The stupidest thing ever said

Posted on October 25, 2016 by

We realise that there’s some stiff competition for that accolade, even if you restrict it solely to things said by Kezia Dugdale, but this needs preserving for posterity.

povertyindependence

A couple of questions do spring immediately to mind: (1) how does every country on Earth that isn’t Scotland, Wales or Northern Ireland do it, and (2) given that Scotland has now been in the Union for 309 years, how much longer is it going to take before the two things are finally eradicated?

We look forward to hearing the answers from Labour any day now.

1. 25 10 16 10:56

The stupidest thing ever said | speymouth

108 to “The stupidest thing ever said”

1. Smallaxe

She’s up the lum!

2. Donald MacKenzie

Oh, you can’t rush these things. Indeed, you have reasons to keep them going so that you can keep telling people that you’ll get rid of them.

3. chris kilby

So, do tell us Kez, cos I’m simply dying to know: how do we tackle poverty and inequality in Scotland under seemingly perpetual unelected Tory rule…?

4. Gullane No 4

Does the Scottish Labour plan involve Jeremy Corbyn ?

5. chris kilby

Up the lum, no harm done…?

6. James

I guess she thinks losing £9bn per annum of funding, day one, is not a great start?

7. Fraser Reid

She is right ! With Independance she would be even more out of a job after the Scottish Government has eradicated these things after independance !

8. handclapping

Thats a doozy …

But repeating it is better 😀

9. galamcennalath

Same old approach – blind negativity towards Independence. Where’s her positive counter argument for her Union, then?

If Indy won’t help, then what will the Union achieve, Kezia? Bugger all, based on past performance!

Soon it will be make your mind up time for Kezia et al. It will be a binary choice between mad bad isolationist Tory colonial rule, or Indy. What you gonna choose, Kezia?

10. Dave McEwan Hill

As Jefferson Airplane (aka Grace Slick) once said “When the truth is found to be lies” things change. We are at this point now.We only need to establish some big lies in public consciousness and we negate everything our opponents say. We are now entering the realms of political derision towards our enemies. This is steadily taking off. Respect for “London” and Westminster is diminishing daily.

11. Macart

Leader of Labour in Scotland… pause and think about that for a moment.

Scary, isn’t it? 😮

12. mogabee

“Stupid is as stupid does”

A very useful phrase to use in this situation. Thing is, SLabour have for years just written any old p*sh, shoved it out to the MSM as a press release and there you have it folks…

Now, the word of SLabour is heard, laughed at and dismissed in large swathes of those former SLab “heartlands”. Once your eyes are opened to lies etc. no going back!

Stop it SLabour…we’ve all moved on from stupid 😀

13. ronnie anderson

Kezia’s measuring poverty one bean a day, an there’s ah lot of beans in one can.

14. Cath

That statement is beyond stupid. Labour really have moved into the realms of insanity. I guess that’s what happens when you’ve tied yourself up in so many knots you’ve lost track and don’t know your left arm from your right, or what way you’re facing.

15. desimond

Some say Kez is blinded by red tinted glasses but don’t you see, its you lot that have no vision.

The bold Kez is bravely looking beyond our borders, shes looking beyond Blighty,..shes looking beyond the EU, shes looking Terra Firma..shes even looking beyond the Milky Way..

Kez The Visionary is going to eradicate poverty and inequality here, there, and everywhere, even in a galaxy, far far away..and hey, if she says if she cant do that, well, why bother as its just no fair so it isnae!

16. Paul Patience

90 years of labour ‘helping the poor’ and still there’s poverty and still Labour promises to eradicate it.

17. Cactus

Pure mental! Ye’d think it was the day after the end of March 2017..

Here’s a more realistic way to look at it:

“The Scottish National Party is committed to tackling poverty and inequality. You can’t do that within the union (only with independence.)”

Now, that makes more sense, yeah?

18. Iain

Stu, in observing her efforts we’re surely at the point where compassion kicks in: maybe the header’s a wee bit harsh …?

I don’t think anyone, apart from the dimmest in her own party, takes her at all seriously: she’s a nice lassie who evidently believes sincerely in whatever she happens to believe at any moment. She’s completely out of her depth, drowning, but seemingly unable to realise it.

19. ClanDonald

Look at this Kez: Finland and Denmark named as two of the top three countries with highest standard of life in the world:

http://www.independent.co.uk/life-style/the-19-countries-with-the-highest-standard-of-life-a7376846.html

Both with populations of around five million and neither with significant oil reserves. Sweden, Norway, Netherlands and Switzerland all make the top 8. How can it be? Six out the top eight countries for highest standard of life are all teeny tiny. Yet an independent Scotland can’t fight poverty? Aye, right.

What Kezia really means to say is her beloved Labour party can’t get elected to Westminster without Scottish votes so can’t fight poverty in London if Scotland is independent. What she’s forgetting is that even with Scottish votes Labour aren’t getting any where near power for a long, long time and by then the Tories will have had plenty time to wreak their havoc on the whole UK including Scotland by dismantling the NHS and welfare state, investing in unaffordable prestige projects like Trident & HS2 and turning the UK into a xenophobic, isolationist state that only works for the privileged.

By the way, I’ve a theory why wee countries do so well: because the ruthless, wicked, billionaire, power-crazed media moguls like Rupert Murdoch have no interest in them so aren’t busy controlling their political agendas and economic systems.

20. heedtracker

The SLabour crew are difficult to understand, in their Scotland region.

BP strike not Scots oil and gas in the late 60’s. Since then, Scottish heavy industry is all but wiped out. South east of England booms.

SLabour get relentless and massive vote SLab stuff from BBC Scotland, yet they’re now at that end of era, third party stage, with a light weight red tory marching the whole shebang towards the exit.

Scotland makes a great nuke weapons dump though.

21. Thepnr

Another mindless proclamation from Kezia that is utterly worthless.

It’s all they have meaningless soundbites. Totally useless in the real world.

22. Doug Daniel

I’d love to know how Labour intend to tackle poverty using power over road signs.

23. Blackhack

The fact that Jellyfish have survived for 650 million years without having brains is great news for Kezia

24. winifred mccartney

Poor Kezia, mouth engaged before ‘brain’ as usual – nothing positive to say about labour or the union which have brought us to this mess especially labour in Scotland which is really dead but people keep prodding it – it is still dead and absolutely deserves to be for the way they have treated Scotland. They followed their masters orders and bowed to party putting them before the citizens they are meant to serve. When a man of principle who remembered what labour is supposed to be did become leader the party machine destroyed him and continues to do so-they cannot even be faithful to their own leader-how then will they ever be faithful to the citizens of this county-they prefer to enoble themselves and lust for power instead of service. Scotland is just a colony of WM to be used and abused and bled dry.

25. Greannach

Surely sincere members of the Labour Party must look on this car crash of a leader and despair. I hope she remains in post for a long time to come.

26. ClanDonald

@ James: “I guess she thinks losing £9bn per annum of funding, day one, is not a great start?”

You actually think we get “funding’ from Westminster? As opposed to “borrowing”? Loans that Scotland has to pay back? At un-preferential interest rates that they deduct each year? Loans that Scotland pays for (and more)?

Seriously, you think Scotland is just given lump sums each year from the kind Westminster with no strings attached? You really, genuinely think that? Wow.

And you think Westminster doesn’t borrow to fund it’s spending too? In historically far greater amounts than Scotland? Jings.

Scotland would get better interest rates on the open market if we were independent and negotiating our borrowing on our own.

27. Jockanese Wind Talker

Doug Daniel says at 11:13 am

“I’d love to know how Labour intend to tackle poverty using power over road signs.”

Signs saying ‘Food bank’??

28. Jockanese Wind Talker

Surely this was vetted before release by EX-Scottish Daily Mail political editor Alan Roden in his capacity as Scottish Labour’s communications director??

Always thought he was a Tory.

I am beginning to believe he still is and is doing his utmost to annihilate BLiS from the inside by ensuring that The Ruthenfuhrer soaks up all the Unionist votes in Scotland.

29. stonefree

Ms.Dugdale asks that Three hundred and two other offences of stupidity be taken into consideration…. M’Lud

30. ScottieDog

It’s very simple.
    Folk in slab simply have no understanding of modern money. It would appear as I queried Neil Findlay that they think we are still on a gold standard where a nation’s finances are limited by some substance in the vault of its central bank.

Modern money is nothing more than a spreadsheet of electronic entries on a nation’s books. What is crucial is who controls they keyboard.

You can’t control the keyboard unless you have your own floating currency.

What limits a nation’s real wealth is the resources it has and the resources it can acquire via imports.

That’s a basic lesson for slab and the dog food accountant of course. It’s really not too difficult.

31. Desimond

Apropos of nothing….just saw this Labour Council related email:

Lobby Against Privatisation of Glasgow City Council IT Services
    Wednesday 26th October at 1pm till 1.30pm
    Glasgow City Chambers, George Square

As you are aware Glasgow City Council is continuing with its proposal to fully privatise it’s IT provision.

As discussed with all members we believe that this is wrong for a number of reasons including higher long-term costs, loss of control of a key council function, the future impact for social care, schools, home care, financial payments, council tax collection and benefits, etc and very importantly the threat to workers jobs, wages and conditions.

The Executive Committee (which is made up of 10 Labour councillors, 5 SNP & 2 Greens) will meet on Thursday 27th October at 10am to decide whether to approve that GCC can enter into full contractual dialogue with CGI regarding this “full” privatisation proposal.

We intend to lobby the chambers on Wednesday 26th October from 1pm till 1.30pm. This will also tie in with a meeting of the ruling Labour Group that takes place on that day at 2pm.
    The above lobby will give UNISON members an additional opportunity to make their views known.

No to Privatisation!

Glasgow – UK Council of the Year 2015

32. cirsium

@Doug Daniel, 11.13 and @Jockanese Wind Talker, 11.20

Good skelp.

33. Dr Jim

Kinda depends what Kezia thinks she hears herself say when she uses the word …Tackling…and what she means

She says Tackling, I hear football or fishing or wrestling or even man naughty bits (not really that last one)
    But what I hear most is just a very high pitched whine in my head until I change the channel then the creases on my forehead relax muscles unclench and my eyes stop bulging

Kezia should come with a health warning…or a gag

34. heedtracker

Snatcher Thatcher’s shits won the war on the working class people of teamGB and John Major’s lot merely ran out of tory stuff to do. New Labour Bomber Blair and Crash Gordon were just toryboy’s wrapped in union jacks and war. Crash Gordon boosted UK.gov giant south east of England spends but one of his major red tory legacies was to really beef up UKOK middle and upper middle class public sector pay levels, way above anything the lowest paid will ever see.

Crash Gordon paid for much of it all with giant debt and who does and doesn’t vote in teamGB. The worst off don’t vote as much as plump, happy and glorious UK. Same red tory gits surely cant be surprised as they haemorrhage their vote base to almost nothing, especially in their Scotland region.

35. Clydebuilt

O/T …. Re KayE’s moan in , virtually every day her show is dominated by issues affecting women. This morning it’s Kirsty Wark and the MENopause.
    Is it that Kaye’s a sexist, or is it that women are less certain about Indy, than men, and she’s out to control the thoughts of the ladies.

36. Peter McCulloch

Stuart you shouldn’t pose such difficult questions to poor Kezia Dugdale.

You’ll have her hurting her brain will in having to think about coming up with a sensible answer.

37. bobajock

She is as thick as 5 grade cement mix. And its hardening fast.

38. Dr Jim

@Blackhack

Japanese scientists surgically removed the brains from live sharks and they kept swimming and eating as normal

Proving….

39. Papadox

The worrying thing is Ruthy baby probably gave Kez the ok for this pearl of wisdom for the daft jocks. Aye they are better the gither. Thick as two short planks. EBC only to willing to broadcast it far and wide.

40. Dan Huil

Fundilymundily Dugdillilydallily

41. call me dave

Oh dear!

Deputy Deadwood is always good for a laugh and is helping the cause of the SNP everyday in every way so please keep her as the leader of labour in Scotland.

Price of porridge going up folks. I believe I read last month that Tesco sells us Irish oats now. 🙁

https://archive.is/7BJvz

42. Willson, LL.B

Twitter abounds with “stupid” comments; not least those that make assumptions about other tweeters. I am a tall, well built ex lock forward and shot putter, once described as a “sad little old chap” by that doyen of Tory supporting twit terers @DrGABaines. To make assumptions is to make an ASS of oneself should be in every twitterers mind before hitting the keyboard.Regrettably poverty and inequality is a fact of life worldwide. A billionaire (?) buffoon called Trump is purporting to have the key to eradicate it in that most independent of countries the “land of the free”…

43. Kevin

She’s a wonderful advert for an independent Scotland. I wonder, are any ‘Scottish Labour’ folk able to resist face-palming during these moments?
    Keep-it-up-Kez

44. Arbroath1320

I would say she should “engage brain” before “opening mouth” but I’m not wholly convinced she actually has a brain to “engage! 😀

45. Stoker

A Scottish Labour Chancellor and PM’ idea of tackling poverty etc:

https://gscott123.files.wordpress.com/2015/03/10881702_1551717875067997_8281966087651607890_n.jpg

BTW, folks, anyone else having difficulty archiving links today?

46. Cactus

@me up-thread
    ~ Now, that makes more sense, yeah? ~

Almost..

“The Scottish National Party ARE committed to tackling poverty and inequality. You can’t do that within the union (only with independence.)”

Ah that’s better, makes perfect sense now.

Hmm.. there’s another billboard suggestion (and possible theme) for the excellent folks at InformScotland. You could even print both sets of ‘quotes’ on the same board.

You cool with the above Nicola? 😉

47. Vestas

Oh dear.

Perhaps Kezia isn’t “genetically programmed” to make sense?

She is a complete joke, even by SLAB standards….

48. Stoker

Tackling poverty + inequality Scottish Labour style:

http://wingsoverscotland.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/04/straight1.png

Pure dead brilliant this game, isn’t it!

49. taysider

Classic example of someone promoted way beyond their capabilities.If this is the best Slab can come up with as their leader,then they full deserve to be at the arse end of Scottish Politics.

50. Proud Cybernat

“Scottish Labour is committed to tackling poverty + inequality.”

…for its Labour MPs and MSPs. (Just ask Messrs Darling & Broon).

‘Scottish Labour’ should be committed.

51. Peter McCulloch

When Labour talk about tackling poverty and deprivation just exactly who’s poverty and deprivation are they going to tackle?

Because large parts of Scotland have been under the control of Labour for decades and endemic poverty is still with us.

Though Labour politicians representing those areas have done very well for themselves.

When was that last time you saw a poor labour politician?

52. Artyhetty

She doesn’t care what she says as long as it gets into print, and into some folks’ minds, even though it is utter tosh.

Labour were in power for how long? OK they built some nice high rises, and concrete jungle flats on the outskirts of Edinburgh and huge schemes all over Glasgow, but really, what have they ever done for Scotland? When did Labour start to call themselves ‘Scottish Labour’? They take their orders from their masters, red and blue ones, down in London, england.

Just exactly how is Kezia Dugdale, leader of the branch Labour party, in Scotland, going to help Scotland deal with poverty and inequality when she is hell bent on belittling her country, voting with her supposed opposition on austerity etc, while making sure that Scotland stays shackled to WM for the foreseeable future?

I saw a couple of comments saying how nice she is. No, she is a scheming, lying self serving career driven, pretendy politician who would stab you in the back at any opportunity for disagreeing with her. Can’t stand all this pretence of caring for those they keep poor and starving, while they line their own pockets, and lie and scheme against Scotland and the people of Scotland.

Get lost Kez, your insincere politics has no place in Scotland or the Scottish parliament.

53. Stoker

Tackling poverty + inequality Scottish Labour style:

https://encrypted-tbn1.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSEqQX6NZW63FIDGbSEaLDi8fHXwYU8rJrNf6IOxXaT4gn5p_5l

I’m away for some beans on toast.

54. One_Scot

#KezzaCantDos

A cake, giving people food to eat. You cant do that with flour and eggs.
    A roof over people heads. You cant do that with bricks and mortar.
    A decent education. You cant do that giving people access to university.
    Better living standards….

Man, someone really needs to rewire her cerebral cortex.

55. Proud Cybernat

“I’d love to know how Labour intend to tackle poverty using power over road signs.”

Do we no’ have air-gun powers too? We could always shoot some rabbits for lunch??

56. G H Graham

Let me help “Dizzy” Dugdale … “You can’t fight poverty with independence because London would be denied billion of pounds worth of exports (oil, gas, plastics, meat, wood, whiskey, gin, fish, etc.) that would otherwise be attributed directly to Scotland instead of England.”

57. Cuilean

‘The Party before the people’ will always now be SLAB’s mantra, as all that is left in that party are careerists, lining their own wee nests.

But they are not ‘the People’s Party’ anymore.

SLAB thinks we, the people; our loyalty and our votes, ‘belong’ to them, so SLAB came to see Scotland as ‘The Party’s People’.

Labour obviously never read Orwell’s ‘Animal Farm’.

58. Liz g

Clydebuilt @ 11.32.
    Well Kay with an e & Kirsty are as deluded as Kezzia.
    Because if there’s one group of women that can’t be controlled
    Menopausal one’s are it!!!!!

59. HandandShrimp

“You can’t do that with independence…what you need is Theresa May in Westminster and an unelectable UK Labour party then everything will be just great”

I get the feeling that Kezia could not give a toss about poverty and inequality as long as the Union is preserved. For whatever byzantine reason Kezia makes that deduction is completely beyond me. Presumably that is what she, as a branch officer, has been told to think.

60. harry mcaye

I see from the Wings twitter timeline that Doug Daniel thinks the, and I quote, “THE BBC ARE LYING” posters are going to be counter productive. One responder even thinks the appeal page should be targeted with a DoS! Then Doug suggests “Maybe it’ll be one of the many fundraisers that seem to have gone very quiet after getting their money.” I don’t have a problem with folk having the opinion that this is not the best approach for us to take, I had my doubts initially before contributing but can we cut out some of the nonsense above that we would expect from the madder Unionists?

61. Jack Collatin

One-Scot says @ 12.33.
    Beat me to it, One_Scot.
    We are entering the Twilight Zone. Dugdale, Davidson, Rennie, and the clutch of unqualified Hangers On who mysteriously are allocated £60,000 sinecures at Holyrood because of a Unionist electoral stitch up, are allowed air time and column inches to spout frighteningly insane mince, while, a broadcast journo sits on nodding sagely.
    Tom Harris, that failed ex Blair Red Tory was on Scotland 2016 last night talking pish, and rewriting history.
    The Scottish People and their democratic will is trampled over because Theresa May is the unelected ‘British’ leader of Westminster, so we Scots and our wishes can be ignored, ridiculed, and lied to through official channels with impunity.
    We are at war now, it is too serious to describe the present situation in any other way.
    A neighbouring country intends to impose their will on our sovereign nation, and we are expected to comply, because of a 309 year old political construct?
    Dugdale, Davidson, and Rennie, (is he still in charge?) are morally and intellectually bankrupt. They are now arguing UKIP’s cause. Have they no morals or decency at all.
    What will it take to convince them that the Union is dead, and WM is intent on destroying Scotland and its civic society.
    The slaughter of every male child?
    Internment camps for refugees?
    An iron curtain being drawn around our sovereign nation, by a bellicose fascist neighbour?
    Troops massing on the border?
    Thousands of civil service jobs scrapped and moved to Crawley?
    13 Frigates become 8 frigates becomes No frigates?
    After yesterday’s attempt by May and her Civil Service to humiliate the FM’s of Scotland, Wales, and N Ireland, all bets are off.
    We are at war now, plain and simple.

62. Pete

Just noticed on gridwatch.templar that wind is only providing 1.5% of our electricity today.
    Not much wind blowing.
    Bulk of generation coming from gas, coal and nuclear.
    To rely just on renewables is madness.
    Sorry !!!!

63. Ian

Eight years of a labour government not that long ago. That went well didn’t it.

Light touch financial regulation with endless amounts of prudence – that really ended well didn’t it.

In his 1997 Budget speech, Gordon Brown said, “I will not allow house prices to get out of control and put at risk the sustainability of the future”.

In the 10 years from 1997 to 2007, the average house price rose by some 200%, even higher in some areas. During the same period, average earnings rose by just 52%

So despite having an abysmal track record, labour expects people to think they’ll do great things if they get another chance? I suppose each generation will have their own ‘eyes opened wide’ highlight on labour. Mine was the 1979 Devolution fix to turn a Yes vote into a No. Thanks labour.

Don’t let the door hit you on the way out.

64. snode1965

No wait…we have the most powerful devolved parliament on the planet…according to Kez.
    Perhaps she can explain how Wallonia,a region of Belgium, managed to scupper the EU/Canada trade deal…even though all member states approved??

65. One_Scot

Apparently according to Katie Hopkins, we can’t have another referendum because Nicola Sturgeon is not tall enough.

Seriously, is that all they have left to defend their imperialistic union. Jeez.

Where’s the fast forward button?

66. orri

She’s right. Independence alone will not be a magic wand. However given we’re being used as a bogey man in England with the blatant falsehood that Labour need us to put them in power,historically untrue, the only way we can even begin to address those issues in both the rUK and Scotland is by removing ourselves from that equation. Labour might never again gain a majority in the rUK but as things stand all Dugdale is doing is feeding into the xenophobia that is being deliberately fostered down south and led to what seems to be an ongoing an concerted economic suicide.

67. jimnarlene

Why Scotland voted, generation after generation, for these idiots; I’m at a loss to explain.

68. Iain

The rantings of Scottish Labour, get more insane as it’s ship disappears down the plug hole of oblivion.

69. Liz g

Pete @ 12.53
    While the wind might not always blow.
    The tide will always surely come in and out.
    And I don’t think anyone has ever fought a war over it either!
    While I can’t claim to be a Green,it makes sense to me that we should pursue energy that’s clean and never ending if we can.
    And we can.

70. Jockanese Wind Talker

jimnarlene says 25 October, 2016 at 1:07 pm

“Why Scotland voted, generation after generation, for these idiots”

That’s an easy one jimnarlene.

Tribal loyalty and Media manipulation, plain and simple.

Not so easy now that the internet and social media are debunking and calling out their lies with archived video and print evidence.

Only the True Yoons and those who only get their news from the MSM and Dead Tree Press are still blind to the lies.

71. Craig P

Kezia Dugdale: cheerleader for Theresa May’s Brexit Britain.

It’s a wonder her head doesn’t explode.

72. K1

Stoker @12.17 (i think)

Yeah archive.is coming back as ‘error’ when I paste url and send. Hmmm

73. Edward

Pete @ 12:53 pm
    That figure is for the whole of the UK

That website was set up by an engineer who is not exactly a fan of renewables

Wind isn’t everything as regards renewables. What people ignore are the other methods being developed and coming online, such as Hydro, Wave, Tidal, solar and biomass

The amount of renewable energy generation is increasing on a regular basis

The UK will soon be connecting to Denmark, to capitalise on the Danes excess wind generation (see Viking project, Lincolnshire)

74. Vestas

@ Pete 12:53pm

….despite your pessimism, even now Scotland is exporting 160MW to England (as of 12:36 GMT).

For other posters talking about tidal power – yes its entirely predictable but there’s no guarantee the power is available when you need it. Storage is an issue given most pumped storage in Scotland has already been developed.

Until suitable storage solutions are developed the best we can do with tidal power is to connect it to a grid which spans several timezones (like the EU) on the basis that its far more likely demand will match capacity.

tl;dr its not as simple as many think…

75. Stoker

K1 on 25 October, 2016 at 1:25 pm

Cheers, mucker, and ditto, thought it was just me!

ffs, now i’m posting too fast! Haud yer comments you lot until i get my response out to K1. Here goes, 4th attempt!

76. Thepnr

Sometimes the wind blaws hard and sometimes it doesn’t, that’s obvious. However, if when there was an excess of power generated by wond above what as a country you use then that power could be used to convert water into its base components of Hydrogen and Oxygen.

The Hydrogen can then be burned cleanly to generate power when the wind isn’t blowing. There is more than one way to skin a cat.

Personally I’d double the amount of generators powered by wind in Scotland. Labour and especially Dugdale generate enough wind by themselves to power Scotland by themselves.

We just need the means to harness all that wind.

77. HandandShrimp

Not sure about the mis-reporting Scotland thing. I think if it is done now and the seed is planted regarding BBC spin then it likely won’t be counterproductive. If is left until we are in or close to an Indyref2 campaign then I think it could be counterproductive. It will then simply be seen as part of the Yes side’s media push and discounted.

If undertaken now by individuals rather than a party or a campaign then it might well unnerve one or two in the BBC and possibly SLab. It will certainly get them bitching.

78. K1

Perhaps a funnel like construction attached tae their arses, then every time they speak we could capture the resultant effluence too and add that to our renewables portfolio…unionist manure doth maketh the Independence support groweth efterall.

79. Vestas

@ Thepnr 1:40pm :

Again its not that simple. Hydrogen reacts with pretty much every type of pipework in use in the UK (and most metals/plastics).

Storing hydrogen is a very specialist business and for the volumes you’re suggesting I doubt its currently feasible.

South Australia have desalination plants & tried concurrent desalination/hydrogen production not that long agao. Turned out to be WAY too expensive to store hydrogen despite being essentially free in energy costs. Of course they have shedloads of solar in comparison to the UK.

80. Chic McGregor

Where would the money for an oil fund come from? I don’t know because I am not genetically programmed to make political decisions.
    Leave it to Labour, they presumably never deliberate on anything.

81. liz

@Pete, sorry!
    But according to the real time nat grid, Scotland is still exporting energy to England as we speak.

Obv you’ve never heard of storage, sorry.

82. Lenny Hartley

Pete, as somebody said tidal and wave are the way to go, however until we get Independence there will be no funding for research. Wind is just part of the mix, in Scotland water is pumped up the hill (pump Storage)! When Wind is generating electrickery. In the States they compress air with it and store it for later use in underground salt caves.

If you are advocating Nuclear , take it you have no objections to burying the waste in your back garden for tens of thousands of years?

83. gus1940

Quelle Surprise.

Yesterday’s ‘Theresa Triumph’ in her meetings in Downing St. with the leaders of the 3 devolved parliaments seems to have completely slipped off The BBC’s radar – it’s as if her humiliating slap down by Nicola and to a lesser extent the others never took place.

Isn’t a state controlled broadcaster a wonderful thing to witness -perhaps it should be renamed The GBBC (Great British Broadcasting Corporation)or BGBC (British Government Broadcasting Corporation).

84. Arbroath1320

Sorry for the O/T here.

Up till now das Fuhrer May and her cronies have all been telling us that everything is fine and will continue to be fine after their cockup sorry Brexit!

Well in the last few days I’ve heard that banks are looking to relocate from her beloved London.

The CETA deal between Canada and EU is dead making any UK EU deal look likely to struggle.

Das Fuhrer is apparently looking at “special” deals for London and Nissan but NOT for Scotland. I wonder how long these “specials” will last before she finds out she can not do them or the reason for doing them in the first place disappears off to Europe. 😀

Now we have this.

http://uk.businessinsider.com/brexit-liam-fox-eu-australia-trade-deals-2016-10

I think this may well count as another nail in the coffin for an easy Brexit result.

85. gus1940

Vestas @1.19

Apart from the periods of slack at High and Low Tide the water is always on the move and the fact that tides are waves which move round the coast means that there will always be plenty of tidal power available – have a look at some Tide Tables or even in some newspapers which print tide times for various parts of the country.

Think of the tides as a wave ebbing and flowing as it moves round the coast from The Solway to The Tweed.

86. Thepnr

@Vestas

That’s a fair point and as an engineer I’m well aware of the difficulties associated with storing hydrogen.

I’m sure though that despite the perceived difficulties you are aware that is is feasible as shown by hydrogen powered cars such as this.

https://www.toyota.co.uk/world-of-toyota/stories-news-events/the-toyota-mirai.json

Currently it may be expensive but the options currently are oil or nuclear as opposed to the renewables, wind tidal and solar.

Oil I doubt will be cheap forever and nuclear is not cheap even now never mind the other problems associated with it such as disposal of waste.

Anyway, I think it’s worth having the debate.

87. HandandShrimp

See the electoral commission fined Labour £20,000 for not declaring all their election expense in 2015.

Anyone know what is happening with the investigation into Tory electoral shenanigans in 2015?

88. yesindyref2

Oh I like this game!

With Independence you can’t tackle poverty and inequality.
    With Independence you can’t tackle anyone with the ball.
    With Independence you can’t grow crops.
    With Independence you can’t spend money.
    With Independence you can’t have elections.
    With Independence you can’t have UK Government controlling our budget.
    With Independence you can’t go walking or hill-climbing.
    With Independence you can’t have tourists.
    With Independence you can’t have your own currency.
    With Independence you can’t belong to the EU.
    With Independence you can’t prioritise your own airports.
    With Independence you can’t have your own defence policy.
    With Independence you can’t get on well with “foreigners”.
    With Independence you can’t be a wealthy, fair and equal society.
    With Independence you can’t have MPs at Westminster.
    With Independence you can’t tackle fishing tackle.
    With Independence you can’t tackle drug abuse.

Two of these are true!

89. Vestas

@ gus1940 2:03pm :

I thought that’s what I said re EU grid? The tidal time variations within the UK aren’t diverse enough to make a difference. There are of course local geographic conditions in certain areas (Strangford Lough springs to mind) where sufficient tidal flow exists to provide significant power 24/7 but these are few & far between.

@ Thepnr 2:04pm

I quite agree however there’s probably “lower hanging fruit” to pick before we start splitting seawater to provide power. Some of the battery technologies being used for cars look promising in terms of providing local storage. Probably best not to use Samsung though 😛

90. Arbroath1320

I have to admit Thepnr that I have always been keen about Hydrogen powered cars. In fact I’ve always liked the Honda Clarity.

http://blog.caranddriver.com/2017-honda-clarity-fuel-cell-claims-longest-range-of-any-ev/

There are other alternatives to Hydrogen as well as you no doubt know, water and … apparently Salt Water.

http://www.collective-evolution.com/2013/07/28/water-powered-car-unveiled-yes-its-real/

http://www.collective-evolution.com/2014/09/27/salt-water-powered-car-gets-approval-in-europe-yes-its-real/

I’m thinking the salt water powered car sounds great but you’d need to ;live near a source of salt water for refueling methinks. 😉

91. Fred

@ Arbroath, anent Theresa, I think “Die Fuhrerin!” would be the korrekt term.

92. gus1940

Vestas @ 2.44

All that is needed is to cover the periods of slack tide at High and Low tides – there is ample variation in these periods round Scotland’s coast to cover these periods.

There is no need for your European Grid to cover for slack periods.

93. Arbroath1320

I stand corrected Fred. 😀

94. Thepnr

@Arbroath1320

We in Scotland should all be fine then. Did you know that no place in Scotland is further than 50 mile from the sea? Or so I hear.

http://www.rampantscotland.com/know/blknow8.htm

95. Vestas

@ Gus1940 2:58pm :

I’m afraid you’re wrong – what you’re suggesting would require “Pelamis-type” barrages around the entire coastline. Tidal turbines aren’t (currently) cost-effective except in very specific locations and there aren’t enough of those.

There’s a reason Pelamis wasn’t successful and its called maintenance – which I’m sure the Chinese are finding now with their knock-off/stolen copies. I don’t believe in religion but that’s karma for you – stealing the plans for an uneconomic system and then building it 😀

The test sites (Orkney & Portugal) had lots of maintenance problems which are well outside the scope of this discussion. The problems exceeded the benefits – and this was back when oil/gas prices were through the roof.

96. Arbroath1320

Count me in then Thepnr. ?

Wonder if they’ll let me have a test car to test prove their viability in Scotland … free of charge of course! ?

97. CameronB Brodie

So BLiS___d plan on tackling Scotland’s structural problems by continuing to renounce our inalienable human rights? Right? Why chuck a winning formula, eh?

“The right to development is an inalienable human right by virtue of which every human person and all peoples are entitled to participate in, contribute to, and enjoy economic, social, cultural and political development, in which all human rights and fundamental freedoms can be fully realized.” (Article 1.1, Declaration on the Right to Development)

“The human right to development also implies the full realization of the right of peoples to self-determination, which includes, subject to the relevant provisions of both International Covenants on Human Rights, the exercise of their inalienable right to full sovereignty over all their natural wealth and resources.” (Article 1.2)

http://www.un.org/en/events/righttodevelopment/pdf/rtd_at_a_glance.pdf

98. Lenny Hartley

Vestas, what if you built a bridge over the pentland firth using the little islands as staging posts, so you built a bit when you earn enough money on one section you build another and so on until you reach Orkney you could have turbines between the spans and when they needed maintained press a button and bring them above water for maintenance.
    The Pentlant firth alone would generate most if not all off Scotland’s daily requirements, the rest could be exported.

99. Arbroath1320

The trouble is Lenny the Pentland Firth can be quite busy with shipping both large and small.

https://www.marinetraffic.com/en/ais/home/centerx:-4/centery:59/zoom:9

It is not busy at the present but I have seen quite a lot of ships using this as a route from/to North Sea/Atlantic/Ireland

100. gus1940

Vestas @3.25

I feel to see what the Pelamis devices have got to do with tidal generation – they are wave powered not tidal.

I am not 100% convinced by the main emphasis re tidal generation being on tidal flow generators immersed in the sea.

My preference is for tidal barrages with inbuilt turbines.

Just look at all the sea lochs on Scotland’s West Coast.

Tidal Barrages across these with a road on top with an inbuilt bifurcated section to accommodate a lock where required would not only generate plenty electricity but with the roads would kill 2 birds with one stone by improving communications.

101. Lenny Hartley

Arbroath1320 surely it’s not beyond the scope of engineering to build it high enough for ships to pass underneath like the Forth Bridges or what about the Chinese Lake Pontchartrain Causeway?

102. Clydebuilt

“The Stupidest Thing Ever Said”….., since the last time Kezia spoke!

103. Fred

A wee carving on a roadside dyke in Glen Truim, Laggan, claims to be the furthest point in Scotland from the sea!

104. Seumas

How can Scottish Labour even start to try and tackle poverty and inequality when they are so impotent here and have been fatally damaged by English and Welsh Labour and their Unionist credentials ? More empty nonsense from an emptyheaded idiot who embarrasses the real values of Labour.

105. Blair Paterson

I remember years ago we were talking about gays and an old man said to us these people are abnormal so how can an abnormal person make normal decisions ‘?

106. Andrew McLean

Blair, Oh that conundrum is easily solved, you see the old mad was a stupid wanker.
    There I fixed it for you!

107. Andrew McLean

Man not Mad, but then again?

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.