Song For Today

Posted on June 27, 2016 by

We’ve been watching the news all morning, and there’s only one sane response.

703 to “Song For Today”

1. Dal Riata

Alan Smyth gets standing ovation in EU parliament. Even Sky, no friends of Scottish independence they, show the ovation.

Guess who doesn’t? Ehh, you know, ‘national’ broadcaster, that one, the one that is hostile to Scotland, aye them, the BBC!

Someone at the BBC made the editorial decision not to show the reception given to Smyth’s speech, a standing ovation no less. Who, and why?

The BBC are hostile to, and an enemy of Scotland’s right to self-determination. The UK’s spitting cobra of propaganda.

Addendum: It now appears to be the case that the BBC *are* showing the reception to Smyth’s speech. Don’t be fooled – obviously done under duress.

2. Robert J. Sutherland

Petra,

Thanks, but alas no. It is probably some kind of blocking/cookie problem with my browser (I’m quite careful about that). The Twitter one is just a still picture. =sigh= But unless someone can put up a longer version on youtube, I’ll take the ovation as read! It gave me a warm glow inside just knowing it had happened.

Clapper57:

Ruth Davidson was keen to promote the voice of the 55% but is not so keen to promote the voice of the 62% , neither is Mundell.

Well said there, well said!

3. Ken500

UKIP voters are a minority. 4Million voters out of approx 50Milion electorate in UK/NI. Farague is unelected in the UK. If he was his finances would be investigated. Non disclosure.

4. Robert J. Sutherland

JM, thanks for a link to that longer version.

It sent a big shiver right up my spine.

Effing brilliant!

5. Marie Clark

Help Stu, where’s everybody gone? Has there been an alien invasion or whit”.

Whit’s goin oan wi the parliament, why is it suspended?

Hallo, anybody oot there.

6. heedtracker

Rancid The Graun latest

“MEPs boo Nigel Farage insults in European parliament
    Members heckle Ukip leader as he says UK referendum result shows European Union is in denial about its failure ”

UKOK tory BBC led media rule britnatia freak show takes the real credit for Brexit. decades of total mis, dis, under reporting combo, with practically no EU reporting by teamGB press, makes for our EU citizenship being ripped up by England.

I still have no idea who my MEP is, or was, rather. But I do know the EU banned straight bananas, or bendy ones and they’re going to ban toasters, they emptied the UK seas of fish, and they let in all those bally foreign types. I am or was, a life long rancid The Graun sucka.

Wonder what scotch cringer in chief, Neil Oliver’s saying.

7. gordoz

Wow … What an arse Osborne is.

On sky news at 12.50 he just trotted out the same line as Cameron re Norway being in an unusually beneficial position of being a small country of 4 million with oil. We (England /UK) have 65 million so its not so good for us ? (Or there abouts)

The cheek of the failures.

8. yesindyref2

@Petra
    Yes, Scotland takes a share of the debt, if we don’t the ratings agencies and banks won’t really like it, though what it would do is increase the interest rates a little until we proved our worth.

BUT – we also take a share of the assets, and the share of assets matches the share of debt. BOTH can range from a full per capita share say 8.4%, to 0%, by agreement. Yes, Scotland and the rUK could agree that Scotland walks away with no debt,, but no assets like the £ or BoE.

In that last case, Scotland has taken our share of the debt, and it totals £0.

9. Capella

Bizarre set of photos of the Labour Shadow cabinet meeting now. On the BBC live reporting feed (no licence needed to read live updates).
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/live/uk-politics-36570120

10. Brian Powell

So Sky News shows the standing ovation for Alyn Smith but BBC News cuts it.

11. Ken500

Faradge does not represent 52% of the people in the UK. That is impossible for any MEP. He represents one region. How many votes did he get on a low turnout as a percentage of votes. Electorate approx 50Million. There are still approx 15million pop not included in the electorate in UK/NI.

12. Jack Murphy

First Minister of Scotland Statement on EU Referendum will I guess be live on this link shortly after 2pm:-

Scottish Parliament TV
    Debating Chamber:-
    http://www.scottishparliament.tv/

13. Scott

Standing ovation for SNP MEP Alyn Smith’s ‘I beg you’ speech

BBC Scotland now showing this have they been shamed into it,will Jackie the Burd have a fit wait and see.

14. gordoz

Wow … What an arse Osborne is.

On sky news at 12.50 he just trotted out the same line as Cameron re Norway being in an unusually beneficial position of being a small country of 4 million with oil. We (England /UK) have 65 million so its not so good for us ? (Or there abouts)

The cheek of the failures.

15. Breeks

@ Almannysbunnet at 12:00

Even with as good a trade deal as the EU has been members, any relationship with Europe similar to Norway will be an uphill struggle, and without any veto or rebate, and acceptance of freedom of movement ie immigration. What a spectacular own goal from Brexit. And of course, there are the months of negotiation required to get there.

I’m torn. The risks of a UDI seem to be in all out retreat, (though that is perhaps a rash assumption to be wary off), and Europe seems to be as warm to Scotland as it is cold to rUK. What do we put at risk by waiting, and waiting for a referendum? Where would we be God forbid if that referendum was a second No? However unlikely we HOPE that might be, while the possibility exists there will be a limit to how far Europe can go in its support for us. Think of the law suit if the EU conspired in the break up of the UK… Life becomes much simpler if the break up has broke up.

I am vexed. What if the EU told us it can’t negotiate with a non-sovereign state, nor can it intervene in what technically is the domestic politics of an existing sovereign country. Would that help us if it prompted a UDI, to permit critical EU negotiations, and then subject it all to ratifying plebiscite?

What is the alternative? Put our faith in Indyref 2, and sit back for months if not years beneath the Chinese water torture; drip after drip of toxic BBC propaganda. What if Europe cools to our aspirations? What if England really falls apart? Could we abandon them if they sought redemption from their stupidity? I know the glib answer, but think about it…

I know, a referendum is the democratic way, but there is still democracy in a UDI ratified retrospectively, even if it is a bit chilled…

I think I know what I’d do.

The down side is how we extricate ourselves from the UK and accommodate the legal and political fallout. I’m sure a measured and rational rUK would recognise the wisdom in keeping our relationship constructive, but when that rUK is in a tailspin? What then?

Nevertheless. Go now I think. Whatever we risk losing by choosing the UDI is currently part of a joint venture teetering on collapse. What’s rightfully ours will find its way home to us… eventually.

Truth be known, I feel a little uncomfortable thinking of ourselves at the same time as the rUK circles the drain. But I certainly don’t want to go down the path they have chosen, but furthermore, unless we take care of ourselves first and give ourselves a strong footing, how can we ever reach out our hand to help if or when it might be needed?

16. Ken500

Their are 73MEP for an electorate of approx 50million depending on turnout. 50% turnout. Approx 25Million.

Faradge gets a minority % of votes.

17. Ian Brotherhood

Farage: ‘You laughed at me. You’re not laughing now…’

All across Europe, psychology students stop pondering what to do for their dissertation next year.

18. Dr Jim

Because of the Tories vanity, squabbling and ineptitude we get a referendum foisted upon us we don’t need nor want, but we win it anyway and they want to ignore anything we say and now they want to foist on us a general election we don’t need nor want to satisfy their back benchers miserable in fighting so that England can certify a whole bunch of mental country destroying right wing lunatics

The Labour party is just as bad with their shenanigans, the country needs us so let’s all resign and maybe we can get somebody better to beat the Tories

All the while here in Scotland, once again we’ve just to suck up their dicking around and put up with it and take part in having to re elect the exact same set of MPs as we have already

Or is this a big Blue and Red Tory plot to cut down the number of SNP MPs representing Scotland into the bargain like a two for one job

I’m quite sure the UKIPPERS will love all this, well, they’re bloody all UKIPERRS now I suppose

Let’s hope for the sake of sanity the FM can turn the huge amount of support we have in the EU Parliament into concrete action to save us from these destroyers of worlds

I mean we’ve got Liam Flaming Fox standing for Prime minister now, this is the guy who wants to remove bus passes for the elderly and remove their winter fuel help plus he’s red hot on more bombs he just loves all that shit

BTW Shares in South Korean Shipping are being invested in by the bucket load (I wonder what on earth that means” (sarcasm)

19. heedtracker

Jesus H Corbyn

“Queen in line for £2.8m pay rise in 2017-18
    Monarch stands to receive £45.6m from taxpayer unless sovereign grant percentage is reviewed”

Rancid The Graun.

20. galamcennalath

Ian Brotherhood says:

“Farage: ‘You laughed at me. You’re not laughing now…’ ”

Aye, right enough, they weren’t laughing. They were biting their lips thinking, ‘when are you going to fck off and never come back, you smug little jumped up scum bag’.

21. mealer

If Scotland remains in the EU,will we be the rUK? Merely keeping the seat warm til the English return and shove us out the road?

22. yesindyref2

@Ken500
    Yes, but in the eyes of the EU Parliament he can be seen to represent the views of 52% of the people of the UK as expressed in the Brexit referendum who voted to Leave. I’m presuming Farage is the only UK MEP who does that.

The job of the other 72 MEPs is to impress on the other MEPs that they do actually represent a large majority in EU democratic terms. Alyn Smith seems to be doing that, but also putting Scotland’s case, where 6 MEPs including him, represent the views of 5.31 million Scots who voted 62% to REMAIN in the EU. He seems to have done an excellent job – as is Sturgeon and others.

23. Capella

Nicola off to meet President of EU Parliament tomorrow.
    http://tinyurl.com/h4za4ux

24. Sinky

Scott says:

28 June, 2016 at 1:04 pm
    Standing ovation for SNP MEP Alyn Smith’s ‘I beg you’ speech

What’s the odds on this speech and applause reaching the BBC cutting floor before the TV evening news bulletins?

25. Robert J. Sutherland

BBC R4 World at One plays Farage’s “you’re not laughing now” gloat as the headline item, and Marine Le Pen gets a mention, but zilch about Alyn Smith.

Now why am I not surprised?

26. Orri

Another possible reason for a GE is that as long as the Conservative party as a whole takes the fall or they replace the MPs elected as a result of illegal election spending then the potential for the present government to lose 27 seats at one time is vastly reduced. It’s a ticking time bomb waiting to explode. Even a 2nd election might be enough if the MPs elected risk being banned from office.

27. Papadox

HS2 put on back burner due to HMGs lack of cash. HMG unable to steal enough oil money from SCOTLAND. just nead to Waite for the sun to come out again then Engerland (Londinium) can fill its boots again. CARRY ON LONDON!
    Very proud of Alan Smith SNP MEP and the people in the Brussels parliament. WAOW!

28. Petra

@ Dr Jim saysat 12:18 pm …. ”Even if you didn’t see Alyn Smith following Nana’s link You won’t believe it but the BBC are showing it although they do cut some of the ovation out. Can’t get over all this the BBC allowing something good about Scotland on the telly.”

Maybe they’re starting to realize that they have to keep up with social media Jim or they’ll go down the stank with some of their Westminster bosses.

And I just want to mention something on here, in line with this. Something that I reckon was on a par with issues such as the currency / pensions that resulted in us losing last time round.

Alex Salmond was seen to be a one man band even although he was surrounded by many brilliant people, academics and so on such as Stiglitz who never got a mention in the meeja. Alex was rarely interviewed, on Question Time etc and when any of his comments were broadcast they were either cut short omitting the key point or distorted. He was also rarely filmed walking alongside any other. Always on his own. He was demonised in the press and on the BBC which led to many brainwashed people thinking that he was arrogant and ignorant: In turn deciding not to vote for this lonesome man that they didn’t like or agree with. Taking into account the barrage of propaganda techniques that were used and ‘attacks’ that Alex had to deal with I’m surprised we managed to get 45% (probably higher, imo) of the vote.

The situation has changed dramatically now. Nicola makes sure that she’s often filmed with an entourage around her. She mentions experts, advisers, committees, meeting with this leader, that leader, and so on, at every turn. In debates her sharp intellect and absolute competence but even more so her honesty shines through additionally acting like a spotlight casting doubts on her opponents motives / ‘facts’ they provide. Many of our fantastic SNP MPs are invited onto panels, interviewed outside Westminster and excel themselves. Many also use Twitter and Facebook to get the facts, Truth, out there.

The Electorate are beginning to see the light, that is that we have a ‘MASS’ of extremely knowledgeable people supporting the SNP and Independence, it’s not the ONE Man Band Party as projected by the propagandists previously, and all it takes is for an additional 15% of Scots (EU Nationals … whatever) to support us over a consistent period of time. And then job done. YEEHA!

PS Jim …. BBC News has just shown the Alyn Smith speech and getting a standing ovation. Brilliant.

29. One_Scot

Omg, just watched Alyn Smiths standing ovation clip, and I could feel all the hairs on me standing on end.

30. rongorongo

Link to the full Alyn Smith speech in case any were looking for it: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tlUETtTofmE

31. Sinky

BBC Parliament channel covering Nicola’s speech at 2 pm

32. Capella

BBC R4 now doing hatchet job on Jeremy Corbyn interviewing enemies but only one supporter. One critic alleges Corbyn condones violent protests against colleagues such as Ian Murray. Intimidation by picketing MPs offices (Ian Murray) and the old favourite, online abuse. at approx 35 mins into programme. Deja Vu!

Pressure on Tom Watson to stand, otherwise it’s Angela Eagle, the tearful resignee. Not propitious.

Must be desperate to avoid fall-out from Chilcot.

33. K1

The BBC online has the ovation in Alyn’s speech at the EU parliament. The youtube clip of same does not have the ovation. The ovation is the moment you realise just how utterly serious this is and that the EU parliament understands that Scotland in is peril: They must aid us in our time of need. Alan’s speech was a cry from the heart. I felt it.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-36649450

34. Les Wilson

All the EU need to say,is,
    ” When thinking about Scotland, we have a situation that the whole population who overwhelmingly voted to remain EU citizens, will be torn from us.They need clarity.

While we take no side in any future referendum on Scotland’s place in the UK Union, we feel they have a right to know if they will be welcomed in the UE, or not.

If such a position was reached that Scotland did become Independent, we will propose to members that Scotland should be made welcome as the successor state to the UK.

To be absolutely sure the intent is clearly understood, Scotland will inherit the membership that is currently held by the UK.”

That would do it, just watch the toys being thrown out the pram if that happened.

35. dakk

During this EU debate former Belgian Prime Minister Guy Verhofstadt turned to the chamber and used the term ‘dual kingdom of England and Wales’.Robert Peffers would have been proud of him.

I noticed Sky News cut him off(censored) mid sentence in their later bulletin.

We can’t have people knowing the constitutional legalities of Scotland and England,can we ?

36. skintybroko

Once we and NI are no longer part of the RUK will it be called Wengland, only right and proper that Wales are recognised as leavers in a new right wing state. Maybe they can offer to take oor Ruthie who will be clearly more at home with the pooling and sharing they will be able to offer their elected representatives!!!

37. Les Wilson

Scottish Parliament tv, Nicola coming on.
    Better than edited BBC.
    http://www.scottishparliament.tv/Home/Index/9cc36303-8aa1-4b88-92a8-0e86448bc436

38. One_Scot

Seriously, come IndyRef2 the Scottish Government needs to make sure they drastically minimise any fraudulent activity. I don’t trust these BritNat Yoons one inch.

39. AliH

@ Capella 1.47pm

I heard the BBC R4 news report of Ian Murray’s claims about picketing at his office. So I swung past his office a few minutes later. Not a sole in sight. I can report there was peace and calm on the streets around his office and the door was open.

40. Jack Murphy

Robert J. Sutherland said at 1:31pm:-:

“BBC R4 World at One plays Farage’s “you’re not laughing now” gloat as the headline item, and Marine Le Pen gets a mention, but zilch about Alyn Smith.

Now why am I not surprised?”

Calm down Robert– Jackie Byrd of the BBC in Reporting Scotland will inform the good folk of this Parish,and if she doesn’t her viewers will certainly want to know why!

41. Chic McGregor

Hinkley Point on a knife-edge as French Government instruct state owned EDF to come to a quick decision on troubled project.

With France already committed to halving their own nuclear.

England in real danger of power cuts in near future, even with importing Scotland’s surplus.

42. heedtracker

Another whopper becomes Brexit reality. All the posh farmers that vote NO 2014 must be wondering if reality is coming for them too.

“British fishermen warned Brexit will not mean greater catches
    Fisheries chiefs and campaigners say current catch quotas will continue until the UK leaves the EU, and new arrangements may not be more generous”

Rancid The Graun

43. One_Scot

Really, how good is Nicola Sturgeon. It is clearly obvious that the UK is holding Scotland back from becoming a world class nation.

44. Robert J. Sutherland

Capella @ 13:47,

Are we really interested in discussing the Corbyn situation here? Whether he “remains” or “leaves”, will it make any difference to SLab’s position on indy?

Meanwhile, up in Labour’s North Britain Accounting Unit, they seem to have arrived somewhere around October 2014. They’re considering “UK federalism” now. (As if that will save us from the consequences of an irrecoverable Brexit). I do wish they could find the “fast forward” button and get to June 2016, where unequivocal pro-indy is the only viable position they could possibly take.

Petra @ 13:39,

you make a point worth pondering. Salmond, for all his many talents, did seem to put some people off. Nicola though seems to attract people to her cause. (Nawbags of course will always dislike her just because she is so effective.) So I’m not sure what to think. A good leader can be inspirational. But we certainly also need “all hands at the pump” in arguing the case. That most certainly includes people who are not in the SNP. The wider Yes movement for sure. If it could even be people from other political strands, and even other whole political parties (in addition to the Greens, that is), then so much the better.

45. manandboy

With wind and wave of the political kind threatening to engulf us all, I am mindful that in the Rev Stu we in the Wings over Scotland community, have a skipper of outstanding abilities. I am sure many will agree that Scotland needs him now more than ever and that he deserves our maximum support and appreciation as we navigate our way through this ‘material change in circumstances’.

Nicola is also playing a blinder.

46. K1

Here we fucking go Ruth Davidson’s colours showing…absolute disgrace

47. Ananurhing

Ruth just about to make herself an irrelevance.

Didn’t take long for her rising star to drop over over the horizon.

48. K1

They are an utter disgrace, Nicola made it absolutely clear this is not about ‘independence’ today…Ruth Davidson being utterly divisive in the chamber…the Unionist to the last, this women does not have the people of Scotland’s interest at heart. She’s re running the Independence ref right now…this is just absurd…she is repeating the ‘same old arguments’…empty vacuous speech.

49. Andrew Gordon

Just listened to Nicola Sturgeons speech in the parliament , what can you say, head and shoulders above any party leader in the whole of the U.K. .
    Ruthie trying her best but as always with Ruth it is just SNP bad, did she not listen to a word Nicola said, the motion is to try an excerpt every last sinue to remain in the EU, independence is not part of the motion so it really is just total drivel spouting from Ruth Davidson.
    And now Kezia zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

50. Dorothy Devine

Our wonderful First Minister makes her points very clearly – I’m afraid I switched off as soon as buffalo girl and co started up.

I think the media worked their “magic” against Alex Salmond and persuaded the silly that he was smug, arrogant and bossy.

That they haven’t as yet succeeded in denigrating Ms Sturgeon is a measure of how far the public have come in mistrusting the ample rear ends of the MSM.

I wonder how our MEP felt about getting a standing ovation – it must have been so unexpected , so infra dig according to “thou shalt not clap” Westminster and their poisonous little speaker.

51. Patrick Roden

One thing I haven’t saw mentioned yet is the possible outcome of a general election once a new Tory leader if picked.

It’s clear that a lot of ‘Leave’ voters voted that way thinking they were voting to ‘get rid of foreigners’ (Margaret Curran would be proud of them) due to strong hints in that direction during the campaign, that was designed to hoover up the ‘stupid vote’ in England/Wales.

It’s also clear that Boris the almost certain to be new Tory leader, is now downplaying this possibility.

Nigel Farage has already said he feels a sense of betrayal, after some of these announcements from the Tories who were part of the ‘Leave Campaign’

So I wonder just how much support UKIP will get in the general election, if they fight it on the betrayal of the working class by the Tories and a promise that UKIP will implement the strict immigration controls that were originally promised to ‘Leave’ voters?

Could we be about to witness a UKIP breakthrough at Westminster?

Can you imagine how this would effect the surge of ‘Yes’ in Scotland?

Will Kez and co stand shoulder to shoulder with Nigel?

Will Lord Darling get a standing ovation at the next UKIP conference as he tells them how crap Scotland is?

Will the Daily Record have a picture of a smiling loving Nigel, Boris, and whoever is leading Labour, with a signed Vow on their front cover, promising Scots that these people can be trusted to deliver for Scots? only for the same Record to be shocked and dismayed as Scotland is let down yet again?

Hmmm!

52. Robert Graham

BBC website manages to cut the standing ovation by our SNP mep by accident my arse a totally political piece of butchery ment to remove any objective opinion of what was actually said a total fascist act by a untrustworthy BBC , Ruthie talking pish as usual with only her own side backing her she can’t have too opposing opinions at once , Kezia confused as usual well what’s new .

53. K1

Well at least Kezia is not supporting the Tory amendment…

54. K1

Go Kezia…about fucking time they attacked the Tories…

55. Socrates MacSporran

Wow! Kezian puts the boot into the Tories and in particular to Buffalo Girl.

Much more like this and a SCOTTISH Labour Party might have a future in an independent Scotland.

56. Iain More

To whoever mentioned Water Torture. I don’t think it ever stopped and if it did then it has started up again already. The Brit Nat Brainwashing Corp making use of somebody with a Scots accent on its main lunchtime Propaganda broadcast to sell Brexit to all ahem Brits is evidence of that.

The BBC for one must go!

57. yesindyref2

I’m sure I’ll get told off for this direct link, but I think the Herald is on the cusp:

http://www.heraldscotland.com/news/14584390._Don_t_let_Scotland_down___SNP_MEP_Alyn_Smith_receives_standing_ovation_in_European_Parliament/

58. galamcennalath

Someone should tell Davidson that she is in the wrong parliament.

Wait … that is probably what she herself believes.

Her position today in Holyrood was nothing short of disgraceful. UK first, Scotland and her constituents second. She clearly sees herself as Westminster’s voice in Holyrood.

59. heedtracker

Much more like this and a SCOTTISH Labour Party might have a future in an independent Scotland.

No idea what’s going on Holyrood speeches but all of this latest catastrophe is down to Labour and the Tory party. All of it, not just a little bit here and a little bit but all of it.

They all destroyed the middle east, they all let the banks destroy themselves and nearly our whole way of life and now we’ve lost our EU citizenship. All thanks to ridiculous characters like Dugdale and Davidson.

60. Tam Jardine

Nicola excellent. How lucky we are to have her on our side.

Kezia’s best performance at Holyrood I think. Looks bonny in a spacesuit too.

61. Robert J. Sutherland

Dorothy,

I know what you mean by “our” MEP, but there are actually also two Scottish Labour MEPs, David Martin and Catherine Stihler. Not as much as a peep from either of these servants of the people, both during the EUref and since. (Both of them, I seem to recall, went along with a recent pro-TTIP fudge.) Also, it should be added, another SNP MEP, Ian Hudghton, plus of course the unforgettable buffoon Coburn.

62. rongorongo

Patrick Harvie doing a good job also.

63. Scott

Scottish Parliament

I am not a fan of Dugdale but I must praise her for the way she got stuck into the Tank who is showing her true colours by denying us the Scottish people a chance for a second referendum shame on her

64. call me dave

Deputy Deadwood raging at Ruthie… Good on her but too late.

She made a good fist of the speech, who wrote that for her?

But Kez federalism is also too late, full Independence please.

Harvie doing very well tearing into WM and better together excellent from the Greens. 🙂

Hope folk notice the contrast between Holyrood parliament procedures and manners compared with WM.

Action from the wee pretendy parliament while the mother of parliaments are sitting on their hands.

Wee Wullie: Good for him …recklessly led down the path by The leave tories and includes CMD and Ruthie.

Popcorn order away and Indy2 looks a goer!

65. Valerie

Fair play to Harvie. Saying the right things.

It has to work this time, folks.

Can’t tell you how angry and upset I am right now to be part of UK. I’m keeping an eye on the more global stuff, and this country will sink further.

I have never had a bunker mentality, but I do now. I am seriously going to stock up on what I can, because I’m not wealthy.

It’s also getting really nasty out there on social media, so I won’t last much longer. Safer havens beckon.

66. Andrew Gordon

I take it back, Kezia has finally grown a spine!
    About time she gave the Torries a kicking.
    Patrick Harvie was impressive too, let’s hope he continues to support the government.
    What can I say about Willie Rennie ? he did actually send me to sleep !

67. sandycraig

petra @ 1.39

Wholeheartedly agree with all you said. The media demonized Salmond. They couldn’t see how smart and clever a politician he was, just wanted to make him look devious.

It’s almost as if the SNP has taken advice or hired a publicity guru. There is a much more serious professional look about the whole group of MPs, MSPs and MEPs and I could not be happier with our representatives.

On Farage speech—-I liked the guy who said to him ” I don’t know why you are hear, you want to leave, go.”

Priceless, Farage just showed his shouty tendencies like the Buffalo Girl in trying to dictate to all those members. As my granny used to say they’ll sort him out, the blaggard.

68. NiallD

Ruthie gets her arse handed to her by all the party leaders in Holyrood. She’s sitting there with a face like a well skelped erse.
    Good for Patrick Harvie, independence is firmly on the table with the Greens. Even Kez was good, and Willie Rennie…..wel two out of three ain’t bad.

69. twathater

Just watching SP parl online you can practically feel the testosterone coming out of the screen ,Kez has borrowed somebody’s gilhoolies and ripped right into Ruthie who was acting all supercilious and possibly PM material, the big baw face is lookin as if it wished it was somewhere else maybe on the top of a tank.WHIT A FU**IN LIBERTY. PH is acting all statesman like and full of piss and vinegar but the main thing is he supports the proposal

70. K1

Yes Stu, Farage did say ‘Scotland can fuck off’ at 34 seconds into that clip.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-36649450

71. Robert J. Sutherland

Patrick Roden @ 14:38:

… just how much support UKIP will get in the general election, if they fight it on the betrayal of the working class by the Tories and a promise that UKIP will implement the strict immigration controls that were originally promised to ‘Leave’ voters?

Could we be about to witness a UKIP breakthrough at Westminster?

Yes, in a word.

I was initially going to respond that was exactly the reason why the Tories wouldn’t precipitate an early GE. But then it dawned that they just might, because they would reckon that Labour in the north of England would take a far bigger hit (and they might even just do a little collateral damage to the SNP with those misguided Leave voters who aren’t yoonster loyalists).

So maybe it’s “game on”!

There’s already an anti-Scots backlash building in England (see eg. article in The Herald). The more the merrier, I would say. So the lingering Scot-buts might be in for another unpleasant surprise…

72. heedtracker

“Scotland can fuck off.” Nigel Farage MEP, 28/06/2016

73. Clapper57

Patrick Roden

“Nigel Farage has already said he feels a sense of betrayal, after some of these announcements from the Tories who were part of the ‘Leave Campaign’

So I wonder just how much support UKIP will get in the general election, if they fight it on the betrayal of the working class by the Tories and a promise that UKIP will implement the strict immigration controls that were originally promised to ‘Leave’ voters?”

I say :

Hi Patrick , this could be reminiscent of what Tories did on 19 September 2014 to Labour….UKIP are playing Tory game getting mental little England Tory twats to do their dirty work…started already when Farage denied on GMTV the extra NHS money promise ‘wisnae me Guv it was them ‘ …..I am sure that is exactly the game UKIP are playing. Nigel in Brussels today playing his Rule Britannia role to impress the ‘natives’ (literally) back home in his ‘see me I’m leader material ah showed them whose boss’.

UKIP will try and capitalise on any failures/broken promises as being generated by Tories mismanagement of BREXIT and lies in Tories ‘Leave’ campaign, thus the.. ….shall I say, ‘uninformed’ voters will perhaps stray to an even more right wing party who I am sure will pander to their misguided superior English nationalism .

The lunatics may very well eventually run the asylum of WM…..sometimes democracy in the wrong hands can be a real pain in the u know what.

And meanwhile Labour still doing what is does best…abstaining from politics and doing Feck All !

BTW excellent post by you Mr Roden.

74. K1

Tomkins, that Scotland can play a part in the negotiation on Brexit? Aye like the Smith commission? You must be fucking kidding!

75. heedtracker

“Scotland can fuck off.” Nigel Farage MEP, 28/06/2016. oops.

76. One_Scot

How melon melting would it be if Reporting Scotland lead with the story that ‘Nigel Farage tells Scotland to ‘F’ off’.

77. crazycat

@ Patrick Roden at 2.38

Some time before the last Westminster election, some polling was done (probably more than once) about the popularity of various alternative Tory leaders.

Things may have changed in the interim, and it has been repeatedly established that people are very bad at answering hypothetical questions along the lines of “would you be more or less likely to vote Conservative if X were leader?”. There’s also the complication that some people would never vote Tory regardless of who was the leader – I answer these questions with “makes no difference”.

But it was quite clear, then, that Boris’s popularity was very much confined to the south of England. I don’t see why it should be different now, so I think you could well be right in your suppositions.

78. Valerie

Just on Farages disgusting, usual performance at the emergency EU meeting.

If the UK gov’t had one ounce of sense, intelligence or commitment to the country, why would they not have prevented that?

There wasn’t even any need or point for UKIP to be there.

just read an article entitled – why the EU is happy about the UK leaving.

This – a country that has never come to terms with its global irrelevance.

79. NiallD

Prof Tompkins, what a f###ing arse. Spouting utter pish. How in gods name did he get to be an MSP.
    (Shakes head wearily)

80. Proud Cybernat

The problem is, Ruth, dear–you really believed all the hype the BritNat media built around you. The reality, however, is very VERY different. You are seriously out of your depth, sweetheart. Suggest that you leave politics to grown-ups who actually know what they are doing and go and do something like–oh I don’t know, voice-overs for radio ads or something.

In short, Ruth, sweetie–if you don’t want to be part of Scotland’s solution you will be regarded as a big part of Scotland’s problem. You are on the wrong side of this argument and you will, as a result, be on the wrong side of history. Such is your abject stupidity.

81. gus1940

Who still says that there is no media censorship or at the least collaboration within the media to suppress or not report information?

Last night I watched an undercover report on Ch4 News which showed the disgusting behaviour of English fans in Lille – funnily enough there was no sign of the bands of Kremlin sponsored Russian Thugs.

After extensive perusal of today’s broadcast and print media there is a complete absence of any reporting of the behaviour of the English fans either before or after last night’s humiliation.

Are we actually supposed to believe that all waa sweetness and light and that their behaviour was angelic?

82. K1

Anas Sarwar the thinking man’s snotter.

83. sandycraig

Just wondering what Scotland’s self proclaimed global ambassador ( tourism ), you know the long haired one, supposed archaeologist/historian, thinks of all that’s going on.

Definite conflict of interests for him. Prick.

84. Jenni

Apologies if this idea has been raised before but I’d welcome some clarification as to whether the following is unthinkable because it’s impossible to do or because it’s never been done before…

If governments can operate in coalition, can the opposition do the same thing? Id est could Corbyn be the leader of the Opposition with a shadow cabinet made up of SNP MPs?

I mean, if the PLP don’t want to work with him, I’m sure we would. Temporarily anyway. Suspect we might have quite a lot in common just at the moment…

Any thoughts?

85. call me dave

@K1

Sniff! 🙂

86. misteralz

Parly telly brilliant this afternoon – Heed’s Slovene Girlfriend an arse as expected, but almost sounding like SLab are about to come out for indy?

87. Robert Graham

Sorry Kezia I posted before I watched your full on headbut and boot in the ! To the one who talks on behalf of the Tory party well done your best contribution so far , and thumbs up to Patrick Harvey he showed where he stands , unfortunately unionist MSPs a little confused as to where their allegiance lies make up your minds you either stand for Scotland or you don’t .
    If you don’t feck off we don’t need you are you listening yet .

88. Clapper57

heedtracker says:
    28 June, 2016 at 3:11 pm
    “Scotland can fuck off.” Nigel Farage MEP, 28/06/2016. oops.

I say :

He’s only saying what the English MP’s are thinking in WM and a lot of the English people too (NOT ALL English, but reading some of the abusive comments from some of them they do think and say the same as Butt Face Nigel in relation to Scots or as they like to call us subsidy Junkies…#Irony ).

Bothered ? Not by that jumped up little shit stirrer…Buffoon !

( Apologies to Buffoons for comparison to arsewipe)

89. yesindyref2

@call me dave
    It’s never too late, and the more on-board for Indy Ref 2, the greater the chance of a YES vote. If it saves Labour in Scotland, it’s a small price to pay for Independence. Remain in the EU is that common purpose that can draw Scotland together, even above the 60% YES line. The hard trick will be to get the Leave voters on-board!

Didn’t see the Holyrood sesion, but thanks to all for the commentary, saves me the trouble of trying to get an video stuff work apart from youtube.

90. Brian Powell

NialD

Tomkins is a List MSP, nobody voted directly for him. The Tory Party gave him the seat.

91. galamcennalath

Now we go through the motions of exploring ideas of Scotland (and elsewhere) staying the EU while also being part of the UK, while rUK is out.

Who will pull the plug on it first? Probably WM.

And, what WM come up with instead won’t be ‘Scotland remains in EU’ nor anything like it. That won’t be enough for the SNP and Greens, especially if emboldened by majority voter support to to further.

The chances of IndyRef2 look high.

Lab and LibDems have agreed to the exploring of ideas and solutions, and directly with the EU. That is a big step not to be understated. At the moment it’s backing short of IndyRef2.

However, where do they stand when the choice is leave the EU with DevoNotMuch versus Indy?

THEN we will see who puts Scotland before the UK as it has now become.

The Tories will stick their ground with UK first, always. In the context of the constitutional debate about Scotland’s future, they have made themselves irrelevant.

92. Macart

Just got back and I see from posts that Kezia finally got pointed at the right problem with our parliament.

@Yesindyref2

Saw your post and couldn’t agree more. Hopefully you’ve seen the multiple links to Alyn Smith’s speech and the response from chamber.

Seems Ruth is feeling the heat from all sides as her Tory persona is revealed for the Scottish electorate to see in all its glory. A time of public and constitutional crisis and her first thought is party before people.

Who knew?

93. Socrates MacSporran

I am not surprised to realise this, but, Oliver Mundell is an even bigger tube and waste of space than his father.

94. Inverclyder

Reading the text via BBC Shortbread website it looks like the Tories in Scotland are split between supporting and not wanting to play with the adults.

Certainly looks like Ruth for a Strong Opposition has been cast adrift in a small boat that’s already leaking by her London puppetmasters.

95. K1

Oliver Mundell…a complete and utter disgrace in our parliament right now…his comments are utterly beyond comprehension in the context of this debate. This is a fucking joke for the Tories to rerun their better together campaign at this moment. Utterly shameless behaviour. Sickening display of a typical Tory…all about their precious Union and no understanding that this is not about them it is about Scotland remaining in the EU.

96. yesindyref2

@misteralz
    Labour have been kind of moving for some time, but they need to be handled very delicately, probably best by just leaving them alone, applauding Dugdale when she does good, that sort of thing. Positives but no negatives or attempts to force the pace.

I think a lot of people underestimate Dugdale.

97. gus1940

For as long as I can remember we have been fed the fairy story that England is loved and admired by the rest of the world.

I think that we can now put that one to bed.

98. call me dave

Anas Anwar couldn’t help throwing a jibe in at hospital waiting times… about as exciting as a dead fish.

Mundell Junior shrieking about Indy2 fears he was for leave I think but his POP was a remain. Par for the course.

Jackie B:
    Trying her best to be supportive but I keep waiting on the ‘ah but’
    As on cue…. Indy2 warning… she wants a fully laid out plan on the back of her fag packet. Not like Boris or Gove darn South then?

99. Almannysbunnet

Mundell away and join your father in Westminster. You are a disgrace to Scotland.

100. Donald

Dare I even ask what Oliver Mundell said?

101. Socrates MacSporran

That look on Neil Findlay’s face, when Mike Russell told him Scotland would not have to sign-up for the Euro – it was priceless.

He honestly didn’t appear to know this – and he is an MSP!!! Further words fail me.

102. Kevin Evans

Mundells little shit of an offspring is as disgusting with his opinions and think as an Tory I have ever seen. In fact there have a been a few stoaters already nailing there hat to the mast. Sawar being another one. Making sure his politically correct one liners get woven into another UKOK mantra and ("Tractor" - Ed)ous speech but prize of the day for just completely missing the point goes to mundells spunk splash of a son Oliver.

103. Edward

Quite a curious contribution from Jackie Baillie at the SP debate on the EU

Main point was as expected about not wanting an independence referendum but fully supported the SG’s efforts in finding a way
    But then proceeded to talk about a framework for an independence referendum and how Scotland would qualify by tackling existing level of debt.

So dear readers, why talk about something that is the last card in the pack, which she doesn’t support – confused?

104. desimond

I give it 24 hours before someone nominates Ruth for the Tory leadership!

She knows how to play the Game!

arise Dame Ruth of PublicPurse

105. Dorothy Devine

Isn’t this fun!

Glass of wine to hand a few fattening nibbles , bought in Iceland this morning and agog at all the idiocy , spite and ordure.

Gus1940, it could never have been true unless half the world had Stockholm syndrome – and it really looks now as though they definitely didn’t!

106. Marcia

One thing that today’s debate at Holyrood has shown is there is an overall majority in support for a 2nd Referendum if and when the need arises with the SNP and Green MSP’s supporting the Scottish Government in this EU fiasco.

Ms Sturgeon, I would have thought has impressed the Europeans outwith the UK as she meets with the EU Officials tomorrow.

107. yesindyref2

@Macart
    Saw the Alyn Smith on youtube, applause and all from the link by rongorongo (thanks), though it looks like it cut short some of the applause when the camera switched to farnago (I don’t normally mangle people’s names). Heart-warming and incredibly encouraging. Seeing it happen is very different from speculating and guessing about support, though we shouldn’t jump ahead of ourselves.

Davidson is actually a bit of a surprise to me. She’s gauche and naive, but perhaps the EU debate and applause went to her head. If things go as we all hope they’re going to go, she might not last long as leader.

108. Gord

Scexit

It’s rockin and England don’t like it.

Scexit

They never saw that coming.

109. desimond

yesindyref2 says: – I think a lot of people underestimate Dugdale.

Lets not let one wee speech suddenly convince us that Kezia is our friend and someone to be respected. A glorified lackee\forum imposter who would trample our dreams into to dust with one twist of a kitten heel if she could.

Lets keep the praise tempered and leave the also rans to fight amongst themselves while we address the real enemy outwith Holyroods walls.

110. galamcennalath

Lab and LibDems stood at the election on a pro-Union anti-Indy ticket. We expected no less from traditional Unionists. They played a huge part in achieving a NO vote in 2014. They had their colours firmly nailed to a mast.

However, it is the view of many (inc Nicola) that the Union and UK they stood by is rapidly melting away. We have entered a period where people who thought they knew what the UK was, and left it was OK, are going to have their previous believes and certainties thoroughly challenged.

It is a long way to travel for politicians from supporting Better Together to accepting Indy. However, the point is what they fought for then, soon won’t exist.

I genuinely expect Indyref2 and I expect many previous opponents to ‘cross the floor’ or at least stay out of it and just cast their vote privately.

111. yesindyref2

Farango not farnago, can’t even mangle nakes right. But perhaps it should be Fandango.

112. X_Sticks

An interesting article from the Academy of European Works Councils:

Brexit – What consequences for European Works Councils?

http://www.ewc-academy.eu/en/consulting/brexit.html

113. Robert J. Sutherland

galamcennalath @ 15:35:

I sincerely hope not!

Exploring the possibility in order to assure people in Scotland that the SG isn’t being reckless is one thing, but this move has all the hallmarks of a “park in the long grass” operation, with the explicit intention of defusing the situation and letting it dissipate.

The BBC etc. are collaborating with this, with increasing emphasis on “bringing us all back together again”. Not in my name, they ain’t.

This we must not let happen. The SG has the momentum, and must sustain it.

I used to be a “long-termer”, thinking that the optimal timing for indyref2 would be 2012, after an expected Labour fail in the UKGE of 2020. Now I’m not so sure. We’re making history, and have to live up to the moment. I believe the SG, having made sure it has the necessary EU actors onside, may well, sooner rather than later, have to bring about a constitutional crisis that will rally everyone in Scotland behind indy (except of course Buffalo Gal’s yoonster loyalists).

Indyref2 may well be a post-independence confirmatory referendum setting the final seal on a historic changeover.

114. desimond

Socrates MacSporran – re Ian Murray and the Euro sign up

The same “Scotland will have to adopt the Euro” nonsense was openly spouted by “EXPERT” ( and this title was mentioned at least twice!) Dr Bell(?) of Stirling Uni on Scotland 2016 last night. Class.

115. Socrates MacSporran

yesindyref2 says:
    28 June, 2016 at 4:03 pm

Farango not farnago, can’t even mangle nakes right. But perhaps it should be Fandango.

How about Fanny – much more appropriate.

116. yesindyref2

@desimond
    No, I’ve said it before, and posted it on this forum. She’s having to steer a path through the wreckage of her party using only a fender and compass.

117. Socrates MacSporran

desimond

An “Expert” – isn’t that someone who studies a single subject so-much, he or she ends up as an expert in fuck all?

118. Socrates MacSporran

See this auld age – ye forget things, and get things wrong.

In my post at 4.16pm, I meant to define an Expert as: “Someone who studies a single subject so-much, he or she ends up knowing all there is to know about fuck all”.

119. Jazzscot

I loved Alyn Smith’s speech so much today that I decided to embellish it a little.

@AlynSmithMEP @theSNP Excellent speech https://t.co/FyNIKPgjaY— Jimmy Whyte (@jimmy_whyte07) 28 June 2016

120. Robert J. Sutherland

Oops! Finger trouble. In my latest posting, please substitute “2021” for “2012”. (I’m not Marty McFly, honest!)

121. galamcennalath

Robert J. Sutherland says:

“galamcennalath @ 15:35:
    I sincerely hope not!”

I was referring to all this talk of Scotland getting special status within the UK so it can also be in the EU.

I think the SG need to explore that avenue, but I am certain it will be dismissed by WM. That type of discussion will have the plug pulled on it.

It’s DevoMax all over again with an added stripe of EU membership.

You have to remember that many NOs are DevoMaxers and that avenue need explored, and killed off.

Then the only option will be IndyRef2.

By reducing the choice to Indy or DevoNotMuch out of the EU, then many NOs will come over.

But that is ground which needs covered. IMO WM will force the issue.

122. Ken500

Scotland should not be begging anyone. Scotland should expect the rights and responsibilities of their vote to be honoured.

Why are the unelected 2nd rate rejected Tories even in Holyrood. ‘Doing a Farague’.

Colburn got elected by 200,000 votes after the Greens lied.

123. call me dave

Sturgeon assembles heavyweight panel to advise on Scotland’s place in EU

https://archive.is/wEHRv

Ross Greer wants the Youth parliament to be involved in the discussions too… I’ll go along with that.

124. Ken500

Farague does not represent 51% of Brexit vote or the EU Parliament of 500million people. When he stands for election in the UK he never gets elected. So much for his popularity.

He does not even represent 51% of Brexit votes in the UK. No one was voting for Farague or his Party. It was a Referendum. Farague and his Party get 4million votes out of approx 50Million electorate in the UK/NI.

125. Edmund

Is there a working link to the Official Report of what’s going on in the Scottish Parliament right now?

http://www.parliament.scot/parliamentarybusiness/ormain.aspx

‘Today in the Chamber’, and indeed all previous reports, doesn’t seem to be working…

126. Robert J. Sutherland

galamcennalath,

I can see why it is expedient for SG not to be seen to be too precipitate, but I don’t see why WM would want to quickly shut down the DevoMax+ thing as you suggest. The Brexiteers may be feeling triumphant, but they are still in a bit of a guddle in general, and it’s not too obviously in their interest to bring about a crisis now. Prevarication seems to me far more likely, so the media can go to work on the Scot-Buts to give them the necessary reassurance.

Unless they believe that an ongoing situation will raise the temperature instead of lowering it. Is that what you believe…?

127. Meg merrilees

Nicola – absolutely stunning since Friday and on another level today.
    Alan Smyth – amazing and powerful at Brussels today – Farage a disgrace.
    Angus Robertson – strong and concise at WM amidst chaos.

We are indeed ‘Standing on the Shoulders of Giants’!

Just listening to the Debate on catch-up:
    Amazing how much the Scottish Government has achieved since friday morning compared to the chaos at WM, Nicola playing a blinder!;
    great to see Ruthie finally caught in a full Force 9 tirade from Kez and others.

Do you think Fluffy Mundell wrote his son’s speech? Not on this planet!

128. Robert Louis

Dear Oliver Mundell, away to England with you, if you love your cursed ‘union’ so b****y much. In case you had not realised, the people of Scotland are furious at what is being done to them by London.

An utter anti Scotland, subservient, London suck-up waste of space, just like your bogey eating father.

129. manandboy

Jeremy Corbyn loses vote of confidence. No end in sight for chaos.

130. Bob Mack

EU president feels now is not the right time to meet Nicola. Probably right.

131. Luigi

Holyrood: What we are witnessing folks, is the hardcore, BritNat unionists becoming isolated. They can no longer depend on the support of the soft NOs, many of whom are now seriously considering indy. 🙂

Europe: A sharp contrast between the offensive Nigel Farage who is ensuring that WM will get the worst deal possible, and the Alyn Smith’s warm reception, thus encouraging the rest of Europe to support our cause when the crunch comes (and it will). BT only held together (on the surface) through a pack of lies anyway. My how the tables have turned. 🙂

Farage is becoming a fantastic recruiting agent for Scottish independence. More of the same, please! A hard act to follow, but I’m sure Boris will make a real go of it. 🙂

132. call me dave

MPs 172 against 40 for Corbyn…. Yawn.

He should stick it out and go to a vote of those member of all the labour party.

I have said before that Corbynite was Craptonite but he was voted in whatever my opinion is.

I think ‘the hand of history’ man (Blair) is pulling strings behind the scenes before the Chilcot enquiry is released.

133. Robert J. Sutherland

Bob Mack,

Seems more like a snub to me. Especially after Alyn Smith’s impressive plea earlier.

Does anyone on the Continent (even the Germans) continue to harbour any hope of a Brexit reversal still…?

134. manandboy

So Ross Greer wants the youth parliament to be part of the expert advisory group. Since when did expertise become a function of democracy? Are all our MSPs experts. Naw, didnae think so.

135. Vestas

Clever. Very clever.

Invite the parliament to vote to authorise the SG to explore all options short of indy to remain in the EU – and hence honour the EUref result in Scotland.

Then when that exploration fails & (hopefully) we have some assurances/guidance about Scottish membership outside the UK, go for a straight indy vote while expressing regrets about the situation.

Well played so far, hope it carries on this way.

136. call me dave

@Bob Mack

That’s to be expected but it has also been said to CMD and the leave faction that there will be no formal or informal discussions about terms for UK WM until that article 50 button is pushed so it’s keeping the balance I think even though I wish it was otherwise..

Jackson Carlaw…Mundell junior… Ruthie what a trio! 🙁

137. Robert J. Sutherland

BoJo has just announced that there will be no UKGE if he is elected leader of the Tories, and thus PM.

The referendum is already sufficient mandate, quoth he.

138. manandboy

I see the Tories are all close friends again in the Commons. They don’t appear up nor down about Brexit. Funny that. Like actors who were sworn enemies in a stage play, then afterwards having a drink together in the bar.

139. Ken500

Labour, LibDems or Tory will never support Independence for Scotland. It is impossible they and their campaigns are funded by Westminster Parties on a Unionist manifesto. Buyer beware. Do not be taken in by lies.

Remember Vote No you get nothing.

140. mike cassidy

Maybe Ruth Davidson will be gone faster than we think if Stephen Crabb wins the top job

She was salivating about him as far back as January.

http://archive.is/EGVkQ

An anti-gay marriage soulmate.

We live in interesting times.

141. Valerie

Yup. I think the Corbyn coup was always for post referendum, but they didn’t think it would be Brexit. The awful thing about these imbeciles, is that they couldn’t factor the ‘new’ information into the situation, and just yelled oh no, we have to stick to the plan.

Truly pitiful. I’m sure it’s to do with Chilcot. A clown show to hide the war criminal.

Virgin loses a third off share price, and Siemens halt an investment plan in Hull.

SNP know the UK will hang on like a dead corpse. I’m sure they know they have to play dirty now, surely?

142. Iain More

I do seem to recall that many in the Remain campaign were telling the English that if they voted LEAVE they would effectively be voting to break up the UK so as far as I concerned they have already told us to GTF!

I think we need to press English buttons on this to get Westmidden to Press the Brexit button.

143. crazycat

@ gus1940 at 3.41

For as long as I can remember we have been fed the fairy story that England is loved and admired by the rest of the world.

I think that we can now put that one to bed.

Years ago, I read a book in which a conversation was recounted between two soldiers at the very end of WW1, a Scot and an Irishman.

While expressing their relief at the end of hostilities, the Irishman remarked that it was now time to take on England. The Scot replied that he didn’t have a problem with England.

The Irishman said “Everyone has a problem with England; it’s just that some people haven’t realized it yet.”.

144. Dr Jim

It’s now time we dissolved the Scottish Executive

Ian Lang

145. ahundredthidiot

I suggest we don’t get too gallus regarding the euro currency.

last weeks rules may not be next years, or the year afters, in fact the EU are already thinking outside the box regarding brexit negotations and will no doubt seek out ways to strengthen the European position, because while Farage is a first class arsehole, he may not be wrong about the UK not being the last to leave.

146. Macart

@Yesindyref2

Well that was the debate that was. The Conservatives were appalling and as for Mundell the younger? Dang!

I suspect you’re right about Davidson. Utterly outclassed and out of step from the first word. Totally misreading the mood of the public in this issue. I have a feeling that if things do go the way we expect, we may see pro indy faces from strange quarters indeed.

The next few weeks will tell. Having said that, the speed things are moving, I don’t dare look away from this screen for more than a second. 😉

147. Valerie

I think the biggest threat at the moment is a GE, somehow coming about. I’m sure Remain MPs are taking soundings, although it’s definitely not in the two main parties interests.

Other threat is the actual decision to trigger A50 being defeated in the HoC. David Lammy is working to that outcome.

Lots of high profile slebs calling for 2nd referendum.

148. cearc

Assuming the vote passes we will have taken back some foreign affairs powers from Westminster without their grudging devolution.

Perhaps we should think about what other powers we can simply take back?

149. Breeks

How do you save video footage and hang it on a wall?

Ma pair wee hert near enuf burst with that speech and its standing ovation. I cannot recall watching anything of such spontaneous emotional intensity in a long, long time.

I am delighted the BBC cropped it. It tells you all you need to know about the BBC. They’ve partly engineered the great calamity of Brexit with their craven agenda to smear and rubbish the EU and every one of our European neighbours. I feel such utter contempt for the BBC and their despicable interference. I truly wonder too what hand the BBC has had in establishing the ubiquitous dislike for all things “British” the world over.

Turn off the BBC England, turn it off and have a cold hard look at yourselves. If you see a mere fraction of what I see, you’ll never turn it on again.

150. Inverclyder

Enough is enough folks.

Rev. Stu for PM.

151. Les Wilson

Sorry, on a different subject LBC radio, could we not do a similar program? No tv requirements as they do it by streaming and podcasts. Surely we could?
    Simply by using the same kind of format.

152. cearc

Nicola never said she was meeting Tusk, she is meeting with Martin Schulz.

Never thought for a moment the tories would call another election really. too uncertain that they would win it. The whole ‘we’ll have a referendum’ was to get the Ukip vote last time. They can’t guarantee that those votes would still be theirs.

153. manandboy

The European Parliament passed a motion urging the UK to start the exit process by triggering Article 50 immediately.

The speaker of the European parliament, Germany’s Martin Schulz, told reporters he expected the leaders to tell Mr Cameron they understood his reluctance to begin the formal exit process but also that they could not wait “a long time”.
    “A continent,” he said, should not have to wait “until the Conservative Party has solved its internal problems”.

Only the Tories, saturated in disinterest, could contemplate keeping democracy in continental Europe waiting.

154. ahundredthidiot

indyref2 and all things SNP now being referred to across msm as a ‘plot’

jeez

155. One_scot

What’s the ‘Scottish Executive’

156. Luigi

Ken500 says:

28 June, 2016 at 4:59 pm

Remember Vote No you get nothing.

It’s now worse than that Ken, thanks to Brexit:

IndyRef 1 = Vote NO you get nothing.

IndyRef 2 = Vote NO you lose everything.

157. Les Wilson

Back to the SP, why is it, that despite Nicola making it clear that this particular debate is not Indy related, do the Yoons all seem to be obsessed by it.

Every opportunity taken to bring it up, what twats.
    Still, the plus is Scotland is watching them.

158. galamcennalath

Robert J. Sutherland says:

“Prevarication seems to me far more likely, so the media can go to work on the Scot-Buts to give them the necessary reassurance.

Unless they believe that an ongoing situation will raise the temperature instead of lowering it. Is that what you believe…?”

If it were another situation with the same line up and issues as IndyRef1 I agree that WM would try to string us along. A Vow2 etc..

However, look what has already happened. It looks like all sorts of officials in the EU are already talking unofficially to the SG. At the same time they will not talk to WM until the ‘resignation letter’ is handed over.

Also, contrast response to the two sides at the EU parliament, Alyn Smith versus Farage. I genuinely expect all EU institutions will be very sympathetic to our position.

So although the negotiations maybe primarily Holyrood with London and London with Brussels, I’d be very surprised if there isn’t a third side on a triangle, at least unofficially, between Holyrood and Brussels. Perhaps officially, if the EU wish it.

Hopefully WM will be on the back foot all round and provaricating with Scotland will be something they just can’t afford. They will be desperately trying to get trade deals etc..

Exactly how the EU treats Scotland is critical. I expect sympathetically.

“ongoing situation will raise the temperature” As I say, WM is going to be under huge pressure to settle. From the EU point of view I suspect it will hardball. Leave voters will see their expectations crushed and WM will get into deep shit. WM’s crisis has a long way to run.

I believe/hope the DevoMaxPlusEU will die quickly. WM won’t want a successful EU Scotland. It is untidy, the EU will want all connections with the rUK gone and a simple relationship instead.

As soon as it become clear it’s a simple binary choice between Indy and what we have, but ex EU …. we need IndyRef2.

159. Onwards

Re Corbyn. The Labour MPs have just made sure that Labour is unelectable now. Who is going to vote for a party that doesn’t even believe in its own leader ?

It just focuses the choice available to Scotland. A normal European country or a region of England run by extreme right-wing Tories for years to come.

160. Scot Finlayson

Tory leadership election,

30 June 2016 – Leadership nominations by the Parliamentary Party close at noon.

5 July 2016 – The first ballot is held by the Parliamentary Party.

7 July 2016 – A second ballot, if required, is held.

Should further ballots be required, they will take place on alternate Tuesdays and Thursdays.

The two candidates selected by the Parliamentary Party are then put to the full membership of the Party in a postal ballot.

1 September 2016 – Closing date for the postal ballot.

9 September 2016 – New Leader announced.

161. mike cassidy

I’ll basically repeat my previous post about the realities of Article50.

I’ll give this link again as it hones in on the core point about it..

https://publiclawforeveryone.com/2016/06/26/brexit-can-the-eu-force-the-uk-to-trigger-the-two-year-brexit-process/

Note that this is not just uncharted territory for both sides.

This is uncharted territory before cartography was invented.

For example, nobody actually knows what is required at this end.

Hence Jeremy Hunt can say there is no need to decide before a detailed withdrawal agreement has been reached –

the content of which agreement he would have as part of the Tory manifesto for the 2020 GE –

thereby allowing the ‘people’ to vote on it.

Not sure what Hunt envisages if the election was lost.!

The legislation that allowed the referendum to take place did not invest the outcome of the referendum with any sort of legal effect. The UK Government is therefore not legally obliged by the referendum to trigger the Article 50 process, either at any particular point in time or at all

162. K1

Tories abstained on Nicols’a amendment. 92 to 0

Slab abstained on Tory amendment 68 to 34

As Stu rightly points out on twitter…so much for Dugdale’s rant against the tories didn’t even vote down their amendment.

163. galamcennalath

“Tory leadership election

9 September 2016 – New Leader announced.”

…. And on the 18th Sept 2016 …. 😎

164. One_scot

Does Stu have the best job in Scotland right now. I know, I know.

165. call me dave

That’s right the fickle finger of fate need never press the Article 50 button…ever.

Reminds me of that film ‘How to Murder your wife’ and pressing the chalk button in the court room. 🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yhoRLHUGBmE

166. Ruby

Brian Doonthetoon says:
    28 June, 2016 at 11:01 am

Hi Ruby.

75mm diameter fits a tax disc holder. Here’s the one I have on my wee two seater.

https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/home/badge-designs/Unicorn3-46mm-SAMPLE.jpg

Ruby replies

Thank you!

Wow! your sticker is fantastic!

167. Tinto Chiel

Agree with galamcennalath that the EU can’t and won’t talk with UK officials until Article 50 is signed but there is nothing to stop them speaking to the FM and other SG members, since they are not UK.

Time for a propaganda push from Scotland. Alyn Smith certainly did his bit today, and Farage too, although the plank doesn’t realise it.

168. crazycat

And for a bit of light relief:

https://archive.is/Y9Mxd

Containing such gems as

The word “England” does not imply something parochial, but an admonition to speak from the best of us and the best of our history and for all of us.

and

So this article is rather a public plea to one man. Tim Farron. Farron, history demands that you step into the breach and speak for England – in the sense that Amery meant it – and not just on behalf of the losing side either, but the winning one too.

and finally this

He needs to look ahead to a new political division, when the great divide emerging is between nationalists and liberals, and where the division will not be 48:52.

169. mike cassidy

For those who need a break from the serious stuff

Brexiters – out of their treehouse!

http://archive.is/kqr9Y

170. Papadox

Oliver Mundell (aka Junior), Ruthie the moothy and Jackson Carlaw have a lot in common. Nasty selfish cold automatons mercinery. The mob at their backs are swivel eyed puppets. Not a good point amongst the 3 of them. Vipers the lot of them.

171. schrodingers cat

except the president has just knocked back meeting nicola tomorrow! some friend…what a let down 🙁

172. Bob Mack

Guys and Gals. Things may happen sooner than we all think. Looking at the news and social media ,it becomes abundantly clear that political and social cohesion is breaking down.

If the Tories delay pushing the button on article 50 I can envisage great unrest down south, including large protests and even disorder with nobody in control to fight against it politically.

This has torn the very fabric of the Establishment asunder and I do not think they can pour oil on these troubled waters. Bide our time. It is very close

Personally if I was Nicola I would openly attempt to gain concensus to block the referendum result for Scotland. That would go down really well if you get my drift.

173. cearc

Schrodingers cat,

He never said he would. Her meeting is with Martin Schulz.

174. Capella

@ Schrodingers cat
    Nicola was scheduled to meet the President of the European Parliament, Martin Schulz. She was not going to meet the President of the European Council, Donald Tusk. The BBC and MSM appear to be spinning this to make it look like she has been knocked back.

175. Rev. Stuart Campbell

That would be illegal.

176. robertknight

@Schro-cat

Tusk’s spokesperson was quoted as stating that a meeting with the FM tomorrow was “not the right and appropriate time”.

Don’t be fooled by the MSM into thinking that means ‘not now, not ever’.

177. Ian Brotherhood

John Oliver, on Brexit –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nh0ac5HUpDU

178. ephemeraldeception

I am quite, but pleasantly, surprised at the level of support for Nicolas EU motion today. Nobody voted against it.

from bbc: “Nicola Sturgeon’s motion from the EU referendum debate is passed with 92 MSPs backing it and with 31 abstentions.”

179. Capella

@ Robert J. Sutherland says:
    28 June, 2016 at 2:19 pm
    Capella @ 13:47,

Are we really interested in discussing the Corbyn situation here? Whether he “remains” or “leaves”, will it make any difference to SLab’s position on indy?

I am. But I’m interested in politics, democracy and freedom for Scotland and the shambles that is Westminster affects all of those issues. It is also, I believe, a coup. The purpose is to save the skins of Tony Blair, Jack Straw and all those who support the Iraq war – “unpardonable folly” I think Alec Salmond called that. AS has also called what is happening in the Labour party a disgusting coup.

The initial coup leaders are all Friends of Israel. Many of them oppose the Labour Party support for the Palstinians being recognised in the UN. Foreign countries secretly interfering in our democracy is unacceptable IMO.

Sorry I would have replied sooner but I’ve been watching the debate in Holyrood.

180. Macart

@Ian Brotherhood

Yeah, John Oliver pretty much nailed it.

181. call me dave

@schrodingers cat

Don’t despair. I watched Bernard Ponsonby on the STV news a wee while ago and he was in good humour and very upbeat for a normally unionist leaning lacky.

Saw the SNP MEP Alyn Smith being given a standing ovation and a list of folk Nicola’s about to meet tomorrow.

Furthermore the Belgium ex PM and MEP head of the liberal delegation in Brussels state on film if Scotland goes for independence before the Brexit curtail falls there will be no problems in Scotland staying. I about fell of my wallet!

Then to cap it all with a tinkle in his eye Ponsonby says

“Expect no definitive statements tonight, there won’t be any but ..it’s all about the mood music” he says …hint hint!

http://stv.tv/news/politics/1358976-no-big-obstacle-to-independent-scotland-joining-eu/

Big changes from the last time.

182. schrodingers cat

tx for your concern guys but i am not fooled by the jubilant manner that kay burley announced this. i know they are spinning this as a knock back from someone she wasnt planning on meeting.

but he did say it was an “inappropriate time” Why?

dunno about you, but that doesnt fill me with confidence. if he was on our side he could have kept his gob shut.

all of the applause for alyn smith, and the kind words of ex- important people are irrelevant unless the powers that be are willing to speak to nicola.

183. schrodingers cat

test

184. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ruby.

The unicorn came from the cover of Paul Colvin’s book “Poems for an Independent Scotland”.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Poems-Independent-Scotland-Paul-Colvin/dp/1499702817

The text is from “Hope Over Fear”.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u6xCXbP-Q9g

185. Tinto Chiel

Wow! Thanks, cmd.

What does Ponsonby think he’s doing asking leading questions like that? And getting the right answers. No supper for him.

End of days?

186. Paula Rose

I’m presuming inappropriate because he has not met with Cameron yet who has not formally started the process of leaving – so inappropriate at this exact time now this minute.

187. Breeks

Saying it again… I fully expect there is a limit to what the EU can discuss with Scotland without getting into deep water regarding interfering in the domestic affairs of a sovereign country. Like it or not, and I know none of us do, we are still part of the UK. Informal discussion is one thing, standing ovations are splendid, but hard and fast commitments probably aren’t going to happen just yet.

I’m not being negative, far from it, but just maybe we should temper your expectations. Imagine inadvertantly giving that Farage creature grounds for pulling up the EU for breaking protocol, especially since the EU is clearly playing hardball with Article 50.

All good things to those who wait…

Regarding Corbyn, I’ve seen rumours online that JC won’t be shifting before the Chilcott report comes out and nails Blair to the wall. Their attempted coup is attempted damage limitation for Blairites, and Corbyn’s Brexit credentials are just a smokescreen. The original bust up was with Hilary Benn… So speculate all you like what it was about.

This whole situation could get very intense indeed. Who needs to read a political thriller when this is all real life?

As for Gibraltar and Nicola? Nope can’t even join the dots. No idea what that’s about. Be lovely to have a wee bit sovereign Scottish territory by the Med, but pissing off Spain is not a good idea. Our friends in Catalonia however are sympathetic to Gibraltar, but perhaps just because it niggles Spain. My gut feeling is there may be a time and a place for dealing with Gib, but this isn’t it.

188. Al Dossary

I take my hat off to Ross Greer today. Left the rest of the country in no doubt as to where his (and hopefully the rest of he greens) priorities lie.

Corbyn – I really do hope he can hang on until the Chilcott report is released – then let’s see Blair’s babes do their imitation of Osborne and go into hding.

Since the moment of their unexpected win I have been awaiting Cameron’s “Poll Tax” moment. The English public will not take no for an answer and I expect it will be only a matter of weeks before the protests begin for real in London and some of the other working class areas in England.

And yet I don’t think the students who voted “In” will take lightly to it either.

Labour friends of Israel – Agreed, that racist, bigoted xenophobic little country has NO business interfering in WM. But let’s not forget that some 80% of Tories are members to the extent that their election campaigns are in part funded by them. Between Labour and Tory some 50% or more of MP’s are influenced by these lunatics.

189. robertknight

Not the “right or appropriate moment” for Tusk as Article 50 has not yet been invoked by the UK Govt., and until it is he has a duty not to tread on the toes of the EU member state, which remains the UK.

Once Article 50 kicks in I’d say all bets are off. A bit premature to try to meet with him to be honest – someone in FM’s staff getting ahead of themselves and gifting the ‘SNP Bad MSM’ another bulls**t headline.

190. yesindyref2

@cat
    Tusk is president of the council, which has 28 members including the UK, the leaders of the 28 states. There’s been an already pre-ref scheduled summit of them today, and there’s an emergency summit tomorrow. In that circumstance it would, indeed, be inappropriate for him to meet with Sturgeon, until that council of ministers has had time to debate the Brexit – with Cameron as today, and without Cameron as tomorrow, and perhaps reach some unified stance.

It’s as simple as that, in my opinion he’d be in serious breach of protocol to talk to a leader of any part of any member state, his job is to focus on smoothing talks between all 27 leaders present tomorrow. It’s likely to be heated, and he’ll be in and out of private meetings with 1, 2 or more of leaders with an aim to get some unity between the 27 heads of state as to what they do next. Basically speaking these are the actual EU decision makers, on treaty and overall article matters at least.

191. yesindyref2

|@cat
    Oh, and I daresay Juncker, the president of the commission, the civil service of the EU, will be available to answer any in-depth questions about procedures, hence his non-meeting with Sturgeon.

192. Lochside

I long ago predicted that indirectly Scotland’s steadfast search for freedom from the English colonial state masquerading as the ‘UK’ would cause vibrations in the’Empire’ that would shake it to its foundations.

The innate racism built into England’s ruling elite, its smug middle class, and its uneducated and brainwashed working class a palpable and visceral presence in its intensity towards ‘foreigners’. From the Notting Hill riots in the ’50s onwards through the ’80s and up to the present ‘barmy Army’ of thugs in Marseilles, it was inevitable that it would eventually focus on us..the uppity Jocks.

Branded by their scurvy press and the praetorian guard of the BBC as subsidy junkies, whingers, drunks and violent riff raff, our nation, one of the oldest in Europe ,the cradle of the Enlightenment,was traduced and diminished in stature by their filthy lying treatment and theft of our natural resources. Bullied into subjection, our youth scattered to the four corners of the planet.

But as all bullies are essentially cowards…England and its Caledonian lackeys and lickspittles encouraged us to be seen as ungrateful and grew angrier and enraged and scapegoated our presumption to dare to want self government. This sparked the ugly nationalism we are now witnessing…blood and soil. First they will turn it on ‘aliens’ amongst them, later against each other as they search for scapegoats to explain their impotence.

The evidence of a dissociated country in a trance, distracted by its own fictional ‘greatness’ is now evidenced by the spectacle of Westminster..the puppet palace unraveling..Bozo and Gove missing…Osborne the waiter…waiting on obscurity..Corbyn and the Scabrous Labpour party tearing at his ankles like rabid dogs..while the first of future mobs howl at Parliament’s gates.

The walls of the City are beginning to shake…who knows what will happen when they fall.

193. Petra

@ SC at 6:44pm …… “Inappropriate time.”

I would imagine that there’s all sorts of rules and regulations connected to this SC, a protocol, and it’s got nothing to do with him not wanting to meet Nicola at all. I doubt for example he can discuss Scotland remaining in the EU as technically we, Scotland, are still in the EU until Article 50 is triggered and they get into discussions / negotiations with Westminster.
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………

Ruth Davidsons, Adam Tomkins and Oliver Mundells (et al) days are numbered in Scotland and well they know it. The Brexit result must have hit them between the eyes like a sledgehammer and they don’t know which way to turn now hence just resorting to showing themselves in their true colours. One that the Scots definitely don’t like. Additionally they will have to accept the role of apologists constantly (or lying deniers) for the behaviour / actions of their demonic bosses down south as the Brexit saga, with all that entails, unfolds (could go on for years). We’ll probably see the more Nazi type Tories join UKIP and the Labour Party split into two political parties with some joining the LibDems. Heady days ahead for us. Difficult for Davidson and Dugdale. Following Independence Ruth Davidson will probably find that she’s deemed to be ‘unacceptable’ to sit in Holyrood, make decisions for the Scots, due to comments she’s made over time such as being a ‘Nat slayer’.

194. Petra

@ Tinto Chiel @ 7:28pm …. Hoo originated in Motherwell.

Another Scottish ‘invention’? Brilliant.

……………………….

@ Lochside at 9:16pm …….

Lochside great, insightful post. One of the best I’ve ever read on here and with so many to choose from that’s saying something.

“Who knows what will happen when they fall?” Scary days ahead methinks.

195. Tinto Chiel

“Hoo originated in Motherwell.”

That’s the claim Petra. The “Bois” are the bad boys in the corner of the East Stand. The Ìsland version is pretty awesome, though.

Just seen Lochside’s comment. An excellent but very worrying analysis. The Establishment have played with fire and have lost control. Saw more nasty racism in Manchester on TV when in a relative’s house tonight. If Bojo/May/Govester delay getting on with Article 50, the thugs won’t like it.

“What rough beast slouches towards England to be born?”

(Apologies to WB Yeats)

196. Paula Rose

@Onwards 5:31 – used your line as a tweet but had no room to give a credit. It’s doing very well so I’m acknowledging your ownership here.

197. Paula Rose

Oh and Lochside I’ve posted your comment on Facebook but with full credit.

198. Breeks

Ha ha ha! Snubbed eh?

Nicola to meet Schultz and Juncker today; Presidents of the EU Parliament and Commission respectively.

Stick that up your tail pipe BBC.

199. Grouse Beater

Warm Spanish nights: http://wp.me/p4fd9j-7vq

200. Breeks

Great thought provoking post Lochside. It reads like an affirmation of so much we are all familiar with, but rarely see put into words.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.