Justified Ancients Of Mao

Posted on November 26, 2015 by

Here’s our old pal John McTernan, angrily condemning Labour’s shadow Chancellor John McDonnell quoting Chairman Mao to make a point in the Commons yesterday:

maoternan

And for once he’s right. What sort of vile cretin would go around quoting Mao?

maoternan2

We don’t really need to zoom out on that, do we?

maoternan3

God bless him.

(He’s not even right. The quote is actually attributed to Chinese philosopher Lao Tzu.)

1. 26 11 15 11:27

Justified Ancients Of Mao | Politics Scotland |...

98 to “Justified Ancients Of Mao”

1. Marcia

You have a wonderful archive. 🙂

2. Gary Dunion

That wasn’t *even* Mao, it was Laozi. Still, only about two and a half millenia out, which is pretty accurate by John’s standards.

3. Hamish McTavish

@Marcia 9:53am

Stuart has a a wonderful gift for recall and then the ability to retrieve the marvellous evidence that confirms his knowledge.

4. Muscleguy

Nice headine. JMT ain’t gonna rock ya!

5. steve C

p.s. Article headline of 2015. Surely!

6. Robert Louis

I thought McDonnell’s behaviour yeaterday was the kind of thing you expect from a student politician. It really is not the kind of thing which lends credibility to a man who apparently wants to run the UK economy. Can you imagine? Seriously, FFS!

Sign of the times in Labour – a party in civil war.

7. Dewi ap Dafydd

Taken no doubt from Mao’s “Little Red Book”. I remember my economics teacher at school showing us some of this labour party membership stuff. I also seem to remember that was in the form of a red book too.
    Or maybe I am just too old, and my memory is either failing, or playing tricks on me.

8. Chris Cairns

Unfortunately for Mystic Meg, he got it wrong. The quote comes from Lao Tzu.

9. Simon

“Justified Ancients of Mao Mao” surely?

Off to the White Room for a bit…

10. JaMur

What a fud.

11. Harry Scott

He’s not even quoting Mao right, the “Journey of a thousand miles..” quote is originally from Lao-Tzu, founder of Taoism, who said it almost 1500 years before Mao.

McTernan somehow both the most objectionable and least competent man in politics. If Armando Ianucci had made him up people would have thought him too far fetched.

12. Macart

Wait… he’s a writer? 😮

13. bobajock

Thanks, you can see the hypocritical crap and the truth so simply its surreal.

Well illustrated, again, thanks.

14. frankieboy

Who pays for McTernan? I think it was Confucius who said, ‘Man called McTernan is bound to be a fud’…

15. Angra Mainyu

The bottom line — the important thing in all this — is that Labour are officially unelectable now. They have ten years of fretting on the side-lines ahead of them.

The English electorate will never vote positively in the majority for a left-leaning Labour Party. It just won’t happen — these people loved Thatcher remember.

When you look at it like that, and it’s the truth, we might as well wait until everybody up here is sick to death of the Tories before we make a hop for it again. 5 or 6 years should do it.

16. Andrew McLean

Can we take a minute, I think the man is unwell, actually I have thought that for a while now, especially after his other rants against his own side. I honestly believe he thinks he is Labour, and I don’t mean in some esoteric way of New verses old but physically the actual body of Labour, in short a nutcase!

17. schrodingers cat

snigger
    well spotted rev
    take a bow

18. X_Sticks

McTernan.

What an absolute clown.

I really don’t understand why ANYONE gives this little turd any credence whatsoever.

19. Schiehallion! Schiehallion!

I’ll say this for him, he knows how to tell them.

‘Scottish Labour’s remaining thousand miles’! Ha ha.

20. mike cassidy

Blow, Gabriel, blow!
    Blow that ragtime jazz.
    Judgement day is comin’ down
    On the party of the razzmatazz.

(with apologies to the genius of Tom Russell)

21. Graham MacLure

From Mr. McTernan’s normal facial expression I think he could be substituted for Confucius in a modern portrait of The Vinegar Tasters, but at that point any similarity ends.

22. Bill Hume

I notice that McTernan’s quote is from 2011. “Labour have taken the first step”….so only 1000 miles still to go.

Pity they have been walking backwards for four years since then, is it not?

23. Angra Mainyu

Okay I admit it, I like Chairman Mao..

24. Embradon

Was it Confucius who said:
    “But if you go carrying pictures of Chairman Mao
    You ain’t gonna make it with anyone anyhow”?

You could write a song about that…

25. Charles mc

McTernan and McTuba are clowns made famous by the msm as cheerleaders for the union

26. Anagach

McTernan still in the building ?

For the Labour Party is that a bit like self harm.

27. Andrew McLean

A sophistical rhetorician, inebriated with the exuberance of his own verbosity, and gifted with an egotistical imagination that can at all times command an interminable and inconsistent series of arguments to malign an opponent and to glorify himself.
    McTernan Personified!

28. Jdm01

“1000 miles” same distance to London and back, like every policy & decision to be made for the accounting unit – I’m considering a new hashtag / mnemonic for Scottish Labour #CanUNotTryStupid

29. Capella

I’m so glad he brought up The Little Red Book. I’d forgotten all about it, and The Little Red School Book which circulated in the 1960s. A companion volume to the Little Blue Book? Probably a little to the left of New Labour. For instance:

“Can a Communist, who is an internationalist, at the same time be a patriot? We hold that he not only can be but also must be.

The specific content of patriotism is determined by historical conditions. There is the “patriotism” of the Japanese aggressors and of Hitler, and there is our patriotism. Communists must resolutely oppose the “patriotism” of the Japanese aggressors and of Hitler. The Communists of Japan and Germany are defeatists with regard to the wars being waged by their countries.

To bring about the defeat of the Japanese aggressors and of Hitler by every possible means is in the interests of the Japanese and the German people, and the more complete the defeat the better…. For the wars launched by the Japanese aggressors and Hitler are harming the people at home as well as the people of the world.

China’s case, however, is different, because she is the victim of aggression. Chinese Communists must therefore combine patriotism with internationalism. We are at once internationalists and patriots, and our slogan is, “Fight to defend the motherland against the aggressors.”

For us defeatism is a crime and to strive for victory in the War of Resistance is an inescapable duty. For only by fighting in defense of the motherland can we defeat the aggressors and achieve national liberation. And only by achieving national liberation will it be possible for the proletariat and other working people to achieve their own emancipation.

The victory of China and the defeat of the invading imperialists will help the people of other countries. Thus in wars of national liberation patriotism is applied internationalism.

“The Role of the Chinese Communist Party in the National War”
    (October 1938), Selected Works, Vol. II, p. 196.
    http://tinyurl.com/q9jf5gv

30. galamcennalath

Something for McTernan to contemplate, in the words of that esteemed philosopher, Elvis Presley — ‘If you let your head get too big, it’ll break your neck.’

31. starlaw

Thanks to D McDowel who yesterday came up with the best acronym Ive heard for these people BUMS British union / unionist media.
    Following the SNP bad mantra being carried out by these BUMs I find it wholly appropriate to call them such, it is derogatory but not obscene. Union is also a dirty word to them when it applies to trade unions or the old Soviet Union they are mentally adjusted to frown and spit this word out. And wouldn’t it be nice to describe them as that bum or the other bum. This could be a good catchword.

32. Clootie

Macart says:
    26 November, 2015 at 10:18 am
    Wait… he’s a writer? 😮

I don’t know about writer…but it does start with a W

33. Ruglonian

Dam, Embradon used my line!

So I’ll just say, imagine the conniptions the media would be having it was a Wee Blue Book that was thrown over the dispatch box instead 😉

34. squewedperspective

I may be about get flak for this, but (for the first time ever) I am going to defend McT.

a) In the quote from LH he is, as you point out, not quoting Mao.

b) He wasn’t make a joke either.

Obviously I will concede that he may have been trying to quote Mao and may have been trying to be funny.

So really he can only be faulted for trying to be hypocritical, he just couldn’t quite manage it.

35. Dave McEwan Hill

Just a thought. If all the people who read Wings regularly were to lash out 50P daily and buy the National the National would have at least the third biggest circulation of any Scottish newspaper – and perhaps even better.

Think of the resources that would give that paper (which is steadily improving all the time). WGD is terrific again today – “Bomb now – think later”.

36. donald anderson

The smile on the face of the moon shows its backside to the readers of the Evening Tines Wee Red Book. Mousey Tongue once said, waving his fly swatter, be up and anent for the city of flies, or that was what it sounded like in Chinese.

Wot language doth the Labour Party speaketh?

37. Sassenach

I also find the acronym ‘BUMS’ much better than ‘MSM’, which classes it as ‘Main’ – whereas nothing is further from the truth.

38. Andrew McLean

Frankieboy 10:37
    So you work in marketing?
    FUD – Wikipedia
    Fear, uncertainty and doubt (FUD) is a tactic used in sales, marketing, public relations, politics and propaganda. FUD is generally a strategic attempt to influence perception by disseminating negative and dubious or false information.

39. Bob Mack

My admiration ov Dennis Skinner grows.

He has just pointed out Turkey buying ISIS oil, shooting down supposed allies,and the UK not sure of who is an ally or not.
    His final words “What a crazy war.Keep out”

40. heedtracker

Making a complete fool of himself again. Him and Blair MacDoufcukall should go on stage,

I say I say I say

Blair McDougall Retweeted
    Record Politics ?@Record_Politics 4h4 hours ago
    Ian Murray MP: We stood firm on the cuts to protect those who needed us http://dlyr.ec/eI73LF

By abstaining, maybe abstaining means a different thing to the last ever SLab dude in Westminster. BBC Scotland certainly keen to get their comedy show out there.

41. DerekM

Ha nice bit of sleuthing Rev,poor wee John head full of broken bottles and you can apply that to either one of them.

Watched this circus yesterday with my head in my hands ,no jugglers or fire eaters only a bunch of clowns tripping over their own feet throwing custard pies at each other.

42. Macart

@Clootie

Ooft. 😀

43. Dr Jim

I think we should have even more of McTernan on the Telly
    Let the guy talk as much as he wants
    The more Scotland hears this guy and his buddies the quicker the doubters might come to realise how bonkers the folk they’ve been putting their trust in, are maniacs

I’m still waiting for just one of his predictions to be even close, everybody can make mistakes but this guy actually believes everthing that comes out of his own mouth

Go John, I’m a big fan

44. Socrates MacSporran

frankieboy came up with the suggestion McTernan is a “fud”.

I beg to differ; I believe he is, in fact – a bawbag.

45. bugsbunny

So is that journey of a thousand miles he is talking about the distance from Edinburgh to London and back?

“And I will walk 500 miles, and I will walk 500 more,”
    “To see a man called Ian Murray, whose just a big attention whore;”
    “La la la la, la la la la, la la la la la la la la la la la la la “.

O/T I see Leckie from the Sun is doing his usual. Not only is he hinting that Natalie McGarry has got her fingers burnt, but we are all hypocrites for not attacking her integrity and character assassinating her. With friends like these…….?

Stephen.

46. grahamlive

Is McTernan still a member of the Labour party? Surely they should kick such a nasty, hostile enemy from their ranks. Still, if they enjoy tearing themselves apart, I suppose that’s up to them.

47. msean

It is a crazy war, we should just leave it alone. Even the allies are shooting each other. Russia,France and various others are bombing and there can’t be much left in Syria now. If the uk government can’t afford to pay for stuff in the uk,you probably canny afford to take part in this either.

48. DerekM

@ Dave McEwan Hill

Its a good premise Dave except you have forgotten one little thing some of us need that money to eat,keep warm and pay our bills,a paper is a luxury we cant afford,its a sad reality of the modern day UK,and it does not look like getting any better soon in fact it looks like its going to get a whole lot worse.

49. yerkitbreeks

I think I was like many students in the 60s and 70s who wanted to “conform” and had a copy of the LRB myself.

Never read it though !

50. bugsbunny

More words of wisdom from John McTernan, allegedly?

“Man who scratches bumhole has stinky finger”.

“Man who lies to electorate MP for Orkney”.

“Man who f**cks little boys quotes bible”.

“Man who wastes £tens of thousands of public money asking useless questions in Holyrood, Baron Foulkes of Cumnock”.

“Woman who talks keech at Question time leader of Scottish Opposition”.

“Man who is leader of Scottish Liberals, Useless Twat”.

“Man who reads Daily Record waiting for Brain Transplant”.

“Man who still votes NO, lost cause”.

Stephen.

51. Ken500

Labour/Unionist need to learn to count, and understand elementary Maths and stop telling lies.

We will walk a thousand miles to protect the vulnerable in Scotland. ‘Ravenscraig no more. Linwood no more.’ Trident no more, 75% Oil & Gas tax no more, Lose of thousands of jobs no more, Tory/Unionist rule no more, tax evasion no more. Illegal wars no more. Banking fraud no more.

NO voters no more. FFA/Independence YES/YES.

52. Socrates MacSporran

I am thankful to bugsbunny for his list of <b?'the Wisdom of John McTernan'.

Might I be allowed to make a small change? I would suggest his penultimate listing: “Man who reads Daily Record waiting for Brain Transplant” should more properly read:
    Man who reads Daily Record waiting for Brain Implant.

53. Ken500

McTernan should join the Tories. Illegal Wars, banking fraud, tax evasion.

Alex Salmond is in Holyrood. Scottish Parly Question time.

54. heedtracker

John’s idiot side kick is quite funny today

Blair McDougall ?@blairmcdougall 18m18 minutes ago
    Nicola Sturgeon thinks that FMQs is for holding the Tories to account. Anyone want to help her out? #fmqs

It’s blue toryboy Osborne what’s doing it to Scotland, could be one reason. Although its maybe too obvious.

Good BetterTogether trick though, current UK.gov blue tory in charge, SNP Scots.gov gets the blame/takes responsibility by red tory SLab.

Another hilarious vote NO or else BetterTogether thing.

55. Onwards

Sassenach says:
    26 November, 2015 at 11:43 am

I also find the acronym ‘BUMS’ much better than ‘MSM’, which classes it as ‘Main’ – whereas nothing is further from the truth.

Maybe it’s just me and my miserable sense of humour but I think that term looks pretty puerile. Same with the likes of ‘wastemonster’.

MSM just means traditional media, not on the internet.
    Old fashioned newspapers and TV news. The National would be mainstream media to me.

‘unionist media’ or UM, seems as good as any expression, without coming across as childish. Although I do like the term ‘state broadcaster’ for the BBC.

56. Ken500

The alcoholic psychopath Cameron is trying to kill the people he funded and set up for murder. Look at the big fat red face.

Cameron is a psychopathic liar. The other drunks are close by. The rest of them are in the free bars. Drink/Drug testing for the greedy, troughing pig abusers.

57. Macca73

I watched the budget speech yesterday and the retort from McDonell who was trying to make a point but his use of prop was ill served and actually created an open goal for the Labour party when Osborne got back to his feet.

I sometimes wonder what the feeling is for those who watch this even from south of the border who want to believe in Corbyn and his party but see stuff like this and think…. why?

58. Onwards

Angra Mainyu says:
    26 November, 2015 at 10:40 am

The bottom line — the important thing in all this — is that Labour are officially unelectable now. They have ten years of fretting on the side-lines ahead of them.

Yeah, this seems pretty obvious now.
    McDonnell should have known better with that stunt and how it would be portrayed. That image of him waving the little red book will be kept in reserve until the next election. Labour’s polling looks bad enough already and its hard to see Corbyn surviving this term of UK government. Which is a shame in a way, because the prospect of Tory governments for years to come could mean better prospects for winning a second referendum.

59. De Valera

Chiang Kai Shek said of Mao and the Chinese Communists that they were “Base, perfidious and worse than beasts”. A quote that could easily be applied to McTernan and Labour.

60. Andrew McLean

Onwards 12:35

Yes I suppose the phrase “The BUM’s are using FUD’s against us” could possibly be misconstrued!

The State Broadcaster, from the Ministry of Truth sounds good.

61. ScottDog

Maybe mcternan should be advising Jeb bush. We need another volume of bushisms

62. David McCann

Re David Hill and The National.

I would have thought that most people who have access on line, should not find it too hard to afford £5.99 a month- that’s about 20p a day, for the only daily supporting newspaper in Scotland.

Just saying.

63. HandandShrimp

John isn’t a fan of the new Labour team is he?

64. Proud Cybernat

@ Onwards

“Maybe it’s just me and my miserable sense of humour but I think that term looks pretty puerile. Same with the likes of ‘wastemonster’.”

I agree up to a point. I would, however, add that there are ‘different strokes for different folks’. The over-arching objective here is that all of us on the side of Scotland and democracy use derogatory (not obscene) and pejorative terms to describe the CorpMedia in this country because it is those rags who are the clear and present danger to Scotland and its deomcracy.

We have to make these rags toxic to those people who do not actually realise what is going on, what these rags are doing to undermine the democracy of this country.

Terms such as CorpMedia, B.U.M., Idiot Press, State Broadcaster etc are all pejorative terms and some will work better with certain people than others. The key is that we use the terms frequently and ubiquitously.

We have to poison the well of these propaganda sheets. When the labels stick, Jo Daily Redcoat reader will eventually begin to question why the paper s/he reads is ragarded as the ‘Idiot Press’. And in time, hopefully, they will not want to be associated with such a paper, especially when they start looking and have their eyes opened.

65. Andrew McLean

HandandShrimp 12:57

No he is the popular front, he hates the peoples front, splitters!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gb_qHP7VaZE

66. scott

O/T.
    David Cameron urges MPs to back air strikes as he announces £1bn for reconstruction of Syria

UK government carbon capture £1bn grant dropped

These two headlines caught my eye funny how the two figures are the same is Scotland being shafted again just for Cameron vanity.

67. call me dave

Aye it’s ‘The Long March’ wae the labour party richt enough!
    Still a long and winding road to go.

Just going to keek at the FMQs but I know what to expect…:-(

68. MrObycyek

So according to David Cameron ISIL is selling the oil to Assad!? It would be funny if it was not so serious. What an ignoramus the man is.

Syrian Soldier:”Mr. President Mr. President those evil ISIL forces are getting stronger by the day!”
    Assad:”Oh no this is terrible news. Oh but please excuse me for a minute while I complete this deal to buy back our oil from ISIL forces so that they can use that money to grow even stronger and weaken my own position. Oh if only there was a way we could stop those savages and cut off some of their funding!”

Also the statement from the PM that there were 70,000 moderate fighters on the ground in Syria deserves special mention. The Conservative MP Julian Lewis, Chair of the Defence Committee no less, admitted that was the first he had heard of it! The PM elaborated on this by saying this number was based on the considered opinion of the Joint Intelligence Committee. If there is one thing that can be guaranteed from the JIC is that their opinion would have taken all of about 2 seconds to consider and arrive at. The numbers have been pulled out of thin air. These warmongers never learn. Let us say for the sake of argument however that the JIC was correct. Those moderates, a term I find ludicrous, have not a hope of overcoming ISIL with or without Western backing. The only way to overcome ISIL in Syria is by working with the Syrian government forces like Russia is doing. They have the numbers plain and simple and most importantly of all are the LEGITIMATE government of Syria. Yet rather than do what should be obvious and work with Assad and Russia to stop ISIL Cameron still maintains that there must be regime change.

Russia have done more against ISIL in a month than the US have managed in over a year. Apparently the reason the US did not target the oil fields, which should have been one of the first targets in any meaningful action, is because they did not want to risk civilian casualties! You could not make this stuff up! This is the same USA that tries to rescue civilian hostages by lobbing grenades at them. I highly recommend people to watch the US State Department press conferences that are shown on the Russia Today station. It is truly frightening just how ignorant and stupid people like Mark Toner are. I would not trust these imbeciles to post a letter.

Also in regards to RT I have noticed that members from the SNP have been making more appearances on RT these past few months. Is there any chance that some kind of Scottish political show could be in the works? I think it would be an avenue worth exploring further.

69. Robert Peffers

“”You do’t make jokes by quoting someone who killed 45 million people.”

One wonders just how many millions of deaths, both friends and foes, the successive Westminster Establishment governments have been responsible for killing? Including all the Scots who have died during the UK’s bid to paint the Globe pink.

Of course when The Establishment are killing whole native nations in, “Defence” of the British Empire”, it isn’t genocide.
    Aye!
    Richt!

It was really just educating, Christianising and civilising the savage natives. It is just like the Yanks are doing with the help of their UK Special Relationship friends these days, of course.

BTW: That total idiot, Andrew Neil has been blethering about how Mao has been quoted in the Westminster midden.

Not a mention, of course, by the numptie that the quote, while read from Mao’s book, was not in fact a quote of what Mao said.

My thoughts, on Osborne’s latest is that the Tory Government has been long enough in power for a reasonably competent administration to have turned round the dire mess of their predecessors.

Yet the UK’s financial troubles show no signs of real improvement. It just gets better propaganda from the media it seems as the debts get bigger and bigger.

70. bugsbunny

Socrates @12.29,

Good one.

“Man who walks through town every July banging drum, village idiot”.

I remember Billy Connolly, (when he was funny), talking about the time he went round with a friend of his during the Election in Glasgow chapping doors, in 1974. A wee girl about 7 wearing nothing but a nightgown and slippers answered the door. They were invited in by a booming voice from the livingroom. They went through to an undecorated room, with two battered armchairs, three plastic chairs, (like the ones in a primary school), and an old wireless sitting on an old sideboard. No carpets, only a chewed old rug. Pictures of the Queen everywhere. And above the cold unlit fireplace, during that freezing February, two Union Flags with a huge King Billy on his White Horse Picture in the middle.

The man was unshaved wearing a dirty semmit, greasy hair, old worn trousers and had his feet steeping in a zinc bowl full of hot steaming water. When he asked the candidates surname, and found out it was Kelly, he shouted, “Kelly, Kelly, is that a Catholic name?” The candidate answered, “I’m not religious, I’m not a Catholic, I’m a Communist”. To which the Orangeman answered, “Communist, Communist, Get out of here, I’m a True Blue Tory”. At that point Billy’s friend looked around at the squalor and said, “You’re a Tory?” “It’s no yer feet you should be steeping in that bowl, it should be yer fucking heid”.

Stephen.

71. MJack

Thanks goodness it’s not a quote from Chairman Mao. I thought I’d need to stop saying it!

72. Robert Peffers

@donald anderson says: 26 November, 2015 at 11:41 am:

” … Wot language doth the Labour Party speaketh?”

No idea, Donald, but it certainly is spoken with forked tongues.

73. Foonurt

Ah cantit bunnet, fur yurr article. Wae ah stoatin heidline.

74. Andrew McLean

Bob Stuart MP has said the UK was “very accurate” in its bombing.

“People say the people in the house may be innocent, I say actually our targeting is pretty good too and the people in that house will be something to do with Daesh and if they are something to do with Daesh they support the killing of our people so they are not innocent.”

Now I am not going to post a link to the dead women and children, the old and infirm who couldn’t get out of the way of our victorious bombs of liberty, I will only state that the killing of non combatants is a war crime, regardless of who their daddy is you cant go round killing kids Bob! its just not cricket!

75. Breastplate

Sorry to keep going on about it but when people here mention “winning” another referendum or “trigger” another referendum, I would like to ask them to “Wake the fuck up”.

The SNP just need to put it in the manifesto and then we vote for it. It is really that simple.
    There is absolutely no need to dance to Westminster’s tune. If they don’t like it, that’s just a bonus.

76. Graham MacLure

Foonurt,
    Can ah speir if Sensible Dave’s ony freen o yeers seein as he’s aye dumfoonurt?

77. Robert Peffers

@Macca73 says: 26 November, 2015 at 12:42 pm:

” … I sometimes wonder what the feeling is for those who watch this even from south of the border who want to believe in Corbyn and his party but see stuff like this and think…. why”

My take on PM’s Question time is that it is futile for normal people to attempt to oppose the Tory scumbags who, one and all, are mentally maladjusted due to being first looked after by Nannies, go to prep school and on into the English public school system.

It produces these people who lack reasonable empathy with others and who continue throughout their lives behaving as overgrown public schoolboy bullies. They are expert bullies having first fagged for others then had fags of their own. It is their way of life.

From verbal abuse to cold blooded killing of millions there are none with more experience. It is the true function of the Playing Fields of Eaton to train these people to be cold blooded killers.

Just look at the present deliberate killings of the old, sick, disabled and out of work that the statistic show are the real growth areas in the modern UK.

78. ahundredthidiot

Breastplate

If SNP were polling consistently around 60% mark, I would say you have a point, but we’re not.

I know people who only voted SNP at Holyrood, labour at WM and were definite No’s. Since indyref1 they no longer vote labour at WM (changed to SNP) and are now soft No’s.

They’re scared. It’s in their nature. Softly softly catchy monkey.

79. Foonurt

Graham MacLure – fuck me, get mae Dowdell!

Naw, nae freen ah mine. Foonurt hus nuhin tae dae wae dumfoonurt. The foarmurr, iz parteeculurr tae wan pairt ah Scoatlin.

Yoan’s yurr hamework.

80. schrodingers cat

brilliant research stu

mcternan criticises mcdonnel for saying exactly the same thing he said in 2011

also pointing out that they both got the author of the quote wrong

mcternans twitter feed in meltdown choking on his own words, he threatens to shoot all the cybernats as per Stalingrad

snigger, they don’t like it um em rev

81. Breastplate

@Ahundredthidiot, my point is the only people to decide wether we have an independence referendum is us and not Westminster.

To address your point.
    Wether we are polling at 30% or 60 % I believe it should be in the SNP manifesto. Of course, that’s only my opinion but I hope enough people share it to make it so.

82. Andrew McLean

Oh look who said this in 2012
    Turkey PM Erdogan criticized Syria harshly on Tuesday for shooting down the Turkish fighter jet, saying: “Even if the plane was in their airspace for a few seconds, that is no excuse to attack.”
    “It was clear that this plane was not an aggressive plane. Still it was shot down,” he said.
    He said Syrian choppers have strayed into Turkish airspace five times in 2012. But, the Turks say, the government never escalated the situation despite the border violations.

83. Blair Paterson

If another referendum is not in the S.N.P. Manifesto why not as the saying goes we have nothing to lose but our chains what price freedom?

84. David MacGille-Mhuire

Has Mad Dug McT considered following his BritNat sibling-in-imperialist-arms. Irn Bru Murphy, to inflame the Caucuses out of all historical control?

Or visiting my beloved mother to have his gub well smacked for his on-going tissue of demise lies?

Or just outing himself as a closet, coke-heid uber-Tory?

Probably too busy spinning his inevitable mortal demise and his fantabulisms when head-to-head with Auld Nick.

Bring on the a Scots jury!

85. schrodingers cat

@blair

listen carefully
    that’s why the snp manifesto will read….should the people of Scotland, in the next parliament, wish for another indyref, we will hold one…..

this leaves the SG the ability to decide themselves.

making a firm commitment to hold indyref2 carries just as much danger as making a firm commitment NOT to hold indyref2.

the 2016 manifesto commitment will allow Nicola the ability to choose.

eg, if the polls show, after brexit, that only 49% of the people of Scotland support indy, the snp manifesto commitment will enable Nicola to NOT hold indyref2,

however, if the polls show, after brexit, that 59% of the people of Scotland support indy, the snp manifesto commitment will enable Nicola to hold indyref2,

no one knows what the future will bring, I continue to hope that support for indy continues to grow, but the snp manifesto commitment enables us to plan for both eventualities.

got it?

86. Blair Paterson

The people who hold the polls will make sure that you will never reach your desired target according to their calculations I wonder how our history would have read if Wallace or Bruce had waited till things appeared just right ?be brave

87. Gary45%

McTernan, Arse? Elbow?

88. Dave McEwan Hill

David McCann at 12.53

I agree but buying a copy allows you to leave it on the bus or on the table in thr cafe or at the pub. The physical sight of it is hugely useful in itself.

89. Dave McEwan Hill

Breastplate at 1.55

Well said. Just see the result if they try to refuse us!

90. Ken Mair

Who better to lead imaginary party back home than the man who lead them into the wilderness after they lost their way and forgot who the were, but the problem is he thought he was leading them up the mountain. Who knows where they will end up.

91. Dave McEwan Hill

ahundredthidiot at 2.05

“Softly softly catchy monkey”
    or softly softly and the relentless unionist attack and spin eventually destroys our chances.

I know which one I believe

92. David McDowell

starlaw @11.29am

I can’t take credit for the acronym B.U.M. (British Unionist Media) but I take my hat off to the Winger who did!

93. Cuilean

When will the ‘wee blue book’ be thrown across the floor of the house?

I always assumed the ‘wee blue book’ was based on the ‘wee red book’ on football fixtures etc. but was inspiration drawn instead from Mao’s instead?

Just thought, ‘Chairman Mao’ is a great name for the next cat.

94. Bill Fraser

Just another ignorant and stupid member of the Labor Party’Little wonder they are in such a poor position with the electorate.

95. Marl Coburn

Requires a Chris Cairns special methinks.

96. chris kilby

John McTernan is unwell.

97. Will Podmore

The ’45 million dead’ is a Goebbels-level lie, taken from Frank Dikötter’s Mao’s great famine: the history of China’s most devastating catastrophe, 1958-62, Bloomsbury, 2011.
    Dikötter claimed that China’s yearly death rate was 10/1,000 in 1957, that this was ‘normal’ and that any deaths above this were ‘excess’ deaths. Yet this assumed death rate, in one of the world’s poorest countries, would have been lower than the UK’s. By comparison, India’s death rate in 1957 was 24/1,000, Indonesia’s was 23/1,000, and Pakistan’s 23/1,000.
    Dikötter’s claim implies that China had cut the yearly death rate from its 38 /1,000 in 1949 to 10/1,000 in 1957. If true, this would have been a remarkable achievement, given that over the same period India only cut its death rate from 28 to 23/1,000, and Indonesia 26 to 23/1,000.
    Dikötter gets his inflated figure of 45 million deaths by assuming an absurdly low ‘normal’ death rate.

98. Andrew McLean

Chris Kilby 3:18

I wrote this
    http://wingsoverscotland.com/justified-ancients-of-mao/comment-page-1/#comment-2087275

not wishing to bang my own drum, but this morning on GMS he riped into Labour MP,s Juveniles apparently? Labour Leader who is a liar apparently? Labour members whos opinions don’t count in his eyes? Labour MPs are to represent the great statesman Cameron.

But this is the heart of the matter, this shows his thinking, because Cameron is not a Great statesman, he is the product of his upbringing, he is a fop, the political equivalent of caddish Daniel Cleaver played by Hugh Grant in Bridget Jones, well actually just Hugh Grant in anything, he thinks its fun to put his dick in a dead pigs moth, and I have seen the photo! read his speech not how eloquently he says it. At the end he says “I have examined my Conscience?” That is to close to Blair’s prayers with Bush for my liking!

But John McTernan hates himself, hates his Scottish root, that’s why he compares himself to his so called betters and finds himself wanting, so is filled with rage and hate especially against the SNP. He hates the quiet confidence and pride, above all he hates the SNP’s success!

Mcternan is the political equivalent of Katie Hopkins, all mouth no sense!

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.