20 Minutes In Hell

Posted on September 25, 2016 by

This is the longest piece of continuous TV exposure Kezia Dugdale will get between now and next year’s crucial council elections. Judge for yourself whether she seized the opportunity, readers.

A Sunday Times/Panelbase poll released today put Scottish Labour’s support at 16%, with the SNP on 50% and the Tories on 21%. 

1. 25 09 16 16:57

20 Minutes In Hell | speymouth

80 to “20 Minutes In Hell”

1. Fixitfox

I’m sure Hothershall will recover the situation.

2. Cuddis

Boy, was this a feast for psychologists? Stu, you say you cannot possibly identify a best bit but surely you heard the Dugster use the word ‘Fundilly’. It was, for me a moment of enlightenment. She’s channeling Jim Murphy, that’s the explanation!

3. Vestas

Ahahahahahahahaha ahahahahaha.

She really is utterly incompetent (even by SLAB standards) and can’t even remember her own lies. I’d have thought a 6 week course in the USA on leadership whould at least have covered that….

4. Willem Wikkelspies

It’s like watching an outtake from The Thick Of It…

5. Joseph Robinson

There must be labour supporters out there saying to themselves whilts holding their head with their hands saying “SHUT UP KEZIA”. Wow shes just totally off the planet. Scottish Tax Payers money used for the special course in the USA, have been badly used, she should give a full refund.

6. David S. Briggs

Pass the diazepam.

7. Jockanese Wind Talker

Kezia says:

“I have been consistent in my inconsistencies”

“Oh, and SNP Baaad.”

If BLiS was an animal any right minded human being would have had it put down to spare it any more misery by now.

8. Scott Borthwick

‘I assure you Gordon, I am utterly unified. It’s them over there that won’t let the PLP run the entire show that aren’t.’

9. louis.b.argyll

9m10s in…
    ‘…FUNDILY..’
    Lol.

10. Cuddis

The video’s a keeper for sure. The perfect example of what happens to politicians who disengage from reality and triangulate themselves into a psychological half-nelson in their efforts to say anything that might get them elected.

In Kafka’s Metamorphosis, the main character wakens up one morning to find he has been transformed into a cockroach I believe (never read it). This is clearly what has happened to the Scottish Labour Party.

As they say, lie down with Blairites, get up with fleas. Or am I mixing my insect metaphors? Think I’ll go and watch the video again for the third time; there’s riches aplenty there.

11. Stuart Blair

At 9:10 she utters the word “fundily”. The Murphyisms are starting to surface in her performance.
    This is like watching the final stages of a tragic terminal illness.

12. One_Scot

If someone told me that in fact her head is actually empty, and that there are several small rabbits inside running about pressing random buttons to play pre-recorded sound bites, I would believe it.

13. donald anderson

“Look Gordon, It is absolutely very clear that we need the Labour Party and all it’s cliques and lies so that we can have a cushy job in the real world”. Forced airheid smile. “The SNP basturts clearly super glued my button.

Numpties clearly don’t always know that they are numpties.

14. Tam Jardine

I can’t believe Kezia is still leader of slab after the last few days.

How can Kezia ask us to elect Jeremy Corbyn to the highest office in the land when you she doesn’t even believe he is the best person to lead the labour party?

15. JLT

It was not good.

Half the interview skirting around the simple question of ‘why have you decided to back Jeremy Corbyn again, after publicly denouncing him for the last three months?’, while the other half of the interview was just mantra repeat of ‘Tory Bad. SNP Baaaaad‘. We need to stop the cuts!’ (without actually explaining how they would do this, and what the alternative is).

Aye, she’s a font of knowledge and wisdom for the Scottish people.

16. Robert Louis

Oh my, Kezia really is the best Labour leader, and we really should encourage Labour to keep her in position. On one level I feel sorry for her, but that quickly fades when I realise she is perfectly happy for Scotland to be taken out of the EU against its will and be controlled by a rabid Tory Government, rather than consider Scottish independence.

So, hopefully Kez will keep on doing what she does – like above – for a very long time.

17. Thepnr

Labour in Scotland.

What are they good for?

Absolutely nothing.

As proven by Kezia. By the way, thanks Rev.

18. Morag

The repetition was so bad I started to wonder if the clip was rewinding. She seemed to have a pre-prepared script she was going to deliver and just wound herself up and started delivering it every time she was asked a question.

I more than half-expected her to start declaring “These strikes are WRONG.”

19. call me dave

FGS! Drag her off with a hooked stick.

That was less than incompetent… the TNS poll at 16% labour has just dropped below 15%.

Rowley at home with his feet up and his baffies on enjoying a large glass of his favourite…

I’ve just put on ‘Johanna’ Scot Walker. Good old labour days!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wUSmO1ttMvY

20. Speedbert

Fuck me… Really?…

21. stonefree

It was both an embarrassment and as the title say a car crash( the defendant ask that 32 similar incidents be taken into consideration M’Lud)…..However the problem is that how ever much she makes an arse of her self, she has the backing of MSM and not reporting her stupidity .they effectively cover it up …….And that is worrying for Scotland’s Future,What I’m saying is “it might be amusing but she still Damn Dangerous”

22. Dcanmore

FGS… “the only people who want to drag us back into the past is you, Gordon”

Taxi for Kezia!

23. galamcennalath

I honestly believe she doesn’t know she is car crashing in slow painful motion. She probably thought she was giving sensible answers. Kezia style sense, and quite disconnected from the questions!

Long may she remain BLiS cheer leader!

24. vlad (not that one)

I recall they called Neill Kinnock a windbag!

25. Andrew Morton

That was excruciating, like watching a puppy being tortured.

The real question is though: why has she never been subjected to this level of scrutiny before?

26. Ian

God almighty that was painful. And people still vote labour. Deranged? I don’t thing there is a word to accurately describe this. Certifiable is maybe as close it gets (what is the criteria for having someone put into a loony bin?). So the slab thought she’s make a good leader? I need to take the dog for a walk just to clear this monologue crap out my head.

27. Peter Mirtitsch

Try and Google “Kezia Dugdale car crash interview”. You get a surprising number of hits…lol

28. Thepnr

@Andrew Morton

No, the real question is why she is being subjected to this level of scrutiny now.

29. yesindyref2

I managed to watch 10 minutes, which is probably a record for me watching any of these clips.

I saw Brewer asking the same question again and again solidly over those 10 minutes, and getting the same answer from Dugdale.

30. JLT

@Peter Mirtitsch

Try and Google “Kezia Dugdale car crash interview”. You get a surprising number of hits…lol

Dearie-dear …LOL. So you do!

I got to Page 39 ….and still it continued.

That sure is a hell of a lot of car crashes LOL

31. msean

Don’t know about everyone else,but it seems to me that all those Labour MPs that were against Mr Corbyn can’t be in the Shadow Cabinet.Surely,they would never be entirely trusted.

They can’t win an election when they are at odds with their own members and leader,so it looks like Tories for the next decade at least.

32. mealer

I thought Gordon Brewer handled that well.He exposed Ms Dugdales utterly inconsistent position for the farce that it is.He had the opportunity to utterly humiliate her but chose not to and I think that was the correct approach in the circumstances.

Some might say he gave her a soft hurl and wouldn’t let Nicola off so easily.Thats probably true,but the way an interviewer handles a guest should vary according to the abilities and competences of that guest.

33. Iain

I can well believe that she is a nice lassie, but completely out of her depth in a job requiring wise judgement and with so much accountability and exposure.

I do feel for her dad: it must be awful to watch one’s wee girl fail so publicly in a position she’s just not suited to.

34. Vestas

Kezia is screwed as you only get an easy ride from Brewer if you’re clearly the main opposition to the SNP.

She isn’t & SLAB are now on a downward trajectory (what’s the point of them?) so expect lots more calamity car crash interviews…

I managed not to actually laugh out loud until she praised the fat liar & the subway shopper.

You couldn’t make this stuff up if you tried.

1) Tankgirl uses report on English NHS for “SNP Baaad” Holyrood questions;

2) Kezia loses the plot & forgets to vote. “SNP Baaad” no doubt;

3) Kezia has a car crash interview with a normally friendly broadcaster.

All in two weeks. Comedy gold 😀

35. Rock

It was people like Dugdale who sold Scotland for a few pieces of English gold.

36. Famous15

She says “our incredibly powerful Scottish Parliament” but that Parliament must accept the Westminster cuts she blames on the SNP.

I notice she also has trouble coping with the word “fundamentally” fundilly Freudian i think!

37. Colinski

Ms Dug is currently the best support SNP have for dumping the LabaTories. As long as she preaches the Murphett / B Liar rhetoric, she will be damned to always repetitively recite her speil as the answer to any question she is given. Brevity and honesty are not her strong points and we have been once bitten.
    Most people in Scotland are smarting from the lies and desertion of promise they all gave at the INDY Ref, to save their souls, but with no consideration for those deceived. ‘The dug wi’ twa faces’, can only bark.

38. HUGH KIRK

Not a good interview. I’m being as kind as is possible. She sucked big time.

39. Rock

“This is the longest piece of continuous TV exposure Kezia Dugdale will get between now and next year’s crucial council elections.”

Only over the BBC’s dead body.

40. Jockanese Wind Talker

Thepnr says at 5:14 pm

Agree with you “Why now??” I suspect to bolster the “Ruth Davidson, No to referendums Party”

Therefore avoiding splitting/diluting the Unionist vote between Blue & Red Tories.

It really is Union vs Independence in the mind of the establishment.

Also Brewer apologised to viewers for the ‘delay’ in the satellite link during the broadcast.

Seemed more to me that Dugdale was getting fed her prompts though an ear piece.

41. Wulls

Jesus H Christ.
    Train wreck TV.

42. Mike

Did she actually use Trident as an example of how Labour in Scotland could prove their autonomy from Labour in London?
    Labour in Scotland say No to Trident renewal.
    Labour in London say yes to Trident renewal.
    Result Trident is renewed.

They have all the autonomy in the world to be overruled and ignored.

43. David Mills

? crash!
    “It’s am up to Jeremy and the PLP to want to unite the labour party” so really, no change, the party is still potentially at logger heads with no progress.

Autonomy: SLAB can hold a contrary position the Labour UK on matters they have no say over in effect a exercise in window
    dressing look good on paper and gets press coverage but is lipservice

And now all of a sudden the rhetoric on public spending has been hyped what has she realised that “passing on Tory austerity” when her one nation party did nothing to stop it in WM just sounded weak well KD adding Doubling just sound desperate!

44. galamcennalath

There is one way to instantly make Labour electable and relevant in Scotland – take the same line a the SNP and Greens by saying that Indyref2 should happen if the Tories pursue a hard EU exit. And mean to back it up!

Now that would be truly autonomous!

45. harry mcaye

One_Scot – That put me in mind of Father Ted. Kezia is Father Dougal McGuire. Remember what happened when they put him in charge of a funeral? Kez shouldn’t be in charge of a whist drive never mind a political party.

46. chris kilby

No. I’m sorry. I can’t bear to watch this again. It was excruciating enough the first time. From behind the sofa.

20 minutes, huh? It felt longer. I don’t know what Kez paid for that “leadership” course in America, but she deserves a refund.

47. Robert Graham

Baffling totally f/kn baffling and incoherent ,
    10 minutes in the company of Kezia and you would begin to doubt your sanity , well done Brewer for not bursting out laughing ,
    I really had the impression during that painfull piece that there is something wrong in that crossed wired head of Kezia it wasn’t just this clip others i have seen where she departs from reality the favourite one with her seems to be when she says of anything ” I listened very carefully or watched very carefully this comment or that clip ” then drifts off into fairyland , Confused you bet .

48. Iron Man

Sarwar will be rubbing his little greasy hands thinking that it is only a matter of time before he steps up to her job.

49. Blackhack

The fact that Jellyfish have survived for 650 million years without having brains is great news for Kezia

50. Legerwood

I watched this and while it was shaky in parts I thought the last section turned into an uninterrupted party political broadcast for Labour in Scotland. All about how the SNP were passing on and increasing Tory cuts. She was given a free ride on that.

In a couple of places she also got some palpable hits on Brewer eg when she said he was going on too much about Ian Murray so why was he not interviewing him. Robust retort.

51. Smallaxe

Kezia’s interview!
    ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ
    Rearrange as required.

But to be fair,I don’t think she put a foot wrong.

Her brain and her mouth on the
    other hand!????

Peace Always

52. chris kilby

Last time I saw a car crash like that I was watching Mad Max: Fury Road.

53. dakk

Classic Yoon doublespeak from the Dug.

Well,as the Listair Carmichael case amply confirmed,you can say pretty much anything in Yoon politics without fear of accountability.That’s just what they do,and why the people of Scotland and the UK are so poorly served by these cynical power seekers.

Thanks be for a modicum of integrity from the SNP and Wings Over Scotland in our political world.

54. chris kilby

@ harry mcaye:

No, Father Dougal couldn’t resist pushing big red buttons.

55. Scottie McClue

Labour will always remain in the political wilderness in Scotland until they back full Independence for Scotland. Their biggest mistake in their history was failing to do so the last time betraying their roots and the Scottish people which in turn resulted in their virtual electoral annihilation. Labour fathered the SNP their Chairman was the SNP’s Founder now it is time to join the Family that is Scotland and support Freedom & Social Justice.

56. yesindyref2

Sunday Herald is wall to wall taking the rip out of Dugdale, and here’s why from another article:

RUTH Davidson has pledged the Scottish Tories will represent the views of “moderate” New Labour supporters left disgruntled by the re-election of Jeremy Corbyn as Labour leader.

Personally I’d be very wary jumping on a bandwagon that helps the Tories in Scotland. Just saying, like. The Unionist knives are out for Dugdale, and Scottish Labour.

57. yesindyref2

And if that’s not enough for peeps, there’s this from the Sunday Herald:

Paul Hutcheon: Kezia Dugdale made a bad political mistake yesterday

That great friend of Independence, Paul Hutcheon, right? He’s on our side?

58. A2

If she had an ounce of sense she’d just say.

“Well I’ve changed my mind, the members persuaded me to do that, I’ve learned from that and I’m right behind him now”

59. Norma

Kezia being interviewed always reminds of that feeling when you go into an exam, look at the questions and realised you have studied the wrong stuff, but just write what you know, regardless of the question, in the hope it will get you off the hook!! Any deviation from her mantra and she is lost?

60. ElGordo

9:10 “Fundily”

Day out.

It’s Sunday today.

Tomorrow is Mondily.

61. X_Sticks

Sorry O/T and apologies if this is duplicated 1st try disappeared due to user stupidity!

I’ve just watched Phantom Power’s excellent latest film

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3k5H9xJsV9I

I think it is the beginnings of the new media the we so desperately need. We need to get behind this and get it funded. They are at 31% of £18,000 with only two days to go.

I’m going to flog this relentlessly and I hope others here will get behind it to. If Wings can raise 50k in a day then surely we can do this but it’s going to take a concerted effort. I hope you’ll help.

PERSPECTIVE: “A series of documentary films covering Scotland’s journey to independence. Who is involved, what will our country look like, how will our economy work, where is our place in Europe? Exploring the big questions behind Scotland’s democratic revolution.”

https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/perspective-scottish-politics-arts/x/101819#/

62. Dave McEwan Hill

To put this into context Kezia was schooled by George Fffffoulks and presents a calm and articulate exterior while talking pish. That’s what George did and George got away with it. Those were different times when any old rubbish from Labour got treated with generous reverence by the supportive media.

The plan is now the destruction of the Labour Party in Scotland and defence of the union put into the hands of the Tories.

I wonder when the penny will drop for Kezia. All she has is a pleasant manner and some presentational abilities. No evident political abilities – but in days gone by they would have been unnecessary as long as you were on the establishment’s side reading their script.

63. Dave McEwan Hill

It would have been kinder if Kezia had just been put in charge of the Scottish Tories. She presents better than Ruth and the content is actually unimportant if you have a tame and supportive media.

64. yesindyref2

@Dave McEwan Hill
    Looking at Hutcheon’s timeline, he’s been at it all week, and the Herald / SH Tory suck-up all year. They’ll probably make Davidson Herald politician of the year..

I look at it this way, (almost) any enemy of the ultra-Unionist camp is a potential ally for us. We need all the friends we can get.

65. Iain

Oh, dire, dire, dire.

66. TYRAN

She’s shit. But I am extremely satisfied with the way Kez is doing her job as leader if I was polled by STV News. And long may she continue.

67. Stu Mac

@Tam Jardine

It’s been said many times already. She is still in place because Labour know they will be defeated heavily in next year’s Council elections. No one wants to take her place until these are over – they want to avoid any blame themselves and see her as a handy scapegoat.

I actually feel sorry for her. She is a classic case of being promoted well beyond her abilities and possibly knows this herself which probably makes her even more nervous and prone to gaffes.

68. Clootie

I’m glad she cleared that up!

69. John Dickson

I could not listen to her for longer then 1 minute, her voice just grates on me.

70. Auld Cynic

@Stumac

I’m with you Stu Mac. Ms Dugdale isn’t a bad person. Not even a bad politician. She just doesn’t have the experience to handle the job nor the advisors to help her out. Given another ten years or so learning the job she might have made a half decent politician.

However, after the Jim Murphy debacle no-one with any political savvy was going to touch the job so she put her hand up.

Like the Corbyn situation though no-one in Labour, North or South, seems to have any ability to form a strategy to get them out of the mess they are in. Almost no-one believed Mr Corbyn would lose the leadership vote so why challenge him ? Next thing we know Labour will be demanding a General Election to get rid of him.

Ms Dugdale will sit on the fence on that one too. Gamble on getting another MP or stick with one ??

71. Jenny Campbell

I have glazed over. How does she manage to talk such tosh for so long…….

72. Kiltedsplendour

That was painful to watch. How can anyone possibly spout such gobshitery? Also extremely dull and full of pointless slogans. Is this really the best Scottish Labour can manage? If I as Corbyn, I’d be looking at purging them.

73. defo

One straight answer. “NO”, spat out instantly when indyref2 was mooted.

Sarwar would be well advised to steer clear, and see if his auld man can fix him up with some graft.

74. mal

That was painful and i actually found myself feeling pity for Kezia. She is completely tangled I a web she spun all on her own.

75. David McCann

I really do think you are all a bit hard on Kez. She said all the right words, but not necessarily in the right order!

76. defo

Stu Mac says: at 9:14 pm

“I actually feel sorry for her.”

Don’t. She’s a nasty piece of work, who still has a lingering hint of Eau du pish about her. It comes from the internship she spent servicing the needs of Lord Fou.
    A vicious internet troll back in the early days, who Stuart gets irked about if you mention (for legals probs).
    How she got this far really does beggar belief. Poisoned chalice, or not.

77. Kevin Evans

What a cheeky bitch.

Brewer must have been boiling to react but am sure his BBC contract doesn’t allow him to attack fellow troops.

Kez is really in a mess huh. Maybe am wrong but i kinda have a soft spot for Kez. It’s not her fault really. Ya know when you get a puppy and if poos on the floor. You don’t get angry at it as its not the puppy’s fault.

Poor Kez thinks when she’s on BBC with politics now she’s among friends and can say and do what she wants. Careful dear, the BBC are going to cut you lose soon as there new buddies are the tories. And to be honest with ya that performance will get torn to shreds by brewer once he gets the all clear that it’s BBC/Tory rule. Remember those days Kez? When it was BBC Scotland / labour. The good old labour days of sticking a red roset on a donkey and it getting elected. Well dear you’ve picked the wrong side. Your wonderful previous pals at the BBC are now gunning for you.

78. Brian McHugh

At 15:55 in, Kez claims that;”We need a resurgence in Scottish Labour, to win in Westminster.” (Para)
    …yet again, another election has just passed, which proves that Scottish votes matter little to the outcome of GE’s.

79. Maria F

After the shock of the first time, I heard the interview again and this time I am simply fuming.

It was a disastrous interview and she should hang her head down in shame for embarrassing the Scottish people she represents like that.

She may well be out of her depth in her current role but do I feel sorry for her?

Hell No! Who I feel sorry for is all the people living in Scotland that may well be forced out of the EU against their will and against an overwhelming support in Scotland to remain in the EU after a democratic referendum because an incompetent like this, completely unable to perform remotely decently in an interview, feels that she has the competence to reject the democratic right of the people of Scotland to decide what union they want to remain in.

Her embarrassing display of ineptitude may be an asset to the independence cause according to some. But for me it is completely unacceptable that somebody like this, who is not even an MP but a MSP whose working arena is Holyrood and not Westminster, and who openly accepts in the most embarrassing interview performance I have ever seen that ‘she gets up every day in the morning to fight for the Labour party to win a general election’, can veto the right of the Scottish people to decide their future.

I think it should be mandatory to make all and every single member of the Scottish parliament to swear an oath to serve the Scottish people over and above anything else including ‘spending all the week uniting the UK party’ ‘working very hard for the UK party to reach government’ before they are allowed to put a foot in the Scottish parliament as MSPs. In my opinion careerists aiming for a royal gong or lordship in Westminster should not be allowed in Holyrood as MSP. Or you are here to serve the Scottish people in Scotland or you are not here at all. Serving the Scottish people should be an honour on itself and not a hindrance or a stepping stone for a ‘better job’ within their ‘main’ parties in the UK.

I am totally disgusted that this lady, a member of the Scottish parliament and not the HoC can openly admit in an interview that she is working tirelessly for a non Scottish party to unite and to get into n10 while vetoing Scotland’s people opportunity to chose their future. Can a politician be more shameless than this?

I also find of the uttermost hypocrisy her comment about the tories being so awful and that fighting the Tories is the focus because they are being so damaging.

Right then, so what sort of sick game has this lady been playing here in Scotland? Because she hasn’t been fighting the tories at all has she?

So what on earth does this mean? Is this woman and the party she leads for or against Scotland? Is she desperate to shift the Tories out to protect the English people, the NI people and the Welsh people but she joins the Tories at Holyrood because the Scottish people don’t matter and can be subjected to as much tories’ inflicted pain as possible?

She has been a b s o l u t e l y clear alright!

80. twathater

Maria F @7.23pm

I agree wholeheartedly with what you say, this is what the unfortunate Scottish voters have been putting up with for decades, it is alright saying that Kezia seems like a nice person but that hasn’t and doesn’t help the unfortunates, children and adults who have and are having to put up with their massive incompetence, greed and corruption whilst NOT opposing the tolies (deliberate)

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.