A significant escalation

Posted on September 01, 2014 by

Last week, Yes voters only hated their families, not Scotland.

hatekids

This week it’s both. Can you feel the fear, readers?

185 to “A significant escalation”

1. oor tell

i love scotland and my kids thats why im saying a big fat YES

2. JPFife

Don’t feel the fear, but can smell the desperation.

3. JimmyC

are those from official No camp?

4. Moreida Lord

They keep complaining about others telling them ‘how can you love Scotland and vote No’ – so in a rather feeble attempt at reverse psychology, they are now suggesting that all of us Yes supporters do not love Scotland – Pathetic and rather insulting. I love Scotland – a great deal – the opportunities I have enjoyed are purely down to me being in this wonderful Country and contribute to its success. For the love of my family, my friends and Scotland – I am more that ever committed to YES!

5. Colin Erskine

I think that’s Greenock?

6. MJack

OMG can they insult me anymore?

7. M4rkyboy

The depths they will plough know no end.
    Surely one of the most despicable political campaigns in history?

8. Onwards

Just play them at their own game.
    Posters with “YES FOR SCOTLAND”

The obvious implication is – who is NO for?

9. Dan Huil

I wonder if any of the grown-up models in these pictures are actually Yes voters?

10. fred blogger

i wonder if they bothered to scrape the previous posters off?!
    http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/politics/controversial-go-home-vans-persuaded-just-11-illegal-immigrants-to-leave-britain-8916287.html
    still it’s pleasing to know that these posters trucks weren’t a total waste of taxpayers money, not.

11. heedtracker

We love our kids and want them to pay their own college and uni fees, plus rent etc. Its fine because its all loans anyway and they won’t have to pay their loan back unless they earn over £21k a year, like that’s ever going to happen in teamGB:D

Vote NO for four more UKOK £100+bn nuke strike subs in Faslane, Argyle. They’re worth it.

12. JPFife

I was helping Yes Cardenden at the Cardenden Gala yesterday. The Better Together stall were flying the saltire. We heard that they had been told not to use the Union flag as it is harming their campaign. Here say I know but a good laugh nonetheless.

13. Onwards

I just don’t get the ‘Proud Scot But’ attitude at all.

Basically saying “I’m a proud Scot, but I don’t think we could govern our own country.”

Its like saying 2 + 2 = 5.

14. JLT

Aye …good luck with that. Another abysmal failure…

15. horacesaysyes

I haven’t got any kids – does that mean it’s still fine for me to vote Yes?

16. Les Wilson

Do not worry they will get more desperate as the day comes nearer. Sure sign they are losing.

17. heedtracker

I love my kids so Im voting NO Thanks. I send my offspring to future Lord Darling’s alma mater Lorretto in Edinburgh. Its a bally good investment at only £25k a year per head. So when our future Chancellor of the Exchequers/socialist workers do decide to go to university, £9 grand a year is going to be rather good value for money.

http://www.lorettoschool.co.uk/

18. CameronB Brodie

I think No Better Together Thanks are just trying to cover all the bases with this rather modern family. 🙂

19. Wp

If it doesn’t happen, (I know it will,it will) it will be so embarrassing going abroad and all they countries laughing at us.

20. BuckieBraes

But these slogans work beautifully – ‘No thanks’ to Westminster rule. Nothing to disagree with there.

What? That’s not what they mean…?

21. Graeme Reid

When Scotland goes independent do you think they will invest in more immigrants go home fear advertising? Profiling and questioning anybody with ginger hair glugging on IRN BRU? Bloody foreigners. Eh.

22. John Dickson (@NkosiEcosse)

In my most humble opinion a No vote means I cannot look after myself, I do not have the self belief that my fellow Scots and I are capable of running our country. On the other hand I firmly believe that I can look after myself, I have been doing it for 58 years. I firmly believe that my fellow Scots are more than capable of running our country.

23. Tommy Kane

The pictures have been staged at the Beacon Arts Centre in Greenock, apparently Flipper was in town today.

Its ironic that the Beacon is built on the former Lamont’s shipyard that provided employment for decades before the Lower Clyde was decimated.

It is also adjacent to Customhouse Quay where thousands of Scots embarked for Canada, Australia, USA etc. seeking to survive the clearances and other disasters that befell Scotland

24. paul gerard mccormack

Given that the only ‘message’ given out by the no campaign is fear, negativity, lies and coercion, surely the only logical next step to this ‘message’ will be and already is violence and the threat of it? as witnessed by the notably ‘proportionate’ torching of a yes shop in Glasgow.

25. semus

NO Thanks to their weans?
    Have they never heard of condoms?Oh if only Mr Blair,Brown,Cameron Osborne et al had worn condoms…..and as for Mr Murphy the egg would have remained intact.

26. jim watson

The vans are indeed in Greenock – as is Alistair Darling as well. There was a third van but I am not sure what it says – was only given the information second hand that there were three vans there.

I could go down and quietly look but that might be taken to be inflammatory, intimidating and potentially a threat to public order. One section 14 notice per week is more than enough for me…

27. bookie from hell

daily politics

0 about Scotland

walofs

28. Papadox

We love our kids were saying no thanks TO AUSTERITY, PRIVATISATION OF THE SCOTTISH NHS, UNIVERSITY FEES £ 9000 PA, FREE CARE FOR THE ELDERLY, POVERTY. & FOODBANKS. WE DONT WANT THE KIDS FUTURE SQUANDERED ON LONDON’s EGO.

THATS WHY WE ARE VOTING TO GET RID OF THESE PARASITES.

ps does look like custom house quay Greenock.

29. Iain Gray's Subway Lament

Can you imagine the fury from the unionist press and westminster politicians if Yes responds with the simple truth from a great many scottish voters.

“OF COURSE I’M VOTING YES, I’M SCOTTISH!”

Put that up on billboards with smiling happy proud scots from all walks of life and then we’ll see just how much westminster panics.

30. Thomas William Dunlop

The incredible shrinking No……….

31. IcySpark

Brilliant

BT have finally told us what ‘The Best of BOTH Worlds’ really means 😉

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BwcipQeCUAAYZVr.jpg

32. eezy

I hate Scotland, so I’m voting YES!

33. heedtracker

If it doesn’t happen, (I know it will,it will) it will be so embarrassing going abroad and all they countries laughing at us.

I got guaranteed that if we lose, at every single Scotland/England game, Wembley or Hampden, Flower of Scotland will be sung by the England crowds.

34. gillie

I hate Scotland, my family and friends – so it is a YES from me too.

35. CameronB Brodie

IcySpark
    That was quick work. 😉

36. Papadox

Re my post 1:05 pm

Correction 3 kids £9000 each = £2700 pa or £81000 for a degree (3 years)

Who the f*** can pay that? Go on no’s think of your kids and grand kids.

37. SteveW

Are they really saying that no matter the amount of enthusiam, skill, experience, drive and energy employed by the people living in Scotland to make this country better, it can never be as good as being run from Westminster?

38. Brisbane

I can sense the change, even from here.

39. Kirsten

I’m absolutely loving the NO thanks campaign. I’m surprised they’ve not attempted the claim “we’ve been hacked” yet 😉 They’re doing a sterling job of pushing the undecideds and even staunch NO voters in the YES direction.

40. Indy_Scot

I don’t know much about Duncan Hothersall, but does anyone know if he is playing with a full deck.

41. Lesley-Anne

WARNING!

For the safety of all keyboards and computer monitors across the world would all readers of the following post please desist from all eating and drinking until AFTER reading Thank You!

She’s BAD she’s MAD, THWACK she’s BACK! 😉

Stand by your beds folks!
    Just when you thought it was safe to come out from underneath your nice warm and SAFE duvets she, HER of the village idiot title protectorate, has returned! 😛

By way of *ahem* explanation here is a copy of an e-mail I sent goldenayr earlier. 😉

I’ve had a few wee *ahem* problems but I’ve got over them, sort of, so I’m back in fighting fettle now.

I just reached the point where I wanted to hit something, or someone, over the constant negativity in the papers and the news channels from Better whatsit. I just needed a break from everything regarding the referendum, or at least as much of everything as I could avoid. I’m not normally violent, as you know from my posts on Wings , but if anyone from Better whatsit came to my door I’d probably be writing this from inside prison now!

I had also hit the proverbial wall with regard to big American business trying to take over the world, Microsoft, Google, Facebook and Twitter to be precise!

I am NOT a number I am a person!

Still I’ve got most of this out of my system now so I’m back to kicking earse!

Sorry for the anxiety to everyone!

And now for my final act of the day I’ll disappear along to the “Darkened Room” whilst this post enters administration awaiting our dear leader’s decision about what to do with this excellent example of how NOT to behave on WOS! 😀

42. heedtracker

Who the f*** can pay that? Go on no’s think of your kids and grand kids.

You also need to add say £5k a year student living expenses to that total, unless they live at home, which a lot of Scottish students do, for obviuos reasons.

The main thing about privatising the NHS. further and higher education etc is it’s all completely fine if you’re wealthy. School and uni fees, private health insurance, all great value for money and no waiting around in that frightful NHS Q.

So vote NO Thanks, get more “powers”, get rich in teamGB, you’re alright jack.

Catchy?

43. Indy_Scot

Apparently he is voting for Scotland to have no future.

44. Lesley-Anne

As my last post did, as predicted, enter administration, I’d just like to say this … (This is actually from the post that never made it past our great leader’s administration rules!)

WARNING!

For the safety of all keyboards and computer monitors across the world would all readers of the following post please desist from all eating and drinking until AFTER reading Thank You!

She’s BAD she’s MAD, THWACK she’s BACK! 😉

Stand by your beds folks!
    Just when you thought it was safe to come out from underneath your nice warm and SAFE duvets she, HER of the village idiot title protectorate, has returned! 😛

45. heedtracker

@ Lesley-Anne, you make me laugh!

46. goldenayr

“With Ukip getting its first MEP in Scotland in May – David Coburn – Mr McNarry said the party had been working “quietly and effectively” for a pro-union outcome. But he admits he is not convinced about the result”

Read the rest here.

http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/local-national/uk/scottish-independence-so-what-do-our-unionist-politicians-believe-will-happen-30551321.html

It’s both scary and hilarious.

47. Macart

@Lesley-Anne

Welcome back kiddo. 😀

Just finished a wee job for South Annan YES with your photie all over it. Hope you’ve got your copy waiting. 🙂

As for that appalling bollocks above the line…

… for the sake of my screen I may vent outside.

48. Nana Smith

@Lesley-Anne

Welcome home….missed your comments the last wee while.

49. IheartScotland

Why do some Scots hate their own folk so much? They don’t,it’s what Westminster want us to believe. Divide and rule….

50. Lesley-Anne

Oh I’m sorry heedtracker. I hope you get over it soon. 😛

Whilst I was looking at the photo of those dear dear extremely confused people in the posters I could not help but start to wonder if they were really voting NO. I mean we all know about the family in that ultra informative Better Whatsit pamphlet thingy who were voting NO but are actually voting YES. So my question is are these people in the ads REALLY voting NO or, as in the pamphlet photo, were they duped to posing for the photo too?

Just a wee outside the box kinda thought you understand. 😉

51. Helena Brown

The only fear I am smelling is coming from the Better Together types. The guy at my door wasn’t handing me his leaflet for fear he might have it flung in his face which I think may be a common occurrence. I would hardly think it was the cost, the Tories are paying.
    May I say I agree with IheartScotland, divide and rule has been working since the Romans practised it and the English love the Romans, though I notice they love all their Conquerors, maybe we should have?

52. heedtracker

http://www.lorettoschool.co.uk/fees2-1599.html#10897 Flipper’s old school boarding costs almost £10,000 a term, 12 to 18 years, £30k x 6 years =£180,000 plus expenses makes it probably over £200 grand a pupil. Loretto Junior school is a little cheaper though.

So vote No Thanks as £9k a year for a good degree really is peanuts and Trident 2.0 will keep us all safe and being run by another country that’s far better at it than we Scots could ever do.

53. laukat

I think what you are seeing with this is proof positive that the NO campaign has lost the debate and is running on empty.

Today’s front page scare story in the Herald regarding potential trouble at polling booths seems to have moved the scare stories on from “Here’s some scary stuff that will happen if you vote Yes” to “Here’s some scary stuff that will happen if you vote”

The stench of desperation from the No Campaign is overpowering!

54. Lesley-Anne

Thanks for that Macart.

When we decided to do the wee newspaper I had a wee voice saying that you might be involved. Don’t worry though I’m still taking my daily meds for the wee voice thingy, doc says I’ll be over the worst of it soon! 😛

Thanks Nana.
    I hope my moderated post gets de-moderated soon, it had a wee sort of explanation, well I call it an explanation don’t know what everyone else will call it though. 😛 (I’m trying to keep this post clean you understand 😉 )

55. joemcg

oh dear,this is now definitely the most despicable political campaign in world history.

56. Macart

When you see such a horrendous message and inference used as a political strategy you know the source is running on empty. All they’ve had, all they’ve ever had to peddle is fear. We’re done with that and we’re done with being told this far and no further.

After this most recent slap from our ‘elders and betters’, try and bloody stop me from getting to that polling station.

57. Les Wilson

Welcome back Lesley, we have been missing you!

58. joemcg

soap box murphy back in action on princes street tomorrow.Go or stay away? could be another attempt to smear the yes side.

59. GG

Launching the Patronising Woman video –
    Better Together campaign director Blair McDougall said: “The key factor for people isn’t the love of our country – as both Yes and No voters love Scotland. The key factor is the love of our families.”

…not a key factor BUT lets’ chuck it in there anyway we’ve nothing else.

60. HandandShrimp

Bit startled and pleasantly surprised by the sudden blossoming of Yes badges. The campaign suddenly feels like it has Wings (other products are available with that catchphrase).

61. Ananurhing

This must have been brainstormed along with the ” Patronising BT lady “, and we all know how well that went. Same sentiment from the bottom of the same empty barrel.

62. Dcanmore

umm there’s no branding on those (desperate) adverts, more Tory cash down the drain from a bunch of failed Labour campaign ‘experts’. 🙂

63. Helena Brown

I have just come back from a River Cruise which started in Budapest and ended in Amsterdam, so I was very lucky to be with a lot of people who knew very little about the Referendum. Well they know lots now. Stopped off in Slovakia, no not Slovenia, but I did meet a lady with loads of Slovenian Relatives, so Heedtracker’s girlfriend is definitely not normal.
    Bratislava is looking good for a country new to Independence, totally new to Independence, always belongs to someone else till now. You want to see the Embassies. the US have a miniature White House and even GB have one as well as the Iraqi’s and the Japanese. So I now know what a normal country looks like.

64. Helena Brown

HandandShrimp, came along the road in Dunfermline this morning and low and behold a brilliant white YES on the opposite side of the road from the Big Red one. Nice to see.

65. Macart

I wonder if Holy Dougie came up with this divisive, patronising pile of manure too?

66. Lesley-Anne

I’ve just seen this over on my partner’s Facebook page. Perhaps YES could stick it on the side of a poster van with NO THANKS underneath it and the words “Coming to a maternity ward near you soon.” above it! 😉

http://tinyurl.com/paj3uf4

67. donald anderson

Emails I get from the States seems positive and they say we should state our case to foxnews.com

68. Nana Smith

Good grief how to get a campaign overwhelmingly wrong.

If I were Saatchi and Saatchi I would not want to be identified with this crud. Wonder if they are regretting helping the nothanks/nohopers.

69. Ian Brotherhood

Just back from Irvine Yes shop, renewing stocks.

Couple came in. Man is firm Yes, wife DK. Their son is likely to require a lung transplant at some point in the next decade. She’d heard that the arrangements would change post-yes.

Cue WBB, relevant page…she left five minutes later, 100% Yes, much to the delight of her man.

Stupid question – did Gordon Brown ever apologise for that particularly rancid lie?

70. X_Sticks

I love Scotland so much I’M GOING TO VOTE FOR IT.

71. Marco McGinty

Going off topic, but there’s just been a report on the BBC news about the voting numbers for the referendum, and I must say that I am slightly concerned about it. The reporter was heard to say “The latest official figures, which are from last month, admittedly show that nearly 4.2 million people in Scotland have registered to vote, and over 680,000 may do so by post.”

The Scottish population in 2013 stood at 5,327,700. If we take away the 4.2 million already registered, and the estimated 680,000 still to register, that would leave an under 16 demographic of just under 450,000.

The last census in 2011, had a population of 0-14 year olds at 855,000, and I would imagine that with the inclusion of the 14-16yo age group ineligible to vote, the total would be closer to 1 million.

So, has Scotland lost half a million under 16s in the last three years, and gained an extra half a million adults in that same period. Something doesn’t add up.

72. Ken500

Are the models voting YES or do they not have a vote.

73. liz

@joemcg – the man’a a disgrace I would steer clear unless you could stand quietly a bit behind him with a big poster with all his expenses claims- I hear it was £1m since he took office.

74. Ananurhing

Have to tell you about a couple of recent converts.

I’ve gone from being scathingly intolerant of DKs, to digging deep on my reserves of patience. With remarkable success. Last 2 weeks my recent converts have included 2 NHS professionals, an Episcopalian Church busy body, a Standard Life rising star, and the one I’m most proud of, a guy who until 2 years ago was an office bearer in a southern English Tory party constituency.

He was particularly refreshing in his honesty regarding his ignorance, his No leanings, his prejudice, and his admission of failing to properly inform himself.

People like him are beyond the official Yes message, the SNP, and probably most of what I can say to them. But I’ve found if I can get them to just take a wee peek at places such as Wings and the WBB, Newsnet, Derek Bateman etc, it brings credibility and gravitas to the campaign in a way the official camps can’t for whatever reason.

All the people I’ve mentioned are now solid Yes. One has even become quite strident in her new found certainty and castigates her work mates for their ignorance and regurgitated platitudes.

And for the first time in my life ever, a gay Tory has made my heart sing.

We’re winning this.

75. Hewitt83

History is a fierce judge and it will look back on this lot and laugh.

I look forward to telling the grandchildren in 30 years time about the laughable movement called ‘Better Together’ that tried to prevent Scotland being independent.

76. WIred of Hermiston

Aside from the emptiness and pointlessness of the slogan, it doesn’t work on any level as a piece of campaign propaganda. It will only confirm to hardened No voters who hate anyone not holding their opinion that they are doing the right thing, while alienating everyone else. Another insulting failure.

77. Edulis

That piece in the Belfast Telegraph (see above) reminds me of Alistair Darling’s words that “We have to win well” to put all this constitutional discussion behind us.

In that vain Alistair you have already lost. There is no way that the movement to Independence is going to be silenced by a slim ‘No’ vote. On the other hand, it will all be a lot simpler if we just got on with it and got a 60:40 Yes which is what I have always predicted since 2012.

78. Stair

It is really quite simple. Patriotism is about political, social and cultural self-determination. It is normal. It is the basic principle of all self-respecting nations, and the ultimate foundation of the international legal and political order. It is essentially about love, not hate. In its modern, democratic form, it is also about love and respect for each member of our community – and also about love and respect for all other communities. My ‘patria’ – my native land – is Scotland. It is not Britain, which anyone with any knowledge of history knows is, and has always been, essentially the English State. That is why there has never been any constitional clarity about the difference between England, Britain or the UK. It is love of my country and its people (including, naturally, my own family), which determines that I will vote Yes. I love England too: its lovely villages, its architecture, its music, its literature, and the quiet good sense of so many of its people – that good sense which will of course prevail after the Yes vote on the 18th. But I do not want to be governed by it.

79. Griminish

Marco
    I think that the “and over 680,000 may do so by post.” should be interpreted as – and over 680,000 may VOTE (do so) by post.”

80. Kev

“I love Scotland…being ruled by another country” “We love our children…thats why we’l never, ever allow them to leave the house and take responsiblity for themselves”

81. Ananurhing

Does anyone know where I can lay my hands on WBBs in a Perth/Dundee, Pitlochry, Crianlarich, Crieff vicinity? I only need 5-10 or so.

82. Marco McGinty

@Griminish
    “I think that the “and over 680,000 may do so by post.” should be interpreted as – and over 680,000 may VOTE (do so) by post.”

I did think about that, but the piece was all about those unregistered to vote, and the urgency from both sides of the argument to get to them, and this total does seem to fit in with the unregistered total.

I’ll try and find it on iPlayer and have another listen.

83. MajorBloodnok

laukat says: Today’s front page scare story in the Herald regarding potential trouble at polling booths seems to have moved the scare stories on from “Here’s some scary stuff that will happen if you vote Yes” to “Here’s some scary stuff that will happen if you vote”

From the sometimes angry and fearful response from confirmed no voters to our achingly respectable YES stall in Marchmont, Edinburgh, I think that these sort of stories will just put off the potential no voters rather than the yessers.

The problem for them is that the no campaign strategy is negative, in every meaning of the word.

84. Hewitt83

Re recent converts my little sister is now a Yes after staying out of the debate for so long.

And my proud Brit, english born Mum is now undecided. Which believe me, is great progress 🙂

85. Meindevon

Sorry, o/t but people talking about the number of voters made me think.

I am flying home on the 18th. How could I not? The most important day in Scottish history since goodness knows when. Apart from wanting to be home for what I now think will be a yes vote and a bit of a party(understatement!) the other main reason is to take my wee, very elderly mum to the polling station to cast her yes vote. However I think she registered many months ago but I haven’t heard her mention ‘polling cards’ coming through the door? Should she have something by now?

86. CameronB Brodie

joemcg
    I’m taking the First Minister’s advice to ignore, as I am sure he has our and the campaign’s best interests at heart.

87. Lesley-Anne

Dear BBC.

I know you claim to be impartial in your reporting of the referendum debate. However, I like hundreds of thousands of other Scots know this to be a be a LIE. How do I know this to be a lie, well take a look at this coverage filmed in Annan on Saturday and I think even anyone in the BIASED BBC can see what I mean! 😉

http://annandale.tv/stories/4745-independence-referendum-special-report

Eagle eyed viewers will note that appearing for the NO camp we have one Labour M.P.Russell Brown, one Labour M.S.P. Elaine Murray a.k.a. the Poisoned Dwarf and two Labour councillors Sean Marshall and Archie Dryborough a.k.a. the forces champion (his words NOT mine, or anyone elses as far as I can gather 😛 )

Nice to know that the P.D. thinks paying benefits over 63 Million people is BETTER than paying it over 5 Million (around 5 mins 45)still Hey Ho!

Finally if you actually listen to the P.D. she does appear to admitting defeat for the NO whatsit overall. (from around 20 seconds in)

Oh and one final thought, the woman in the white top stood and talked to one of our YES campaigners for over an hour before finally turning from an undecided voter into a YES voter. 😀

88. Macart

@joemcg

Make sure to give it a complete miss. I hope he sees nothing but tumbleweed.

89. Red Squirrel

“We’re voting No Thanks because we love food banks, persecuting the poor and those with disabilities, tuition fees and private healthcare, and wealthy absentee landowners who don’t pay tax and WMD on our doorstep” would be more honest.

I’m sure their kids will thank them for No Future. Me, I’m just voting Yes for my family, my friends and for the family & friends of those who are failing to vote for a better future for themselves.

90. Stu

I asked Blair McDougall last week what he meant by these statements and this was his reply:

“that undecided voters are making up their minds on what is best for their families. Fairly clear I would have thought.”

I think we are getting an insight into why they used them, they really do seem to think they mean something else.

91. Quentin Quale

Lesley-Anne, great to have you back and on top form.

92. creag an tuirc

The bottom line in all of this is that BT have confused apathetic Scots as stupid Scots. The apathy is disappearing as people inform themselves and know there’s an escape route to real change

93. Onwards

With regards to Jim Murphy, it would be good to get a WBB stall nearby, with a Get the Truth Here sign. Peaceful protest.

Who knows who the egg man was, but its not worth it to be provoked by his lies. Biased media coverage is the whole reason for his stunt, not talking to a few shoppers.

94. Edulis

I have just received a postcard from my MP this morning. He laughingly goes by the title of Chief Secretary to the Tresury- none other than Danny Alexander- and here was me thinking he was the tea boy.

The postcard is a message from Lesley in Canada previously from the Highlands, who wishes she was here to vote in the Referendum. She says “Please support Danny’s campaign for more powers for Scotland and go forward with the best of both world’s.”

My problem with that is that I want the best of all worlds, so I have duly stated that in the reply section and posted it back using the Freepost.

95. Chris Cairns

My apologies for this but I don’t see why I have to carry the burden of this alone … the absolute worst, most depressing and insane No votes of the indyref.
    A couple we know are fully clued up, intelligent (sort of) folk who long ago looked at the arguments and decided – of course – we’re voting Yes.
    But then that particular insanity that some parents suffer from afflicted them. They approached their children (not teenagers – kids) and said: ‘This is about your future. You can’t vote in it so we’ll vote for you. What’s it going to be?’
    And in this way, two Yes votes became two No votes on the strength of who knows what – half baked, childish notions? Schoolyard bullying? Liking The Beatles?
    Thinking about the criminally indulgent, irresponsible lunacy of that just makes my head hurt.
    Like I said – sorry.

96. MajorBloodnok

On twitter Ruth Wishart said to Jim Murphy if he didn’t want to be a focus for ‘orchestrated’ trouble and get egged again, why not come to an organized debate in a nice warm church hall instead of standing on a box in the street. Of course we all know the reasons why he won’t take up that kind offer…

97. Roland Smith

This morning I saw on either twitter or Facebook a perfectly clear picture of the egg thrower. Anyone able to point me in the right direction.

98. Lesley-Anne

Thanks Quentin, it’s great to be back, not so sure other readers may think quite the same though! 😛

I’ve heard there’s been a last minute rush on stupid remarks bomb proof shelters! 😛

As a wee follow up to my last post folks might also like to know that our local YES group has been talking to our Health Authority regarding the scare stories allegedly being put about by health professionals in Carlisle concerning the Scottish Government STOPPING paying for anyone to visit Carlisle hospital specialists etc. after a YES win. Our health authority is now requesting Carlisle hospital carry out a full investigation. I know that there is meat to this story because one of our friends has a daughter who works there and has been getting told she will need a passport to get to work after independence. We are currently working on getting the TRUTH through to her about this. 😉

99. heedtracker

@ Lesley-Anne, are the people in the ads voting no or dupes? If the ad goes online, they’ll probably turn out to be a. SlabConDem activist phoneys again, or b. CGI.

Ultimately Bliar Macdougal’s garbage UKOK frightner has only been projectfearing it for a year or so and if they didn’t own the BBC, they’d be a laughing stock. But more importantly, the people of Scotland have known for decades what exactly this farce union is all about, who really benefits and why David Cameron says he loves Scotland and wants you to stay.

This referendum is really just a test to see how many actually don’t mind this BetterTogether set up or that say 1,000,000 people are content to be living 20 miles from a nuclear strike missile bunker base storing nuclear bombs designed to incinerate cities far bigger than Glasgow, and ofcourse much to dangerous to be stored near London and the South East of England.

100. Luigi

We don’t love Scotland:

We are Scotland!

101. Lesley-Anne

Damn I never of that one heedtracker thanks for informing my ignorance yet again. 😉

102. skozra

Roland Smith says:
    1 September, 2014 at 2:41 pm
    This morning I saw on either twitter or Facebook a perfectly clear picture of the egg thrower. Anyone able to point me in the right direction.

Is this it ? :

http://tinypic.com/view.php?pic=2chluyo&s=8#.VAR60EvFKuc

103. Nigerian Pirate

Hi folks

O/T I know but this may be of interest to some tonight. There’s a debate in Stornoway Town Hall. Attending are Nicola Sturgeon, Johann Lamont (no laughing please) and a few others chosen on behalf of both camps.

The debate is being streamed live. You need to register to view (I think) and the link to register is in the following webpage. Hope it’s worth viewing.
    http://www.stornowaygazette.co.uk/news/local-headlines/nicola-sturgeon-in-stornoway-for-gazette-debate-1-3526977

This is supposedly the actual link to register and view
    http://tinyurl.com/nu33qyk

104. Les Wilson

Yup that is him, funny how he positioned himself with a YES flag behind him?
    S_E_T_U_P !!

105. David Dickson

Its down at the waterfont in Greenock, Alistair Darling has paid a visit today. Shame the wind wasn’t blowing a bit stronger.

106. Lesley-Anne

Oh c’mon now NP. ANYTHING that pits the witless wonder up against Nicola Sturgeon is a MUST WATCH scenario in my view. 😉

I just hope that Stornaway hospital A&E department are all set and ready to go cause they will almost certainly be need tonight, by Lamont and co. after the ears kicking they will be getting tonight! 😛

107. Macandroid

@ Meindevon

Your mum probably should have received her polling card. Check with her neighbours – but it doesn’t matter as she can go to the polling station and give them her details without the card and still vote 🙂

108. David Dickson

Here is the eggman video, could somebody save it before it gets deleted again please?

The interesting bit is from 8:28

Oeuf!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gZBfcdYw1YY

109. Andy-B

What a pathetic attempt to pull at the heart strings to say no, even Sir Paul McCartney has jumped on the band wagon, of “Gonnay no go.”

With Archie MacPherson going door to door having people in tears over the UK break-up, I’m sure Andrex Tissues must be making a fortune.

110. Alan Mackintosh

Roland re egg thrower, have a look at eezypeezylemonsqueey. He had a good clear pic

111. Chic Stewart

Was In Portree at the weekend where they can’t keep up with the demand for various items.Also spent time talking to my nephews friends of which there were many and not one of them is voting no. On the way home from Skye only seen two banners belonging to the no campaign while there was plenty in abundance for the Yes campaign

112. Macandroid

@ skozra

The guy doesn’t look particularly angry for an egg thrower and surely to make your point you’d do it from the front – let the recipient anticipate its arrival – a set up I think.

113. Chic Stewart

meant to put in various item in the yes Shop

114. Nigerian Pirate

@ Lesley-Anne

i really hope it’s worth a viewing. I tried to get tickets but they went pretty fast or at least too fast for me. Also appearing are Alistair Morrison, ex Labour MSP for the Western Isles, Alasdair Allan, current SNP MSP, Gordon ‘Diesel’ Maclennan a local Yes supporter and all round good guy. He was involved in trying to get lower fuel prices for the Western Isles by breaking the stranglehold of contracts imposed by Scottish Fuels. He succeeded in getting the contracts torn up and giving fuel suppliers the chance to buy from other competitors for cheaper prices. He now sells fuel for less than a lot of places on the mainland.
    Funnily the OFT never really took Scottish Fuels to task over their blatant monopoly and fuel price robbery of the locals over all these years.

Be interesting to see how many lies jola tells tonight.

115. HandandShrimp

It is a fact that egg throwers are usually shouting and making a political point when they lob eggs. There was something detached and clinical about Murphy’s situation. The whole thing is just one big yolk.

116. Molly

Leslie-Anne, welcome back.!

I know the whole negativity thing starts to colour everything but not long now. Thrawn I think is what I was called so with that in mind, I’m away to send my selfie for the SH cover. This week it may be historical , in to weeks time on a wanted poster ????

117. Lesley-Anne

I have every confidence that it will be worth watching NP. I have NEVER found an indy debate yet that was not worth watching. The Better wahtsit squad ALWAYS end up in a muddle and the laughing stock of the debate and tonight will be no different in my view. 😉

Everyone I have seen in any video talking about independence is ALWAYS well informed and has the answers ready to hand unfortunately you can NOT say the same for the Better whatsit lot. The BEST you get out of them is “Best of both worlds”, “better together” etc totally meaningless sayings. Still it is about all they can remember really bless ’em! 😛

118. CameronB Brodie

If Eggman was freelance, he was freelancing in Ayr and goodness knows where else, before the egging. Where was Murphy’s security?

@ Jim Murphy
    Please clarify whether you are a Zionist or are you against racism? You can’t be both at the same time.

119. raineach

Major Bloodnok – your stall in Marchmont may be achingly respectable, but our shop in Morningside is slightly superior!

120. Lesley-Anne

Thanks Molly. 😉

The trouble I had was that I thought I was strong enough to fight off all the negativity. Still I should have known better after all I’ve been here before when I was fighting off my cancer. Still live and learn, live and learn. 😛

121. Peter Macbeastie

Chris Cairns; my niece, pretty, wonderful lass that she is, is susceptible to the ‘what if’ scenarios and would vote no… if she was but a few short months older. Very clever girl, just very, very sensitive and unfortunately I think she heard the Nawbags first.

Fortunately my sister and her husband are not, unlike your examples, wired to the moon and are currently the only house, they tell me, in the entire housing development they’ve recently moved into, the only house showing ANY referendum affiliation and they are, if anything, even more Yes than I am.

For every spectacularly idiotic decision there are several completely sane, rational people voting yes.

122. Scot Finlayson

Does anyone know if the Postal Votes as still being accompanied by a No campaign leaflet , and if so is it a breach of the Electoral Commission`s rules.

123. Ewan Sinclair

Its a shame that the Dorset based ad company doesn’t show them in their gallery, maybe theyll get round to updating it soon… http://www.mobilemedia.co.uk/photo-gallery

124. SquareHaggis

Where’s oor high winds when you need ’em?

125. Scot Finlayson

Sorry should have said `Great to see your wit and wisdom back Lesley Anne `

126. Lesley-Anne

If they have broken Electoral Commission rules I wouldn’t worry about it Scott the Electoral Commission won’t do anything. They have form on this.

As I understand it, and as long term readers will all agree here I’m usually wrong, Westminster has been paying for full page adverts in local newspapers yet they are NOT registered with the Electoral Commission completely AGAINST E.C. rules. NOTHING has been done.

Westminster has also been paying, apparently, for an on line advert on behalf of the Better Whatsit gang, ANOTHER breech of EC rules.

In both cases NOTHING has been done by the EC. I guess they must just be following orders from Westminster, yup that’s what it is the Electoral Commission is following orders from Westminster NOT to ban WM funded adverts or fine WM! 😛

127. Lesley-Anne

Steady on there Scott, you do realise saying stuff like is what causes my head to GROW! ‘ll never be able to get out of the living room if stuff like this continues. 😛

128. CameronB Brodie

Lesley-Anne
    We scoff about the EC, but Scotland is getting soaked and it’s not even raining.

129. Lesley-Anne

I agree Cameron, we ARE getting soaked. The BEST bit though is that we are so used to getting soaked the current soaking we are receiving is like water off a duck’s back to us. A quick shake, readlust a couple of our feathers and on we go as if nothing ever happened meanwhile back in BetterWhatsit’s HQ egg shells lie all around and folks are walking about with egg all over themselves! 😛

130. Lesley-Anne

Damn it readlust indeed! 😉

That should have been readjust! Mind you you all knew that anyway, right … RIGHT! 😀

131. Archie [not Erchie]

@ X Sticks – Thank you so much for the 25 WBB in the baggie on Sunday. By the time I got home I only had 19 left. What a joy to speak to the lady who was a naughty NO several weeks ago and now a happy, smiling YES campaigner assisting with leaflets at the YES caravan, Aberdeen city centre.

132. Nana Smith

Now this is a much better advertisement..

https://twitter.com/YesScotland/status/506428456889225217/photo/1

133. jimogroats

The vans are a long way from home…
    Mobile Media Ltd, Enterprise House, Enterprise Way, Aviation Business Park, Christchurch, Dorset

134. Nation Libre

O/T but re the Jim Murphy on a crate BS. Has the whole thing been manufactured (I think we can all agree it’s been manufactured) to allow him unhindered talks throughout Glasgow so that the usual Labour heartlands get to listen to his lies without question?

I think peaceful protest should continue, ask him questions, or better still, put questions clearly on large placards and just get them in all shots. i.e. Did you vote for war in Iraq Jim. Alistair Darling states we can use the pound, do you agree Jim. Why is Scotland better together with a Tory government it didn’t vote for Jim. Why are you campaigning side by side with Tories Jim. You get the idea

He shouldn’t get a free ride to spout his lies in Glasgow, of all places

135. Archie [not Erchie]

@ Lesley-Anne – Welcome back and its ok about the ‘readlust’, CameronB has a similar problem. 🙂

http://wingsoverscotland.com/new-volatility-blow-for-salmond/comment-page-1/#comment-1853563

136. Lesley-Anne

Thanks Archie [not Erchie] for that and thanks for your *ahem* understanding. 😉

137. CameronB Brodie

We’re a lusty bunch Archie [not Erchie] 😉

138. Lesley-Anne

Shouldn’t that be a lusty, busty, justy bunch Cameron? 😉

I’m covering all bases here you understand. 😛

139. Andy-B

Does anyone know if the Postal Votes as still being accompanied by a No campaign leaflet , and if so is it a breach of the Electoral Commission`s rules.
    ——–
    Yes Scott the No leaflets are still coming out with postal votes.

140. Dr JM Mackintosh

They have even nicked our Flag now…

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-29010574

They must be getting desperate – where have all the Union Jacks gone?!

141. SquareHaggis

Re; plasti-crate Jim

A flash crowd wearing rediculously large headphones should do the trick.

142. Ally McEwen

I rang the Electoral Commission office and explained I had received a REFERENDUM COMMUNICATION along with my Postal Ballot with ‘helpful’ instructions to post today, and a picture of a cross next to “NO”.
    “Is this what I have to do?” I asked him.
    He was somewhat at a loss for words.
    I said my 90 year old mother in law also thinks she must vote “no” because of this.
    I suggested he might like to ask his superiors to investigate.
    We know what the outcome will be. The EC probably sent the bloody things!

143. MajorBloodnok

@Ally McEwan
    It will be interesting to see how many people sent back the pre-completed ‘referendum communication’ by mistake, instead of their actual postal voting form. At least those ‘votes’ would be deemed void.

144. MajorBloodnok

SquareHaggis says: A flash crowd wearing ridiculously large headphones should do the trick.

I knew my full-sized egg costume would come in handy one day.

145. GG

Mobile Media Ltd
    The Conservative Party hired Mobile Media to target the Grand National with an Alternative Vote campaign message and and also for anti Labour Ad Vans. Client list shows same vans been hired several times by UKIP too so with contacts from both Better Together would no doubt get a nice discount for the regular use.

146. Scot Finlayson

@Andy-B
    For the No campaign to anticipate the posting lists of the Electoral Commission worries me greatly about either security or willful collusion .
    It might all be legitimate but if it is within the rules it does not give me much confidence in their working practices to say the very least.

147. Deontas

When I looked at the pic my first thought was deary me get the two eyesores blocking the view out the way!!! I am more interested in the scenery than the waste of print.

Well done BT more YES votes on the way with this nonsense.

148. GG

Bahh just the like TV this Better Together campaign ….it’s all just repeats.

We’ve had this lady and baby before

https://www.facebook.com/#!/bettertogetheruk/photos/pb.301783293238652.-2207520000.1409586836./708470172569960/?type=3&theater

Have they really so few voters they have to bring ’em out again?

149. Jim

Soon it will only be the well off that have children going to university to educate their children to a high standard, they will also get the best medical treatment because they can afford to buy it. Vote no to stay on this downward spiral towards the way things used to be back in Victorian times. Remember, knowledge is power and they do not want us to have it because they know it means the fallacy that they are better than us as human beings is obliterated by the wealth of talent we have here in this country which will be lost to us because they can’t afford to go to university.
    Sickness, poverty and the dumbing down of the lifeblood of this country, our children is what awaits us in the event of a no vote. This is what they call better together.

150. Nigel

I don’t have any kids, just four chickens and two cats. That’s me voting Yes then! LOL!

151. Robert Peffers

Nah! The slogans are both wrong.
    They should read : –
    “I Love Scotland I’m saying No thanks, but …”
    and
    “We love our kids, we’re saying No thanks but …”

What bothers me is what the buts are in all these naysayers minds?

152. tooz

And they parked them blocking the waterfront pathway.

153. CameronB Brodie

@ No Better Together Thanks
    Whatever The Best of Both Worlds actually means, can you please identify what there is about more of the same that could possibly offer hope to any but those who already have an economic advantage in life?

154. Robert Peffers

Onwards says: 1 September, 2014 at 12:40 pm:

“I just don’t get the ‘Proud Scot But’ attitude at all. Basically saying “I’m a proud Scot, but I don’t think we could govern our own country.”

Its like saying 2 + 2 = 5.”

More like saying 2 + 2 = 3

155. GG

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-29010574

Could just be my old eyes but isn’t the poster girl with Darling one of our old favourite ‘ordinary people’ – campaigns for and assists Labour’s East Ayrshire election candidates ordinary full time mum Leanne Williams?

156. Scot Finlayson

She was on Rev Stu`s Post about `The Ordinary People` Posted on August 23, I think she helped/worked for some labour joey called Scott Thomson.

157. Grouse Beater

I love Scotland but I love Westminster more.

I am saying NO because I am a sado-masochist.

I am saying No because it Means Yes to more austerity.

158. Scot Finlayson

@GG
    Sorry for repeating your comment , I got a phone call halfway through my comment which took about 15mins. I should have checked recent comments before posting.

159. Bill McLean

Dunfermline HIgh Street at lunch time today my wife and I enroute East Port St when I was asked by a No leafletter if I had made up my mind – I made it clear I would be voting YES. He never asked my wife so when we returned I reminded him that he had not asked her – his retort was “have you made up your mind or has he (me) made it up for you?” How demeaning and sexist can these people be? I stood back and let my English wife tell him in no uncertain terms that she makes up her own mind and would also be voting YES. He took it quite well I have to say but when I asked him why, if they had to have a Lord present, they chose Lrd Foulkes he showed signs of discomfort!
    Accompanying Foulkes was Thomas Docherty MP, probably Cara HYlton MSP, a local Labour councillor and three to four leafletters. We decided in discussion later that folk are either totally disinterested in NO, or were taking Mr Salmond’s advice to ignore them. We saw in about half an hour only about 4 people involving in conversation with them!

160. Ann

Well I’ve just gone a stuck two wee posters on my window stating “I Love my Family and I’m saying YES”.

Plus what I think is an evocative one with “We hold Scotland Future in our Hands” with a two hands a babies hand clutching an adults and with the words “If For Vote Yes, If Against vote No.” beneath it.

161. Robert Peffers

@skozra says: 1 September, 2014 at 2:57 pm:

“Is this it?”

http://tinypic.com/view.php?pic=2chluyo&s=8#.VAR60EvFKuc

Skozra, on the morning the story broke I was sitting in my pal’s house when the news came on. We were talking and not really watching the TV. The clip shown was a close shot from in front of Murphy. Thus it showed very clearly the guy who DIDN’T, throw the egg. He had it in his hand and cracked it down on Murphy’s back then, with a smug grin on his face, walked smartly away and up the stair. The camera person tracked with him.

Thing is I didn’t know what channel the TV was on and I tried later to find the clip – it has not been shown since as far as I can find out. There is no way that shot could not have identified the guy. It was that clear. Another fact was the guy had a military/police style of bearing as he walked briskly away. So much so I said to my pal right away, That’s a set-up.

I’m not a bad judge of such things as I’ve been filming, videoing and photographing since the early 1950s. There has to be a good reason that particular TV clip is AWOL for any reasonable camera person would be bragging about his/her scoop.

162. call me dave

Lesley-Anne

The Annandale piece was excellent. Enjoyed the contributions of the locals all except two,both men, who seemed not up to speed with the campaign. The older wifie has it right.

Welcome back.

163. Lesley-Anne

Thanks cmd. I totally agree with you about the two men. One is a life long Labour voter so he will be voting NO. Erm I assume then he has NOT heard od Labour for Independence then. What he actually spouts is utterly laughable to boot. 😛

As for the second guy stuffing his face … what can I say. This is the level of argument we are fighting down here. 😀

Gawd bless the wee woman. Whoever said that the elderly were all NAW voters obviously NEVER spoke to her cause if they did I’m convinced she’d have sent them all away with a flea in their ear. 😛

164. geeo

Sorry, forgot who posted this earlier.
    ………
    Today’s front page scare story in the Herald regarding potential trouble at polling booths seems to have moved the scare stories on from “Here’s some scary stuff that will happen if you vote Yes” to “Here’s some scary stuff that will happen if you vote”
    ………….
    This gets me really angry, insinuation of ‘trouble’ at polling stations to try keep people away, an idea potentially re-enforced by ‘troublesome’ Farage and OO marches to come.

Sounds like when insurgents in iraq and afghanistan threatened to kill people who dared to vote in the elections, those people knew voting could result in their death yet there were record numbers who took their chances to have a say, finally, in their future.

Yes voters are voting, what are you going to do about it Mr Cameron ?

You can lie, you can threaten, you can mis-inform and you can even try to fix the result, but you will NOT break our resolve, Yes are coming, and coming in numbers, the last bastion of your empire is about to come crashing about your ears, and you know what, you brought it on yourself by your own actions and desire to keep us Scots subservient to your desire to strip our resources.

The peaceful revolution is coming !!!

165. piggy

Aye, the wee wifie has a fire in her heart!
    Braw.

166. Rogue_tk421

With all the money thrown at Better Together is this, and Patronising BT lady, the best they can come up with?

Hell mend them!

167. crazycat

@ Meindevon

If you are still here – while it is true that your mother doesn’t need her polling card to vote, if her neighbours have received cards but she, a recently-registered voter, has not, it would be worthwhile checking that her registration has been processed.

This will need to be done tomorrow – the deadline is midnight. A phone-call to the Electoral Registration Office for her council will ascertain whether she is on the roll. If not, someone will have to get her a new form and she will have to fill it in and return it pretty rapidly!

168. James Caithness

David Dickson says:
    1 September, 2014 at 3:07 pm
    Here is the eggman video, could somebody save it before it gets deleted again please?

The interesting bit is from 8:28

Oeuf!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gZBfcdYw1YY
    =========================
    Just a few secs before the 8:28 over the head of the bald photographer there is a black-haired bearded guy in a green waxy looking jacket.
    I am sure that guy could have been in the audience in Cupar earlier in the day. He asked a question and was stood right next to me. I was talking to him.

Now if I am right, I certainly wouldn’t go from Cupar to Kirkcaldy just to see Murphy, why would he?

169. Tom Foyle

The egg-thrower wasn’t a bloke. It was a lady wearing a mask. Someone well-known on this very forum as a matter of fact, who’s not only sharp and witty, but has been AWOL recently, due to the fact that she was attending to business elsewhere…allegedly. But I don’t know anyone who might fit that description, folks.
    Back on topic, I’m SURE the right-hand wagon is reversing…Thus hopefully ending up exactly where the BT campaign SHOULD be. Along with all that non-existent oil.

170. Tom Foyle

Lesley-Anne! Welcome back. Hope you’re fine after your wee break…

171. R Knight

O/T. That bastion of broadcasting that is BT’s mouthpiece is reporting that a female Yes campaigner was subject to an alleged assault whilst demonstrating against a “right wing group” in Argyll St. Forgive my ignorance, but who was this group which the BBC fears to name?

172. GG

Confirmed Poster Mum is East Ayrshire Labour Campaigner Leanne Williams used previously as highlighted in ‘ordinary people’ article.

http://www.sundaypost.com/news-views/scotland/independence-referendum/referendum-a-test-of-common-sense-1.553816

..and here she is afterwards giving her ordinary Mum view to the Greenock meeting…wonder if she told them her Ayrshire political background or just went with “new Mum”?

https://twitter.com/search?q=%23bettertogether&src=tyah&mode=photos

Very ordinary Mum thing sharing a podium with Alistair Darling.

173. R Knight

Thanks James – never heard of them. However, they’re registered with the EC as being supporters of the No campaign. Another glaring omission by ‘Aunty’ – quelle surprise…

174. Meindevon

Thanks re replies about my mothers polling card. Will chase it up quick.

175. James Dow A voice from the diaspora

Heedtracker response Post no outcome sung by Scottish opponents as a parody at Wembley and Hamden, and everywhere else
    O’h cowards of Scotland
    When will we see your likes again
    That gave up your nation
    The chance of salvation
    To remain a province again
    And will remain
    The land of the soft cocks
    Home of the wee Jocks
    etc, etc.

You can hardly be singing about being the nation again when you have just rejected your own Independence.
    Harden up Scotland, it’s time for real me to be upstanding.

176. James Dow A voice from the diaspora

Sorry missed the n in men in that last line.
    Might be symbolic that real Scots men are missing.

177. John

Latest version of the mum with baby poster:

http://i.imgur.com/Y2o9Mq1.jpg

Apologies for the poor photoshop!

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.