says:
    18 September, 2013 at 3:45 pm

What is Tavish Scott for, really, ‘we’re walking into a dark room if we vote YES’.

A surprise party

165. Morag

You guys do realise, though, that the media spin on this is that EVERY SINGLE PERSON who doesn’t make it to the top of Calton Hill on Saturday is a confirmed, irrevocable No voter….  😀

166. Angus

I will be there with a few of my punk rock pals-i know quite a few others that are going-think we will surprise ourselves-I will have been on night shift night before and am gigging that night with my band but this is just five minutes away from my bit and I hope to bump into the rev as I hail from west Lothian (well, for 30 years) and like to see us guys doing our bit and being up there with the rest of the Yes movement.

Seeing as I was at the Anti Fascist march last month I might not be so keen to shout “seek hill” right enough. 😉

167. Angus

If we paid attention to the “media” then we would have Ian Gray as First Minister instead of an SNP landslide in 2011 Morag.

Great result in the vote on the NBC Independence debate last night-though Kirsty Wark was going to shit herself or something, the look on her face was quite priceless she should learn not to wear her unionism on her sleeve and have some dignity.

168. Albalha

@Chalks
    Boom, boom, I certainly hope we can give Tavish and his pals a big surprise on the 19th of September next year. 

169. Turnip_ghost

I hope someone has explained to Tavish what a “dark room” is for us gays…
    does nobody check these speeches?

170. Bill Tohill

I will be leaving from Cupar by train at 0900 hours but don’t know yet if the choo choo stops at Aberdour

171. kendomacaroonbar

Morag,
    There will be more there on Saturday than those numbers that celebrated 300 years of the Union in street parties..that’s for sure 🙂

172. call me dave

Debate in London who’s listening ??    
    BBC Radio Scotland asks the reporter James Cusick from the Independent.
    No one it seems… until or if the polls get closer.  
    Westminster won’t talk to Holyrood because it will give the appearance of legitimacy says the reporter down South.  OH well that’s it then. 

173. Morag

That’s funny.  It was only after the event that I was able to say for sure what I’d been doing on the 300th anniversary of the union.  I was moving into my new house.  That’s the only reason I remember the day.  I don’t recall a single news item about it.

174. kininvie

Morag,

On the whole, I’d be pretty wary of getting too close to the Flemish nationalists. I spend a lot of time in Belgium, and there’s a degree of hostility and contempt floating around in the north which is not entirely pleasing to watch. It goes back a long way (a squadron of Walloon cavalry refused to follow a Dutch Officer at Waterloo, e.g), but primarily comes down to prejudices about language. If you want to be served in Flemish shops, you’ll have more chance if you speak English than French, for example. It’s not civic nationalism as we know it.

175. CameronB

Doug Daniel
    Loved the attention to detail. Could I suggest possibly highlighting the black ensemble with red bandannas.

P.S. I’m working on a flag that reads “brother number one”. 🙂

Will do by best to make it.

176. Morag

Kininvie, that’s what I was thinking. I’m not 100% comfortable with these people coming on our march.  So I thought it would be interesting to see what some ordinary, apparently non-political Flemish pubters think.

177. creigs1707repeal

See you there.

YES Scotland.

178. call me dave

Margo: debate.
    Mountains are moved with independence &  mole hills are moved by pocket money.
    Bursts the bubble of defence: wrong boots and equipment / aircraft carriers without planes.
    Social wage – pensions lowest in Europe – and all that oil!
    Housing – Thatcher did not allow councils to build houses but sold them off- !
    Good points made although her powers are failing a wee bit now to fully develop her themes.. 

179. Albalha

@Morag @kinivie
    As I said above the young couple I spoke to were very clear the nationalism there is not civic in the slightest. So looking at the march site today I was interested to see there will be a Flemish presence, though I don’t know enough about its complexities.
    Surely there’s some sort of vetting, or I am being naive?

180. call me dave

Kezia Dugdale: Debate.
    Bemoans the fact that most folk won’t vote…
    Debates are tribal … (that’s rich)   Call for the facts (that’s richer eg: this week Sarwar ;Baillie)
    SNP to blame … Pay day Loans …??  Won’t Cap loans /rates.. after 2014 !! too late she says 

181. Helena Brown

Sorry we cannot make it, we really would have liked to go and Hektor would have really enjoyed meeting Norman. I was thinking of sending along some dummies in our place but decided nobody would notice the difference.

182. Morag

As I said above the young couple I spoke to were very clear the nationalism there is not civic in the slightest. So looking at the march site today I was interested to see there will be a Flemish presence, though I don’t know enough about its complexities.
    Surely there’s some sort of vetting, or I am being naive?

They were there last time too.  And some people who want to make Venice an independent city-state again.  I think it was just for the flags.  I’m not at all sure about either lot to be honest.

183. Albalha

Jackson Carlaw fails the basic understanding of civic nationalism test.

184. Clarinda

Cannot be there on the 21st but my heart is with you all – although my knees are probably best suited to the family wedding this weekend in Caithness rather than Carlton Hill.

185. rabb

Cruachan says:

What time should we assemble Dear Leader?

He can’t be dear leader, he’s far too benevolent!

186. Bawheid Bragg

Looking forward to marching with Your Holiness on Saturday. Myself, Mrs Bragg & the weans will be there. F.A.B. Virgil!

187. Arbroath 1320

Oh dear, Carlaw is reminded by the Presiding Officer that he has six minutes and proceeds to throw his toys out of the pram! 😆

188. Robert Louis

Quote from Eric MacLean above;

“If there are enough of a crowd, we could all shield someone while they painted the postbox another colour! Yellow? Green? Wings Blue? Or simply Tartan. 🙂 Just kidding of course.”

What is it with nationalists and pillar boxes?????

Seriously though, as regards the meeting point I’ve lived in Edinburgh all my life, and I know of nobody who calls it the Tron ‘CHURCH’, FFS!!!!

This is Scotland, it’s called, and always has been called, the Tron KIRK.

Anybody calling it the Tron ‘church’ on Saturday, needs a slap.  Probably.  Unless they are from Morningside (actually truth be told, even folk from Morningside call it the Tron Kirk).

St. Giles used to be called a kirk too, and some still call it St.Giles Kirk – as kirk is the correct name in Scotland.  

189. david

jackson carlaw haha, was fed up listenin to his self righteous gumph, that was sweet

190. handclapping

And some people who want to make Venice an independent city-state
    Does that mean we should allow Boris if he promises to wave a City of London flag?

191. John grant

Will be there bright n early. Looking forward to marching with the wingers

192. Robert Louis

I think people here, shouldn’t necessarily pre judge the venice and Flemish groups, without a decent level of knowledge.  I am sure the organisers of the Rally are well aware of who they are.  

Get a grip folks, you are starting to sound like Bitter together when they talk about the SNP.

193. Albalha

@Robert Louis
    That was my assumption re the Venetian and Flemish delegations but you know there will be people voting YES next year who don’t use the word Kirk as you’d like! It will take all sorts to get us over the line.

194. Morag

Well, no, I just said I wasn’t 100% sure.  Maybe someone could make me surer, the floor is open.

195. Robert Louis

It was kind of tongue in cheek about the KIRK.  I’ll not even be in the wings group on the day.  If you look, the first person who called it the Tron church was Rev…….tsk tsk.  (that’s a wee joke, ok)

196. Robert Louis

Morag,

I seriously don’t understand what you are getting bothered about.  They were there last year, and they are here again.  Do you seriously think the organisers are daft, and somehow you have spotted something they didn’t?

197. MajorBloodnok

@Robert Louis

Regarding the kirk/church stramash, you’ll have to forgive the Rev – he’s lived in England for a long time.  Could happen to anyone. :D:

198. CameronB

Hope you won’t think me a total downer, but might the suggested meeting point not be rather popular with other groups? Or are we relying on the strength of reinforcements we can expect from the various pubs? 🙂

199. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“This is Scotland, it’s called, and always has been called, the Tron KIRK.”

That would be my normal instinct, but I was guided by what it says on its own banners…

200. Robert Louis

CameronB

You will certainly get lots of drunks, tourists and ‘scary’ tour of Edinburgh tour guides.  That area of Edinburgh is usually pretty congested on a Saturday.

201. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Hope you won’t think me a total downer, but might the suggested meeting point not be rather popular with other groups?”

I think hoping to find any deserted spot in the general locale is going to be a tad optimistic.

202. Albalha

I’m not an SNP member but Nicola Sturgeon’s closing remarks in the debate are what it’s about, and she certainly got in about Tavish and his dark rooms.
    As she said, while she thinks her party is cordon bleu sliced bread, it’s NOT about them, it’s about each and every eligible voter in Scotland.

203. CameronB

Robert Louis
    I also live in Edinburgh so am aware of it’s various delights. 🙂

I was thinking of the WOS readers who plan on meeting in the surrounding pubs. That Conan guy sounds particularly scarey. 🙂

204. Robert Louis

Rev,

If that is the case, then it’s just another sad case of yet another Scottish landmark getting re-branded to please certain types of tourists. Just really disappointing.

205. Andy-B

Margaret Curran on BBC radio Scotland a moment ago, saying Alex Salmond, is running scared of debating with Alistair Darling.

206. Robert Louis

CameronB,

Ah, misunderstood.

207. macdoc

Great speech from Nicola Sturgeon
    Twitter feed in frenzy with all better together hacks outraged at Nicola reading propaganda from the campaign to prevent women voting being similiar to the Bettertogether propaganda. This is somehow interpreted as all people who believe in the Union are somehow women haters.

208. MajorBloodnok

@Andy-B

She’s obviously been reading an article on Derek Bateman’s blog and didn’t realise it was satire.

209. Dramfineday

For those of you coming to the rally on Saturday you’ll need to remember your capital bus etiquette:
    1)      When getting on the bus do not, as my father does in his local home toon, greet the driver with a cheery “morning Erchie (not Archie)” and the reason you don’t in Edinburgh is, you haven’t been introduced! So a polite smile and a request for your ticket (£1.50 single, 70p child, £3.50 for a adult day ticket, Child £2. Bufties free with the bus pass and bairns under 5 free) will sufice. http://lothianbuses.com/timetables-tickets-maps/fares-and-tickets
    2)      Exact fares only, and have the correct money and passes ready as only locals are allowed to ditter about hunting for passes and change without comment.
    3)      When on the bus, don’t sit in the front 4 seats on the left as these are reserved for bufties like me and an ear wigging about manners and/or what they did in WW2 or a crack with a walking stick on the ankles or shopping bag in the ribs is the usual response to misdirected sitters.
    4)      Similarly, keep clear of the perambulator space as a thump with a rattle in the region of the privates or a collision with a silver cross behind the knee can be a bit distressing – not to mention the look of outrage you’ll get from the mother – as you, as always, are to blame.
    5)      Don’t give your seat up for young women as they’ll think you’re after something and are likely to thump you one. Exceptions’ to this rule are pregnant women and old bufties (as it might be me).
    6)      If travelling upstairs you may encounter gangs of young girls with strangely applied make-up – please a) do not look round at them b) insert your earplugs, as they all speak A level Anglo-Saxon very loudly and are, as such, a credit to their parents and teachers having picked up a foreign language and being so fluent in it, so quickly.
    7)      No drinking or eating on the bus (especially fish suppers with vinegar (it’s SAUCE you ask for in Edinburgh)) as the driver may have to glower at you and ask you to get off – very bad form that and embarrassing for the driver.
    8)      If travelling with females of the long legs / short skirt variety who wish to travel upstairs it is the done thing for the man to go upstairs last / or if no man the lady in the company with the longest coat. This is not a modesty measure rather it is a health and safety measure to prevent the old bufties in the front seats being outraged / heart attacked ( including me).
    9)      When alighting from the bus always (and I mean always) thank the driver. As in “thank you driver” and notcheers Jimmy” (you’ve not be introduced – remember).
    So take care to avoid these social faux pas!  More importantly, enjoy your day and I hope to meet some of you on the way.

210. Morag

I seriously don’t understand what you are getting bothered about.  They were there last year, and they are here again.  Do you seriously think the organisers are daft, and somehow you have spotted something they didn’t?

I’m not really getting bothered, I just remember that there was some criticism last year.  I don’t know if it was justified or not, but here we have others saying they’re not that comfortable about the Flemish group.  Also, as someone else said, if Boris Johnston wanted to march with us under the banner of independence for London, would we be happy?

We know enough about the Catalan groups that we’d be comfortable enough having them there.  I just don’t know much about the other groups at all, and I do know that not everyone who marches under the banner of nationalism – or even independence – is cuddly.

211. CameronB

Well said Morag.

Anyone that cares to can march under my “brother number one” flag. 🙂

212. call me dave

Albalha  &  macdoc 
    I agree she did well, as did Margo, but is was not a great debate and not very inspiring. 
    @:0{
    Lamont talked a load of nonsense in the main but performed well as I have seen her….Oh wait that’s not that hard to do….. but better than usual..
    Vote YES 2014.

213. Robert Louis

Morag,

I saw some right shifty looking geezers at the march last year.  Should we ban them too.

Why not contact the rally organisers with your concerns, if you are that worried.  I’m sure they will be able to tell you more about the groups.  I really cannot see a problem.

214. call me dave

Mock Scottish independence referendum sees Aberdeenshire ‘no’ vote
    In a straight YES/NO vote I think.
    Much work to do here… but it is do-able just the same.  1 year to go.
    I saw it posted on other WoS thread but it has to be seen as a weakness for YES and also, in my opinion, what’s going on in schools as far as history and social studies are concerned.
    I don’t know how it’s taught or if subject areas are defined. Should I be worried?

215. Jammach

Will be there … REALLY looking forward to it. Last year was great, this is going to be astounding! Will have Father-of-Mine there too … And possibly a collie dug and a cairn terrior too. If there’s any trouble from No supporters, they’re going to get doggie chocolate drops thrown at them and they’ll get licked into submission by the hounds … 🙂 although of course, the Collie could herd them away with aplomb …!

216. DonDeefLugs

Hi. Train gets into Waverly at 09.52, a sprint/hobble up Fleshmarket Close should see me at the Albanach in time for the doors opening at 10.00. I’ll have my rally t-shirt and wings baseball cap on. Looking forward to marching/hobbling under the Wings banner.

217. kininvie

Just to set the record straight: I personally don’t object to any group that supports our independence taking part in our march, and if Boris turns up with an Independence for London flag, as far as I’m concerned he’d be welcome (added to which, think of the media sensation!).
    Whether I’d personally take part in a march in Flanders with Flemish nationalists is a different matter entirely.
    As for the Venetians – if you take a look at their website, they would appear to be colourful rather than effective – and I’m all for adding colour.

218. mogatrons

I’ll be there early doors. …. might even bring a Saltire.

219. Juteman

As a non church goer, I have no idea where the Tron Kirk is. Can you stick an arrow on the photo showing a nearby pub I might recognise.
    Although you are arriving by parachute, i’m not. A spuggies-eye view isn’t much help. 🙂

220. AlexMcI

Robert Louis says
    I saw some right shifty looking geezers at the march last year.  Should we ban them too.

that was probably me.

221. Morag

Why not contact the rally organisers with your concerns, if you are that worried.  I’m sure they will be able to tell you more about the groups.  I really cannot see a problem.

Look, how often do I have to say I’m not really bothered, before people stop accusing me of being “that worried”?  Can we not have a conversation, mention mild reservations, without demands to “contact the organisers”?

222. Juteman

Cheers Morag, but i’m a Luddite.
    I’ll just ask for directions to the Tron Kirk. 🙂

223. Helpmaboab

I’ll be there although I might look a wee bit confused. The maze that is the Old Town has always baffled me.

224. Dramfineday

Juteman:
    try here: http://www.undiscoveredscotland.co.uk/edinburgh/pubguide/advocate.html 
    then you can jump out the door and claim your metal badge when the Rev turns up.
    Dondeeflugs:
    Don for the love of goodness, nae sprinting up Fleshmarket close! Been there, done that, got a severe headache. Try a slow amble through Princes Street Gardens (east) around the back of the art gallery and then a 23, 27 or anything else going up the Mound to the first stop over the Royal Mile. Then it’s downhill to the Albanach (past the rally start point at Parliament Sq)

225. Hetty

Yeh Mutley, to admit to going with another group? Oh my god. well we are not morning people here at the mo, but will do oor utmost to be early n join WOS…
    if time allows will do a quick lino cut print of a flag, looking forward to Saturday…

226. Juteman

Cheers Dram.
    I feel more comfortable asking for directions to a pub, rather than a church!

227. Emma

My husband came home from work tonight with various ‘yes’ leaflets and papers. They were being handed out at train stations. One of the leaflets was for the march. Quite glad as I was a bit worried that only those of us who read sites such as WOS would be aware of it so hopefully the leaflet will help to raise awareness and encourage others to come along too. Although I suppose last year the buzz around the march wasn’t as great as it is this time and we still had a fantastic turnout. It’s actually also the only ‘yes’ literature I’ve had so far. We had a BT leaflet through the door a while ago which was just awful, full of their usual lies.

228. The Water Beastie

Red Five reporting in – heading for a flight out of China in 4 hours on way back to Hunter Square, aiming for a badge…..c’mon Stuart Black, you are just a hop and a skip away!!….’To Norroway, to Norroway, to Norroway o’er the sea…..”

229. Conan_the_Librarian

@Dram
    A splinter pub group?

230. Michael Morris

I’m bringing the other half, see you all saturday

231. fordie

@Arbroath 1320 There were ~10 seats left on the SNP Falkirk organised bus at Monday evening. Leaving from Meeks Rd at Grahamston Railway Station at 10:00 on Sat. Contact no., if you’re interested, is Colin 01324 621572 or Lorraine 01324 634628. I’m sure they’d like to sell the spare seats (if any). £5 return.

232. Juteman

I don’t know about a splinter group, Conan, but I rarely visit Edinburra, and hope to visit a few inns. 🙂

233. CameronB

Juteman
    You’ll need to break your piggy bank as the prices here are horrendous. The central spots in particular.

I might be tempted to have a pint, as its a special occasion, but I just hate providing all that revenue for illegal wars and the like. ;(

Vote Yes for less stealth taxes in the pub?

234. Juteman

@Cameron.
    In an independent Scotland, beer will be declared tax exempt during dinnertime, as it is part of a working mans dinner. (I almost typed lunch)
    The tax free period will only apply from 6am to 5.45am.

235. Conan_the_Librarian

@Juteman
    Along with Scotch pies and broon sauce.
    The pub grub I grew up with.

236. silvermcg

Rev… dont you dare give those badges away before i get there,bringing kids and wife
    who will be most upset with you if none left,as with others i might not post but have been here from start, crawl…crawl….,we are the preaching mass,and its working.
    See u all soon in the sunshine

237. X_Sticks

How embarassing – posting on the wrong thread. Auld age indeed!

X_Sticks says:
    HandandShrimp says:
     “Is that where the Yellow Carvel used to be?”
     Yes it is HandandShrimp! We used to frequent it regularly back in 75/6. That memory sparked off a question. There was a band that played there then who were not unlike Wishbone Ash had a couple of superb guitarists. Annoyingly none of us can remember the name – the joys if auld age!

Although maybe not so bad…
    the name of the band was Hastily the Dog.

238. Embradon

I’ll be there but nae chance of being in time for a badge. Local Yes have a bus going but I’ll be under my own steam – 180 miles in a double decker would be the end of me – and I need to keep going for at least another year!

239. The Rough Bounds

@Pa Broon74.

You’ll be marching with the LGBT crowd? Well well! I take it you lot will be at the rear.

240. Rachel Holmes

I’ll be there. ..around 11.30 with 9 year old nephew!  Looking forward to meeting you al!

241. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“I take it you lot will be at the rear.”

I’m not sure that was at all helpful to anyone.

242. gordoz

The flag looks absolutely brilliant, if I dont get there on time will look out for it !
    Hope to meet up with the rest of the wider WoS team.

243. Lobeydosser

I’m gutted I can’t be with you all on Saturday, my nephew is getting married on the same day and I’m in Italy. Could’nt believe it when I got the invite and saw the date, Post all the great photies will you’s. And enjoy the refreshments 🙂  Oh and the rally and speeches. 

244. Arbroath 1320

fordie says:

@Arbroath 1320 There were ~10 seats left on the SNP Falkirk organised bus at Monday evening. Leaving from Meeks Rd at Grahamston Railway Station at 10:00 on Sat. Contact no., if you’re interested, is Colin 01324 621572 or Lorraine 01324 634628. I’m sure they’d like to sell the spare seats (if any). £5 return.

Thanks for the info fordie,
    The problem I have is that we were planning to travel with my partner’s eldest daughter and her wee 3 year old. (well soon to be 3 year old :D:) At the moment the health of my partner’s daughter is a wee bit questionable. We hope she will make the march but won’t know for sure until Saturday. Perhaps we’ll see you at Falkirk,as we make our way to catch the 9:27 train to Edinburgh, it gets us into Edinburgh early enough to at least stand a chance of getting one of those extremely coveted enamelled Wings badges! :P:

245. Doug R

I’m coming down myself from Inverness. Hope to see you all there & march under the WOS banner – if I can find the meeting place ok that is!

246. Dramfineday

Juteman and Conan
    You’ll never get 800 folk in the Albanach – we need an overflow! 
    I was having a hoot this evening Juteman at your reference / aversion to the Church reference. My old in law used to work in Manchester and was a regular Church goer in fact he ended up working in it! 😀
    http://www.johnbarras.com/pub/church-inn-urmston-manchester/p0474/

247. Conan_the_Librarian

@X_sticks, Re the Yellow Carvel
    I remember a couple of folk bands; Farragill, who became the North Sea Gas Folk Trio, and Silly Wizard.
    Another vague memory is some people whistling the theme to ‘Z Cars’ when the DS hit the scene in all their sideburned glory.

248. Jack Beck

Conan – if you were do a search on YouTube for Heritage and/or Jack Beck you might see another reminder of the good old folk days and a youthful me!

249. Ronnie

Has anybody warned the Albanach?

Seems to me they’re gonna need a bigger bar!

250. DonDeefLugs

Dram, Jute, Conan: I think we can take in The Albanach, The Advocate and The Tron before kickoff 🙂

251. Conan_the_Librarian

@Jack
    Thanks for that. Glory days indeed; upstairs at the Black Bitch, the Triangle, Sandy Bell’s.
    Sigh.

252. Lynn MacRae

I’ll be there Rev, coming through on the bus from Glasgow leaving City Chambers at 9.45am so should be there around 11. Not entirely sure where the drop off points are but will make my way to the Kirk.
    Can anyone tell me where the Albanach is, in relation to Tron Kirk? I’d certainly like to join those there for a pint to say hello (if there’s any room left in there 🙂 )
    See ya Saturday 🙂

253. Conan_the_Librarian

@DonDeeflugs

Soonds guid tae me.

254. DonDeefLugs

Hi Lynn,  The Albanach is on the corner of the High Street and Cockburn Street, diagonally opposite the Tron Kirk.

255. Embradon

Trains are going to be busy. I don’t suppose Scotrail will be making any provision.
    Has there been any mention of the march in the MSN? Don’t read them anymore but I remember last year the BEEB refused even to mention it till the last minute

256. Conan_the_Librarian

@Lynn
    It’s at the top of Cockburn St, on the right as you walk up. The Tron Kirk is just across the road.

257. Taranaich

Still unsure if I can make it, but I’m still doing my damnedest.

To wax personical, I have a new blog specifically devoted to Scottish matters, where I’ll be posting any thoughts I have on the referendum. I don’t think I’ll be remotely as erudite as many of you fine folks, nor am I nearly as well versed politically speaking, but I do feel the more pro-Indy blogs out there, the better.

258. Dorothy Devine

Conan, your new photo is offending my eyes!

259. Lynn MacRae

Thanks Conan and Don for that 🙂 See ya there on Saturday. 

260. fordie

@Arbroath 1320 . That’s cool. Give me a wave from Platform 1  if you see woman wiv curly hair aleaping. And you could always chance the bus if it suits. 🙂

261. AnneDon

I’m matching with Yes West Edinburgh – I’ll look out for you and say hello, though!

262. Chic McGregor

We will be there, but may march with local SNP.

BTW, what is the 800 roll call?

263. Morag

On the “Roll Call” thread, 400 posts.  On average, two warm breathing bodies per post.

264. Arbroath 1320

fordie says:

@Arbroath 1320 . That’s cool. Give me a wave from Platform 1  if you see woman wiv curly hair aleaping. And you could always chance the bus if it suits. 

Will do fordie. I’ll be the one in the wheelchair. :D:

265. Patrician

I will do my best to there on Saturday, probably on my own as the better half is not feeling too well at the moment.  I won’t be marching with any one else, not sure I would like to march with any group that would have me 😉 but I’m sure I will fit in well with all the other misanthropes from Wings.

266. Chic McGregor

Thanks Morag, must have been when we were on holiday in Englandshire.

267. fordie

Thinking tonight that I haven’t seen any comment from one of our great contemporary folk artists, Dougie MacLean. I hope him and his will be On the Hill.

268. CameronB

Taranaich
    I’ve been having a difficult time off it myself recently. Just getting out the house like any normal person, would be a blessing. Physiological issues thanks to a head injury. I am sure there are plenty others in similar boats to ours, so I’m just going to try and focus on it being a special day. Hope we are both able to make it. 🙂

269. HenBroon

I will be marching as HenBroon, I will try and get a badge to, as they will be collectors pieces. I will wear my own home made HenBroon badge so will probably be fighting of my fans ;o))). I feel something big happening. No I don’t mean in the toilet department, I think this march is going to be more than double last years. And it will still be ignored by the MSM. Watch out for infiltrators, and right wing Britnatz nut jobs as we had last year.

270. Taranaich

@CameronB: I’ve been having a difficult time off it myself recently. Just getting out the house like any normal person, would be a blessing. Physiological issues thanks to a head injury. I am sure there are plenty others in similar boats to ours, so I’m just going to try and focus on it being a special day. Hope we are both able to make it.

Absolutely, CameronB: it’d be great to meet you and everyone here.

271. BillyBigbaws

Thinks for the info on the rail disruption BuckieBraes.  Annoyingly I could find no sign of information about it on the official March and Rally site.  I don;t want anybody getting held up and missing the start of the march, least of all myself.  We all know there will be a concerted attempt to minimize the numbers present in the reporting of the event, so a real effort should be made to make sure folk are aware of this problem.

Messaged the organizers, hopefully they will add the info to their site.  Maybe it was there already hidden away someplace, but better safe than sorry.

Cheers bro.

272. JLT

I will be in town very early (8’ish). I intend to do a wee bit historical sightseeing as at present, I’m reading Michael Fry’s ‘A history of Edinburgh’, which in parts I have found highly interesting. I want to check out a few buildings in the Cowgate and Canongate, plus if time spares, I also want to take photo’s from the top of Arthur’s Seat. Then, to the Tron it is!
    Weather also (praying that I have not cursed it), is to be cloudy, but fine. So, no rain to spoil the day!

273. John White

See you there.

274. Dorothy Devine

I am looking forward to the big event , think I’ll have to join the march by cheating and taking the shortest ,easiest route  from Waverley –  as few hills as possible!
    I remain deeply disappointed that I will therefore have no chance of a badge.
    I would like to think if anyone sees a weary auld wifie struggling on by herself ( but with a huge smile on her physog)they will give her a wee shove onward and upward!

275. Dave McEwan Hill

If you get Better Together leaflets witha freepost return be sure to post them back (marked YES of course)as it costs Better Together their postage every time you do so.

276. Morag

Mmm.  It’s petty, it’s a fleabite to them, and it is capable of generating REALLY bad press.

277. Gallowglass

I will be there and march with WoS.  I will cry and have a tantrum like a wee bairn if a dinny get a shiney badge though lol

278. Susan S

I’ll be there.  At the goldie looking post box…around 10.40am ish.  Just masel tho’. 

279. Cath

I’m both well out of it, as still in the US and torn! I think I’ll be coming through with Provan SNP folk (though since I’ve been out of contact have no idea what they’re all doing). I really want to meet all the Wings folk, and possibly score a badge, but also want to support National Collective and Trad Yes, especially as I heard some talk before I left Scotland of people bringing instruments. So I’ll be bringing my fiddle. (This is all assuming I get back to Scotland on time and manage to beat the jet-lag and make it through for 10am). Might march up with Wings then see if there’s any tradYes kind of session on the hill to slip off to!

280. frankieboy

I’ll come looking for you but…

281. Bugger (the Panda)

Bugger has landed and will be Glasgow this morning negotiating with the UK IPS his visa for Edinburgh to be in the March.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.