You have to laugh, or…

Posted on September 30, 2014 by

There’s only one possible sane response to this story. It’s below:

gbfo

Click the pic to sign. Let’s see who gets the most, shall we?

1. 30 09 14 23:26

You have to laugh, or… | FreeScotland

340 to “You have to laugh, or…”

1. Johannah Buchan

Signed with the greatest glee!

2. Ally

Why didn’t he simply get three signatures before selling Scotland a lie instead of chasing 100,000 signatures now?

3. Neil Grant

Gordon, why are you wanting us to sign something that you already promised?
    How bizarre. Independence is coming.

4. Stuart Hearl

YES….
    .go f@ck yourself broon!!!!

5. M4rkyboy

You nicked my idea.
    I was going to go with ‘Gordon Brown can fuck right off’

6. Morag

Why on earth jump into Stu’s fantastic thread about the only petition worth signing with that rubbish call for Brown to resign? Whose side are you on here?

Brown isn’t going to defend his seat next year anyway. What the hell is the point?

7. john harvie

GO FUCK YERSELF

8. karen foster

Can’t believe Gordon “whipping boy” Brown has the cheek to ask us to beg the tories to give us our promised powers. you said you had it all in hand Gordy. As the title says “go fuck yourself”

9. Stevie boy

Already had the pleasure of signing it.

Gordon Brown.. helped destroy the hope of a nation with lies and bullshit.

What a disgrace of an individual.

Hang ur head in shame!!

10. AberdeenLoon

Signed with great delight…

11. Steev Nicholson

Whilst there is no doubt the man is a twat, we should still sign his petition. It is imperative we keep up the pressure on Westminster to deliver on their promises.

12. JBS

Oh my goodness…he wants Scots to petition the UK parties to get them to stick to the ‘vow’ they made before the referendum…

I wonder how many No voters are facepalming in horror tonight…

13. john king

Too late,
    already signed it. 🙂

14. nigel

Why single out the nose picker? Whats wrong with petitioning ALL the SLAB leaders?

Surely they are ALL culpable?

At least with the tories you all knew what they stood for-AND many of us also gelused what SLAB REALLY were up to! (Except many thick Scots who STILL vote for turds with rosettes)

15. Lesley Anderson

yes yes yes

16. Helen Tennant

With a red duster on a sharp pole

17. Steven Rennie

Go fuck yourself Brown!.

18. Moreida Lord

with a blunt instrument!

19. Stevie boy

It’s no-one else’s fault but his that we are in this f*ckin position anyway.

HE gave them the chance to screw Scotland.. on a silver plate.

20. Stevie boy

nigel

I agree. Broon is the biggest tosser.. but the rest of SLAB ain’t that far behind him in betraying their country and fellow Scots.

21. Paula Rose

It’s a horrible image to have – him fucking himself. Signed.

22. Ron Gillies

What a patsy.

23. Croompenstein

Folk might object to the strong language Stu 🙂 ..

Ok I’ll go and fuck myself.. 🙂

24. Mealer

Gordon Brown has no moral compass.And he’s a dick.

25. Peter Macbeastie

Funny old thing; seems to be attracting a fairly rapid number of signatures.

Can’t think why anyone would want to tell dear old Uncle Gordy to go and perform an act that may well be physically impossible. Except perhaps that he’s a Labour politician and therefore used to getting his head up his own arse, so shoving something else up there shouldn’t be too much of a problem.

Plenty of room.

26. Sandy Wilson

Cheers Gordon.

27. bookie from hell

I signed it

A.W. Phil

28. cynicalHighlander

20mins in c1300.

29. Bugger (the Panda)

Signed in panda runny shit

30. fred blogger

what genius!
    🙂 🙂

31. Stevie boy

This is the fastest I’ve seen a petition rattle up signatures!!

Better be careful we don’t crash the site lol 😉

It’s the least Broon deserves!!

32. Jacqueline

fuckwit – and all those with their snout in the bag – incl those who think they have –
    it’s not over……………….

33. Bugger (the Panda)

1400+ already

34. Grizzle McPuss

For what that man Brown has done today says so much about the integrity of the man.

His total disdain for his fellow Scot is astounding.

I squirmed a bit…but I signed.

35. Patrician

link returns not found now

36. Bugger (the Panda)

over 1500 already. Servers overloading.

37. Wuffing Dug

Piss off Brown. Bampot. Signed.

38. Roddy Macdonald

Signed with the greatest of pleasure. Asked by a friend recently “Do we really want them to keep their supposed promises?” I answered:”No, because they actually promised nothing. However, watching them fail to deliver the nothing they promised can only be good for the cause.”

39. Natasha

Loved your midget joke, Stu (assuming that was you, and not someone else taking the p*ss). By the way, you’re supposed to be on HOLIDAY!!

40. Patrician

works, link is wrong should be:

http://www.change.org/p/gordon-brown-mp-go-fuck-yourself

41. WrinkleyReborn

Signed, If nothing else the referendum has highlighted the worth of our political class and many have come up short. It also provided information to the Scottish public that would never have come to light. The day of reckonning is coming

42. MickyD

: )

43. manandboy

Don’t know why but after weeks of issues with comments

all of a sudden, it’s perfect.

only clue is that my name and email are already in the boxes

and that hasn’t been the case for ages.

I’m going to vote Stu as responsible for this

so THANK YOU STU !! wherever you are.

Hope you’re good.

44. Michael McCabe

Hope Maggies keeping him a seat beside her in Hell.

45. neil

it’s oor flag broon ..no yours …stick with your warmonger lot in london

46. Proud Cybernat

The next few years are ripe for legitimate calls for IndyRef2. I think, in the short term, it is right for the SNP to push for maximum Devo powers for Scotland–DevoMax / Federalism / Home Rule. That means full fiscal autonomy. That means control over all our own resources and pretty much governing ourselves for the most part (though I would still want to be rid of WMDs on the Clyde).

It won’t happen. Westminster will fail abysmally to deliver anything near this. But the SNP must attempt to get what all those soft No voters wanted–what the Daily Record promised them in the VOW. (BTW – isn’t a Vow made to God rather than humans?) The SNP must allow them time to deliver–time to hang themselves.

When Westminster ultimately fails to deliver the powers the soft No voters wanted i.e. Devo Max by Spring 2015, then the SNP can point to the failure. It can then ask us (and the soft NOs) if you want DevoMax give us your vote in the Referendum. The SNP can ask for DevoMax or threaten full indy. It may even, by providence, hold the balance of power in 2015 and, in such a scenario, can demand DevoMax i.e. full Home Rule with FFA. If Westminster again refuses then the largest WM party doesn’t get the SNP support and another GE will be called. This time the SNP will have every right to stand on a platform of IndyRef2 since it will be abundantly clear even to the most dumb voter that DevoMax is simply snot going to happen.

I think if this doesn’t occur then the SNP should, for the 2016 Scottish election, stand on a platform of IndyRef2 if the IN/OUT in 2017 results in the rUK voting to leave the EU whilst Scotland has votes to stay in. I think and IndyRef2 would be perfectly legitimate in these circumstances and would, imo, win a lot of the soft No (and even hard No) support.

So many possible scenarios. What is perfectly clear is that this question is not going to go away. The DevoMax / Home Rule issue is the rock the Union will smash ‘n’ crash upon.

I tell you ppeople–Indy is, quite possibly, a lot nearer than many of us realise.

47. Paula Rose

@ Proud Cybernat – sort of within touching distance if its big enough?

48. ElaineS

I’m always kind of looking for alterior motives and wonder if he is asking us to sign a petition to keep the 3 parties sticking to the Vow,if we don’t sign can they then say “you refused to sign to uphold the vow so therefore what you are offered,thats all you get?” am I thinking too deeply?..lol I guess I don’t trust anyone remotely related to the No Camp and least of all my MP Brown..I’ve signed this though.

49. Nigerian Pirate

Signed.

And shared. 1900 signatures already. Bet this petition gets more names than his one.

50. Granpa Broon

To think the bloody ("Tractor" - Ed) will end up getting a knighthood and a seat in the Lords.

51. Robert Louis

Has there in modern political history ever been such a fraudulent political character as this. Seriously, we hate IDS and Thatcher and Cameron, but they don’t pretend to be something they are not.

Gordon Brown will go down in the history books as the man at the wheel, when the entire UK economy crashed, and the man who sold out his own country, Scotland, and his own people, to stifle independence and save his beloved Labour party.

The brazen duplicity just beggars belief.

52. Proud Cybernat

“It can then ask us (and the soft NOs) if you want DevoMax give us your vote in the Referendum”

Should have been:

It can then ask us (and the soft NOs) if you want DevoMax give us your vote in the May General Election.”

53. DEBORAH Smith

Signed with pleasure

54. nigel

Robert Louis says:
    30 September, 2014 at 9:30 pm
    Has there in modern political history ever been such a fraudulent political character as this. Seriously, we hate IDS and Thatcher and Cameron, but they don’t pretend to be something they are not.

Gordon Brown will go down in the history books as the man at the wheel, when the entire UK economy crashed, and the man who sold out his own country, Scotland, and his own people, to stifle independence and save his beloved Labour party.

Youre quite correct, Robert-however, your comments could equally apply to the WHOLE of SLAB, with particular reference to “the men who sold out their own country?”

55. Graeme Doig

Have to say that some might take exception to the language.

All I have to say to them is, considering what this guy has done to Scotland over his political career and especially what he’s up to now, YOU REALLY NEED TO SORT OUT YOUR PRIORITIES.

56. Robert

Total tractor to the working class

57. frazer allan whyte

I loathe this kind of language but I loathe the Granny pension grabber more.
    You have my vote.

58. Andy smith

Signed and shared .

59. Clydebuilt

Is the language of the petition going to do this website’s reputation any good?
    The petition says what I think, BUT I wouldn’t use this phrase in a public forum. Rev. all your doing is giving our chums in the Unionist Media ammo to use against the site.

Don’t start thinking I’m some goody two shoes. I swear more than most.

60. Tam Jardine

Nigerian Pirate

Signed.And shared. 1900 signatures already. Bet this petition gets more names than his one.

Point is – I just got an email from Change.org re ‘Gordon Brown’s’ petition. I signed it 9 days ago – along with another 80,000 yessers. He is presenting this as ‘his’ (or certainly the BBC is in that article) even though it was up to 80,000 signatures ( give or take) deep BEFORE he attached himself to it.

So when it reaches its target (and it will) the BBC will report their saviour, their Golden Bull has garnered 100,000 signatures. Which is a total fucking lie.

And that is over and above the absurdity of Brown asking for support in something he gave cast iron guarantees on. AAARRGGH!

Stu’s petition (which I have also signed) is, if anything, not abusive enough.

61. Marie clark

signed with pleasure. What a pathetic excuse for a human being.

62. Kevin Bannon

already signed , best petition ive signed in ages

63. Croompenstein

This is the petition that Crash is hijacking….

https://secure.38degrees.org.uk/page/s/promise-for-Scotland#petition

64. TJenny

Signed, and forwarded on to friends – now 2,785. 🙂

65. Paula Rose

@ Clydebuilt – I quite agree dear, so often my innocent comments are willyfully misconstrued on this site – which I might add, tends to pride itself on its erosdition. On this occasion I think the youngsters can be allowed to play with their balls.

66. manandboy

http://www.reuters.com/article/2014/09/15/us-scotland-independence-brown-insight-idUSKBN0HA0SS20140915

Scottish Labour voters revere Gordon Brown.

No one has more stature among Labour ranks – up here.

We may hate him; Labour voters love him.

Arguably, Brown was the man who swung things round to NO

in the final days of the Referendum.

He is now a winner.

McTernan will build on the political capital Brown has

raised for himself and will deploy it to maximum effect.

Want to lose in GE15 ? just underestimate the Brown factor.

67. Valerie

Signed and shared – already out there in some places!

68. Stevie boy

Just hit 3000 signatures!!

69. Graeme Doig

If it is indeed true that GB is using the petition signed by many of us is it not possible to petition the petitioner to get it pulled.

I’m outraged, but not altogether surprised at such a low life freeloader is hanging on the coat tails of an independent petition.

Any ideas folks?

70. frazer allan whyte

When I tried to sign the petition it popped up in Turkish – so I hope he’ll still get the message from Istanbul that Scots and their descendants are cringing worldwide at one of our own being so base a creeper.

Many people here are seriously puzzled at the no vote (they LOVE Braveheart – it ran in the cinemas for more than a year! Someone actually told me “William Wallace must be crying right now”). No doubt so are the Catalans etc etc

71. TJenny

Oops posts disappearing.

Signed and forwarded on – now 3,052. 😉

72. cynicalHighlander

50 signaturess per min.

73. Doug McG

We need a modern version of “sic’ a parcel o’ rogues in a nation” , can anyone come up with it?

74. M4rkyboy

That’s what he does,he lets others do the work then jumps in at the end and claims the credit.

75. nigel

Graeme Doig says:
    30 September, 2014 at 9:39 pm

Well, I would suspect that the only ones who will object are the no”s.

Considering the no’s have fucked up our country good and proper, I have no qualms about the language used.

Indeed, its time we took the kid gloves off to the 55% wouldnt you think, love?

76. Robert Llewellyn Tyler

“Has there in modern political history ever been such a fraudulent political character as this?”

How about that famous West Briton, Wales’ own Neil “Lord Bedwellty” Kinnock?

77. Quentin Quale

Signed and can’t wait until the petition is discussed in HoC and given its full title.

78. Stevie boy

Anyone saying that the language used in this petition is a bit rude?

Sorry but 100% agree with Stu.. it’s what we all think so let’s not dress it up.

Yes has been too goody goody up til now.

The gloves have to come off.. at least for this muppet!! 🙂

79. H

thank you Rev I am still laughing, genius, big love

80. Cadogan Enright

I’m not sure if this is a good idea. If the YES campaign is to succeed it needs to be seen to be communicating within some notional limit to social interaction.

Important not to lose the high moral ground to gombeen men like Brown.

The same petition could be made more effectively using different words.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gombeen_man

81. Graeme Doig

Nigel

The only one’s that get to call me ‘love’ are the wee lady down the newsagent and my good wife.
    Did you read my comment?

82. Cadogan Enright

remember, the objective is to keep 45% and attract 5.5% more, not to make members of our campaign group feel better.

Better to be positively outlooking, exposing the gombeen men at every turn, than negatively inlooking.

83. Stevie boy

.. in fact

I think Stu has been quite reserved with this.

I would have used much much stronger language myself to be honest.

Keep up the good work Rev.. we’re right behind you mate!

Brown has brought this on himself. 2 faced lying b*stard!!!

84. Squaresausage

Even Crown Princess Margarita of Romania didn’t want you Gordon. Such a shame, because had she given you the nod then you would be living in a nice little palace in Bucharest by now. And Scotland would have been spared you. Aren’t we the lucky ones?

85. Pictish Ninja

manandboy,

I think you’re right about Labour voters in Scotland revering Brown, but those voters are becoming much less in number, so I’m not sure he’ll have the same clout next year.

But shouldn’t be underestimated for sure.

One thing, though, is this whole business about about him promising new powers pre-indyref that weren’t in his gift to give.

This petition nonsense confirms this. He’s being exposed as a fraud, and this won’t be lost on people, except for a few hardcore Labour members who are fast becoming a mere fraction rather than a minority.

86. Paula Rose

Come in cybernat central – since when were we the nice?

87. nigel

Graeme Doig says:
    30 September, 2014 at 10:01 pm
    Nigel

The only one’s that get to call me ‘love’ are the wee lady down the newsagent and my good wife.
    Did you read my comment?

Graeme-I reserve that terminology for whom I suspect of going “soft” on the issue.

No need to take it personally_I havent a clue who you are-your probably a very nice person to meet ……….

88. Neil Comfort

Reason for signing:
    Self-confessed ex-politicians shouldn’t be allowed to misrepresent those in power and bully the vulnerable into giving up their only chance of a better life. And I don’t really think he *does* like “The” Arctic Monkeys.

89. Morag

Joyce MacMillan once had quite a wee thing going for Brown. It was obvious from the articles she was writing. Where is she now?

90. Dougiekdy

Signed and shared – 3000 plus already????

91. Stevie boy

I definately WON’T be signing Brown’s petition.

Why sign that to help him feel better.. after shafting us all in the first place.

92. Tam Jardine

Graeme Doig

You see now why the language is justified! And all the MSM will say is Gordo The Great is holding Westminster to their promise.

Of all the ignominious acts in this excuse for democracy I personally find Gordon Brown’s ego trip tonight to be the most disgraceful. His desperation for the limelight has fueled every intervention in the referendum including now when anyone of integrity would be hiding and holding their head in shame.

He is so worried about his legacy but has no qualms about the misery and suffering his intervention has prolonged and indeed exacerbated. Never mind voting against his country.

I’m going to bed hopefully wake up Pam Ewing style and realise the last 2 years have just been a dream. And that radge Bobby can get oot ma shower

93. Nigerian Pirate

Tam Jardine @ 9:43

I didn’t realise that Brown had latched on to the original petition. But it’s right up his street to try and claim credit for something that he had nothing to do with.

I refused to sign the petitions – that wasn’t what I voted for and knew that the ‘powers’ were back of a fag packet material. I can understand folk signing the original petition though. It just went against my own principles.

The way Brown came crawling out of the woodwork at the 11th hour to ‘save the Union’ just increased my deep dislike for the man.

Totally agree with your final sentence on that post too.

94. Graeme Doig

Nigel

I’ll ask you again. Did you read my comment or just the first line?

95. Flower of Scotland

Signed! It mirrored my mood!

96. Flower of Scotland

Signed! 4053 now!

97. Valerie

This is rich – Nick Clegg summons the Chinese Ambassador to express “his disappointment and dismay, that the Chinese people can’t have a free and open election”

98. davidb

I have already expressed my passionate distaste for this evil bastard. I do believe he is best just ignored. I suspect he is wheeled out, not because of some misguided southern notion that he is popular in Jockland, but rather as a shitening conductor for those who would otherwise turn their loathing on the three amigos.

Howsabout we all just blank out the bumbling f@cking weirdo and get on with life.

99. ben madigan

@ Proud Cybernat 9:23 pm
    Liked your analysis – no doubt because it’s what i myself believe!!
    Westminster cannot give scotland Home Rule/Devo max and still preserve the Union.
    The Union was one thing – Independence for ireland didn’t impinge too much (another island, britain still held on to the North eastern corner).
    Home rule for scotland creates something completely different and really is the death knell for the Union. Yet it was promised and the SNp, greens and SSp do very well to hold Westminster to is promises and vow. You’ll find these ideas here http://eurofree3.wordpress.com/2014/09/25/squaring-the-circle-what-no-means/
    and here http://eurofree3.wordpress.com/2014/09/29/th-whole-worls-in-a-terrible-state-o-chassis-good-luck-with-that/
    as i say 8and I am not the only one) the Union is running on borrowed time

100. Grizzle McPuss

Any chance we could get that “dreadful bigoted woman” to sign the petition?

I’m sure she wishes Mr Brown well

101. stewartb

The importance of events at this time, including Brown’s view that a petition is even needed so soon after the ‘vow’ was made, is to show to many soft no voters that they have been misled (conned) by Better Together.

However, the challenge, as we now know to our cost, is to have this exposed in the media beyond the conversations we have online. There is an opportunity, perhaps a one time opportunity, to get attention for an exposure of the lies behind the No campaign to the wider Scottish electorate. This may be very time limited as other events take centre stage and memories fade. Will the MSM in Scotland at last stand up and be objective? A new Scottish media will take time to reach those that are not already engaged with social media.

102. Dan H

This is not your finest hour. I understand the sentiment and its cause but it cannot be a good idea to give your opponents ammunition.

103. Baheid

Oor Gogs,

As mi grunny used to say, he looks like a guy whose sooken hot diarrhoea through a sweaty sock.

104. Lenny Hartley

Just down a panelbase poll first they have contacted me for politics since last summer. Basically asking if we want devo max and how much we trust the various party leaders.

105. msean

Oh dear,Mr Brown wants us to sign a petition? Didn’t he already promise/vow on “more powers”?

Why does he/we need a petition now,after all,he is Mr Camerons new best pal and has his ear? Is this Mr Browns plan B after lying and scaring to a no win? Too many unanswered questions. If this pledge/vow/promise falls through,do we get another indyref as the previous one was stolen on the false premise of the vague “more powers”? Unanswered questions….

106. Sharon ward

Yes forever. 45

107. HandandShrimp

It seems to me that at this point the issue is not that Cameron is not moving towards more powers but that he is moving too far and threatening the position of Scottish Labour MPs. Is Brown petitioning Cameron to offer more powers or is he petitioning for him to pull back.

He will get his 100,000 easily enough because a lot of people want to see more powers not realising that there is more to this than just keeping promises…it also involves party politics.

I can see why Brown is peeved though….I just don’t care 🙂

108. Roughian

Signed. I sat next to him on a Ldn/Edn flight many years ago. All 55mins of flight he read photo copies of press cuttings supplied by his staff. That’s when I decided this guy knows nothing.

109. msean

Just watching Mr Brown on telly talking “tory trap”, we already told you that they,like labour,can’t be trusted.

110. Peter Mirtitsch

Signed, and appears to be over 4000 and rising.

111. Stevie boy

Come on.. still people on here complaining about the language used etc.

Today we have watched wee Ruthie state that the Tories are on a comeback in Scotland..

Cameron going to screw the poorest and most vulnerable in our society..

Brown plead with people he has just been in bed with not to shaft ‘his’ vow..

and some folk are complaining about a wee bad word used against Broon!!

I’ll say it again.. Brown can go and fuck right off!!!!!

112. stewartb

Wings petition signed – agree completely with the sentiment and need for it to be strongly expressed. But I don’t think the choice of language helps.

113. jaygee

There seems to be a belief that there is a possibility of the SNP being in the position of having the balance of power in Westminster. Even if it meant a grand coalition which could destroy Labour they would still do it as what UK stands to lose is more important than a failing political party.

114. Betty Boop

“We are the 45%” FB page worries me a bit. As far as I am concerned, the jury is out on them at the mo’; have to prove themselves. They seem to be in favour of signing that other petition Westminster: Keep your promises to Scotland. No sponsor name on the petition.

Why would anyone sign that page? Brown, Clegg, Cameron, Milliband, aided and abetted by the media, made the promises, vows or whatever you want to call that bribe. None of us has any idea what was promised.

115. Tam Jardine

Ok – just for the record I have an email from 38 degrees on 22nd September at 5.50pm informing me that the petition I had signed, and Gordon Brown has just attached himself to, had already reached 67,000 names.

So anyone who tries to tell you that Brown has garnered 100,000 signatures for ‘his’ petition is mistaken.

They are having a laugh about it on Scotland 2014- “first time anyone has petitioned themselves”

116. galamcennalth

Signed. Brown has just done more damage to Scotland than any other Scot in history.

117. TJenny

Now over 5,000. 😉

118. Paula Rose

Since when were us wingers the polite face of Scotland’s desire for running its own affairs? We are the nasty cybernats who will use strong language, high heels and not give a fuck.

119. yesindyref2

Took me a bit of time to check to see if there were any more petitions, but it appears to be this totally meaningless piece of garbage, which is almost certainly a ringer, with an “r” or an “m”:

“The petition text:
    Dear David Cameron, Ed Miliband, Nick Clegg:

As the Scottish referendum campaigns came to a head, you made the Scottish people a series of promises. They included:
    new powers for the Scottish Parliament
    the power to spend more on the NHS if Scotland wanted to
    that the final decision on public services spending would stay in Scotland

Please stick to those promises on the timetable you agreed. Scotland won’t accept less.”

2 we already have, 3 we can hold on (mostly) to what we have, and 1 is the control over kite-flying licences, which is right in Gordon’s back yard.

Any poor sod (nearly 90,000) that signed that petition is either a total status quo addict, or has been sadly wool-eye pulled.

120. Brian Hill

In hoc signo vincit.

121. highseastim

Signed with a big cheesy grin on ma coupon!!

122. Giorgio

Gordon is a Brown Noser.
    An self serving Fake.
    I feel betrayed.

Our campaign was too clean.
    We need to win dirty next time, just as these bastards did.

Signed with pleasure
    GiorgioVasari

123. Andy Howie

Signed and Shared. I hope his next shite is a reversed hedgehog

124. haud on the noo

Who was the Herald guy apologising for the beeb/?

125. ann

Signed.

That will get a good laugh when handed over.

126. Andy Howie

Hmm is already getting shared by my friends on Facebook 😀

127. Andy

why the surprise we all knew he was full of it

128. Tam Jardine

yesindyref2

The petition was created almost immediately after the referendum to exert pressure on Westminster to carry out the ludicrous vow. At the time when Alex Salmond was telling us he wanted to hold Westminster’s feet to the fire on the vow, it felt like a pretty good document to sign (and there was an awful lot more in the email I received).

67,000 other yessers felt the same when I signed it a week ago.

129. Andy

test

130. Graeme Doig

Just emailed 38 degrees about GB’s unacceptable cheek.

Oh and just for the record Nigel, if your still around, there is absolutely no softness here.

Yes i’m generally a nice guy but i don’t suffer fools lightly (i spend my working day advocating for folk against management and the establishment) especially those fools who are complicit in sending my country back into the hands of the wm establishment.

No hard feelings Nigel (we’re both on the same side here) but you need to think carefully before making rash and patronising statements about people.

131. Truth

Signed. The dishonest, lying, self-serving, incompetent can indeed go and fuck himself.

132. Betty Boop

@ Tam Jardine, 10:55pm

Is that 2014 programme still on? Thought they had packed up, show over and all that.

133. Andy

Why the surprise we all knew he was full of shite before the referendum now he’s just proving it

134. yesindyref2

38 degrees are a reputable petition organisation. For instance they had their own petition against the 2012 Health Act, but when they picked up that the epetitions one (Dr Kailash Chand’s) was winging up to the 100,000, they emailed all their registered petitioners and asked them to sign the direct gov one as well. It zoomed up then and eventually closed near 180,000. Did no use, but that’s democracy UK-style for you.

If anyone here has a contact of any sort with 38 degrees, perhaps they could email them to advise checking the “provenance” of that epetition? For me it’s a defo trap, to allow Westminster to graciously accede to the petition and give us sweet FA.

135. Morag

Some people on Twitter are saying that Newsnet Scotland set the petition up a day or two after the referendum. I’m not 100% sure that’s right because there are multiple petitions, but if it is, it’s one hell of a story.

I also imagine a lot of people who signed it ten days ago would want to dissociate themselves from Brown’s little ploy. I wonder if any journalist will have the gumption to follow this up?

Oh wait, we have one of our own….

136. Morag

Except he’s on holiday.

137. Betty Boop

@ Roughian, 10:31pm

… I sat next to him on a Ldn/Edn flight many years ago. All 55mins of flight he read photo copies of press cuttings supplied by his staff. That’s when I decided this guy knows nothing.

You meet some odious characters on those flights. Husband used to find himself beside Brian Wilson on too many occasion on the Ldn/Gla. Felt quite dirty after such experiences.

138. Andy Howie

Deservedly on Holiday

139. Grizzle McPuss

For all those still squirming at the use of ‘that’ word (No, not Brown…the other defamatory one), try this to soothe your troubled mind…

http://reallifeglobal.com/how-use-word-fuck/

140. Marian

Methinks we need Alex Salmond to stay on as FM more than ever now.

I am sure Nicola will be an excellent FM in time, but with the absolute chaos that is now covering Westminster over their more powers promises, I strongly believe that Scotland should continue to have the political skills of Alex Salmond still representing us.

141. Patrician

@Paula Rose, 10:57, Too true, we were never the good guys. during this campaign I have been called names far worse than this. So, as far as I am concerned Mr Brown can go fucketity, fuck himself, all fucking day long. Anyone else annoyed by that can go fuck themselves too.

142. Nigerian Pirate

For those not impressed about the choice of wording chosen for the petition, well obviously that is your right. But then I disagree with your thinking.

I think it’s exactly right that Gordon Brown was told exactly how people feel about him. Maybe if enough people sign it he may eventually get the message.

He frightened the elderly with the pension shite, after raiding the very same pensions for 120 BILLION pounds.

He had his marvelous moment with the gold reserve sell off at rock bottom prices.

He came to save the Union in the final week of the Referendum with the promise of a package of shite that he himself could not deliver, and he knew it. People believed him and now he wants those same people to petition for what he promised.

He should have been told to ‘Go fuck himself’ a long time ago

143. Jock Scot

Enjoyed filling in the section..why is this important to you.
    “Because I truly believe that Gordon Brown can go fuck himself”..That is all.

144. Tam Jardine

Betty Boop

Sarah Smith is still dragging it out. Her main priority tonight seems to be to establish that the criticism of the BBC is completely ridiculous and unwarranted.

Hence the presence of the Sunday Herald’s Paul Hutcheon who takes a keen interest in anything that denigrates the Yes campaign (check his twitter account) and has had an orgasm today over Yes central missing some crazy ambitious targets (surely a moot point now).

Paul also has a big problem with PQ1-PQ6 but in a hundred and 1 tweets has yet to suggest what one does when you feel the state media is biased when complaining to the Electoral Comission and the BBC has absolutely no effect.

Paul studiously has ignored turning his forensic, rigorous approach to any of the politicians who have promised the earth to the Scottish people to win the referendum and are now reneging on those promises, demoting our MPs taking us back to war and sending the bill to the poorest in society.

Paul isn’t really interested in that. JOURNALISTS ARE BEING CRITICISED which is clearly the real story right now!

145. Les

Signed….because he is a lying bastard

146. Tam Jardine

Morag

I will email you the email I had from 38 degrees back on the 22nd September confirming 67,000 had signed. I am sure it is the same one.

147. yesindyref2

Tam Jardine
    Yes, seeing Morag’s posting it might be genuine, as NNS seem to be going strong on devo-max to be delivered.

It wasn’t well written though, and allows WM to say “OK then” without doing anything of value.

Brown must be laughing all the way to the bank, as he can support something which allows a complete watering down of what he and everyone said. Really the petition should be withdrawn before the damage is done (100,000 sigs), and a better one set up with more teeth and bite to it.

38degrees could email everyone to ask them to re-sign the new one.

148. liz

@Marian – no AS will be more useful not as FM – it frees him up to be more vocal about stuff he doesn’t like and he will be supporting Nicola from the side.

I don’t know if I’m getting carried away but I feel there is so much energy for change – it’s all kicking off.

Tory defection to UKIP, Broon’s reputation in the toilet, DR hopefully going down hill, apparent NO voters joining the SNP.

What next?

149. ClanDonald

I’m guessing that the Gordon Brown petition was set up by the Daily Record. Also guessing they don’t give a toss about more powers: the petition is shockingly vague about them and it seems to have dropped the promise of keeping the Barnett Formula, sneaky sods.

Yep, no doubt this petition has only one objective: to preserve the powers of the labour party by preventing any kind of English votes for English laws scenario from happening.

Yet again the Labour party are conning the Scottish people into protecting the interests of the Labour party and sod what’s best for the people of Scotland.

150. Morag

From what Tam says, that petition was set up within a day or two of the referendum. I doubt the Record had the nous to do that so early, wait more than 10 days for innocent yessers to sign in good faith, then link it to Brown. That level of devious is beyond these bottom feeders.

151. Cadogan Enright

I think this is better

https://you.38degrees.org.uk/petitions/gordon-brown-please-resign-as-an-mp?bucket=&source=twitter-share-button

Stuart might be better to redirect people there – or to sign both

152. crazycat

@yesindyref2

I’ve written to 38 degrees to ask them whether it is their petition that has been hijacked, as has Graeme Doig.

I’ll report back if I get a reply.

153. Capella

Wht Next?
    Catalans going to have their referendum anyway
    http://tinyurl.com/lk3p23g

154. Grouse Beater

Sarah Smith is still dragging it out. Her main priority tonight seems to be to establish that the criticism of the BBC is completely ridiculous and unwarranted

In which case it is incompetent and inept. Either way, the time has come to reject it as a broadcaster for Scotland and create one that will genuinely serve the people.

155. Tattie-bogle

HE WOULD IF THE PRICE WAS RIGHT AND WITH A HEALTHY EXPENSE ACCOUNT

156. Betty Boop

@ Grizzle McPuss, 11:22pm

OK, that was funny. 🙂

157. Valerie

Well said Nigerian Pirate, totally agree! Also, agree with the observation that AS is better being the power behind the Chair – always worth looking that way. He will do nothing to undermine NS – they are a very tight team, and I think they almost work as one mind! AS will be freed up to do more damage – bring it on!

158. yesindyref2

Phew! Looking at NNS, their petition seems to be on cahnge.org with 172 sigs. Their petition is a very good strong one:

https://www.change.org/p/the-uk-government-honour-their-vow-made-before-the-independence-referendum-to-devolve-powers-to-the-scottish-parliament

Now I’d really like to see the Broon deliver THAT ONE to the HoC on 16th October 🙂 🙂 and one more 🙂

159. fittie

Broon is setting up an escape route from the blame when the vows are renaged on.

He hopes to be able to say “not me gov,it was the tories”

160. Betty Boop

@ Mary Bruce, 11:44pm

Is it this one?

As I have mentioned before, I wonder why there is no sponsor named on that petition.

161. Morag

Cadogen, Stuart started his petition as a reaction against the daft one you linked to (and someone else incautiously linked to in about the third comment).

Calls for Brown’s resignation are both futile and unnecessary. An internet petition is not going to persuade any MP to resign, obviously. And Brown isn’t standing for election again in 2015, his successor candidate is already selected. He’ll be getting the stoat neck-warmer. So it’s a pointless petition.

Someone tweeted it at Stuart, he said “I don’t want him to resign, I want him to go fuck himself” and here we were, three hours and 6000 signatures later.

Inventive lad, the evil cybernat controller.

162. Tam Jardine

Clandonald

Below is the 38 degree blog post punting the petition. I got an email from someone asking me to sign. Looks genuine to me.

https://archive.today/3B34s

163. ClanDonald

The front page of today’s Daily Record suggests it could be them behind it:

http://imgur.com/a/fDKmp

There’s no doubt the 38 degrees petition is about making sure something like “banning Scots MPs from voting on some issues in the UK parliament” doesn’t happen.

Definitely about preserving the interests of the labour party, nothing to do with devo max or more powers.

164. ClanDonald

Looking again at the 38 degrees petition page, the petition text is exactly the same as the copy on the front page of today’s (tomorrow’s?) Daily Record.

Definitely looks like them behind it.

Hey, where’s the vow promise on Barnett, Daily Record? Why have you dropped that part of the vow from today’s paper??

165. Morag

If they set that up, they did it within a day or so of the referendum, let it run without disclosing who was behind it while innocent yessers signed it, and didn’t come forward until today.

People who signed it at the start need to start kicking up merry hell about this.

166. yesindyref2

Tam Jardine
    Herald seems to be back-pedalling like it wants a place in the next Team GB cycle events, on its promise to make sure significant powers will be delivered as the reason it came out for NO, and the Sunday Herald seems to be easing off its Independence support as well.

Calm down dear, it was just a, errr, what’s it called, referendum.

167. ClanDonald

Tam Jardine: Nah, that’s not the same one.

Here’s the one being punted by Duncan Hothersall this evening, and by the Daily Record twitter feed. And on the Daily Record website. And the one mentioned on the front of the Daily Record today:

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/politics/sign-petition-daily-record-urge-4355238?utm_source=twitterfeed&utm_medium=twitter

Seriously, this is just a scam by Labour in partnership with the Daily Record to stop the Tories eroding the power of the Labour party.

168. gillie

You don’t need a petition to say “Don’t buy newspapers”. It is time to hand journalists their P45s.

169. Morag

The email Tam sent me suggests Brown is merely recommending signatures on a petition that was already circulating, rather than pointing to one he had set up. So we still don’t know who set it up.

If I’d signed that, I’d want my signature taken off. I’d never sign anything associated with Gordon Brown, even retrospectively.

170. ClanDonald

Morag, I’m fairly certain the petition Tam linked to and the one linked to the Daily Record website are different.

Here’s the Tam one again:

https://archive.today/3B34s

and here’s the Daily Record one:

I’d guess that the Record one has been doing the rounds of the Labour party over the past 4 hours to get the numbers up. Or they are invented.

The Tam one looks like it is genuinely after more powers, the Record one is about preventing the English Votes for English Laws

171. Morag

I’m too confused and it’s late. I’m going to bed and hoping the internet will have solved it by morning. Why doesn’t that site insist on the petitioner’s name being displayed?

If Brown was serious, he’d get a .gov.uk petition set up. They have to pay some attention to these. Commercial sites will be ignored anyway.

172. Cadogan Enright

Morag, was no. 6072 – albeit reluctantly

173. Morag

If it’s the petition Brown is punting, it would be a good thing if people who signed it before he announced his backing were to ask to have their signatures taken off.

I mean, would you sign anything you knew Brown was asking you to sign? I wouldn’t.

174. TYRAN

Why 100,000? Where did Foodbank Brown derive this number? If we get 100,000 for yes, or any other change, on some online poll, this is now good enough and will be implemented?

175. yesindyref2

When you sign a petition at 38degrees you get an email back with a “Not sure what we're talking about? Remove your signature.” link.

If people still have that email, they might still be able to remove their sig.

Seems to me it would be a good idea to get that change.org one up over 100,000 before the probably fake one – then Brown, not having specified a particular petition, would really have no choice but present the good one …

176. Morag

Trying to get 100,000 for the above petition. Get signing.

177. Graeme Doig

Morag

Agreed. Hopefully some clarity in thr morning. Anyway at least we can all agree that GB is a complete shambles of a man and I look forward to the day we can give him all the attention he deserves … None!

178. Molly

Does anyone know what Lord Smith or kelvin or whatever his name is think of Gordon muscling in on his brief?

179. yesindyref2

ClanDonald
    Nope, they’re exactly the same one, “sign the petition” goes to the same webpage.

It’s a con, and the Herald are in on it too.

180. TYRAN

They’ll get 100,000 and it won’t do a thing in bringing powers anyway. Just another massive hole for them. Great stuff. 🙂

181. ClanDonald

I clicked on the link to the petition Tam linked to and it took me to the one the Daily Record, Labour party and Gordon Brown are punting today. So they are the same one after all, it just looked very different in Tam’s link.

And there are two comments on that version from 9/10 days ago. They aren’t visible on the Daily Record version.

So it does look like the Daily Record have jumped on board the previous one, so Morag is right, there will be many people who have signed it not realising it would then be used by Gordon Brown to further his own agenda.

Still can’t find anything to suggest who has set it up.

182. Calgacus

Gordon Brown is a ("Tractor" - Ed)

183. crazycat

https://archive.today/LiMFc

This article in the Guardian (hope the link works) says that Brown signed the 38degrees petition that Tam and I and others had already signed. Anything in the DR is different, I think.

From the article it is clear that Brown wants fewer tax raising powers devolved, because the full set would be accompanied by restrictions on Scottish MPs’ votes – so it is all about saving the Labour Party (surprise!) and nothing about Devo-Max or the next best thing to federalism or whatever you want to call it.

184. Lollysmum

@ Tyran at 12.19
    Petitions bearing more than 100,000 signatures can be used as the basic argument to force a debate on the subject in HoC. Shows that Parliament is listening to us poor saps aka the voters.

185. Grouse Beater

Molly:

Does anyone know what Lord Smith or Kelvin … think of Gordon muscling in on his brief?

Do you mean the former chairman of ‘Vote No – Weir Group’? The same who presided over a massive court fine when his company lost their moral and legal compass passing bung money to Suddam Hussein.

186. Kalmar

Right, who set up the petition that’s currently at 80 something k? It had to be a yes campaigner, didn’t it? Can whoever it was go in and freeze it, or send out an update advising people that in light of the Crash Gordon hijack, he needs to go and fuck himself?

187. yesindyref2

Dare I say, if WoS threw its weight behind the change.org one set up by NNS going for full Devo-Max / FFA, all bar foeign affairs and defence it could fair zip along:

https://www.change.org/p/the-uk-government-honour-their-vow-made-before-the-independence-referendum-to-devolve-powers-to-the-scottish-parliament

Read it carefully though and make your own minds up. But I also like this bit:
    “A failure to honour their pledge made to the Scottish people will be deemed a breach of contract and render the independence referendum result null and void.”

That’s definitely not a Broon Darling / Cameggband line!

188. Molly

Yes Grouse beater that’s the one.

Can I be a bit radical here and suggest the Presiding Officer gets Johann Lamont in pronto and asks her as leader of the Redtories in Scotland , what the hell Gordon Brown is playing at?

The people of Scotland are being led down a path by a backbench MP who has less power than Eric Joyce’s right hook and a second rate newspaper.

189. skozra

Signed 🙂

190. crazycat

I’ve had another look at the original invitation from 38degrees to sign their petition. I think the absence of a named sponsor is an indication that it is the organization’s own team that has chosen the wording and e-mailed previous supporters; it would have an individual’s name on it otherwise.

191. Macart

So why would he need 100K signatures? Wasn’t Devo Max a done deal? Wasn’t it enough to simply vote no to independence?

I mean that was the deal wasn’t it no voters?

‘Course there’s a distinct possibility ‘Crash’ couldn’t deliver anything, at any time during the referendum and that you were lied to… again. Could also be that the meeja, who constantly promoted Mr Brown’s ‘interventions’ (and that includes Scotland’s Champion’) deliberately misled the public and that the more fearful and vulnerable were sold a false bill of goods.

Who knew?

192. Michael McCabe

Can we not start a Petition to ask Gordon Brown why he is asking folk to sign a petition to try to put a stop to Scottish Members of Parliament Voting on certain matters. When he hardly ever turns up to Vote Himself. The Pompous Bastard.

193. yesindyref2

Mmm, according to the Record:

Sturgeon said: “The Westminster parties promised Scotland extensive new powers – no ifs or buts – and they are duty bound to deliver.

“Forty-five per cent of people voted for independence. The No campaign told the 55 per cent who voted No they were voting for Home Rule.

“Scotland needs the powers to create more jobs and build a fairer society and this petition can pressure Westminster politicians into fulfilling their vow to Scotland.”

Unless she’s thinking of another petition! Clarity, we need clarity.

194. Mario Antoinette

So how many do we need before he actually tries to fuck himself, and can it be on the national lottery?

195. Macart

Of course there are one or two crucial questions involved here. Firstly, what proportion of the 55% were swayed by the media/Labour narrative of fear/devo whatever? Secondly, what is the best most graphic way to hammer home the fact that they were lied to and their vote manipulated by both the media and their Labour representatives? Thirdly, other than personal boycott, just how do we hold to account the media and the Labour party for their gross misconduct during the referendum campaign?

There will be no devo max, nor home rule. There may indeed be some fudge which Westminster parties will claim represents their vision of home rule, but as we have already seen in the last ten days, they can be a bit hazy on people’s definitions of being better together. How many for example would have voted no had they known that within a matter of days of doing so there would be a declaration of military action and a pledge to slash the Scottish block grant followed by a restructuring of the Barnett formula? Of course a few more little fibs have come to light in the same period such as Gideon’s latest wheeze to be practised on pensions (pensions only safe within the UK?), the sudden discovery of decades worth of recoverable oil, fracking licences for the Scottish mainland being given away like sweeties to a prominent BT supporter etc, etc.

Hard to keep track they’re coming so thick and fast really. You’d think they were afraid of a second indyref next week, such is the rush to get as much by the Scottish electorate as possible. This devo vow is an opportunity and the fourth and final important question is how best to take advantage of it?

196. Jim Kennedy

Many in the Yes mob were warning each other that Darling was only a backbencher with no clout, and to ignore him. Up pops Gordon with the same status and keech, and they get Sooked in. Who is kidding who here? Then you have Alex Salmond inviting the same liars on a negotiating team. If I did not have chapped lips I would laugh. Round 2 is close we must be better prepared. We need to have a leader who shoots down the rubbish we are fed instantly.

197. WantonWampum.

On one of the Freeview “sales” channels last night they were offering a refurbished computer tablet for the ridiculous price of £69-99p.

We on WoS know that we lost the IndyRef because of those Uninformed Pensioners who actually believed Krash and Flipper.

We have many new members of SNP (SSp + Greens too), but we still face those idiot Pensioners who voted NO.

We can campaign for Free Computer Tablets for Pensioners, using our/their taxes for them – OR – we can form our many “Activist Communities” into “Lenders Libraries” where we can lend a tablet to a group of Pensioners – and explode the myths espoused by MSM and SLAB SCABS.

LEST WE FORGET :- Krash et al were accusing us – and their own voters ? – of being NAZI`s only two weeks ago.!!

198. john king

Nigel says
    “Graeme-I reserve that terminology for whom I suspect of going “soft” on the issue.”

Patronise one Winger Nige and you patronise em all,
    not a smart move pilgrim!

199. Golfnut

@indyref2 re Newsnet Petition

Agree totally, I signed day1, all indy sites should promote this one. All high profile politicians and pundits should be talking about and specify the Newsnet petition.
    This might be something the Yes groups could get their teeth into.
    Broon the loons exercise is all about saving labour, the bbc will give them plenty of air time.

200. JLT

My blood is on fire after I read the BBC article. The man should be scourged for deceiving a nation. Petition! Petition! Aye …petition to have Gordon Brown go around every city, town and village in Scotland and have the lying charlatan beg for forgiveness.

201. JLT

My blood is on fire after I read the BBC article. The man should be scourged for deceiving a nation. Petition! Petition! Aye …petition to have Gordon Brown go around every city, town and village in Scotland and have the lying charlatan beg for forgiveness!

202. caz-m

This “Vow” has been a con from day one. All the unionist Parties will have planned to offer Scotland this garbage, knowing that it had no chance of being delivered.

We are now in stage two of the con. Tories will ask for Scots MPs not to vote on English matters, Brown will come back saying, that is unfair on Scotland, Tories say the “Vow” and changes to the voting procedure in Westminster must go hand in hand.

And low and behold, they all disagree and the “Vow” is kicked down the road, until they run out of time to put it before the Westminster Parliament.

We need our own “Vow”.

Do Not support any Unionist Parties/Scottish Labour at the 2015 GE.
    Do Not buy the Daily Record, ever again.
    Do Not pay the BBC License Fee, ever again.

203. Grouse Beater

Kennedy: We need to have a leader who shoots down the rubbish we are fed instantly.

We did – an entire brace of them, but 55% decided our man was less reliable than their man.

The general concensus issuing from polling analysis is, at least 25% of voters altered from Yes to No after hearing Brown’s ‘barnstorming’ speech. They brought disaster upon themselves. Let them eat dirt. Just a pity the rest of us will endure the same fate.

204. tonymac

Now with 7,121 supporters
    Tweetin the link
    and it’s Importance..

205. bugsbunny

DougMcG@9.54pm.

I will try and rewrite sic a parcel of rogues in a nation.

Farewell tae a Scotland proud and free,
    Farewell oor trusty candour;
    Farewell tae the Tree o Liberty,
    Glass eyed Broon’s went and took a backhander;
    The Tay and the Forth encircle the Kingdom of Fife,
    And this shall be oor lesson;
    He’s fucked us ower, mair than his wife,
    Such a ("Tractor" - Ed)ous cunt, in one person.

Oh would some no’s regret that day,
    As they grew auld throughout the ages;
    They sold their rights for a wee bawbee,
    While the ("Tractor" - Ed)s took their wages;
    The men in power, they won the hour,
    With lies, and mis- information;
    We are bought and sold by the man that lost the gold,
    What an absolute disgrace tae oor nation.

September 19th was that day,
    That treason doth had sold us;
    The selfish old gits will soon be lain in clay,
    That said, “But Gordon Broon, he told us;”
    They sold out all their offsprings right,
    For a greedy few more years;
    They care not a jot for for their Grandwean’s rights,
    They are blind to the bitterest of all their tears.

Stephen.

206. majestic12

I think far too much emphasis has been placed on the notional “oldies” that lost us the vote. It depends on how statistics perceive elderliness. Are you old if you are sixty or over? I’ve been conducting some informal research among intelligent yes-voters who know intelligent no-voters (if that’s not an oxymoron) and what’s being highlighted is just how conservative with a small “c” Scotland still is.

It seems to me that middle-class, middle-aged, middle-Scotland voted no in droves, fearful that they had too much to lose by taking a chance on independence – savings, investments, land and especially property. Those with nothing to lose generally were more courageous.

I hope the good burghers of Edinburgh and other leafy, comfortable enclaves around Glasgow are now happy with themselves for losing us our opportunity to have control over our own affairs and particularly issues like fracking, for very soon they may indeed lose everything as the ground literally shifts under their feet.

I don’t know if this self-interested demographic was efficiently targeted but they are the people we need to reach now. Demonising Gordon Brown, granny scarer and conniving puppet of the Tories though he be, is not going to have any effect on them, and they don’t read the Daily Record. Somehow we need to convince them that their financial interests would be better served by voting SNP at the GE. No easy task.

207. Tam Jardine

Clandonald

A little disingenuous of the DR, what? Punting a petition that is inches from the finishing line!

At this stage any effort on my part to remove my signature is ridiculous. I will email the contact I have at 38 degrees and ask them to publicly disassociate themselves from Gordon Brown and the Daily Record.

208. Truth

After sleeping on it I can’t help thinking that a Wings petition calling for the same as Gordon Brown and gaining more support than him would have been even more effective.

This they can dismiss as foul mouthed etc, but it would make them very uncomfortable if a similar poll had more support than Gordon could muster.

209. Conan_the_Librarian

Signed.

210. caz-m

I have heard that BBC Scotland are reporting that counters in Dingwall shouted out in delight when they came across YES ballot papers.

Well, just for the record, I hope BBC Scotland also report that when the Renfrewshire result was read out in The Paisley Lagoon Centre, the majority of counters stood up and let out roars and grunts of great delight that it was a majority NO vote.

I am sure BBC Scotland’s Glen Campbell will be in Paisley today investigating this story in time for the lunchtime news.

211. Haggis Hunter

@
    Caz-m
    I heard it on the state broadcaster this morning, what a biased croocked organisation.

Signed the petition adding a cheery message 🙂

212. Grouse Beater

Various calls to ‘reassess and renew’ – Biagi, Peat Worrier, et al – on the aftermath of defeat are worrying.

What has altered since the 18th is not Anglophiles have become repentant and offer olive branches, rather the ferocity of Westminster’s grip on tourist Scotland has increased.

What we have to do is become just as militant in reponse, not sit back and compose phantom sketches of ‘Devo-Max.’

One day we are joyous compatriots, the next meek appeasers.

Why are we doing their work for them? Let them make their offer and let us decide if it is acceptable or not.

213. Wp

Brown, the biggest con man of all time. Sold out OUR country to his Westminster friends. He will be well rewarded. He is only one of very few people who know the true value of Scotland to Westminster. We can only guess, but he has been in the secret chambers so to speak. He pretends outrage at the reneging on HIS vow by Westminster and has the audacity to front a poll by the people to demand what he promised only 2 weeks ago was a bombproof pact set in stone. The compliant press and TV also faking their outrage makes me sick. We knew this would happen, many on here predicted the dirty tricks and are now proved correct. Despite this 45% of our country were not fooled. I take massive comfort from this as our new fight begins. Gloves off this time.

214. Grouse Beater

The only ‘Devo-Max’ that is acceptable to Scotland is, all powers without contraint, indissoluble, (sovereignty left to a later independence referendum) and a veto over wars.

215. Conan_the_Librarian

Have a wee try Googling ‘Ruth Davidson interviewed under caution’.

You won’t be surprised at the results.

216. Dorothy Devine

Tam Jardine,are you talking about the erstwhile investigative journalist Paul Hutcheon?

Who used to be a journalist of promise and integrity – that Paul Hutcheon?

Who used to write articles without fear or favour – that Paul Hutcheon?

Who now writes labour press releases and anti independence articles – that Paul Hutcheon?

I remember a few years ago when some young woman was so enthralled there was a hard hitting journalist berating all and sundry that she wrote below the line ” I want to marry you and have your babies” – that Paul Hutcheon.

I’m sure that young lady is as utterly disillusioned now as all the rest of us.

217. gfaetheblock

Grouse beater: are you saying that there was polling for yes at 70% during the week of the referendum? Do you have a link?

218. caz-m

A health warning should have been given last night before the BBC Reporting Scotland interview with Glen Campbell and Gordon Brown.

I don’t know who is the most disgusting between these two pieces of unionist shit.

219. john king

Tam Jardine says
    “A little disingenuous of the DR, what? ”

A LITTLE?

220. Craig P

How many signatures did the ‘WESTMINSTER: KEEP YOUR PROMISES TO SCOTLAND’ petition have before Gordon Brown jumped on the bandwagon? It has 90k now.

Interestingly they are all completely ineffectual. The *only* petitions Westminster pays any attention to are those on the UK government epetitions site, http://epetitions.direct.gov.uk/

221. Ken500

Vote every Unionist politician out and have another Referendum. Set up an Independent TV/Radio channel, with a Scottish gov enterprise grant. Stop watching BBC, except to keep an eye on the enemy. Never buy any papers. Stop blaming voters, who will soon realise they were conned.

It was 60% YES before the ‘VOW’. Scotland has been cheated once again.

222. scunner

Skimming the front pages today, bombing, bombing, bombing, wait a minute – DR looks familiar. Oh it’s the “parchment” again, “THE VOW: Please, oh pretty please, gonnae honour it – Puleeeez!”

Aye Right

223. Ken500

The fact the Tories are crowing makes it even sorer.

224. Tam Jardine

Craig P

How many signatures did the ‘WESTMINSTER: KEEP YOUR PROMISES TO SCOTLAND’ petition have before Gordon Brown jumped on the bandwagon? It has 90k now.

When I signed it on 22nd September it had 67,000 signatures. When I looked into this last night about 7.30 ish it had about 80,000. Since his pronouncement was yesterday afternoon I believe a fair estimate would be between 75,000 and 80,000. If I was guessing I would guess somewhere in between.

225. Capella

Found that I had signed that petition so have emailed 38 degrees asking to remove my name and suspend the petition as it is dishonest. Await response. So now signed the Newsnet petition linked above by Indyref2.
    Gladly signed Stu’s petition in light of mmendacity of G Brown and Labour.
    Getting hard to keep up!

226. Bugger (the Panda)

Ken500

Let us make it stick in their craw.

227. Grendel

Signed.

228. Robert Louis

Folks, please wise up. Stop getting distracted by unknown posters coming on here, deliberately seeding confusion.

Revstu’s petition is great fun, and all that, to make an important point, which I agree with, but there is a serious petition that has been set up, that is 100% legitimate.

It is crystal clear what it is for, has been set up by an established pro indy source (newsnetscotland.com) and here is the text;

“Former Prime Minister Gordon Brown has called for a petition demanding the indyref vow, pledged by all three Unionist parties days before the referendum, be honoured in full by Westminster.

On September 7th the BBC broadcast a speech by Mr Brown in which the Labour MP pledged Home Rule if Scotland voted No in the independence referendum.

A day later, Better Together leader Alistair Darling confirmed in a BBC interview that Devo Max would be offered to Scotland if voters rejected independence. Devo Max is accepted to mean the devolution of all powers, with the exception of Foreign Affairs and Defence.

Days after Gordon Brown and Alistair Darling made their pledge, the three leaders of Labour, the Conservatives and the Lib Dems signed a vow promising to honour the pledge and grant Scotland significant new powers.

This petition calls on the Westminster based parties to honour their vow to the Scottish people. We, the undersigned, call on the Labour party, together with their Better Together allies the Conservatives and the Lib Dems, to commit to devolving all powers with the exception of Foreign Affairs and Defence. This commitment to be enforced through legislation prior to the 2015 May General Election.

So long as Scotland remains in the Union, these powers to remain under the control of the Scottish Parliament.

A failure to honour their pledge made to the Scottish people will be deemed a breach of contract and render the independence referendum result null and void.”

This is EXACTLY the petition we need, from an established pro indy source, NewsnetScotland. So, please can everybody get behind this petition, as it states exactly what we want, clear as day. It also makes clear, that failure to deliver devo max, will mean the referendum result is null and void.

Let’s get signing folks 🙂 🙂 🙂

229. Tam Jardine

john king says

Tam Jardine says“A little disingenuous of the DR, what?

”A LITTLE?”

It’s that extreme sarcasm emoticon I am missing John! Have a guid one mate

230. biggpolmont

personally I am against e petitions because while it can act as a reluase valve to blow off a little steam for the petitioners the target of the petition can click one button to acknowledge all the petitioners over and done with in a second and they don’t have to think about it whereas A proper printed letter to his office in Dunfermline requires someone to open it send a letter to acknowledge it and spend time logging it into their business system ( Westminster is very particular about mail audits) Then the beauty is just before the General election you ask for a freedom OF information request about which topics people wrote to gordie about. Imagine the response he would have to give 5ooo People requesting gordon browmn to go fuck himself!
    It would be worth the postage!

231. Robert Peffers

@JBS says: 30 September, 2014 at 9:04 pm:

“I wonder how many No voters are facepalming in horror tonight…”

You do know that is the supporters of London Labour in Scotland you are wondering about, don’t you? The same one led in Scotland by Johann Lamont? The same one that has Brown as a big hitter but who is never in parliament? The same one with Alistair Darling as a big hitter who led the campaign to stop his country gaining independence?
    The same one with lots of members who wouldn’t be able to find their face with their palm?

232. Johnny

Must have missed something, but why would you ever need a petition for this anyway? As far as I can see, at least 1.6m people already made it plain they want quite a lot more powers (way beyond anything promised) and so it’s obvious that 1.6m wants the promises honoured at the very least (their vote can count as their petition signature). Something different might be if they could get 100,000 No voters to confirm via petition that they voted No because of the promises….

233. Johnny

Must have missed something, but why would you ever need a petition such as Brown is pushing (hi-jacking?) anyway? As far as I can see, at least 1.6m people already made it plain they want quite a lot more powers (way beyond anything promised) and so it’s obvious that 1.6m wants the promises honoured at the very least (their vote can count as their petition signature). Something different might be if they could get 100,000 No voters to confirm via petition that they voted No because of the promises….

234. Johnny

Must have missed something, but why’d you ever need a petition such as Brown is pushing (hi-jacking?) anyway? As far as I can see, at least 1.6m people already made it plain they want quite a lot more powers (way beyond anything promised) and so it’s obvious that 1.6m wants the promises honoured at the very least (their vote can count as their petition signature). Something different might be if they could get 100,000 No voters to confirm via petition that they voted No because of the promises….

235. Robert Louis

2 points

1. I see people are still posting here and elsewhere, seriously disparaging comments about elderly people, blaming them for the vote. This is seriously dumb. A friend of mine told me his granny is in her 90’s and she voted YES – and didn’t need any persuasion or details. It is frankly disgusting to make disparaging comments about elderly people, regarding the vote.

2. Somebody above, has been griping about how Alex Salmond had invitied people like Darling on to his negotiation team in the even of a YES vote. Seriously, does nobody understand tactics and strategy – ‘keep your friends close and your enemies closer’. Think about it. Geez.

Too many freaking concern trolls on here, for my liking. Getting bleeping silly.

236. Robert Peffers

@Proud Cybernat says:30 September, 2014 at 9:25 pm:

“The next few years are ripe for legitimate calls for IndyRef2.”

The fact is that it has now become a win/win situation. If we get Full Fiscal Autonomy the Establishment will find Scotland will either get her full share of the still reserved Defence and Foreign Affairs budget or will leave the remnants of the Union. If we don’t get it we have every right to leave after theyfail to give Full Fiscal Autonomy.

237. Helena Brown

Right now I am raging at the thought of what we have lost and as someone who has hated Gordon Brown for years, and I do mean hated, dislike is too namby pamby for him. Your language causes me no problems. We are being hung for a lamb why not a sheep and be done with it. Now I am off to see if I can sign this petition.
    Personally Stuart I think Gordon Brown probably does exactly what you suggest as I do not think anyone in his life is more important.

238. Ken500

The Tories will be gone in 6 months

239. Nana Smith

@Robert Louis

You are so correct Robert. I know several elderly folks who voted YES gladly. My friend helps run a service collecting prescriptions etc for the elderly in her village where the majority voted YES.

240. Robert Louis

Just an update on the Newsnet Scotland petition which is exactly what is needed right now, and from a trustworthy pro indy source;

Whose text reads;

“..This petition calls on the Westminster based parties to honour their vow to the Scottish people. We, the undersigned, call on the Labour party, together with their Better Together allies the Conservatives and the Lib Dems, to commit to devolving all powers with the exception of Foreign Affairs and Defence. This commitment to be enforced through legislation prior to the 2015 May General Election.

So long as Scotland remains in the Union, these powers to remain under the control of the Scottish Parliament.

A failure to honour their pledge made to the Scottish people will be deemed a breach of contract and render the independence referendum result null and void.”

Please make a point of signing this legitimate petition the link is here;

Meanwhile in other matters, great news about the membership of the SNP, which now totals 75,000. Tripled from 25,000 since the referendum result. Let’s hope the SNP leadership have planned how to mobilise and energise this new movement for Scottish independence.

Either way, it sends a very clear message to Westminster; this isn’t over, it isn’t over at all, and we are NOT going away. Westminster promised us Devo max (everything except foreign affairs and defence) if there was a NO vote, so now they had better deliver EXACTLY that.

No compromises.

241. Bugger (the Panda)

@ Paula Rose

Post on off topic for you, you strumpet.

Root toot toot.

242. Stewart fae stoney

Signed and I hope Gordon Broons next shite is a hedgehog

243. pipinghot

The trouble is that the petition Broon is hijacking is worthless in itself, It says nothing. New powers for Scotland could mean anything. It should be pulled if possible.

244. Nana Smith

David Camerbomb pledges to heal Britain Yeah Yeah sure he will….

The UK is on course to take the no1 spot for most unequal country in the developed world.

https://twitter.com/PeterMurrell

245. chalks

Yep, leave the oldies alone, my granny and grandma’s and their mates all voted yes, don’t be upset with the ones that voted no, they were scared after having people they trust tell lies to them.

It’s ourselves we should be upset with.

246. One_Scot

Before the vote they laughed at us, then when they thought they would lose, and lose the oil, they begged us, and now they have cheated a win, they again laugh at us.

Imagine voting for that, how stupid would you have to be.

247. Ananurhing

Absolutely agree with Robert Peffers re a win, win situation.

I’m concerned that the right noises aren’t being made to let Lord Smith know that Full Fiscal is the minimum settlement we’re prepared to work with.

Most of the Nopeheads I know either agree or acquiesce to that.

248. Robert Louis

Piping hot,

I agree regarding the petition that was hijacked by broon.

The new petition I highlighted above is from a legitimate pro indy source (newsnetscotland.com), needs signing, and spells out in great detail what the powers demanded are (see my posts above).

The article on Newsnet about this petition can be found here;

http://www.newsnetscotland.scot/index.php/scottish-opinion/9802-lets-turn-browns-petition-back-on-him

249. One_Scot

I am still having nightmares about what has happened. I cannot believe we have been stitched up and they are getting away with it. Surely at some point soon there will have to be another proper vote.

250. Robert Louis

I see The First Minister, Alex Salmond has today commented on Gordon Broon’s latest nonsense;

“This is an astonishing development. How can Gordon Brown call for people to sign a petition urging Westminster to keep its promises on more powers for Scotland when he himself has already said that is a vow which will be honoured?

“He is now calling for guarantees on the delivery of something which he himself said during the referendum campaign was already a done deal.

“The ‘Tory trap’ is not the proposals on income tax which Gordon Brown talks about – it is the Tory trap which he and his colleagues are leading people into, in which the issue of more powers for Scotland becomes entangled in a row between factions of the Westminster establishment.

“Scotland has been promised very substantial new powers, regardless of Tory attempts to link the issue to that of English votes for English laws.

“Many of the people who voted No in the referendum did so in the belief that those new powers would be delivered, and that is what now must happen.”

Source : http://www.snp.org/media-centre/news/2014/sep/salmond-comments-browns-latest-proposals

251. Flower of Scotland

@majestic12

I completely agree with you about NO voters being middle aged, middle class ( invariably English). When I was out leafleting etc before the vote, some of the old, oldies were very much YES voters. I am surrounded by No voters and very much understand the demography. There is NO WAY some of these people will vote YES. They made their money being part of the UK……so I’m told!
    If anyone was at the Edinburgh Rally, you could see lots of oldies and middle class, middle age, people there. So we can’t blame any section of the voters!

We have to stop calling names except when they are politicians!

252. Ananurhing

There were two Azerbaijanis and a Scotsman in a bar. The two Azerbaijanis brought up the subject of indyref. They were well informed and asked the Scotsman how he would vote.

He went on at length on the need for independence, then asked for their thoughts.

One Azerbaijani said, “It’s simple. There are 2 types of country in the world. Those that produce oil, and those that need oil. Which kind of country do you want to be for the next hundred years?”

True story.

253. Ken500

Unionist councils are now trying to punish YES voters.

The Scottish Gov should get involved in cutting their budgets if they criminalise people.

254. One_Scot

The referendum was won based on a lie, therefore the result is not valid.

255. Helena Brown

I seem to be signing petitions right left and centre this morning, and happy to do so. The Newsnet one is particularly interesting and one I am certainly will trump the highjacked one of Gordon Brown.
    So I urge everyone to sign and Robert Louis has it on his comment of 9.47.
    Thanks Robert.

256. Helena Brown

Ken500, a difficult one because you could say that they are in the right in pursuing the money which was not paid and then the SNP would be in the wrong. I certainly say that they should not be rewarded, hence no extra money should be forthcoming, but then again hell and a hard place. How do you then assist those who need it?

257. Dorothy Devine

Flower , I have to agree with you – as a YESSER oldie myself.

The pleasure in the rallies I attended was to see the diversity of age of those present ,I really thought that it was something very, very special.
    I went on my own each time and never felt alone – just thoroughly enjoyed the companionship and sense of optimism, humour and solidarity.

258. Helena Brown

As an Auld person myself, no not yet in my seventies but hoping to get there. I said before the vote that there were a goodly amount of Auld folk on this page, and they were obviously passionate about seeing Scotland Independent. The Auld who voted NO will not be here forever but those that need educating are those much younger people who voted NO. Scared that their mortgages were going up, scared of the day they had never seen. We have made a start with them but if you pardon me saying we were far too positive about the future, we needed to remind them what Westminster were saying before the Referendum debate got going full tilt. We needed to remind them of continuing austerity which both Labour and the Tories and all the other minions promised. Now people on minimum wage and a wee bit larger will find they have even less money.
    I cannot get my head round what was going on in these peoples heads, maybe someone else can tell me?

259. Luke

@Roddy Macdonald says:
    30 September, 2014 at 9:18 pm
    Signed with the greatest of pleasure. Asked by a friend recently “Do we really want them to keep their supposed promises?” I answered:”No, because they actually promised nothing. However, watching them fail to deliver the nothing they promised can only be good for the cause.”

So, you would rather see policies reneged on for some twisted enjoyment than see them implemented and the lives of Scottish people improved? What is the cause? Nationalism at any cost or actual pragmatic positive changes to Scottish society?

260. Capella

O/T but fun
    A comment on the Newsnet article about unionists booing Alex Salmond as he handed over the trophy to the winning Europe Team at the Ryder cup.
    Loudon Wainright on golf
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=__aThul4ZHM

261. john king

I agree Dorothy, I went on the last freedom rally to Pacific Quay from Stirling via Strathclyde park and the warmth of feeling between everyone was probably the most moving thing I have ever experienced in my entire life.

262. Robert Peffers

@yesindyref2 says: 1 October, 2014 at 2:08 am:

“Sturgeon said: “The Westminster parties promised Scotland extensive new powers – no ifs or buts – and they are duty bound to deliver.

“Forty-five per cent of people voted for independence. The No campaign told the 55 per cent who voted No they were voting for Home Rule.

“Scotland needs the powers to create more jobs and build a fairer society and this petition can pressure Westminster politicians into fulfilling their vow to Scotland.”

Unless she’s thinking of another petition! Clarity, we need clarity.”

Sheesh! Nicola is talking about a referendum – not a petition.

The leaders of the Westminster parties made a joint public statement of devo MAX and Nicola is saying that is binding upon Westminster – nothing to do with petitions.

263. Breastplate

Robert Louis, I agree with you.
    I believe the newsnetscotland petition should be signed by everyone.
    It will be used as extra ammunition down the line to express why we will be having another referendum when they don’t deliver maximum devolution.

264. Robert Louis

The ONLY reason Scotland was ‘promised’ devo max by Westminster, was because it literally held a gun to Westminster’s head – the referendum. Now, going forward, we do need to push hard for EXACTLY what was promised, Devo MAX (everything apart from defence and foreign affairs).

This does not mean, however, we should consider a referendum off the table, as to do that takes the implicit gun away from Westminster’s head.

John Swinney needs to go into the Smith talks, all guns firing, demanding nothing less than what was promised, or else the referendum result is null and void thereby opening the possibility of another referendum. When you negotiate, you do not remove your biggest chip and stick it in your pocket, you keep it on the table, and use it to get what you were promised.

That is why the legitimate Newsnet Scotland petition is so good, as it makes it very clear exactly what powers were promised and need to be delivered, and also the implications of Westminster failing to deliver ON schedule.

“A failure to honour their pledge made to the Scottish people will be deemed a breach of contract and render the independence referendum result null and void”

Sign the petition here;

It has only just started, but needs you folks to sign it for it to be useful.

265. Macart

Done and done RL. 🙂

266. JBS

@Robert Peffers

My belief is that a sizeable proportion of those who voted No were leaning towards Yes in the fortnight before the referendum, only to be swayed back to No when the ‘Vow’ was produced. They really did believe that they could have ‘the best of both worlds’.

I share your disgust with Lamont, Brown, and Darling.

267. fred blogger

i’m not signing a petition demanding they honour the “VOW”.

268. Tommy Kane

signed Newsnet and Stu’s hope it helps

269. One_Scot

I thought I felt bad, but can you imagine what it must feel like being one of the hundreds of thousands of voters who were lied to and tricked into voting No, probably at a high cost to themselves as well. The thought of it is almost heart breaking.

270. Robert Peffers

@Jim Kennedy says: 1 October, 2014 at 3:26 am:

“Many in the Yes mob were warning each other that Darling was only a backbencher with no clout, and to ignore him. Up pops Gordon with the same status and keech, and they get Sooked in. Who is kidding who here?”

You are for starters. You are either a troll or you need to do a bit less woolly thinking.

The fact that Darling was a back bench MP from a party that was not in power was negated by the fact he was appointed by the official Better Together Alliance as their Number One leader. He thus spoke officially as the front man for the three main unionist parties . Plus, of course the Loyal Orange Order, UKIP, BNP, CBI and all their other minor bedfellows of the official Better Together. Tell me, though, Jim, what was the self-professed ex-politician Brown’s official status? Was he, or was he not, an officially appointed Better Together spokesperson?

As to your remarks about the First Minister, utter balderdash!

271. desimond

“..We believe in something bigger than ourselves—that we cannot be truly content while others face despair, cannot be completely at ease while others live in fear, cannot be satisfied while others are in sorrow” – Gordon Brown, St Pauls Cathedral 2009

Fuck him!

272. Macart

@desimond

Short and to the point.

I like it. 🙂

273. Betty Boop

@ majestic12, 7:30am

I hope the good burghers of Edinburgh and other leafy, comfortable enclaves around Glasgow are now happy with themselves for losing us our opportunity to have control over our own affairs and particularly issues like fracking, for very soon they may indeed lose everything as the ground literally shifts under their feet.

I don’t know if this self-interested demographic was efficiently targeted but they are the people we need to reach now. Demonising Gordon Brown, granny scarer and conniving puppet of the Tories though he be, is not going to have any effect on them, and they don’t read the Daily Record. Somehow we need to convince them that their financial interests would be better served by voting SNP at the GE. No easy task.

One of the points I took issue with during the campaign was that not enough attention was being paid to voters who were considered “comfortably off”, “computer savvy”, etc. I know that in our area, they were ignored for the most part during canvassing. I think “more seasoned campaigners” often got that wrong and treated the ref as they would a normal election between parties where there is little difference in policy. Many people look for information which confirms their opinions, so whether or not they are internet savvy, they may simply miss/avoid information which challenges pre-conceptions.

There seems to be nothing better than speaking face to face with people and/or attracting as many as possible to open meetings where they can listen and question. The debates were generally awful and descended into point scoring instead of discussion. If you can engage people in a proper discussion, they can be directed towards seeking further information via the net. Those people in their “leafy” enclaves, once they have their eyes opened, can and will disseminate information.

To that end, groups should continue to organise discussions which point out the benefits of being able to develop politics suitable for our country and advise of the dangers of being run remotely from Westminster.

Although I also met many older people who were convinced Yes voters, there were many others who did not even wish to think about the proposition. Our young people should be advised to visit their grannies and granddads, taking their laptops along with them. Tell them why they need to consider the future.

The issues which came up most often with no voters during canvassing was currency (a lot of ignorance, but, a deep attachment to the £) and how much would people benefit personally, pounds and pence please. Personal selfishness trumped a fairer society. That has to be overcome. Big task.

Perhaps the fracking agenda, when folks first realise what it might mean to their pocket in terms of buildings insurance, etc., their drinking water and other potential/probable damage will concentrate the minds somewhat.

274. Golfnut

Re Newsnet petition.
    I posted earlier that I signed this on the day it came out, however with all this activity re petitions I thought I would try to sign the Newsnet one again. I managed as far as the front page but would not allow me to progress further to sign.
    Please someone tell me this means I have already signed Newsnets.
    The thought that I might have signed up with broon and the record is appalling.
    It is also occurs to me that the method used by the record is nothing short of deceitful.

275. piggy

Who is the man?

The man who denied a country self determination.

What is he saying to the people of Scotland?

Help ME and the BRITISH LABOUR PARTY.

And what do the people of Scotland say?

You deceived us and left us alone as we fought the OPPRESSION OF WESTMINSTER.

You colluded with THE TORIES, THE BRITISH LABOUR PARTY and THE LIBERAL PARTY to PREVENT SCOTLAND from helping its own people. The sick, the needy, the poor and those who seek work and learning were DENIED BY YOU and your collective deceit.

276. boris

UK lax tax laws provide a myriad of loopholes which are widely used for tax avoidance and the Treasury is losing many billions of tax revenues each and every year.

http://caltonjock.com/2014/10/01/closing-the-loopholes-would-provide-tax-revenues-sufficient-to-permanently-eliminate-the-annual-deficit-and-leave-enough-as-reduce-the-national-debt/

277. Ken509

The irony Brown accuses Cameron of ‘setting a trap’. Brown really is an idiot.

More misuse of Scottish taxpayers money £2.5Billon spent on nuclear subs at Faslane, instead of a Scottish navy.

278. Betty Boop

@ Golfnut, 11:07am

Golfnut, if you have signed the petition, the word SIGNED along with a tick should appear in the screen on the top right of the petition page.

279. Capella

@Golfnut if you signed the 38 degrees Gordon Brown backed petition you will have an email from them thanking you. Also, same with newsnet petition which will have a change.org email confirming.

280. Robert Peffers

@Robert Louis says: 1 October, 2014 at 9:04 am:

“Too many freaking concern trolls on here, for my liking. Getting bleeping silly.”

If it types like a troll, if it looks like a troll, if it smells like a troll – it most probably is a troll and should be starved to death of the attention it needs to survive.

Having said that, I too disparaged the troll. I really should know better.

281. HandandShrimp

I know I raised this yesterday but are we as a distinct body going to make representations to the Smith Commission?

Personally, I would like to see full devolution, including defence and foreign affairs…..just saying like.

282. Golfnut

@betty boop & capella.
    Thanks, just checked emails, nothing from 38degrees.
    Btw sorry to everyone for the sometime missed words and spelling. This not easy on a phone keyboard.

283. Robert Peffers

@Nana Smith says: 1 October, 2014 at 9:19 am:

You are so correct Robert. I know several elderly folks who voted YES gladly. My friend helps run a service collecting prescriptions etc for the elderly in her village where the majority voted YES

For crying out loud, Nana Smith, if it were not for we old folks who stuck with the SNP through the lean years and when the Establishment security services had us targeted as extremists and when they were murdering such activists as Willie MacRae, there wouldn’t have been an independence movement today.

284. bookie from hell

Cameron

Britain,flag country

sparrow#indyref

285. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“So, you would rather see policies reneged on for some twisted enjoyment than see them implemented and the lives of Scottish people improved?”

No. We’d rather see their promises reneged on because all of them would be cripplingly disastrous for Scotland, for reasons this site has painstakingly detailed.

286. Morag

How’s the petition doing guys? The old browser on my work computer (that I can’t update) won’t load change.org.

287. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Whilst there is no doubt the man is a twat, we should still sign his petition. It is imperative we keep up the pressure on Westminster to deliver on their promises.”

No it isn’t. If they deliver on them it’ll cost Scotland billions of pounds and all the gains of devolution so far will be lost.

288. Geoff Huijer

Best petition I hve ever had the pleasure of signing.

This lowlife deserves no respect and it is about time he was told to in such stark terms.

The man is a self-serving, odious, disgrace of a human being. My Alzheimers suffering, pensioner mum was robbed of her 11 stone diamond engagement ring in a (soon to close) locked hospital ward – I wrote to him as my local MP (registered post) & got no reply. After weeks of trying to make contact I met a minion in his office who told me ‘health is not Gordon’s remit’. Months later his sppeech at Adam Smith Graduation Day (mainly nurses graduating) he went on a ramble about how great the NHS & he was.

Then he scares pensioners in indyref by telling them their pensions are under threat if Yes wins!

Yeah, he can fuck right off.

289. Robert Peffers

@One_Scot says:1 October, 2014 at 9:48 am:

“I cannot believe we have been stitched up and they are getting away with it.”

You had better believe it, One_Scot, I’m an old independence warrior, been at it since a schoolboy way back in 1946. You’ll get used to being let down by your fellow Scots – the first 20 times are the worst. Thing is this time we really are within touching distance and there really is something different this time.

Previous independence setbacks for the SNP always saw party membership and elected members decrease after the defeat. Not this time, though. Membership of the party now stands at over 75,000 and still rising. That means, this time and for the first time I can remember, defeat is not only not being accepted by a few like myself but by both existing members and those who were never members before.

Never mind petitions – look at the numbers signing up to continue the fight – how much plainer is that message to the Westminster Establishment? It not only comes from the SNP either, for the other independence parties are gaining members too. It says to them –“There is a vast army of people in Scotland your lies have failed to convince! Tick! Tock! Tick! Tock! Tick! Tock!”

290. GG

Morag says:

1 October, 2014 at 11:59 am
    How’s the petition doing guys

:o) Closing in on 9000 when I checked

291. Morag

Thanks GG. Occasional updates would be appreciated.

292. Lollysmum

@ Morag
    Petition is at 8758

293. pipinghot

Robert Louis. Petition signed,

The No’s I have talked to have all been people with private pensions/savings/interests and not necessarily OAP’s. Indeed the first two people we met at the poll were OAP friends who hoped we were “doing the right thing” for Scotland by voting yes. It was the media that lost this for us plain and simple. Any future hard work will just be undermined by them again and again until things change. An unbiased media would have asked what powers do these people have to be offering us the moon on a stick and easily ridiculed them.
    I think the SNP just need to stick to there guns and adopt an all or nothing approach, as we are (or should be) in a powerful position at the moment, and the BBC should be held to account if possible.

294. Haggis Hunter

Gordon Brown, the man just prior to being PM, who quoted his favourite sporting moment being when England put Scotland out of the European cup.
    He is the prince of all dickheads

295. Molly

Oh Haggis hunter please hashtag that – the Prince of all dickheads #GordonBrown

296. Haggis Hunter

Sorry bout the language Molly.
    Gordon Brown# Prince of all Dickheads

297. Molly

Haggis hunter
    That’s more like it !! Sometimes you just got to say it , like it is ha ha

298. jackie g

Caller on radio Scotland this morning:

Alex Salmond is coming out with more of his lies. I have just checked back on what Mr Brown offered during the referendum, and at no time did he say it was a “done deal”, or anything like it. Salmond likes to invent things and claim them as facts.

Eh? will these people never learn..aaagh

299. Robert Peffers

@Helena Brown says: 1 October, 2014 at 10:13 am:
    “a difficult one because you could say that they are in the right in pursuing the money which was not paid and then the SNP would be in the wrong. “

Like everything else, Helena, there are always more ways than one of looking at anything. Here’s another to consider – People went to prison over fighting against the Poll Tax, (Ask Tommy about that), and the Scots were fighting the unfair tax with civil disobedience. It was mainly due to their actions that the Poll Tax was recognized as unfair and ended. The correct government action should haver been an amnesty for the fighters.

The Poll Tax was replaced by an, almost as bad, Council Tax and, (mainly Labour controlled), councils were badly run and instead of getting their funding by other means just kept escalating the Council Tax. Then the SNP gained power at Holyrood and they froze the Council tax . Now bear in mind that councils funding is not mainly from the council Tax but from charges for council services, business rates, grants from Holyrood and even parking charges & parking fines.

With all that in mind consider this – most of the people now claiming the councils are right to use the electoral roll to pursue the old poll tax fines dodgers, have since benefited the most from that Council Tax freeze the ones now being pursued for the debt fought for.

These complaining people are mainly self described, “Middle Class”, better offs and thus in better homes and thus get a larger share of those SNP government grants that others fought for. In other words they are NO voting bloody hypocrites.

300. Robert Peffers

@Luke says: 1 October, 2014 at 10:23 am:

@Roddy Macdonald says:
    30 September, 2014 at 9:18 pm

“So, you would rather see policies reneged on for some twisted enjoyment than see them implemented and the lives of Scottish people improved? What is the cause? Nationalism at any cost or actual pragmatic positive changes to Scottish society?”

Look, Luke, are you only just a poor quality troll or just naturally stupid? Whichever it is you obviously fail to understand just what was said. BTW: This time the People of Scotland are not accepting the lies and underhand tactics that the Westminster Establishment used to win the referendum vote. This time the independence movement is not going away as witnessed by the great surge in membership of the SNP, Greens, SSP, Labour for Indy and every other independence seeking organ. Tick! Tock!Tick! Tock! Tick! Tock! Tick! Tock!
    This time Unionists we are not going away — you are. Tick! Tock!Tick! Tock! Tick! Tock! Tick! Tock!

301. StevieMcB

Please if you have signed the misleading petition at Change.org,
    find the confirmation email with the date signed and complain through their contact form.

302. Edward

IF, and its a very big IF, the unionists were serious about ‘Devo Max’ along federalised lines, then they would be copying the Canadian model of federalism, which some (I think the Libdems) have been touting.

But they will not ever do that, not in a million years will they do that. Why? Well quite simply in the Canadian model all provinces are responsible for all tax raising powers AND they are also responsible for ALL mineral wealth and controlling the revenues raised for those mineral wealth’s.

Provinces like Labrador, which has vast offshore Oil and Gas, keep all revenues and make a contribution to Ottawa to cover defence and foreign affairs.

For further reading http://www.capp.ca/getdoc.aspx?DocID=176807

But, as mentioned it will not happen, as Westminster want to control the oil wealth and any other wealth to prop up London. It was always about the Oil

303. John Dickson (@NkosiEcosse)

Signed 9017 and counting

304. Bugger (the Panda)

Is Luke a federation cultist?

305. ianbeag

The Union dividend from Better Together has started to deliver! £100 million to develop the dockyard at Portsmouth and 800 jobs to go on the Clyde. We told you so!
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-glasgow-west-24831779

306. yesindyref2

Morag
    You get a page from change.org telling you to upgrade your browser, but if you hit refresh it gives the proper page with the petition. Annoying but there you go.

Robert Peffers
    If you re-read the apparent quote from Sturgeon she clearly says petition, not referendum, and in the context of what she says, referendum would make no sense. I wish the SNP would clarify that – I’m prepared to trust their judgement.

307. Morag

Thanks, yesindyref2. I’m not sure how much I want to visit that page at work anyway, given the language!

9,219 at the moment. 10,000 seems eminently feasible, even if 100,000 might be a bridge too far.

308. Dorothy Devine

Bugger , that’s the polite way of putting it.

309. Dexter

No, I will not be signing his poxy petition !
    As the title suggests…………
    Gordon Brown, Go Fuck Yourself

310. yesindyref2

StevieMcB
    The misleading petition isn’t the one at change.org, it’s the one at 38degrees. Change.org is the one that says, basically, “Federalism / Devo-MAx or else re-run the referendum”. It has teeth, the 38degrees one probably has Labour.

311. yesindyref2

ianbeag
    That’s from 6 November 2013, it’s old news.
    What I’m waiting for is the Type 26 contract which was scheduled to be announced in December. Once that’s done and dusted, it’s one less cudgel for the Unionists to use – they’re hardly likely to take the contract away from Scotstoun once started – same as the QE at Rosyth.

Morag
    Yes, I didn’t sign because of that – I’d have to use my real name! The NNS petition looks OK though, and at least it’s a verifiable pro-indy source.

312. StevieMcB

OOps sorry ive got petition confusion, of course i meant 38 Degrees.

313. gordon

Let’s do another petition but with more temporate language…!

314. bald eagle

new laptop just testing does this laptop make my ears look big

315. Tom Keatings

I voted YES for Independence,the SNP is the party for Independence.It should pour scorn on Devomax because its a poisoned chalice.It will result in tax raising powers which will be needed to combat austerity,effectively shifting the blame to Holyrood from Westminster,devo whatever without control over this nations resources is a croc of shit,back to living off of handouts from Westminster at a time of severe austerity you have to ask ,what handouts?Independence for me and to hell with Devomax.

316. TJenny

bald eagle:

‘new laptop just testing does this laptop make my ears look big’?

No, but it makes your WINGS look huge. Which is no bad thing. 😉

317. StevieMcB

Camerons truth Rap by @cassetteboy 😀

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0YBumQHPAeU&feature=youtu.be

318. yesindyref2

Tom Keatings
    If the SNP go into the Smith Commission saying “Independence or nothing”, then they will be discredited by the simple line “55% in the Referendum said NO”. As well as not connectng with many of that 55%, they could hack off a fair number of the 45% who voted YES because they didn’t trust Westminster to deliver – up to one-third perhaps.

On the other hand, by denying it, Ruth Davidson has already set the upper limit of what Smith could achieve, i.e. Devo-Max / Federalism. Always use your opponent’s words to throw back at them. Ruth has acknowledged and implicitly accepted now that Smith can discuss right up to Devo-Max or a Federal UK, by the very act of denying it unilaterally.

If it’s not delivered, more of the 55% will hopefully join the 45%, and that’s what it’s all about over the next 2 years, or 5 years. And GE 2015 🙂 It’s about sweet-talking the NOes over to YES.

319. Morag

We don’t need another petition. Stu’s one is for those of us who despise Brown utterly and want to vent. Language is an essential part of that. And I did sign it, but from my home computer.

The one put up by NNS seems admirable, and if anyone wants to sign a serious petition that would seem to be the one to go for. It doesn’t have many signatures yet, so get to it.

320. David Stevenson

I have received email from 38 degrees on the “bad” petition previously and blanked them as I agree with the general view expressed in this thread, but I received another today asking me to sign it. They boast 90,000 signatures including Nicola Sturgeon. Despite that, I still won’t be signing. Signed the superior NNS one though.

321. seanair

Very confused, but will sign the NNS petition because I don’t want to be aligned in any way with GB, especially if he is being punted as the originator of the 38degrees petition by such as the DR.
    Interesting to note that the DR lists BROWN’s proposals, which are a long way away from what the 45% want, e.g. partial income tax and VAT. Not bloody likely!

322. Proud Cybernat

How Now Brown Vow?

323. Auld Rock

Just signed petition for El Gordo to resign – God what have I done – he just might then turn-up in Holy Rood. Aaaaaarrrrrrgggggghhhhhh. Mea Culpa

Auld Rock

324. Cadogan Enright

I wonder how many people moaning about oldies and English NO voters in the posts above actually went out canvassing? I worked in the Findhorn / Forres area, and most of the people canvassing with me were either oldies or ‘English Scots for Independence’. We also had an Italian convenor of the local green party, a Swede, German, Irishx2 and several other Nationalities. Our best canvassers were English. (apart from me of course;)

It was clear to me that the YES campaign failed to find a key to overturning the FEAR weapon used by the NO campaign against older peoples pensions. We need to learn from this, not bitch about it. Figure out how to tackle this better, after the 53 Scottish Unionist MP’s are massacred next May, and as part of the next push for independence in 2015 and 2016.

MORAG – the petition below appears much better that Stuarts; maybe we should be asking Stuart to promote it?

We, the undersigned, call on the Labour party, together with their Better Together allies the Conservatives and the Lib Dems, to commit to devolving all powers with the exception of Foreign Affairs and Defence. This commitment to be enforced through legislation prior to the 2015 May General Election.

Please make a point of signing this legitimate petition the link is here;

325. Morag

That’s the NNS petition. Indeed, it’s worded very well. I don’t usually sign these things at all because I think they’re a waste of time (exception for Stuart’s one because that was kind of the point) but I think I will sign NNSs.

Shame it was the flaky one that got all the signatures.

326. Morag

OK, signed it.

327. Bill Halliday

Consider for a moment. Before Brown the No Camp were telling us that Barnett/Scottish funding was rock solid safe, ‘ring fenced’ if there was a ‘No’ Vote. Even that enraged the Electorate in England. So they had to do something to make certain if there was a ‘No’ vote that Barnet/Scottish funding could be ‘unprotected’. That meant it had to become part of ‘negotiations’. How? Usher in Brown and Devo Max, Devo Plus, New Powers, Federilism, Home Rule etc. All of them need negotiation and open the road to slashing Scottish Funding.
    And now Brown wants us to help him ‘force’ them to do it.

328. A. Mylchreest

Thinking about the problem with currency and ‘older’ people, (well many people really) is that it’s not inconceivable that an Indy Scotland would need its own currency sooner or later, and the SNP simply refused to explain how this might be achieved if/when the need arose, what the practical consequences would be etc. The point being that the UK has always had the pound so there is no one with experience of how establishing a new currency would work. This is in contrast to many European countries which have changed currency or had to re-establish their existing one once or twice at least within living memory. No doubt the experts all know what would be involved but most of us haven’t a clue. Hence without a clear Plan B being spelled out uncertainty abounded. Now, I’d be willing to take the risk that it would all come right on the night, since Independence would IMO be worth taking the chance. But I still don’t know how it would work. What would happen to my bank a/c at an RBS branch in Glasgow. What would happen if I moved my a/c to an English branch of the same bank, and so on. I haven’t a clue and no one has tried to explain the mechanics of the process. Small wonder many less committed people were easily persuaded that Indy was a giant leap in the dark.

329. The eyes have it

Brown eye. Just about sums him up.

330. WrinkleyReborn

I had assumed that AS was being responsible in respect of currency believing as I do that by Scotland removing itself from the pound would have caused insabiltity the would have created havoc with the pound. Westminster’s stance was merely to place a barrier in the path of democracy. Perhaps the SNP/Indy team should have gone for blood and guts but that would have detered some Yes voters who’s issues were with Westminster not the English, Welsh or Irish.

331. Michelle

Only about 3,400 signatures to go!

332. Will Podmore

Very mature – blame somebody else for your defeat by the majority of Scottish people. You had your chance, you can’t really claim that you never got your point across, you did – Salmond was not exactly invisible – but you didn’t convince the majority.
    A nation that doesn’t believe itself to be a nation is not a nation. You are part of Britain, now let’s work together to improve Britain. How many of you are active in your trade union? If you’re not, you should be. That’s the way forward, not petty, mean-spirited attacks on individuals.

333. David

Butbutbut Will, surely as a proud Brit you should be happy at the use of Anglo-Saxon language on the Rev’s petition…

334. Soda

Lets start a new petition entitled:

Will Podmore: Go…

Well, y’all know the rest.

335. Stoker

Petition signed – now lets get this message put across.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.